DAP-PKR reach agreement on allocation of seats in Penang for next polls

Democratic Action Party and Parti Keadilan Rakyat have reached agreement on the allocation of parliamentary and state assembly seats for Penang for the next general election, expected in less than 70 days.

A joint media conference by leaders of both parties will be held in Penang on Wednesday to announce the details.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Colonel on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 3:37 am

oops make that “learned” instead of “listened”

2. #2 by Colonel on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 3:46 am

Like I said “Don’t go putting words in the mouths of posters” and mess the thread like you have been doing. Discourse has been civil in your absence. We want to keep it that way.

3. #3 by lakshy on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 4:41 am

Put a credible candidate in Sg Siput and lets see what happens.

4. #4 by DarkHorse on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 5:54 am

Samy Vellu will lose his deposit.

5. #5 by DarkHorse on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 6:58 am

Old Geezer,

You may want to visit http://www.blogsagainsthillary.com/

FOX NEWS NH poll (latest)

Obama 32% Clinton 28%

Dwindling crowds reported at Bill Clinton’s rallies in support of his wife. Bill complaining about media coverage on his wife.

6. #6 by Chong Zhemin on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 7:01 am

great to hear that Uncle Kit. hopefully the allocation of seats in perak will soon be agreed. no more pkr-dap candidate clashing in teluk intan parliament seat please~

7. #7 by k1980 on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 8:27 am

Sugar, cooking oil, flour shortages==> Price increase soon. Welcome to Southeast Asia’s Zimbabwe
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/Frontpage/2126827/Article/index_html
    “Is there hoarding of the item? The Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Ministry must investigate.”

8. #8 by DarkHorse on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 8:29 am

Hi Handsome!

You’re passionate about your views and that is a good sign of character.

Let me quote what Obama has to say in his book, “The Audacity of Hope”.

“In a country as diverse as ours, there will always be passionate arguments about how we draw the line when it comes to government action. That is how democracy works. But our democracy might work a bit better if we recognized that all of us possess values that are worthy of respect…” Obama

This is something UMNO leaders would do well to acknowledge.

It has led YB Kit to comment on the meteoric rise of Obama.

9. #9 by limkamput on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 8:32 am

Old Geezer, you are absolutely right about people falling for “change” agenda. If American voters are that naive, what hope is there for country like Malaysia?

10. #10 by limkamput on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 8:53 am

Samy Vellu will lose his deposit. darkhorse

If samy loses his deposit, i will drop my pants in video!

11. #11 by Jimm on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 9:05 am

We all know that BN with EC full backing and high power involvement will continue to create desirable results favoring them in the coming GE. They will retained the 2/3 majority by hook or by crook and the entire national ruling will make sure this are the only result make avialable.
    I am not be negative here as I have seen enough of these in the past 30 years where these activities are growing concern and worsen at each stages.
    As for our government, by only employing majority Malays into their workforce have been very rewardful and plentiful to go around in every GE seats.
    We can’t blamed the service level of these workforce as the government intention are not to provide the right service to publics but their vote in each GE.
    Most ofthe officers in government offices are merely “mandor” to ensure the results are sure win to guaranteed their rewards.
    This is where corruption started….

12. #12 by bystander on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 9:06 am

At this point in time, Obama is odds on favourite to be Demo candidate and odds on favourite to be the President of USA. Rudy is odds on to lose its candidacy to represent Republican. Mike Huckabee is odds on favourite to represent Republican and outsider to beat Obama. That is my view of US presidential election.

13. #13 by Jong on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 9:08 am

I think it’s 50-50 Samy will lose but with self-confessed umno-man Rashid is still in control in EC, votes rigging is possible.

limkamput, you might have to get your video ready! :D

14. #14 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 9:11 am

Perhaps the opposition in Malaysia should concentrate on the few “key” states, Penang, Johor, Pahang, Sabah, Sarawak and Selangor. These are crucial states where Malaysia has contact with the outside world in terms of trade. Controlling these states ensures that trade in Malaysia is carried out smoothly. Our main ports are located in these states remember?

15. #15 by DarkHorse on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 9:28 am

“At this point in time, Obama is odds on favourite to be Demo candidate and odds on favourite to be the President of USA. ” bystander

Just saw the FACTOR with Bill Reilly on FOX.

Bill attended Clinton rally hoping to get a word with Hillary. Her supporters according to Bill O’Reilly numbered some 200 hundred. But when he tried to approach Obama at his rally he was blocked by Secret Service and his supporters numbered 3,500 according to Bill. Obama rally according to Bill “is on fire”.

16. #16 by lucia on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 9:48 am

i am from penang. i would love to see opposition wresting the state from BN but unfortunately i came across lots of penangites, esp. those chinese business-people, who will throw their support for BN. why, even my own family say penang should not fall to the opposition. thier reason being opposition got no money to develop the state, that if opposition take penang, penang would suffer!

sad. how to overcome this mentality of them?

yes, say no to BN!

17. #17 by grace on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 9:49 am

Mr. Lim,
    I hope DAP do not have such a pact with PAS. I am not against PAS. But the BN will spin stories that DAP condone Islamic state. This would be very detrimental to DAP.
    Yes, WE WILL VOTE FOR DAP OR PKR.
    LET UST PRAY THAT YOU AND ALL WOULD PREVAIL OVER THE CORRUPTS AND EVILS!!!

18. #18 by jc on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 9:53 am

At last Uncle Lim, you have achieved the most important first step towards a united and challenging opposition “Front”. Normally I don’t put my comments a you have already tons of them. Most likely this will not be read by anyone, (including you). But this time I just want to let all know that WE care for DAP, even tho we do not voice out. Rest assured we will vote opposition (DAP) as always when the time comes!! CONGRATULATIONS!!

19. #19 by Saint on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 10:05 am

cancan Says: “I still believe one of the best way to channel info to the people is thru the compilations of all the wrongdoings of the government into VCD.”

Yes, I agree this is one of the good ways to spread the message. Willing to donate for the cause.

20. #20 by Saint on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 10:06 am

cancan Says: “I still believe one of the best way to channel info to the people is thru the compilations of all the wrongdoings of the government into VCD.”

Yes, I agree this is one of the good ways to spread the message. Willing to donate for it.

21. #21 by Tickler on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 10:14 am

MCA Youth deputy chief Ling Hee Leong has fired a salvo against the party leadership over their handling of the sex scandal involving the former vice–president, Dr Chua Soi Lek.
    http://malaysiakini.com/news/76780

22. #22 by malaysiatoday.com on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 10:27 am

At least opposition got brain for not falling into a dog bites dog show.

23. #23 by Tickler on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 10:39 am

What the Govt-In-Waiting should offer the Malaysian people is:

1.All first time house owners` bank repayments will be tax exempt, to enable home ownership. Make it retroactive at least 2 years.
    2.Same for Ist car purchased.

24. #24 by bystander on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 10:45 am

I share Lucia’s view. was in penang 3 weeks ago. asked the bridegroom what is the general feeling on the ground regarding the forthcoming GE. The answer is that he and others will continue to vote for gerakan. penangites seem to be very apolitical or naive or apathetic about the present unhealthy political situation. they are more concerned about their assam laksa.

25. #25 by oknyua on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 10:47 am

YB Lim,

You are an old hand at strategies, so there not much I could say.

Right now, I suggest you make use of this blog to organise ground support. Give us the report on the ground. Where are the points that we can contribute? What are the logistic needed?

By the standard of commentators here (and the words they use), each one is waiting to put in their contribution. Lucia in Penang – ready to work or not?

Thank you.

26. #26 by grace on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 11:04 am

Saints,
    That is a good idea. Document all the wrong deeds of BN in CD and distribute to the masses. Majority of the people are fed with propaganda of BN. They do not know how corrupted some of the ministers and officials are.
    YES! I am willing to contribute to this fund. Just like the fund for defence of HINDERAF which drew quite a good response from Tony Pua’s bloggers.

27. #27 by Colonel on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 11:13 am

limkamput,

Are you here to pollute the thread with your obscenities like you always do?

# limkamput Says:
    December 23rd, 2007 at 16: 03.12

no problem to be in front of an ass like you so that i can fart on you.

28. #28 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 11:15 am

To win a seat (whether state or federal) on paper is totally different from winning a seat in real life, especially for candidates from opposition parties.

Yes, great to see opposition parties working together to win seats. Hopefully the cooperation is sincere and no back-stabbing or hit-below-the-belt tactics or self-destruction statements by different groups will surface later.

However, a lot of efforts will be needed to convince voters, even those from Penang, Perak, KL, and Selangor, to change their votes from BN to opposition candidates.

All these years, BN did not have to do much to win – just used the nation’s machinery to spread words of fear and greed to different racial groups, and people voted for BN out of fear, insecurity, and attitudes like “crumbs are better than nothing”, and “can live will do, even though corruptions, injustice, human rights violations continue to flourish with BN’s rule”.

It would be a great change for the nation if opposition political parties can win Penang and subsequently govern Penang properly and effectively – to show all the alternative way of governance.

However, if opposition parties win Penang and then screw up later because of squabbles, then it’s the end of them.

May the forces be with the opposition parties in the coming GE for they have a high mountain to climb. But climb every mountain, they must!

29. #29 by oknyua on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 11:43 am

Friends, commentators

Please, don’t respond to what you might think are obscenities. Don’t waste effort at a time like this.

Picking up where Grace left out, can we produce the video? Secondly can you receive the fund, YB Lim? I mean you can receive contribution for Party Fund, but this video? Put opinion here.

Start the ball rolling. The BN is already putting their banners in my place.

30. #30 by limkamput on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 11:43 am

Colonel aka Private, May be you want me to use it again if you think fart is an obscenity. You should perhaps go back to find out why fart was used on people like you in the first place. When I put forth a serious argument about you people putting the cart in front of the horse, the response that came back from one of you was I should be put in front of the horse. Look, you have no credibility to say any damn things on me or others. I will pass my comments whenever deemed appropriate so long as no vulgar or obscene words are used, unless you people want to start again. Your good friend or may be it is you, laifong, use vulgar words all the time, did you ever counsel him/her? You can’t counsel yourself, can you?

Jong, if I can contribute to samy losing his deposit, I am happy to drop my pants. Darkhorse or Colonel can video and distribute for me, lol.

31. #31 by Old Geezer on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 11:51 am

limkamput, I hope you don’t take that bait above. Sometimes, it is more gentleman to walk away from a fight.

“Just saw the FACTOR with Bill Reilly on FOX.” DarkHorse
    When I noticed that they were always bashing the Democrats, especially that racist O’Reilly’s Factor, I deleted Fox News from my TV so that it will skip that channel when I scan. Make my life less stressful that way.

32. #32 by Old Geezer on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 11:52 am

My advice was too late. He did take the bait. Now the war of words begins.

33. #33 by shiver on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 11:57 am

YB lim, dont count the horses soon… i was in penang, i agree with lucia and bystander.. those who bitch and moan about the govt are either hardcore opposition and those who havent even bother to register. those quiet ones are gerakan people, for i dont know what reason, yes maybe their penang laksa or their chao koay teow.

you will need a lot of help in penang island. dont take for granted. what can we do?
    you have heaps of readers here!!!! let us know lah damnit!!!!

34. #34 by St0rmFury on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 11:58 am

Already we are seeing cracks in this agreement after only 1 day.

35. #35 by Old Geezer on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 12:05 pm

“He was given the Pulau Jerejak seat.” ..sheriff singh
    China Press quoted Tian Chua “as saying that his party was willing to take on DAP and Barisan Nasional (BN) for all seats”.
    That guy is a real lightning rod. He seems to be either courting controversy or creating one.

36. #36 by Old Geezer on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 12:19 pm

I retract what I said above about Tian Chua. My apologies to him.
    It appeared Anwar also said the same thing:
    “Anwar announced that PKR would go into it alone if it could not reach a consensus with DAP over seat allocations.”..the Star

37. #37 by k1980 on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 12:20 pm

Anwar should now give Tian Chua the boot as he did with Nalla. Better to lose that little wispy rascal than to waste the DAP-PKR pact

38. #38 by kanthanboy on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 1:16 pm

Jong,

Limkamput said he would drop his pants in video only if Samy Vellu lost his deposit. Limkamput is 100% safe. There is zero chance for Samy to lose his deposit. Look like you are smiling. Sorry, no show and no video.

39. #39 by raverus on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 1:44 pm

Godspeed

40. #40 by pky103 on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 3:02 pm

I really this pact works out. Cannot help but recall the Barisan Alternatif incident.

41. #41 by pky103 on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 3:03 pm

I really hope this pact works out. Cannot help but recall the Barisan Alternatif incident.

42. #42 by swee_ann_tweety on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 4:22 pm

GREAT NEWS UNCLE LIM! First we must UNITE. Topple the BN then only think about PKR and DAP. For now, PKR and DAP must stand united. Even if you unite with PAS, go ahead. I want to see a major topple in BN. I am fed up with BN. I am fed up with how the news paper and the major news are reported. I will take the incident where Tian Chua of PKR was whacked by a polis but the next day, NST reported that Tian Chua bit the polis. I will take the incident where Sothinathan challenged a lady DAP MP to a fight. I will take all this in mind and vote in the hope that 2/3 majority does not go to BN!

43. #43 by swee_ann_tweety on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 4:25 pm

I will also take into the election hall, the incident where Ronnie lodged a police report on the seditious posting on the PM’s website as highlighted in many blogs. But sadly, nothing was done. How can all this double standard happen?

I also take into the election hall where Soil Lick can have a gathering of 2000 to 3000 supporters but when the opposition party organised one, water canons are used.

:(

44. #44 by swee_ann_tweety on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 4:25 pm

typing error. It’s not soil lick.

45. #45 by iweepformalaysia on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 4:35 pm

Great. There is nothing better than having a strong and cohesive Alternative Front. A perfect gift for Malaysia@50, as the first step towards better Malaysia.

46. #46 by Godfather on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 5:04 pm

Tian Chua has sh!t for brains, and that is one of the problems of the PKR. They keep him there because they need to show a Chinese face.

47. #47 by DarkHorse on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 5:43 pm

“When I noticed that they were always bashing the Democrats, especially that racist O’Reilly’s Factor, I deleted Fox News from my TV so that it will skip that channel when I scan. Make my life less stressful that way.” Old Geezer

I did the same but then I thought by doing so I’d miss out on what “the other side” is saying! But one thing I like about O’Reilly is that he is an independent (or so he says) and so is Lou Dobbs on CNN who is an independent (or so he says).

Lou Dobb or O’Reilly? At least O’Reilly is entertaining to watch as he would invite guests to his show who dare to appear and slug it out with him. But Lou Dobbs, he mostly invites guests to his show who share the same views with him! Lou Dobb limits himself to issues like illegal immigration ( he himself has a Mexican wife) and the war waged according to him by both Democrats and Republicans on America’s middle class. Why is he so strong on the latter? Simple. He wants to sell his books. The same goes with O’Reilly.

The same reason why Ann Coulter appears on TV and makes controversial statements all the time bashing the Democrats. She wants to sell her books!

It is all orchestrated, don’t you think?

48. #48 by DarkHorse on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 5:48 pm

Old Geezer,

Why are you against Hillary on the issue of illegal immigration?

49. #49 by DarkHorse on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 9:00 pm

Here’s another website to look at http://rasmussenreports.com/

Midnight voting in Dixievield NH shows Obama with seven votes and none to Hillary. Total registered voters = 17.

50. #50 by Tickler on Tuesday, 8 January 2008 - 9:50 pm