When I told Datuk Seri Dr. Chua Soi Lek at the National Christmas Day Open House in Kota Kinabalu last Saturday, informing him that I had to leave early because my sister, Kit Hwa, 82, had passed away in our mutual hometown Batu Pahat, none of us knew that would be our last encounter as political leaders – or that in the next four days, he would be at the vortex of a political maelstrom ending with the demise of the fastest-rising star in the MCA political firmament.
Chua’s announcement of resignation as Health Minister, Labis Member of Parliament, MCA vice president, head of Johore State MCA and Batu Pahat MCA Division 24 hours after admitting that “I’m the man in the sex video” but declaring that he had no intention of quitting his government and party posts has come as no surprise to astute political observers.
This is because after Chua’s Labis statement admitting that he was the man in the sex DVD, he had unleashed political forces in the MCA and Umno which have made it completely untenable for him to retain his government and party posts.
Many questions surround the sudden demise of Chua Soi Lek as the fastest-rising star in recent MCA history, as he appeared to be quite unstoppable until he captures the top prize in the MCA as its President despite many powerful obstacles in his path.
Two immediate questions about the sudden demise of the MCA comet are whether Chua had been the victim of a double betrayal.
The first betrayal was the very orchestrated and professional manner in the surfacing of the video DVD. Who was behind it? All fingers point to his political enemies from within the MCA.
The second betrayal was whether he had been misled into believing that his admission in his Labis statement would suffice, and he could continue to keep his government and party posts, when in fact, his Labis statement would be the basis to force him to relinquish his government and party posts – as has now happened.
These questions would dominate any debate or discussion of the sudden demise of Chua Soi Lek in the annals of Malaysian politics.

#1 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:51 am
the enemy thought it is a good tactic to get rid of Chua. Yes, the international media are all reporting about his sex video, but these media also did not forget to report that it was due to the power struggle within MCA. What a nice promotion for MCA’s politics?
What a strange thing that no one blamed DAP and thus DAP got zero promotion?
#2 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:53 am
He has done the right thing to redeem his soul.
Unlike many in the Cabinet where we see problems ranging from A to Z (as in APs to PKFZ).
http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/01/it-is-correct-step-to-take.html
#3 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:03 am
Everybody has skeletons in his closet if that is what most here are talking about.
Should these skeletons fall out of the closet, on its own volition or with some help, and it interferes with the execution of your public duties then your oath of office mandates that you resign. It is different if you are a private citizen.
#4 by scorpian6666 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:12 am
Dr.! you did nothing wrong legally, only cheat on your wife (who dont cheat their wives!, a lot of us don’t have the monies or the gut nor the looks and strength, we could only have visual sex with our visual girlfriends)
Get this London forensic expert to find who’s behind all this illegal “shooting” and sue them big time! or at least get paid for acting.
I am sure Lim would be more than willing to give free help. You might like to consider shifting camp, given the fact that Badawi not willing to help you out like he did with the LInGam Tape!
Hope this help
#5 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:16 am
“Why is it Dr. Chua could not get way with what he did while Bill Clinton did?” Bigjoe
President Clinton almost did not. He survived the impeachment process. With the U.S. Presidential system the President is directly elected by the people.
Under our Parliamentary system, the leader of the political party which wins the general elections goes on to become Prime Minister. Ministers are then appointed by the Prime Minister who heads the Cabinet.
Chua’s constituents have no say in the matter since he owes his position solely to the Prime Minister who alone could call for his resignation. He appeared to have left the matter to the party which can only mean that he wanted his resignation.
So Chua did not survive the process but Clinton did.
#6 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:16 am
He did the right thing by resigning? I don’t think there have been any right thing done personally about this thing since the day at the hotel incident.
The man resisted resigning. As DAP said, he thought he could get away with it, claiming naivette. He resigned because it would damage the party and he was not valuable enough for others to step up for him.
I find it even more naseous that Ong Ka Ting commended Mrs. Chua for standing by Dr. Chua. The damn thing happened 2 years ago and even in his statement, he indicated he compared his situation with 4 wives for Muslims. OKT may think he is being supportive of Mrs. Chua but he is more likely to condone his colleague behaviour and encouraging Mrs. Chua own personal weakness.
Sorry, I don’t sympathise with Dr. Chua’s family for standing with him. They have a right to decide what they want to do but personally, I don’t think she did the right thing. Even if Dr. Chua regret it now (which I don’t think so), she should leave him, take everything she can, have him crawl back to her in public like the bow-wow that he is.
Frankly, there have been hardly any reedeeming personal action by ALL the players in this whole sad thing and that is my main point. We should be better than that but we are not because Dr. Chua and his colleagues got us here and we need to send the lesson to them that they have to lead us out of it, not complain about it.
#7 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:17 am
Will Ah Ting now install his brother Ah Chuan to be Health Minister?
#8 by Counterpoint on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:19 am
If this unrepentant politician didn’t resign, can he still keep a straight smiling face and say what he did a month ago, as reported here?:
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/12/2/nation/19642144&sec=nation
#9 by malaysiatoday.com on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:23 am
megaman,
The fools are your fellow Malaysians who voted BN years after years.
I knew Chua supporters tried to salvage him by saying there are other politicians more evil than him. His supporters even tried to fix online survey in chinapress.com.
I am sure he is not the only minister got young lovers or seeking prositute service. The rule of game is damned simple, if you caught pants down, game over.
He should blame himself for his own foolery in using a same room and same hotel.
As a grandfather, he shall be faithful to his wife and family.
At least Chua admitted and be accountable for his own mistake. He is still a man unlike Chan Kwon Chai, Zakaria, Pak Lah, etc.
#10 by Taikor on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:23 am
All the speculations I read thus far points to nothing. It boggles the mind to think it’s actually an insider job. I’m eager to know who did it.
But let it be known that I am anticipating to know who distributed the videos in a higly organised fashion. Other than this, I don’t think the video recording was a pre-planned move as many public accommodations are equipped with spy cameras. Many people know it. The video could have been “sold” by the hotel operator to interested parties and it eventually got into the hands of unscrupulous group. But the people who distribute it and possibly financed it’s operation must be quite influential. We just need to know it’s an inside job or an external plot.
#11 by bystander on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:33 am
I share twistedmind views fully. If you are a private citizen, nobody will care or mind who you have sex with. but once you are in public esp a minister you must maintain your dignity and values. Everyone has a choice. Going by what some argued for CSL, can you imagine what will happen if a minister is also a part time rapist or burglar doing these naughty things during their private time. where does one draw the line? Commiting adultery is a sin. The so-called personal friend could be for all you know a hired freelander. Maybe CSL has been doing once too often like the chinese saying “if you go up the mountain too often, you bound to meet a tiger”. Maybe like Bill Clinton, he is a habitual sex addict. What a hypocrite. he has the audacity to blame his sex escapade on the public.
#12 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:37 am
Whatever our views – whether Chua was right or wrong – we should not lose sight of the bigger issues at hand for the sake of the future generation. Let this personal matter pass, and continue the pressure on the den of thieves. Lingamgate is a far more serious issue if our descendants are to have any chance of a viable future.
#13 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:43 am
Come on lah, if there had only been allegations with no DVDs as proof, do you think old grandpa Chua would admit his adultery and resign as minister? Fat hopes
#14 by bystander on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:43 am
Lets vote BN OUT.
#15 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:44 am
That’s the spirit for 2008 – vote out the den of thieves.
#16 by raverus on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:46 am
Definitely smells like a betrayal.
#17 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:48 am
On a lighter note, my friends now say that Batu Pahat’s tigers were never extinct. Aside from Onn Jaafar, Batu Pahat has produced such luminaries as Chua, Kit, Vincent Tan, Lee Kim Yew. It must have been something to do with the water…
#18 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:53 am
His cheating on the wife – and (so the logic goes,if he could do that so he could cheat us in his official position) – is never really the real reason why many of us want Chua Soi Lek to resign. The fact that any public official is faithful to his spouse is no suggestion that he would not cheat the public coffers. It is just as consistent to argue that his doting on, and being faithful to the wife could also induce him to put his hand in the public till to enrich himself for his wife’s interest and security.
In Chua’s case, it would have made no difference if the wife and him have had a mutual private arrangement to overlook such extra-marital liaison; it would not have made a difference if Dr Chua were a widower or bachelor having consensual sex with another adult of the opposite sex in the hotel ; for all I know it would not have made a difference if he were caught on CCTV making love to no one but himself (as in masturbation), and he would be labeled an infantile deviant : people would still demand that he go!
The reason is because we cannot accept a public official holding high office to be compromised by shame. We ask how he would effective, conduct meetings with subordinates or colleagues who don’t respect him. Where there is public shame there can be no respect!
If truth be said, the shame is about sex being made public!
We are shamed of the sex act if it were publicized; we’re ashamed of our own bodies being filmed and circulated. We ask how can we respect a minister whom we have seen on tape naked and doing sex acts?
How can we evolve to First World Mentality when we cannot even accept something as natural as our own biological imperative – sex – which is responsible for the propagation of our species?
We use shame to substitute as reason and justice, reason in the sense that even if a public official were otherwise competent and honest in discharge of public office responsibilities, we impute otherwise of him because of overriding shame; justice in the sense that because of this shame we ignore justice and are prepared to reward and fulfill the objective of the below-the- belt perpetrators/blackmailers who used such dastardly tactics to drive from office their political opponent by hidden electronic surveillance.
Thereby we set in motion such a political culture where scandals based on personal sexual morality will become yardstick to kick out politicians – not their record of public service.
The fact is that, as Dr Chua said, we cannot arise above our hypocrisy. We can fornificate like rabbits in private and not seen, and that’s OK as long as it is not publicly known much more publicly viewed through DVD discs because of shame – ever since Adam & Eve were evicted from Garden of Eden whereupon they quickly took some fig leaves to conceal their natural body/private parts and had sex in the bush concealed from the view of the animals.
It is not a justification to concede that we’re hypocrites in many areas as Big Joe did and ask where was Chua, did he lift a finger, when these were going on.
The question is whether we ourselves are hypocrites when we are judging him, never mind he himself was one and never did anything to stop (say) the morality police hunting couples in public park.
I am more interested in us, whether we too have the mentality of the moral police going around to hound those caught in the act when what they do logically has not been proven to harm us collectively except exacerbate and reflect our shame of something natural that it is questionable whether we should be so ashamed of in the first place.
Whatever happens to these values of privacy, freedom of action for so long as no harm to others, honesty in admitting facts of life, resisting blackmailers etc – are they to be sacrificed because we are ashamed of the sex act especially when it is publicized and because we want to protect our own hypocrisy?
The fact is that we expect our leaders to be an embodiment of our collective hypocrisy and not to shame us on that (sex act) which we feel ashamed off if publicised although it has no logical nexus with his performance of public office!
This holier than thou attitude will only perpetuate our hypocrisy and diminish our voice to criticize the other hypocritical acts of our political leaders in their carrying out of public duties.
#19 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:57 am
Politically, I agree that the most immediate concern is MCA internal politics. Can MCA avoid internal strife because of this. I don’t think the current leadership has that strong a whole on the party. The Chinese are unhappy and MCA warlords are as selfish bunch as they come, professional political p**ps and w***es really.
The thinking of quite a few is that really, the party is going to suffer in the next election anyway and not much they are able to do about it, so why not take advantage of it for themselves?
Besides, there are other incident like the PKFZ which the other camp is responsible for.
I have a dreaded feeling MCA is going to crash and burn which I never thought was a good thing.
#20 by oknyua on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:58 am
Godfather, (sorry to deviate a little,) you keep on mentioning Den of Thieves. In the book (James B Stewart), all the players ended in jail, except of course the prosecutors. Unfortunately in the Malaysian scenario, the prosecutors and the perpetrators are the same guys. So how to wrtie the conclusion to the book?
#21 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 11:14 am
I would like to point out that I agree with what most Jeffrey has to say except the charge he lay against me that I accept our own hypcrisy. Its more accurate to say that I don’t believe that looking to Malaysian to self-change is going to happen anytime soon and even if it did happen, it will be protracted by own politician self-interest to maintain that hypocrisy. In terms of priority, changing the politician hypocrisy should come first and the opportunity is rare. That is why I don’t delve on our own at this point.
But Jeffrey is right, if we are able to get over our own hypocrisy first about race, religion and gender, this kinds of things would not matter and we would be better off.
#22 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 11:16 am
Funny why Chua’s mca and health ministry colleagues do not support him the way Razak Bagindo’s wife and friends did— by wearing T-shirts printed with “We are CSL’s colleagues†in front “and proud of it†at the back. Or are they just fair weather friends?
#23 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 11:22 am
How many of the crooked clowns below do you think God will accept into paradise upon their demise?
http://thestar.com.my/archives/2006/2/15/nation/cabinet.jpg
#24 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 11:32 am
Oknyua:
The day of reckoning will come. There is no other alternative. When the thieves have stolen everything until there is nothing left to steal, they will turn on themselves. In the animal kingdom, even the predators become cannibals when there is nothing left to eat.
Then the conclusion to the book will be written, and both Mahathir and Badawi will feature prominently in the final chapter – one as predecessor and the other as the successor of the leadership of the den of thieves.
#25 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 11:34 am
There was a crooked grandpa
Who led a crooked life.
He found a crooked ‘friend’
Wearing a crooked smile.
He took the crooked friend
To a crooked hotel room,
And they had crooked fun
Taped by a crooked camera
#26 by Traveller on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 11:48 am
“If a Minister is caught perjuring himself be it on the witness stand, in court or out of court during a deposition, it matters not because his act causes no harm to anybody? It is acceptable even though he has broken the oath of office he took when he became Minister?”..undergrad2
I didn’t say that perjury would not be wrong because there appears to be no victim. Actually, the victim is the judicial process and the search for the truth that may find somebody innocent or guilty. Lying or perjury is the trap that many politicians would fall into in the U.S. That was what got Clinton into trouble in the Lewinsky case; or more recently, Scooter Libby in the CIA operative case.
In Clinton’s case, the affair itself, though distasteful and disappointing, was not a crime that nearly cost his presidency, but it was the lying during the investigation that caused him to be impeached. Extramural sex by presidents is nothing new and many people would consider that a private matter. Also note that most of the Republican congressmen who acted as prosecutors in the impeachment proceeding of Clinton later lost their seats. The Clinton affair was an unfortunate event because his presidency could have done great things compared to what Bush is doing right now.
I consider lying during legal proceedings or criminal investigations as an act of dishonesty to the public, so are shoplifting, etc, that you mentioned about, because those are real chargeable crimes. I would put the latter the same as stealing or corruption. That affects people because you are subverting a legal process or stealing from somebody else.
On the moral scale, all these acts are wrong. But what I am saying is the hypocrisy of this Chua event and how it is treated by the govt and the media.
I am arguing that in the Malaysian standard, where there is so much corruption and abuse of power that victimised more Malaysians, how is it that a small private affair is the cause of a downfall?
Read RPK’s column about whether that somebody’s wife has a second or third husband and you would find that not everybody is as clean as it looks, and that involves the top man in the country.
The Zakaria case or PKFZ scandal or the selling out of Chinese or Indian community’s interest by MCA or MIC for personal gains, the police and judicial corruptions, release of crime lords, etc., are even more obscene and much worst in my book.
If people were to go after MPs that have mistresses/affairs, we wouldn’t be able to set up a parliament, except if you insist on priests and imans as MPs. Even that is not a guarantee that there is no sexual escapade in their closets.
#27 by Cinapek on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 12:26 pm
I think there was more than a hint of double betrayal in CSL’s press conference when he announced his resignation. He sounded bitter and sarcastic when he said :
“… some Malaysians can be said to be “holier than thou”. This means they are all ‘ulama’ and ….will be a burden to the Govt. and party, especially in the context of Islam Hadhari….”
Those “malaysians” can only be people who has access to him and not any joe public. And those who have access and able to “advise” him to step down has to be his equals or superiors. Thus, he must have felt betrayed. He had expected them to support him. And I wonder about that “Islam Hadhari” bit? What has that got to do with this whole issue? Is he trying to hint at something or somebody involved with the concept of Islam Hadhari? Mmmmm? I wonder.
#28 by Loh on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 12:49 pm
Now that Chua has resigned, the question of whether he should or should not resign does not arise.
He most probably will not be asked to go, even if he was known to have done what he did in the hotel with his girl friend. That was his private affair. He had to leave because he was caught in the video, with the scenes that embarassed him. He is a victim and the photographers said to be filming from four different angles are the real perpetrators.
The filming was politically motivated, and most probably an organized crime. The government should solve the case before it develops into real life assasination.
#29 by Traveller on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 1:10 pm
“The filming was politically motivated, and most probably an organized crime.” Loh
I agree that something is very wrong..not the sex but the betrayal and the power behind it all.
Chua should file a police report just to question the woman and the hotel management. Not that I trust the police very much but he has nothing more to lose unless he has his own means to get his justice.
To imagine that the perpetrator may be sitting at one of the highest levels of MCA is frightening.
Well, the Roman empire fall by infighting and the rot within.
#30 by Man_of_Honour on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 3:25 pm
Hmm, I personally understand why Dr. CSL wanted to become a reporter liao…
If you ask me to choose between being famous or being a reporter, I’ll surely choose reporter in this case.
#31 by Earshot on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 4:54 pm
“I won’t be the first and I won’t be the last (politician to be caught in such a situation),” Mr Chua said. “It is up to the public to judge me.” as reported in
http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,23000171-2703,00.html
does speak volumes.
#32 by AhPek on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 5:09 pm
‘In terms of priority, changing the politician hypocrisy should come first ….’Bigjoe.
And how can changing the politician hypocrisy should come first without first stripping off our own hypocrisy.As Jeffrey rightly pointed out the politician represents an embodiment of our collective hypocrisy.His hypocrisy is in simple harmonic motion with ours if I may use a mathematical term.
This is precisely why we view CSL case to be graver than the PKFZ scandal,Zakaria case,Lingamgate episode,police corruption,auditor general’s report on blatant mismanagement of public’s funds and many many more.In fact Altantuya’s case is almost forgotten by the public!!
#33 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 7:44 pm
He may be a rising star in MCA but he direly lacks political shrewdness.
He does not what are the “do’s” and the “don’ts” and walk the tight rope extremely caustiously.
How he could have his sexually trysts at exactly the same places times and again? That naivity is the killer blows to him that send him to his political grave.
No pity, he has had his great times in all ways.
#34 by boh-liao on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 8:22 pm
CSL’s greatest regret is “Check into the same hotel and into the same room” (for how many times, we don’t know) – thus leading to him and his personal friend being filmed through a premeditated act. Just like 007 movies.
CSL’s greatest regret is not ‘aiyah, I should not have started screwing around’.
He said that now he is glad that he is no longer a minister and VIP, just an ordinary citizen, and he can walk into any hotel and book any room without any fear. Carry on, ex-minister!
Why is he referred to as a 60 or 61 old man? He was born in 1949 and is 58 years young. Looks like Malaysians can’t count properly.
#35 by sec on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 8:45 pm
Our politicians are ” paria” compare with our neigbouring country. If you are a politicain or people reprentative with post in the cabinet; when you step into the night club or vice area; the next day will get a warning or even sacked from the authourity wheather it is private/ personal matter.
The Old man dislike the most because the spy trap is always there and the victim entangled into it; he /she will betray his/her own country.
He did say that our Ministers are nuts only know how to corrupt and play girls. Not even a minister dare to protest what he said.
There is no excuss for CSL
#36 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:06 pm
“I am arguing that in the Malaysian standard, where there is so much corruption and abuse of power that victimised more Malaysians, how is it that a small private affair is the cause of a downfall?” Traveller
I do not disagree with what you say about the rampant corruption and the abuse of power which has gone unpunished.
The only issue is whether he could continue with his ministerial duties with the kind of diligence expected of him, or whether given the circumstances it is reasonable to expect him to avoid attending public functions and meetings and conferences which constitute the major part of the duties of a Cabinet Minister.
You could separate the issues and say even that it has little to do with the VCR that is in circulation which is no doubt a source of extreme embarrassment to him and his family. What cannot be denied is that his liaison with his girlfriend while still married and the private nature of the act in which he’s involved is captured on video and is out there – and who knows what else is out there. To deny that this would not interfere with his duties as Minister is to deny the obvious.
MORAL BLACKMAIL AND THE OFFICIAL SECRETS ACT
We do not know what else is out there and one issue that we have all ignored is the probability of a moral blackmail based on material yet to be disclosed, and the damage it could do to the government. A person in his situation would make the perfect candidate for acts the Official Secrets Act is meant to prevent.
Of course, this is not to say that others who are not facing a similar situation would not do it.
In short, if I were to find myself in the same situation I would resign as Minister but I would not resign from my party posts and I would not allow my seat to fall vacant. Whether I’d be nominated to stand for the coming general elections is a matter up to the party leadership. If I do not get the nomination and support from my party, I’d understand.
Politics is all about perception.
#37 by kjwen on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:15 pm
He must not quit in pride, but in shame. Just say, “I have done wrong and I am sorry.”
#38 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 10:52 pm
It is not about infidelity per se and unfitness to hold public office because of his failure to adhere to moral standards expected of someone in his position. It is because of the real risk of moral blackmail. We do not know what else is out there. We need to investigate all his decisions during the time he served on the Cabinet and to find out if some of these contracts could nullified.
#39 by undergrad2 on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 6:55 am
GE 2004 Chua MCA
Total No of Polled Voters
Votes in Favour
Total Voters Ratio
Percentage
Malay
Chinese
Indian
Others
#40 by undergrad2 on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 6:56 am
DAP stands a good of winning in 2008
#41 by DarkHorse on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 7:12 am
Yes, but the DAP candidate then only got some 5k votes compared to 16k plus votes for MCA out of a total of some 23k votes?
#42 by bystander on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 9:24 am
Lets vote DAP but not forgeting to help BA and PAS. This is the only sure strategy of getting BN out, failing which at least reduce their substantial majority. These BN bunch of crooks, thieves, imbeciles, incompetents must be removed. Lets take Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Kelantan, Trengganu, Perlis and Kedah. That would be a great start for all opposition parties for 2008. But one has to watch out for EC which is bias and will do anything to ensure a win for BN including votes rigging.
#43 by Rocky on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 9:42 am
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/1/4/nation/19911414&sec=nation
who the hell is Ng Yen Yen to tell us stop talking about CSL or any other issues like her PR status?
This woman ask other ladies to wear see thru lingerie for their husband etc and gives tips on making husbands happy.Should she talk to CSL’s wife? No? well she should watch the video and recommend some tips from it.
what are we now, told when to shit and when eat and when and what to talk.
Take a hike Ng Yen Yen. This is still a bloody free world. Show us a law that says we can’t talk about it. Otherwise just shut up or go to Australia.
#44 by megaman on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 10:18 am
hi bystander,
Even the most biased and crooked EC wld not be able to doctor or reverse an election where the people has clearly choose the opposition.
Impossible to rig an election to the point that they can reverse a more than 50% margin.
Anything less, maybe.
A small margin (less than 10%), definitely.
Therefore, the only way the opposition can survive and continue to serve as a formidable check and balance in parliament is through an overwhelming mandate given by the rakyat.
Then whoever is in power, would remember that it is the rakyat that holds the true power not them.
#45 by juarezfkw on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 11:33 am
Election is around the corner and everyone is anxious on the exact date! I forsee an increase in opposition mp in this election and i hope i am right! DAP will get more mp’s and that’s essential! Malaysia is going backwards instead of forward. Govern by a whole bunch of so called ” Pemimpin”! Malaysia Boleh????? The answer is >YES—Boleh membazir duit menghantar manusia ke angkasa lepas! Boleh membazir duit dengan SUPER MEGA PROJECT!! A waste of the RAKYAT’s money! A waste of the country’s resources and time!
#46 by bystander on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 12:34 pm
Let us be realistic megaman. you are not going to get a 50% margin. You are not assuming that BN is so weak,not forgetting that BN is the incumbent. One would already be considered lucky if there is a close and fair fight. This is where rigging comes in to alter the result like postal votes. If rigging is not an issue, why do you think there was a peaceful protest held by Bersih? Its because reforms are needed to EC to ensure a fair and clean election so that the opposition will have a fair chance. Why do you think there is violence in Kenya? Its maybe partly because of “vote rigging”.
#47 by Bobster on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 2:59 pm
Unfortunately this is the world that we live in based on feedback from this forum.
Nobody will ever remember all the good things that you have contributed to the country and society. But when you make one mistake the whole world will start condemning.
Banning illegal substance in pig farming (what the hell the previous Chua Jui Meng did during his tenure … sleeping kah. No wonder Chinese scores highest among cancer patients), banning illegal substance in yellow noodle, promoting healthy eating, less sugar and less fat in Mamat stores (too many Malays and Indians suffer heart disease and diabetic and die by age of 50s and early 60s), strict rules for import of Chinese medicines which contain high level of lead, increase salary of doctors in general hospital and I know he is trying very hard cleaning up the mess in the Health Ministry and government hospitals and in the process probably offended many old foxes not forgetting own enemies in MCA due to his sudden rise.
Dr Chua, you have done well for all Malaysians. Big Thank You to You (though I don’t vote for MCA).
Hope 40% who condemning what you did in your private life are merely your political rivals, not we average Malaysians. If so our education system and country in general is in seriously trouble, quick to approve and forgive those corrupted ministers who squander of billions from the rakyat but slow to remember the good ones who did so much for the rakyat and country.
Still remember what you mentioned in one of the press conferences when the hard headed pig farmers decided to go head on with your ministry. Dr Chua, “I am more worry to get my head chop off by 4 million Chinese than thousands of pigs farmers who decide to carrying on using the illegal substances and go on strikeâ€.
Salute you Dr Chua for being a Man of Word. You just show us you dare to relinquish all your political power for the sake of the nation, not like some formal Tun Ling Leong Sik, after so many scandals like Berjaya Industry (10 yrs ago), PKFZ and Transmile etc still dare to claim to be the champion for University of Utar.
Wake up call for all Malaysians and Chinese in particular in this forum. Hello, are you there!?
#48 by ssborneo on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 9:29 pm
At 1st I don’t wanna comment anything. But after reading Sani’s stupid comment, i really wanna say something here. How can you compare KLCC with patients lying in hospitals. Stupid comment! Dr Chua was as the health minister for 3.5 years only and he was indeed trying to clean up the mess as what Bobster says. Don’t ya know how many years you need to clean up the big mess? What he’d done indeed is very good for us, such as banning those extra lead medicine from China. Without all these, more people would have died of cancels. All these are long-term effect towards healthy Malaysia. And another thing is Malaysia’s Chinese are fighting each other … soon all Chinese will finish in this country. Be prepared to migrate la ….. if you’re a professional …
#49 by prelude3372 on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 9:59 pm
Hmmm…..I wonder when the VCD of a certain rumors about sex video clip involving a high rank UMNO youth leader……just waiting for it……
#50 by 1eyecls on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 10:29 pm
when we compared CHUA SOI LEK with TAN CHAI HO,we will see an outspoken man with a dumb,but when you are capable doesnt mean that you are good,so which type you prefer?
I rily admired the mature-thinking of the americans(usa,not south americans),they are going to hv a black President,Obama(luckly not OSAMA!) in the very near future!If Malaysia in the near future can accept Chinese or Indian(not Mamak) PM,i will convert Islam Hadhari with immediate effect!HAHAHA!