Sudden demise of fastest-rising star in political firmament – was Chua Soi Lek victim of double betrayal?

When I told Datuk Seri Dr. Chua Soi Lek at the National Christmas Day Open House in Kota Kinabalu last Saturday, informing him that I had to leave early because my sister, Kit Hwa, 82, had passed away in our mutual hometown Batu Pahat, none of us knew that would be our last encounter as political leaders – or that in the next four days, he would be at the vortex of a political maelstrom ending with the demise of the fastest-rising star in the MCA political firmament.

Chua’s announcement of resignation as Health Minister, Labis Member of Parliament, MCA vice president, head of Johore State MCA and Batu Pahat MCA Division 24 hours after admitting that “I’m the man in the sex video” but declaring that he had no intention of quitting his government and party posts has come as no surprise to astute political observers.

This is because after Chua’s Labis statement admitting that he was the man in the sex DVD, he had unleashed political forces in the MCA and Umno which have made it completely untenable for him to retain his government and party posts.

Many questions surround the sudden demise of Chua Soi Lek as the fastest-rising star in recent MCA history, as he appeared to be quite unstoppable until he captures the top prize in the MCA as its President despite many powerful obstacles in his path.

Two immediate questions about the sudden demise of the MCA comet are whether Chua had been the victim of a double betrayal.

The first betrayal was the very orchestrated and professional manner in the surfacing of the video DVD. Who was behind it? All fingers point to his political enemies from within the MCA.

The second betrayal was whether he had been misled into believing that his admission in his Labis statement would suffice, and he could continue to keep his government and party posts, when in fact, his Labis statement would be the basis to force him to relinquish his government and party posts – as has now happened.

These questions would dominate any debate or discussion of the sudden demise of Chua Soi Lek in the annals of Malaysian politics.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by justice_fighter on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 9:58 pm

Dear devilmaster, thanks for your reply, I am still a young boy starting to learn more about politics :)

2. #2 by oknyua on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 10:10 pm

I won’t be so harsh to call him ‘stupid old man.’ I just pray I won’t be like him when I am 61. Things happen and I could only say he should have known better.

3. #3 by 1eyecls on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 10:19 pm

MIC was finished,now MCA is terminated,Gerakan better quit,letting some mosquito parties,so now,BN is almost ONEMAN show,i.e.UMNO is alone now!

As i said even before CHUA SOI LEK’s sex video scandal,BA has more chance to win 2/3 now!!!!

Bravo Bersih!Bravo Hindraf!Bravo Soi Lek!Bravo Rakyat!

4. #4 by achia3 on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 10:19 pm

Well said Men_of_Honor….Malaysian’s have always been judging the book by its cover. When its a Datuk…Kow Tow… when its a peasant…spit at his face.

shame on you Malaysians…shame on you….unless you stop voting with your eyes and start voting with your heart and brain.

5. #5 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 10:28 pm

Do you guys think this VCD of him will go away so long as he remains Minister? It will not go away now that he has stepped down as Minister. It will not go away certainly if he were to stand again in his constituency.

It would have been a serious distraction for the Abdullah administration and to MCA. It remains a distraction even now that the man has resigned.

Political adversaries will not let the matter rest.

Chua is a big boy and must have known that his sexual indiscretions exact a high price. But then I could be wrong. He did try to hang on to his ministerial post, didn’t he?

6. #6 by shaolin on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 10:42 pm

Dr. Chua Soi Lek is a good gentleman however he has
    too many enemies trying to ‘gun’ him down by DVDs…!

It does not pay to be naughty.

He owns himself up, not like UMNOputra Senior Minister
    with Altantuuya’s case…someone else must be scapegoat
    for him…!!

7. #7 by mendela on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 10:43 pm

Now CSL has set a pretty high standard for all BN bastards.

Let’s upload all earlier taped DVDs or photos of all UMO leaders’ past sex scandals and put them on youtube to force them to do the very honorable thing — to quit!

8. #8 by shaolin on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 10:46 pm

Correction:

“…someone else must be his scapegoat…”!!

9. #9 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 10:56 pm

dear me,Dr. there is a solution, change your belief and then marry your ‘close friend’. problem solved. no issue.

10. #10 by cherasusie on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 10:57 pm

i don’t care whether he used condom or whether he deserved what he did…..

i really worry for malaysia, my country. you think malaysia is ok?

i worry whether all malaysian get same treatment or punishment when same thing happens….

is he the first minister to do this? is he the only malaysian doing this? did you do it? only him?

i want him out with true feeling of guilt and remorse; not indignation…..is he?

the only thing that can drive malaysia out of

11. #11 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 11:09 pm

At least, CSL is brave to admit n resign (though a little late) unlike other poli-tikus leaders who deny n get police to go after whistle blower. Anyway this is only a very small matter as compare with wastage of nation tax money in terms of billions ringgit in many other cases. PKFZ, polis rent helicopter, patrol boats purchase, Ipoh-P.Besar double track, etc.
    Many others may hv done same thing as CSL, only that theirs are not disclosed or swept under caret.

12. #12 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 11:10 pm

Life is so fragile. You are here today and then gone tomorrow. Things are soooooo fluid.

Thats why we must live for the day.

My condolences for your sis’ demise.

As for Chua, I pity him. OK so he did some wrong. But think. There are do-no-gooders out there out to do him in. End his political career. Abruptly. Why now?

We must find out WHO these scum of the earth are. They are despicable. I smell entrapment, where the scums were well prepared and waiting. Lets find out who they are before they strike again.

13. #13 by raven77 on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 11:16 pm

Good riddance to this sorry excuse for a Health Minister. Have absolutely no sympathy and whoever did this to him did Malaysians and doctors a favour. He went around promulgating ethics when he himself was screwing to glory. Yes…Chua was ambitious at the expence of patients and the medical profession as a whole….His exit is certainly a big welcome to the medical community…..only one piece of advice DONT COME BACK

14. #14 by U32 on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 11:20 pm

After yesterday, we should all be more composed today. If we never knew, then yesterday and today would be like any other days. Dato Dr Chua knew about this two years ago and for two years, we have been led to believe that he was doing alright except when there was a point few months back when he looked so sad and he looked like he lost a lot of weight.

When the Johoreans came to meet him, one of them shouted that this was the work of the opposition. But Dato Ong Kah Ting refuted that saying it is due to the internal conflicts in the MCA.

Dato Dr Chua seemed to have underestimated the ordinary Malaysians. He said that it is because we cannot take it, that is why he has to resign. I don’t think Malaysians have such simple minds. Many Malaysians know what it means to have a good leadership and a good government. The rationale is very simple. If a leader places importance on his or her own desires, it means the people and the country is not as important and this shows that he is not a good leader. A good leader is not just about the looks and the way he carries himself or how many qualifications, awards and recommendations he has. A good leader always think about his people and his country.

Dato Dr Chua probably was confident of himself and his positions. May be he was thinking that if nothing happens to others, nothing will happen to him as well. He forgot that before he came into the scene, nobody outside MCA know much or anything about him. He should have been cautious with every step he took and with every person he came in contact with.

Who else is next to be put to shame ?

15. #15 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 11:22 pm

This reminded us of the Sodomy plotting of Anwar. Yes, anything dirty can emerge from within Barisan Nasional. Of course the political enemies plotted that, the enemies from within MCA. They are now celebrating it some where. They succeeded.

I thought this was the way UMNO did to its people, but MCA also liked it? Our political culture is kind of dirty. Poison letters always surfaced during election. I don’t think the police ever caught any of those who masterminded the games.

Of course, Anwar’s case was kind of strange where known persons published books to plot him down, but there must be some ones behind the scene who never shown up as ‘authors’ and I doubt we would ever know about the real him/her.

If the police were not able to trace and arrest (and punish by the juristical system) the gangs who plotted down against Chua, our trust in our police, and not just the police but also the political system, would be zero.

16. #16 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 11:26 pm

In very open western societies, CSL may be able to retain his post, but this is Msia. If we are very open minded, it is actually a personal thing, but Msia Islam Hadhari (hari hari ada had) surely cannot take this.

17. #17 by harrisonbinhansome on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 11:31 pm

Possibilities of Dr. Chua Soi Lek joining the DAP to exact vengance on his political enemies—-remote possibilities.

Politics rivalry equals business. Betrayal, backstabing, cheating, whiite-collar, even murderer.

One man’s meat is another’s poison so says an old adage.

18. #18 by mendela on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 11:36 pm

If the DVD was taken 2 years plus ago as reported, I am kind of sure it probably could be used to black mail CSL many times earlier!

The reason that the DVD at last surfaced could mean CSL might not able to meet the demands of the black mailers of late anymore.

I guess there are many questions that CSL needs to answer to the public. Did he jeopardize nation security when held ransom? How much ransom money he could have paid to the gang? Why the gang finally decided to disclose the DVD? Is she really a personal friend or Ms. Angela Yam?

CSL owes Malaysia many unanswered questions!

19. #19 by hiro on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 12:05 am

I have to admit being ambivalent about whether CSL is a gentleman. I suppose he could have been wrongly advised to come out clean in order to safe his political fortunes. Unfortunately, events took quite a different turn.

I am also disturbed that the DVD, as appears to be reported, is 2-years old. It would probably explain why his wife was quick to make a press statement to stand by him, but at the same time raises the question as to whether his office as a political leader and minister have in anyway been compromised by blackmail.

More disturbing would be hereto unknown depth of conspiracy to bring him down. Although it is almost certain that CSL in his fast climb upwards in MCA would probably have crossed a number of influential people, it could also been what he did as a minister that could have crossed other vested interest… and could well involve personalities from outside MCA but within BN.

It is actually quite ironic that no one actually suspects the opposition to be able to pull this off in the first place, which goes to reinforce the reality that for a behemoth that BN is, BN can only fall from within from perhaps internecine war, of which CSL episode is but a symptom. Such is the perverse state of democracy in this country.

20. #20 by assamlaksa on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 12:21 am

Do you think CSL has any other choice beside admitting that he is the one in the video? I had not seen it but based on news report the videos clearly identify the person, they is no escape.

Do you think CSL willingly resign from all the posts? If he had the intention to resign, he would have announced it during the Labis statement, but he did not. Instead he was reported to say “he had no intention of quitting his government and party posts”.

21. #21 by twistedmind on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 12:38 am

To the idiot Chua (who tried to be sarcastic at his exit press conference) – let me tell you this!

1. You chose to be a public figure! We didn’t. We like our private life. When you get slaughtered, face it like a man! Don’t blame us for it! You chose that public life, you didn’t live up to it.

2. You let your other head rule your judgment, deal with it – don’t point the finger at us. There are many of us who lead a decent God-fearing life, who stay away from politics and politicians – don’t you dare throw that ‘holier then thou’ statement at us. Not all of us go banging a 30-40 years younger girl at the age of 61!

Come on! Give us a break!
    Good riddance !

22. #22 by dawsheng on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 12:53 am

Can Chua sue the hotel?

23. #23 by kwkean on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 1:29 am

Agreed with what twistedmind said. It was actually a ‘wayang kulit’ show perform by he himself as he is stupid enough to think we will fall for it. And YES, ALOT did fall for it! Look at all the comments on this topic and you can see how simple minded Malaysian are! “CSL is brave, CSL is a man, CSL deserve a credit and blah blah blah…” Wake up my fellow MALAYSIAN!!! All this was just a ‘wayang kulit’ show to trick you and your vote!

I wonder how many ‘KESIAN’ votes will MCA Team B get from this show alone. This is why Malaysian can never vote UMNO/BN out because our people is so ‘DING DONG’ enough to fall for such a simple trick! Here comes BN counter attack and stay tune for more of their ‘wayang kulit’ show. Opposition parties should be alert as IGP might point finger to you as the mastermind behind this scandal and ISA will be their weapon to stop you from participating in the coming election.

24. #24 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 1:52 am

“Can Chua sue the hotel?” dawsheng

Interesting. If you were Chua would you do that? And for what? More dirt is likely to come out. He could have been taking more than just one SYT. These SYTs will appear as witnesses and more MCA big guns may be involved in trysts! Titillating thoughts. Imagine yet another twist to Watergate’s “Deep Throat”.

This calls for some investigative journalism.

25. #25 by Count Dracula on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 2:01 am

“If the police were not able to trace and arrest …. the gangs who plotted down against Chua, our trust in our police….” pulau_sibu

For what?? Making home movies without a license?

26. #26 by scorpian6666 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 2:04 am

ohh ! caught between the balls
    In Japan, he probably shoot himself in the ………..
    In Malaysia, smile, you are on candid camera.. and quit

Should have “do it” in …was it Australia ? where his … went last year?

If he had been smart enough, he would have get his wife approval and just get legally married, throw a party like his ……. ,

Just another LOVE STORY, Malaysian Version and don’t have to quit

maybe he’s offered MILLIONS in the bank to call it QUIT for his position (window of opportunity)

Who knows, his personal friend is also his ………. personal friend ! Anybody knows if he forgot to use safe sex on that DVD ???

27. #27 by bennylohstocks on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 2:17 am

28. #28 by Traveller on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 2:42 am

This is really a great concern for personal security and privacy in Malaysia.
    Who can be so powerful with the logistical resources to video-tape the act and to distribute the DVDs?
    However, I still salute Chua for his dignity to quit altogether considering that corruption in all forms, morality, money, power, influence, degrees..etc, is so endemic in Malaysia that it has become entwined in the culture of the country.
    I would think that sex between consensual adults would be the last reason to cause a downfall. This is not rape or pedophilia. How about those stealing from the country’s coffers, or peddling political and judical influence in return for money, or clinging to power in spite of gross incompetence, or turning a blind eye to organised crimes? Those affect the lifes of common Malaysians more because they deprive others of their proper share of the country’s wealth and progress, or deprive the citizens’ rights of their rights to judicial fairness and personal security. Shouldn’t these be the ones to go?
    I think everybody steals from the cookie-jar; the only difference is whether you are caught or not.
    The holier-than-thou attitude of the PM and his gang made me want to puke. What a hypocrisy.

29. #29 by Traveller on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 2:47 am

Sorry for the typo errors in my comments above. Am posting on the fly but you know what I mean.
    “..the citizens’ rights of their rights” should be “..the citizens of their rights..”

30. #30 by marD on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 3:20 am

Dr Chua SL has paid the price for his indiscretion. His ministerial position was clearly untenable following his public admission and he has to step down much as I like him personally.

His enemies are now satisfied with their dastardly act. May they have horrible dreams that they wish nights would not come.

Dr Chua has indeed done the right thing by resigning, let us close this chapter and move on.

Somehow my heart is heavy because he was a good Health Minister!

31. #31 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 5:54 am

“Those affect the lives of common Malaysians more because they deprive others of their proper share of the country’s wealth and progress, or deprive the citizens’ rights of their rights to judicial fairness and personal security. Shouldn’t these be the ones to go?” Traveller

If a Minister is caught perjuring himself be it on the witness stand, in court or out of court during a deposition, it matters not because his act causes no harm to anybody? It is acceptable even though he has broken the oath of office he took when he became Minister?

If he is caught shoplifting a bottle opener at Harrods, London while he was accompanying Najib and Rosmah in their Christmas shopping, it matters not because Dodi Fayed’s father could afford to lose a few bottle openers.

If he is caught on security camera trying on a pair of Victoria Secrets women’s lingerie for his wife and then leaving without paying and then caught by the security guard and made to pay for the items, it matters not because he paid for those items and it was for his wife?

All these are acts of dishonesty – though less serious to some than cheating one’s spouse.

It matters not because Ah Chong, Ahmad and Lingam and all your neighbors are also doing the same thing. It is alright for Samy Vellu to swap price tags when shopping for his new toupee because it is all done in the spirit of the New Year.

32. #32 by Tom Peters on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 7:49 am

Its the mainstream media that is embarrassing. The blogs are not absolved either. What is clearly a person’s private matter is again engaged in the public domain. Most splashed his story on the front page strutting themselves in the notion that they were bringing us the highlights of the day.

33. #33 by manamana on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 8:00 am

i am surprised CSL first media he did not resign as what ever happened is a disgrace . my personal opiniion of CSL first and second media is he is a man too proud of his status, too egostic, and think he did no wrong. very sarcastic. till now he has not repentant. WHAT A SHAME. how could a health ministry be a part time porno star and think he can still get away with it. answer to his question of what he wants to do after resigning is to be a reporter. porno star should be more appropriate since he is now famous for that.

first media he tried to get viewers sympathy by owing to the dvd contents. second media he become very bold by blaming others for his downfall. no one could create his own downfall if he himself allow it to be done. do not peach about health conscious, safe sex, faithfully partner as a health minister if your own dignity is in questions. resigning is the best option malaysians are expecting.

34. #34 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 8:08 am

I find the comments on this issue to be full of Westernised platitudes or some sort of traditional fatalist. Commendable for owning up? He is capable but back-stabbed? etc. etc. This is an incredible opportunity to discuss real issues.

Why is it Dr. Chua could not get way with what he did while Bill Clinton did?

Firstly, when I heard that he was first not going to quit, I thought he deserved to be fired just for his arrogance and his mediocre intellect. There is no such thing as complete separation of morality and politics. Separation of religion and state does not mean separation of personal morality and politics. AND we don’t separate religion and state power. In a state that claims to be nonsensical non-secular and non-theocratic, its absolute nonsense that personal morality is not part of the fair game. If Dr. Chua don’t get it, he deserved to be fired for his arrogance and ultimately flawed intellect.

Second, he is right about our society being hypocritical or as he said ‘holier than thou’ attitude, but he deserved to go BECAUSE it is. The issue is who was part of creating that ‘holier than thou’ attitude in the first place. We are a society that whose leaders constantly spouse hypcrisy. Where was Dr. Chua when non-Muslim couples was being arrested for being amorous in public park? Where was Dr. Chua when a single mother was arrested for trying to make a living in a pub? Where was Dr. Chua when Anwar was called gay by Dr. M? If Dr. Chua should be forgiven should not Anwar be given the Prime Ministership and Dr. M arrested?

But there are larger hypocrisy – calling Hindraf extremist and terrorist and using the ISA on them. Our leaders tell us to pretend to be united when we are not AND are Hindraf is slammed because they tell the truth. Is Pak Lah saying tell him the truth and then have those people arrested NOT a larger hypocrisy than ours?

And what about legal hypocrisy? Our constitution itself have them. Where is Dr. Chua on the Sabatini case where ALL branches of government including the courts abdicated responsibility? Lets not even get into election laws and political funding.

Our political leaders is used to spouting one thing and when it becomes inconvenient to say another. One set of principles for them, another set for us. Even in a legally fair system, politicians are already hypocritical by nature but in Malaysia politicians are allowed hypocrisy to include legal and structural ones.

Yes we are hypocrites but we brought us here. As the bible said, those who live by the sword, die by it. It cuts both way. We should be sad, not so much for Dr. Chua but for ourselves.

35. #35 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 8:17 am

Let’s face facts:— If it was a Jap minister instead of CSL who was caught in the DVD, he would had committed hara-kiri instead of blaming an ‘unforgiving’ people

36. #36 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 8:28 am

An Inside-Job?
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Thursday/Frontpage/2122984/Article/index_html
    Chua’s exit has probably headed off any infighting that could have arisen in the future, given expectations that he would mount a challenge for deputy president Datuk Chan Kong Choy’s post.

37. #37 by Counterpoint on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 8:44 am

“Unfortunately, from the feedback I received, I observed that Malaysians cannot accept it.”
    “Some Malaysians have a holier-than-thou attitude,”
    ——————————–
    These are this politician’s ‘dying’ words.

Got felled by immense public pressure, but could not resist taking a swipe at the public.

Hey, we are not the one who’s a health minister promoting good health and healthy lifestyles but got caught with his pants down committing adultery and expecting everybody to be so ‘accepting’ of his sin like his wife.

The more of these BN ministers get sexposed, the merrier.

38. #38 by kowtim on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 8:51 am

Bill Chua had to openly admit it was him otherwise there will be speculation whether the person in the DVD was his boss as both of them are MP’s from Johore. Well the police should be looking for Angie Yam Lewinsky now and I hope the government will appoint Ken Starr Lee to get to the bottom of this fiasco.

39. #39 by malaysia born on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 8:52 am

The moment anyone hold any position as a public official is the moment when his/her lifestyle, private thoughts and comments become public property.

I don’t understand (and will never will) how there are people who make this scandal out to be about someone’s privacy!

The issue is about a public official integrity, never ever forget about that. …or is that quality not important anymore when we judje our representative? If it’s so, then let’s all shut up any more talk about accountabilty and transperancy.

The issue is that he cheated on his family and if someone who can do that to his own family, then what is it that is going to stop him from cheating the public (in case we forget, that’s us!).

Perhaps being sympathetic is part of being malaysian?

40. #40 by k1980 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:07 am

Naughty Chua’s wife should wear a T-shirt reading “Mrs Chua SL” in front and on the back reading “and proud of it”
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/asia/article3121954.ece
    At the Malaysian national Aids conference a month ago he said: “Abstinence is still the best way. And be faithful to your partner. It also boils down to both partners being responsible. Do not blame anybody”…websites and bulletin boards had already been posted with antiChinese racism, including a video juxtaposing reports of Dr Chua’s adultery with footage of mating pigs.

41. #41 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:10 am

“Yes we are hypocrites but we brought us here. As the bible said, those who live by the sword, die by it. It cuts both way. We should be sad, not so much for Dr. Chua but for ourselves.” Bigjoe

I’m not sure that this is all that it is about.

I’m not sure if what Mathew and Roman in the Bible tell us is relevant here either i.e. let those who is without sin cast the first stone. In fact I do not think what happened to Chua has anything to do with morals and hypocrisy.

Do you really think given the situation he found himself in that he could carry out his ministerial duties to the best of his ability, with due diligence as if nothing has happened?

42. #42 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:12 am

He did take the oath of office, didn’t he??

43. #43 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:20 am

Let me state one thing clearly, while I believe that a polticians personal conduct is fair game for voters to decide whether they want him or not, personally I don’t think its the right thing to do. All of us are flawed personally and if you dig deep enough, you will find that all our political personal lives are less than perfect. If we start just using personal morality as the basis of judging, where do one draw the line? If he treats his children badly do we say he is unfit because he has to rule on matters that relates to children and education, if he smokes, then he should not decide on smoking laws? It will not take very long before we run out of public servants.

No, there should not be hard and fast rule about personal morality and public office but its for each person to decide if and how much certain conduct matters and clearly in Dr. Chua case, it matters to most Malaysian by most polls and hence their right to decide.

Again, I believe the issue is larger and not simply a scandalous behaviour and public morality per se. Its fundamentally about one set of principles for ruling politicians and another for the rest of us that they created. There is no complaining of hypocrisy when they don’t protect us against theirs.

44. #44 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:23 am

Or rather when you use hypocrisy to your own advantage first, you don’t get to complain about it later.

45. #45 by mata_kucing on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:23 am

When he first admitted he being the main actor in the “blue ” film, I was quite sympathetic with his situation. But it looks like his only regret is that he got caught with his pants down, not his indiscretions. Taking pot-shots at the public and acusing people with “holier than thou” attitude etc. is cheap. Come on, you chose to be a leader of the community, paid by the rakyat to look after their affairs.

You know your public life is under close scrutiny. You are supposed to set a good example for everybody including the younger generation. But like many of your erstwhile colleages, you chose to think with your manhood rather than with your head. What I am interested to know is if all your hotel bills are paid by the rakyat or at your personal account.

Stop whinning and get on with your life. Dump your girlfriend and restart relationship with your family. It’s still not too late.

P/s And oh, dump your MCA colleages too. They’re a bunch of gangsters and slimeballs as we’ve been saying all along.

46. #46 by oknyua on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:36 am

If i know Dr Chua, I would call him for my support. I would say he did right by resigning.

There is a separation between the two: My support does not imply I condone what he did. As a public figure, he knows he is in public scrutiny, but I am not one to cast the first stone. He is not better or worse than me (or anyone of you for that matter).

And yet, I believe he did right by resigning. By resigning he diverted the focus from MCA/ government away to himself. His effectiveness as a minister had been dented, but more important, I think, he has to sort out his personal and family life away from public scrutiny.

Early in my life my Asian value told me not to make fun of a fallen old man (he is 61) because you will get old one day. Do not make fun of your peers; you don’t know what each one would become. You do not make fun of the youths – you were once young, were you any better?

47. #47 by devilmaster on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:37 am

As what twistedmind & kwkean said earlier, a lot of you guys did fall for such a simple trick. Some of the commentators here even got carried away by just a simple admission. It is sad to note that.

My point here is – did he really feel repentant? You can read it here and read it with a clear mind(hopefully):-
    http://serpentholm.blogspot.com/2008/01/blog-post.html

48. #48 by ktteokt on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:41 am

This is what the Chinese call “ren pa chu ming, zhu pa fei” – literally meaning “it is bad for a human to be famous and pigs to be fat”. When pigs grow fat, the only destiny for them is to be slaughtered and when humans become famous the same destiny applies. Minister Chua has become the victim of this famous saying.

49. #49 by People on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:42 am

Let MAN live like an ordinary citizen. He and his family must be having a tough time right now. He is definitely been set up by ppl within. As the MAN himself has said ” healthy political culture embraces no corruption, no moral lapses of judgment. A healthy political culture shld not just be confined to just term of office” . So to those corrupted leaders, its time for you to do same like the MAN himself!! The RAKYAT knows who is corrupted and who is not.

50. #50 by megaman on Thursday, 3 January 2008 - 9:45 am

Sigh …

Is a private sex scandal a more heinous crime than outright corruption ?

Have everyone forgot about the Jasin MP who tried to bribe his way through custom ?

Have everyone forgot about the Klang “palace” and illegal satay restaurant another MP built ?

Have everyone forgot about Lingamgate ?

Have everyone forgot about the Mongolian model ?

Have everyone forgot about the Port Klang Free Zone scandals ?

Aren’t these more heinous and despicable compared to Chua’s sex scandal ?

And if so, why have everyone forgotten about them ? Is it because sex sells ?

And if nobody have forgotten, why haven’t there been any progress ?

I am very disappointed. Malaysians are nothing but a bunch of ignorant squabbling fools.

Comments are closed.