Do Malaysian Muslims understand what ‘Allah’ means?

The Other Malaysia
by Farish A. Noor
25 December 2007

At the time of writing this, I am in Cairo in the company of my Egyptian friends who are Muslims, Catholics and Copts. Eid has passed and I attended several dinners and celebrations where Muslims and Copts celebrated together, visiting each others’ homes and ate til we could not eat any further. What is worse, Christmas is upon us and so once again Muslims, Catholics and Copts will be heading for the communal table for the communal feast and there will be much licking of chops, munching of bread, gobbling of sweet deserts and drinking for everyone. It is all simply too pleasant to belive, yet it is real and this is what life is like for many in Cairo, the ‘Mother of civilisation’ and home to more than twenty million Egyptians from all walks of life.

What is most striking to the outside observer like me – though rather banal for the Egyptians themselves – is the fact that in all these celebrations ranging from Eid for the Muslims to Christmas for the Catholics and Copts the word ‘Allah’ is used to denote that supreme and singular divinity, God. Catholics and Copts alike exclaim ‘Masha-allah’, ‘Wallahi’, ‘ya-Rabbi’, ‘Wallah-u allam’, and of course ‘Allahuakbar’ day in, day out, everywhere they go. The coptic taxi driver blares out ‘By Allah, cant you see where you are parking??” as he dodges the obstable ahead. The Catholic shopkeeper bemoans “Ya Allah, ya Allah! You can only offer me two pounds for the scarf? Wallahi, my mother would die if she heard that! Ya-Rabbi, ya-Rabbi!”

Yet in Malaysia at the moment yet another non-issue has been brewed to a scandal for no reason: The Malaysian Catholic Herald, a publication by and for Catholics in the country, has been told that it can no longer publish its Malaysian language edition if it continues to use the word “Allah” to mean God. Worse still, the country’s Deputy Internal Security Minister Johari Baharum recently stated that “Only Muslims can use the word Allah” ostensibly on the grounds that “Allah” is a Muslim word. The mind boggles at the confounding logic of such a non-argument, which speaks volumes about the individual’s own ignorance of Muslim culture, history and the fundamental tenets of Islam itself.

For a start, the word ‘Allah’ predates the revelation to the Prophet Muhammad and goes way back to the pre-Islamic era. Christians had been using the word long before there were any Muslims, in fact. Furthermore the word is Arabic, and is thus common to all the peoples, cultures and societies where Arabic – in all its dialects – is spoken, and is understood by millions of Arabic speakers to mean God, and little else. One could also add that as “Allah” is an Arabic word it therefore has more to do with the development and evolution of Arabic language and culture, and less to do with Islam. It is hard to understand how any religion can have a language to call its own, for languages emerge from a societal context and not a belief system. If one were to abide by the skewered logic of the Minister concerned, then presumably the language of Christianity (if it had one) would be Aramaic, or perhaps Latin.

The Minister’s remark not only demonstrated his shallow understanding of Muslim culture and the clear distinction between Arab culture and Muslim theology, but it also demonstrated his own lack of understanding of the history of the Malays, who, like many non-Arabs, only converted to Islam much later from the 13th century onwards. Among the earliest pieces of evidence to indicate Islam’s arrival to the Malay archipelago are the stone inscriptions found in Malay states like Pahang where the idea of God is described in the sanskrit words ‘Dewata Mulia Raya’. As no Malay spoke or even understood Arabic then, it was natural for the earliest Malay-Muslims to continue using the Sanskrit-inspired language they spoke then. Surely this does not make them lesser Muslims as a result?

The ruckus that has resulted thanks to the threat not to allow the publication of the Malaysian language edition of the Christian Herald therefore forces observers to ask the simple question: Why has this issue erupted all of a sudden, when the word Allah was used for so long with narry a protest in sight? At a time when the Malaysian government is already getting flak as a result of the protests by Malaysian Hindus who insist that they remain at the bottom of the economic ladder despite fifty years of independence, now it would appear as if the Malaysian government cannot get enough bad publicity.

The administration of Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi came to power on the promise that it would promote its own brand of moderate Islam that was pluralist and respectful of other cultures and religions. But time and again the Malaysian public – first Hindus and now Christians – have felt necessary to protest over what they regard as unfair, biased treatment and the furthering of an exclusive brand of Islam that is communitarian and divisive. The latest fiasco over the non-issue that is the name of God would suggest that Prime Minister’s Badawi’s grand vision of a moderate Islam has hit the rocks, and is now floundering. Just how the ministers and elite of this government is to regain their course is open to question, but what is clear is that some Ministers should get their basic knowledge of their own religion in order first.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 29 December 2007 - 10:37 pm

I don’t know the real motif of banning Christians/Catholics to use Allah in Malaysia (is tantamount to West Malaysia in UMNO bigot’s mind!) by UMNO bigots.

1. “Allah” was used by Christians in Sabah and Sarawak long before Malaysia was formed.

2. “Allah” is word borrowed from Arabic language. Why Malay version Quran is not using Tuhan or Hyang instead of “Allah”. Some Malays think Allah is exclusively for Islam is merely a side effect of long-term brainwashing by UMNO ulamaks.

3. If Allah is only God exclusively for Islam, meaning non-muslims shall have another God called Tuhan or Patung, may be a fake one as some Taliban-like Muslims believe.

My guess is UMNO is trying to manipulate religion issue in uniting Malays under their banner before 12nd General Election.

2. #2 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 29 December 2007 - 11:19 pm

“What word would you “allow” for these Arab to use as a substitute of ‘Allah’? Johari, I don’t know how old you are, but you are a real joke.”

Somebody please check his academic credentials, background etc.

I put the entire blame on the ‘chief cleric’ Abdullah Badawi for not issuing any ‘fatwa’ for his boys to follow. He alone more than anybody else, is responsible for the mess the country is in.

It is not a case of poor leadership or a failed leadership but no leadership at all. When is he going to realize that he is not chief secretary to the government?

3. #3 by mickey01 on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 12:11 am

Words like Ayatollah, Alamak, Masallah, Saallah, Baallah, Taallah, etc should be banned also. becos it uses the word allah.

4. #4 by shamshul anuar on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 12:15 am

Dear Readers.

I refer to remarks on the word “Allah”. Malaysiatoday claimed that Malays are confused due to brainwashing by UMNO ulamak. I am not so sure about the allegation on brainwashing. Confused, maybe yes on understanding of Islam but as far as I know, no ulamak in UMNO stood that low.

Some segment of Malaysians are confused with race and religion. Malay, Chinese, Arabs , Indians are races. Islam, Christianity, etc are religions. As an example, several years ago, Malaysians often came across Arqam followers in flowing robe, green in colour.

They claimed to dress like Prophet Muhammad. Muslims are reminded in the Kuran that Prophet Muhammad is the best example for human to follow. But what these Arqam failed to realize that Prophet Muhammad was also an Arab. What he wore was an Arab dress, typical of 6th century .

If Prophet Muhammad dressed like an Arab , that was because he was an Arab. Cultural inclination is evident here. There is no such thing as a fixed Islamic dress. A Baju Melayu worn by Malay males during Hari Raya is as Islamic as a three piece suit by their Western counterparts in temperate climate. Islam allows cultural variety so long it complies with religious requirement.

My point is that race can sometimes be confused with religion. The above incidents shows how shallow the understanding of Islam by Arqam followers. What Muslims are urged to follow is not the dressing of Prophet Muhammad, but rather his character such as honesty, humility, mercy, wisdom, care for his subjects and high regards for women.

I myself would not take someone who dressed like that of Arqam followers as my employee.

As for Johari’s remark, I do not think he or UMNO tries to manipulate religion to win the election. Without that remarks, UMNO’s supremacy in Malaysian politics is unchallenged, at least in these few years to come. What the remarks implies is that he, like other mere mortals, can also make mistake. But certainly not to manipulate religion.

I am sure people of other communities also sometimes show how shallow the understanding on Malays by saying “Masuk Islam means masuk Melayu”. This is not a blame game situation. it just shows lack of understanding.

5. #5 by zioburosky13 on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 12:46 am

This is what happen when you put a lack-of-knowledge people to in-charge our daily life.

6. #6 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 1:23 am

Shamshul,

How do you explain the banning of religious material imported by the church, and the refusal of a printing permit because the church refuses to stop its use of bahasa Malaysia?

Article 11 (3) protects the rights of non-Muslims.

Is there not an abuse of discretion under the Printing Presses and Publications Act?

7. #7 by smeagroo on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 2:18 am

Frankly speaking, majority of Christians if not all will surely be voting for the opposition. If BN wants any hope in the next GE, they better pray that their religion play-acting will make them stand united and play to their tune and vote them back in for another 5 yrs of corruption. For I know, we dont condone corruption nor corrupted people. I dunno abt you?

8. #8 by smeagroo on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 2:23 am

I think some smart alec UMNO goon will soon copyright it. He can make tons of money from it.

9. #9 by malaysiatoday.com on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 2:38 am

UMNO scare tactics are repetitive simple, internally they are creating religious threat against Islam (like the Allah wording incident) to warn Malay folks that Islam is in danger or insulted by non-Muslims.

Many of us should still remembered Tengku Razaki’s cross in his headgear gifted by Pairin was manipulated by UMNO to incite hatred and fear against Christians.

Externally they will threaten Chinese with another 513 bloodshed.

This is a fail-proof formula to win elections in Malaysia used by UMNO for last 50 years.

10. #10 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 4:26 am

“UMNO scare tactics are repetitive simple, internally they are creating religious threat against Islam (like the Allah wording incident) to warn Malay folks that Islam is in danger or insulted by non-Muslims.”

We call that beating the drums of a narrow form of Malay nationalism – and Islamo facism.

11. #11 by honkycat on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 6:14 am

I’m a former Malayan citizen (I left Malaya to study in the UK in 1958) and I’ve been a proud British citizen since 1965. I have been living in the UK ever since.

My son saw this article in the Guardian and passed it on to me so I thought I would share it with you.

Copyright ‘Allah’ by Ali Eteraz (December 29, 2007 8:30 AM)

http://commentisfree.guardian.co.uk/ali_eteraz/2007/12/copyright_allah.html

12. #12 by Jong on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 9:16 am

Najib has the nerve to warn ‘trouble-makers’ of dire consequences for those out to create chaos and instability. He’s beginning to speak like his boss PM Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. He doesn’t realise that those “trouble-makers” are the gobloks and baboons within UMNO – Johari Baharum, KJ the protected SIL, Hishammuddin Hussein Onn, Nazri Aziz and Zainuddin Maidin.

If Najib is able to control his bunch of gobloks and baboons, curb their nonsensical behavior, there’ll be peace in Malaysia but he and his boss don’t seem to do that rather, they condone their despicable actions.

What has “Allah” and “God” to do with Malaysia or UMNO for that matter? Do they have the copyright of usage?

13. #13 by ktteokt on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 10:18 am

Better still if they apply for international copyright on the use of the word “Allah”, then no other country in the world, including the nation of origin of Islam will be allowed to use this copyrighted word!

14. #14 by Loh on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 10:31 am

///Some segment of Malaysians are confused with race and religion. Malay, Chinese, Arabs , Indians are races.///— Shamsul Anuar.

Yes, Malay is conditional on religion whereas the others can be seperated from religion.

15. #15 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 10:56 am

16. #16 by dj on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 11:18 am

For some, it looks like it is such an astonishment being a Muslim. Empty vessels and new-comers to the religion make the most noise. Just how long have they been Muslims? Probably a couple of centuries in this archipelago. They are still jumping around. So, pardon them for doing so. In the first place, is Allah a Muslim? If he is a Muslim, then they have confined him for being only a Muslim and can God the almighty be confined within such walls of narrow ideologies?

I don’t believe in such crap!!!

17. #17 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 12:21 pm

Hey you all!!! Don’t forget the other issue.

That ole Jo is “GOD”, that is HE controls everyone who needs a permit to broadcast, print and publish. What HE says go. HE is the chief censor and bully.

So the mass media has to kowtow to him, worship him or else they close shop. They have to toe the line and be good obedient boys. Thats “Cemerlang, Terbilang and Gemilang” for you. “Freedom” is for him to decide.

18. #18 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 4:15 pm

from now on, the God in Malay would be TianZhu. Chinese don’t claim that it is our God or you cannot use it for Islam. In Chinese, you are welcome to write Allah as ??

19. #19 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 4:16 pm

from now on, the God in Malay would be TianZhu. Chinese don’t claim that it is our God or you cannot use it for Islam. In Chinese, you are welcome to write Allah as TianZhu

20. #20 by shamshul anuar on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 6:03 pm

Dear Loh.

Many thanks for your remarks. Perhaps you still miss my point. My point is actually quite simple. Many of us are confused with religion and race, cultures.

Religion transcends political, cultural boundaries. Malay or any other races like Chinese, Arabs, Turkish tribe are not exclusive custodians of Islam just like Europeans are not the sole custodian of Christianity.

Johari made the mistake here. But certainly he is not trying to manipulate religion here. It just shows that he, being a mortal man, also make mistake just like you. You( and everybody else) can criticize him for his remarks or his point but do spare the insult on Malays or Islam or UMNO.

As Mr DJ said ” Empty vessel or newcomers to Islam…” Now there is no need for such remarks. Why ridicule a race for a mistake made by one man. Exactly this is the attitude that can be termed hostile. You expect people to have high regards on you but you are also hostile to them.

As for Malaysiatoday, it is up to you to accept reality. The very main reason why BN continue to maintain supremacy in Malaysian politics is actually quite simple. No opposition parties are able to emulate its tried and tested formula of political sharing.

BN continue to win due to vast majority( not necessarilry reflected here) of malaysians see it as the only coalition able to represent whole segments of Malaysia. To the Malays it is pointless to expect DAP to represent them when the party’s view often clashes with that of their interests. Hindraf was the latest proof. Instead of criticizing Hindraf for being extreme in its action, DAP seems to support a movement who has no qualm in depicting Malay, Islam in worst possible manner.

As for Chinese, they are not comfortable with PAS. Ask DAP. Its dalliance with PAS proved to be a disaster.

That does not mean I am denying existence of support for these 2 parties. What I am trying to say that overly simplistic view( aimed to discredit only) by remarks from people like Darkhorse shows denial of reality.

21. #21 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 6:38 pm

DID ROBERT LAU DO ANYTHING?
    BN PUNISH YOU FIRST BY DOING NOTHING WRONG, AND THEN WE HAVE TO THANK THEM FOR NOT PUNISHING US?? WHAT KIND OF WORLD IS THIS?

“We thank (Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department) Tan Sri Bernard Dompok for his assistance, as well as the various news agencies and other media groups for supporting us with their wide coverage,” Father Lawrence said in a statement.

The paper has a circulation of 12,000 among the Catholic community.

When contacted, Dompok said he had brought the matter to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi a few days before Christmas and Abdullah had promised to look into it.

22. #22 by Tickler on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 7:02 pm

So, before Dompok brought it up Badawi didn`t know.
    Even though it was all over, and despite the fact that Sabah Evangelical church filed a suit followed by a certificate of urgency.
    And though the Senior Federal Counsel Azizah Nawawi appeared in Court on Dec.27
    http://sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=20340

Now Dompok has to be lying.

23. #23 by malaysiatoday.com on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 8:49 pm

shamshul anuar,

I do not deny DAP and PAS cannot sleep on a same bed from day one.

Under the current political reality with the majority of Chinese and Indian are unhappy with BN, UMNO’s best strategy is to play racial and religion sentiment to make sure at least 70% Malay voters are voting them.

UMNO can play out Allah issue while MCA can play islamic state issue to negate the non-Malay support for opposition.

BN can win 2/3 is due to voting system favours the winner and Malay/bumi constituencies. Let’s recall 1999 GE, BN only got 54% while opposition got 46% number of votes, but this proportion of vote did not show up in parliament seats.

As long as 70% Malays are voting for UMNO, UMNO will win at least 50% parliament seats and stay as a dominant force.

UMNO is clever enough to know that Indian and Chinese are no longer to vote BN like in 1999 GE. Sacrifiling MCA and MIC for UMNO own survival is only choice for UMNO, and the best weopan is to incite religious sentiment amongst Malays.

You can go back to kampung surau and tell your Malay folks that chiristians are insulting islam by calling their God also as Allah. I am confident to say 99% of kampung malays in West Malaysia will buy-in your talk without a second thought.

24. #24 by Loh on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 8:58 pm

///The very main reason why BN continue to maintain supremacy in Malaysian politics is actually quite simple. No opposition parties are able to emulate its tried and tested formula of political sharing. ///– Shamshul Anuar

Well, you are certainly entitled to your opinion. Let me advance my observations.

The way parliamentary constituencies have been set up ensures that Malays with a slight majority in population was able to obtain proportionately more seats. So long as Malays are satisfied with government policies, the government of the day will continue to be in power.

The ways the government ensured that Malays vote for them were actually quite simple. Firstly, the government overplayed Article 153, for example, only Malays were recruited as FELDA settlers, and over a million acres of land were developed using public funds into plantations for them, before May 13. Secondly, Malays were brainwashed to believe that UMNO is their savior, and without the party, it has no place under the Malaysian sun. To substantiate the warrior actions, the Malays are made to see that government actions are biased against non-Malays for their benefit. That created their entitlement mindset, and they rationalized it to be that the ‘privilege’ was bestowed because their forefathers came to Malaya earlier than the non-Malays, never mind that Orang Asli were the real indigenous people of this land. If that was not enough, it was then the religion which has given Malays the extra right, simply because the religion Islam is the official religion of the land. And now the powers-that-be even claims that this is an Islamic state though the founder prime minister clearly stated that Malaysia was secular.

The May 13 had many reasons assigned to it, but what was not true is it was a spontaneous display of hatred by the Malays against n0n-Malays because of economic disparity. The government whitewashed the incidents and set the perpetrators free, rather than brought them to justice. Hence the government created NEP, and used of distorted statistics to justify its actions. This is confirmed by the fact that until a year after the PM and DPM promised to reveal the way the most important statistics, the so-called 30% target was compiled, nothing has come out of it. The most telling confirmation was the statement by the most quoted son-in-law that even if 30% had been achieved, they would just move the target, and NEP would still fall short of the target!

Non-Malays were made to believe that May 13 had everything to do with the success at the GE in 1969 by the opposition parties. So they chose not to rock the boat in subsequent elections. That was the reason why even in the last UMNO GE, May 13 was used as a threat. In the process two million non-Malays satisfied Tun Razak foresight to be ‘good riddance’.

So BN continues to rule. It’s so simple. Since it is so simple to remain in power, why can’t they do what they like, such as giving contracts to their friend and cronies, giving the positions in the judiciary to the people who would look after their interest, giving power to the person who would listen to the wishes of the boss to get inconvenient politicians out of the way.

The non-Malays do not believe that the powers-that-be is interested to create a nation where the people have shared destiny, never mind what TDM cooked out his 9 challenges. Non-Malays are clear that BN is employing the boiling frog technique, and they will either be dead which they would not have any feeling after death, anyway, or they just leave when they are ready like the two million before them. The subsidiaries of UMNO who are sharing power with UMNOputras for wealth creation can also leave with fat bank accounts when the time comes. Yes, BN works on power sharing, but not for the community, but for themselves.

The countries which were way behind us are catching up with us every fast. We have disabled all the institutions that ensure rule of law in this country and replaced them with a system that employs rule by law. Our comparative advantage in institutions competence until the 1960s has been lost, and do we have to wonder why our per capita income is only about 1/4 that of Singapore which had no natural resources at all?

The BN government needs to be thrown out. Let PAS lead the next government. Let BNputras feel that politics is not the short cut to wealth and power, but to serve. Give BN a change to weed out the opportunists, and let them get elected based on track records rather than on the use of racial mix in electoral constituencies and racial politics.

25. #25 by Godamn Singh on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 9:16 pm

“It just shows that he, being a mortal man, also make mistake just like you.” Shamshul

When a man makes mistakes, his flawed character comes at no cost to the nation but himself. But when a politician who is the people’s representative makes a mistake the entire nation has to pay for it. We’re paying for his mistake in more than one sense.

26. #26 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 9:54 pm

Shamshul,

Before the police corruption issue, before the hindraf issue and certainly before the “Allah” issue many of the pragmatists among us looked upon the opposition winning in more seats with guarded but raised optimism. Now talk of a visible swing to the opposition is punctuated by expressions of regret that things could be better.

Once again issues of race and religion provide safe harbor for UMNO.

Issues like corruption is forced to the back burner, to be looked again later and controlled as members of one family, of one ethnic group, the patriarch disciplining and exacting punishments upon the less favored, rather than members of one nation looking at issues like corruption as a national malaise the effects of which have long threatened to destroy the entire fabric our society.

Like many here, I’d like to see the wheels of change set in motion. The same wheels are now stalled because Malays are fast losing their sense of security. Agents of change have been thrown into disarray and a formula has yet to be found on how best to regroup. I’m afraid it will never be found – certainly not in time to reset the nation’s pulse.

27. #27 by Colonel on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 10:56 pm

“You can go back to kampung surau and tell your Malay folks that chiristians are insulting islam by calling their God also as Allah. I am confident to say 99% of kampung malays in West Malaysia will buy-in your talk without a second thought.” malaysiatoday.com

So you’re resigned to the fact that UMNO’s communal politics will always win the day?

The hope of the future generation is that one day Malaysians will be convinced that the good of the country requires that they cease to act as Malays, Chinese and Indians.

The political opposition is not much better because although membership in the DAP is not limited to one race, it is seen as a Chinese party. The same applies to PKR. Is it not time for the two to merge instead of contesting the election as members of a coalition. What sets UMNO and BN apart from the opposition is that they play the politics of race openly and unashamedly; but with the opposition it says it is not. But isn’t the taste of the pudding is in the eating?

28. #28 by malaysiatoday.com on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 12:52 am

Herald gets good news

By ELIZABETH LOOI, The Star, 30 Dec 2007

PETALING JAYA: The publisher of Herald – The Catholic Weekly newspaper, which reports on the Catholic community in English, Bahasa Malaysia, Tamil and Chinese, has had its permit renewed.

The editor, Reverend Father Lawrence Andrew, said a representative from the Internal Security Ministry delivered the letter of approval, dated Dec 28, by hand at 10am Sunday.

“We thank (Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department) Tan Sri Bernard Dompok for his assistance, as well as the various news agencies and other media groups for supporting us with their wide coverage,” Father Lawrence said in a statement.

The paper has a circulation of 12,000 among the Catholic community.

When contacted, Dompok said he had brought the matter to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi a few days before Christmas and Abdullah had promised to look into it.

“I think the permit is good news and the Government has given the Christian community a wonderful Christmas present.

“The community will certainly be happy to know that the Government is looking into their welfare,” said Dompok.

===============================================

This news never say Allah is allowed or not in the Malay section.

29. #29 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 1:17 am

Don’t worry. now UMNO can tell their kampung folks that UMNO made all Christians converted to Islam because Christians started calling their God as Allah. And this was at the instruction of UMNO and BN.

30. #30 by DarkHorse on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 1:38 am

I think what this means is that Herald has compromised and will not be printing its bahasa section and if it does the reference to Allah as god is to be omitted.

31. #31 by DarkHorse on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 1:40 am

Free speech protagonists may have won a battle and but not the war.

32. #32 by smeagroo on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 2:55 am

They always create problems then send a “saviour” and then the PM and govt will come out smelling like a bunch of roses!

SANDIWARA!

33. #33 by Jeffrey on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 9:58 am

///..They always create problems then send a “saviour” and then the PM and govt will come out smelling like a bunch of roses!/// -smeagroo.

“They” implies that people in power are a homogenous group out to heighten racial and religious issues and then soften their stance to come out smelling like a bunch of roses.

Somehow, the more likely scenario is that only some within the power elite (bankrupt of other issues) are more likely playing racial and religious issues to garner either their constituency’s or other ultra rightist support within UMNO for the coming election.

They proceed on the assumption and perception that their numero ono is weak and would not dare to overrule or thwart whatever their initiatives at flashing the racial or religious card to promote the “Malay Agenda” in fear of losing rightist support within UMNO – not unless at least he could justify doing so due to strong public outcry and resistance, by which occasion the trouble makers could again also use the PM’s intervention as an excuse to mobilize rightists’ support within party against him.

I imagine it is a complex political power game to push their leader to the tight corner between either alienating rightists’ or rakyat (especially minority)’s support. If they don’t continually undermine him by throwing such challenges how would they hasten his exit to make way for others to ascend up the ladder?

That members of government are not homogenous is also seen in the person of UPKO President Bernard Dompok. I think he is a person of religious principles who will maintain collective unity only up to that point that his conscience permits. That point was reached where:

· he resigned as chairman from the Parliamentary Select Committee on Integrity when he was accused by Nazri of being influenced by LKS on the issue of NRD officials not appearing before the committee;

· he was the only non muslim minister amongst the other 9 who did not withdraw the memorandum on article 12(1)A to the PM and who at the launch of ‘The Merdeka Statement’ by the Centre for Public Policy Studies in Kuala Lumpur, said the nation’s founders did not have in mind an Islamic state when the Federation of Malaysia was formed in 1963 and further “I think my colleagues in the government will forgive me for saying that I will not agree that we are an Islamic state.”

· And now to get the PM to overrule Johari on the Herald issue on use of the word Allah in reference to God in Bahasa.

There may well be other moderates within the BN but moderates are usually silent not wanting to rock the boat or incur the other rightists’ ill-will.

It is understandable why some like to play extremists because it pays and help make advances.

If they are resisted and stopped by moderates, they don’t lose anything in the status quo.

However if they were not resisted and stopped, they would have made a marginal advance of their position by the extremist act.

That being the case the risk of staying same or behind is minimal but the chances of going forward and advancing their position are always there by every initiative at extremism taken.

On balance, extremism it appears is always worth the trying to advance and realise ambition, so to speak.

One person labelled an ultra in 1970s was able to ascend to the helm position of the country.

34. #34 by scorpian6666 on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 10:10 am

Dearest shamshul anuar,

Shamshul says “Johari made the mistake here”

By being able to see that “Johari made the mistake here” show you are not too stupid. IN FACT this is the smartest statement anybody here stated and summed out everything said. Bravo!!!

Too bad, you are still way off … maybe blinded by that bright coloured “UMNO”.. if you could not see all these “thinking out loud” are all againsts that “mistake” and NOT againts RACE or RELIGION.

Anyway.. we all like you to spell out LOUDER WHAT mistake did JOHARI made ? so JOHARI and the MALAY AND the malaysian MUSLIM and not forgetting the UMNO-BLINDED people like “yourself” could see it’s a serious racial/religious MISTAKE and hopefully learn to trust the non Malay and Non Muslim and to treat them like brother and sister.

Any smart idea of what should be done to JOHARI

35. #35 by DAPHNE on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 10:41 am

Herald gets good news…….
    This news never say Allah is allowed or not in the Malay section.
    – ELIZABETH LOOI

No news about allowing “Allah or not in the Malay section” is good news?
    If the approval letter did not say anything against the use of “Allah” to refer to Christian God in the Malay section of HERALD as a condition for the permit renewal, then silence implies consent.

It must have dawned upon Deputy Johari that what is deemed practical (and convenient) by some sciolist in the Publication Dept. of the Internal Security Ministry may not not be the right thing to do.

His earlier decision might have appeased a handful of Muslim extremists, but the change of mind would now have appeased the world, or least it promotes greater happiness for a greater number of people in the world.

I will update you all on the actual situation when I receive the next issue of HERALD, whether the word “Allah” is deleted or the whole Bahasa Malaysia section of HERALD is removed.

36. #36 by DAPHNE on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 1:59 pm

HERALD’s permit renewed without restriction — theSun 31.12.2007
    by Kimberley Lau

HERALD’s editor Father Lawrence Andrew received a hand-delivered letter at about 10am yesterday from the Internal Security Ministry, which “places no restriction whatsoever and includes the permit for all languages, including the Bahasa Malaysia segment.

It is as it was before.”

37. #37 by Earshot on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 2:42 pm

Hmmmmm…..I wonder!!

Diversionary trick? or Attempting to look good by presenting a ‘gift’ which was, in the first place, the recipient’s, anyway?

38. #38 by greatstuff on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 3:17 pm

The word ‘God’ can be expressed in any language and so can the word ‘Allah’- end of argument! Just who on God’s earth says so differently- show me the law? Only the dimwitted few, who by some freak of nature have been elevated to high positions in society, and then feel they need to show their “wisdom” to make moral proclamations for the benefit of their gallery!
    So, what I’d like to know is- how on earth D.I.S. Minister manage to make it as a Minister? Best he be sent for rehab, say, to Tanjong Rambutan, where he can go for another labotomy (the first one obviously failed)?

39. #39 by Evenmind on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 3:23 pm

Thank you God, u now have blessed them with some intellect, the Government has given Herald the go ahead and the permit to publish their weekly newpapers with no restrictions on the use of ALLAH., they must undergone an express course ia a local primary school., Well done.,pls continue putting more sense into these morons , AMEN.

40. #40 by Tickler on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 3:42 pm

The laugh is on the people whom UMNO have taken on a ride. UMNO aren`t stoopid. They have tried out a tactic which has worked so well for more than 40 years, and once again suckered the rakyat.

41. #41 by oknyua on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 4:20 pm

Readers, I want to remind you that the Herald could continue printing without restriction. BUT, the law that limits the use of Allah (and a few other words in fact) in Islam, is still intact.

In another words, that issuance of printing license is not neccesarily a freedom on the rights to use certain words. This law could be re-enfornced at anytime. The government lifted that same law in 2003 (not abolished) and re-enforce it now.

42. #42 by undergrad2 on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 7:52 pm

As politicians the Malays are not to be taken for granted.

The political maneuvering that accompanies what appeared to be increasing religious intolerance this time has resulted in UMNO maintaining its traditional image as the only political party that has the best interests of the Malays and Muslims at heart, but at the same time showing to the rest that they can be accommodative to the demands of the non-Malays and non-Muslims.

43. #43 by Muay Thai on Tuesday, 1 January 2008 - 12:40 am

In Bolehland everything is exclusive for UMNOputeras.If Allah is yours then don’t use all the words you have borrowed from chinese, Indian and English languages.

44. #44 by malaysiatoday.com on Tuesday, 1 January 2008 - 10:23 am

Seem UMNO bigots wanted to extend bumi special right to religion also.

Religious supremacy mindset is as dangerous as racial supremacy, some muslims do believe their Allah is different from Christian God and more supreme than other Gods and “patung”.

Racial supremacy yields apartheid and slavery system while religious supremacy creates religious conflict and extremism.

I think I have first-hand experience to comprehend the mindset of Malaysia jihad movement when I was a student.

I still remembered a lecturer in islamic study said Russian had beaten American in Vietnam war and Muslim had beaten Russian in Afghanistan, therefore Muslim has beatan both superpowers. I was speechless with this sort of logic!

One of my lecturers eventually became the mastermind in Bali and Jakarta bombings. He was killed by Indonesian police two years ago.

45. #45 by shamshul anuar on Tuesday, 1 January 2008 - 11:59 pm

Dear Malaysiatoday,

They say “Mannerism maketh a man”. Too bad that there are many people who are fond of criticizing others( due to hatred) who do not subscribe to such a beautiful concept.

In the first place, there is no need to be personal. And I do not need to go back to kampung or surau to play racial card . Perhaps you are oblivious to the fact that Malay community also reside in urban areas. In some constituents in urban areas, they form the majority.

They are also not comfortable after reading remarks here, among other ridiculing UMNO, Malays. I am afraid you do not really understand what Johari said. He did not say that Christians are insulting Islam by calling The Supreme Being they worship as Allah.

Farish Noor may gave an example of terminology used in Egypt. What he overlooked is a simple fact. Ask anybody in Malaysia what Allah meant. Automatically they will tell you that Allah is what Muslims worship as their God.

Therefore, Johari was acting only in good faith. To prevent any confusion. In no way that he acted in order to play religious card. As far as Muslims understand it, Christians believe Jesus as their God through the concept of trinity( Holy father, son and Ghost).

Johari therefore see no reason why a Christian publication to mention the word “allah” . What he did not realized was that the terminoly “allah” was also common among Christians in East Malaysia. In fact, many of my friends( Muslims and Chrisatians alike) are surprised when I told them that Christians also use the word as reference to God.

As for your accusation on UMNO trying to sacrifice MCA, MIC for its benefit, well I hope you can give a more credible argument. The truth that people like you hate to accept is that UMNO alone right now can form a Federal Govt on its own. If UMNO is what you think of, it can make the Federal Govt, state Govt fully occupied by Malays only.

It is a matter of whether it really wants that to happen. I am not boasting. That is the reality. Without UMNO support, vast majority of MCA politicians will lose election.

Again this may sound like overstating the importance of UMNO. But as goes the saying , reality hurts. As for Pulau Sibu, I fail to understand why there is the need to mocK UMNO, Malays. And do not underestimate the simple kampung people.

Again your mentality just reveals what Malays think of people you. ‘Habislah negara ini kalau orang macam ini yang berkuasa”. That was what my Malay friends told me after reading your comments.

46. #46 by scorpian6666 on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 1:37 am

Dear Sham sul,
    You obviously don’t have that kind of brain that could spot easily all these outcries come from the action of your beloved JOHARI trying to stop a popular Christian publication from using the word “Allah”
    You, your Muslim & Christian friends too obviously dont read the Herald, so could be excused for being ignorance but not for a man such as JOHARI. He should have been punished for “inciting racial and religious tension” He is not that “simple Kampong people”
    Again you fail to understand your statement such as this
    “If UMNO is what you think of, it can make the Federal Govt, state Govt fully occupied by Malays only.” is not beneficial to our society maybe even corrupt the minds of YOur simple kampung friends.
    I do hope you could be healed from your blindness to why all these outcries and help prevent it from happening again rather protecting and finding excuses for the people you obviously love who created it all. May Allah bless and make you see!

47. #47 by iggy on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 2:44 am

Right..
    Shamshul Anuar,

Quote:
    “Perhaps you are oblivious to the fact that Malay community also reside in urban areas. In some constituents in urban areas, they form the majority.”

Let’s not start on how this rather hollow victory came about.
    You sounded quite learned.
    Quite a shame you find refuge in such a trivial fact.
    Disappointing.

Quote:
    “Farish Noor may gave an example of terminology used in Egypt. What he overlooked is a simple fact. Ask anybody in Malaysia what Allah meant. Automatically they will tell you that Allah is what Muslims worship as their God.”

Is this your rebuttal?
    Wow..

Duh!~
    Again! With a skewed logic and obliviousness, one would of course think so.
    Isn’t it the same thing with crosses in the schools?
    The minister Edros said that “Times have changed and I think that we cannot allow Malays to look at the crosses and statues without explanation.”

Then give them a damn explanation!
    Instead of pissing everyone off, why not have your ulamas give a proper teaching to inculcate a PROPER understanding?
    Wouldn’t that solve the problem without stepping on other toes?
    Is it really, that much harder?
    Unless…there IS an ulterior motive?Hmmmm..
    Tell me honestly, who would benefit more here?

Does the banning of the word Allah from the Herald benefit the muslims in ANY WAY?

ANY WAY??

Besides being a tad more pompous(talking about the minister here)?

Will they become, ever so slightly, wiser? smarter? more AWARE? of the REAL meaning of Allah..

I’m sorry if you think that my logic is twisted as well, but, no. I don’t think so..

I see this as a problem.
    A chronic problem actually.
    I think, Shamsul, that the problem here does NOT lie in the newspaper, but actually, in the MENTALITY of the society that Malaysia has given birth to.

Please think about that.

I think this paragraph below of yours reinforces my said statement.

Quote:
    “In fact, many of my friends( Muslims and Chrisatians alike) are surprised when I told them that Christians also use the word as reference to God.”

Fix the root.
    NOT the newspaper.
    Geez..

Quote:
    “Again your mentality just reveals what Malays think of people you. ‘Habislah negara ini kalau orang macam ini yang berkuasa”. That was what my Malay friends told me after reading your comments.”

HAHA!
    Your friends obviously haven’t been reading much of these huh..

Or are even aware that we ARE RUN(Don’t make me explain it, this blog itself does a better job) by these kind of people.

Might I suggest that you recommend some of these alternative media websites to them, BEFORE they start regurgitating remarks like so?

: )

Note: That wasn’t a personal hit, it’s just..actually funny, on all levels.

I hope I get a little reply though.
    Really want to know what you think.

48. #48 by malaysiatoday.com on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 5:44 am

Shamsul,

I was stayed in Kampung Baru when Najib threated to kill orang Cina with his kris. But don’t mistaken all Malays are bigots who like to incite racial hatred as your UMNO leaders. My Malay friends cautioned me to be alerted on UMNO mob gathering in the stadium located behind my hostel.

Johari is a Deputy Minister for ALL Malaysians, he shall be humble enough to learn and understand the reality in East Malaysia before he issued something on religion matters.

I did not say Jahari is the one who suggested Islam is supreme than other religions. My islamic study learning experience in local university told me some Muslims are indeed believe that Islam is supreme than other religions.

Malay muslims believe Allah is solely reserved for Islam is the fault of local education system.

Supports from kampong malays in West Malaysia already good enough for UMNO alone to stay in power, but UMNO cannot control 2/3 seats without supports from bumipeteras in East Malaysia.

Why UMNO still needs MCA, MIC and others? PAS can be a main challenger to UMNO and form new government if non-muslim bumiputeras in East Malaysia, Chinese and Indians are decidedly support PAS.

UMNO knows this political reality better than you, this is main reason why UMNO dare not to form Federal government by themself.

Of course, this scenario will change in next 20 years when Malay population reaches 80% and above.

Tell your Malay friends, non-bumi will never got chance to form government in Malaysia under the existing election system.

Anyway if I were PM, I will help all poor rakyat regardless of their race and abolish housing discounts for rich bumiputeras.

49. #49 by kun9999 on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 9:15 am

Just saw thestar online today that cabinet have decided that herald cant use the word “ALLAH”, my questions is how about the Holy Bible in Bahasa Melayu? “ALLAH” is the word use in most Holy Bible in Bahasa Melayu.

Will the cabinet later decide that we should destroy all other religion book that have the word “ALLAH” inside?

50. #50 by shamshul anuar on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 9:53 pm

Dear Malaysiatoday.

Many thanks for your remarks. Perhaps this explanation will enlighten all of us. Muslims, just like believers of other faiths, of course believe Islam is the true religion. There is no denying on that.

However, Islam reminded Muslims the virtue of justice and fairness. Kuran also reminds Muslims not to mock the believe of other faiths “the same way you do not wish your faith in Me(Allah) mocked”. That itself is reminder by Allah in Kuran.

I fail to see the issue here. “Allah” is the word Muslim uses to identify the God according to their faith. In no way, such a ruling prohibits Christians from recognising Jesus as their God.

The intention is good. To prevent any comfusion as it involves the very foundation of both religions. As for my defence on UMNO, it is done in response to insulting remark asking me to back to kampung to mislead kampung people and baseless argument that ridicule UMNO relationship with MCA, MIC.

So, I just give the truth that is hard to accept. If UMNO is as accused, it had long time ago discarded these 2 parties. Even at independence, it controls 34 of 52 parliamentary seats. It is a matter of wanting to do it or not. But it respects the gentlemen agrrement with these 2 parties.

I mean no disrespect to anybody. As for claim that Najib claimed to kill Chinese, please enlighten me with your imaginary theory. As for your remarks that “non-bumi will never…” , perhap[s you should look at what we call “demography”.

Considering the fact that the Malays form the largest etnic group in Malaysia, naturally they have the most influence in politics. Similarly, In Singapore, the Chinese controls the politics.

There is nothing embarassing about such a fact.