Next general election in next 80 days or it will be mid-year or third quarter

MIC Deputy President Datuk G. Palanivel is confident that the Indians will continue to vote for Barisan Nasional because of the hard work put in by the MIC.

“The Indians are loyal to Barisan. They know we have served our constituencies and cultivated the relationship with the people.”

Palanivel was clearly “whistling in the dark” (i.e. keeping the courage up) when the MIC leaders are facing the greatest crisis of confidence and credibility in its party history.

In the past 50 years, the Indian voters were taken for granted by the Barisan Nasional as the unquestioned vote-bank, but there is now a sea-change in the political attitudes of the Malaysian Indians as a result of their political awakening caused by the high-handed and arbitrary disregard of their basic feelings and fundamental rights in their cry of desperation for government attention and action to end their long-standing marginalization as the new underclass in Malaysia.

Nanyang Siang Pau reported that the next general election will be held in the next 100 days. I believe that the polls will be held in the next 80 days or it will be held much later.

A date which had been bruited as given by the Prime Minister’s Feng Shui maestro is March 15, 2008.

I believe if the polling date is not held by the middle of March, we are looking earliest at mid-year or after.

This is because the next Parliamentary meeting is scheduled to begin on March 17, which will be officially opened by the Yang di Pertuan Agong for a 23-day meeting for the Dewan Rakyat till April 23, 2008 to be followed by the Senate meeting.

It would be ridiculous and highly contemptuous of Parliament and the Yang di Pertuan Agong to dissolve Parliament when it has just been officially opened as there would be no national emergency, like a loss of confidence by the government-of-the-day, to justify such an action.

Either the next general election is held within the next 80 days without the next parliamentary meeting or it will be held in mid-year or the third quarter.

The next general election will be most unprecedented as the Indian voters will be playing the most decisive role in 12 general elections in 50 years.

From the latest data, there are 50 parliamentary and 133 state assembly constituencies where Indian voters comprise more than 10% of the electorate and 21 parliamentary and 133 state assembly seats in Peninsular Malaysia where the Indian voters constitute more than 15% of the electorate.

The 133 state assembly states in Peninsular Malaysia with Indian voters comprising more than 10% of the electorate are:

Perlis (2) % of Indian voters in constituency

Tambun Tulang 11.21
Chuping 10.60

Kedah (10)

Bukit Selambau 27.39
Lunas 23.64
Sidam 19.62
Merbau Pulas 19.55
Gurun 17.26
Kulim 14.68
Bakar Arang 12.28
Pedu 11.51
Sungai Tiang 11.47
Kuala Ketil 11.45

Penang (11)

Perai 34.77
Bagan Dalam 21.01
Jawi 19.93
Bukit Tengah 17.53
Bukit Tambun 15.80
Sungai Bakap 14.10
Kebun Bunga 13.15
Bagan Jermal 12.97
Batu Uban 11.48
Seberang Jaya 11.07
Tanjong Bunga 10.22

Perak (27)

Buntong 44.30
Hutang Melintang 30.39
Jalong 26.11
Changkat Jong 26.04
Chenderiang 24.95
Sungkai 19.76
Jelapang 18.60
Behrang 18.15
Lintang 18.11
Pasir Panjang 17.78
Alor Pongsu 16.89
Aulong 15.84
Pantai Remis 15.22
Ayer Kuning 14.98
Hulu Kinta 14.84
Slim 13.82
Pengkalan Hulu 13.69
Pasir Bedamar 13.39
Teja 13.38
Trong 13.30
Kamunting 13.28
Tualang Sekar 12.37
Kepayang 12.03
Pengkalan Baharu 11.18
Tronoh 11.00
Rungkup 10.80
Pokok Assam 10.05

Pahang (8)

Tanah Rata 26.67
Sabai 20.01
Lancang 17.19
Jelai 16.29
Jenderak 11.65
Bebar 11.33
Benta 11.13
Tras 10.19

Selangor (37)

Bukit Melawati 30.19
Seri Andalas 29.94
Seri Setia 27.92
Ijok 27.08
Sementa 21.83
Kuala Kubu Baharu 21.66
Permatang 21.64
Kota Alam Shah 21.59
Teluk Datuk 21.54
Batu Caves 21.42
Sri Muda 20.86
Rawang 20.74
Sungai Pelek 20.67
Batang Kali 19.61
Dengkil 17.85
Kuang 17.84
Sijangkang 17.63
Batu Tiga 15.93
Pelabuhan Klang 15.90
Morib 15.72
Bukit Lanjan 15.63
Taman Medan 15.57
Hulu Bernam 15.45
Semenyih 15.26
Pandamaran 15.17
Seri Serdang 15.02
Tanjong Sepat 14.79
Kota Damansara 14.01
Kota Anggerik 13.51
Kinrara 12.71
Bangi 12.25
Paya Jaras 12.20
Lembah Jaya 11.56
Meru 11.30
Jeram 10.93
Taman Templer 10.93
Bukit Gasing 10.82

Negri Sembilan (19)

Jeram Padang 38.55
Port Dickson 27.45
Bagan Pinang 24.43
Rantau 23.26
Linggi 20.97
Chuah 20.79
Rahang 20.38
Bukit Kepayang 19.84
Mambau 19.51
Nilai 19.23
Lukut 19.09
Labu 17.89
Senawang 17.76
Repah 17.47
Paroi 17.34
Lobak 14.65
Gemencheh 12.46
Sungai Lui 11.00
Chembong 10.89

Melaka (7)

Rim 15.44
Merlimau 14.10
Machap 14.00
Bemban 13.48
Rembia 13.15
Asahan 11.42
Gadek 10.82

Johor (12)

Bekok 16.95
Paloh 16.88
Permas 15.59
Layang-Layang 15.53
Tiram 14.01
Buloh Kasap 13.75
Mengkibol 12.46
Tenang 11.60
Puteri Wangsa 11.07
Skudai 10.88
Nusa Jaya 10.86
Bukit Permai 10.43

Lim Kit Siang

1. #1 by Tickler on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 1:38 pm

Oh yes. The Indians will give a thumping vote to the BN thru the mic stalwarts esp. with the elation over the subashini decision by the federal court and that mic will be demolishing about 15,000 temples.

2. #2 by mendela on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 1:39 pm

But how many eligible Indians voters are actually registered?

Pls double click on below to check if your registration (or your family members) is right:

http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/daftarbi.asp

3. #3 by Tickler on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 1:40 pm

Once the rains stop, there will be unbearable heat. Also, there is great possibility of drought which the apathetic m`sians will love and vote BN in again.

4. #4 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 1:56 pm

Probably, Sat. 15,March, or Sun 16,Match,2008, ppl who hv no connection with BN, but vote for BN are real “no otak”, U Malaysian No Otak?? Don’t like to be one? then keep away from them.

5. #5 by merdeka on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 2:04 pm

No matter when is the election, just make sure all your eligible to vote family members, relatives & friends do their part and vote. That is the most important !!!!!!!!

6. #6 by k1980 on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 2:15 pm

It may be held even within the next 30 days, i.e. in mid-January because BN cannot avoid holding back the price increases slated for food, fuel and amenities. And the more seats they win (legitimately or via rigging), the higher the price hikes will be. This is why the non-bumis should come to their senses and send the MCA,MIC,Gerakan, PPP ect into political oblivion

7. #7 by ahluck on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 2:18 pm

what the hard work MIC have done for Indians? Palanivel carrying Samy Wollu’s balls. Please! for Our beatiful Malaysia’s sake vote for DAP and see the changes.

8. #8 by justice_fighter on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 2:23 pm

It will definitely be held before April 2008, because UMNO is so damn scared of Anwar now although they deny it!!

But Pak Lah really has a big headache now to call for election because so many scandals crop out – PKFZ, rampant corruption and cronism, intenal frictions of BN, Lingam tape, Bersih & Hindraft rallies, ISA, Zakaria’s palace, Nuri’s unsolved case, Atantuya’s murder, rising crime rates, inflation, etc…..how to clean the memory of Rakyat?!!

Please don’t be fooled by this Hypocrite Pak Lah again. He is full of empty promises and the most corrupt PM in Malaysia!!!

9. #9 by Saint on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 2:39 pm

Dear Kit,
    Please get your volunteers team ready.
    Count me in, I am ready to help.

10. #10 by madmix on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 2:57 pm

Only a few Indians and Chinese in iron rice bowl Civil service;
    THE Tourism Ministry plans to increase the number of its Chinese and Indian officers by 10% in two years’ time, reported Sin Chew Daily on Monday.

Deputy Minister Datuk Donald Lim Siang Chai was quoted as saying that of the 1,300 officers working in the ministry and tourism departments, there were only nine Chinese and 19 Indians.

He said the 10% increase would also help in penetrating the tourism market of China and India.

10 % increas in Indian and Chines = 1 Chinese and 2 Indians!!!

11. #11 by max2811 on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 3:10 pm

Many Chinese teachers have been asking me whether the Gov would know if they voted for the opposition. No!
    BN can only know which stream or area is BN or opp. So don’t be afraid.

12. #12 by justice_fighter on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 3:19 pm

Dear YB Lim,

Take a look at this online poll conducted by Chinapress http://www.chinapress.com.my/

see the bottom left corner. The question asked in Mandarin was:

??????????????????????????????????

A: ????????????????
    B: ????????????????????

Which translates into:

Will the way the BN government and police handles the recent demonstrations affect your choice to vote in the coming general election?

A: Yes, this has influenced my decision (indirectly means I’ll vote for opposition!).

B: No, I will vote according to the government’s accomplishments over the past.

Poll Result: Out of the 379861 participants, more than 99% chose Answer A.

This is certainly a nightmare for the BN government, and more specifically the MCA!!!

They should realise that peaceful demonstration is the basic right of a citizen!! Do not simply treat us like a 3 years old boy, we won’t be conned by the crap mainstream media anymore!!

13. #13 by Libra2 on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 3:32 pm

“A date which had been bruited as given by the Prime Minister’s Feng Shui maestro is March 15, 2008.”

But it is haram is Islam to seek directions from soothsayers, fortune tellers, astrologists etc. But then Raja Petra said so and I believe him.

14. #14 by ContractorclassA on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 3:39 pm

Well,,,,,whatever the date is for the ge, I just cant wait to tick on that piece of paper,,,,,,this mr badwi or whatever his name is needs to be jolted from his deeppppppeeeedppp slumber and from the denial state he’s in.

15. #15 by ramess on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 3:52 pm

“The Indians are loyal to Barisan”

Wrong Information…….

“The Indians no more loyal to Barisan”

Ahh this is correct….

16. #16 by ramess on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 3:58 pm

Hindraf our new leadership no more MIC or Barisan….

Don’t care any party but we will vote for PARTY OPPOSITION….

Hello Mr.Palani don’t waste your time la brader…..

17. #17 by a-malaysian on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 4:04 pm

YB Kit,

You may want to have a topic post on:

2008 NEW YEAR RESOLUTION

My new year resolution for 2008 is to vote against the umno controlled bn. Not to deny them the 2/3 but to let them fall to the ground hard.
    Almost everyone including the international medias are saying that the umno controlled bn cannot be beaten.

Nothing is impossible, if we want them to fall we can make it. Stand United and Together we will prevail.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

18. #18 by ahoo on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 4:17 pm

Can we count on our Malaysians of indian origin to make a stand? The ball is in your court now and whatever decision made will
    have it’s mark on our history. Save our future generations from
    the agonies that we are currently facing with indecisiveness and the denial syndrome presented to us daily.

We are afterall, Malaysian, as our IDs’ indicated and being in this nation is not our choice though! We can’t change that fact BUT can certainly change the fate of our nation if we vote wisely.

Let there be no racial lines drawn when voting as we are all equals before our maker.

19. #19 by pengembaraglobalisasi on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 4:20 pm

Srd.Libra2 ,
    True, it’s haram in Islam to seek fortunetellers etc.etc. You know better than the head of Islam Hadhari.

Why is the polling date so secret…….not very gentleman.
    Make sure this polling time we uproot them.

20. #20 by Anba on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 4:34 pm

Dear MIC Deputy President Datuk G. Palanivel,
    I’m hoping that Palanivel reads this note or someone pass this to him. Palanivel, you mentioned that Indians are loyal to BN. Listen, loyalty leads to slavery. When your grandparents came to Malaysia, were they working in plantation? Do you know the percentage of Indians in Malaysia still in the plantation? Thanks to jerks like Sambanthan, Samy Vellu ( first MIC president after Independence and current one) who still have no guts to stand up and fight for the rights of Indians in Malaysia. Shame on you for asking Indians to be loyal any longer. Is this because you want to become the next MIC president and get involved in more projects to create wealth for yourself? Shame on you for having sold your soul and shamelessly taking up leadership role. Please take a good look at Paranjothy, contemplate and try to redeem your lost soul.

Indian people of Malaysia, be slaves no more. What will you do without freedom? You may vote for BN and move on with your life fearing things may go bad for Indians. But imagine, just imagine all the days from the election till the day you die, what will you answer your children and grandchildren and your own conscience? Find your freedom this coming election and vote for the opposition. Opposition have the know-how to rule the country. Australia’s current election won by the opposition is a good example for us.
    Wake up…..wake up…wake up…

God bless Malaysia.

21. #21 by khoo on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 4:38 pm

According to Mr.S.A Vigneswaran MIC Youth chief in NST today the problems faced by indian community are localised and not critical.Gave assurance that these issue housing and unemployment would be resolved within a month. Wow…this guy can surely take over PM job man!.unemployment solved in one month,Wawasan 2020 in half a year next!!!!.Podah Deh!!

22. #22 by Pocket on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 5:23 pm

Dear Uncle Kit, DAP MPs and DAP Election Candidates,

Please count me in for any upcoming campaigns that you all are running, I’m ready to help!

Can’t wait for the General Election now, really want to VOTE OUT the BNs!

VOTE FOR BETTER MALAYSIA!

23. #23 by iweepformalaysia on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 5:39 pm

Hmm… Indian voters are a force that can deny BN the 2/3 majority. Vote wisely my friends.

24. #24 by Tickler on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 5:58 pm

What MIC says are for the media only. In truth they dare not even show their faces in their constituencies without bodyguards.
    This Chandra, MIC chairman in my area, said this time he`s telling all the members to vote against BN.

25. #25 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 6:18 pm

If BN win again by more than 2/3, then sure BIG, BARANG NAIK in 4 – 5 years to come, as BN can do things at free will.
    If BN lost, then “new govt” should reviews all opaque contracts, eg tol naik, IPP contract etc. to give rakyat a better deal!
    If BN win by less than 2/3, then there is check n balance. BN will not be so arrangant n greedy. may be small BARANG NAIK.
    But GE is for whole Msia, not just Klang valley n cities n big towns only. hope kampong folks WAKE UP!

26. #26 by UzMiNoOnist on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 6:33 pm

Spread the words “Deny BN the 2/3 majority, so to stop the daylight robberies on the nation’s wealth by BN Bandits and assure out future generations of genuine freedom’

For those clearly opposing the BN, ask them to spread these words;
    For those clearly marginalized (more like victimized) by BN, ask them to cast the protest vote, i.e. just vote anything but ‘dacing’ even if it is a ‘bicycle’;
    For those eligible but not registered, ask them to go to the nearest post office to register as it will take less then 10 minutes for the whole process;
    For those fence sitters, direct them to this blog or Raja petra’s;
    For your family members’ nag them.

27. #27 by Libra2 on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 6:48 pm

Palanivel said Indians are loyal to BN.
    So, for being loyal they get water canon and tear gas and beaten and jailed. Wow, what a reward for being loyal.
    He thinks Indians are damn stupid.

28. #28 by sj on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 7:01 pm

I am betting it will be mid year. More time for them, to prepare lots of election gimmick and goodies to put people in their pocket and to make suckers out of people. I dont see any reason for them to do it in 80 days.

29. #29 by ktteokt on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 10:38 pm

If the Indians in Malaysia are loyal, Hindraf would not have staged the demonstrations lately. They had enough from BN already, as they have been driven to the brink by BN. When the GE will be held is irrelevant, relevance should be given to “who we should vote in the coming GE”

BN has shown its incapability in the last 50 years and it is time to re-evaluate its performance and its existence!

30. #30 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 10:46 pm

Kit’s efforts to mobilize Indian voters behind DAP are to be expected not because the hindraf demonstration has energized the Indians but because it has the opposition in disarray.

“The next general election will be most unprecedented as the Indian voters will be playing the most decisive role in 12 general elections in 50 years.” Kit

It is not hard to understand where Kit is going with that statement. But will the Indians be able to act as one (Indians are not a homogeneous race) and deliver the votes needed to make a difference?

31. #31 by ahluck on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 10:52 pm

before hindraf’s action,anyone who go against samy wollu! a black benz will come with samy wollu’s hitmen to pick up and thats the end of the person.
    now too many against samy wollu even his own hitmen! how is he going to handle?

Question: what will a pig say if you hold a pigs tail?

Answer: End of me………

32. #32 by chiakchua on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 10:52 pm

WHAT WE ARE TODAY IS THE RESULT OF ‘CLOSE DOOR NEGOTIATION’ OF ALL BN PARTNERS UNDER THE DICTATORSHIP OF UMNO!

CAN WE AFFORD ANOTHER 50 YEARS OF SUCH ‘CLOSE DOOR NEGOTIATION’?

SEEING IS BELIEVING! DON’T BE BLINDED BY SWEET TALK!

VOTE ANY OPPOSITION FOR A CHANGE!

BN NEED A WAKE-UP JOLT!

33. #33 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 11:01 pm

From the statistics provided by Kit:

Kedah/Perlis – 12
    Penang – 11
    Perak – 27
    Selangor – 37
    Negri – 19
    Pahang – 8
    Melaka – 7
    Johor – 12

These are all constituencies mostly with a mere 10 – 20%. There is no cause for optimism. Sorry to have to be the Scrooge in the room – bearing in mind that the Christmas spirit is still among us.

34. #34 by ahluck on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 11:02 pm

After GE i won’t say this.

“Please! to save our Malaysia from the corrupted BN leaders, even by mistake DON’T vote BN.”

i know you people out there are wise enough not to be betrayed. Enough is Enough.

Uncle Kit, don’t give me Dato’ for saying this!

35. #35 by smeagroo on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 11:21 pm

Register? HEck, the post office always system offline. Cant even regsiter as claimed by many ppl.

I think they purpsoely do it as they know the are gonna get hit big time by the new bunch of young voters.

So what are we gonna do abt this sabotage?

36. #36 by raven77 on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 11:35 pm

BNs crooked voting system will ensure victory for them….the two thirds must be denied….and Malaysians must learn to stand up this time….

37. #37 by Short-sleeve on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 11:52 pm

Vote for change

38. #38 by negarawan on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 11:52 pm

UMNO and BN will be using an indellible ink that can be removed by some special solvent or remover, and by using the clear ballot boxes, they say the election is “transparent”. It will be a dirty and uphill battle for the opposition. They need all the support they can get, and they have mine and my family, friends and relatives.

39. #39 by peanut king on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 12:09 am

As a non indian and ofcourse a non bumi…i fully felt the urge to change by the indian community.I felt the pain for them when the FRU belt them with tear gas and water cannon on the hindraf day.They are like brothers to me…
    Talk of change is easy …pls put them to action.Check among the indian communities and make sure they all are registered voters and make sure they come out to vote.I will cancel my holiday trip if the GE falls within the next 80 days.

Long Live all my brothers and sisters Aneh,Achi and tampi

40. #40 by DwarfSnakehead on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 5:33 am

Well, looking at past Indian voting trends, I am very pessimistic that there will be any substantial changes in the next elections. The majority of the poor Indians don’t understand how politics work in Malaysia. As long as they see that Samy is still a full minister and MIC consists of Indians, they will vote them in again and again until the cows come home.
    The parochial feelings is too great for the Tamils. Blood is thicker than water. Similarly, the war in Sri Lanka, they know it is a losing battle for the Tigers but they still pour in support and money. When will the Tamils wake up?

41. #41 by Samson on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 8:58 am

Dear YB Lim,

Hope DAP will carefully study the potential and the feasibility of fielding candidates for more states and parliament constituencies in the next GE.

Believe that DAP is truly fighting for the well being of the WHOLE rakyat regardless of race religion and status.

Long live DAP. God bless and God speed.

42. #42 by Tickler on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 9:05 am

‘CLOSE DOOR NEGOTIATION’ OF ALL BN PARTNERS – Cosa Nostar, Mafia where the the law is omerta:

Even if somebody is condemned for a crime he has not committed, he is supposed to serve the sentence without giving the police any information about the real criminal.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Omerta

43. #43 by Tickler on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 9:10 am

Similarly, the war in Sri Lanka, they know it is a losing battle for the Tigers…..DwarfSnakehead

The LTTE war in Sri Lanka is supported mostly by the Ceylonese Tamils In M`sia. These are people like Ananda Krishnan, lawyers, doctors, teachers etc. These are the descendants of the more well to do tamils. It is esp. noticeable that after admitting such support for the terrorist labelled LTTE, the AG and Police have not been able to do bring to Court any of these Ceylonese Tamils to Court.
    Could the yacht (allegedy) given to the PM by Ananda Krishnan (a close friend of the PM, if not why such an expensive gift) be a pay-off?

44. #44 by Jimm on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 9:15 am

Indians will vote for BN as long as MIC can control them.
    Most of these Indian are from rural areas whereby their livinghood are very much depending on plantation jobs. Their monthly income are so so marginal that they always depends on their ‘taukeh’ to fund their daily expenses.
    I used to stay in some of these estates when I was younger then.
    Life there are sometimes ‘un-human’ and family values are typically ‘non-exist’. Most of the husband are drinkers…
    Today, these scenerios are very much improved however still below expectations.
    Come the GE, these Indians have no choice but to vote for BN as they owed too much favors to their ‘taukeh’s that their thinking have been ‘brain-washed’ and can you imagine with a small ‘token’ given to them for this favor … there’s nothing to stop them.
    We may ask many to wake up and stop giving BN the 2/3. However, how many of us really ‘living’ in their shoes ?
    These people are living zombies in rural areas just like our civil servants in urban areas .. they have no choice but to vote BN.
    Their entire livinghood are wrapped around taukehs that provide them the ‘extras’ in times of needs.
    These groups normally very short of cash flows, financial management, general knowledge for the world and many more ..

45. #45 by mateRealWorld on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 9:33 am

Hello,

I’m currently at work, so I don’t have the time to check if this has been posted. Anyway, the following email has been circulating around, do check the following ICs out:

IC: 991214740101
    IC: 910815750017
    IC: 981231081137

on

http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/

An 8-year-old is eligible to vote. What’s going on??
    Got to run!

46. #46 by ktteokt on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 9:38 am

Yes, I just checked the SPR online register and indeed, seeing is believing, these registrations exist! So how can such young punks who have not even attained majority vote? I smell something real fishy!

47. #47 by ktteokt on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 10:00 am

These people are either too young to vote or they are at least >100 years old!

48. #48 by lakshy on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 10:01 am

Many government servants feel they have no choice but to vote for bn. I have tried talking to many, and some feel that way.

49. #49 by DarkHorse on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 10:09 am

Malaysia is one of those countries where you find ‘dead men walking’ when general elections are near – all ready to make that last walk to the polling booths before returning to their graves!

50. #50 by lakshy on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 10:14 am

Things dont look good for bn. The toll hike followed by petrol and gas which will be followed by electricity hike. So it will be better if they defer the elections. With all the increases, the poor will be badly affected and there will be a swing towards opposition.

The looming recession in the states could cause loss of jobs here and make things even worse. So bn will have to do something to make the chinese and malays vote for them.

Lets face it, the indians are such a minority that bn can afford to discount them. Its the malays and chinese who form a major slice of the electorate that can and will sell out the country for a bit of inducement and racial politicking.

51. #51 by DarkHorse on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 10:31 am

#

2004 SUNGAI SIPUT
    Turnout: 30806 (65.8%)Voters: 46783
    Samy Vellu Sangalimuthu (BN – MIC) 18797
    Micheal Jeyakumar Devaraj (OPP – KEADILAN) 8562
    Sanmugam Ponmugam Ponnan (OPP – DAP) 2864

composition of voter
    Malay/Chinese/Indian/Others 31.40/41.40/22.50/4.70

Chinese in Sg. Siput are traditionally BN supporters except for the younger ones who are not registered to vote.

52. #52 by DarkHorse on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 10:36 am

Haris Ibrahim says

If UMNO and BN are using the Hindraf rally and the aftermath to stir up Malay sentiment for their own political mileage, DAP demonstrated last Friday that they are not averse to use the same to play the race card, albeit slanted differently.

I have had enough of race-based politics, whether BN or opposition led.

53. #53 by Jimm on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 11:06 am

United we stand , divide we fall…
    BA have to make their final stand here ….
    No amount of wealth will ever satisfy a soul in Malaysia…
    BA have to make this understood by all when comes to seat allocation…
    BN can easily wipe BA out as their cash flows (hidden) are plenty to go around… and usually money talks ..
    BA are still selling memorandum of dreams that found in stone-age.
    BN keep pumping money around to show off their power …
    BA … your dream plan will always remain a plan because you all have never learn to grow with time.
    The are no concept presentation to the rakyat but stories of corruption,unfairness,biased and as negative as one story can goes.
    BA … no concept .. you are the dreamer…
    Not learning enough .. makes you the story teller of the past..
    Or Malaysia now is under auto-pilot mode as everyone is for their ownselves first ..
    BA .. do have a concept to tackle this matter ..
    Come out with one .. believe me .. you’re in the game ..

54. #54 by k1980 on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 11:20 am

The results of the last GE in 2004 should be annulled if it is found that the 2 babes aged 5 and 6 respectively had been allowed to vote by the SPR. No wonder Kim Jong Il won all the elections he held in North Korea because babies are allowed to vote for him
    MEDAN KETERANGAN
    Kad Pengenalan : 991214740101 / 0562235
    Nama : SEER HOR LEONG
    Jantina : LELAKI
    Lokaliti : 092 / 02 / 04 / 011 – LADANG TAN TEOW LIM
    Daerah Mengundi : 092 / 02 / 04 – TEBUK PULAI
    DUN : 092 / 02 – SABAK
    Parlimen : 092 – SABAK BERNAM
    Negeri : SELANGOR
    Status Rekod : DATA INI UNTUK SEMAKAN DAFTAR PEMILIH

MEDAN KETERANGAN
    Kad Pengenalan : 981231081137 / 1207648
    Nama : HJ ABD WAHAB B MD SAMAN
    Jantina : LELAKI
    Lokaliti : 092 / 02 / 11 / 008 – PARIT 8 TIMOR
    Daerah Mengundi : 092 / 02 / 11 – TEBUK KENCHONG
    DUN : 092 / 02 – SABAK
    Parlimen : 092 – SABAK BERNAM
    Negeri : SELANGOR
    Status Rekod : DATA INI UNTUK SEMAKAN DAFTAR PEMILIH

55. #55 by sheriff singh on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 11:43 am

Couldn’t SPR just ask its computer to list all those registered voters who are BELOW voting age? Its easy to do. How SPR can register underaged voters is a mystery. They should have been alert when registering these underaged as voters. Obviously nothing rang a bell then. Just a mechanical process of keying in data, thats all.

There should be an automatic program that will automatically reject all inputs that show underaged voters.

But then we all know what the SPR is like. If they can regularly make “mistakes” like these, then what about the National Registration Department who just registers just about everybody?

56. #56 by sheriff singh on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 11:55 am

30 days, 80 days, 6 months…..

Whatever time it might be, the pertinent question is “Is the Opposition ready?” Also pertinent, “Are the people ready and angry enough throughout the country to support the BN in large numbers to make a difference?”

Will the BN continue to romp home from the many easy rural seats where bread and butter issues are more important, where the internet is unknown, government propaganda dominates and government officials handing out goodies are “Gods” and to be supported?

Don’t forget. With the latest update in the electoral rolls, many Opposition seats cannot be regarded as “safe” anymore. The odds are again stacked heavily against them.

So back to the original question: “Is the Opposition ready?” or will be let down again.

57. #57 by sheriff singh on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 11:57 am

…. or will we all be let down, disappointed again.

58. #58 by naked taliban on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 4:20 pm

Don’t forget. With the latest update in the electoral rolls, many Opposition seats cannot be regarded as “safe” anymore. The odds are again stacked heavily against them. Sheriff says.

include phantom voters and postal ones ,BN has a LEADING edge, unless another round of Barisan KUNING.

59. #59 by Bigjoe on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 4:20 pm

If the PM postphone the election, it shows only how much he has not learned from his mistake. Postphoning things is what got him into trouble in the first place. Postphoning fight against corruption, postphoning deciding on ‘crooked bridge’, postphoning leadership change in BN groups, postphoning lifting price control, etc.

Here is a very simple question: How many of you would watch a speech by Badawi, KJ, Najib or Hissamuddin. How many would choose to listen to Anwar instead.

Its simple really.

60. #60 by benny on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 6:25 pm

I believe there will be swing in indian vote from BN to oppositions.I have attended few of Keadilan campaign recently in kedah and penang,in some area where the indians are majorities the turn out crowd for the rally is extraordinary.Those days during the oppositions campaign we hardly notice indians(DIE HARD FAN OF BN) but the scenario have changed.I dont know which planet is MR PALANIVEL staying denying the truth.ME personally never attended any oppositions campaign but now actively participating in it.This shows the frustrations and anger towards the umno/mca/mic and co.VOTE FOR ANY OPPOSITIONS AND DENY 2/3 MAJORITY OF BN.

61. #61 by DwarfSnakehead on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 6:47 pm

lakshy Says:
    Quote:
    :Today at 10: 01.18 (8 hours ago)
    :Many government servants feel they have no choice but to vote or bn. I have tried talking to many, and some feel that way.

The people in Msia should know by now that the government is independent of the political party , be it UMNO or PAS or DAP. Only lazy and corrupt government servants fear voting for the opposition. They probably got their high positions through cronism. Hard working and deserving government servant should not worry about voting the government out. No one knows your vote anyway, so don’t be a chicken. Make a stand and be counted.

62. #62 by winterman05 on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 8:51 pm

The Deputy President of MIC is hoping against hope that the ordinary Indians could be hookwinked one more time! The strong response from the Indian community for the Hindraf rally is an indication that most of the Indian votes will not stay with BN for the first time in General Election history.
    The writing is on the wall. If it is not so, why should the MIC President appear on TV to explain the situation to the Indians in particular and the people in general ? This was never done before. he was practically BEGGING the Indians not to desert BN! If the MIC had done its work all these years for the marginalised Indians, there was no need to appeal to the Indians through TV interviews! After all, it had done its work! So, there is no logic to beg for support. The support, if his Deputy said was there all the time, was there, whu appear on TV ?

In reality, the reason is obvious: the Indinas are fed up to the teeth; and will not be given another ride.

So, be prepared for wash-out at the polls!

S. H. Huang

63. #63 by justice6 on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 11:17 pm

i though there is a serial number attached to each ballot slip… it’s not a secret as they able to track who u voted, correct me if I am wrong pls..

64. #64 by DarkHorse on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 11:30 pm

Something tells me the number of ‘spoilt’ votes is going to go up in those constituencies where the contest is split three ways and where no party has a dominating influence.

65. #65 by Samson on Saturday, 29 December 2007 - 8:48 am

If now we have most indians on the opposition, the marginalized Malay and Chinese must not lose the opportunity. Go for the opposition.

YB, it would be good to inform and remind the rakyat what the oppositions particularly DAP plan to do for the people if elected. This must include the National and International level in matters concerning political-socio-economic of the nation building.

YB, we have the people and we have the resources. I am sure any fair opposition can do a better job than the current BN-led govn.

God bless and God speed

66. #66 by assamlaksa on Saturday, 29 December 2007 - 12:12 pm

# justice6 Says:
    Yesterday at 23: 17.19

i though there is a serial number attached to each ballot slip… it’s not a secret as they able to track who u voted, correct me if I am wrong pls.
    =================

Yes there is serial number in the ballot slip but I don’t remember they keep track of who is given which number. I suppose the serial number is for control purposes to tally the number of slips issued.

Maybe anyone who had observed the process closely or those who work for EC can clarify.

67. #67 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 29 December 2007 - 7:31 pm

U are suppose to vote according to your judgement n assessment, if say 75% of Govt servant vote for oppostion, n say Be end still win, they cannot penalize 75% of civil servants. Can they? especially if they don’t win 2/3. Isn’t it clear enaf what Be end is really like (with all the wastages of billions ringgit of Nations’s money) after 50 years. etc.
    If Be end continue to rule for next 12 years n no major oil discovery, Msia is likely to fall behind many Asia countries by 2020.

68. #68 by alaneth on Saturday, 29 December 2007 - 11:27 pm

Yes Samson, We need a change this time.

I feel very uncomfortable with Hishamuddin – he is very likely to be future PM! But see his keris waving act, threat to Gerakan, once stopping building new SRJK school when he’s only a Education Minister… What will he do later when he is PM?

With Islamisation creeping, Malaysia will be rapidly following middle-eastern ways of life. Intolerance, extremism, fanatism are on the rise.

I believe the Chinese & Indians will now vote for a change – vote DAP or PKR only as a vote for BN or PAS will only lead to further Islamisation of Malaysia and a bleak future of our generation.

From the high “Undi Rosak” in BN-PAS area shows that some people (Indians & Chinese) don’t want these parties here…

69. #69 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 4:42 am

“I feel very uncomfortable with Hishamuddin – he is very likely to be future PM! But see his keris waving act, threat to Gerakan, once stopping building new SRJK school when he’s only a Education Minister… What will he do later when he is PM?”

Anybody who is anybody in UMNO must hold the position of UMNO Youth leader, and then hold the Education portfolio. These are the training grounds for candidates to be considered PM material. There are exceptions of course. But we are reminded of how the likes of Harun Idris ( until he was stopped by charges of corruption) , Mahathir and Musa Hitam all of whom were considered Malay ultras and they rose to the apex of their political careers. But once they rose to become PM or deputy PM they feel they need to moderate their views and moderated their views they did when they sought instead to unite all Malaysians.

Could Hishamuddin and those like him, stick to the straight and narrow on his way up? One thing for sure. They’d have to.

70. #70 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 4:55 am

As far as UMNO is concerned the move to the right of center of the party is inevitable in view of the ground breaking developments lately which, threatened to shatter if not shattered, the sense of security among the Malays.

While controversy surrounds the poorly thought out acts of certain Ministers and key individuals within the government, they provide fuel to opposition politicians who are quick to exploit them.

Translated politically this probably means votes that could have gone to PKR are now going to UMNO – not because they feel comfortable with the present batch of self-serving corrupt politicians within UMNO but because they have been made to feel that when it comes to security a party like PKR would not be able to deliver.

71. #71 by DwarfSnakehead on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 5:30 am

If all the institutions like police, military and law are still intact after the change of government (from BN to the opposition), I don’t forsee any problems with security. Look at how Taiwan’s opposition took power after decades of single party rule.

Our government vips has a long history of allegiance switching in the past. For example, when Dr. Mahathir gave up power, almost 100% of his trusted liutenants switch their support over night to our sleeping pm, ABB. So if the opposition party wins the next election and put a dog as a prime minister, I am sure all the greedy BN supporters would switch their support to the dog pm. They have to take care of their lavish lifestyle perpetrated by BN. Only way out is to obey the dog and hope that their position and salary remains intact. The BN turncoats will start to register to join PKR etc. All they want is money and power.

The voters should not be concerned if the opposition come into power. There is nothing to lose. An 2000 years old Chinese saying: “If the law is successfully enforced, even a weak ruler will be strong”.

72. #72 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 7:55 am

Dawrf,

I’m not referring to that kind of security.

73. #73 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 8:11 am

“If all the institutions like police, military and law are still intact after the change of government (from BN to the opposition), I don’t forsee any problems with security. Look at how Taiwan’s opposition took power after decades of single party rule.”

The Malays draw strength from their sense of political hegemony, a concept which has gone unchallenged for decades. If they feel Malay political hegemony is threatened, their feeling of security is violated. Real or fictitious, true or false, wrong or right that premise may be, it does not matter. Politics is all about perception.

74. #74 by ktteokt on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 8:40 am

One common goal for all Malaysians in the next GE – PULVERIZE BN!

75. #75 by prelude3372 on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 3:22 pm

Before Samy took over MIC…we had many Indians in Government Sector, many Indians in Education sectors, and many more…what do we have now??

A success or failure of a leader is measured by what improvement he has brought to his community. When we say Indians are 50 years behind. That’s means (for those who have brain to thinks…MIC excluded from these brain people) our social economic condition compares to the other community is 50 years behind.

For those in MIC (which have low level of intelligent) this example would be simple enought for their brain to do the analysis. 50 years ago you can only afford to ride bicycle and the majority of the other races also can afford to ride bicycle. This means, we are in par with the other races in term of social economics. 50 years later, majority of Indians can now afford motorcycle, therefore MIC can boost that current Indians are better condition than Indians 50 years ago that ride bicycle. But when the other races in majority can afford cars and yet majority Indians can only afford motorcycle, than we are behind in term of social economic compare with other races. We used to be on par with other races, now we are far behind other races.

That’s means we are 50 YEARS BEHIND.

76. #76 by Muay Thai on Tuesday, 1 January 2008 - 1:48 am

Now Big Sam is India explaining to Indian leaders that Indians are living magnificently in Malaysia. Syabas Big Sam!!!!!You got two important portfolios in two weeks.Minister of Hindu Temple and Minister of Foreign Propaganda.MIC is claiming Indian are always behind them and BN. Suddenly MIC youth leader is claiming that Hindraff is not their foe. And their struggle is justified (see Makkal Osai,page3, 31.Dec.2007). A desprate move by MIC. If Indians vote for BN they will be left 100 years behind.

YB Kit Siang, time to move into Indian areas to reveal the truth.Act fast before BN/MIC and their state agents neutralise the Indians.

77. #77 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 2 January 2008 - 7:24 am

I can see the panoramic view now. First, Hindraf discounted confidence of Indian voters in MIC, now the sex scandal discounted confidence of Chinese voters in MCA. So with these two major ethnic political parties in Malaysia discredited, UMNO thinks it has a chance to “sapu” all parliamentary seats in the coming GE? Don’t forget UMNO itself is also having internal problems and “public enemies” with its current policies. May the next GE be carried out in peace and not in pieces!

78. #78 by miwaki on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 11:43 am

If BN gives money,please take.If they throw dinner daily,please eat.If they come to your house,please open doors.If they ask you to vote for BN,please ask them to provide you with 3 good reasons why should vote for BN.Come polling day,”pangkah opposition”.