General election expected in March – Indian voters “kingmakers” in 28 parliament/78 state assembly seats

I expect the 12th general election to be held in another two months’ in March 2008.

For the whole of this year, there had been periodic speculations about general election this year as early as before the 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations on August 31, then almost monthly – September, November and December.

But such speculation of early polls had only made their rounds outside the precincts of Parliament as there had never been any buzz or fizz among Members of Parliament, including Ministers, Deputy Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries, that general election was imminent or around the corner.

If I had been asked a week ago, I would rate the chances of the next general election being held either before or after April next year (when Anwar Ibrahim regains his civil entitlement to contest in the general election) as 50-50.

There was however a quantum development in the political scenario in the past few days, when for the first time in the current term of MPs, the corridors of Parliament were infected by an air of expectation that MPs were seeing the end of Parliament and that they would not be gathering again as MPs of the 11th Parliament.

I would now rate the chances of the 12th national polls being held in March as 70-30.

The next general election will see a new factor in the political power equation – the role of the Malaysian Indian voters, who had always been regarded as a solid captive vote-bank by the Barisan Nasional in previous general elections.

This is no more the case as there is an awakening of political consciousness among the Malaysian Indians, particularly at the high-handed treatment of the Hindraf demonstration in Kuala Lumpur which saw the support of 30,000 Indians from all over the country, the unjust and unconscionable handling of the “Batu Caves 31” who were denied bail and incarcerated for 13 days for the ridiculous charge of “attempted murder” of one policeman and the dismissal of the legitimate grievances of the Indian community over their long-standing marginalization as equal and rightful citizens of Malaysia.

Although there is no single parliamentary or state assembly constituency in Malaysia where the Indian voters constitute the majority of the electorate and could singly decide who would be elected the MP or State Assembly representative, Indian voters represent over ten per cent of the electorate in 62 Parliamentary constituencies and 138 State Assembly constituencies and are an important factor in determining the electoral outcome.

In 28 Parliamentary and 78 State Assembly constituencies in Peninsular Malaysia, the Indian voters are the “kingmakers” as they constitute more than 15% of the electorate and exercise a decisive influence as to who wins or loses in the constituency.

In Perak state, there are 13 Parliamentary and 27 State Assembly seats where Indian voters comprise more than 10% of the electorate, and six Parliamentary and 13 State Assembly seats where Indian voters comprise more than 15%.

The Perak constituencies with more than 15% Malaysian Indian voters are:

Parliament

Sungai Siput 22.45%
Bagan Datok 22.36%
Ipoh Barat 21.24%
Tapah 19.67%
Telok Intan 19.02%
Tanjong Malim 17.29%

State Assembly

Buntong 44.30%
Hutan Melintang 30.39%
Jalong 26.11%
Changkat Jong 26.04%
Chenderiang 24.95%
Sungkai 19.76%
Jelapang 18.60%
Behrang 18.15%
Lintang 18.11%
Pasir Panjang 17.80%
Alor Pongsu 16.89%
Aulong 15.84%
Pantai Remis 15.22%

The contemptuous dismissal of the legitimate grievances of the Malaysian Indians over their political, economic, educational, social, cultural and religious marginalization was confirmed by none other than the MIC President, Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu in his RTM1 interview in the 60 Minit Bersama Menteri programme last night.

Samy Vellu claimed that “the government has taken measures to improve the lot of Indians and has never neglected the community”, blaming any shortfall on a “ineffective delivery system”.

This is a very poor excuse indeed, as Samy Vellu cannot run away from the fact that he had been the MIC President and sole Indian Cabinet Minister for over 28 years and he cannot just dismiss the grievances of the Malaysian Indians about their long-standing marginalization by blaming all on the “ineffective delivery system”.

Secondly, Samy Vellu was guilty of serious denial syndrome when he continued to claim that the government had never neglected the Indian community.

This is all the more shocking as Samy Vellu was present albeit as silent observer and note-taker at the two-hour special meeting between the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Indian NGOs last Friday where representatives including from Malaysian Hindu Sangam and Malaysian Indian Business Association had spoken out loud and clear about the plight of the Malaysian Indians because of government neglect and discrimination.

How can Samy Vellu go on RTM1 after the Indian NGO’s meeting with the Prime Minister to tell the nation that the Malaysian Indians had never been neglected, going against the message the Indian NGOs wanted to convey to the Prime Minister last Friday? Isn’t this a great disservice to the cause of justice and equality for the Malaysian Indians under the Malaysian sun?

The Star reported Samy Vellu as saying that “based on feedback, there were Indians who had begun questioning why the issue raised by the community had not been resolved by the Government”.

Shouldn’t Samy Vellu be grateful to the Malaysian Indians who have the courage of their convictions and citizenship to question the marginalization of the Indians?

Samy Vellu said: “There were those who questioned why their applications had not been entertained. So, I have asked the Prime Minister to give a bit more to the Indians (in development programmes) considering their history (in the country). The Prime Minister has agreed to consider this.”

Is Samy Vellu admitting to his failure and that he would not have asked the Prime Minister “to give a bit more to the Indians” if the Malaysian Indians had not demonstrated in support of the Hindraf rally on Nov. 25 to demand government attention and action on their long-standing marginalization as the new underclass in Malaysia?

And why is he asking “to give a bit more to the Indians” as if Samy Vellu must beg on behalf of the Indians, when as equal and rightful citizens of Malaysians, the Indians are entitled to ask what should be rightfully theirs and not just “crumbs” on the dining table?

The New Straits Times report on Samy Vellu’s RTM1 interview said:

On the use of the words “ethnic cleansing” by the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf), Samy Vellu said: “Hindraf leaders do not know the meaning of the word. This is what happened in Bosnia but it is a baseless accusation here.”

If Samy Vellu is right, that the Hindraf did not know the meaning of “ethnic cleansing” when they used the term, why was it necessary to invoke the draconian Internal Security Act (ISA) to detain them indefinitely without trial?

Is Samy Vellu prepared to tell the Prime Minister and the Cabinet that the Hindraf leaders should not be detained under the iSA and should be set free immediately as they had not known the meaning of the term “ethnic cleansing”?

Generally, Samy Vellu’s RTM interview last night as reported by the press has shown that he has lost touch with the Indian ground and roots, which is why he has no credibility when he claimed “many people” who had taken part in the Hindraf demonstration had been sorry and regretted their action.

Just now, I had asked the over a thousand people gathered here – an overwhelming number had gone to Kuala Lumpur to take part in the Hindraf demonstration on Nov. 25, not over ethnic cleansing or genocide allegations but as a cry of desperation by the Indian community to the Prime Minister and the government over their long-standing marginalization – and not a single hand went up when I asked for a show of hands of those who now regret taking part in the Hindraf rally. Samy Vellu should stop feeding misinformation to the Prime Minister and the mainstream media about the long-standing and legitimate grievances of the Malaysian Indians to an equal place under the Malaysian sun.

(Speech at the “New Deal for marginalized Indians and all marginalized groups” forum held at St. John’s Hall, Ipoh on Thursday, 20th December 2007 at 11 am)

1. #1 by boh-liao on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 6:00 pm

Selamat Hari Raya Haji, Merry and blessed Christmas, and A Happy Year to all.

May 2008 be a revolutionary year (just like 2007 when voters in various countries, such as France, Australia, and South Korea, voted out the incumbents) – may the force be with the people to vote out BN – Umno, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, etc!!

We must act like the masters of the land and take back the control, rather than allowing the band of thieves to continue to plunder the nation to enrich themselves. We can’t afford another 5 more years of BN governance! Enough!!

2. #2 by boh-liao on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 6:05 pm

Against all odds and the relentless machinery of BN and their cronies and slaves, all opposition parties must wake up, sincerely cooperate, and act positively to provide a viable alternative to the current BN government.

Time is running out soon.

3. #3 by vehir on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 6:05 pm

I was at KLIA yesterday night to receive my daughter’s arrival from Europe. While waiting one lady who happens to be from Bukit Beruntung, Parliament Hulu Selangor told that there is no bus service until todate to that place.

They apporached the MP Dato Palanivel (MIC) and put forward their grievances. This MP immediately told the crowd that I dont need Indian votes for me to win in the GE. How rude was this MP to tell his voters who voted for him in the last GE.

So I call upon fellow registered indians voters who are the KING MAKER’s (deciding factor) in every general election to wisely vote the OPPOSITION to change the present government.

I will be there at CHINESE ASSEMBLY HALL KL tommorrow for DAP forum at 7.30pm.

I urged that more forums should be orgainsed everywhere weekly to keep the citizens well informed about how we were taken for a ride for 50 years without getting the benefits from the government.

All our benefits were swallowed/hijacked by UMNO, MCA and MIC together with BN coalition parties.

4. #4 by mybaru1 on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 6:28 pm

Malaysia Baru Says:
    December 19, 2007 at 6:37 pm
    All marginalised, downtrodden, less-fortunate, and the hard-core poor & desolate Malaysians should wholeheartedly be thankful for Hindraf. GOD Bless Hindraf! Hiduplah Hindraf!

Malaysia Baru,

Pardon me, but I would not want to overstate the case.

Websites – http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2007/12/19/when-opportunity-knocks-hang-decency/#comments , http://malaysiabaru.cjb.net/ ,

5. #5 by benny on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 6:52 pm

Enough is Enough,no more voting BN.The whole bunch of BN been treating the non bumis as 3rd class citizen.Especially the indian are going through trauma of marginalizations.There is no specific answer from IMAM HADHARI after the submissions of memo by the 48ngos,instead telling there is no need for non malay affair dept.HE IS THE WORST AMONG THE PM.

6. #6 by toyolbuster on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 6:59 pm

I am confused. But didn’t that Rastam fella said to the Indians that they can balik India and the Chinese balik Tongsan. UMNO doesn’t need our non-malay votes becos all the Malays will vote for UMNO. With 60% Malays, plus Samy Vellu, Lingam, Sothi, and the running dog MCA chinese, they already have their 2/3 majority. Well, good for Bodohwi, he can continue to sleep.

7. #7 by toyolbuster on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 7:11 pm

Lets focus more on Perak, Malacca, Penang, Pahang and get rid of the racist government. DSAI have got Sabah well covered, Kelantan, Trengganu and Kedah have PAS, Johor is already partially under Singapore. Sarawak, N9, Perlis and Selangor will naturally cross over.

8. #8 by Richard Teo on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 7:24 pm

The opposition should put up a shadow cabinet comprising all the members of the opposition parties.Annuar as head of PKR should be the next P.M. There should be three deputy P.M. . Hadi Awang of PAS, Kit Siang of DAP and one indian Rep..Finance Minister should go to a DAP member.The formula should be 60% malays ,25% Chinese, 8% indians and the rest for other races.This formula should be acceptable to all.

9. #9 by mwt on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 8:25 pm

Yes the GE is coming anytime and Samy and BN are real worried
    SAMY’S Biggest Dilemma now is he is unable to Deliver BN Indian Votes and Fearful of Protest Votes & was advised by UMNO Youth Hishamuddin to Send MIC youths on a Nationwide 1-week Tour for Damage Control.
    It has finally dawn and sunk on Samy Vellu and his MIC stalwarts that the recent HINDRAF uprising has greatly affected his ability to deliver the votes in the coming GE which might greatly affect a number of marginal seats in which the Indians votes might hold sway for the BN candidates. The BN think tank is fearful of these “protest votes” and the UMNO Youth through its leader Datuk Hishamuddin has advised the MIC youths to do a quick “damage control” exercise and go on a Nation wide tour to correct the change in “loyalty”. The hurt and damage would be difficult to erase and correct now and this is more so with the five Hindraf icons safely locked up in Kamunting. What has been done cannot be so easily undone within a week Samy!
    More details
    Go H E R E
    and a gist of Zam’s Special for SAMY on RTM1 – 60 Mins with a Minsiter

10. #10 by sani on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 8:35 pm

YB

I agree that GE is just around the corner. i also agree that the opposition should seriously start to work out a shadow goverment. Or at least structurelize a frame work, to try to capture a state, which would be run by an alternative front.

The opportunity is upon us + the opposition, to convert the scarifices of the Hindaf 5, to change the landscape of our national politics. To one that is truly accountable + nearest to perfect social democratic justice / values as possible.

Our Indian brothers + sisters had always been the King Maker, albiet on the wrong side of the political fence. It would be alot to ask of any group to give up the goodies that comes with election campaigns, but then again “the bad taste of a cheap trick, will remain long after the thrill had gone.”. I believe in this coming GE, they will be the Moral + Conscience maker of our nation, at a very defining moment.

11. #11 by year of snake on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 8:48 pm

If during the next GE seats from BN are reduced but only from MIC and MCA, the people from Umno would be jumping for joy. Therefore, if seats are to be won from BN it should come from Umno so that they will know that the votes from Non-Malays are still important for them to win.

12. #12 by Short-sleeve on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 9:02 pm

Come to the GE, lets not sell out for some street lamps, paved roads, new longkangs etc etc. We must vote for the Opposition, be it PAS, DAP or PKR. Vote for Opposition, vote for change.

For us chinese, lets not be fooled by UMNO-BN usual May 13 threats, BN for stability & progress crap. We must not swing in the last minute. Do not let those lies in the media get to us.

13. #13 by Saint on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 9:32 pm

Dear Kit,
    1. Get a volunteer group through this blog
    2. Make a political pact quickly
    3. Please do rule out PAS, if you have to work indirectly with them, please do it
    4. Leave out sensitive issues; just go for a fair and just government
    We are all counting on DAP.
    Do not let us down

14. #14 by Loyal Malaysian on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 9:34 pm

An uplifting analysis!! I hope the ‘kingmakers’ in the constituencies concerned remember to cast their votes wisely come the next elections. Perhaps we may really see the end of the BN 2/3 majority this time round. I will pray for that event.

15. #15 by grace on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 9:38 pm

Hope the Indians can vote the opposition this time around.
    Now BN is sweet talking the ti Indians. Please do not be taken in by them.
    VOTE AGAINST BN WHEREVER YOU ARE!
    HAVE PRIDE IN YOURSELF!
    IFIndians can be be CEO of Citi groub, minister of Finance in Singapore, I see no reason why Indians here cannot take pride in them.
    Show that you had enough of bullshitting!!

16. #16 by Saint on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 9:41 pm

Sorry for the mistake in point 3.
    It should read:

Please do NOT rule out PAS, if you have to work indirectly with them, please do it

17. #17 by Short-sleeve on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 9:55 pm

Yes DO NOT, and I mean DO NOT rule out PAS.

I have no problems at all, voting for PAS.

18. #18 by limkamput on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 9:57 pm

For those visiting and contributing to this blog, their quest for change needs little convincing. We are generally aware of what is going on. However, how do we get to the grassroots, the ordinary working Malay, Indian and Chinese Malaysians of the need for change?

When I grew up poor, I did not know why I was poor. Nobody told me why and I had no capacity to understand the political and social order prevailing at that time. On reflection, I now understand how villagers in my kampong were manipulated and convinced to vote for Alliance at that time. It was simple really, they showed some movies, and caught hold of village headmen and elders and the rest just fell in line. As for village headmen and elders, some probably were bribed and some probably lacked discernment of what was going on.

Many years had since past. Is the situation today any different from those days when I was young? May be we are slightly better off economically now. Other than that, what else is different? To the ordinary folks, they still have to go to local authorities, land offices, local hospitals and clinics, municipals, the police, the immigration, the schools and education departments to get their problem and grievances resolved. More often than not, things are still very much the same and many of these ordinary folks don’t really know that it is their rights to demand for better and more transparent service. Many still docilely wait in line for hours to get half bake service being dished out to them. So when we sit here and discuss about Bosnia, Myanmar, transparency international, the independence of judiciary etc, please spare some thought for the issues that ordinary Malaysians hold dear. For this is how the hearts and minds are lost and won.

Have the opposition parties figured out yet how they should jointly put forth a united agenda in the way ordinary Malaysians can understand and boldly and convincingly tell them that the oppositions have a plan that can change their life. Constituencies (both Parliament and State Assemblies) with sizable Indian Malaysian voters are listed above by Sdr Lim. Even with the Hindraf issue now being hotly debated, I think to get their votes is not automatic. We need to find a way to relate at their level. Just before election, watch out the BN strategies – visiting Tamil schools and temples, special allocations for village roads, water supplies, local tax and assessment forgiveness, and renewal of TOL etc. In no time, you will find ordinary people falling heads and shoulders over all these gestures and forget yet again their long term misery. The trick really is to tell our people they don’t have to live their life like this. They don’t have to be beholden to the bureaucrats and government to get their things done, and they are entitled just like the well connected to fruits of development. I have always thought that this blog should devote more time and energy to issue like this.

19. #19 by R for Retard on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 10:29 pm

hmm the bodohwi goverment is good at producing shadow clones,raise people from the dead,create phantom people to put the votes in their favour,but the good question is will the unregistered majority of voters register and make a difference,i mean how much can they cheat if every able voter vote for the opposition?

20. #20 by Short-sleeve on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 10:36 pm

“We are all counting on DAP.
    Do not let us down” – Saint

Democracy and freedom wont be served to us on a free.
    If we want to have true democracy and freedom, we got to stand up and be counted.
    DAP cant do it alone. We cant just let DAP or PAS or PKR fight for our freedom and democracy. We got to step up to the plate as well and do our part.

21. #21 by ktteokt on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 10:52 pm

Vote BN out in the coming elections for peace, equality and a better government!

22. #22 by Libra2 on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 10:54 pm

VOTE BARISAN AND YOU VOTE FOR THE AGAINST YOUR CHILDREN’S FUTURE.
    VOTE BARISAN AND YOU DESTROY THIS COUNTRY.

23. #23 by Libra2 on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 10:54 pm

Correction: VOTE BARISAN AND YOU AGAINST YOUR CHILDREN’S FUTURE.

24. #24 by babique on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 10:58 pm

time for the 3 major parties to unite regardless of ideology. Just like in australia and south korea, it’s time for a change of government. DAP alone cannot form a government – so start negotiating with PKR and PAS. Just Do It for the sake of the silent majority!

25. #25 by Saint on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 11:09 pm

Short-sleve – “what must we do?”
    That is what we are asking DAP, PAS and KeADILAN.
    Have yet to receive any answers.
    I think they do not have any answers yet – and only 3 months for the elections.
    And similar to BN – they are in their own dreams and denial state.

26. #26 by sec on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 11:19 pm

People power= Hindraf+Chindraf+PKR+PAS
    Barisan Gov; Bukan kongsi kuasa antara kaum ; sebenarnya Kongsi wang dalam parti; UMNO 80%, MCA10%,MIC 9%, PPP1%
    Sekarang PPP nak minta lebih dari MIC

27. #27 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 11:23 pm

“…. for the first time in the current term of MPs, the corridors of Parliament were infected by an air of expectation that MPs were seeing the end of Parliament and that they would not be gathering again as MPs of the 11th Parliament.” KIT

Kit, you have your finger on the pulse of this nation like no one has. Your bet is our bet!

28. #28 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 11:30 pm

“Although there is no single parliamentary or state assembly constituency in Malaysia where the Indian voters constitute the majority of the electorate and could singly decide who would be elected the MP or State Assembly representative, Indian voters represent over ten per cent of the electorate in 62 Parliamentary constituencies and 138 State Assembly constituencies and are an important factor in determining the electoral outcome.” KIT

I’m sorry but I think you contradict yourself when you say in the same breath that Indian voters make up about 10% of the electorate and are “an important factor in determining the electoral outcome.”

29. #29 by Jong on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 11:30 pm

Oh shit, to wait another 2 months? I was expecting Parliament to be dissolved 2 months ago!

30. #30 by frusmalaysian on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 11:34 pm

Yes, we are hoping DAP would work hard and closely with the other opposition parties, including PAS, to deny the BALDI NONSense (BN) a 2/3 majority in the coming election. I see the present condition on the ground provides a golden opportunity to acheiving this.

As proposed by Richard Teo, the Oppositions should quickly form a shadow cabinet, comprising of 60% Malays, 25% Chinese, 8% Indians and 7% others. The people chosen to head the various ministry should be qualified and very capable. By doing so, the Opposition and what it stands for becomes more palpable to the rakyat. Tony Blair and the Labour Party had a credible shadow cabinet and was successful in ousting the Conservative Party. God willing, Malaysia Oppositions would create history this time round and deny them the 2/3 majority in Parliament and capture 4 states government.

Go DAP go!
    Go PKR go!
    Go PAS go

31. #31 by mendela on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 11:37 pm

To run a successful campaign against the abusive UMO and its cronies, resources are needed.

We must make generous donations to the opposition parties immediately!

UMO is using all government resources and mainstream media to make itself re-elected; oppositions must get enough funds and helps from all people whom stand for justice.

32. #32 by Jong on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 11:47 pm

I agree with mendela. YB Lim, do make available your bank account number so that we may contribute when able.

33. #33 by mendela on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 11:47 pm

We must make sure at least there are 20% of seats win by opposition members in each state assembly. Failure to do so means there will be no effective check and balance on all things done by the ruling state Gomen.

For example, just look at Johore, are there any opposition state assemblymen there? How is Johore fares in all these years? High crime rate, high rape cases, flooding always, corruptions, abuses of power…

34. #34 by segar steve on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 11:47 pm

my suggestion for this GE is form a UNITED MALAYSIA PARTY(PARTY FOR ALL RACE) NO PLACE FOR RACIST N RELIGION.THIS PARTY IS FOR ALL WHO ARE WILLING TO WORK FOR THE PRESENT N FUTURE GENERATION.WHY NOT MALAYSIAN BE RATIONAL N WORK TOWARDS OUR GOAL OF 2020.KICK THE PRESENT HP6 GOVERMENT OUT.LOOK AT HOW MUCH MONEY IS BEEN WASTED JUST FOR BEEN RACIST.WHERE HAVE THOSE GUYS GONE 2 WHEN WE SHARE OUR FOOD ON THE SAME PLATE.HALAL NEVER HEARD ABOUT THOSE DAYS.HALAL PLS DONT USE SIN MONEY IF U SEEM THAT FANATIC.GIVE BACK ALL THOSE SIN TAXES N MONEY TO NON MUSLIM.WE WILL BE VERY GLAD N THANK U BEEN REAL MUSLIM

35. #35 by harrisonbinhansome on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 11:51 pm

“How can Samy Vellu go on RTM1 after the Indian NGO’s meeting with the Prime Minister to tell the nation that the Malaysian Indians had never been neglected, going against the message the Indian NGOs wanted to convey to the Prime Minister last Friday? Isn’t this a great disservice to the cause of justice and equality for the Malaysian Indians under the Malaysian sun?”-Kit

Samy Vellu-The oxymoronical Indian Minister with an oratory of Mafia-like acerbic.

Ex Minister Lim Keng Yaik-a combination of parody of facial tic and and lisp which is funnier than Jim Carrey in the act.

Minister (of Law) Nazri Aziz-any 1st world legal profession thinks that he’s an unschooled crass.

PM Abdullah Ahmad Badawi-his competence even in younger ages wouldn’t even get him a job as a security at Toy’r’us. Now he’s PM cum Internal security Minister.

This is Malaysia, land of the FINEST!.

*If any lawyers is willing to take my case, I am gonna sue the Chinese snakeheads boatsmen who duped my great grandparents
    to “Tanah Melayu”. I still got their address.

36. #36 by laifoong on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 12:02 am

“On reflection, I now understand how villagers in my kampong were manipulated and convinced to vote for Alliance at that time.’ limkamput

Huh? ‘kampong’ rather than ‘new village’ and ‘Alliance’ rather than MCA” and “village headmen and elders” rather than “MCA lackeys” I thought someone says he is Chinese pure and pure??

37. #37 by Jong on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 12:10 am

laifoong,
    Don’t be a pain. If you want answers, ask properly.
    Do you know the difference between kampong and new village? Even sekolah attap knows. So which school did you attend?

38. #38 by DarkHorse on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 12:14 am

“If Samy Vellu is right, that the Hindraf did not know the meaning of “ethnic cleansing” when they used the term, why was it necessary to invoke the draconian Internal Security Act (ISA) to detain them indefinitely without trial?” Kit

So that they could have more time looking up the meaning of ‘ethnic cleansing’ ? What better way then to have people of like minds spend time secluded within the walls of Kamunting Detention Centre, away from the distractions of everyday life, to reflect on the meaning of ‘ethnic cleansing’??

39. #39 by KS R on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 12:19 am

Hi

PM should call for the election after April,

Dato Sri Anwar’s term expired end of April (confirm) If PM is real genlemen he should call after April. I don’t think so because he been control by remote controllers and the other Ministers no guts or ready to face the Challenges.

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 12:32 am

Jong, that was a legitimate observation.

But perhaps it should be framed differently. Perhaps it should have been “It is OK if you’re Malay and not Chinese” because Malays are welcome to express their opinions on this blog. It is not meant for DAP members or Chinese only. In fact frequent visits by posters like harrisonbinhansome who admits only to being part Chinese and part something else, is a good sign that DAP is fast losing its Chinese-ness. Then there is this ant from S’pore and Shamshul Anuar who says though Malay he is not an UMNO member.

Agent provocateurs are also welcome. If they insist on provoking than we insist on our rights not to listen – or read in this case.

41. #41 by undergrad2 on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 12:51 am

KIT,

It would help us get a more accurate picture if you could give a breakdown of the racial composition of the electorate (not just its Indian composition) in the Perak constituencies you named, and whether the constituencies currently are under BN.

Otherwise we are unable to say if the Indian votes in those constituencies could become or have the potentiality of becoming ‘swing’ votes that we would like to believe they have.

42. #42 by limkamput on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 12:53 am

Jong,
    If you want to contribute, may be you should ask for DAP contribution account. I don’t think you can send money to Sdr Lim’s personal account. That may not be appropriate and I don’t know whether it constitutes an offence or not.

43. #43 by Jong on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 12:57 am

limkamput,
    The slip of the finger is not fault of the mind! :D

44. #44 by Jong on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:01 am

undergrad2,
    Thanks but you and I know why I burst out. The message got through I am pretty sure.

45. #45 by limkamput on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:04 am

Laifoong,
    I agree with Jong that if you want to ask for clarification, you may do so, but please do it politely. I have earlier asked you in another thread that perhaps it is time to hear what you have got to say rather than just one liner here and there.

Don’t make too many stereotype assumptions when you asked question. If you do so, you may sound unwise. I can be a Chinese living in a kampong that it is not a Chinese new village. Similarly, I could be a Chinese voting for a representative from the Alliance Party (not necessary MCA) at that time.

46. #46 by limkamput on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:11 am

Laifoong, the Malay kampung has concentration of chinese homes. So for the Malay kampung, it has ketua kampong which i translate here as village headman, while the chinese we usually have to follow the elders. May be you are young and you come from urban centre. I think you don’t quite understand those growing up in the earlier years.

47. #47 by undergrad2 on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:14 am

Jong,

On a different note, I’d like to say that the 21st century is about people coming out of their closets.

You have lesbians and gays coming out of their closets demanding the euqal rights i.e. to serve in the armed forces and to marry. You have atheists coming out of the closet in droves to condemn religious bigots. You even have religious fanatics coming out to say they are really moderates. You even have sexual addicts coming out of the closets to admit their addiction to sex.

So one more really doesn’t matter.

48. #48 by Jong on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:18 am

“The trick really is to tell our people they don’t have to live their life like this. They don’t have to be beholden to the bureaucrats and government to get their things done, and they are entitled just like the well connected to fruits of development.” – limkamput

– It’s easier said than done. I won’t say it can’t be done but it will be an uphill task to change their mindset.

You see this country has never seen or experience another govt other than BN/Alliance. For half a century, to many BN is govt, UMNO is govt. They can’t differentiate between political parties and govt, let alone change. They will ask, change? To “Opposition”? :D

49. #49 by limkamput on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:20 am

I’m sorry but I think you contradict yourself when you say in the same breath that Indian voters make up about 10% of the electorate and are “an important factor in determining the electoral outcome.” undergrad2

I don’t think there is a contradiction at all. What Sdr Lim said was there is no constituency where Indian Malaysians constitute majority and therefore can singly decide who the MP or State Assembly man is. However, with constituencies having more than 10% of the electorate, it is an important determining factor on the outcome if for example there is a split in Malay or Chinese votes.

50. #50 by undergrad2 on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:22 am

Some even admit to having sex in their closets – and not just coming out of their closets.

51. #51 by Jong on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:23 am

undergrad2,
    Maybe you are right. It’s weekday, you couldn’t have been drinking.

52. #52 by undergrad2 on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:26 am

“They can’t differentiate between political parties and govt, let alone change. They will ask, change? ” JONG

Yep, they may make their way to their closets in an attempt to change!

53. #53 by Jong on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:26 am

I think you’ve been in NY for far too long. You do need some “truly Asia” fresh air. Start booking your flight, the GE is 2 mths away. It has messed up my travel plans and I am stuck here.

54. #54 by undergrad2 on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:29 am

OK, you guys can sock it out! I need to prepare lunch.

55. #55 by limkamput on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:29 am

It’s easier said than done. I won’t say it can’t be done but it will be an uphill task to change their mindset.

Fair enough, it is not easy for reasons you have stated. But at least we should try; otherwise, there is no way you can win. You see, to the ordinary folks, their concern is not higher order things (not that those are not important) because they can’t relate to those things. We need to communicate and show how the change can benefit them in their daily life.

56. #56 by Jong on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:30 am

It’s 1.30am Msian time, time to hit the sack. ta!

57. #57 by undergrad2 on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:30 am

Truly Asia? Fresh air? You don’t think it is a contradiction in terms??

58. #58 by Jong on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:34 am

“communicate” – yep that’s very important, I agree. I have been doing that. You’ll be surprised I find the govt servants are the worse lot, they all seems so blur about change although they complain so much about the govt.

59. #59 by Jong on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:40 am

Wahh such quick-fix lunch. See, pity you having sandwiches while we enjoy char-koay-teow, hor-fun and laksa! :D

What “contradiction in terms”?

60. #60 by kanthanboy on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 1:44 am

Undergrad2, I have to disagree with you.

In the first part of the statement he said the Indians could not SINGLY decide.

In the second part he said the Indians are AN IMPORTANT FACTOR in determining the electoral outcome.

I see no contradiction at all. Well, if you still think there is contradiction, we can agree to disagree.

61. #61 by kwkean on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 2:03 am

This time please vote properly, DO NOT VOTE BLINDLY AGAIN! Always remind yourself of the event happen in these 4 years.

a) KERISMUDIN (DIE also must REMEBER)!!!!!!
    b) ABB’s BERUK SON IN LAW attitude!!
    c) Lingam Tape (Correct, Correct, Correct)!!
    d) PKFZ scandal and buyout!!
    e) Price hike (tol, gasoline, sugar and more)!!
    f) UMNO AGM during Depavali festival!!
    g) Bersih rally (gelombang Kuning) and its reason!!
    h) Our Mr. ZAM and Mr. Nazri statements!!
    i) Hindraf rally and the cry of more then 30,000 Indian for being marginalize!!
    j) Demolition of Indian Temples!!
    k) Amendment of article 114 to extend Rashid’s contract (EC Chief)!!
    l) The promotion of Zaki (UMNO’s ex lawyer) as Court of Appeal head judge!!!
    m) The use of ISA!!
    n) The ZzzZZzzZz attitude of our AAB!!

Still got more but cannot remember them (Malaysian style of short term memory…………). Please post them up as well if you can remember. Since we Malaysian have short term memory, print this list out and stick it on the wall of your room. Read them every night before you go to sleep until General Election come!!

62. #62 by laifoong on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 2:53 am

limkamput, it’s not the words you use but the way you write! Pls do not mislead. anybody who can read can tell!

63. #63 by Bigfoot on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 2:53 am

Barisan Nasional seriously underestimated the will of the Indians to stand up for their rights. The expected them to remain weak, powerless and subservient, as they had always been for decades. Against overwhelming odds, 30,000 normally meek and mild Indians braved everything to assemble peacefully, guided only by their conscience and a sense of dharma (righteous, sacred duty) to speak up for 2 million of their fellow Indians.

In doing so, their actions continue to reverberate both nationally and internationally. It continues to shake the Barisan Nasional government at its roots. This is despite the governments best efforts to thwart HINDRAF by throwing the 5 HINDRAF leaders under the ISA, and demonizing them with unsubstantiated claims of terrorist links, and then attempting to charge 31 for “attempted murder”.

Barisan Nasional is for the first time of its existence, scared. People whom they dimissed as irrelevant as their numbers were too small in any particular constituency haven risen, and lo and behold, they have the power to be king makers. Provided the opposition plays its cards well, this could yet be history in the making.

64. #64 by lakshy on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 5:09 am

YB,

To swing the votes of the Malays would be more worrisome for bn. Perhaps talk to DSAI to get keadilan to go on a roadshow with the before and after situation of the umnoputras and explain how they have taken (illegally) what belongs or should have gone to the malays. It is due to such abuses that after so many years that many rural malays and even urban malays are still poor.

65. #65 by lakshy on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 5:21 am

something i received in my e-mail signed off from son of god

In 2004, Morgan Stanley issued a report that estimated that over 100Billion US Dollars (360 Billion Ringgit) had been lost to Malay patronage in the 20 years preceding 2003. (1984 to 2003) One economist estimates that in the 36 years of its’ existence, the NEP has been used to channel over ONE TRILLION RINGGIT to the Malay community through ASN, ASB and other related Govt policies.

Since 1970, the Govt has used the NEP to divert education, employment and every other conceivable benefit to the Malays. These measures have largely been successful with all the top posts in GLCs, Government, Universities, Public listed companies and practically every single area that the Govt has any control over being reserved for one race. No company may be listed with a lower than 30% Bumi equity but there is absolutely no problem if it is otherwise. Some industries have a mandatory 51% Bumi ownership and some industries are reserved exclusively for them. Petronas for example only employs Malays for it’s top managerial and executive positions and awards contracts only to Malays.

ALL Govt and Municipal contracts are reserved to class “F” Bumi contractors. All the proposed projects under the 9th Malaysia Plan thus far are reserved for 100% Bumi owned companies. Even open tender projects are awarded to Malays even if their prices are higher with blatantly inferior materials. Micro business loans, business licenses, discounts on property purchases, new Govt employment, EVEN LICENSES FOR HAWKER STALLS are reserved for one race. The list goes on and on but the summary is that the Malays now
    believes undoubtedly that he is racially privileged and it is their right ASLI’s figures of 45% are opposed to the Govt’s 18.9% because, firstly, equity value is calculated at par value. For example, if you hold 1,000 Maxis shares of RM 5/- market value each, the Govt says that it is only worth RM 250.00 as these shares have a par value of 25 cents each. If you owned a company with a paid up value of RM 2/- but conducted business worth millions of Ringgit worth of transactions, the Govt values that company at RM 2/-.

The chief setbacks of the abuses of the NEP are rampant corruption and cronyism, worsening racial polarization, unrelenting brain drains, warped educational system, thwarted economic competitiveness, ineffectual bureaucracy, retarded economic growth and perverted social values. Such anachronistic and regressive policy has no place in the present globalizing world, and for that matter, in any civilized society.

PM Badawi recently intensified the imprint of the perverted NEP philosophy by prohibiting inter-religious and inter-racial discourse which would otherwise have contributed to greater understanding and harmony among the races. Consider the hegemony this has created….

The Jasin MP’s saga of cheating millions from Customs over timber imports went unpunished. APs are reserved for Bumis only and despite the millions that each of them make year after year, a senator’s son has the audacity to clone the APs several times and the whole thing gets swept under the carpet. A Port Klang councilor buys a 43,000 sq ft plot of land set aside for low cost housing valued at 1.8 million Ringgit for 180k and builds a palace without any approval. He gets fined RM 5,000 and still has 30 days from today to submit his building plans. Yesterday, despite all the bad press this issue got, the Selangor state Govt confirms his position and that of his son and daughter in law as councilors. The message is clear. Power has shifted from the people to the executive.

The whole issue of Bumi chauvinism started at last year’s UMNO assembly when the very very vocal UMNO Youth leaders stated in short that “It’s our turn to be rich.” This greed is not going to end. We as a nation of loyal citizens have to put a dent into this rubbish for the sake of our children.

We don’t need a change in Govt. We need a stronger opposition. We need to send a message to the powers that be that we will not accept second class status for our children.

66. #66 by lakshy on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 5:25 am

THE MALAYSIAN MALAY

by Dr Syed Alwi of Singapore

Dear Editor,

As you know, I am an avid watcher of Malaysian affairs. I must confess
    that lately, Malaysia appears to be failing. Not a day passes by
    without more events that clearly highlight Malaysia ‘s race-religion
    fault-line. If things keep going this way, I fear for Malaysia ‘s
    future.

Today, schools in Singapore celebrate Racial Harmony Day. I can
    visibly see the joy in the children’s faces as they wear their ethnic
    costumes and have fun together at school. But in Malaysia – even the
    right to choose a religion has become a sensitive, national issue. No
    doubt, there are many in Malaysia who hate my liberal views on Islam,
    family included. But I will say what I must say openly. I have come to
    the conclusion that Malaysia cannot progress any further without first
    addressing fundamental questions regarding its identity and soul.

I remember the days when we can laugh at Lat’s cartoons on everyday
    Malaysian life. But sadly, the Islamic tide has polarised Malaysians.
    Some people ask why I should bother about Malaysian affairs since I am
    a Singaporean. May I remind Malaysians that it was Tan Siew Sin who
    once said that Singapore and Malaysia are Siamese Twins. Should
    Malaysia go down – it would hurt the region tremendously. Especially
    Singapore ..

Where do you think Malay apostates would head for if Lina Joy loses
    her case? Singapore of course! I find the Malaysian Malay to be very
    under-exposed. For them, it’s all Islam and the NEP and everything
    under the sun would sort itself out. I am sorry to say this – but
    Islam and the NEP may be the cause of the undoing of the Malaysian
    Malay.

There is nothing wrong with religion or affirmative action. But, like
    everything else in life, they must be taken in moderation and with a
    pinch of salt. A little doubt is good. Unfortunately in Malaysia ,
    emotions over Islam have overcome reason. What we see today is the
    result of the NEP and Islamisation policies of the past thirty years
    or so.

No one owes Malaysian Malays a living. Let me assure you that should
    Malaysia fail – the Malaysian Malay will suffer enormously. And
    rightly so. After all – they have been pampered with all sorts of
    goodies over the years. They cannot now expect more goodies. Perhaps
    the day of reckoning for them, is near. Whatever it is, Malaysia had
    better wake up to the realities around her. The globalised world of
    the 21st century has no NEP to offer the Malaysian Malay. And humans
    cannot live by religion alone.

Regards,

Dr Syed Alwi

67. #67 by lakshy on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 5:27 am

The nation operates on two set of laws
    Yusri Nuqman
    Dec 3, 07 4:26pm
    Malaysians of all races must be too naive not to realise that the nation has two sets of laws: one for the ruling party, particularly Umno and the other for those who are against it. When Umno Youth chief and other leaders commented that the Hindraf demonstration leads to religious and racial sentiments and that gangsters were involved, little did they realise that Umno Youth is no different.

For the benefit of those “Melayu mudah lupa (Malays with short memory)”, several hundred Umno Youth members had gathered outside the Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall (SCAH) on Aug 18, 2000 as a protest against the Malaysian Chinese Election Appeals Committee’s (Suqiu) 17-point demand – some of which Umno claims to threaten Malay rights.

Malaysians of non-Umno breed will not forget how the Umno Youth deputy Abdul Aziz Sheikh Fadzir, who led the demonstration, climbed and stood on the SCAH fence, hurling threats against the Chinese. It was reported that this group even threatened to burn down the hall. Yes, the police were present, but not a single shot of tear gas was fired at the demonstrators who were shouting racially-sensitive words. Neither were arrests made, perhaps because the demonstrators were Umno Youth.

In the first place, did Umno Youth obtain a police permit for that particular demonstration? If they didn’t, then how different is it with the Bersih and Hindraf rallies? At least in those demonstrations, they didn’t threatened to burn any building or soak the Malay keris with Chinese blood. If anything can be concluded, it is that the police use two different sets of laws for people with two different political ideologies

68. #68 by DarkHorse on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 6:40 am

Tell me about it! What’s new??

69. #69 by DarkHorse on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 6:45 am

“But sadly, the Islamic tide has polarised Malaysians.” Syed Alwi

This is an understatement of the year 2007! The Islamic tide is threatening to drown the non-Malays and non-Muslims, threatening to wash them to sea!

It is worst than water boarding regarded by the U.N. as torture.

70. #70 by DiaperHead on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 6:53 am

“We don’t need a change in Govt. We need a stronger opposition. We need to send a message ”

Wrong!

We need a strong opposition so as to be able to change the government – perhaps not immediately.

Speaking of sending messages and a good delivery system and all that bull, we cannot rely on Pos Laju anymore since they are just as corrupted. We just need to develop our own courier system.

71. #71 by Count Dracula on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 7:11 am

“At least in those demonstrations, they didn’t threatened to burn any building or soak the Malay keris with Chinese blood.”

Did I hear someone say blood?

72. #72 by undergrad2 on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 7:18 am

Be serious guys.

When UMNO play the race card they do it for the survival of the Malay race. When the non-Malays play the race card they are racists.

73. #73 by lakshy on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 7:28 am

Thats why Keadilan should be playing the card about how the umnoputras have amassed great wealth at the expense of the ordinary rakyat. DAP needs to work with Keadilan.

One other way to get money in DAP’s coffers is to become members of DAP.

74. #74 by Bigjoe on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 9:05 am

In IJOK, if not for the Indian voters, Keadilan could have made it although it was majority Malay area.

The constituency listed above have big Chinese population but some of them are new village areas – a stronghold of MCA. Its true in IJOK, that did not help BN. So in theory Sdr. Lim makes a very good case of why the listed constituency can swing.

But let take a look at Sg. Siput – the dream of kicking out Samy Vellu. Some 40% of voters are Chinese. Unless you can get 75% of the Chinese voters to vote against BN, they will need malay votes to win. Can DAP cobble together at least 20% of the Malay vote in Sungai Siput? Otherwise Keadilan would have to be the one standing.

Its not simple math these things.

75. #75 by liaw3003sc on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 9:25 am

Yes, this is the Ketuanan Melayu agenda at work; ‘Non-Malays must ‘ask’ to be given ‘a little bit’ more! Whereas the government will have to ‘wake up’ those cronies who are still sleeping to ‘sabu’ what they had ‘laid’ for them. This is a very sad situation created by the MCA and MIC’s ‘we negotiate, we don’t publicise’ cheat!

Watch out! in the final moment of the GE, the UMNOputra racist will stir up the Malays (regrettably they could be very easily stirred up, especially when they have also been the ‘apparent’ beneficiaries of the hijacked NEP), the ‘PBS headgear Christian cross’ effect may resurface!

So it is very important to make our Malay friends to understand the truth of the ‘hijacked and deviated NEP’!

Certainly the above will be a long struggle of which the PKR and PAS are best to shoulder the responsibility; ‘For the Poor Malaysian Economic Policy’ (best to at least have some draft affirmative policy guidelines) as alternative so that at least the poor Malays will not have the fear that they will lose out the so called
    assistance they have been receiving so far.

Anyway, the way to break the BN strong 2/3 situation must be taken ‘one step at a time’. Let the ‘GOAL’ to get all non-Malays to ‘VOTE ANY OPPOSITION EXCEPT BN’ be the first step of the whole transformation!

Spread the news!

76. #76 by oknyua on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 9:42 am

Lakshy, the US100 b is UNDERSTATED.

Mr Morgan & Mr Stanley talked about money but they do no know about the forest that had been destroyed, the rivers polluted with diesel, the displaced Penan, Muruts, Orang Alsi, the dead fishes, prawns, animals, smog etc. They do not know about the flash floods due to the destruction of vegetation in the catchment areas and the siltation of rivers.

You should ask whether Mr Morgan and Mr Stanley included the gambling losses BN politicians had in London, Vegas and Melbourne?

Anyway thanks for the slight demarcation between the words Malay and Bumiputera.

77. #77 by R for Retard on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 9:52 am

1 trillion ringgit gone just like that,no wonder we are still lagging behind other developed countries. Somehow i pity the poor malays,eventhough they are promised everything but the rich malays just make more and more money and leave the poor to waste. They do not realize the fact that they are creat9ing a major rift in their community. By the way guys in order for the opposition coalition to win everyone who is able to vote must vote,if not all this efforts will not work,like i said before they can raise people from the dead to vote for them and abuse the olice and the army votes in their favour.

78. #78 by limkamput on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 10:00 am

Laifoong say: limkamput, it’s not the words you use but the way you write! Pls do not mislead. anybody who can read can tell!

Laifoong,
    Perhaps anger is still simmering in you. Please don’t pick a fight with me again because I don’t think you are good at it. So just let it be. I have told you I will not be responding to one liner because I really don’t know what you are unhappy about. Please write a paragraph or two to show me what exactly is the problem and I will be most willing to engage you in discussion.

79. #79 by Pocket on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 10:08 am

Uncle Kit and DAP MPs,

If you need any volunteer to help out in the upcoming election campaigns, please kindly let me know, I’m more than happy to help.

VOTE for Better Malaysia!

80. #80 by sj on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 10:37 am

Uncle Lim,

Make your campaign focus on the theme of clean governance, bettet education, better civil service, safer society(zero tolerance to crime), better welfare, more efficient wealth distribution. These are just the start. I believe we all understand these are all big targets and they take time to sort, so if you willing step up to the platform and bring about these changes, we believe you can do a lot better job than the current useless BN leaders. I believe you would have the votes of most people who read your blogs. So I look forward to read your campaign manifesto. I just hope that you will be given a chance to prove yourself for the better of Malaysians.

81. #81 by mendela on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 11:04 am

Personally I would prefer GE be held before Anwar be eligible to compete!

Anwar will have ample time to help others to win and need not worry his own backyard!

No one from UMO can beat Anwar in any debates!

Anwar will easily win any bi-election held later if any of UMO MPs should die young!

82. #82 by Leo on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 11:12 am

Hi All,

I’m not a supporter of BN however I must make sure a sound mind must be exercised We should be responsible enough when we vote. We should not vote for change, and vote for any opposition party just to punish BN. When we vote we should vote for someone that can fight for our causes, etc. Learn more what DAP is fighting for. If you think DAP can represent you. Vote for DAP! That should be the correct way.

Uncle Lim,

I notice there’s a shift to opposition side for the past few months. However, you must make sure that those under DAP ticket are not complacent. Until the voting day arrives, there’s a lot of thing BN could do to win votes.

83. #83 by raven77 on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 11:18 am

If ever the Indians succumb to another Ijok…..Malaysians should label these chaps – lain lain or lump them together with the Banglas and Indons. Malaysians will be watching very closely every one of those seats to see if they fall to temptation again……

84. #84 by lakshy on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 12:03 pm

Semi Value can be beaten in Sg Siput. bn’s recent actions and Semi Value’s recent interview on tv would have made him an embarassment to many within and outside mic. I am sure he is running scared unless he is so deluded by his own self. Come to think of it, he probably is.

Let a capable person take him on in Sg Siput. Play up all the right topics there and he should be history. Many would pay to see him lose!

85. #85 by lakshy on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 12:04 pm

He is probably deluded I mean

86. #86 by mendela on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 12:56 pm

I think Semi Value will beg UMO for him to move to a safer constituency in upcoming GE!

Probably somewhere in Johore or Pahang!

If he stays, he will be a dead meat!

87. #87 by Saint on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 5:15 pm

If Samy contests in Sg. Siput, some one from Hindraf should be set up. This will keep the Indian fever high. This will be the talk of all the Indians, throughout P. Malaysia. Something MIC may not want.

88. #88 by js on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 6:17 pm

Survey done in China Press website:-

???

??????????????????????????????????
    [????]
    ???
    ????????????????? 99.22%
    ???????????????????? 0.78%

??? 231987?

89. #89 by js on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 6:20 pm

90. #90 by DarkHorse on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 11:48 pm

“I have told you I will not be responding to one liner …” LIMKAMPUT

One liner??

laiffong made ‘three’ liners!

“Huh? ‘kampong’ rather than ‘new village’ and ‘Alliance’ rather than MCA” and “village headmen and elders” rather than “MCA lackeys” I thought someone says he is Chinese pure and pure??”

There is nothing against writing three lines, is there? If it is concise and to the point.

91. #91 by DarkHorse on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 11:50 pm

limkamput,

Laifoong has made an allegation. Don’t you want to rebut his allegation? It is serious and, I believe, many readers are interested to know if you’re an impostor.

92. #92 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 12:26 am

KANTHANBOY: “Undergrad2, I have to disagree with you. In the first part of the statement he said the Indians could not SINGLY decide.
    In the second part he said the Indians are AN IMPORTANT FACTOR in determining the electoral outcome. I see no contradiction …”

Point duly noted – but I did say “in the same breathe” i.e. in the same line.

93. #93 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 2:00 am

laiffong made ‘three’ liners!- darkhorse

You are illiterate. Have i not responded to him/her?

94. #94 by DiaperHead on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 4:56 am

“In IJOK, if not for the Indian voters, Keadilan could have made it although it was majority Malay area.”

What does this make of the Indians if not they are opportunists par excellence?

95. #95 by segar steve on Sunday, 23 December 2007 - 2:31 am

96. #96 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 December 2007 - 3:11 am

What does this make of the Indians if not they are opportunists par excellence? Diaperhead.

No, Indian Malaysians are not opporutnists. YOU ARE.

97. #97 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 23 December 2007 - 5:27 am

You’re back to calling posters names again! Go to the issues not the person writing on the issues.

98. #98 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 23 December 2007 - 5:37 am

The Indians at IJOK decided to go with BN and Samy vellu because they were offered some real incentives and not just talk of incentives. So rather than vote for what is right morally, or for principles etc they voted for the money they were offered. We call such people opportunists. Do you have another name for it?

That was what this poster who himself is an Indian though not a Tamil Indian meant. He is being critical of his own people. What is your beef??

99. #99 by Colonel on Sunday, 23 December 2007 - 6:23 am

“What is your beef?” Dark Horse

Limkamput might think you’re offering to buy him beef steak.

100. #100 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 December 2007 - 1:21 pm

You’re back to calling posters names again! Go to the issues not the person writing on the issues – Asshorse

it is confirmed beyond all doubts you are not only a moron, you are an oxymoron, because you can’t see your own irony.

101. #101 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 December 2007 - 1:24 pm

Limkamput might think you’re offering to buy him beef steak.

a steak is a steak, a beef steak is for uneducated moron like you.

102. #102 by St0rmFury on Tuesday, 25 December 2007 - 2:00 am

Wow, just wow.

103. #103 by ktteokt on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 10:28 am

As good as saying “It’s a round ball!”