Religious polarisation most serious in 4 yrs under Abdullah as compared to four previous Prime Ministers

“PM: Religious festivals unite all Malaysians” is the New Straits Times headline today for Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s statement yesterday at an Aidiladha ceremony, where he said:

“Malaysia can pride itself in knowing that regardless of what religious celebration it may be, its ethnic groups will come together as one to honour the event.”

This was very true in the early decades of our nationhood, but it has become less and less true as increasing religious polarization in the country is undermining and even threatening national unity.

In fact, it is no exaggeration to say that religious polarization is most serious in the past four years under Abdullah as Prime Minister as compared to the four former Prime Ministers – Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Razak, Tun Hussein Onn and Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad.

It is most unfortunate that in recent years, there have been mounting instances of disrespect and insensitivity of those in power and authority for the rights and sensitivities of non-Muslim Malaysians.

The most serious example were the recent triple insensitivities during this year’s Deepavali – the Festival of Light celebrated by Hindus.

Firstly, there was the insensitive and sacrilegious demolition of the 40-year-old Sri Maha Mariaman Temple in Kampung Rimba Jaya in Shah Alam when Deepavali was just a week away.

This was followed by the disrespect and insensitivity when the Umno General Assembly was held on Deepavali – imagine the protest and outrage if the MCA or MIC had held their general assemblies during the Hari Raya holidays.

But there was a third strike – when Umno Deputy Youth Leader and the Prime Minister’s son-in-law, Khairy Jamaluddin went on a rampage against the Indian community at the Umno General Assembly, telecast on RTM, blaming the Indian news vendors for taking a national press holiday during Deepavali and blacking Abdullah’s speech as Umno President the next day.

The outrage by the Indian community at these triple disrespect and insensitivities were a major cause for 30,000 Indians from all over the country gathering in Kuala Lumpur on Nov. 25 in support of the Hindraf demonstration – not to create unrest but to send their cry of despair at their marginalization to the government of the day!

Such insensitivity and disrespect could also be seen In Parliament, as in the shocking incident where two Umno MPs demanded the removal of the cross and demolition of Christian statues in mission schools.

Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) is starting its new semester on Dec. 24, which is Christmas Eve – another example of decreasing respect and sensitivity from those in authority for different religious rights and practices, or the UPM would have fixed its semester opening a few days later.

The Prime Minister must take urgent measures to arrest the worsening of inter-religious relations in the country and halt the growing number of incidents of disrespect and insensitivity felt by non-Muslim Malaysians about their rights and religious practices by those in power and authority.

I have just received this SMS on another incident, viz:

“HERALD the weekly paper of the Catholic Church facing problem in renewing permit. Told not to have Bahasa section as condition for approval. All these years they had four sections – languages. BM to reach East Malaysians and youths educated in BM.”

The Prime Minister should immediately address these obstacles to greater national unity, so that Malaysia can revert to the previous position where religious polarization was a serious problem in nation-building so that religious festivals can continue to be an occasion to unite all Malaysians rather than divide them.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by undergrad2 on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 8:27 am

To: Jeffrey

So please refrain from correcting inadvertent errors or Kit will stop blogging and we’ll blame you! Where will we go to read then?? Malaysia-Today is mostly gossip. RPK has been reading tea leaves. We want something more than that!

[No, no, mistakes must be corrected. That is a completely different issue altogether. - Kit}

2. #2 by DarkHorse on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 8:36 am

Kit,

I think it’s the glare that is causing the strain to your eyes. You could get those screens produced by 3M to block and reduce the glare. That should reduce the strain to your eyes.

3. #3 by negarawan on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 8:37 am

The UMNO led “government” does not want to listen to public complaints, especially coming from non-muslims and non-bumis. Every complaint will get typical responses in the controlled media like “we will act on it”, “we are listening”, “you must use the legal channel”, “we are fair to everyone”, “we will help you”, but they are all blatant lies to give a false impression to the public that everything is OK in the country, that they are doing a great job. This is the most incompetent, dishonest, and corrupted “government”. Opressed citizens will continue to take matters to the streets as there are no more avenues for justice and fairness in this country. We ask for serious help from member countries of the United Nations council for human rights, especially the US and EU, and the international media to expose the apartheid policies in Malaysia. We also ask them to impose international sanctions, overseas asset freezing, and travel restrictions on the corrupt UMNO “leaders”.

4. #4 by cheeyong on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 8:50 am

Hi Kit Siang, politically aware net citzens value your contributions in blogging. And not too far fetched to say that you put many younger bloggers out there to shame with your precise and daily updated contents in your blog.

I am sure your daily scheduele is very punishing and let me say again with utmost respect, good job Mr Kit. My full respect to you. And this coming election, let us vote for DAP.

5. #5 by Jeffrey on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 8:53 am

Yes, I think prolonged use of computer may cause ‘eye strain’ but it is something that may be substantially mitigated by correcting workstation conditions, posture, stress-relieving lenses prescribed specifically for computer operation, special anti-glare screens, eye exercises etc.

However the first question to determine is whether typo omissions or even spelling mistakes and grammatical errors of postings are actually caused by eyestrain.

I have wondered about this as most of my postings are admittedly strewn or replete with these errors that have earned a rebuke from our Lim Kam Put who had commented that my writing was “atrocious” for being hard to read and he held me responsible for being “careless” as in niot editing before posting rather than poor English!

Now eye strain is the culprit if these errors are directly attributable to blurred vision or difficulty of focusing on what is appearing on the screen – but commonly it may not be the case.

Sometimes, when the mind is active and thoughts are racing far ahead than the typing could cope, errors may occur.

We tend not to check/edit thoroughly what is typed when time schedule is tight and million other things are competing and awaiting attention.

Other times even when we type what we want to post in another Microsoft Words platform, edit the errors before ‘cut-and-paste’ transfer of it to your Window Press posting window/box, 2 other things may occur:

1. sometimes a word like (say) “not” may not be “transferred” which may not be noticed if posting is immediately sent;

2. but ever very occasionally I also noticed that after editing and posting, what appears on the screen has omitted a word or two that has been typed in the comment box!

If this were true and not imagined, how does one explain that?

I wonder if it may have something to do with how the Word Press Platform, that underpins this blog, operates.

Maybe some more IT savvy readers here could elucidate.

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 9:01 am

Having said that, it is also true that most engaged in the blog are more inclined to just post what they want to express, often in a hurry, without wanting to be to meticulous about typographical omissions or even grammatical errors – as postings are not expected to be word and granmmar perfect for an English test – relying on the implicit indulgence of readers that this is a shortcoming for which most posters/commenters share the same guilt to which no great importance is attached.

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 9:03 am

There you are “wanting to be to meticulous” should read “wanting to be TOO meticulous” – which has nothing to do with eye strain as I see very clearly now but it still happens!

8. #8 by shaolin on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 9:35 am

To 2ndclasscitizen,

In order to achieve Bumi status. First, you must marry a
    Malay girl(Muslim). Only the 3rd generation of your siblings
    can then(after many amendments of Syriah law) enjoy full
    benefits as a Bumiputra.

Simply by converting to Muslim now enjoy ZERO benefits!!!

So if you intend to marry Malay girl as Converted Muslim,
    you better wake up ….!!!

9. #9 by HJ Angus on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 9:46 am

I agree that mistakes if noticed should be corrected.

back to topic…
    To be fair to AAB he did not declare Malaysia an “Islamic nation” but simply carried out the same slogan.

I guess UMNO sees that this concept has some advantages to gain votes in the Malay heartland where the controlled media spin their usual BN stories.

The latest conditions can be considered a form of religious persecution.
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2007/12/religious-persecution-in-malaysia.html

Or maybe it is just a scare tactic. Let the stoopid bloggers whip people into a frenzy and then approve the permit w/o conditions and then proclaim they are tolerant towards all religions.

Gullible folks in the churches will then thank God for the good leaders they have.

10. #10 by oknyua on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 10:12 am

Hj Angus, the Shah Alam Catholic Church was initially given approval due to a remark from the late Sultan – something to the effect that he wanted Shah Alam to reflect multiculturism. There are more stories about Churches in Shah Alam, but they are not for this blog.

I consider myself as a “watcher” for religious trend for the past 20 years. Definitely we are not better or worse than what happen overseas. Seeing churches destoyed and closed is so common that we do not know whether to thank God or man.

On a serious note Hj Angus, Christians are not gullible. Praying for the governing authority is biblical. Secondly, each year we observe the 40-day prayer and fasting for this nation pray against corruption, injustice, crimes. Next year, join us.

11. #11 by Leo on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 11:24 am

They say, if you dun like it. You can leave.
    I say, I will. Just see me leave.
    Don’t call brain drain at the end of the day.

12. #12 by undergrad2 on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 11:58 am

“I have wondered about this as most of my postings are admittedly strewn or replete with these errors that have earned a rebuke from our Lim Kam Put…” Jeffrey

No, that was a case of intellectual constipation and a brain freeze – not yours.

13. #13 by fairplay500 on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 12:20 pm

First it was the hindus now christians what is next buddhist then orang asli beliefs? Badawi an insult to islam…

14. #14 by DarkHorse on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 11:36 pm

Careful there undergrad!

Or else limkamput might emerge out of the woodwork to clobber Jeffrey and hijack the thread again, plunging this blog to new depths. He is still doing that in the earlier threads.

15. #15 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 12:32 am

Jeffrey: “….many regular visitors/readers/supporters and prolific contributors of this blog – Undergrad2 for example – wondering whether if and when that happens, whether it might also be time for them to visit and consult a psychiatrist ….”

You’re darn right, Jeffrey!

I’ve only just last week seen my doctor about possible withdrawal symptoms. Do you think I should send the bill to YB Kit?

16. #16 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 12:38 am

No, that was a case of intellectual constipation and a brain freeze – not yours. undergrad2

What is this for?

17. #17 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 12:41 am

Careful there undergrad!

Or else limkamput might emerge out of the woodwork to clobber Jeffrey and hijack the thread again, plunging this blog to new depths. He is still doing that in the earlier threads.

i am still doing? can you be honest with yourself at least once, and for the sake of this blog. I have seen you and others cobbering Earnest for no good reason and yet you are here talking like a saint.

18. #18 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 12:42 am

The same reason why having Bibles translated to Bahasa Malaysia is an attempt to proselytize the Muslims – which is seen as a contravention of Article 11(1) as qualified by (4) and (5) of the Constitution – Undergrad2

Hmmm, may be BM is not the national language of non Muslim in Malaysia.

19. #19 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 12:44 am

A “cooling off” period is necessary. What do they say about someone entering the kitchen and not being able to stand the heat?? Do not enter the kitchen! – DarkHorse

I think it is not fair to bedevil the Hindraf leaders the way you did. It is too simplistic, to my mind, to attribute the increased racism or parochialism to Hindraf action recently. It has been there for a long time. Somehow, we have bought in to the idea that we mustn’t confront and we must whisper and take everything in our strike. It is not as I see it. Never mind the initial backlash. It is about time. Do we want to wait for another 50 years.

20. #20 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 12:47 am

I’m not a Christian but what is so wrong about priting the Bible in Bahasa? Perhaps they should elaborate more on that…- noblepath

Now the government says the word Allah is used. According to Deputy Internal Security Minister, only Muslims can use the word Allah. So the next question is would the Herald be allowed to print if the word Allah is removed and substituted with Tuhan. If so, would the Catholic Church accept this?

To me, it is about politics and the anxiety of seeing its political base eroded. Think about it, it is really an irony. How long must Malay leaders keep their own people ignorant and destitute in order to stay in power?

21. #21 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 12:48 am

But while Bibles are written in English, Bibles written in Bahasa makes nonsense of Article 11 (4) and Article 160(2) – Undergrad2

Sorry, why so? You say so?

22. #22 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 12:49 am

Even today’s religious event was originated from the bible. Can the muslims be more origin for a while and not be a copycat? How to progress if we just know how to copy only? – Mickey01

Heh, I think you DON’T want to go there!

23. #23 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 12:50 am

They believe in the same prophets of the Old Testament. Who is copying whom? The Christians copied the Jews?? Judaism is about 3,000 years old – Diaperhead

True and false; The old testament is always part of Christianity.

24. #24 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 12:51 am

What is the qualification to be a bumiputra? Is there a clear cut policy? –2ndclasscitizen

There is a constitutional definition of the word Malay. And it is not based on race (blood). Can’t remember which article, ask Undergrad2.

25. #25 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:01 am

“To me, it is about politics and the anxiety of seeing its political base eroded. Think about it, it is really an irony. How long must Malay leaders keep their own people ignorant and destitute in order to stay in power?”

To the learned professor of politics, everything is about politics and nothing is about the law! I thought undergrad went to great length to educate you on that issue!

The commentator who asked what is wrong with having the Bible printed in Bahasa, is asking a legitimate question. The reason why he is asking it is because he is apparently not sufficiently acquainted with the Federal Constitution 1957 – that is law in case you miss it!

Of course, everything has to do with politics. The fact that you have an attap school type education and that Lee Wang Yeng does not is about politics, and the fact that you write bad English and have poor powers of reasoning is also about politics. Had DAP been running the government you’re not likely to be all these – ceteris paribus.

26. #26 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:06 am

“True and false; The old testament is always part of Christianity.” limkamput

Did anybody say it is not?? Diaper certainly did not say that if you read his posting. But then you’re too busy battling your own ego.

27. #27 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:15 am

The commentator who asked what is wrong with having the Bible printed in Bahasa, is asking a legitimate question. The reason why he is asking it is because he is apparently not sufficiently acquainted with the Federal Constitution 1957 – that is law in case you miss it! – DARkhourse

And i am asking why Bibles written in Bahasa makes nonsense of Article 11 (4) and Article 160(2). What is wrong with my question? If you have the answer, please tell me, because i want to know why because of article 11(4) and 160 (2) Bible can not be printed in BM.

28. #28 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:15 am

limkamput,

Laifoong has made an allegation about you! Don’t you want to rebut his allegation? It is serious and, I believe, many readers are interested to know if you’re an impostor.

29. #29 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:20 am

“…because i want to know why because of article 11(4) and 160 (2) Bible can not be printed in BM.” limkamput

Because then it would constitute proselytizing involving Malays who are deemed Muslims by the Constitution. That’s not just politics but is politics and law.

30. #30 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:20 am

Darkhorse,
    First you people like to quote the constitution like a parrot, never mind the constitution has been amended beyond recognition. Second, what makes you people think that your interpretation of the constitution (for whatever that is left) is correct. You think you people are great constitution law experts, or just a phua tam sai (if don’t know this term ask your hokkien Chinese friend).

31. #31 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:26 am

You, laifoong, diaperhead and whoever can assume and say whatever you want – an imposter, a malay, or whatever. Why do i care? I have never asked or accused who you people are.

32. #32 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:27 am

“First you people like to quote the constitution like a parrot..”

Of course anybody quoting anything would sound to you like a parrot!

“…what makes you people think that your interpretation of the constitution ….is correct.”

What the court thinks is important. What you and I think is not important.

33. #33 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:30 am

Quote me which court and which precedent that said so, i need to know now.

34. #34 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:31 am

“To me, it is about politics and the anxiety of seeing its political base eroded. Think about it, it is really an irony. How long must Malay leaders keep their own people ignorant and destitute in order to stay in power?” LIMKAMPUTT

To the learned professor of politics, everything is about politics and nothing is about the law! I thought undergrad went to great length to educate you on that issue!

The commentator who asked what is wrong with having the Bible printed in Bahasa, is asking a legitimate question. The reason why he is asking it is because he is apparently not sufficiently acquainted with the Federal Constitution 1957 – that is law in case you miss it!

Of course, everything has to do with politics. The fact that you have an attap school type education and that Lee Wang Yeng does not is about politics, and the fact that you write bad English and have poor powers of reasoning is also about politics. Had DAP been running the government you’re not likely to be all these – ceteris paribus.

35. #35 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:33 am

“Quote me which court and which precedent that said so, i need to know now” LIMKAMPUTT

The library is close. It is 1.30 in the morning.

36. #36 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:34 am

And if indeed the court said so, why are we accepting it as fait accompli? Then why are you people here talking about independence of judiciary and transparency etc. Why waste time because everything has been decided and there is nothing we can do because the constitution said so.

37. #37 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:34 am

38. #38 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:35 am

never mind i can wait, you can tell me tomorrow.

39. #39 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:37 am

“And if indeed the court said so, why are we accepting it…” LIMKAMPUTT

Because we don’t make the laws – Parliament does and the courts interpret the law?

“…why are you people here talking about independence of judiciary and transparency etc.” LIMKAMPUTT

Because judiciary should be what judiciary is supposed to be i.e. independent from executive interference.

40. #40 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:38 am

others are reading and judging. you go ahead and continue with your insult. it is ok, because you don’t owe me and i don’t owe you. you go on.

41. #41 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:40 am

“Never mind I can wait, you can tell me tomorrow.” LIMKAMPUTT

I don’t think it is any good! I would tell somebody else though.

42. #42 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:40 am

Good night.

43. #43 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:41 am

rightly i should said earlier, if you take everything the court has decided, why come here and lamenting about lack of judiciary independence, corruption and lack of transparency. Didn’t all these made the decisons of court suspected.

44. #44 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:42 am

To: Llimkamputt

45. #45 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:45 am

yes parliament makes law, i think i know that. so we “accept” every law the parliament made. if that is the case, why bother to come here? why talk non stop about corruption and racism in BN which make those laws.

46. #46 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:52 am

I don’t remember the Constitution saying it is OK to be corrupt!

47. #47 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 1:56 am

What Parliament does is to pass laws. You don’t have to accept the law. We call that breaking the law in case you don’t know!

Breaking the law has its consequences. If you’re prepared to go to jail for breaking the law, who is to say you should not?

48. #48 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 2:06 am

“Why talk non stop about corruption and racism in BN which make those laws.” limkamputt

Because we want to change the government, sir.

49. #49 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 2:14 am

Because we want to change the government, sir – darkhorse

Oh sure we can change the government by docilely following whatever laws and decisions dished out by BN. In politics, no venture no gain. Don’t you ever insult the HINDRAF leaders again.

50. #50 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 2:17 am

Breaking the law has its consequences. If you’re prepared to go to jail for breaking the law, who is to say you should not? -
    darkhorse

The fact that you and I dare not, please don’t assume that others will not, and don’t you ever insult those who are brave enough to do it. Don’t insult HINDRAF leaders again.

Comments are closed.