Religious polarisation most serious in 4 yrs under Abdullah as compared to four previous Prime Ministers

“PM: Religious festivals unite all Malaysians” is the New Straits Times headline today for Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s statement yesterday at an Aidiladha ceremony, where he said:

“Malaysia can pride itself in knowing that regardless of what religious celebration it may be, its ethnic groups will come together as one to honour the event.”

This was very true in the early decades of our nationhood, but it has become less and less true as increasing religious polarization in the country is undermining and even threatening national unity.

In fact, it is no exaggeration to say that religious polarization is most serious in the past four years under Abdullah as Prime Minister as compared to the four former Prime Ministers – Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Razak, Tun Hussein Onn and Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad.

It is most unfortunate that in recent years, there have been mounting instances of disrespect and insensitivity of those in power and authority for the rights and sensitivities of non-Muslim Malaysians.

The most serious example were the recent triple insensitivities during this year’s Deepavali – the Festival of Light celebrated by Hindus.

Firstly, there was the insensitive and sacrilegious demolition of the 40-year-old Sri Maha Mariaman Temple in Kampung Rimba Jaya in Shah Alam when Deepavali was just a week away.

This was followed by the disrespect and insensitivity when the Umno General Assembly was held on Deepavali – imagine the protest and outrage if the MCA or MIC had held their general assemblies during the Hari Raya holidays.

But there was a third strike – when Umno Deputy Youth Leader and the Prime Minister’s son-in-law, Khairy Jamaluddin went on a rampage against the Indian community at the Umno General Assembly, telecast on RTM, blaming the Indian news vendors for taking a national press holiday during Deepavali and blacking Abdullah’s speech as Umno President the next day.

The outrage by the Indian community at these triple disrespect and insensitivities were a major cause for 30,000 Indians from all over the country gathering in Kuala Lumpur on Nov. 25 in support of the Hindraf demonstration – not to create unrest but to send their cry of despair at their marginalization to the government of the day!

Such insensitivity and disrespect could also be seen In Parliament, as in the shocking incident where two Umno MPs demanded the removal of the cross and demolition of Christian statues in mission schools.

Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) is starting its new semester on Dec. 24, which is Christmas Eve – another example of decreasing respect and sensitivity from those in authority for different religious rights and practices, or the UPM would have fixed its semester opening a few days later.

The Prime Minister must take urgent measures to arrest the worsening of inter-religious relations in the country and halt the growing number of incidents of disrespect and insensitivity felt by non-Muslim Malaysians about their rights and religious practices by those in power and authority.

I have just received this SMS on another incident, viz:

“HERALD the weekly paper of the Catholic Church facing problem in renewing permit. Told not to have Bahasa section as condition for approval. All these years they had four sections – languages. BM to reach East Malaysians and youths educated in BM.”

The Prime Minister should immediately address these obstacles to greater national unity, so that Malaysia can revert to the previous position where religious polarization was a serious problem in nation-building so that religious festivals can continue to be an occasion to unite all Malaysians rather than divide them.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by ycg on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 4:09 pm

first bible not in BM, now even their weekly newsprint also cannot be in BM. what next? *sigh*…even indonesia allows the bible to be printed in their language. Equal rights konon.

And oh ya before I kena shoot for pro this that, I profess, i’m an agnostic.

2. #2 by helpless on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 4:16 pm

Supported the cry. It is a good message.

God bless us if a sober Indian continue to vote BN.

“… disrespect and insensitivity … Umno G.Assy was held on Deepavali – imagine the protest …if MCA or MIC had held GA during Hari Raya holidays.

.. when Umno went on a rampage against Indian community at the Umno GA, telecast on RTM, blaming the Indian news vendors for taking a national press holiday during Deepavali and blacking Abdullah’s speech as Umno President the next day. “

3. #3 by Jong on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 4:19 pm

Tell me the truth, I want to hear the truth however painful it may be. But is this the truth? Ooosp sorry, I just dozzzzzzzzzzz off.

As I see it, this idiot needs to realise that those close to him at the office or even at home are the ones messing him up. He needs to visit and read the blogs because he gets no truth from the office, home and even the govt controlled news media.

4. #4 by yellowkingdom on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 4:20 pm

It is a well-known fact that racial polarization is rampant these days with the incidents you have highlighted in this blog over the years, and more so recently. There has been less tolerance of different religious beliefs and ethnic practices by those in power and authority. These incidences hardly raised the PM’s eyebrow and those guilty were never censured for their bigotted views.

I am saddened that the have yet again cause trouble to the Catholic community with the imposition of ridiculous conditions for a printing permit. Are these conditions set by “napoleons” or with the endoresent of the “I-am-fair-to-all” PM? I have my doubts as to his awareness of these breaches of religious freedom and intolerance of other faiths by the government under his watch.

5. #5 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 4:26 pm

First they got everyone to study BM, [deleted] now after 37years into the [deleted] NEP with every non Malay so well educated in the language, they don’t allow printing in BM in church as if BM is exclusively Malay. How ridiculous!
    What kind of a language disaster BN has got us all into. Why can’t they learn something from Singapore!
    BN is sick!!!

6. #6 by k1980 on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 4:39 pm

BM textbooks can’t be used even in Indonesia but Maths books from S’pore endorsed for use in Californian schools
    http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/318034/1/.html
    Students in California could soon use similar mathematics textbooks as their Singapore peers. The textbooks have been used in local schools for 20 years and have been circulating for years in other schools in the US.

7. #7 by oknyua on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 4:52 pm

YB Lim, the acceleration of intolerance occurred during AAB, but it started very much earlier. During TDM’s last election, BN lose in Terengganu and almost lost Kedah, UMNO then had either to (a) maintain their secular approach in administration and risked further rejection of the voters, or (b) became comparatively more radical than religious party. They choose the latter.

That explains why the word intolerance does not really apply among Hindus, Christians and Buddhist etc. 20 years ago, many of us do not have any reservations in visiting a Muslim house. Today I am conscious that if I am offered a drink, that cup I used MIGHT not used again by a Muslim family, because it has been soiled, (I am khafir). I don’t know whether to shake hands (touching) or just to say hello (even doctors used pencil to check me). My first step into a Muslim home must be my right foot. When I receive something, I need to be careful I use only right hand.

Yet, I have never received such treatments among the rural Malays – be it in Selangor or anywhere. I speak their lingo (with slang) and mix with them very well (that explain why I know their “pantang- larang”). But it’s only among the rural Malays that I find this barrier non-existence. My conclusion, this polarisation has NOTHING to do with the Malay or Muslim culture. It is purely political and in this case, the politics of the ruling people.

8. #8 by lakshy on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 4:57 pm

It’s actually teh arabisation of malaysia, and has nothing to do with SIlam.

read Syed Akbar Ali’s book, “Malaysia and teh Club of Doom”, to find out what is meant about arabisation and Doom. Very apt. We seem to be headed in this direction.

9. #9 by oknyua on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 4:57 pm

ycg, the Alkitab Indonesia and Bahasa Malaysia is NOT banned. Get your copies from Bible Society. Thanks

10. #10 by oknyua on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 5:02 pm

Sorry for that “is,” Should be..”are Not banned.” The Bible Society’s number in the website has not been updated. Go to PJ, Damansara Kim.

11. #11 by burn on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 5:08 pm

“PM: Religious festivals unite all Malaysians”…
    Yes. it’s partly true…
    love when you say unite all malaysians, but!… but!… but!…
    we are not being treated fairly and equally!
    it’s already merdeka for 50yrs, still, we are consider pendatangs…
    nama saja malaysian, tapi takdo diskaun beli rumah dll…

12. #12 by justice_fighter on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 5:09 pm

Sorry guys, off topic a bit.

There is a call for donation to the Hindraf hero Ganabathirau:
    http://tonypua.blogspot.com/

Thank you for your generous contributions

13. #13 by lakalaka69 on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 5:17 pm

God bless us if a sober Indian continue to vote BN. by “helpless”

To vote BN, I consider is the biggest sin one could ever commit against the society and country.

14. #14 by ycg on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 5:31 pm

oknyua, that still does not change the fact that the authorities are trying very hard to restrict other religions publication in bm…or are we going to go in denial mode like BN? I found a copy of indonesian language bible inside the hotel i’m staying in indo…can you find me a hotel in Malaysia that has has a BM bible?

‘Ban’ is just a word, what matters is the meaning you attach to the word (Matrix :P). Try circulating BM translated bible, see if the authorities tolerates it…then tell me if it is ban / not.

15. #15 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 5:37 pm

Aiya…. why worry? All the god’s human representatives are in BN what. Wah! power pack line up some more… sure no problem one.. better remember to ask for 4d numbers… cheers!

16. #16 by greenacre on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 5:52 pm

I was studying down under. There I shared a house with a Turkish Muslim man. There was only one Refrigerator. As a Hindu i do consume a little pork which was kept in fridge. So I decided to throw it away knowing that he is a Muslim and told him that he could share the the other part of fridge.

To my great surprise this man threw away his beef portion stating that it is against Hindu belief. I have never met this man nor know of him neither does he. It changed my perception. We became great friends since that episode in 1993. I don’t get treated this way in Malaysia. what to do?

17. #17 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 5:57 pm

“HERALD the weekly paper of the Catholic Church facing problem in renewing permit. Told not to have Bahasa section as condition for approval. All these years they had four sections – languages. BM to reach East Malaysians and youths educated in BM.”"

So what is meant by ‘religious freedom’ ?

When one is strong in their faith,(and his/her religion is true) the faith would not be shaken by anything, anyone on this earth!!! -Because he/she is protected by his/her creator/God…

so ….why and what is the rationale of this action??

18. #18 by ahoo on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 6:35 pm

When we removed LOVE from any religion, tolerance goes out of the window ! We can complain until kingdom come, change will not happen as it need people to make the change.

Vote only those that can offer us change in policies and are righteous who dare to stand up for truth without hesitation.

” When one is strong in their faith,(and his/her religion is true) the faith would not be shaken by anything, anyone on this earth!!! -Because he/she is protected by his/her creator/God… ”
    anaktirimalaysia.

As said above, if one’s faith is strong enough, why fear others ? In any case, YB, let the BN’s policies continue to move the way they want it and we will continue to vote the way we deem it right !!!

19. #19 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 6:53 pm

So where are the Minister of Buddhist Affairs(OKT), the Minister of Hindu Affairs (Samy) and Minister of Christian Affairs (Bernard) – Cabinet appointments according to AAB- when all these insensitive acts were happening?

Samy tried to intervene in the Shah Alam temple demolition but some tinpot Napoleon extremist in the Selangor Govt. gave him the middle finger. And when the CM of Sabah and the state Mufti blocked the construction of the Goddess of Mercy statue even though it has been given approval, what did OKT do? Nothing. Not even a peep. Not buddhist statue is it? As for Bernard, go and look where many churches are operating from. Shophouses. Why?

20. #20 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 7:11 pm

I asked one Muslim why they object to pork being served at public functions and places where Muslim are present but allow beef (which Hindus and some Buddhists don’t consume) to be served at such functions.
    His reply – beef is clean but pork is dirty. He side stepped the religious sensitivity issues and respect other people’s beliefs.

21. #21 by borrring on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 7:11 pm

“HERALD the weekly paper of the Catholic Church facing problem in renewing permit. Told not to have Bahasa section as condition for approval. All these years they had four sections – languages. BM to reach East Malaysians and youths educated in BM.””

Do you think that those who can’t read other than BM will be influenced to turn to christianity by reading the BM section of the Herald? It’s really funny come to think of it…it’s like making a statement that “literature written in BM other than islam literature” will influence muslims who can only read in BM to turn to other religions…it’s an insult to the muslim population

22. #22 by liaw3003sc on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 7:38 pm

Dear PM, We would like to see action , not just lip service!
    1. Please punish the ‘napoleon’ who try to victimise the Catalic Church weekly news letter. We must get a credit for our BM in all exams; what is this for?
    2. Please get the Kudat municipal council to back out of the statue dispute. This is an outright moronic and sensitive move by the authority concerned. This is the kind of case; the officers (Unfortunately they are also Malays and Muslims due to BN agenda) are the one who started the fire first, when the non-Muslims protest to get it righted, UMNOputras will harp on them with threats, and with the BN control of the mass media, it gives all the Malays and Muslims in the country the ‘false’ image that UMNO is their champion! How could we not be polarised?

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 8:06 pm

“My conclusion, this polarisation has NOTHING to do with the Malay or Muslim culture. It is purely political and in this case, the politics of the ruling people.” oknyua

‘Religious polarization’ is indeed an artificially created ‘process’ if you will, political in its objective though seemingly religious in its nature and cause. Much like ‘marginalization’ which is economic in its roots but reinforced by the politics of racism.

It’s exclusive approach is followed by UMNO leaders so as UMNO does not to lose its relevance as a political party in a country beset by the politics of race and division. Whereas religion is inclusive by their nature – preaching understanding and unity in the oneness of God – religious polarization though not quite the invention of UMNO is religiously followed by its leaders to divide and rule.

Is it surprising that HERALD a weekly paper of the Catholic Church is banned from continuing its Bahasa Malaysia section? After all it flows directly from a key provision in the Federation of Malaysia Constitution of 1957 which ‘guarantees’ religious freedom but protects Muslim from the ‘adverse consequences’ of proselytization: Article 11 (1) qualified by Clause (4).

24. #24 by khch01 on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 9:24 pm

Sabah Mufti’s Fatwa: Buddhist Statues are HARAM (FORBIDDEN)

Support Tan Sri Chong , don’t let him singly fight the issue in court.

25. #25 by catharsis on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 9:49 pm

WIth the “We versus Them” culture – all energies and scarce resources are being wasted with this preoccupation MALAYSIA BOLIH

26. #26 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:17 pm

“This was very true in the early decades of our nationhood, but it has become less and less true as increasing religious polarization in the country is undermining and even threatening national unity.’ Kit

Increased Islamization in a multiracial country like Malaysia has led to religious polarization. It is much like the issue between ‘mordernization’ and ‘westernization’. Can we have one without the other?

Pinheads may argue passionately on the issue.

Much of the blame must go to Anwar Ibrahim who started it all and Mahathir a moderate Muslim, who chose to ride the wave of Islamic fundamentalism in the 80s. Mahathir is the classic opportunist – and Anwar the trail blazer.

27. #27 by Earshot on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:22 pm

I have ‘copy & paste’ Article 11 of the Constitution below.

The point I wish to raise is this:

Unless one makes the assumption that writing in BM means an attempt to proselytize, the condition imposed for approval of permit does seem to be contravening with Art. 11 – just from layman’s point of view!! Can some legal mind help out here?

HERE IS ARTICLE 11

(1) Every person has the right to profess and practice his religion and, subject to Clause (4), to propagate it.
    (2) No person shall be compelled to pay any tax the proceeds of which are specially allocated in whole or in part for the purposes of a religion other than his own.
    • (3) Every religious group has the right -
    o (a) to manage its own religious affairs;
    o (b) to establish and maintain institutions for religious or charitable
    purposes; and
    o (c) to acquire and own property and hold and administer it in accordance with law.
    • (4) State law and in respect of the Federal Territories of Kuala Lumpur and Labuan, federal law may control or restrict the propagation of any religious doctrine or belief among persons professing the religion of Islam.
    • (5) This Article does not authorize any act contrary to any general law relating to public order, public health or morality.

28. #28 by shaolin on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:38 pm

Religious Polarisation is caused by the government!!

As burn says, ‘We are pendatang haram!!. Indons are
    not pendatang haram becoz they are Muslim brothers
    and sisters. We as government, must take good care
    of them otherwise Allah will punish us for ill-treating
    them!! Other races not so important ma… they are non-
    Muslim and it is ok…!!

Government builds schools for them and let them enjoy
    all benefits as soon as they literally swim across the
    Melaka Straits! On the contrary, we are born and raised
    up here and we are treated as 2nd class citizen or 3rd
    class citizen…!!

29. #29 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:40 pm

The same reason why having Bibles translated to Bahasa Malaysia is an attempt to proselytize the Muslims – which is seen as a contravention of Article 11(1) as qualified by (4) and (5) of the Constitution.

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:54 pm

“Unless one makes the assumption that writing in BM means an attempt to proselytize, the condition imposed for approval of permit does seem to be contravening with Art. 11 – just from layman’s point of view!! Can some legal mind help out here?’ Earshot

Hypothetically speaking, would refusing HERALD, a weekly paper of the Catholic Church, the printing permit required because of its choice to maintain a Bahasa Malaysia section not in contravention of the free speech right under Article 10?

If you think it would be in contravention of Article 10 but not Article 11 (4), then you have a problem.

If you think it would be in contravention of Article 10 then what does that make of the Printing Presses Act (not the formal name) – void as against the Federal Constitution?

31. #31 by Colonel on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:11 pm

Art. 11(4) is wide enough to cover and render Malay translated versions of the Christian Bible and Bahasa Malaysia sections in a weekly paper of the church a contravention of the Constitution.

My 2-cents worth!

32. #33 by Colonel on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:22 pm

ycg “…even indonesia allows the bible to be printed in their language. Equal rights konon.”

Funny, I don’t recall if Indonesia has a written Constitution i.e. in the same way we do! But they have their Pantjasila (like our Rukun Negara) which allows the free practice of religious beliefs. The pribumis there are not required by law to be Muslims although Indonesia is the most populated and largest Muslim country in the world.

Religious tolerance in Indonesia is however mostly on the surface. In practice they are not tolerant of Christians and Christians face degrees of persecution.

33. #34 by fighter on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:26 pm

Some of the Malays are becoming more and more racist.

Imagine a retired Court of Appeal Judge presented a working paper in a recent UMNO meeting whereby he suggested to import Javanese and Muslims from China and India into Malaysia so as to boost the Malay population.If it was from a lay Malay it would not be frightening but coming from an Appeal Court judge, we are in grave danger! He wanted Muslim foreigners to swamp non-Malay Malaysians who have been here for generations. Is this not racist?

Recently, my wife went to a supermarket with our Indonesian Muslim maid.While there a Muslim staff told my maid to get married to a local Muslim man so that she need not have to wash clothes for the Chinese. My wife is a Chinese.So again is this not racist?

34. #35 by AsIseeit on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:30 pm

Looking at the track record of Islam Hadhari to date, it is more extreme than moderate. Extreme in its attitude, and implementation of policies and actions against those of other faiths.

As race and religion are interwined in Malaysia, is it possible to say that it has nothing to do with Malay at all?

A thesis could be written with all the evidence in store already!

35. #36 by Earshot on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:34 pm

Art. 11(4) makes reference to ‘persons professing the religion of Islam’.

Merely printing a weekly paper of a church in Bahasa Malaysia [and not yet the act of promoting it] alone can’t be seen as propagation of any religious doctrine or belief to persons professing the religion of Islam. This is the premise of my first post above.

But I do see now there could be sufficient justification if Article 10 is brought in. Or is it? Again, I must admit, this is purely from layman’s view…just pondering!

36. #37 by toyolbuster on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:40 pm

Selamat Hari Raya AidilAdha. And I suppose its a very auspicious day for the Muslims, a day for a thought on all the poor and sufferings. How appropriate for our PM to continue locking up the Hi5 under ISA over AidilAdha. What goes around comes around.

37. #38 by Bigfoot on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:44 pm

“Malaysia can pride itself in knowing that regardless of what religious celebration it may be, its ethnic groups will come together as one to honour the event” (Badawi)

Yeah right. Let’s see if the Putrajaya is willing to host Hanukkah celebrations in 2008, while extending an invitation to the “Zionist regime”.

For what it’s worth, I seriously don’t recall seeing this much racial and religious polarization during Dr. Mahathir’s administration, as much as I see it now during Badawi’s administration! Clearly something is seriously wrong!

Now, the New Straits Times is talking about the establishment of “Communal mediation committees” and enforce “Rukun Tetangga”. This simply does not address any of the root causes of all the issues going on here. If they really took a look, the root causes would simply boil down to “Ketuanan Melayu” and the abuse of the New Economic Policy (NEP). But they simply don’t want to admit it.

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/Frontpage/2113290/Article/index_html

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/National/2113291/Article/index_html

38. #39 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 12:56 am

“Merely printing a weekly paper of a church in Bahasa Malaysia [and not yet the act of promoting it] alone can’t be seen as propagation…” Earshot

Something tells me you’re not quite the layman you claim to be – but yes, that would be the argument if you’re representing the church. I wouldn’t advise you to though for many reasons.

39. #40 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 12:58 am

Don’t you know that to slip in a Bible into the school bag of your Muslim classmate is viewed as proselytizing?

40. #41 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 1:03 am

“As race and religion are interwined in Malaysia, is it possible to say that it has nothing to do with Malay at all?”

Being a Malay has everything to do with being a Muslim. See Art. 160(2) of the Constitution.

41. #42 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 1:20 am

“Some of the Malays are becoming more and more racist.”

Something we can all agree!

More so post-HINDRAF. Their sense of security has been violated by HINDRAF if you know what I mean. Therefore, the HINDRAF 5 need to remain under detention till tempers cool down.

If under the Sale of Goods Act, the buyer is legally protected from the aggresive selling methods of the door-to-door salesman by allowing the buyer a statutory period of 10 days to change his mind (after signing the contract of sale) referred to as the “cooling off” period, the same reasoning could be employed perhaps to justify their detention.

A “cooling off” period is necessary.

What do they say about someone entering the kitchen and not being able to stand the heat?? Do not enter the kitchen!

42. #43 by aerolancer on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 1:38 am

The religious issue is increasingly being politicized and I can not agree more with the panel on this issue. As noted, Wahabbism exists in Malaysia even before the reign of previous PMs and some forms of its front organization, e.g. Jamat el-Islami, League of Bortherwood etc, are outright banned in many Middle East and European countries. It is, however, given a warm welcome and free reign in Malaysia! (They just had their largest biannual conference in Kuala Lumpur 3 months back!).

It is hard to tell apart the “converted” Muslim from the moderate Muslim except the inclination of repulsion towards Khalif (non-Muslim) and the promotion of racial intolerance. (you know, they have 2 failed armed coups in Egypt and Syria around 1970s) Fundamentalism is a serious threat to our harmony and these organizations have to be abolished!

Dear Mr. Lim, in regards to escalating religion polarization, I think the government is approaching the issue in a very atypical manner rather. ISA, restriction in broadcast media, over-zealous employment of judiciary power or even tightening of Shariah law will only inflame the issue. It is very important now to contrive public fund to popularize the gentle classical Islam (in theatrical play/movie, awards and talks), tighten the wealth gap (incentive and subsidies for unemployed or low income) and promote social tolerance among the public and general sector. If this fails, Mr. Lim, the coming disaster will make the 513 looks like child play. Please note that Malaysia is geographically pretty much hampered by fundamentalism. (Free Muslim state in Southern Filipine, armed Islamic militia in Southern Thailand and Jihadism in Indonesia)
    Regards.

43. #44 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 2:02 am

I’m no religious scholar and I don’t profess to know anything about Wahabism more than that they were followers of Wahabb who started this religious reform (Sunni as opposed to Shite) movement a few hundred years ago and had Saudi Arabia as its base.

The strong dislike for images and idolatry, shrines etc could also be found among Evangelical Christians and denominations like Presbyterians etc. The Catholic Church uses a lot of images in their church. This is historical in origin and stemmed from the desire of Emperor Constantine, the first Christian Emperor, to unite Rome. He could not ignore the role Greek Gods played in the lives of his people.

Racial and religious polarization in Malaysia go hand in hand because all Malays are Muslims. Issues of race complicate the matter. Internationally Malaysia is regarded as a country practicing a moderate form of Islam. This is becoming less true today than say 50 years ago as religious intolerance become more the norm.

It would appear that events of 9/11 and the invasion of Iraq an Afghanistan have alienated Malays who are Muslims from the western world.

The question can then be asked: Wither Malaysia?

44. #45 by sj on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 3:29 am

Does anyone know the chinese story of the water margin? With the 108 heroes? Khairy fits perfectly for his role as Gao Qiu and Abdullah Badawi is just like the Emperor.

45. #46 by sj on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 3:31 am

Don’t you know that to slip in a Bible into the school bag of your Muslim classmate is viewed as proselytizing? by undergrad2

If I am not mistaken you can be arrested for that, only in the lands of Malaysia can something as ridiculous as this can happen.

46. #47 by sj on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 3:35 am

“It’s really funny come to think of it…it’s like making a statement that “literature written in BM other than islam literature” will influence muslims who can only read in BM to turn to other religions…it’s an insult to the muslim population” by borrring

Hmm, u know what? The real Muslim in Malaysia are rare. If you read what RPK has put up before you will realise that most of them are confused lot. They care more to pray 5 times a day than to be a better human being. The care about only superficial form, but not in depth principles and essence. So after years of suppression, suddenly you are given the option to change for the better or something different for a taste, dont you think it is logical for a person to want a change?

47. #48 by noblepath on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 5:49 am

I’m not a Christian but what is so wrong about priting the Bible in Bahasa? Perhaps they should elaborate more on that…

48. #49 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 6:08 am

That is the consequence of daily bombardment of doses of racial and religious issues and statements through the media by the current government.

Every one gets polarised.

49. #50 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 7:04 am

“I’m not a Christian but what is so wrong about priting the Bible in Bahasa? Perhaps they should elaborate more on that…”

Good question. It is not like the Malays cannot read English.

But while Bibles are written in English, Bibles written in Bahasa makes nonsense of Article 11 (4) and Article 160(2).

1 2 3 4

Comments are closed.