Record 68 Golds by Malaysian sportsmen and sportswomen in SEA Games – a lesson for all of us

by Dr. Chen Man Hin

Malaysia can stand proud because it has won 68 golds to earn second place among the nations of se asia

The sports men and women had one objective in mind – to win for the honour and glory of Malaysia.

They competed as Malaysians for the country that they love. On the track there was no distinction of bumiputras or non-bumiputras, no ketuanan Melayu or second-class citizens. Because of their unity and common brotherhood they won 68 golds.

Their success holds a lesson for the leaders of our country Malaysia. Their duty is to foster unity and treat all citizens on an equal basis.

In the face of competition in a global world, to earn an honourable place it is vital that there be unity and all citizens should have the status of only one class – MALAYSIANS.

DAP calls upon the Prime Minister and Umno to revert back to the objective of Bangsa Malaysia of Vision 2020.

1. #1 by St0rmFury on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 7:38 pm

Stop calling for the ruling party to do anything and start preaching the objective of Bangsa Malaysia in your manifesto!

Apologies for being frank.

2. #2 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 8:09 pm

Yes, if only BN politicians and the majority of civil servants and university lecturers could learn from our sportsmen and sportswomen – excel through blood, sweat, and toil; not through special privileges and discounts.

All sportsmen and sportswomen know that they must all start at the same starting line – not 5 or 10% in front of the starting line -or begin a match at 0-0, not 5-0 (5 points advantage)!

3. #3 by a-malaysian on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 8:12 pm

Yes I saw they hug and embrace each other after each gold they won make me so proud. But at the same time I feel that umno is not happy about it. They are so against it for reasons that everyone knows about. We have being calling for a Satu Bangsa Satu Negara concept for ages but do they want to listen.

I saw the police 999 call ads – Satu Negara Satu Nombor, that is a good start and umno must come down to earth to ensure the Satu Bangsa Satu Negara concept is implemented with immeadiate effect.

I know that this call is going to fall on deaf ears but we will keep on calling.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

4. #4 by izrafeil on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 8:33 pm

Tahniah Malaysia, Tahniah semua olahragawati / olragawan negara!! We are proud of you!

5. #5 by liaw3003sc on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 9:23 pm

Employ the same sports policy into PROTON, we would one day acquire Volkswagen!

Or apply the same spirit that our overseas trade commissioners (mainly fellow Malaysian Malays) has been helping our Malaysian exporters whenever they visit a country for trade promotion, into local
    business, I’m sure our GDP with out beat whatever Singapore achieves.

6. #6 by Daniel Quah on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 9:38 pm

only the right formula could save Malaysia now…not the NEP…not the Ketuanan …not the Keris..it is our own attitude…no race is supreme to other race…Chinese is not all hardworking….Malay are not all lazy….Indian are not all margilize.. each individual from different race have their own behaviour which lead them to better living…non-bumi dont rob bumi to lives…but non-bumi just hope for something…”fairness” in the system…which give equal opportunity for all of us… the SEA game have show non-other than if we stick together as Malaysian…we memang BOLEH!!!…by dividing us…there can only have more BERSIH and HINDRAF rally…UMNO should learn that..personal gain is not as important as saving our country…maybe they are use to their rich resource..til find that…race hormony and country future is not as important as their ringgit .. but one should think, in future their child will have to go thru what they have done in the past..or maybe their children will flee or stay at country which praticese truely democratic….maybe they have plan out..get more money..later berhijrah…

We dont need a government that dont care about us…we need those who can sacrify themselve for the country..before asking what the country can give to me…

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    No More NEP, No More Keris…No MORE Discrimination!!

7. #7 by max2811 on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 9:47 pm

We could have been better. MSN hired many foreign coaches, pumped in so much money to projects and built sports schools. I still feel we are just mediocre. This is just SEA level. Not Asian.
    I have been a State coach for 20 years before I retired 6 years back. The level of skills and techniques have dropped.

We need a more comprehensive programme. From schools level to adulthood. Retired athletes can have a comfortable life after their services are no more needed.

Special privileges must be accorded to students when they apply to universities. Teachers with coaching and sports science qualifications be given higher pay. Experience teachers who are also qualified coaches be promoted as co-curricular senior assistants so that sports programmes can be implemented in the schools. At present, most of those promoted are without sports knowledge.

Sports facilities be built in every district. Perak is the worst state in terms of facilities. During the tenure of Ramli, no sports facilities were built. I have travelled all over Msia. I find Johor and Sarawak has the most facilities.

I remembered I have to practically bribe my way to hold a State level tournament in Ipoh which has only one miserable indoor court. There were other games wanting to use the court. Of course not bribe with money but with T-shirts as souvenirs. That was in the 90s.

If there were less wastage, more money could have been channelled to build more sports facilities. Lastly, to the Msian athletes in Korat, well done!

8. #8 by justice6 on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 10:39 pm

We dont need a government that dont care about us…we need those who can sacrify themselve for the country..before asking what the country can give to me…

..haha..got..bn also sacrify mah…they sacrify you all for themselves…haha

9. #9 by mendela on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 10:43 pm

Malaysia used to be football powerhouse in Asia in the 60s and 70s.
    Look at our national football team now…

I think all people know why.

10. #10 by mendela on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 10:46 pm

Everything in this country when UMO mixs politics (or keturunan) onto it, it turns to shit!

11. #11 by dapbestrong on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 3:21 am

Thanks Sir Lim.. I know you love Malaysia alot, Me too. You can actually leave the country and get citizenship elsewhere but you didn’t, You are not selfish and never give up! You inspire me alot, Next GE will be my first time to vote, I will cast my vote for DAP Definitely! Sir, I salute you and wish you all the best in Health and of course we hope to see the day all Malaysian will be colour blinded and United. Dear Fellow Malaysian, do Love each other.. cast your vote wisely and never never let our children suffer the mistake we made today.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    No More NEP, No More Keris…No MORE Discrimination!! No More Nonsense!!

12. #12 by lakshy on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 5:39 am

My hats off to the chinese atheletes who raked in so many gold medals for malaysia. Although they comprise less than 30% of the population, they raked in more than their fair share of the 68 gold medals. Syabas! See what meritocracy can do?

But even in sports there is racism rearing its ugly head. If not for racism, we could do better in team sports such as football, etc.

13. #13 by kurangajah on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 7:05 am

Let’s just translate our sports achievements to the economic field. If Malaysia does not practise racial affirmation (a better word for “discrimination”), just see how far Malaysia could go. When will he wake up? Zzzzzzzzzzz

14. #14 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 9:21 am

This is just SEA GAMES la. 68 GOld medals nothing to shout about. If only we could win 1 gold medal in the olympics.

MAybe about time we ask the other nations to give us a 30% headstart in all sporting events.

15. #15 by oknyua on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 9:54 am

“Their success holds a lesson for the leaders of our country Malaysia. Their duty is to foster unity and treat all citizens on an equal basis.” Dr Chen MH

They will have a post mortem later, Doc. They have failed to categorise the athletes. They have categories in the economy, in education, in civil service, in banking, in etc, etc etc. The best doesn’t automatically represent the country. The best in education doesn’t mean an automatic place in the university. The best worker doesn’t mean becoming the head of department. The best contractor doesn’t mean he’ll get the job.

In fact, we won’t talk about fairness if the best and the conscientious got what they worked for.

Thank you.

16. #16 by Justicewanted on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:55 am

There are more than 190 countries in the world, and Asean form less than 5% of the them.

No doubt getting 68 medals is great, but what is Malaysia’s standing in the world in terms of sports achivement?????

17. #17 by k1980 on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:01 am

Malaysia and East Timur should form the Angkasawan(Spaceflight Participant) Games. In this way, Malaysia can sapu all the gold, silver and bronze medals

18. #18 by mendela on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:32 am

Even a 30% headstart in Olympics sporting events we will have difficulty to get golds (except Badminton).

It is too long a time clutches and wheelchair are used.

To get golds, our atheletes will have good chances in ParaOlympics Games!

19. #19 by greenacre on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:43 am

A success is a success. Well done, we salute all of you. When the playing fields are level all can achieve their level whether it is gold, silver or bronze.

But our governmentwallas will not give up their cozy positions nor their crony connections. Soon they will warm up to all these athletes to have their own larger than life photos to be published in crony newspapers. Heil what!

20. #20 by justiciary on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 1:42 pm

I don’t think our future will be bright as long as there is NEP and all the divisive practices like bumi and non bumi.Frankly we have been divided thus far by numerous racial and religious biased policies.In international sports,you have to compete with others.Then what about other fields that are conducted in the country?To progress,everyone irrespective of race or religion must be treated equally.No more Malays,Chinese,Indians and others but only Bangsa Malaysia.

21. #21 by pongsakling on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 2:48 pm

This is Malaysia maaa, where got fair one, always 70,20,7 and lain-lain.

22. #22 by ahoo on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 5:58 pm

YB Kit,

Many thanks to Dr Chen for this piece ! At least something to cheer about and some different flavours from the daily rantings of the common papers out there.

My apology for being in the dark as to the gold achievers as I’d personally ban all reading of local papers as my personal sign of protest foe almost two months now.

I always have high regards for you and your team despite the many internal rambling at times in the years since 69 when I learned about DAP. Since then, no turning back no matter what comes, a die hard suppoter and have had also bear and feel the many pains and agonies that the group had suffered.

I believe with perserverence that DAP had inculcate todate, it will augurs well for the new generation of IT savvy that do not rely on the daily print.

Important thing is to take the biased policies from BN to the grassroots and share it as a ” foot soldier ” and with popular votes we are able to make a difference in this nation called home as we are here not by choice of our own.

Do what is necessary to win the minds and votes of the righteous Bumi out there who are equally convinced that the current policies are all lopsided to benefit only those who walk in the corridor of power as per RPK’s blog.

Let’s all blog and at the same breadth play a positive role if we want to see changes. Tell all your friends and relatives to value each vote and do ourselves and the generation to come a big favour by voting wisely. Change can only come when peoples decide that enough is enough and starts to see thing from a global perspective.

Like in any sport, only the best will have victory and as such we need to be positive, discipline and motivated to share of the many areas where BN have had shortchange us. Give credit where it is due if the policy implemented is good and deserving though.

If one person can convince ten others to their side, we may all see very positive development in the way politic is played. We cannot just expect to let YB Kit’s and company to shoulder this task each and every election. We also must play our small role in ensuring that the message is taken to many that are still without access to internet and especially to those that need to hear it.

Happy holiday !

23. #23 by shaolin on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 5:59 pm

Malaysia can do better without NEP as stambling block
    to unit all races as Malaysians, without Bumi and Non-
    Bumi status…!!!

NEP is likened to Unfair treatment to each and every
    one of your children in the same family!!

The parents(government) being biased, pamper 1 child
    and treat other children as dirt…, do you still think the
    other children will love their parents and family(country)??

Think for yourself, Malaysia Government, guess you are
    Not that dumb dumb and damn it to hell…!!!

24. #24 by mata_kucing on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 7:09 pm

I’m glad that Kit brought up the subject of our sportmen and sportwomen acheivement in their respective sports. As a Malaysian, we’re always proud when they bring honour to the country. For every sucessful one, there’s always a very dedicated mother/father behind them. They sacrify their time and money so that their children can bring honour to the country. For this reason, I think the government should look after their welfare in the form of scholarships to further their study. I cite the case of a girl in Kuching who represented the State and the country in tennis numerous times. Recently, she was accepted by a top-notch university in the US to do her study, representing her university in their tennis team at the same time. The father, who was also her coach, knock on many doors at state and federal agencies to get sponshipship for her without success even with high recommendation from her sports body. This is inspite of her excellent acedemic and sports performance. By representing her university, she would have received professional coaching and exposure to tennis which otherwise would cost a fortune if she’s sponsered by the government. It’s killing two birds with one stone. Instead we get stupid ideas like spending millions upon millions to build a sports complex in the UK, benefitting no one in particular except cronies looking for easy money.

25. #25 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 6:15 am

Sadly there was no official statement on that: “….. of their unity and common brotherhood they won 68 golds.”

26. #26 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 8:31 am

Dr Chen. The PM and his BN colleagues seems to have problems thinking straight, are all muddled up and talk with several versions. Some are delusional, thinking they are perfect and can do no wrong. Some have visions of grandeur and always think “mega”. Some appear “crazy” and have “wires loose in their heads”. Some suffer from “superiority complex” and come down hard on the citizens with impunity. Some are constantly sleep deprived and doze off, oblivious of the dire state the country is. Some constantly live with insecurity requiring police protection.

All appear to suffer from the “half past six syndrome” and have myopia as well.

Doctor. Are they “normal” people? What medicine would you prescribe for them?

27. #27 by assamlaksa on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 9:28 am

Have anyone analyzed how many of the gold medals were won by Malays? I think around 30 only, less than half.

28. #28 by takkan_hilang_india_didunia on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 9:52 am

Dear Dr.Chen Man Hin,
    Hi there. I’ve never heard of you before and I’d like to say something about your writing on the 68 gold medals won by Malaysians. Making a country proud in such a big event is admirable. But at the same time, is the government giving a damn about races other than the Malays. As such, why should non Malay atheletes even take part in any games or tournaments. When these atheletes grow older, what are they going to do to support themselves or their families. Should they just take up clerical jobs or any menial jobs? What about the government giving equal opportunities for education and admitting atheletes based on their atheletic capabilities? While progressing in sports, they will also earn their tertiary education that will help them later.

Are you teaching in any local Universities? Do you know any efforts by the University to take non-Malay students who are also good students?
    Reply me if you want to dialog, otherwise, don’t be like a politicians trying to divert the current attention from the issues at hand to some medals earned in games.
    In the jalur gemilang concept, the Malays get the gemilang and the non-Malays only get the jalur. When will all the races share both the jalur and the gemilang?

God bless Malaysia.

29. #29 by cheng on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 12:59 pm

Actually, we, Malaysians have no choice, we must “fight” the world as satu bangsa, satu negara. I will not doubt that some politicians will put their hands in to certain sports to claim political mileage soon. Impose some quotas in those sports, mismanage some funds, get into power struggle of the council, thank you very much and you have successfully destroyed the prospect of getting golds in the future.
    You don’t need politician, you dont need quota to form soccer team that comprised of Mokhtar Dahari, Soh Chin Aun, Arumugam, Santokh Singh, et al.

30. #30 by ChinNA on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 7:47 am

great in sports refreshes the spirit. Now take that spirit and make feed the hungry ~ be a doer of deeds.