“Hisham pledges no closure of Chinese primary schools” is the front-page headline of Nanyang Siang Pau today. Similar headlines also appear in other Chinese newspapers.
Education Minister and UMNO Youth leader, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein and the Barisan Nasional spinmeisters must have regarded this a coup and sure vote-getter after his unforgettable “keris-wielding” stances and his determination to repeat them every year until the non-Malays are “desensitized”.- what I had said in Parliament as manifestation of the “boiling frog” syndrome.
But I am really astounded by two things, that 50 years after Merdeka:
(1) the nation’s Education Minister could seriously believe that his “pledge” not to close Chinese primary schools would be regarded as a boon akin to a message of deliverance from heaven; and
(2) that it could be taken so seriously as to merit being treated as front-page headlines by Chinese newspapers – when it is totally ignored by other language newspapers.
Hishammuddin’s pledge is 50 years behind time. It would have some relevance even during the time of his father, Tun Hussein Onn, who was Education Minister and then Prime Minister from 1976-1981. But it is totally antediluvian today.
Let me tell Hishammuddin and the Barisan Nasional spinmeisters that what the Malaysian Chinese and fair-minded Malaysians want is not a pledge not to close any Chinese primary school but a pledge to build new Chinese primary schools whenever and wherever there is the need arising from demands for such school-places by the pupils and their parents.
Then and only then is such a pledge deserving of front-page headline treatment!
When will such a pledge be forthcoming?

#1 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 1:19 am
Some MCA leaders has been doing a fine job defending the closure of Chinese school, no doubt about it. But that’s MCA is all about, defending what’s left for the Chinese community, they are defending our rights, my question is why when it is our rights?
#2 by kwkean on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 1:48 am
k1980 Says:
Yesterday at 09: 49.28
The inconvenient truth is that some moronic Chinese will still keep on voting for BN even if all Chinese schools are closed down
—————–
Well my mum was one of them. I still remember TV3 show 1 news about a new relocation Chinese Primary School and she was so proud of it, saying MCA is doing a good job. See how easily these old aged people get sway away by just simply watching a government control TV channel. There are still lots of these people around and they are the majority supporter of MCA. This is why lauzy pathetic tactic like this are still being use in our country because its still WORKING!!
As a sane younger generation like us, it is our job to show our old citizen like our parents THE TRUTH BEHIND THE TRUTH! Keep nagging them about the bad stuffs of MCA! Nag at them everyday till the coming election. Show them all the proves to support your nagging from the webs. Ask yourself, will you let your future decided in the hand of these blindly voters. To me, HELL NO!
#3 by kwkean on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 1:59 am
cheng on soo Says:
Yesterday at 10: 16.16
Do Msian realize that the famous act of waving kris n threaten to soak in somebody blood was made publicly n is broadcasted around the WORLD not just in Msia? If people outside Msia can remember, how can Msian can forget!
—————
I will remember this Kerismuddin event till the day I die! Let alone the famous phrase from our AAB ‘Saya pantang dicabar’!! Let me tell AAB this, ‘Saya suka MENCABAR’!! Come on guys, lets said ‘TAK NAK’ to UMNO, MCA, MIC and the rest of BN parties!
#4 by tunglang on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 2:29 am
Oi! Hisham, are you half asleep? This pledge is out of syn with today’s global era, what with China’s rising!
The Americans, half a world away are clamoring to learn Chinese at all costs, yet we who are nearer to China with sizable Chinese citizens among us (this’s our geographical & linguistic advantages) are being ‘assured’ nonclosure of Chinese primary schools! This smacks of ‘reversal of intention’ assurance! Call this reverse psychology!
This is Malaysia Boleh!!! ZZZZZZZZZZ
#5 by liaw3003sc on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 7:51 am
Yes, what kwKean says is right. I will also have to nag and ‘warn’ (we are very close of course) my mum on this; she is also one of them who think GE means crossing the ‘daching’ (chin-qia).
#6 by sj on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 8:29 am
Even if they pass a BILL saying they will build Chinese schools I will still vote this useless bloke out and here are the reasons why:
1) He practises and believes in racial discrimination. Time and again he showed us that he is a firm believer of Ketuanan Melayu.
2) He does not know anything about improving quality of education hence he is not the right person for the job and must be fired.
3) He has no integrity.
4) He is so busy to protect his job and helps UMNO to churn out brainless people from local universities that he forgot to do his real job.
5) His actions are in full contradictions with what he said about pledges. So no way I am going to trust this guy to run the country’s education.
6) You may add on to his resume full of incompetence.
#7 by sj on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 8:32 am
English school could be a good ‘melting pot’ for all anak Malaysia.
This is a total BS, spun by UMNO/BN, look at USA, and you will notice although it is a melting pot, but people still practice their own cultures, and their own religions, their own lifestyles, so long it does not goes against the Law and Constitution. That is why USA has AMENDENTS.
#8 by raverus on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 10:14 am
Election coming! FULLSTOP
#9 by Pocket on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 11:52 am
Yes, he is “right”!
Try ask him how many Chinese schools applications (even is relocation) he had approved since he in position as Education Minister?
Try ask BN how many Chinese schools have been build for the past 50 years vs. Sekolah Kebangsaan?
Big “joke” for Malaysia Chinese community and big SHAME for MCA!!!
P/S: Watch out for the new DBKL city plan, they are targetting our Chinese schools in the city centre now and we have about 10 of them.
#10 by UzMiNoOnist on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 6:16 am
Whilst Malay is ‘Cepat Lupa”, we have Chinese who are ‘Cepat Puas’ and Indian ‘Cepat Ampun’.
Given this as the mindset for Chinese and Indian BN voters, UMNO will still be given the absolute majority come the next GE.
#11 by UzMiNoOnist on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 6:23 am
On this token, I urge you to spread the words and influence these Chinese and Indian BN voters in your own way. Take advantage of the situation like demolition of Indian Temples and Chinese school. It has to be now or never.
#12 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:12 am
Never trust this guy who insists on brandishing the ‘dagger’ and has even been reminded to use it on the Chinese by his comrades during their party’s assembly.The non Bumis should open their eyes and also their mind when they vote.
#13 by ktteokt on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 9:42 am
Now tell me why is SJK(C) Damansara left to rot for more than seven years?
#14 by ktteokt on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 10:39 am
As Minister of Youth and Sports, he led a group of hooligans and threatened to burn down the Chinese Assembly Hall!
As UMNO leader, he pulled out the kris and threatened to soak it with blood of others!
Now, as Minister of Education, he is trying to show the world he is concerned with Chinese Education? What contradictions!!!!!!!
#15 by sj on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 2:19 pm
SO I throw a question back at all Malaysians, do you still want this useless person of a racist to be our Education Minister where he can literraly send our next generation backwards by a few centuries?
#16 by ktteokt on Friday, 28 December 2007 - 9:23 am
NO CLOSURE OF CHINESE SCHOOLS ?BUILD MORE CHINESE SCHOOLS
Population increases = Demand increases
Hishamuddin’s promise = BN’s objectives?
These are simple calculations for those with mathematical minds.
#17 by ktteokt on Saturday, 29 December 2007 - 9:35 am
“The keris swinger may be a minister but uncultured…!!! (Mei Wen Hua)” – De_5thElement
He is not only uncultured but totally BARBARIC!!!!! So how can he be the Minister of Education? He will make the whole population of Malaysia BARBARIC too!
#18 by pohwatchdog on Wednesday, 9 January 2008 - 2:24 pm
Cakap tidak sama