Challenge to AG/IGP to substantiate or withdraw terrorist charges against Hindraf

I just came back to Parliament from the Shah Alam Sessions Court where the Attorney-General, Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail as expected dropped the attempted murder charge against the Batu Caves 31 after being incarcerated for close to two weeks on the ground that they are “national security” threats.

Of course I welcome the Attorney-General’s change of mind and the withdrawal of the charge of attempted murder of a policeman preferred against the Batu Caves 31 – as I had right from the beginning called on Gani to drop the charges of “attempted murder” against the 31 as well as the manhunt for another 30 on the same charge of attempted murder, as it would precipitate a new crisis of confidence in the administration of justice over selective and malicious prosecution in the abuse of the Attorney-General’s discretionary prosecution powers.

However, I am still very disappointed by Gani’s conduct in the Shah Alam Sessions Court.

Although the charges against five students for causing mischief and illegal assembly were also dropped (and they should never have been charged in the first place), the charges of causing mischief and illegal assembly against 26 remained, with their case adjourned till December 27 for sentencing following their guilty pleas this morning.

The very fact that Gani had to drop the capital charge of attempted murder against the Batu Caves 31, (which also means the abandonment of his intention to charge 30 others with the same capital offence) – which could land the guilty with a sentence of life imprisonment – is proof that the Attorney-General had abused his powers in preferring such capital charges in the first place.

It raises the question as to the real motive of the Attorney-General in abusing his powers in slapping the Batu Caves 31 with such a serious charge when there is no basis or justification whatsoever.

The two-week incarceration of the Batu Caves 31 who were denied bail on the ground of being “national and security threats” remains a blot on the nation’s administration of justice and the tenure of Gani Patail as Attorney-General.

What Gani should have done in the Shah Alam Sessions Court this morning is to withdraw all charges against all the Batu Caves 31, which would still not be full recompense for the injustice he had done to the 31 Malaysians in incarcerating them for a fortnight in prison.

I call on Gani to further reconsider the charges against the remaining 26 and when their case come up on Dec. 27, to withdraw all charges against them.

Just before the Sessions Court convened this morning at about noon, after inordinate delays, word spread that MIC President and Works Minister Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu would be showing up in court.

However, he did not turn up – probably after he received information that he would be publicly booed by the families of the Batu Caves 31!

I had given notice to the Parliament Speaker, Tan Sri Ramli Ngah, to move an emergency motion last Monday (10th December) on the allegation by the Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Musa Hassan on Hindraf’s links to terrorists and canvassing for support from terrorist groups.

The motion did not come up in Parliament last Monday as the PAS MP for Kubang Kerian Sallehuddin Ayub had earlier given notice for an emergency motion about electoral abuses – and Standing Orders of the Dewan Rakyat permitted only one such motion a day.

The first time the alleged terrorist links of Hindraf leaders were alleged in the public domain was in the court proceedings of the Batu Caves 13 and made by the Attorney-General to strengthen his argument to deny bail to the accused.

As Gani could withdraw the serious charge of capital offence of attempted murder against the Batu Caves 31, the veracity of his allegation (and that of the IGP) of Hindraf’s terrorist links is most suspect.

The Attorney-General and Inspector-General of Police should substantiate their allegations of terrorist links against Hindraf leaders or they should withdraw them.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by cheng on soo on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 4:10 pm

Aiyah! Jangan buat susah, aku dah lepas 31 orang, lagi nak buat aku panas hati ka? Lagi ni pun kasih sikit berita lu orang tulis tulis lah! Tak cukup ka? Nak main main lagi ka?

2. #2 by lakshy on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 4:15 pm

The world is watching the antics. What a farce. Justice has been subverted and abused to such an extent.

Anyway Gani and Musa have to answer in court to Hindraf’s charges regarding the terrorist slur.

Of course no court in malaysia is going to fin d them guilty, but lets see how the rest of the world then sees malaysia justice system.

3. #3 by lakshy on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 4:16 pm

I hope some day Gani and Musa have to spend 2 weeks in jail, and hopefully with hardened criminals.

4. #4 by lakshy on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 4:22 pm

Cant AG be sued now for abuse of power? and grossly misleading the Judge and the Public with his claims and fabrications? And leaking the slanderous reference to terrorism links. Cant he be brought to book?

Have we any lawyers who can put pressure on these guys? This is to help them do their jobs better and keep them clean.

5. #5 by smeagroo on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 4:23 pm

Gani justw anna make sure the PM looks good in this issue. FIrst he slammed the harshest punishment onto them then out come the PM with his ever so kind and merciful nature.

Doesnt the whole script looks like Sandiwara?

6. #6 by grace on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 4:34 pm

This AG is playing a fool with the innocent lives. What type of system we have? Can be used to gempar orang lemah!!!
    AG, I suppose you are god fearing, right? Do you think that god is amused by your action ? You are committing a sin in doing all these!!

7. #7 by a-malaysian on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 4:39 pm

I am asking the same questions as lakshy. Everyone, including the ag, sleepy pm, the lawyers and all throughout the world know that the gomen is using the judiciary to abuse and frabication of these charges to frighten any future peaceful rally.

Yes the headline tomorrow will present how good the sleepy pm is.

I expect the Bar Council to act, especially when one of their own lawyer Bon is apprehended and the ag is trying so hard to deny bail, for a common and normal reaction case.

Till today the Bar Council has yet to come out with anything against this type of ag and the umno run judiciary. But with Ambiga there, we have no hope at all that the Bar Council will want to seriously fight for a clean and independent judiciary.

I suggest that the Bar Council should start a civil disobedience by not attending court until this ag is rid off his position and replace by someone else.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

8. #8 by boh-liao on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 4:51 pm

Malaysia truly a playground of the people in power. They can say anything today, charge and detain you today, and then turn everything around the next day. Power begets power.

From a serious charge to no charge, and from no charge to a serious charge. In Chinese, there is a term called ‘mok she yew’.

9. #9 by Libra2 on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 4:53 pm

This is blatant abuse of the process of the court.
    It is victimization and intimidation of the helpless to the extend the AG has to tell lies and twist his subordinate (the judge) to grant him the no-bail application.
    How low can our judiciary go.
    The 31 should be set free since they have already served a jail sentence before their guilty plea.

10. #10 by gsuku on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 5:11 pm

FROM ZERO TO HERO..

with the amendment in the charges SAMY VELOO & SLEEPY DOLLAH will think they have become batu caves 31′s heros.Lim Kit Siang have been challenging this since day one.These (AG) never listen.Yesterday only i Read Tamil paper headline that Samy will Talk to PM ,today Magic Show was revealed….What a great show.

No other way boost image…
    Economy doing down…Haoneymoon in Private Jet…
    Barang Keperluan naik harga….People have to change attitude…PM busy in Australia…shopping …

Samy busy with road accidents ,toll increase,toll relocation…

This is the best time for him to involve….if the Gomen his any(i said if ever they give) he will get his share for VElpari….
    LIke Maika Shares.

COUNTRY’S REAL BACKWARD CLASS TAMILAN.THAT IS SAMY VELOOOOOOOOOOOOO…………

11. #11 by ajax on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 6:00 pm

The power-that-be have once again proved that they can & will abuse the courts, police & all others avenues of power to wield their mighty whip of power at any cost..even if it means to bully the weak.This is very shameful for a progressing nation such as ours…and now the fantastic 5 will rot under ISA while MIC will takes the credit to free Batu Cave 31. How low can you stoop to gain political mileage..very pathetic. “Lembu punye susu sapi dapat nama”

12. #12 by gofortruth on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 6:15 pm

While they got us on all these “huha”s –
    “Yes, while the HINDRAF, PEKIDA and DAMAI MALAYSIA brouhaha kept us distracted, a crime boss is quietly released on the personal instruction of the Attorney-General.” – http://www.malaysia-today.net/nuc2006/index.php?itemid=1224

13. #13 by SIMPLYJUSTICE on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 6:32 pm

Dear Friends,

GET READY, THE PARLIAMENT WILL BE DISOLVED NEXT WEEK .

PROOF TO BN THAT THE PEOPLE ARE INCHARGE .

14. #14 by Cinapek on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 6:34 pm

“…The Attorney-General and Inspector-General of Police should substantiate their allegations of terrorist links against Hindraf leaders or they should withdraw them….”

These allegations were made in a court of law by the AG as justifications for denying bail and if subsequently he cannot substantiate or provide proof, is that not tantamount to lying in court under oath? I am no legal eagle but as a layman thats how I see it. And perjury in court under oath is a jailable offence, is it not?

15. #15 by EARNEST on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 7:44 pm

If you have committed perjury and you quickly correct yourself by admitting the mistake upon discovery and apologize to persons wronged and the Court, you may get away with minimal punishment, if the nature of the perjury is not serious.

President Clinton was found guilty of perjury for lying about his relationship with Lewinsky, yet he was not impeached. But, he did pay for committing perjury. He was suspended from legal practice, or something of that nature.

But, if perjury had been committed to usurp the powers of the Court to maliciously punish innocent victims, there got to be some consequences against the perjurer, especially if the perjurer did not show any remorse, in order to deter future abuses of the Court.

If the perjurer caused one victim to be jailed for 2 weeks unjustifiably, perhaps that perjurer had to be jailed for at least 2 weeks too. So multiply 2 weeks by 31 for 31 victims, the perjurer has to be jailed for 62 weeks.

But, who is going to file such an action in court?

Shall we solicit and donate money to a Prevention-of-Abuse-of-Power fund to engage a top lawyer, a Queen’s Counsel if necessary for this cause, so that this abuse of power will not recur?

16. #16 by EARNEST on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 7:47 pm

Shall I volunteer myself to be the treasurer?

17. #17 by liaw3003sc on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 7:49 pm

It is a great relieve to Malaysia minded Malaysian irrespective of race and religion for the release of the Batu Caves 31. Praise the Lord!

18. #18 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 8:11 pm

So…The UMNO government justify the detention of HINDRAF leaders because ‘they pose national security threats’..

HOW ABOUT
    THE CASE OF MISSING Immigration records of Altantuya Shaariibuu and her two Mongolian companions.?? ALTANTUNYA SHAARIBUU WAS MURDERED IN MALAYSIA AND HER IMMIGRATION RECORD OF ENTERING MALAYSIA WAS ERASED APPARENTLY IN ATTEMPT TO PROTECT SOMEONE CLOSE THE THE INDIVIDUAL(S) IN THE GOVERNMENT FROM PROSECUTION…. HAD ALTANTUNYA CAME ALONE TO MALAYSIA, IT WOULD BE REPORTED BY THE bn GOVERNMENT THAT THAT WOMAN HAD NEVER ENTERED MALAYSIA….

SO IF THE IMMIGRATION RECORDS CAN BE ERASED, IS’NT THERE IS A POSSIBILITY THAT SOMEONE/MAYBE TERRORIST WHO ENTERED MALAYSIA WITHOUT THEIR ENTRY RECORDED? mind you… OSAMA BIN LADEN MIGHT HAD ENTERED MALAYSIA WITHOUT HIS ENTRY RECORDED!!!!
    ]
    iSN’T THIS ACT IS POSING MUCH BIGGER NATIONAL SECURITY THREAT and deserve ISA detention? or ISA is not for UMNO’s friends and family?

UNTIL TODAY, NOBODY WAS HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR ERASING THE IMMIGRATION RECORDS OF ALTANTUNYA AND 2 OTHERS…. SO IS THIS THE UMNO’S VERSION OF
    ‘ integrity, accountability, transparency and justice ‘ ?

the judgment is yours…..

19. #19 by max2811 on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 8:40 pm

If you know how to carry UMNaziO’s balls, you too can be AG of Msia. Just shows how shallow his knowledge is about the laws but then he is the AG. How did he get to be AG? NEP is the answer. Just promote anybody who has a bin in between.

20. #20 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 8:45 pm

lakshy Says:

Today at 16: 16.34 (4 hours ago)
    I hope some day Gani and Musa have to spend 2 weeks in jail, and hopefully with hardened criminals.

Rahim Noor spent some time for socking Anwar, though he ‘cleverly and most probably feigned illness’ so as to be able to spend the time in hospital. (This is an age-old trick politicians use to spend time in the more salubrious surroundings of a hospital than a jail cell). Well, it’d be fascinating to see what charges can be filed against these two.

21. #21 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 8:49 pm

PM should follow up on his goodwill gesture by releasing the 5 Hindraf leaders under ISA.

Then PM should move on to release all ISA detainees and return them to their families before Hari Raya Haji.

Subsequently, PM should give an underatking to abolish the ISA in 2008.

These would steal the thunder from the Opposition.

Of course, there are still other issues pending but a little goodwill for Christmas may bring a round of Ho! Ho! Ho!s and a Christmassy feel-good for all Malaysians.

22. #22 by izrafeil on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 9:02 pm

Bapak Ghani Pataeil,
    Istana Dato’ Zakaria macam mana? Boleh saman tak?
    Saman le kalau berani….
    Ko penakut kalau dengan orang Aemno ya…
    Dasar….

23. #23 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 9:06 pm

http://www.malaysia-today.net/nuc2006/index.php?itemid=1224

REad “All the Crap” by RPK, Malaysia-today.

Wow! If I were to believe this ‘crap’, then AG is a maestro strategist to hoodwink the public too.

Hello AG, please refute all this ‘crap’ by RPK or stand condemned by all the allegations.

24. #24 by Jong on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 9:43 pm

Yes, abuse of power by AG Gani, and IGP Musa. Perhaps Gani has forgotten what happened to his predecessor Mokhtar Abdullah after Anwar Ibrahim’s case? – call it Divine Intervention, he was definitely punished. He suddenly went into a coma and never recovered.

25. #25 by negarawan on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 9:57 pm

This is yet another clear evidence that the judiciary is not independent and is controlled by UMNO!

26. #26 by DarkHorse on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 9:57 pm

“Can AG be sued now for abuse of power?” lakshy

Yes. It is called frivolous prosecution.

Those detained have lost wages and could file their claims for loss of wages and for lawyers’ fee; and if they are breadwinners their family members who are defendants could themselves directly file claims against the government for loss of financial support and emotional distress.

27. #27 by Colonel on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 10:21 pm

lakshy: “Of course no court in malaysia is going to fin d them guilty, but lets see how the rest of the world then sees malaysia justice system.”

The rest of the world doesn’t care.

28. #28 by justice6 on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 10:22 pm

GUYS.. u all first day in Malaysia ah… ? haha..

29. #29 by straight talk on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 10:29 pm

Look the AG withdrew the attempted murder charges because he knows that he will not be able substantiate the igredients of the charge in court. So he has to mind drama. Stop the act. AG please ask why the police have still not acted on the police report made by a molest victim. Why is it because the accuse is related to “Khir the broom Toyol”

Come on AG get your act together.

30. #30 by noblepath on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 10:33 pm

Another typical set up by the Govt – perhaps the 31 were forced to make such statements. Govt said ‘you abide to this, and we’ll set you free – no strings attached’ …

31. #31 by laifoong on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 10:34 pm

“If you have committed perjury and you quickly correct yourself by admitting the mistake upon discovery and apologize to persons wronged and the Court, you may get away with minimal punishment, if the nature of the perjury is not serious.” Earnest

Are you giving us all an 101 lecture in the law of perjury??

A witness commits perjury only if he gives false testimony concerning a ‘material matter’ with the ‘willful intent’ to provide false testimony, rather than as a result of confusion, mistake, or faulty memory.

32. #32 by laifoong on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 10:45 pm

“I suggest that the Bar Council should start a civil disobedience by not attending court until this ag is rid off his position and replace by someone else.” a-malaysian

If lawyers do as you suggest they will end up being sued by their clients for gross negligence and may end up paying damages which could bankrupt them. They would then lose their licenses and come knocking on your door for donations! You don’t want that.

33. #33 by sonicwall on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 10:47 pm

Uncle Kit

Can you help us to confirm and verify that a crime boss is quietly released on the personal instruction of the Attorney-General?Please see the http://www.malaysia-today.net/nuc2006/index.php?itemid=1224

Please ask our the Attorney-General and Pak Lah asnwer to the Rakyat.

34. #34 by chgchksg128 on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 11:02 pm

35. #35 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 11:02 pm

“As Gani could withdraw the serious charge of capital offence of attempted murder against the Batu Caves 31, the veracity of his allegation (and that of the IGP) of Hindraf’s terrorist links is most suspect.” KIT

Suspect? Yes, it goes without saying.

But a matter like this would ordinarily be the subject of the preliminary inquiry (PI) when prosecution will have to prove their prima facie case; and in the event the prosecutions fails, the case of the HINDRAF 31 would be dismissed without their defense being called. As they have been detained under the Internal Security Act, I do not believe there is any intention to charge them.

Without judicial review of the Minister’s decision, they will wallow in jail for two years at least.

36. #36 by EARNEST on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 11:13 pm

Are you giving us all an 101 lecture in the law of perjury??

A witness commits perjury only if he gives false testimony concerning a ‘material matter’ with the ‘willful intent’ to provide false testimony, rather than as a result of confusion, mistake, or faulty memory. – laifoong

I was not attempting a legal definition of perjury. You are. Then you need to define more correctly. You left out “oath” or “affirmation”. See below:

I recall that you have a tendency to say things without checking your facts, including saying that I am a retard.

Can a retard correct a smart person’s (like you) mistakes?

You also did suggest that YB Lim can block a participant in this blog by blocking his/her IP address, in unjustifiably trying to instigate YB Lim to kick limkamput out.

Do you know that most of us are using dynamic IP addresses when we go online? They change every time modems restart. IP address can be 60.50.100.34 one moment, and 218.208.223.118 another moment.

Try this, http://www.whatismyip.com.

So, if i am a retard. You are worse because you are being corrected by a retard.

Please do not take it as an attack on you. It is just a learning process… Perjury 101, IP address 101.

Perjury : the offence of wilfully telling an untruth in a court
    after having taken an oath or affirmation.

[EARNEST - The blog has achieved a commendable civility of discourse. Please do not shatter it. - Kit]

37. #37 by Malaysia for Malaysians on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 11:25 pm

Malaysia = Playground for UMNO….so sad….

38. #38 by Godamn Singh on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 11:34 pm

To: EARNEST

I thought YB Kit’s advice has been made clear to you

“I believe I am not the only one distressed by the blog’s descent and I call on all posters to end this “war” and get back to the issues raised by the threads and to contribute to raise the quality of the discussion rather than the reverse.”
    Kit

If you insist on making postings insulting others and calling fellow posters ‘retards’ than YB Kit should adopt the drastic method of blocking your IP address so that the rest of us could continue to exchange opinions in a civil way. And yes, IP addresses could be blocked even if you are using wireless.

By ignoring Kit’s advice aren’t you not being disrespectful to him?

39. #39 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 11:42 pm

“Perjury : the offence of wilfully telling an untruth in a court
    after having taken an oath or affirmation.” EARNEST

May I point out that perjury as defined is a common law definition. Today statutory law has broadened the definition of ‘perjury’ to include out of court statements under oath.

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 11:43 pm

For example, statements made during discovery.

41. #41 by EARNEST on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 11:47 pm

If lawyers do as you suggest they will end up being sued by their clients for gross negligence and may end up paying damages which could bankrupt them. They would then lose their licenses and come knocking on your door for donations! You don’t want that. — laifoong

A litigant can not be penalized because of his/her lawyer’s “gross negligence”. So, where is the cause for action?

How can you label a noble and courageous act motivated by a selfless desire to check the abuse of power as “gross negligence”? If you can have your way, our legal system will go to the dogs.

42. #42 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 11:55 pm

“The very fact that Gani had to drop the capital charge of attempted murder against the Batu Caves 31, (which also means the abandonment of his intention to charge 30 others with the same capital offence) – which could land the guilty with a sentence of life imprisonment – is proof that the Attorney-General had abused his powers in preferring such capital charges in the first place.” KIT

No doubt a case of prosecutorial misconduct.

43. #43 by EARNEST on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 12:04 am

Dear YB Lim,

I was merely exercising my right of reply to an earlier attack by the laifoong, and her many postings against mine. see below.

• laifoong Says:
    December 15th, 2007 (2 days ago) at 02: 57.28
    Know what?? I really think this fella EARNEST is a bit of a retard.

Your posting below my posting appeared to target me, and not the person who initiated it.

[This is what I posted on another thread two days ago on December 16th, 2007 at 06: 32.22:

If there are 331 postings on the thread on the invocation of the nefarious Internal Security Act against the Hindraf Five, this will be a new record this blog can feel proud.

As it is, there is nothing to be proud at all, but to be very ashamed and distressed at the scores of postings which hijack the thread which trivialise the ISA detentions and the serious issues discussed.

There is only one person who is gleefully following the descent of this blog - the Information Minister, Zainuddin Maidin who will be able to tell the world that Malaysians are just “goblok” and do not have the maturity to handle freedom of expression, whether cyberspace or terrestrial.

I believe I am not the only one distressed by the blog’s descent and I call on all posters to end this “war” and get back to the issues raised by the threads and to contribute to raise the quality of the discussion rather than the reverse.

I feel proud that in the ensuing 50-odd postings, there have been exemplary civility - that we can agree to disagree, however vehemently, without being disagreeable. I want to commend in particular limkamput for his contribution.

Let us move on EARNEST from 16/12/07 6.32.22 am and together build a blog which can be a byword for strong but civil opinions. - Kit]

44. #44 by EARNEST on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 12:13 am

And yes, IP addresses could be blocked even if you are using wireless.- Godamn Singh

You are wrong.

45. #45 by BoDo Singh on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 12:16 am

Earnest, stupid as my handle suggests that was days ago and before Kit made his warning.

46. #46 by EARNEST on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 12:39 am

BoDo Singh,
    Are you practising what you are preaching? Is the word stupid appropriate?

47. #47 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 12:40 am

“A litigant can not be penalized because of his/her lawyer’s “gross negligence”. So, where is the cause for action? How can you label a noble and courageous act motivated by a selfless desire to check the abuse of power as “gross negligence”? If you can have your way, our legal system will go to the dogs.” EARNEST

(I hope EARNEST is still around to read and reply or at least drops by to read and make comments and contribute to the blog in a positive way).

I think here he is genuinely and honestly mistaken.

A lawyer is not only a representative of his client but an officer of the court, a public citizen having special responsibility for the quality of justice. A lawyer is responsible to observe the law and the Rules of Professional Conduct.

He takes the Oath when he or she is called to the Bar.

It is this Oath that you’re suggesting that he violates when you suggest that lawyers absent themselves from court when they are scheduled to appear before the judge.

48. #48 by EARNEST on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 1:00 am

Undergrad2,
    Please enlighten me as to what you mean by contribute to the blog in a positive way.

I am not mistaken. I think you missed the point. You have to look at the bigger picture.

If lawyers do not unite as one voice, giving prior notice to the courts for a boycott in order to uphold justice, to prevent abuse of power, each of them will be less effective in representing his/her clients because of a defective legal system – abuse of power.

The boycott has to be coordinated, and planned properly well before hand, so that hearings will not take place, and clients’ interest are not jeopardized. It is like a picket, a strike demanding changes of the legal system for the better for their clients’ sake.

49. #49 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 1:07 am

“….so that hearings will not take place…” EARNEST

Why would or should the courts want to do that??

50. #50 by EARNEST on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 1:13 am

I feel proud that in the ensuing 50-odd postings, there has been exemplary civility – that we can agree disagree, however vehemently, without being disagreeable. I want to commend in particular limkamput for his contribution.

Let us move on EARNEST from 16/12/07 6.32.22 am and together build a blog which can be a byword for strong but civil opinions. – Kit]

Dear YB Lim,

Thank you for your reply and your acknowledgment of limkamput’s contributions, which had been unfairly treated.

Just as I thought my reply to laifoong’s earlier attack was the last remnant of unfinished business, BoDo Singh came along with a derogatory remark.

I agree with you wholeheartedly that we should move on from 16/12/07 6.32.22 am and together build a blog which can be a byword for strong but civil opinions.

1 2 3

Comments are closed.