by Richard Teo
How could god fearing leaders perpetuate a lie in order to further their agenda of remaining in
office?
For DPM, Najib to label Hindraf as a violent and extremist group is doing a great injustice to the marginalised miniority Malaysian indians. This is a blatant lie that honest, fair minded citizens cannot accept as the truth.
How could a peaceful group of Hindraf supporters who participated in a peaceful assembly just two weeks ago suddenly being transformed into a terrorist group is beyond the comprehension of Malaysians of all race and creed.
Quite obviously, Najib was merely parroting what the Attorney-General Gani Patil was arguing in the courts to deny bail for the 31 Hindraf supporters. (They were denied bail.) On the basis of a flimsy Police report without proper investigative measure he surmised that Hindraf was a terrorist group with contacts with the Tamil Tigers, LTTE.
How could any one classify Hindraf as a terrorist group when their only crime to date was to participate in a peaceful assembly to articulate their grievances? An assembly that was deemed illegal because of the govt’s decision not to issue them with a permit.
If at all it was accused as a terrorist organisation then it must be the world’s most harmless
group of terrorists because it had not fired a single bullet, it has not caused any violence, it has not professed the destruction of any instituition and yet beyond the imagination of fair minded people they were called an extremist terrorist organisation.
Perhaps their only folly or mistake was to insert the offensive term of ethnic cleansing in their memorandum of petition which they had purpotedly filed with the British Embassy.A more appropriate replacement of words in their petition would be marginalisation and discrimination of the non-malays in general and the Indians in particular.
For the PM to follow the DPM in lying is most unforgiveable, especially in full public view of the mainstream media.
At the IMT-CT SME conference and Expo 2007 the PM went on record to say,”Half of the cabinet is non-malays,non UMNO members and non-muslims”. If we refer to the Prime Minister Office web-site we will find that 69% or 22 out of the 32 cabinet Ministers are from UMNO, 23 out of 32 cabinet Ministers are Malays, 25 out of 32 ministers are bumiputra and 23 cabinet Ministers are muslims.
I do not wish to be too harsh on both of them because they are both religious people but would I be impolite to say that they are both liars?

#1 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 1:59 am
If the choice is between barring public dissent and putting myself behind bars, I choose to be put together with my gold bars.
#2 by Jong on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 2:13 am
Sure not Cadbury’s or Hershey’s?
#3 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 2:40 am
Just a plain ‘ol lollipop will do fine.
#4 by KS R on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 3:41 am
Hi
Pak lah told “Saya pantang dicabar†but Mahatair cabar dia diam macam tikus.
He told I am Prime Minister for all Malaysian. Then he talks about red tape – Why some of the high profile case is not highlighted and not arrested and they are sitting beside him.
Nightly percent well-educated and civilized Malaysians know what is happening and they can judge. Top fellows stirring up the Racial issue and thinking they will fight each other and put the blame on the HINDRAF (confirm) to make the race get angry but now they are not interested, They are thinking and talking how they can make money (wealth) and carryout their own business unless some Half past ministers or the AG or Musang stir up to get support. (Before that one question what happen his corruption case?)
God is watching all of you, is matter of time. If Pak Lah is PM for All Malaysian he will call the HINDRAF / BERSIH / LAWYERS TO DISCUSS AND CARRYOUT BRAIN STORMING. But disappointed of PAK Lah, he was from Opposition party before this; he came to ruling party and his brain also corrupted.
Dato Sri Samy told everage Indian gets about RM 3k above, Is he including the OT and people working overboard please correct me
#5 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 6:16 am
Most right-thinking, decent, God-fearing men and women, the average person on the street, the common man on the bus or train would now believe that the Abdullah-Najib political game is a massive charade! The game is up PM/DPM.
I think many of us would like to stick our middle fingers to them finally and show them how despicably low we regard their abuse of their public office to ride roughshod over basic human rights and common decency.
What PM/DPM have done is what every desperate dictator and foul ruler has done when the game’s up, when they feel their power slipping out of their hands – that is, whip the opposition and dissenters. Democracy is slaughtered on the altars of personal interest and greed for power. This is not the Malaysia of our hopes and dreams.
We must get rid of BN and its putrefying, festering sores that corrupts this land. BN must GO in 2008!
#6 by Mr Tan. on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 10:22 am
After reading the artical , I have paid a visit to the PM website and jotted down all the names of the ministers listed , the result is there is 24 ministers with Malay names and only 7 with Chinese names and 1 Indian name. This equal to 75% out of the 100% is Malay or Umno member. Only 25% of the Ministers are non-Malay and not 50% as stated by the PM in his speech.
As the highest ranked leader of a country , cover-up of unfair treatment in the country to show the whole world will only lead to citizens loosing all faith in you.
#7 by Mr Human Rights. on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 10:49 am
More and mores lies are told by the government as the truth shows itself.
I really hope that all the one sided treatment or rights given to just one race will be abolished and the government start treating all Malaysians as citizens or bumis.
There are black and white signs of unfair treatment to the non- Malay or non-Muslim everywhere and this the government should not deny.
#8 by speedberg on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:44 am
The Time Is Now!!!
Why not The DAP have an e-pre-registration blog to test waters to check & balance for the change to come!!! We could see a great number with new registration! The DAP has been with The Rakyat all through and most of all with ” Facts & Figures”! Great Job!
Make it The Real Malaysian Party, with all true Malaysians registering for a true change! No more Malay, Chinese,Indian and Others’ problems, It should read as ” a Malaysian Problem”. Malaysia- A True Motherland of Plenty! Say “NO” to corrupted leaders by registering.
Lets Rock The Boat!!!
#9 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 12:52 pm
Why not The DAP have an e-pre-registration blog to test waters to check & balance for the change to come!!! We could see a great number with new registration! The DAP has been with The Rakyat all through and most of all with †Facts & Figuresâ€! Great Job!
You may like…
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=25236510104
#10 by Richard Teo on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 3:11 pm
Mishugina,
Sadly, you were not there at the Hindraf demo. I was one of the few chinese there.We were peaceful until they start to bombard us with water laced cannon of water and tear gas cannister.Some of the cannisters caught the heads of the people and in anger threw back the cannister.The people with us were carying pictures of Mahatma Gandhi, as a sign of civil disobediance. So, how could we be violent? If the crowd was violent I would be the first to disengage myself from the crowd, but we were not.
please get your facts right before hurling accussation and putting me in the same category as the P.M and DPM. I prefer to opt out from their company, thanks.
#11 by emgbrl on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 4:20 pm
Dear Malaysians,
Let us all channel our Dissatisfaction & Disgust with the corrupt ruling UMNO Racist/Fascist Government by actively campaigning to all our friends,relatives, colleagues, neighbours & everybody else to VOTE WISELY & to REDUCE the BN Majority in BOTH State & Parliament Seats in the coming GE.We must do this in our Temples, Churches, Mosques and other places of worship.Not forgetting learning institutions and our workplaces as well.
The UMNO Govt is now Increasingly DESPERATE and has started its campaign to divide the People by Race,Religion , Political affiliation & Economic Class by its Daily Propaganda in the Media.
We must strive to open the eyes of all Malaysians and win their hearts & minds including those in the rural areas. Let us start this process NOW while there is still time!There are just TOO MANY issues going out of hand currently and this country is slowly but surely descending into CHAOS.
Too much energy is being wasted by fighting over too many issues. CHANGE begins internally in our OWN MINDS. Great Empires have been brought down by the will of the People when they all come together and speak in ONE VOICE!!!
Let us not allow the BN Propaganda Machine to succeed in dividing the People Further & Further in our minds!!!
Only when Malaysians are TRULY UNITED can this GIANT BEAST called BN be brought down to its knees!
Enough of Demonstrations & Petition Writings!!The UMNO-BN Govt can only be DEFEATED at the Ballot BOX!!So let’s work hard to deny them their majority at BOTH STATE & PARLIAMENT levels!!!
12/12 12:12:25
#12 by mendela on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 4:58 pm
Remember the Asli report about equity distribution among Bumi and other races?
We all know what UMO’s claims were all lies!
#13 by Mr Human Rights. on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 6:19 pm
When the PM said that half of the cabinet Ministers are non-Malay/Umno or Muslim. This shows that he would go how far to cover-up the truth about non-Malays being marginalized in Malaysia.
All Ministers’ names in Malaysia are well known by we Malaysians.
If he can lie about this truth , that means he can also lie about every thing else that is not fair in Malaysia.
Can we all Malaysians still believe what good that he has promised us?.
#14 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 8:29 pm
They fear no one including ALLAH!!
#15 by bclee on Thursday, 13 December 2007 - 5:36 pm
just look how our foreign minister interview by Sarah BBC Hardtalk,please copy the link
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/hardtalk/6992908.stm
lie all the way through.
#16 by DarkHorse on Friday, 14 December 2007 - 12:26 am
“We were peaceful until they start to bombard us with water laced cannon of water and tear gas cannister.” Richard Teo
So the demonstration ceased to be peaceful after that?! If Mahatma Ghandi was around do you think he’d have asked his followers to do as they did which by your own admission was ‘not peaceful’ after the tear gassing and water cannoning?
#17 by Not spoon fed on Saturday, 15 December 2007 - 11:58 am
The author said “How could God fearing leaders perpetuate a lie in order to further their agenda of remaining in office?”
Does anyone know that every 20th American president would die at White House? Check the history and see.
This is because the US government has not bee fair to the native Red Indians and the Red Indians cursed the US government.
The power of curse and prayers are so powerful that it could brind a nation down.
#18 by ChinNA on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 4:55 pm
For the record, the people of China do not called themselves ‘Chinese’ in Mandarin. They called themselves “People of the China”. The english word ‘Chinese’ can be interpreted in more than one way.
The people of Chinese Origin are called “Hwa-Chiew” by the citizens of China. Malaysian Chinese are viewed as uncouth and un-Chinese. (refer to Reader’s Digest article in 1980s).
Mandarin is not called Hwa-Yee, it means language of Hwa-ren. In China, I was corrected and instructed that it be called Putonghua.
This is what I have experienced.
So not all ‘Chinese’ in the world are ‘Chinese’.