When Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi became the fifth Prime Minister on 30th October 2003, he made the famous pledge to “hear the truth, however unpleasant”, which he had infamously dishonoured in the past four years.
Recently, Abdulah’s pledge to “hear the truth” was ignomiously revised by the Information Minister, Datuk Seri Zainuddin Maidin as applying only to Barisan Nasional leaders and government officials but not to the media , the civil society or the ordinary Malaysian public!
In the past four years, however, Barisan Nasional Ministers and leaders had been afflicted by the “Dare not speak the truth to Pak Lah” syndrome.
This has resulted in the least hands-on Prime Minister in the nation’s history but with the most Ministerial portfolios (trebling as Minister for Finance and Minister for Internal Security) setting a new record in Malaysian political history as a Prime Minister who has lost touch with the national pulse in the shortest time ever since assuming the highest political office of the land.
It is refreshing that in this ocean of distortions, half-truths and downright lies passing off as “truth”, Gerakan Penang State Executive Councillor, Dr. Toh Kin Woon has gloriously broken ranks in a letter to Malayaiakini yesterday declaring that it is the people’s “discontent and unhappiness that will be a greater threat to our country’s peace and stability, rather than the marches, pickets and demonstrations”.
I call on Barisan Nasional Ministers and leaders to have at least 30% of Toh Kin Woon’s sincerity and honesty to speak the truth to the Prime Minister whether about the “Walk for Justice” of 2,000 lawyers organized by the Bar Council for restoration of the independence and integrity of the judiciary; the 40,000-strong Bersih rally in support of electoral reforms for clean, free and fair elections; the 30,000-strong Hindraf demonstration on the socio-economic and cultural plight of the Malaysian Indians particularly the lower strata; or the numerous pickets by the Malaysian Trades Union Congress and trade unions for higher salaries to meet rising costs of living so burdensome to the workers.
So far, there is only one Barisan Nasional leader — a state Exco from Penang -who is prepared to call a spade a spade and tell Abdullah the truth.
Are there no other Barisan Nasional leader, occupying higher and more important government and party positions whether at the national or state level, who could back up Toh Kin Woon to start the process of telling the Prime Minister the truth?
What about MIC’s Samy Vellu, Gerakan’s Datuk Seri Dr. Lim Keng Yaik and Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon, MCA’s Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting and the other three MCA Ministers? Is there none from the Barisan Nasional component parties in Sabah and Sarawak? Is there not a single Umno Minister or leader who could be relied upon to speak the unvarnished truth?
That the syndrome of “Dare not tell Pak Lah the truth” is very advanced and even terminal is highlighted by the refusal of the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz yesterday to withdraw and apologise for his offensive and unwarranted slur of the supporters of the Hindraf demonstration in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday as “penyangak” when he said on Tuesday:
“Some 20,000 penyangak (crooks) who participated in the rally would not jeopardise our viewpoint of the entire community.”
Nazri not only compounded the offence he committed by repeating the slur of “penyangak” but also in claiming that his action was vindicated by the Cabinet which discussed the Hindraf demonstration yesterday.
Are there no shadows of Toh Kin Woon among the Ministers and leadership of the Barisan Nasional component parties — or is Toh a completely lone voice in the Barisan Nasional wilderness?

#1 by Godfather on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 7:25 pm
It’s like Mahathir on his deathbed saying that he regretted tampering with the judiciary and with making the enforcement agencies into UMNO’s puppets.
It is simply too little, too late. We are on the slippery slope to ruin.
#2 by Count Dracula on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 7:36 pm
“This has resulted in the least hands-on Prime Minister in the nation’s history …” Kit
I have had enough with this spineless Prime Minister. How could he be hands on when he has both his hands on Jeanne??
#3 by Godfather on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 8:29 pm
You mean he is spending all his time driving his new Geanne2 ?
#4 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 8:31 pm
This, I believe, sums up the feeling of many Malaysians including many Indians in Malaysia who are not Tamils or Hindu fundamentalists.
“The appeals by the Hindu rights movement to both the UK and the International Court of Justice have probably been too extreme to be taken very seriously in themselves even by activists in India. They are also specifically Hindu and Tamil rather than encompassing all Malaysian Indian groups. (see letter below addressed to UK Prime Minister Gordon Brown) They appear to have alienated many of the middle class Malaysian Indians who are best equipped to take the case forward. Likewise the legal case brought in London against the British government for being responsible for bringing Indians to Malaysia in the first place looks more like a publicity stunt than a winnable case. “
#5 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 8:34 pm
Godfather,
It is obvious that the PM needs your help and the benefit of your skills – in driving. Something tells me he is willing to play ball with you.
#6 by dawsheng on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 9:04 pm
Later, it was finally exposed that Adnan himself had placed a bid for CCC 9 for RM48,000.
Lagi-lagi, taxpayers’ money.
Pecah temberang? Not until you hear how he justified it in Umno mouthpiece, Utusan Malaysia:
“Soal membazir tidak timbul, pasal duit itu kerajaan bayar kepada Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan (JPJ). JPJ pula akan gunakan duit itu untuk membayar gaji.
“Apa membazir pula? Duit itu pusing daripada kerajaan ke kerajaan. Bukan untuk Adnan Yaakob (tetapi) untuk kerajaan,†jelasnya.
TRANSLATION:
“The question of wasting money does not arise as the money is paid by the (state) government to the JPJ. In turn, the JPJ will use the money to pay salaries.
“Where got waste? The money goes from government to government. It’s not for Adnan Yaakob (but) for the government.”
more at…
http://www.jeffooi.com
#7 by Godfather on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 9:20 pm
Yup, he has sent emissaries to say that he wants to play ball with me, but I am skeptical that he knows how to play ball at all. I think he’s trying to use KJ to play ball with some of us. Sort of immediate substitution.
#8 by Loyal Malaysian on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 9:20 pm
Yes, it is pub;ic knowledge that dr Toh will be retired. But I feel credit must still be accorded to him for speaking what is honest and fair. But are the powers that be listening? No they hear not.!!
#9 by mendela on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 9:38 pm
Why MCA is so quiet?
Where are your balls?
Where is OTK, the hero of Team B?
#10 by AhPek on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 9:43 pm
Undergrad2,
Why do you think that Ulyathakumar’s only objective is to win the lawsuit and does he honestly not know himself his chance of enabling every Indian to take home 2 million USD is extremely slim?I believe it’s the publicity stunt that you mentioned is his primary motive and if he pulls it off, this stunt will turn into the biggest galvaning force uniting all the Tamils in the Indian community, never mind the middle class Indian who are the Malayalees, Gujeratis,Punjabis who are in fact insignificant group in terms of their percentage make-up of the community.
If it happens and I think it has a high chance, then all I can say is the opposition group is going to benefit tremendously because of the power of swing votes in many mixed constituencies.Semi Velu now I believe has started pissing under his pants!
#11 by mendela on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 9:43 pm
Where is Bohowi?
Did he ever attend Parliament sessions at all?
May be only in Bodohland that the PM can avoid most of the parliament debate session!
#12 by motai on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 10:15 pm
Why double standards?
Written by Gerard Lourdesamy on 29 November, 2007 at 13:38 PM
Nazri should be rudely reminded that the Malaysian Government should also mind its own business and not interfere in the internal affairs of Israel (the de facto authority in Palestine), Iraq, Bosnia, Southern Thailand and Mindanao in the Philippines. If it is a Muslim cause, then our government has the right to interfere otherwise as in Burma, Darfur and Aceh, it is non-interference and the usual ineffective noises. Is this not double standards?
Let me also remind Nazri that in the last 2 years the union and state governments in India have awarded US$8 billion in contracts to Malaysian companies, which companies are either government linked companies or companies related to the ruling party. Most of these contracts came from Tamil Nadu. The Malaysian companies involved are not controlled by Malaysian Indians either and their equity in these companies is non-existent. Perhaps the Indian government should cancel or suspend all these contracts. The MIC is only useful to our government when it needs to negotiate contracts in India, which it often does, at the end only individuals in the MIC get the benefits while the poor and marginalised Indians living in this country (as a privilege) only get hit by tear gas and water canons.
Why is Rafidah Aziz in India right now begging for projects? I believe she is going to get a hostile reception after the fall-out from the Hindraf rally. The Indian media gave wide coverage to the rally and demonstrations also took place in parts of India in support of Malaysian Indians.
If our government, UMNO and the BN wants to protest in front of the Indian High Commission tomorrow, it is welcome to do so. Why not go further and expel the Indian expatriates and workers from Malaysia? Two things will happen, the MSC can close shop and the multi-nationals will leave this country in droves.
Nazri should be reminded that he is talking about the world’s largest liberal democracy, the 10th largest economy (soon to be third largest), second highest growth rates, the third largest army in the world with a nuclear arsenal, etc. etc. (including some of the best scientific, technical and medical minds in the world).
As far as New Delhi is concerned Malaysia can become the mouse that roars but that is not going to change the Indian perception of this country as one that systemically discriminates its minorities despite calling them citizens.
Gerard Lourdesamy
Good Job
Written by David Soong Tshon Li on 29 November, 2007 at 14:47 PM
Thanks for posting the letter here, Shan. I wonder if it was published by any of our “free and independent” local press. From press articles published on this website, it isn’t even clear what Nazri was complaining about.
David Soong Tshon Li
#13 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 10:32 pm
There are 3 types of BN Ministers and Leaders:
1) STUPID – this category is distinguished by their decibels rather than their degrees. Some notable examples: Nazri, Jasin MP (Said), Kinabatangan MP (Bung)
2) SILENT – this category are mostly deaf and dumb when it comes to issues of importance, be they cross-cultural or inter-racial and otherwise. Key examples – Ong Ka Ting (MCA), Lim Keng Yaik/Koh Tsu Koon (GERAKAN), Samy Vellu (MIC).
3) SENSELESS – this category is noted for their inane & senseless responses inside & outside Parliament or State Assemblies. Infamous names include Nazri (again), Jerai MP, Zakaria Deros…there are just too many personalities than I care to remember.
With such bad breeding and inbreeding which keeps the gene pool so inferior among BN, it is time to drop for voters to drop them & vote for fresh faces among DAP / PKR members so as to produce hybrid vigour and energise a lifeless, inane force in Parliament for 2008.
#14 by 4DE PEOPLE on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 10:50 pm
Well, well. I truly salute the leaders of HINDRAF for their courage and bravery on holding the rally. Kudos!! I mean, think about it. Who dares to challenge the government? I believe the three leaders know very well of the consequences of holding such a rally despite the fact of the warning by the authorities and the stupid roadblocks causing the stupid jam.
To me, they are willing to risk their comfortable lives to fight for the people and fight for justice. At least these “Penyagak” are doing something rather than choose not to hear the grouses of the people. Ask the BN leaders if they are willing to take the risk of going to jail for the people. I guess many not. We can see all these son-in law, sons of the BN leaders joining politics trying to get a post or a seat in the party. WHY? Because of the status and the perks that comes with it. We can see it in all the three main BN party. To me, these people are not the true leaders. We need leaders who are able to stand for us when we need them.
#15 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 10:53 pm
“If it happens and I think it has a high chance, then all I can say is the opposition group is going to benefit tremendously because of the power of swing votes in many mixed constituencies.Semi Velu now I believe has started pissing under his pants!” AhPek
Politics is about perception.
How do you think Malays view the HINDRAF demonstrations?
We often refer to racial polarization as a result of ill-conceived and flawed implement of government policies as being a process that took years to make its full impact felt but the HINDRAF demonstrators took only one day to bring the process of racial polarization to new heights. The demonstration if anything is a deafening indictment of the MIC and their leaders who claim to represent the Tamils. It is after all a Tamil party – rather than an Indian.
But it is likely to have alienated the moderates among the liberal minded and social progressives among the Malays who before these noisy demonstrations were prepared to put their weight behind PKR and vote for the Opposition to reduce the margin of control BN has.
It is a flawed strategy if ever there was one.
As for winning international support, racial discrimination is not a human rights issue. Arbitrary detention is. It is not enough to have poor marginalized Indians suffering racial discrimination in Malaysia classified as “refugees†under the 1951 U.N. Convention regarding the Status of Refugees, later expanded by the U.N. Protocol of 1967.
#16 by Godamn Singh on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 12:18 am
According to one Mohandass Karamchand
“This appeal to Queen Elizabeth and Mahatma Ghandi is a mistake. The banners scream ‘We are Malaysians’. To the other Malaysians, it seems to be that the protesters are Indian Hindus first and Malaysians second. The ethnic, religious identity is pushed forward. The name ‘Hindraf’ is also exclusive. It excludes Indians who are Christians, Sikhs and Muslims.”
#17 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 12:49 am
Toh Kin Woon’s conscience is only awake when he’s about to retire, well, some religion says it’s ok as long as you repent before you die.
meanwhile I am still hoping for the rest of the polititian from the ruling coalition to make similar amendments to Malaysia and their God/s (oh, I pray hard everyday for their sudden demise), perharps goodies in buy election will benefit Malaysians.
Gomen controlled media can say what they like, but India times is really not amused at all, read their headlines.:
– Jaya demands release of Tamils in Malaysian jails
– Malaysian lawyers slam security law threat
– Protests expose racism in Malaysia
– Tough law to deter ethnic Indians
– Karuna to PM: Help Tamils in Malaysia
– Malaysian PM warns ethnic Indians
– Help ethnic Indians in Malaysia: Vaiko
– Racism against Indians worries BJP
– Ethnic Indians not to be charged
– Tear gas fired at ethnic Indians
– Ethnic Indians detained in Malaysia
– Ethnic Indians protest in Malaysia
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/specialcoverage/2576923.cms
what you to say? taxied-ministered?
will our kampong idiots Bung-Said comment please?
#18 by eckwtg on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 1:16 am
YB Lim,
I was watching the republicans and democrats debate on youtube with much interest. And I would like to know your views on how to spur up our economy, your ways to tackle corruption and crime, improving our education system and most importantly, an economic policy that will benefit all races. A policy that will not leave any race behind.
Enough have been said about the issues that have been highlighted in practically every blog that has a political view. Election is but a few months ahead, wouldn’t now be the time to enlighten us all who may or may not cast a vote towards your party. Your views will come with many comments that may or may not help you to improve on your policies.
And if the day comes and whoever should succeed, I sincerely hope that power and greed will not blind them as it did to their predecessor.
To a better future, YB.
#19 by undergrad2 on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 1:26 am
“Moorthy wants Britain to pay damages of £1 million to each of Malaysia’s 2 million ethnic Indians for rights abuses he traces to colonial-era labour schemes that brought their ancestors to Malaysia as indentured workers. “We are seeking compensation because we were permanently colonised during British rule, and now, under the government of the ethnic Malays,” Moorthy said. “We have lost touch with our roots and have been suppressed so far,” said Moorthy, who accuses British officials of failing to honour their responsibility to protect ethnic Indians when they granted independence to Malaysia in 1957. ”
“Lost touch with our roots”?? What do you mean?
“Failing to honour their (British) responsibility to protect Indians…” But with the granting of independence on August 31st 1957, responsibility was transferred to the freely elected government – run by the Alliance if we’re not mistaken? So you’re barking up the wrong tree here!
#20 by burn on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 1:42 am
i have read the memorandum, not to sure whether it’s the real one that was supposed to be given to BE. what caught my attention was… the word TERRORISM!
part of the memo contents…
“CONCLUSION We fear that this peace loving Indian community of Tamil origin having been pushed to the corner and the persecution getting worse by the day may be forced to into terrorism in a matter of time as what has happened to the Sri Lankan Tamils.”
there are good and bad about HINDRAF demo.
the good thing, international recognition. and a wake call for all indians in malaysia.
the bad thing, did HINDRAF inform the supporters fully about what they’re demonstrating for.
yesterday, after spoken to few indian friends, found out that none of them know exactly what was written in the memo. it’s a surprise to them. it’s became more surprise, when they found out that poster of QE and MG was use. to them, why? im a malaysian, why use QE/MG, why not our own AGUNG poster! anyway, they were stuck at the roadblock and was unable to join the group. and the flowers they brought was use for decorations in the office instead. they work as a storeclerks/storekeepers.
#21 by Godfather on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 2:18 am
I don’t know why you guys make such a big fuss over what is really in the memo.
We all agreed that the memo is nothing more than a red herring – the objective wasn’t to fight the British, but to draw the world’s attention to the marginalisation of the Indian community. In this, HINDRAF has succeeded, and the Indians in India now know what is happening and is seeking redress through their government. They (HINDRAF) did not want opposition support for obvious reasons, so why are we now flagellating (or whipping) ourselves for not supporting them explicitly ?
#22 by Godfather on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 2:20 am
Frankly, if the HINDRAF action has pushed some moderate Malays into the arms of UMNO, then so be it. The recognition that the minorities have been trampled on, and marginalised against, is more important, and I think we have to start educating the minorities against voting for the den of thieves than worrying about whether the Malays would vote one way or the other.
#23 by undergrad2 on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 3:29 am
“In this, HINDRAF has succeeded, and the Indians in India now know what is happening and is seeking redress through their government. They (HINDRAF) did not want opposition support for obvious reasons, so why are we now flagellating (or whipping) ourselves for not supporting them explicitly ?” Godfather
Interesting, Godfather especially the bit about
“flagellating”. My very small incomplete pocket dictionary says (and hope EARNEST is around so he could come out with other definitions. I’m sure there are) it means “flogging for sexual gratification”.
#24 by undergrad2 on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 3:54 am
Godfather, had you read my earlier PhD ‘thesis’ you’d know that the New Delhi government and Hindu fundamentalists never raised a finger to help their distressed and long suffering brothers and sisters in neigboring Bangladesh, but in fact sent the Hindus fleeing persecution back to Muslim Bangladesh!
The Indian government has long marginalized its own minorities – the Punjabis, Sikhs and more. They stood by and watched Sikhs being murdered in the wake of the assassination of their Prime Minister not too long ago.
The international community of nations is well aware of the marginalisation of ethnic minorites everywhere (a world wide phenomenon). They themselves are doing exactly the same to their minorities – the French are doing it to their minorities which include Pakistanis and Indians, Turks, Kurds, Iraqis and the Germans are doing it to the large Turkish communities, the French are doing it to their minorities from the former French territories like the Moroccans. The Brits?? They have been doing it to the Pakis for decades to the point of alienating the Muslim communities offering then little choice but to turn to terrorism to make a point.
The Indonesians are doing it to their minorities which include the Chinese and the Achenese, the Menadonese, the Molukas and more.
So what’s new??
What’s new is the appeal to the Queen of England. I’m on the other side of the Pond, miles of ocean in between and I could hear the Queen rolling on the floor laughing!
#25 by undergrad2 on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 3:59 am
We need a little humor here!
#26 by undergrad2 on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 4:02 am
I hear laughter is still the best way to overcome terrorism. Imagine you sitting next to Osama and sharing a joke about playing ball!
#27 by Jeffrey on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 4:23 am
“Flagellating†– “flogging for sexual gratification†(Undergrad2 after consulting dictionary). Why the sexual/erotic nuance? Going back to epistemology of this word, a flagella, in biology, is an organism, cell or protozoa with whip-like appendage just like a spermatozoa. But flagellating is not just self inflicted erotic pleasure by whip, as in masochism, but has another meaning – to whip oneself, as in some religious rituals of Medieval times was to scourge oneself for religious discipline or public penance. Either interpretation the self inflicted pain from whipping is supposedly good for one’s self whether in erotic or religious sense.
#28 by Jeffrey on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 4:36 am
….//…Why are we now flagellating (or whipping) ourselves…//…? Godfather
Well maybe because self-flagellation is good by itself which a thinking man like Undergrad2 does in self questioning from anxiety to find right answers and to find meaning in what we do.
And maybe the Hindraf organizers – P Uthayakumar, P Waythamoorthy, M Manoharan and S Ganabathi Rao – might or might not have done but whichever the case, surely should have done in a campaign of such weighty consequences, evaluating the pluses (+) and minuses (-) of:
1. shooting at Brits with a frivolous trillion $ suit as red herring for international attention for Hindu Tamil’s plight here instead of the Malaysian Government direct;
2. writing a memo to Gordon Brown with inciting words like ethnic cleansing and Tamil Indians in Sri Lanka;
3. Making 25th Nov march exclusive in terms of reference other Malaysians and for that matter other Indians who are not Hindu Tamils.
#29 by undergrad2 on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 6:21 am
I knew Jeffrey QC would come to my aid!
But you see when you find “Godfather” and Flagellating” in the same sentence, there can only be one meaning.
#30 by undergrad2 on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 6:38 am
“By the way, my argument is strictly confined to the purpose of the police permit under section 27  and should not be extrapolated to include the whole police Act, Sedition Act, Printing Presses Act, Internal Security Act  as to why I am not worried about whether a rally is legal or otherwise if police permit is not granted arbitrarily. Police arrests and court sentences do not change my conviction. We must dare to defend our constitutional rights.” EARNEST
Allow me to take this discussion to the latest thread on a related issue so others could contribute. Thanks.
#31 by undergrad2 on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 7:11 am
Am I not right that the drift of your argument is that we should not have provisos or qualifications to Article 10 of the Federal Malaysian Constitution, that the right to freedom of speech and expression, right to assembly without arms and the right to form associations should be absolute? We all agree that Article 10 of our Constitution should not be subject to Clauses (2), (3) and (4).
But the fact is that there are qualifications to the said Article in the form of Clauses (2), (3) and (4)! That is the law and until repealed it continues to be the law.
As for your contention that sections of the Police Act are, to quote you, “null and void because they contravene the Federal Constitution of 1957, the supreme law of the land” Jeffery QC has succinctly summarised the law and made it clear in his analysis that that is not the case. There is no conflict.
“We must dare to defend our constitutional rights.†EARNEST
If what you intend to say is that the original Article 10 has been amended over the years that it no longer bears any resemblance to the original – like commentator ALtPJK said of our Constitution – then I can see where you are going and we can all agree.
Perhaps Jeffrey QC, the blog’s legal analyst, would like to confirm if Article 10 was amended to include Clauses (2) sub-clauses (a) (b) and (c), Clause (3) and Clause (4), that these were not there originally.
#32 by undergrad2 on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 7:33 am
“I am not worried about whether a rally is legal or otherwise if police permit is not granted arbitrarily.” EARNEST
I’m not sure what you mean.
If what you mean is that we should not be concerned whether a police permit is issued before we hold public demonstrations, I can only speak for myself and speaking for myself I am concerned and worried because I can be arrested – because then I would be breaking the law and breaking the law has its consequences and we have no control over them.
Kasparov the world’s chess grandmaster was arrested and was only released after spending five days in jail in Moscow for participating in an “unauthorised” public demonstration. I am sure he knew he would be arrested but did it anyway.
In the case of HINDRAF I believe they applied for a police permit. No police permit was issued making therefore the public demonstration illegal – but not immoral or wrong like our PhD student from Cambridge stated before he was run out of the blog for expressing his opinion!
#33 by dawsheng on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 7:41 am
According to one Mohandass Karamchand
“This appeal to Queen Elizabeth and Mahatma Ghandi is a mistake. The banners scream ‘We are Malaysians’. To the other Malaysians, it seems to be that the protesters are Indian Hindus first and Malaysians second. The ethnic, religious identity is pushed forward. The name ‘Hindraf’ is also exclusive. It excludes Indians who are Christians, Sikhs and Muslims.”
Who is Mohandass Karamchand? His statement is full of craps. That’s all I can say.
#34 by dawsheng on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 7:48 am
The Indian cannot change the facts that most of them are Hindus and the Hindus cannot suddenly just change to a multi-religious Indians in order to justify the Hindraf rally. One also cannot change the fact that the etnic Indians in Malaysia has been marginalised and persecuted, this is one fact enough to justify Hindraf’s action, be it without Christians, Sikhs and Muslims, or the Chinese and the Malays. The faults lies in multi-racial political parties who shouts about championing Malaysians’ rights but did nothing to help Hindraf. Stop being a hypocryte.
#35 by undergrad2 on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 8:08 am
Dawsheng, calm down!
Go here to read more http://tunkuaisha.blogspot.com/
“I am a Malay. I do not support Umno. I think Umno is a corrupt, selfish, boastful thief of the nation’s wealth. Name all the bad character traits – Umno has it. I fully support the Bersih demonstrations although I did not participate in it. Why do I support it? Because they were fighting for free and clean elections, the basis of democracy. People of all races participated although though the presence of some races was more than the others.
But I do not support the Hindraf rally. Why? Because to me, it is racialist in nature and in its intentions. It is for the Indian cause only”
#36 by undergrad2 on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 8:19 am
“…The Indian cannot change the facts that most of them are Hindus and the Hindus cannot suddenly just change ..” dawsheng
Point taken.
But like the writer who is Indian in ethnicity but may not be a hindu, the nature of the assembly is that it is exclusive rather than inclusive and leaves many others among the Indians without representation.
#37 by stk on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 8:44 am
If the govt don’t handles this Hindraf issue properly,I ,m afraid if push to a corner with nothing to loose,hope it won’t be like Sri Lanka LTTE.
#38 by Godfather on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 9:09 am
Nobody in their right mind would resort to terrorism unless all other avenues of redress are closed to him/her. It wasn’t very long ago that UMNO championed the right of Palestinians to use terrorism as a tool. UMNO also championed the rights of Iraqis and Palestinians to use suicide bombers. To avert such things in Bolehland, what’s wrong with allowing peaceful demonstrations ?
We may not support HINDRAF because their purpose is to highlight the Indian cause, but we can certainly sympathise with them. The nature of fighting for minority rights is the inevitability of going against the majority. If you want a multiracial march against marginalisation, then you can only count on the support of Chinese, Indians and other minorities. The Malays have to stay out of it.
#39 by Godfather on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 9:13 am
There is no self-flagellation in Sicilian folklore. Maybe Vatican, but not Sicilian. We have our own way of dispensing justice.
#40 by g2geetoo on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 10:39 am
I shall Dr.Toh a bluff!
Man with no foresight or partially blind. He should have used his wisdom and fight along LKS of DAP instead salvaging some pride in his dying days!
Boo!
#41 by shaolin on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 10:51 am
We heard of Ceylon’s Tamil Tiger Organization but very
unfortunate we do not hear any thing like Malaysia TTO
in the country…?!
If things are getting out of hands, the only way to get
things done is via TTO…!!
#42 by oknyua on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 11:19 am
“Man of no foresight..” g2geetoo.
Please read the full text of Dr Toh’s letter in Malaysiakini. It is also in Malaysia Today.
“Tamil Tigers..” Shaolin.
I wonder if you have been through the insurgency years when CPM and PKK threatened everybody’s safety. Rice was rationed, every foodstuff purchased had to be recorded (inclusive of bisucits, coffee, etc), night time travel was impossible, schools closed, and each night, mortar bombs were heard in the hills just behind your house.
You don’t believe old man like me, just ask any of your friends who have been to Sri Lanka. Churches bombed, people shot…
#43 by Godamn Singh on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 11:32 am
Don’t worry, Shaolin.
Malaysian Tamils are forming a terrorist organization to fight for their rights! When they do Sri Lanka’s Tamil Tigers would look like a bunch of school boys playing Red Indians and Cowboys.
#44 by lakalaka69 on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 11:35 am
Now they accusing the HINDRAF rally as racially motivated. Do you agree?. They are trying to twist the whole thing and blame the rally for racial issue.
It is the goverment which is controlled by the Malay majority is trying to manipulate the whole incident for racial issue.
I urge the goverment to stop playing racial issue for their own interest. DAMM!
#45 by DiaperHead on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 11:39 am
Malaysia’s own Tamil Tigers??
#46 by DiaperHead on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 11:43 am
“Now they accusing the HINDRAF rally as racially motivated. Do you agree?” lakalak69
What do you call something that looks like a duck, quacks like a duck and may be walk like a duck – but a duck???
#47 by k1980 on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 12:11 pm
Constitution to be ammended again
http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/75438
the government was fast-tracking the amendments in order to keep Abdul Rashid Abdul Rahman as EC chairperson. This is because Abdul Rashid turns 66 on Dec 31 and should by right retire. But by proposing the constitutional amendments to raise the age limit for the Election Commission members, the government gets to keep dear Abdul Rashid as the ‘independent’ Election Commissioner to serve at least another one year.
#48 by Jeffrey on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 1:48 pm
“There is no self-flagellation in Sicilian folklore. Maybe Vatican, but not Sicilian. We have our own way of dispensing justice” – Godfather.
Let’s be frank even in the Mafia language : if you want to redress your grievances and protect your legitimate turf from a bigger gangster with heavier Artillery, better use your wits and sophisticated strategy, mobilise stronger allies, than just take him on in the streets exchanging fire power. :)
#49 by budak on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 3:02 pm
K1980, it’s cuntfirmed Abdul Rashid Abdul Rahman is th culprit of disunity of the nation… can ABB charge him under ISA too…???
#50 by Godfather on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 9:40 pm
Jeffrey: What makes you think that I am talking about a Capone-style shootout ? No, guerilla tactics are necessary in the face of much heavier artillery. We are not suicidal people !