RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal questions – why Kong Choy cannot give “yes or no” answers?

On the very first day of the current 45-day budget parliamentary session from August 27 to December 19, 2007, I had highlighted the scandal of the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone bailout in an emergency motion to adjourn the House under Standing Order 18(1) for a debate on an issue of urgent, definite public importance as there had been no proper accountability to Parliament whether by the Transport Minister or Finance Minister despite the various exposes in the public domain, such as

• Hanky-panky in the purchase of the 1,000 acres for the PKFZ, despite objections by the Finance Ministry and the Attorney-General’s Chambers.
  • Mismanagement resulting in the pull-out of Jebel Ali Free Trade Zone (Jafza) from the project, which could become a “white elephant”.
  • Questionable cost-overruns of the PKFZ, ballooning to RM4.63 billion from the original estimate of RM1.1 billion.
  • The unlawful and unauthorized Transport Ministry issue of four “letters of support” which were used by the turnkey contractor – Kuala Dimensi Sdn Bhd (KDSB) – to raise RM4.6 billion bonds and get an AAA rating from the Malaysia Rating Corporation Bhd. for the PKFZ project.
  • Why the government and the 26 million Malaysians must now bear responsibility for a RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout despite earlier assurances that the PKFZ project would be feasible, self-financing and would not involve a single ringgit of public funds.
  • Why the Prime Minister is breaching his undertaking of no bailout of mega-billion-ringgit “white elephant” projects — with the PKFZ bailout set to be the biggest financial scandal at the beginning of any Prime Minister.

However, my emergency motion on the first day of the current meeting of Parliament was rejected by the Speaker, Tan Sri Ramli Ngah as not urgent.

Since then, for the past three months, I had repeatedly sought to demand government accountability for the RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout scandal but to no avail, as I came up against the wall of prevarication and evasion, with the ball kicked from one Ministry to another, namely the Transport Ministry, the Finance Ministry and the Prime Minister’s Department. Nobody wanted wanting to give a proper answer or accept accountability, with everyone either falsely claiming that it had already been answered or would be answered by another Ministry.

I had raised the RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout scandal during the policy and committee stages of the debate on the 2007 Supplementary Estimates and the 2008 Budget but Parliament and the nation have still to get satisfactory answers.

When I raised the issue during the 2008 Budget committee stage debate on the Prime Minister’s Department, the Minister concerned, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz said questions on the PKFZ scandal should rightly be answered by the Transport Minister.

When I again raised the issue three Mondays ago during the committee stage of the debate on the Finance Ministry, the Parliamentary Secretary to the Finance Ministry, Datuk Seri Dr. Hilmi Yahya said he would answer by way of written reply. I asked for the written answer to be given within a week. Hilmi was non-committal. More than two weeks have passed and I am still waiting. What has Hilmi got to hide about the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal?

It was precisely because of this record and background of prevarication and evasion of accountability that I strongly protested last week at a “government-on-the-run” when the Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy left for London to attend the 25th International Maritime Organisation (IMO) Assembly, which would mean another escape-act by the Minister from parliamentary responsibility and accountability over the RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout scandal as the Transport Ministry was scheduled to be debated last Thursday.

At least the protest achieved the effect of ensuring that the Transport Ministry committee stage debate is put off from last week till today to enable the Minister to be back from London to come to Parliament to assume responsibility and accountability for his Ministerial portfolios.

I hope this will be the end of prevarications and evasions and a government on-the-run on the RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout scandal.

I had in fact simplified the many questions on the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal which cry out for answer to five major ones, viz:

1. Was it true that when the Port Klang Authority and the Transport Ministry insisted on buying the 1,000 acres of Pulau Indah land for PKFZ at RM25 psf on a “willing buyer, willing seller” basis, in the face of strong objection by the Attorney-General’s Chambers and the Treasury which had recommended that the land be acquired at RM10 psf, the Cabinet had given its approval subject to two conditions: (i) categorical assurance by the Transport Minister that the PKFZ proposal was feasible and self-financing and would not require any public funding; and (ii) that every RM100 million variation in the development costs of PKFZ would require prior Cabinet approval.

2. In the event, the first condition was breached when the PKFZ project ballooned from RM1.1 billion to RM4.6 billion requiring government intervention and bailout while the second condition was breached with the original PKFZ development costs of RM400 million ballooning to RM2.8 billion without any prior Cabinet approval ever been sought for every RM100 million increase in development costs.

3. The Transport Minister had unlawfully issued four Letters of Support to Kuala Dimensi Sdn. Bhd (KDSB), the PKFZ turnkey contractor — to raise RM4 billion bonds, which were regarded as government guarantees by the market. The Transport Minister had no such powers to issue financial guarantees committing the government, as it could only be issued by the Finance Minister and only after Cabinet approval. The first Letter of Support was issued by the former Transport Minister, Tun Dr. Ling Liong Sik on May 28, 2003, which was Liong Sik’s last day as Transport Minister while the other three were issued by Kong Choy.

4. Whether it wasn’t true that in recognition that the four unlawful “Letters of Support” of the Transport Minister had nonetheless given implicit government guarantee to the market that the Cabinet had in mid-year to give retrospective approval for the unlawful and unauthorized four Letters of Support by the Transport Ministers in the past four years creating RM4.6 billion liability for the government in the bailout of PKFZ.

5. Why no action had been taken against the Transport Minister, both Liong Sik and Kong Choy, as well as the government officials responsible for the unlawful issue of the four “Letters of Support”. Kong Choy had said that he did not know that he had no power as Transport Minister to issue such Letters of Support. Was this acceptable explanation for getting the government embroiled in the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal?

I have raised these questions of accountability, integrity and good governance many times in the current meeting of Parliament, but I have not been able to get any clear-cut answers.

Why is it impossible for the Transport Minister to give a simple “yes or no” answer to these questions if he has nothing to hide in the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal?

The time has come not only for the Transport Minister but also for the Prime Minister to end the conspiracy of denial-cum-silence about the RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout as the largest financial scandal at the start of any Prime Minister in Malaysia — even bigger than the RM2.5 billion Bumiputra Malaysia Finance (BMF) scandal which led off the Mahathir premiership more than two decades ago.

If the Mahathir premiership could appoint a three-man Ahmad Nordin public inquiry into the RM2.5 billion BMF scandal, why is Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi not prepared to “walk the talk” of his pledge to lead a clean, incorruptible, accountable, transparent, trustworthy and responsible administration by establishing a public inquiry into the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal?

There should be a public inquiry to find out who had been the beneficiaries of the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal – whether personalities from MCA, Umno as well as the BN MP for Bintulu, Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing.

The issue of four “letters of support” by the Transport Minister for the RM3.8 billion bonds issued by KDSB, which were regarded as government guarantees, resulting in 3A ratings by Malaysia Rating Corporation Berhad (MARC) remains unanswered.

This is unlawful and gross abuse of power as only the Cabinet can authorize such government guarantee for bonds and which can only be issued by the Finance Ministry. The four letters of support had never been authorized by the Cabinet.

The first letter of support was issued by the former Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Ling Liong Sik and the three others by Chan Kong Choy.

I had challenge any Cabinet Minister to deny that it was precisely because the government accepts that the Transport Minister’s “letters of support” were tantamount to government guarantees for KDSB’s RM4.6 billion bonds that the the Cabinet has recently given retrospective approval to the unauthorized government guarantees to the KDSB bonds based on the four letters of support of the Transport Minister.

As a result, the Cabinet also approved the RM4.6 billion bailout of the PKFZ scandal.

The even more question is why no punitive action had been taken against the Transport Minister concerned who had unlawfully issued letters of support for KDSB’s RM4.6 billion bonds, which have forced the Cabinet to give them retrospective approval and the RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout.

The first letter of support for the first issue of RM1.31 billion bonds by KDSB was issued by the former Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Ling Liong Sik on May 28, 2003 which was his last day as Transport Minister before going on a month’s leave and resignation.

Was the signing of the unlawful letter of support fror KDSB’s first issue of RM1.31 billion bonds Ling’s last act as Transport Minister? This raises grave questions about propriety and integrity of Ling in his last day in office as Transport Minister which must be thoroughly investigated.

Why has Liong Sik not been investigated and charged in court for gross abuse of power in his last day as Transport Minister, starting the process resulting in the RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout scandal?

The same question applies to Kong Choy. Is it acceptable that he did not know as Transport Minister that he did not have the power to issue such Letters of Support, which could only be made by the Finance Minister and after approval by Cabinet?

There is no better answer than the one given by one poster on my blog, Jeffrey, as follows:

“No, it is not acceptable. A Minister cannot plead ignorance regarding what he is authorised or not authorised to do as an excuse — and yet claim he is not half past six.

“It is ironical that if a bank officer exceeds his authority in a loan approval by a few hundred thousand Ringgit he can be prosecuted under Banking and Financial Institutional Act for jeopardizing public funds but where a minister exceeded his authority committing public funds measured in terms of billions of Ringgit he is not only not held accountable but the government ratified his unauthorized acts.”

There is another reason why it is completely unacceptable for Kong Choy to plead ignorance, for he was the Deputy Finance Minister for close to four years from Dec. 1999 to June 2003, before he was elevated as Transport Minister.

I am moving a RM10 cut motion not only because of the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal, Chan’s role as Transport Minister but also for the long record of prevarication and evasion of accountability and responsibility.

[Speech on the RM10 salary-cut motion for the Transport Minister, Chan Kong Choy, over the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) bailout scandal in the Dewan Rakyat on Tuesday, 27th November 2007]

1. #1 by ricky on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 5:32 pm

great work Mr Kit Siang. we appreciate your honest efforts. the transport ministry will soon find it pointless to delay this matter anymore as the public will not rest until unblemished reports are given by them. let the truth prevails!

on another note, i am unable to read any further material regarding the port vessel scandal which has escalated to the government paying up to 6.7 billion ringgit to a private limited company owned by an UMNO business tychoon(as per initial reports). and the company has only delivered 2 vessels which were fault ridden . as per the information, the company was suppossed to deliver 6 vessels .

2. #2 by ahkok1982 on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 5:47 pm

RM10 cut? I think you should cut more than that…. but then again, since he has been running away for such a long time, I think he already does not have the b-a-l-l-s to be cut anymore.

3. #3 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 6:04 pm

RM4.63 billion = 110238 (RM42,000 low cost unit), RM6.7 billion = 159523 (low cost unit). wa! these 269,761 low cost units can house how many people la? No wonder, v hv to pay more n more to govt, higher toll etc.
    Why not let HINDRAF claim some money from the Brit. and bring money back to Msia! Govt should help HINDRAF claim the money, and charge them 30% lah!

4. #4 by grace on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 6:04 pm

Our country has the attributes that will bring us down the drain:
    1. Officials highly corrupted
    2. Leaders helping themselves and enriching their relatives
    3. Plundering the country’s resources.

Goodbye my love!!
    This is the truth. Those were the attributes of a once very rich South American country. Today that country is still suffering and the people are ver poor.
    Malaysia was the second richest in this region. Korea, Taiwan , Singapore were no where then. Today? Alamak! No fight against them. Very soon Thailand and Vietnam will leave us behind!!!

Well Done! Happy plundering!!!

5. #5 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 6:10 pm

Grace, agreed with u most, already happened in many countries around the world lah! If this trend continue, by 2020, really dare not think our lovely Msia will be HOW lah! A small correction S’pore was never behind us economically! (say GDP / capita)

6. #6 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 6:18 pm

Too many skeletons in the cabinet to be exposed – do you want to drag out Ling LS, TDM, Umno’s office bearers and kawan-kawan, etc? No way. Any way, Malaysia has Petronas money (a lot more now with the recent inscrease in crude oil price), enough to monkey around with.

As reported in Malaysiakini, AAB today said he will continue with his style of administration since Malaysians are happy with it.

Be happy.

7. #7 by cancan on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 6:32 pm

There is clear-cut corruption,just like the Zakaria case and yet,the ACA is reluctant to investigate.
    The number of such cases are many and billions have been pocketed by the greedy Umnoputras.

Can we organize another rally to demand accountability and transparency by the government?

Over to you Uncle Lim.

8. #8 by izrafeil on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 6:48 pm

i am sure the bonds issued for financing this will not be repaid come due date, lets see when the bankers sue the government, and whether the government will pay up! if they (gomen) do pay up, there will be opening floodgate……

9. #9 by izrafeil on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 6:50 pm

o yeah, have you read newspapers lately…. why on earth would MELAKA (jam free town) needs LRT?! and kabarnya, they have done the feasibility studies…. shouldnt this all be done at Federal level? i smell money money money money…

tak cukup dgn FTZ Scandal…
    i can see more scandals scandals…scandals…

10. #10 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 6:55 pm

Well it was reported in the press that SCOMI has now designed LRT systems and surely they need some local contracts to keep going.

11. #11 by Jong on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 7:05 pm

yeah grab while they still can; won’t be that easy after General Election, they say will be in Dec07.

12. #12 by sani on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 7:48 pm

YB

You sure can make a short story long. Malaysians who voted you in, get a much bigger bang for our ringgit.

The story in the long or extended version is the one you wrote. The shorter version is call “A band of thieves” or in Bahasa “Barisan Pencuri”

We already got 50 episodes……come on guys….it is time to cut the subscription.

13. #13 by Godfather on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 8:47 pm

Semi Value had the cheek to say that if tolls are not raised in January, the government would have to fork out RM380 million per year to subsidise the concessionaires.

Helloooooooo…..forgetting this bailout would have enabled us to subsidise the tolls for another 10 years or more. Now they are worried that if they don’t proceed with the bailout, the bondholders will simply sue the government over the “letters of support” issued by the Transport Ministry. These were the letters initially signed by Ling Liong Sik, and subsequently continued by Chan Kong Choy to enable the project bonds to be rated AAA.

This shows clearly the priorities of the BN government led by the bunch of thieves known as UMNO. If they don’t provide the bailout, the Transport Minister will be sued, he will rat on the scheme initially cooked by UMNO, and soon UMNO’s Treasurer Azim will be implicated, and soon Azim’s lackeys (the Sarawakians and Selangor UMNO) will also be implicated. Nah, the stakes are too high for the den of thieves, and they have to bailout the scheme. No matter what we say or how we object, they will have to bailout out their own kind.

The unfortunate thing here is that if we truly have an independent judiciary or a truly independent ACA, there could be some redress for us as taxpayers. As it is, these bodies are now subservient to UMNO, so we have no chance of redress.

Sorry folks, game over. Just make sure you vote Opposition – any Opposition.

14. #14 by Godfather on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 8:54 pm

Like I said numerous times, they will steal until there is nothing left to steal. Then they will turn their attention on to the assets of those who they regard as not of their kind. Expropriation, nationalisation, compulsory acquisition – Zimbabwe style. Forciful eviction, Gestapo style.

It may not happen in the next 5 years, but don’t bet on it after that. They will have hundreds of thousands of local university graduates who are unemployed and restless by then, and the only way to divert their attention is to focus them on a common “enemy” or objective. Throughout the world, this is how bankrupt governments continue to hang on to power. We have to make the change now, and not wait till it is too late.

15. #15 by cancan on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 9:18 pm

I have just posted my comments here at 6.32pm and tried to rest my mind by watching Astro.

Damn it,my just wouldn’t let me rest and it keeps thinking of how corrupted this government is,which is spearheaded by the Umnoputras.

I still would like to suggest to form an opposition front to hold another rally to demand accountability and transparency of this utterly corrupted government before all hell broke loose.

DAP,PAS,Kedilan and all true Malaysians,please consider this.
    Australia has shown us how to change the government.
    Now is the time to change this bolehland.

Now,I hope I can rest my mind again.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

16. #16 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 9:23 pm

Everyone is silent even the PM becos each otehr is holding each other’s balls and all the dirty laundry in the dirty closet.

17. #17 by Fort on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 9:28 pm

Thank you Mr. Lim for high lightng this scandal. Keep up the pressure. Look like you have been keeping the ruling elites on their toes. The truth will finally prevail.

18. #18 by Godfather on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 9:38 pm

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” Leader of Islam Hadhari, 2005

CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG !

19. #19 by lml3281 on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 9:54 pm

Grace that is why NEP cannot be scrapped! N…ot E…nough P…lundering. Therefore, they justified that NEP must continue!

20. #20 by Tulip Crescent on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 10:12 pm

Godfather

As I have told my friends when the Cemerlang, Gemilang and Terbilang slogan was coined a long time ago, they forgot the last word: “Duit-hilang.”

Betul-betul lah, duit hilang. Tak percaya ka? Tengok nanti.

21. #21 by Godfather on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 11:02 pm

Note that it is not Terbilang…..definitely Temberang when it comes to the den of thieves.

22. #22 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 11:11 pm

This episode of PKFZ started the day our Greatest Shyster had the dream of beating our neigbour to the South. We could have had done it but for his own craziness of allowing his cronies to dig-in, hoping against hope that the PETROL Ringgit could still allowed his game to the finishing line. He forgot the basis rule. He thought he was the REINCARNATION that the world had been waiting for! He dug into Perwaja, then Proton. If anyone wants the truth of Proton, just pick up a book ” Wheels on Fire” which I am sure he had read it, or at least his advisors would have had asked him to read before he embarked on a dream which caused the poor average Malaysians to bear all these years, at a cost twice as expensive but for half the quality.
    Even today, after some kind of relaxation, a better car in our North costs only some 60% of our pride!!
    Philippines was finished by Marco during his term, and I am afraid poor Malaysia is also finishing down the same slope. As said many times before, we would have to start the race with Laos, Cambodia and Myanmar soon, very soon!

23. #23 by Godfather on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 11:32 pm

The think-tank MIER now says that fuel hikes will raise inflation “to 3.2 pct in 2008”. Do we need a think-tank to tell us this ? Do we need to remind the think-tank that 3.2 pct is even a doctored number and that the vast majority will be faced with inflation of between 5 – 10 pct in 2008 ?

Do we need to remind the government that their theft of public funds has meant untold misery for the hardcore poor ?

Another reason for a public rally early next year.

24. #24 by malaysiatoday.com on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 5:05 am

BN is a gang of thief.

UMNO – Perwaja, Bank Bumi, Plus Highway, United Engineering, AP, etc.

MCA – PKFZ, etc.

MIC – “Taufo” public projects, crooked bridge, etc.

25. #25 by malaysiatoday.com on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 5:16 am

Can DAP organize am anti-PKFZ rally?

Bersih dominated by Malay, Hindraf dominated by India and at least Chinese must show supports to Bersih and Hindraf marchers.

26. #26 by lakshy on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 7:04 am

Ignorance of the law will not stand up in any court. Try that with the police and see what happens!

27. #27 by k1980 on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 8:00 am

Hell no, he’s no Habibie— he’s just another Estrada, a 4th class actor who is corrupted to the core
    http://www.jeffooi.com/2007/11/fatherinlaw_soninlaw_berhad.php#more
    Abdullah should realise that his real enemies are not his critics but his sycophants. Indeed, his Achilles’ heel is one of his most trusted confidants, son-in-law Khairy Jamaluddin….

28. #28 by People on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 8:24 am

The 4.6 billion has probably went to “someone” or some people’s pocket !! It could have been better use to feed the poor, to give shelter to the homeless etc. In some countries eg Japan, Korea, UK etc, those responsible will do the most respectful thing by resigning but in Malaysia, these people will play the musical chair !!

29. #29 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 8:43 am

PKFZ issue is even more important in view of the fact the government is going to hike fuel prices. Is it a wonder Malaysians have strong feeling about price hikes with these kind of waste and there will be more coming with all those ‘corridors’ especially in Eastern Corridor. There may be smaller ones but many more.

But how to put this message out in the next election? I suggest the DAP put together DVDs with graphic picture of the PKFZ and other waste like Monsoon cup and link it to already and impending price hikes especially of fuel and eventually transport,utilities and everything else. Play those at every rally and share them with PAS.

30. #30 by g2geetoo on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 8:58 am

YB Chan Kong Choy

You don’t have to eat this dead cat! It’s not easy to swallow. Maintain your good name, don’t tarnish it with one stupid move. otherwise, all your righteousness will go down the drain.

Eat so much, wear so much is fated!

Good luck to you, my righteous one!

31. #31 by oknyua on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 9:21 am

It’s obvious YB Lim, you won’t get much from Chan KC in the PKFTZ case. He politics is in sync with the other MCA top guys, who in turn must fall in line with the UMNO’s directive. Both are protective over their interests iniside. The action plan I suggest:

1. Document all known subsequent events pertaining to the PKFTZ.
    2. All every stage, expose who are the ministers or officers involved.
    3. Call for a public forum exposing all the questionable dealings of PKFTZ.

Of course you must have concrete evidence as well as your team of legal people.

In parliament, ministers can hide under their privileges. In most cases, as you experienced YB Lim, they just ignore your questions. I don’t think they have any inkling to the parliamentary responsibility attached with their ministerial positions. The same could be said about BN MPs whose interest is their constituencies; their constituencies are the ones who place them into parliament. National issues like NPFTZ is the least priority. Infact they could be thinking on how they can have a share in another similar project in future.

On the other hand, YB Lim, we continue to expose their misdeeds, and along the way shout ourselves hoarse while agitating them too.

Which reminds me of book by Eugene Weber, (Orion Buisness Book) Page 198: “Never try to teach a (….) to think. It doesn’t work and it annoys the (…)” Anon. I am not implying anybody is a (…) but that is the task you are facing.

32. #32 by mendela on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 9:21 am

I totally agree. An anti-corruption rally co-organize by all opposition parties and NGOs would force Bohowi to take actions against corruptions.

DAP MUST lead in this rally.
    Fung Shui sensei said any Saturday or Sunday in December is a good day to hold such rally!

33. #33 by ChinNA on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 9:21 am

on malaysiatoday.com suggestion on demostration, I am not sure the Chinese will take part. Very passive community.

34. #34 by oknyua on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 9:25 am

“YB Chan Kong Choy…you don’t have to eat this dead cat…” g2geetoo

I would say the same to you Chan KC. It is not worth having to aligned yourself for a principle you a never a part! Preserve your own dignity and remember the deeds of Lim Ah Lek.

35. #35 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 9:31 am

We should all get used to this loss or rechanneling of this juicy gravy train’s gold and silver. Yes, people can make noise and the noise remains as noise only. No action talk only – NATO, and then all quiet on the Western Front.

In the next few years, with economic corridors set up north, south, east, and west, expect more and larger losses or wastages to be highligthed later (after the selected ones have helped themselves to the goodies and more buildings come tumbling down).

That’s life in Malaysia. You talk too much and express your frustration too openly, you will receive your present, ISA, from the BN government.

36. #36 by helpless on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 10:00 am

LKS, I personally believed your perseverance will be supported by all reasonable person wanting for a justice.

helpless Says:

November 14th, 2007 at 10: 10.16
    YB, thumb up for your good job.

Reveal this greatest scandal, ” corrupted politic” in Malaysia.

Do not let the questionable Transport Minister retire peacefully after making Billion.

Publicise the issue to the extreme corner to bring all the culprit to justice.

37. #37 by k1980 on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 10:14 am

When you failed Statistics in university, you will quote the darnest lie
    http://sloone.wordpress.com/2007/11/27/thank-you-pak-lah/#more-692
    1,024 people out of 27 million Malaysians said they are happy with prime minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s government. (Malaysiakini)

The survey, conducted by the Merdeka Center for the New Straits Times, found “a stable and positive voter support for Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and the Barisan Nasional government”.

38. #38 by justiciary on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 10:46 am

Godfather,your temberang is a very good hit for terbilang.What about any other words that rhyme well with the stupid slogan? For example,gelumang and others.

39. #39 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 10:51 am

If we can gather for a mass rally for Hindraf and Bersih, ams ure we can even attract more crowds if there is another toll and petrol hike rally next year. DOnt forget this year alone we have had 2 small gatherings in response to the toll hike.

40. #40 by sotong on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 10:58 am

With the numerous scandals involving huge amount of taxpayers money, one would have expected those involved – directly and indirectly – to be charged immediately.

This is direct result of decades of bad leadership and governance of the country.

41. #41 by mendela on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 11:05 am

Just in, from Japan Times,
    “Moriya faces defense-favors bribe charge
    Kyodo News
    Tokyo prosecutors are in the final stage of building a bribery case against former Vice Defense Minister Takemasa Moriya, who was repeatedly entertained by a trading house executive arrested earlier this month, investigative sources said Tuesday.

The special investigative squad of the Tokyo District Public Prosecutor’s Office believes Motonobu Miyazaki, 69, a former executive of defense equipment trader Yamada Corp. now under arrest for suspected embezzlement, bribed Moriya, 63, with paid golf outings and other entertainment in exchange for favorable business treatment, the sources said.

Moriya, who has denied performing any favors for Miyazaki, is believed to have received at least Â¥5 million worth of such perks over the past five years. The criminal code sets a five-year statute of limitations on bribery.”

5 million yens is equavalent to about RM 150 000.

Over here in Malaysia, the bribery or commissions can be in tens or even hundreds of millions of Ringgits and the takers are still all comfortable remaining in their positions. This is Bodohland!

42. #42 by Godfather on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 11:18 am

Someone suggested this:

CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, DUIT-HILANG

or

CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TERKANGKANG

I’m sure we can think of many. We should be printing these out in large quantities and distribute them as leaflets to alert the general public.

43. #43 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 11:34 am

agreed, mendela, this Yen 5 million is nothing by Msia “standard”, Msia ‘standard” for such field is much higher! Japan got no ‘standard’ in this field !

44. #44 by k1980 on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 1:39 pm

Millions more to be spent on buying the useless reentry capsule!
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/National/2095664/Article/index_html

A classical seven-ton Soyuz vehicle consists of three major components, providing for every stage of flight from orbital insertion to landing.
    Service module (PAO)
    The instrument module of the Soyuz spacecraft, known by its Russian acronym as PAO, or Priborno-Agregatniy Otsek, in its turn is subdivided into three main sections: Intermediate compartment, Instrumentation compartment, PO, and Propulsion compartment, AO.

Habitation section (BO)
    The habitation section of the Soyuz spacecraft, carries crucial life-support systems for the crew, including toilet and water supplies. It also provides extra habitation room during the flight and can serve as an airlock for space walks. In most missions, the front end of the habitation section is equipped with docking hardware, allowing the crew to remain

Reentry capsule (SA)
    The reentry capsule of the Soyuz spacecraft, known by its Russian acronym as “SA.” is the only section of the vehicle, which returns to Earth at the end of the mission. It contains two or three personally contoured couches where the cosmonauts recline for ascent, descent and landing. Seats are facing controls and displays used for all critical flight activities.
    http://www.russianspaceweb.com/soyuz_sa.html

45. #45 by malaysiatoday.com on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 3:06 pm

lakshy Says:

November 28th, 2007 at 07: 04.36
    Ignorance of the law will not stand up in any court. Try that with the police and see what happens!

===

This rule does not apply to PM’s song-of-law and UMNO mob and protesters.

46. #46 by malaysiatoday.com on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 3:09 pm

Pay millions to purchase a scrapped capsule, only a stupid governemnt will do that.

47. #47 by malaysiatoday.com on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 3:12 pm

k1980 Says:

November 28th, 2007 at 10: 14.39
    When you failed Statistics in university, you will quote the darnest lie
    http://sloone.wordpress.com/2007/11/27/thank-you-pak-lah/#more-692
    1,024 people out of 27 million Malaysians said they are happy with prime minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s government. (Malaysiakini)

The survey, conducted by the Merdeka Center for the New Straits Times, found “a stable and positive voter support for Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and the Barisan Nasional government”.

=====

The issue is not sample size, but the sampling method to select representative sample in the survey.

If the survey is polled from LKS.com posters, the result shall be very different.

48. #48 by malaysiatoday.com on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 3:22 pm

malaysiatoday.com Says:

November 28th, 2007 at 15: 06.09
    lakshy Says:

November 28th, 2007 at 07: 04.36

===

This rule does not apply to PM’s song-of-law and UMNO mob and protesters.

A law must be repsected by all, otherwise it just a piece of toilet paper.

Millions of Philippinos had defied the law and went to the street to topple Marcos. See what happen when millions of people and a few people facing the police.

Law is shaped by rakyat, not a dictator if you do not understand what is people power and a law must be respected by all irrespective you are government or not.

49. #49 by helpless on Friday, 30 November 2007 - 8:28 am

LKS,

The idiot CKC continues to run away from answering the veriation in land cost and unauthorised guarantee but keep on talking about approved foreign investment.

MCA’s newspaper reported.

“Millions more pouring into Port Klang Free Zone ”
    http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/11/30/nation/19622092&sec=nation

50. #50 by HB Lim on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 4:14 pm

I think we should get the PKFZ scandal documented for the easy understanding by the people and have it easily available in the Net and in the form of DVD’s distributed in the manner of the Dr Chua’s case. Then see if Dr Ling or Chan CK have the balls to explain to the public and whether certain newspapers would carry the news in the manner they came down on Dr Chua. I think we do not need a public demonstration but can orchestrate a building up of the momentum of public address and discourse of the PKFZ scandal, linked with and riding on the momentum of the Dr Chua’s case, from now and I am sure it would be a ripe issue to talk about in the GE. People would then see the gravity and size of the matter by comparing it to the other big financial scandals and to other statistics eg how many low cost houses or scholarships could have been purchased or made, compare it with the Dr Chua’s case as to accountability of public servant, the inconsistency of Pak Lah’s decisions and actions vis-a-vis his subordinates etc, etc. That, I think, would be a more effective campaign than a public display of feelings. I think many ordinary people do not understand the PKFZ issue and do not comprehend how it benefitted certain small group of people at the people’s expense. Certain effort at educating them on this issue would help in their political awareness.