Free and peaceful demonstration is provided for in the constituition

by Richard Teo

Why should the govt stifle dissent by refusing to give permits for its citizens to demonstrate? It does not matter whether the govt thinks that the issue is not justifiable or for some imaginary reason it is a threat to national security. Whether their grievances are legitimate or not is something the public will have to judge. The govt’s role is merely to ensure that the demonstration is held peacefully and without any violence.

When people take to the street to demonstrate it is always for a cause. History has shown us repeatedly that when the voice of the people is continually and contemptously ignored the only recourse is to show their displeasure by demonstrating. After all this liberty to demonstrate peacefully is provided in our constituition and it is the inalienable right of every citizen to exercise this right.

I disagree with some view that because the rally was specifically for a certain community the demonstration should not proceed. This view is in direct contradiction with the basic principle that the right to peaceful assembly is enshrined in the constitution and if the aggrieved party is of the view that their grievances have not been addressed than they should have every right to demonstrate. It does not matter whether their grievances merely highlight a particular community interest as long as they perceive there is a need to publicise and convey their message.

It is totally irrational to say that the demonstration is acceptable only if it also espouses the grievances of the other community.What if the other community is not interested in joining the cause? Does that means then they cannot proceed with their own cause?

Free and peaceful demonstration is one of the cornerstones of a democracy and the govt cannot repeatedly come out with preposterous excuses that it causes inconvenience and an imaginary threat of racial disturbance.

By denying people the right to demonstrate the govt is implying that it has indeed something to hide and that the issue which caused the demonstration is indeed a legitimate one.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by HJ Angus on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:15 pm

I think we should not involve in the PM’s wife in this argument.
    Coming from an even smaller minority like the Eurasians, maybe she can influence him on the treatment of minorities.

There seems to be a perceptible shift in the attitude of the police towards demonstrators – no doubt some people got hurt but not many years ago, there would have been some guns fired.

2. #2 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 4:06 pm

“RealWorld, the Gestapo supporter, I can tell you now that I attended one and not the other, but I won’t tell you which.” – Godfather

Gestapo supporter??? :) Dude, I merely asked you a simple question. Why resort to petty name calling??

Why only attended one and not the other since you are all for equal rights?? Why didnt you stand with the minority??

3. #3 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 4:09 pm

“By the way, some of my friends and I agree that we will also be there when there is a rally against toll hikes in January.” – Godfather

Ohhh toll punya rally, you pergi. But when it comes to standing up for the minority, you prefer to stay home.

I guess this is the equal rights you are championing.

4. #4 by ngahc on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 4:26 pm

Malaysian Indian, I heard your cried.

Yes, the world richest man is an Indian (no longer Bill Gate);

Yes, the second richest man in Malaysia is an Indian;

But, most of you are still live in poverty and stay in estates as labours.

You went to MIC but got ignored. There is no avenue for you to cry.

So, you opt for peaceful rally and appeal to the Highness Queen.

But, even that rally was not allowed by the police.

What options do you have to cry out your sorrows other than Hindraf? Yes, we heard your cried.

5. #5 by budak on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:13 pm

2nd riches man in M’sia is TDM man lah…

most powerful Indian is TDM + Pak Lah man…
    no other than “Ling KAM” (take gold)…

most powerful Indian traitor is also TDM + Pak Lah man…
    no other than “Semi Value”…

latest traitor inline Deva-Money…
    he thought UMNO are Dewa and giving him $$$..

6. #6 by Godfather on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 6:08 pm

RealWorld:

Your masters have created a Gestapo-like climate recently. Witness the comments of Taxi Nazri and Zainuddeen “Goebbels” Maideen about how they were going to treat the protestors. People who gather to rally peacefully, to hand over petitions to the appropriate people, should be left to rally peacefully, and not threatened and intimidated. In this sense, UMNO is not better than the Gestapo.

By the way, which of the two rallies I didn’t join is none of your business. How do you know that it was one and not the other ? Do you know I have voted PAS all my life, too ?

7. #7 by Godfather on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 6:17 pm

CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG – The real UMNO slogan.

8. #8 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 6:30 pm

GODFATHER: “Mahathir used to say that the best insurance against race riots would be to bring up the status of the Malays to the level where they would have something to lose if riots break out. Unfortunately he ended up creating a small group of elitist UMNOputras who have very little to lose as their assets are already overseas – in places like Perth, Sydney, London, Indonesia. ”

I think you missed the words “unfortunately for the rest of us but fortunately for them” he ended up etc” because it is part of the grand scheme of things he has devised for himself and his cronies and their families – a lifeline when the boat sinks.

As captain of the ship, and a visionary one at that he has prepared a lifeboat for himself and his cronies because he knows among other things that Malays are shortsighted and selfish, that when the inevitable happens and the ship sinks, all he and his cronies need do is to make their way to their ill-gotten gains accumulated over the years and over the misery of his people, and there to build a new life for themselves and their families.

Malay politicians have always looked upon public service as an opportunity to serve as much as an opportunity to enrich themselves and their families – an ‘equal opportunity’ clause in the contract they make with themselves. They have devoted their entire lives to public service and in the process of helping to rob Paul to pay Peter what additional harm will fall on either when the inevitable happens?

Mahathir has been a good captain of a ship built to sink.

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:01 pm

“Undergrad2, my view is that the opposition should not take part in the coming GE if BN did not meet Bersih’s demand. What do you think?” Dawsheng

What I think does not matter. It is what Kit thinks that does.

In the game of soccer, Kit is not the type to leave the field open. When the whistle blows he and his team will have to come down to the field because he knows however one-sided the competition may be, he and his team will not win anything by not going down to the field. He has everything to lose but nothing to gain.

What those involved in the BERSIH demonstration did was to try to change some of the rules and the umpire. However, I do not believe that the organizers are so naive as to think that the rules will be changed. They are simply puting forth the reason, or laying down the excuse for the electoral losses that they expect to befall their parties.

10. #10 by toyolbuster on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:20 pm

Does it mean that we can sue the government for denying us of this right. But then again, the thought of correct correct correct, we might as well channel our energy elsewhere more useful.

11. #11 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:36 pm

“UMNO is not better than the Gestapo.” – Godfather

Obviously, you have no understanding of history.

And by the way, I merely asked you which of the two rallies you attended. No need to go on a tirade and all.

Funny … for someone who is ranting daily about injustice and etc, you decided not to attend the one concerning a minority group. Well, so much for you empty rhetorics, eh?

12. #12 by Godfather on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 2:03 am

Ask no questions and I will tell you no lies. My understanding of history is reflected in a black and white picture that I saw a few days ago, where a Jewish family was walking away with all their possessions under the watchful eyes of the Nazi police – the Gestapo – who were smiling.

Those who do not learn from history will be condemned to repeat it. It also applies to those who turn a blind eye.

13. #13 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 7:31 am

“In the game of soccer, Kit is not the type to leave the field open. When the whistle blows he and his team will have to come down to the field because he knows however one-sided the competition may be, he and his team will not win anything by not going down to the field. He has everything to lose but nothing to gain.”

This is what always happened isn’t it, it has always been the case, Contest for the sake of contesting! It seems like there is no hope winning at all at the general election.

14. #14 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 7:37 am

“What those involved in the BERSIH demonstration did was to try to change some of the rules and the umpire. However, I do not believe that the organizers are so naive as to think that the rules will be changed. They are simply puting forth the reason, or laying down the excuse for the electoral losses that they expect to befall their parties.”

I thought I heard it somewhere and now you said it I believe it is true. It will be naive to think UMNO will change the rules because they won’t, if they do they will lose.

15. #15 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 8:18 am

Dear Godfather,

Whining and ranting about unfair treatment and etc on a daily basis. But when it came to standing side by side with the minority, you decided to sleep in. Toll hikes punya rally, you pergi. But when it came to championing the cause of the minority, it is someone’s else problem eh??
    Dude, I like your Malaysian Malaysia.

“Those who do not learn from history will be condemned to repeat it. It also applies to those who turn a blind eye.” …. spot on! spot on, dude!! I like that turn a blind eye part … and your decision to stay home instead of standing with the minority sure rings a bell.

Cheers!

16. #16 by Godfather on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 8:46 am

That black and white picture of a Jewish family (parents and two kids) holding whatever belongings in their hands and walking away under the watchful eyes of the Gestapo – this should haunt those of you who think that the downward spiral of personal liberty or the continuing marginalisation of minorities can be tolerated or accomodated. One reader even said that he currently lives in comfort and has enough to eat, unlike his relatives in India, so why the fuss ?

Such inability to worry about the future in the face of UMNO antics over the eyes is indeed myopic. Yes, look at the Jewish family as a Chinese or an Indian family, and look at the Gestapo as UMNO – and history will repeat itself in Bolehland.

17. #17 by Godfather on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 8:49 am

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” The leader of Islam Hadhari, 2005.

CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG !

18. #18 by Godfather on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 8:53 am

should be “over the years” and not “over the eyes” in the previous posting. The RealWorld dude already have properties overseas, so he has already hedged his bets like most wealthy UMNOputras. All he will lose if riots break out will be his Bentley.

19. #19 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 9:38 pm

They only drafted the constitution because they were supposed to draft one, not because they needed one or intended to follow what was written. This applies to the RUKUNEGARA too!!!!!

Comments are closed.