Hindraf rally – excessive use of police force with firing of tear gas and water cannons

The excessive use of police force with the firing of tear gas and water cannons against the Hindraf gathering in Kuala Lumpur this morning to present a memorandum to the British High Commission is most high-handed, ham-fisted, undemocratic and a grave disservice not ony to the Malaysian Indian community but to Malaysia’s international reputation in wanting to be a first-world developed nation.

If the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had “walked the talk” of creating a Malaysia with “First World Infrastructure, First World Mentality”, today’s disgraceful display of excessive police force would not have happened.

Peaceful demonstrations and marches are common and accepted occurrences in First World developed nations which Malaysia aspires to become. As has been rightly pointed out recently, in Britain, Australia and other modern countries, when people wish to demonstrate, the police typically clear the way and make sure no one gets hurt. The streets belong to the people. And the police, like the politicians, are their servants. It is not the other way around as in Malaysia where the first reflex of the police and the government to any peaceful demonstration is to impose a ban and to fire tear gas and water cannons to deny Malaysians the fundamental right to a voice in national affairs.

During the world-wide anti-Iraq war demonstrations in late 2002, the Malaysian government had applauded mammoth peaceful demonstrations in the Western capitals, whether in London, Paris, Rome or Washington where crowds ranging from hundreds of thousands and even millions came out to peacefully voice their anti-war aspirations.

If the Police had issued a permit to Hindraf for their gathering to submit a memorandum to the British High Commission this morning, the whole incident would have ended in a peaceful, orderly and swift manner, which will not only be a credit to the police but to the nation’s international reputation as well.

This is a case where the Police has failed to make the important distinction between their role from that of their political masters in the Barisan Nasional.

The Barisan Nasional parties and leaders feel threatened by the Hindraf initiative, for it is a reflection of their failures in the past 50 years to accord justice, fair play and equality to the Malaysian Indians who have become the new underclass in the country as a result of relentless marginalization of their citizenship rights.

The Barisan Nasional parties and leaders have reason to feel threatened, but not the police, for the Hindraf peaceful gathering to the British High Commission was not a challenge to the Police and never posed a threat to peace and security.

The Police must demonstrate a “First World Mentality” of respecting peaceful marches and demonstrations as a norm for citizens of a would-be first-world nation to exercise their fundamental democratic rights.

They should be mindful of the Rukunegara objective to maintain a democratic way of life in Malaysia and abandon the “Third-World Mentality” of suppressing peaceful expression of legitimate opinion by the citizenry with tear gas, water cannons and excessive police force and instead transform themselves into allies for democracy by respecting the fundamental rights of Malaysians to peaceful marches and demonstrations while safeguarding law, order and security.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Count Dracula on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:24 am

To EARNEST

You are new here. Jeffry has been an indispensable contributor to this blog ever since Kit started it some years ago!

2. #2 by choonchoy on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:30 am

U nscrupulous
    M alicious
    N incompoop
    O ppressors

3. #3 by Man_of_Honour on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:38 am

Since when malaysian police force had been protecting rakyat?

I see a lot of them hiding behind trees while others busy manning road blocks on lonely streets. (Places where no accidents/crime occured). In Malaysia, polis only protect those who are in power. Whilst, they harm, threathen and bully the others. They should be called “Polis Politik Barisan National” rather than PDRM as they have no regards to the Royalty.

On the political side, under Tun Mahathir’s leadership, we’ve progressed very much. This I must agree. However, of course there are people who are displeased also. But who cares? Tun had delivered good results and managed to take care of its people.

Under AABadawi’s leadership, we see and hear lotsa talk, lotsa empty promises, lotsa fake hopes, lotsa media reports and many many more…, but sadly no constructive actions are taken. Having no actions might be a good idea. However, he chose unconstructive actions which lead Malaysia backwards in fast motions. People are suffering and now, and we’ve even lost our rights to demonstrate!

Zam said, Ma.. ma.. laysia is demokratic kauntry… bet he doesn’t even know the meaning of it. Obviously they don’t even know how to spell it correctly!

4. #4 by mwt on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 2:26 am

Many did not see the Al Jazeera interview with IGP at 4pm Sunday and his Shameful words “We allowed it” to hand over the petition! All protesters were saying & asking was “Give us a Chance to Hand in the Petition to British High Commission” – just an hour maybe. And what they got were tears and chemical water. It is most regrettable they were not given the chance to hand over the petition (was a copy faxed over?). And the gall of the IGP in the interview to say they were no leaders there to submit the petition.
    Read the shameful words of IGP: “we allowed it”

ALJazeera: Your officers were fairly effective in driving the protesters away from the British High Commission, do you think that had they been allowed to hand over the petition at the High C, this would have ended peacefully without any disturbance?

IGP: Well first of all we allowed it; but of course they got no leaders with them’ So we don’t know who wants to hand over the memorandum. And by the end of it the, leaders came, but later on they didn’t even hand over the memorandum to the British High Commission.
    More details, plus two Video Clips (Protest & interview) at
    Go H E R E

5. #5 by Godfather on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:52 am

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2005

Pordah !

6. #6 by dawsheng on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:18 am

Yesterday we witnessed how UMNO treated the Indians without any compassion. It is also clear that UMNO is not going to take the responsiblity for demolition of Indian temple, let alone helping to elevate them from poverty, and give them a future in their own country. Yesterday, the Indians in Malaysia was rob of their dignity, their status plunge to a level lower than second class citizen because in the Ketuanan Melayu ideology, there’s only masters and slaves, that is now a reality. As fellow Malaysians, we cannot let the Indians to fight this war alone.

7. #7 by sotong on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:29 am

There is a lack of confidence in the government to take proper care of this peaceful rally to protect participants and the general public.

Leaders said one thing, followers do the opposite – disorganise and lack of professionalism and discipline.

8. #8 by seaturtle on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:34 am

WHERE IS OUR BASIC RIGHT???

VOTE THEM OUT !!! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE

GET LOST BN !!!

9. #9 by seaturtle on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:38 am

KIT, We need more peaceful rally… maybe once a month until THEY know how to respect our right and respect us as a citizen of malaysia…

10. #10 by dawsheng on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:42 am

We cannot let our friends and family members robbed and rape by criminals and illegal immigrants every hour of the day. I hope all the opposition parties can unite as it is time for the largest public demonstration in the history of Malaysia. For those who thinks the ballot box can make the different, you have got the answer yesterday.

11. #11 by rasinblood on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:45 am

Good Morning,

It being awhile i never reply anythings, Seaturtle i strongy agree with you on the peaceful rally, Keep on preassure the goverment, COME ON !! LETS DO IT AGAIN !!! SELF-FISH Chinese business man stop looking at the NOW money and look out for the future for your CHILDREN SAKE!! dun repeat the mistake our fore father made. If the indians can be united waited early in the morning, we cant we DO IT ? WHY?

Get those oversea news to cover up, get interview over the news that, always see those cow brain get interview. saw musa interview? DOSA by lying those words infront of millions of viewer, what premit what goverment allow? There is no such thing if peaceful gathering allow with permit, it there will happen ” pig can climb up the tree ” and ” malaysia will hav the next pm to be a black or yellow skin ”

cheers

12. #12 by Bigjoe on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:04 am

I say, we should all count our blessings yesterday demonstration did not get worst.

Firstly, Hindraf should be congratulated for actually pulling it off and despite not getting into the British compound, the 8-hour with their speeches made most of the points needed. They put the issue up front and on the front pages of most global news organization.

Secondly, the police showed good judgement. I always says our police is not as pitiful as those who justify their corruption and failure to act. If under pressure, they can act and that is why the IPCMC with full power is non-negotiable..

Hindraf next move is logically in London, what should the PM do? – Get rid of Samy Vellu if you ask me…

13. #13 by k1980 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:23 am

Hindraf next move is logically in London, what should the PM do? Send the FRU and the water cannons to surround Buckingham Palace!
    Photos can be found aat:
    http://www.jeffooi.com/

14. #14 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:24 am

YB LKS says:
    “If the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had “walked the talk” of creating a Malaysia with “First World Infrastructure, First World Mentality”, today’s disgraceful display of excessive police force would not have happened.”

YB, a lame duck PM has no grace either in his walk or his talk.

15. #15 by assamlaksa on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:29 am

Kudos to Hindraf. The gathering did not cause any inconvenience to me and my friends but on other hand the police blocks along major roads and highways over the past few days caused hell lots of problems with cancellation of appointments, waste of time and resources due to the massive traffic jam all over the city.

The gathering despite the road blocks indicates the road blocks were ineffective. The road blocks is not an obstacle at all for the people to gather. The police could have deployed the road block for other meaningful duties such as going for illegal road races, snatch thieves, crime solving.

16. #16 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:18 am

“If the indians can be united waited early in the morning, we cant we DO IT ? WHY?” – rasinblood

Because the chinese in general will always without fail take that short term carrot dished out by BN.

1999 was the best opportunity for the Opposition. Because of the Anwar issue, the malays voted for the Opposition but what kept BN in power were the chinese votes. :)

1999 had come and gone. You lot had your opportunity.

17. #17 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:22 am

“KIT, We need more peaceful rally… maybe once a month until THEY know how to respect our right and respect us as a citizen of malaysia…” – seaturtle

Just a curious question here, did you attend that Nov 10 Bersih march and yesterday’s Hindraf’s event?

18. #18 by smeagroo on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:37 am

IF rallies need permits, then why cant ppl just gather at KLCC park every weekend dressed in their favorite color-themed shirt and lepak? NOt a crime rite?

19. #19 by HJ Angus on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:41 am

HINDRAF can become an important ally for the opposition parties in the next GE.
    But maybe get rid of the limited vision and work for ALL POOR Malaysians.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2007/11/hindraf-rally-possible-developments.html

20. #20 by Public Freedom on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 10:01 am

the chinese worry about well money for the most part…a lot of them becaue they have to pay for the kids college funds! and well the younger chinese ppl cares more about their new handphones and chinese pop music then politics

21. #21 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 10:17 am

“the chinese worry about well money for the most part…a lot of them becaue they have to pay for the kids college funds! and well the younger chinese ppl cares more about their new handphones and chinese pop music then politics” – Public Freedom

Spot on!!!

… and may I add colouring their hair, popping estacy pills & dreaming of making easy money.

22. #22 by megaman on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 10:22 am

I see posts asking when the Chinese would march …

In my own opinion, soon if the current conditions persist, if things continue to get worse.

But, when Chinese do march, it would means the country has already become a barren wasteland that can no longer sustain anyone.

This is probably the very nature of the Chinese community in Malaysia; entrenched political apathy, selfishness and resilience but when the Chinese themselves find it impossible to earn a simple living well that’s when they will march.

The Chinese should really march to show their solidarity with the other races and to air their grievances as well. But, under the current circumstances, do you really want the Chinese to march ?

23. #23 by oknyua on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 10:38 am

Megaman, this is exactly what would happen if the imbalance today is not addressed. The MCA is quite docile (good boy..sit, sit) and its past forms a dark cloud over it. And what about issues affected the Chinese?

Just an example: Why each year 12As, 15As Chinese SPM students are highlighted in the paper? Why? If 3As is an automatic scholarship for some, why overlook the 10, 11, 12As? And what about those that do not have access to the newspapers or the MCA or to any political party (like me)? I am compeltely forgotten. (Damned fool me, why don’t I join a political party?)

My prediction is that there are only 2 options left: We will continue to see marches, or we became another Myanmar where the elite few decide on the majority.

24. #24 by HJ Angus on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:23 am

Just to touch a little on why the Chinese do not get too involved in marches.

Perhaps it is their business approach to most problems.
    Just an example: Can’t get a crony contract?
    They find out who is in the line-up and then work out the Ali-baba deal.

They know that most cronies who get the sweetheart deals are not really interested in the tough work-out of the business and are prepared to pay a percentage fee to do the business.

As for those who get such manna from the top, why worry about business? There is more in the pipeline.

How’s the order coming along for my helicopter and that 5-carat diamond to woo that popular actress? Time to enjoy another wife, you know.

25. #25 by bennu chong on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:31 am

hi, this is my 1st reply in Yb Lim’s blog. Have been reading this blog for some time. I have a question to ask, how to join DAP or Keadilan? Am i free to join anytime or do i need to pass some requirements?

Im 22 this year, still studying in university.

thanks

26. #26 by vincew on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:55 am

Is is so sad to see Malaysia come to a time where street protest is required to show the world what is is happening here. All the media black out, story twisting and fact hiding by local channel has managed to force this to happen.
    No doubt this has been channel to most intelectual group of Malaysian but what about the others who have no access to internasional media. What do they know?
    It is surprising that more than 50% of Malaysian does not know what is happening to the country. Please let them know what is happening here and how the money of the people was spent buying the “SCREW DRIVER SET”, The “JACK”.

Please let this information be passed to all people from all race and religion. Let the people think about it and make a decision based on fact and not on “EMPTY” promises.

LET THE PEOPLE VOTE FOR A BETTER MALAYSIA!

27. #27 by St0rmFury on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:32 pm

Bennu, where do you stay? I’ll see if there’s any DAP service centres at your vicinity.

28. #28 by lakshy on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 2:04 pm

Hang on a second. Do you guys know that there was a crowd of around 30,000people at Batu Caves in the wee hours of the morning? Why were they attacked there? This is a religious month for Hindus and being in the temple should be acceptable.

Why did police fire tear gas at a peaceful crowd at a temple? The ban was applicable to Jalan Ampang? Why is the police action here not being looked at?

At 8:45am at Jalan Ampang, the crowds were told that they could march to the High Comm at 9am. At 9 am the police fired tear gas into the crowds. What is this? Deception?

There was lots of provocation by the police. I take my hats off to the indians for taking all of this and not getting violent.

It was a real thrill to watch the Indian crowds catching the tear gas canisters and throwing it back at the police. It was fun to watch the police run after tasting their own medicine.

Now which ruler allows his forces to use force against a peaceful crowd? Only thiefs and liars!

We dont need such politicians. All of us have a DUTY to get rid of them for the good of this country. Malaysian Politicians have a lot of maturing to do. Thankfully the rakyat has matured!

29. #29 by sotong on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:13 pm

Trying to find solutions around the bad, damaging and discriminative policies destroying the country will not resolve their community and country problems.

The government would not fully understand and realise the permanent and long term impact its failed and damaging policies had on the country and her ordinary people eg. NEP grossly exploited by political opportunists to enrich themselves at the great expense of the country.

30. #30 by shiver on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:21 pm

hi smeagroo,

i actually have a bone to pick with you. remember the toll protests earlier this year? you told someone (kopi37) i think that you are not interested in going to the jalan to protest. you claim it was a waste of time. i still remember, when kopi37 was busy asking people to join the toll protests, you said you not going.

now, you changed your tune to yes, i will be there and wanting to hantam the other chinaman who dont share your enthusiasm. i wanna ask you dear commentator, are you actually serious or are you one of those people here who are NATO? I hope that the past 10 months changed your mindset that the Govt should fear the PEOPLE and not the other way round.

i hope you will be brave enough if there is a call for the chinese community to walk the walk one of these days instead of being a tin kosong, making lots of noise, being embarassed about being a chinese and yet wont show your face when push comes to shove.

what you wrote ten months ago about having no point to walking the streets clearly shows that either you are one hypocritical person or you really see the need and the change in showing that you care for the country. I hope it is the latter.

31. #31 by shiver on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:30 pm

and yeah, everyone … just ignore real world.
    one tiny spec.
    he likes to come to a “opposition” blog and talk rubbish.
    hello, i notice there are many more people who is upset about the country, you can go out of the country watch chelsea play, or just continue to cut and paste people’s comment.

real world, i myself now dont give a flying f*** on what you wanna say because i have ignored your comments and i know most of the commentators here have.

which part of my writing are you gonna cut and paste now?

Unite Malaysians! UNITE!

32. #32 by St0rmFury on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:36 pm

Let’s just say there’s going to be another rally in the near future, I am planning to get some people (friends I made at the BERSIH rally) together to form a small group to control the tear gas. Instead of throwing the canisters back at the police, we are going to stuff them in plastic bags and seal it. That way, nobody gets hurt.

33. #33 by malaysiatoday.com on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:37 pm

HJ Angus Says:

November 26th, 2007 at 11: 23.05
    Just to touch a little on why the Chinese do not get too involved in marches.

Perhaps it is their business approach to most problems.
    Just an example: Can’t get a crony contract?
    They find out who is in the line-up and then work out the Ali-baba deal.

They know that most cronies who get the sweetheart deals are not really interested in the tough work-out of the business and are prepared to pay a percentage fee to do the business.

As for those who get such manna from the top, why worry about business? There is more in the pipeline.

How’s the order coming along for my helicopter and that 5-carat diamond to woo that popular actress? Time to enjoy another wife, you know

=============

I think you shall know my other handler, fearless in soc.culture.malaysia.

Don’t mistaken Chinese have no demostration culture. In recent history in Mainland China, the wind of change was from the student’s demostrations in the street.

Please be reminded that the majority of Malaysian chinese are not businessmen and rich people.

Alibaba type of business is not monopolized by Chinese, Indian businessmen also benefiting a lot from road construction, Telekom cabling, etc.

You are using a small number of Chinese businessmen to come to such a conclusion is a flaw in statistics.

34. #34 by St0rmFury on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:44 pm

I can vouch for malaysiatoday. A few months ago DAP organize a forum in support of Wee Meng Chee (Namewee). I was there and the crowd was HUGE. If so many people can unite together in support of one single individual, imagine how much will turn up in support of the country. When the time comes, you can bet the Malaysian Chinese will make their voices heard as well.

35. #35 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 4:26 pm

“real world, i myself now dont give a flying f*** on what you wanna say because i have ignored your comments and i know most of the commentators here have.” – shiver

If you dont give a flying f*** on what I say then why bother making such comments?? Dude, dont contradict yourself cos you end up looking like a mong.

Flying f*** …. gee such big word from a gimp.

36. #36 by shiver on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 4:49 pm

thats the one he cut and paste. loser.
    i wonder if he will go to a pro-BN website? obviously not cause he is a

L O S E R.

he calls other gimps? hahahahaha

P A T H E T I C L O S E R.

that is the reason why i have totally ignored him. whatever his nick is.

37. #37 by sj on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 4:58 pm

Instead of throwing the canisters back at the police, we are going to stuff them in plastic bags and seal it.

Dude, dont do that if you dont have a gas mask, and second of all, the tear gas canister is searing hot. So picking it up will sure to give you BBQ fingers of Malaysian. Yummy.

The more practical way would be using wet towels and wrap your face with it.

38. #38 by St0rmFury on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:07 pm

shiver, at the risk of sounding like a BN supporter, I am going to say that you are seriously starting to sound like Nazri. What did he call the people who disagreed with him? Pondan, monkey etc. What did you call people who disagreed with you? Loser, pathetic etc.

Look at yourself first before insulting others, you are not practicing what you preach. That goes for all of you people, me included. Ignore RealWorld if you want, but you don’t have to announce it for all to see.

As for you RealWorld, I’m fine with whatever you have to say as long as you don’t cross the line (I’m sure you know where the line is).

39. #39 by bennu chong on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:23 pm

Im currently staying at melaka,originally from sarawak.
    Im so happy that the opposition won 3/4 seats in previous state election. 3 by dap and 1 by keadilan. Im sure this time the opposition will get at least 40-50 seats compared to just 20 won in 2004 GE. But to deny BN 2/3 majority we need more than 70 seats.

40. #40 by bennu chong on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:24 pm

St0rmFury Says:

November 26th, 2007 at 13: 32.30
    Bennu, where do you stay? I’ll see if there’s any DAP service centres at your vicinity.

Thanks man i received their emails already.

Im currently staying at melaka,originally from sarawak.
    Im so happy that the opposition won 3/4 seats in previous state election. 3 by dap and 1 by keadilan. Im sure this time the opposition will get at least 40-50 seats compared to just 20 won in 2004 GE. But to deny BN 2/3 majority we need more than 70 seats.

41. #41 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:37 pm

“that is the reason why i have totally ignored him. whatever his nick is” – shiver

Is you are ignoring, why the tirade??
    Who is looking more pathetic now?

42. #42 by shiver on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:38 pm

hello storm fury.
    thanks for the reminder, will remember that next time if we ever meet. however, i am saying what i feel, with mongs and gimps included, as i dont understand the need for anyone who is blatantly here to irritate others and not because the person is here to want to know the truth or for that matter an alternative viewpoint, but just for the sake of antagonizing others into an empty discussion of whose daddy is stronger.

anyway, on your point, noted. coming on your point that Malaysian Chinese will unite when crunch time comes, i’m sceptical, but i still BELIEVE in the impossible, and I believe that there are Chinese Malaysians who loves Malaysia as much.

43. #43 by shiver on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:39 pm

real world – a tit for tat.

to me, you are still a loser.

44. #44 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:41 pm

Sorry, shiver … it should be, If you are ignoring, why the tirade?? :)

45. #45 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 6:05 pm

The only thing ‘Real’ in this ‘World’ in this context is that the “Hindraf rally – excessive use of police force with firing of tear gas and water cannons”.

People with the same flesh and blood were bullied, bruised and battered.
    People with the same intelligence and minds want to reclaim their voice.
    People whose grandparents came as rubber tappers today remain as rubber tappers; others have been deprived of opportunities and a fair share of the nation’s wealth and bounty.
    People who are denied land for places of worship.
    People who can’t understand why the government keeps building places for religious worship with taxpayers’ money for certain community and demolishes temples built by other communities with their private money.
    People who expect a place under the sun but are squattered in slums.
    People who feel denied, deceived and trapped in despair by thieves in suits.

People who pray that but for the grace of God they might be a new face of Al Qaeda here.

46. #46 by Toyol on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 6:40 pm

MIC is no longer relevant to the Indians like MCA is no longer relevant to the Chinese. Soon BN will implode…

47. #47 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 6:41 pm

Shakespeare teaches peace and harmony through his portrayal of the rift between Jews and Christians in the “Merchant of Venice”:

1. I am a Jew. Hath not a Jew eyes? Hath not a Jew hands, organs, dimensions, senses, affections, passions; fed with the same food, hurt with the same weapons, subject to the same diseases, healed by the same means, warmed and cooled by the same winter and summer as a Christian is? If you prick us do we not bleed? If you tickle us do we not laugh? If you poison us do we not die? And if you wrong us shall we not revenge? If we are like you in the rest, we will resemble you in that. If a Jew wrong a Christian, what is his humility? Revenge. If a Christian wrong a Jew, what should his sufferance be by Christian example? Why, revenge. The villainy you teach me I will execute, and it shall go hard but I will better the instruction.
    (III.i.49–61)

48. #48 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:06 pm

FROM ‘THE STAR’:

LIE NO.1 -
    “Musa said his men had also exercised restraint in all the other areas and only used water cannons and tear gas to disperse the crowd in some areas.”

LIE NO.2 -
    “There was no body contact at all. We made quite a number of arrests there (in the city) as well. ”

LIE NO.3 -
    “We would have negotiated with the leaders to have them hand over the memorandum but there was no leader in sight. ”

Hello IGP, if you had issued a permit, the whole thing would have been over in 1 hour. No bruises. No battery. No assault. No tear gas. No chemicals.

Hello, IGP, please resign!

49. #49 by malaysiatoday.com on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:04 pm

St0rmFury Says:

November 26th, 2007 at 15: 44.42
    I can vouch for malaysiatoday. A few months ago DAP organize a forum in support of Wee Meng Chee (Namewee). I was there and the crowd was HUGE. If so many people can unite together in support of one single individual, imagine how much will turn up in support of the country. When the time comes, you can bet the Malaysian Chinese will make their voices heard as well.

===============================================

Personally I disgree with “racist” approach used by Namewee. Chinese community was manipulated for his recording business venture. I am glad he failed to make money for his first album.

Hong Kong Chinese are labelled more money-minded than any Chinese, but one million HK Chinese (out 5 million plus) went to the street to protest 4 June 1998 Tiananmen SQ massacre.

Malaysian Chinese still not resorting to street demonstartions because they still can survive unlike many Indians. Anwar said it right, hindraf is a safety valve for releasing their angers.

If Malaysian UMNO and MIC politicians are still bullshitting as usual and ignore the real problem in Indian community, they better send a team of MPs to Sri Lanka to conduct a thorought study on the root causes of civil war in Sri Lanka.

50. #50 by goldenscreen on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:13 pm

The Star report that the “demonstrators forcing open the locked gates and breaking temple property”. Hello, the Hindus destroy their own temple? I don’t think so..the pathetic Star better look for a better excuse..the only people who love to destroy temples are our FRU and local council demolition squads. And didn’t The Star know that yesterday was also a Hindu religious festival?

Of course if you watched the Channel News Asia coverage of the protests at Batu Caves, you can clearly see the protesters marching out from the main gate peacefully and stopped in front of the FRU while chanting slogans, then the FRU violently pushed the people back into the temple with some FRU personnel seen using their shield to hit the protesters. They were lucky when pushing the protesters back didn’t nearly cause a stampede. All this was caught on video camera by an international news organization but mysteriously seemed to have slipped from the attention of Star, NST etc.

Furthermore, Musa said that “there was no body contact at all”. I have reviewed hundreds of photos and videos and clearly there were violent reactions by the police eg. a photo showing a bloodied Indian dragged away by police, videos showing police dragging a protester along the floor and another video showing police kicking at another protester while he was already pinned down by 3 other cops, video and photos of protesters who were directly hit by tear gas canisters on their body and face (with the police deliberately firing tear gas directly at the people).

Musa also said “police did not use any force, nor did they fire water cannons and tear gas at the crowd” in Batu Caves. Using the shield to hit people is not force? There was one direct hit between the shield and a protesters head, with the protester seen falling back! See the photos at Jeff Ooi’s blog and decide for yourself whether police did or did not fire cannons and tear gas into Batu Caves. (Link : http://www.jeffooi.com/2007/11/hindraf_rally_ethnic_minority_1.php#more)

Under the headline, “Traffic webcams broadcast rally”, The Star acknowledge that the traffic cameras could be used to watch the protest live. I saw it on the camera from 6.30am to 11.30am. As early as 7.00am people were gathering peacefully in KLCC, with many seen sitting on the ground. Without warning, police fired tear gas at the peaceful gathering. At other times also in KLCC/Conlay and Jalan Ampang, the FRU can be seen as the aggressors in attacking the peaceful crowd time and time again. The irony is this could be watched from the cameras and yet The Star can pretend that it is the protesters who provoked the police?

Many many videos show ordinary people voicing their very real anger at the government. Where were The Star’s so-called reporters? Yeah, forgot they were hiding behind the FRU comfortably. (that is until the protester’s threw back the tear gas at the police).

Comments are closed.