Hindraf rally – excessive use of police force with firing of tear gas and water cannons

The excessive use of police force with the firing of tear gas and water cannons against the Hindraf gathering in Kuala Lumpur this morning to present a memorandum to the British High Commission is most high-handed, ham-fisted, undemocratic and a grave disservice not ony to the Malaysian Indian community but to Malaysia’s international reputation in wanting to be a first-world developed nation.

If the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had “walked the talk” of creating a Malaysia with “First World Infrastructure, First World Mentality”, today’s disgraceful display of excessive police force would not have happened.

Peaceful demonstrations and marches are common and accepted occurrences in First World developed nations which Malaysia aspires to become. As has been rightly pointed out recently, in Britain, Australia and other modern countries, when people wish to demonstrate, the police typically clear the way and make sure no one gets hurt. The streets belong to the people. And the police, like the politicians, are their servants. It is not the other way around as in Malaysia where the first reflex of the police and the government to any peaceful demonstration is to impose a ban and to fire tear gas and water cannons to deny Malaysians the fundamental right to a voice in national affairs.

During the world-wide anti-Iraq war demonstrations in late 2002, the Malaysian government had applauded mammoth peaceful demonstrations in the Western capitals, whether in London, Paris, Rome or Washington where crowds ranging from hundreds of thousands and even millions came out to peacefully voice their anti-war aspirations.

If the Police had issued a permit to Hindraf for their gathering to submit a memorandum to the British High Commission this morning, the whole incident would have ended in a peaceful, orderly and swift manner, which will not only be a credit to the police but to the nation’s international reputation as well.

This is a case where the Police has failed to make the important distinction between their role from that of their political masters in the Barisan Nasional.

The Barisan Nasional parties and leaders feel threatened by the Hindraf initiative, for it is a reflection of their failures in the past 50 years to accord justice, fair play and equality to the Malaysian Indians who have become the new underclass in the country as a result of relentless marginalization of their citizenship rights.

The Barisan Nasional parties and leaders have reason to feel threatened, but not the police, for the Hindraf peaceful gathering to the British High Commission was not a challenge to the Police and never posed a threat to peace and security.

The Police must demonstrate a “First World Mentality” of respecting peaceful marches and demonstrations as a norm for citizens of a would-be first-world nation to exercise their fundamental democratic rights.

They should be mindful of the Rukunegara objective to maintain a democratic way of life in Malaysia and abandon the “Third-World Mentality” of suppressing peaceful expression of legitimate opinion by the citizenry with tear gas, water cannons and excessive police force and instead transform themselves into allies for democracy by respecting the fundamental rights of Malaysians to peaceful marches and demonstrations while safeguarding law, order and security.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Ms. Chindian on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 12:41 pm

If government have nothing to hide, tjhey should be more transparent and allow peaceful rallies like the bersih and hindraf rallies. It is very obvious that indians are not getting right treatment.
    Look up policewatchmalaysia.com
    Kudos to Hindraf for bringing up this rally and opening our fellow malaysians’ eyes.

2. #2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 12:47 pm

The Police has no business to treat citizens on a peaceful demonstration with such a contemptuous and ugly display of force.

What danger does Hindraf pose? How has Hindraf threatened civil society other than bringing shame on a shameless Malaysian government?

The IGP must take responsibility for this and the previous ‘attack’ on peaceful demonstrators. The IGP must resign. The PM must demand his resignation. There is no two way about this!

The police is tasked with the enforcement of law and order, not to incite hatred & provoke peaceful crowds to react against such a naked display of abusive force.

3. #3 by budak on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 12:55 pm

time to change Gov…
    the country seem own by UMNO not the RAKYAT of Malaysia…
    our country being rape by BN (so called leader) for 50 years…
    what do we get… our Constitutional isn’t work anymore…
    time to march to Royal Palace in each state to beg our Sultan…
    to restore its Rakyat rights…

4. #4 by LittleBird on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 1:00 pm

Ahhhhh……… insignificant number of voters. No big deal.

5. #5 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 1:05 pm

Besides, Hindraf is seeking via a US$4 trillion (�2.7 trillion) lawsuit filed by the Hindu group in London and demanding that Britain compensate Malaysian Indians for bringing their ancestors here as “indentured laborers” and exploiting them.

The Malaysian government cannot afford to pay such a compensation! This will be a huge boost to the Malaysian economy.
    So why not Pak Lah? After all, Malaysian economy has been stagnating, if not retrogressing? Let the rich British taxpayer pay for poor Malaysians, especially the depressed Indians.

After this, the Chinese may be able to do the same thing & seek compensation too for bringing us here and the Chinese are second-class citizens as well, or aren’t they? Even MCA & Gerakan are second-class!

6. #6 by Libra2 on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 1:14 pm

“The streets belong to the people.” says Kit.

Unfortunately,in this country nothing belongs to the people. Everything belongs to UMNO – the Executive, Legislature, Judiciary, Civilc service, Police, Education and the taxes we pay. Even the right to corruption belongs to UMNO.
    In this country the government and the people are two different entities. The governments thinks it own the people and their rights.
    It looks upon its people with contempt.
    The ill will created by the Government and the Police against the rally is going to turn the Indians, irrevocable against the government, – even moderates – for years to com.
    It will take years to repair this damage.

7. #7 by adleraugen on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 1:22 pm

The real reason for the govt opposition to the Hindraf rally is racial politics. UMNO govt NEP cannot accomodate 2 million Indian millionaires.

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 1:23 pm

9. #9 by Libra2 on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 1:29 pm

The problem is , we have a Roving PM, who oversees the country’s affairs by remote control. When he is back, he sleeps.

10. #10 by UzMiNoOnist on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 1:44 pm

Malaysia has always championed for the minority, particularly the Palestinian who are been treated badly by Zionist of the Middle East. But through this episode, UMNO is proving themselves to be the Zionist of the East.

11. #11 by shaolin on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:05 pm

Malay-sia Government and the Police Force hand n hand
    raped Democracy!! ‘The streets belong to the People’ does
    Not exist in Malay-sia, not to mention to be the 1st World
    country…!!

AAB Administration does not even know what Democracy
    means…??!! Only people with bird brains Will over-react
    and make situations complicated and treat protestors with
    contempt!!

Only Big Monkeys Will mess up such situations…!! Idiots
    wake up!! The Peoples’ power Will overcome The Stupid
    Government run by people with pea-sized brains!!

12. #12 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:16 pm

When KHAIRY JAMALUDDIN(son of prime minister) led an illegal street demonstration to hand over ‘a memorandum’ to Condoleeza Rice, there were no tear gas or water canons used..

So why double standard?

In this country how you would be treated would depend on your:

1. race
    2.religion
    3. connection with the UMNO/Barisan Nasional..

Many position in government and Public university are reserved for persons who are ‘the right race, right religion or connection with UMNO’ .

e.g. FINANCE MINISTER, PRIME MINISTER, DEPUTY MINISTER, defence minister, HOME MINISTER, EDUCATION MINISTER, STATE SECRETARY( IN CONDOLEEZA RICE IS A MALAYSIAN, SHE IS ALSO NOT QUALIFIED DUE TO WRONG RACE, WRONG RELIGION AND WRONG SKIN COLOUR)…… AND VICE CHANCELLORS OF PUBLIC UNIVERSITIES…….the proof? please refer to history (HISTORY NEVER LIES, EXCEPT SOME MODIFIED HISTORY LIKE the MAY 13TH INCIDENT)

13. #13 by negarawan on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:22 pm

The UMNO-based government wants the people to serve its corrupted and racist “leaders” and be slaves to them. In a democracy, the government serve the people. We need more international exposure of the crimes and wrongdoings of UMNO corrupted and racist “leaders”. If South Africa can defeat Apartheid, so can the people of Malaysia. If Australia’s opposition can win the election, so can Malaysia’s opposition. All of the “channels” in Malaysia have been used to voice issues and grouses to no avail due to the autocratic and corrupted rule of UMNO. WE need PEOPLE and international power to overthrow corrupted UMNO and BN.

14. #14 by AhPek on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:24 pm

A fair estimate of Indian population is 2 million.Out of this 2 million a fair guess is 600000 will be voters for the coming election.According to the past trend a consistent 95% of indian votes will be delivered by [deleted] Semi Velu, in other words he will be delivering to Bodohwi 570000 votes for the coming GE before this big gathering at the British High Commission today.Now instead of going to MIC, these votes will turn around in favour of opposition parties! This is the biggest threat to Bodohwi and my guess is under this new circumstances he will be comtemplating going to full term — the Anwar and turbulent external economic coming in to hit the shore of Malaysia will not be the determining factor!
    MY 1 million dollar question now is will the Chinese voters reverse their voting pattern to the direction of the opposition and give the opposition a thumping success this time? Honestly this has been 50 years late in coming!!

15. #15 by Godfather on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:25 pm

Standard Gestapo tactics masterminded by Taxi Nazri and Zainuddeen “Goebbels” Maideen. Tomorrow, the papers will talk about unruly crowds and admirable restraint on the part of the Police.

The rakyat must not be cowed. The Police must be taught that they serve the people, and that they must not employ intimidatory tactics.

CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG !

16. #16 by AhPek on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:27 pm

correction–”…………………a consistent 95% of indian votes are delivered to BN by [deleted] SEMI VELU………..”.

17. #17 by pwcheng on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:29 pm

Next the Chinese must make a move to pressure the UM NO government relentlessly and not just take it by sitting down in their comfort zone. This is the right time and the timing is crucial for the world can now witness how widespread is injustice in Malaysia under UM NO, and aparteid in South Africa re enacted in Malaysia today and could be worse in time to come if we do not get the international community to help. The non-Bumis are helpless as they are having the judiciary, police, election commission and all other government related bodies like the local councils under their control, The latter are not elected but are all UM NO controlled and are corrupted to th heels and will do anything to please their master for political advantage.

18. #18 by Jefus on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:33 pm

The next trip AAB makes overseas, AAB knows that the other head of state would have been briefed by their people about what is going on in Malaysia. And the briefing would be in the light of their country’s interests and NOT for Malaysia. Not for investing, unstable country.

The next time AAB speaks about democracy, in a global conference, all those within earshot will have pictures of anti riot police chasing unarmed citizens of Malaysia in their minds, spraying chemicals, teargas and baton charged.

The next time AAB/ Forengn Affairs Minister speak about rights, equality, in any global gallery, there will be sneers. Gentlemen, you have brought it upon yourselves.

You can muzzle what is being in the local media, you cannot muzzle the world. And the world of pretense that you live in is giving way to reality – how you play your cards, will determine your politcal relevance.

19. #19 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:40 pm

The Barisan Nasional parties and leaders have reason to feel threatened, but not the police…

Hello, I don’t think so. In this country everything is centered on race and Malay dominance. Wise up, and look at the racial composition of the police. I must say that almost every institution of government in the country today is an extension of UNMO power. Today, the Malaysian Indians have finally awakened to the reality. It is also a manifestation of the complete failure of MIC in the BN. The issue is never just the demolishment of Hindu temple. It is their sense of deprivation and continued marginalization.

20. #20 by Ms. Chindian on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:41 pm

Samy Velu should resign. What and how much he has done for Malaysian Indians?
    BN shoudn’t rule Malaysia. They talk about muhibbah. But look at them. They even discremaminate themselves into UMNO MCA MIC. For what? Show the rakyat you can work under 1 component BN!
    Dear polis people, we pay taxes. The streets belong to us. Stay back

21. #21 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:41 pm

Next the Chinese must make a move to pressure the UM NO government relentlessly and not just take it by sitting down in their comfort zone.

Are MCA and Gerakan doing any better? Well, their time has not come yet. The Chinese are relatively wealthier and economic mobility higher. Many have chosen the easier path to run (to migrate) than to fight. But there will come a time when many have no where to go and yet feel the sense of helplessness. So MCA and Gerakan, please wake up. For once do something honorable. Don’t be a spineless soul losing all dignity just to hold on to some meaningless positions in Government. Demand our rights and equality and if you can’t achieve that, resign en-bloc. Based on the present scheme of arrangement, frankly it does not matter anymore whether you guys are in the government or otherwise.

22. #22 by Boneka on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:42 pm

Bravo, guys Bravo! You guys are great. It goes to show that no amount of (government) threats to arrest all demonstrators, Road Blocks (to prevent probable demonstrators), arrests of leaders (on the eve of the date), could prevent THE SHOW OF LEGITIMATE DISSATISFACTION OF THE INDIANS IN OUR COUNTRY. The police should be ashamed of themselves. Instead of using extreme force to disperse the demonstrators, they could have provided security and shown maturity by allowing the leaders of the Rally to hand deliver their Petition to the British High Commision? IT IS A SHAME THAT THEY (THE POLICE) COULD NOT ENVISAGE A SITUATION WHEREIN THE RALLY COULD HAVE BEEN PEACEFUL. Even with their use of extreme force against the demonstrators they did not turn unruly. This goes to show their real intention. I hope the government REALISES THAT IT CANNOT STOP AFFECTED AND DISCRIMINATED CITIZENS FROM SHOWING THEIR ANGER. I hope this would open its eyes to address the problems faced by US THE iNDIAN COMMUNITY.

23. #23 by Libra2 on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:46 pm

The entire riot police force was moblized since thursday. road blocks caused misery to millions of motorists. yet the end result of all these is zero. the people won. they defeated the police and the government.
    Its the indian spirit versus an indecent and immoral government.

24. #24 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:48 pm

Samy Velu should resign. What and how much he has done for Malaysian Indians? chindian

It is more than Samy Velu should resign.
    The number of cabinet posts has increased from around 26 to more than 30 now. Has the number of MCA, Gerakan and MIC representation increased? That itself is a dilution. What more you people have positions but with no authority. The MCA president, the most senior partner in BN from MCA is the Minister of Housing and Local Governments but has no oversights over housing or local authorities. The Minister of Transport has no authority over issuance of taxi, bus and lorry permits, never mind that all transportation projects are decided by PM and Nawawi. The Minister of Human Resource has no authority over foreign worker permits. The Minister Health has no power to dismantle “rent seeking” medical supplies. The Chief Minister of Penang today can’t even decide who should be the State Secretary or State Financial Officer. As for the MIC President, it must be an insult to our intelligence that he is the one who dishes out all the toll concessions and decides on all the toll rates.

25. #25 by mats on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:50 pm

bravehearts all the supporters of the force-hail hinduism!about time the indians start standing up to the rights of the indians.the world is now noticing us though the goverment is not.people in sabah n sarawak are long critical of people here whom they accuse of being polarized.so now the world is seeing the same illtreatment met out the palestinians,the sri lankan tamils,to people of pakistan is so far quietly happening here in malaysia.NOT ANYMORE!indians have started to rise and its not going to end.calling on ALL INDIANS OF ALL RELIGIONS-COME FORWARD AND PROTEST.its about indians-not tamils,telugus,malayalees,nothern indians,punjabis or gujaratis n sindhis.INDIANS!engineers,doctors,lawyers,teachers,policemen,soldiers,judges,nurses,shopkeepers,everybody come forward.KEEP PUSHING.

the other nonmalays like the chinese,iban,kadazans,all orang aslis come forward too.swing the vote this time for the opposition.50 years due.its everybody’s fight.everybody’s benefit these bravehearts went through today.

cnn,bbc,aljzeera,yahoo news,the hindu everywhere the news is out.BN has lost a big propaganda battle.PM boasts about censoring Pakistan,look in your own backyard,PM.WHAT DID DR.M SAY? rotten goverment.truly spoken.

26. #26 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:07 pm

Fu Ah Kiow, Deputy Minister for Internal Security, was quoted as saying the government might even invoke the draconian Internal Security Act if national security was at stake, although that would be a last resort.

This is what i meant by spineless soul, more so you are a Chinese Malaysian. Hello, Ah Kiow, if you can’t fight, let others who can do so.

27. #27 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:08 pm

“We don’t support street demonstrations,” said S. Samy Vellu, leader of the country’s main Indian ruling political
    party. “This is an opposition ploy to smear the government’s name.”

Ya, Semi, you are right, which means you are WRONG

28. #28 by lakshy on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:08 pm

Police used excessive force. In fact when the rally was peaceful, the cop on the ground should have made a decision to allow the rally to submit their memorandum and disperse. But their arrogance did not permit them to do so.

The police have failed the citizens.

I hope this results in the defeat of both Bodowi and Semi Value.

29. #29 by pwcheng on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:08 pm

limkamput Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 14: 48.33

I fully agree with you. That was exactly what I had written one or two months ago on the issue of “Power Sharing”. I can see it, you can see it, but we are not sure of whether MCA and Gerakan can see it!!

30. #30 by siudidi on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:17 pm

What do you expect from a bunch of pretentious hypocrites who always fight in the name of ISLAM? Malaysia does not need demonstrations to change, it takes an military invasion to do that.

31. #31 by malaysiatoday.com on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:17 pm

Water cannons and tear gas instead of twin towers soon to a symbol of Malaysia.

See videos and photos at http://www.malaysiatoday.com

MIC MP is no better than Zainuddin in his interview with Al Jazeera TV.

He twisted his tougue to say the rally is legal, but cannot explain why the police was acting violently against Indian marchers.

32. #32 by Jong on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:23 pm

limkamput, you said:

“I want the MCA, Gerakan and MIC to touch their hearts today and tell us in what way you are different.”

- Well said, thank you. It touched my heart. I hope those leopards will change their spots.

It sickened my today to watch and listen to one MIC idot – SK Devamany of Cameron Highlands, Pahang on Aljazeera. The Aljazeera interviewer was aghast when Devamany’s remarked “….the type of people who came to demonstrate….”. What type, if not his type then which type? He then avoided the question. What a shame we have these ampu bodeks, the umno dogs running around in MIC!

Regime change is next!

33. #33 by messy on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:25 pm

damn it…i can’t believe the police just killed a 20 year-old…
    istead of protecting the people they are harming the people…
    it’s a total irony…it was suppose to be a peaceful march…
    but all thanks to the police it became ugly…

can BN and UMNO read P E A C E F U L…
    damn the MPs…

if the police had first approved the rally then it’ll be a simple safe and sound rally…

the death of the 20 year-old is in the police’s hands, BN, and UMNO…

they are the murders of Malaysia, the Indians, the Chinese and the Malays…

[The death of a 20-year old has been denied by the Police, as reported by New Straits Times on "Inflammatory entries" on Monday 26.11.07 as follows:

"KUALA LUMPUR: Even before the protesters dispersed, a website linked to P. Uthayakumar posted inflammatory entries alleging racial attacks on Indians.

The Police Watch Malaysia website alleged that an Indian boy was murdered in Lebuh Ampang during the rally and that earlier yesterday a gang had burnt a bus and 20 motorcycles outside a temple in Batu Caves.

"It also alleged police brutality against Indians connected with the rally.

"In response to questions from the New Straits Times, seeking to verify the claims made on the website, Uthayakumar said: "We received unconfirmed information on those incidents and decided to post it on the website. We want police to investigate the incidents."

"Checks showed no report of murders during the rally. It was also ascertained that the burning of a bus in Batu Caves at 2am yesterday, mentioned on the website, was the work of protesters retaliating after police ordered them to disperse."

- Admin]

34. #34 by izrafeil on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:26 pm

I S L A M H A D H A R Y V H I N D R A F r o u n d 1

35. #35 by oknyua on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:27 pm

YB Lim,

By now all the smart guys in the administration would have seen the progression of events. Hindraf attracts protesters because racial imbalance continued unaddressed. In Felda, settlers have been given the rights to the land they worked in. Many are rich, some even millionaires. But we don’t see such thing in the Indian dorminated estates. The Indians continue to be marginalised.

There is no need for a professor to analyse as to why Hindraf protested. People are basically amicable. But if consultation is not heard, a silent protest would result. If silent protest is ignored, we have people in the streets as now.

Similarly, the recent BERSIH and Lawyers’ rallies were the result of being ignored. Each time a revision of electoral rules were called, the administration claimed it to be a “opposition gimick.” When the bar council called for a cleanup in the judiciary, every one in the legal authority claimed it was unneccesary. In both cases, interested groups took to the streets.

The frustration has now extended to many issues. The high level of corruption in the government and the ineffective NEP – enriching the rich and connected, are two big issues that the government failed to address. Would people take to the streets against these? Would threats and the use of ISA, water canons, FRU wipe out corruption? Can Ministers Fu AK and Johari answer this?

36. #36 by izrafeil on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:27 pm

i think i want to change … r

37. #37 by AsIseeit on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:28 pm

It is a sad day that the police started the violence according to reports; the police began shooting water cannons and tear-gas as early as 7.30 am and then later at 9.30 am.

Sorry to say the police has used the wrong way to solve an issue which really is a non-issue in the first place if the peaceful rally was not disturbed by the police.

The danger ahead may be that violence can begat violence. when people who are marginalised feel that they have nothing to lose and are in fact quite fed-up, get to the streets.

What if more peaceful demonstrations are held in the future?
    I won’t be surprised if that happens.

38. #38 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:38 pm

police (mainly Malays, using weapons) against Indians (emptied hands)

39. #39 by lauwengsan on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 4:03 pm

I attended the Hindraf rally this morning and this is the day I feel ashamed to be a Malaysian to see how cruel and violent Malaysian Police treating their masters.

I will upload more videos and photos in YouTube. You can see some very violent act against some of our Indian friends. A Malay plain cloth pointed a finger at normal Indians walking on the street and shouted “bodoh”.

When the Indians rushed to a nearby Mamak restaurant to have their meals and drinks, the police rushed into the restaurant like samseng and dragged all the Indians out.

Are they police or samseng?

You will never be able to differentiate!

Somebody must be answerable to all these violences from the men in blue.

40. #40 by RealWorld on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 4:15 pm

“The rakyat must not be cowed. The Police must be taught that they serve the people, and that they must not employ intimidatory tactics.” – Godfather

Dude, you have the rhetorics and all. But do you walk your talk?? Were you there this morning to support Hindraf?

41. #41 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 4:24 pm

2 demos in a month and so far all the authorities have achieved is to alienate a large portion of the populace and given us some notoriety on the world stage thanks to al Jareera.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2007/11/working-within-flawed-system.html

42. #42 by k1980 on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 4:39 pm

If Australia can throw out John Howard and his gang, so can Malaysia do the same to Abtullah & co

43. #43 by pwcheng on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 4:50 pm

k1980 Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 16: 39.52

Australia has fair and free election. Do Malaysia has the same? Far away from that and anybody who thinks that we can throw out UMNO through he ballot boxes are just naive.
    We have to systemetically disband the dirty tactics of UM NO before we can even think of depriving them of the two third majority.
    “DIRTY” is the only word you can use to describe them. DIRTY party with DIRTY leaders

44. #44 by zack on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 4:59 pm

i don’t get it … does it mean that when their wishes are granted by the BRitish .. will they then move to India? Why are we denying that we are here due to destiny? The events in that period that brought all of us here..Chinese, India and Indonesia were our destiny..just like the slaves in American …. its part and parcel of how God work ….

45. #45 by mendela on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 5:03 pm

Let me tell the world a simple fact: This UMO-led Government is scare, very scare now!

It is very fragile too!

Only Marcos and other corrupted Governments would treat its citizens with tear gas and water cannon so easily!

This Government is panic, extremely panic now.

Bodowi and cronies, pls get ready all the monies you have stolen and ready to run to Hawaii, just like Marcos did!

46. #46 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 5:48 pm

IGP Musa Hassan sounded like a stupid fool (much like a PMR dropout!) on Aljazeera news with his flawed logic & ridiculous replies!

He said the gathering was illegal. Who made it illegal? UMNO.
    He said there were fears of racial and religious strife? Whose fears? UMNO again!

The other races in Malaysia have no problems. The Indians have a democratic right to voice their dissent & make their demands to the British government. Whether or not it is senseless is for the British government and the English courts to decide, not the Malaysian government! Maybe the British government may wish to resettle all Malaysian Indians in Britain. Is that a problem for UMNO? Is handing a memo to the British High Commisison a problem for UMNO or Malaysia? I cannot for the life of me understand what security risks there may be for the police to brutalise the peaceful demonstrators! Why, for instance, should 5 or 6 burly policemen drag a helpless demonstrator along the road (and I saw one on Aljazeera news). Really bad for Malaysian police! Why cannons? Why tear gas? The marchers were prepared to disperse after handling over the memo. This is the kind of dilemma we will always face. This is what happpens when the Police force have little brains and use lesser still in damage control!

Many of my Malay friends have no problems if the Indians want to shout themselves hoarse in front of the British High Commission. The only party that is upset is UMNO. (What about MIC? That’s more like a subset of UMNO).

Why should UMNO be upset? Cannot for the life of me understand UMNO’s logic and UMNO principles. Never had. Never will. Some say it has something to do with pea-sized brains!

47. #47 by taikohtai on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 6:03 pm

In his victory speech after his emphatic win over John Howard’s Coalition party, Kevin Rudd said:
    “I want to put aside the old battles of the past … between business and unions … growth and environment … federal and state … public and private … “It’s time for a new page to be written in our nation’s history”…….

Meanwhile, Malaysia continues to be embroiled in most childish behavior in every aspect of governance. The latest episode of more water cannons and tear gases confirms that the mentality of the 50 year old gomen with attached umbilical cords has gone backwards and barbaric too.

48. #48 by malaysiatoday.com on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 6:13 pm

In past history has proven that any dictator using violence to crush demands from rakyat failed miserably.

Anyone says demo is not a local political culture, let examine how UMNO topple Malayan Union in 50s?

UMNO was using demostrations to voice out their demands to British colonial government.

Why demo was suddenly not a local culture after independence?

49. #49 by sj on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 6:24 pm

Bodowi and cronies, pls get ready all the monies you have stolen and ready to run to Hawaii, just like Marcos did!

If they manage to run away like that, that means Malaysian has already failed. This people must be arrested, and not allowed to run with the country’s money. Otherwise it will just be another Thaksin, where the corrupted escaped unpunished.

50. #50 by kslaw70 on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 6:25 pm

Aiyoh yoh yoh Samy. what are u doing when your own race are suffering ?

Dont point finger at opposition when your own race going against u as they know u can fight for their welfare.

Pls vote out the BN.

1 2 3 4

Comments are closed.