Hindraf rally – excessive use of police force with firing of tear gas and water cannons

The excessive use of police force with the firing of tear gas and water cannons against the Hindraf gathering in Kuala Lumpur this morning to present a memorandum to the British High Commission is most high-handed, ham-fisted, undemocratic and a grave disservice not ony to the Malaysian Indian community but to Malaysia’s international reputation in wanting to be a first-world developed nation.

If the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had “walked the talk” of creating a Malaysia with “First World Infrastructure, First World Mentality”, today’s disgraceful display of excessive police force would not have happened.

Peaceful demonstrations and marches are common and accepted occurrences in First World developed nations which Malaysia aspires to become. As has been rightly pointed out recently, in Britain, Australia and other modern countries, when people wish to demonstrate, the police typically clear the way and make sure no one gets hurt. The streets belong to the people. And the police, like the politicians, are their servants. It is not the other way around as in Malaysia where the first reflex of the police and the government to any peaceful demonstration is to impose a ban and to fire tear gas and water cannons to deny Malaysians the fundamental right to a voice in national affairs.

During the world-wide anti-Iraq war demonstrations in late 2002, the Malaysian government had applauded mammoth peaceful demonstrations in the Western capitals, whether in London, Paris, Rome or Washington where crowds ranging from hundreds of thousands and even millions came out to peacefully voice their anti-war aspirations.

If the Police had issued a permit to Hindraf for their gathering to submit a memorandum to the British High Commission this morning, the whole incident would have ended in a peaceful, orderly and swift manner, which will not only be a credit to the police but to the nation’s international reputation as well.

This is a case where the Police has failed to make the important distinction between their role from that of their political masters in the Barisan Nasional.

The Barisan Nasional parties and leaders feel threatened by the Hindraf initiative, for it is a reflection of their failures in the past 50 years to accord justice, fair play and equality to the Malaysian Indians who have become the new underclass in the country as a result of relentless marginalization of their citizenship rights.

The Barisan Nasional parties and leaders have reason to feel threatened, but not the police, for the Hindraf peaceful gathering to the British High Commission was not a challenge to the Police and never posed a threat to peace and security.

The Police must demonstrate a “First World Mentality” of respecting peaceful marches and demonstrations as a norm for citizens of a would-be first-world nation to exercise their fundamental democratic rights.

They should be mindful of the Rukunegara objective to maintain a democratic way of life in Malaysia and abandon the “Third-World Mentality” of suppressing peaceful expression of legitimate opinion by the citizenry with tear gas, water cannons and excessive police force and instead transform themselves into allies for democracy by respecting the fundamental rights of Malaysians to peaceful marches and demonstrations while safeguarding law, order and security.

1. #1 by Ms. Chindian on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 12:41 pm

If government have nothing to hide, tjhey should be more transparent and allow peaceful rallies like the bersih and hindraf rallies. It is very obvious that indians are not getting right treatment.
    Look up policewatchmalaysia.com
    Kudos to Hindraf for bringing up this rally and opening our fellow malaysians’ eyes.

2. #2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 12:47 pm

The Police has no business to treat citizens on a peaceful demonstration with such a contemptuous and ugly display of force.

What danger does Hindraf pose? How has Hindraf threatened civil society other than bringing shame on a shameless Malaysian government?

The IGP must take responsibility for this and the previous ‘attack’ on peaceful demonstrators. The IGP must resign. The PM must demand his resignation. There is no two way about this!

The police is tasked with the enforcement of law and order, not to incite hatred & provoke peaceful crowds to react against such a naked display of abusive force.

3. #3 by budak on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 12:55 pm

time to change Gov…
    the country seem own by UMNO not the RAKYAT of Malaysia…
    our country being rape by BN (so called leader) for 50 years…
    what do we get… our Constitutional isn’t work anymore…
    time to march to Royal Palace in each state to beg our Sultan…
    to restore its Rakyat rights…

4. #4 by LittleBird on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 1:00 pm

Ahhhhh……… insignificant number of voters. No big deal.

5. #5 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 1:05 pm

Besides, Hindraf is seeking via a US$4 trillion (�2.7 trillion) lawsuit filed by the Hindu group in London and demanding that Britain compensate Malaysian Indians for bringing their ancestors here as “indentured laborers” and exploiting them.

The Malaysian government cannot afford to pay such a compensation! This will be a huge boost to the Malaysian economy.
    So why not Pak Lah? After all, Malaysian economy has been stagnating, if not retrogressing? Let the rich British taxpayer pay for poor Malaysians, especially the depressed Indians.

After this, the Chinese may be able to do the same thing & seek compensation too for bringing us here and the Chinese are second-class citizens as well, or aren’t they? Even MCA & Gerakan are second-class!

6. #6 by Libra2 on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 1:14 pm

“The streets belong to the people.” says Kit.

Unfortunately,in this country nothing belongs to the people. Everything belongs to UMNO – the Executive, Legislature, Judiciary, Civilc service, Police, Education and the taxes we pay. Even the right to corruption belongs to UMNO.
    In this country the government and the people are two different entities. The governments thinks it own the people and their rights.
    It looks upon its people with contempt.
    The ill will created by the Government and the Police against the rally is going to turn the Indians, irrevocable against the government, – even moderates – for years to com.
    It will take years to repair this damage.

7. #7 by adleraugen on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 1:22 pm

The real reason for the govt opposition to the Hindraf rally is racial politics. UMNO govt NEP cannot accomodate 2 million Indian millionaires.

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 1:23 pm

9. #9 by Libra2 on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 1:29 pm

The problem is , we have a Roving PM, who oversees the country’s affairs by remote control. When he is back, he sleeps.

10. #10 by UzMiNoOnist on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 1:44 pm

Malaysia has always championed for the minority, particularly the Palestinian who are been treated badly by Zionist of the Middle East. But through this episode, UMNO is proving themselves to be the Zionist of the East.

11. #11 by shaolin on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:05 pm

Malay-sia Government and the Police Force hand n hand
    raped Democracy!! ‘The streets belong to the People’ does
    Not exist in Malay-sia, not to mention to be the 1st World
    country…!!

AAB Administration does not even know what Democracy
    means…??!! Only people with bird brains Will over-react
    and make situations complicated and treat protestors with
    contempt!!

Only Big Monkeys Will mess up such situations…!! Idiots
    wake up!! The Peoples’ power Will overcome The Stupid
    Government run by people with pea-sized brains!!

12. #12 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:16 pm

When KHAIRY JAMALUDDIN(son of prime minister) led an illegal street demonstration to hand over ‘a memorandum’ to Condoleeza Rice, there were no tear gas or water canons used..

So why double standard?

In this country how you would be treated would depend on your:

1. race
    2.religion
    3. connection with the UMNO/Barisan Nasional..

Many position in government and Public university are reserved for persons who are ‘the right race, right religion or connection with UMNO’ .

e.g. FINANCE MINISTER, PRIME MINISTER, DEPUTY MINISTER, defence minister, HOME MINISTER, EDUCATION MINISTER, STATE SECRETARY( IN CONDOLEEZA RICE IS A MALAYSIAN, SHE IS ALSO NOT QUALIFIED DUE TO WRONG RACE, WRONG RELIGION AND WRONG SKIN COLOUR)…… AND VICE CHANCELLORS OF PUBLIC UNIVERSITIES…….the proof? please refer to history (HISTORY NEVER LIES, EXCEPT SOME MODIFIED HISTORY LIKE the MAY 13TH INCIDENT)

13. #13 by negarawan on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:22 pm

The UMNO-based government wants the people to serve its corrupted and racist “leaders” and be slaves to them. In a democracy, the government serve the people. We need more international exposure of the crimes and wrongdoings of UMNO corrupted and racist “leaders”. If South Africa can defeat Apartheid, so can the people of Malaysia. If Australia’s opposition can win the election, so can Malaysia’s opposition. All of the “channels” in Malaysia have been used to voice issues and grouses to no avail due to the autocratic and corrupted rule of UMNO. WE need PEOPLE and international power to overthrow corrupted UMNO and BN.

14. #14 by AhPek on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:24 pm

A fair estimate of Indian population is 2 million.Out of this 2 million a fair guess is 600000 will be voters for the coming election.According to the past trend a consistent 95% of indian votes will be delivered by [deleted] Semi Velu, in other words he will be delivering to Bodohwi 570000 votes for the coming GE before this big gathering at the British High Commission today.Now instead of going to MIC, these votes will turn around in favour of opposition parties! This is the biggest threat to Bodohwi and my guess is under this new circumstances he will be comtemplating going to full term — the Anwar and turbulent external economic coming in to hit the shore of Malaysia will not be the determining factor!
    MY 1 million dollar question now is will the Chinese voters reverse their voting pattern to the direction of the opposition and give the opposition a thumping success this time? Honestly this has been 50 years late in coming!!

15. #15 by Godfather on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:25 pm

Standard Gestapo tactics masterminded by Taxi Nazri and Zainuddeen “Goebbels” Maideen. Tomorrow, the papers will talk about unruly crowds and admirable restraint on the part of the Police.

The rakyat must not be cowed. The Police must be taught that they serve the people, and that they must not employ intimidatory tactics.

CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG !

16. #16 by AhPek on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:27 pm

correction–“…………………a consistent 95% of indian votes are delivered to BN by [deleted] SEMI VELU………..”.

17. #17 by pwcheng on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:29 pm

Next the Chinese must make a move to pressure the UM NO government relentlessly and not just take it by sitting down in their comfort zone. This is the right time and the timing is crucial for the world can now witness how widespread is injustice in Malaysia under UM NO, and aparteid in South Africa re enacted in Malaysia today and could be worse in time to come if we do not get the international community to help. The non-Bumis are helpless as they are having the judiciary, police, election commission and all other government related bodies like the local councils under their control, The latter are not elected but are all UM NO controlled and are corrupted to th heels and will do anything to please their master for political advantage.

18. #18 by Jefus on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:33 pm

The next trip AAB makes overseas, AAB knows that the other head of state would have been briefed by their people about what is going on in Malaysia. And the briefing would be in the light of their country’s interests and NOT for Malaysia. Not for investing, unstable country.

The next time AAB speaks about democracy, in a global conference, all those within earshot will have pictures of anti riot police chasing unarmed citizens of Malaysia in their minds, spraying chemicals, teargas and baton charged.

The next time AAB/ Forengn Affairs Minister speak about rights, equality, in any global gallery, there will be sneers. Gentlemen, you have brought it upon yourselves.

You can muzzle what is being in the local media, you cannot muzzle the world. And the world of pretense that you live in is giving way to reality – how you play your cards, will determine your politcal relevance.

19. #19 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:40 pm

The Barisan Nasional parties and leaders have reason to feel threatened, but not the police…

Hello, I don’t think so. In this country everything is centered on race and Malay dominance. Wise up, and look at the racial composition of the police. I must say that almost every institution of government in the country today is an extension of UNMO power. Today, the Malaysian Indians have finally awakened to the reality. It is also a manifestation of the complete failure of MIC in the BN. The issue is never just the demolishment of Hindu temple. It is their sense of deprivation and continued marginalization.

20. #20 by Ms. Chindian on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:41 pm

Samy Velu should resign. What and how much he has done for Malaysian Indians?
    BN shoudn’t rule Malaysia. They talk about muhibbah. But look at them. They even discremaminate themselves into UMNO MCA MIC. For what? Show the rakyat you can work under 1 component BN!
    Dear polis people, we pay taxes. The streets belong to us. Stay back

21. #21 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:41 pm

Next the Chinese must make a move to pressure the UM NO government relentlessly and not just take it by sitting down in their comfort zone.

Are MCA and Gerakan doing any better? Well, their time has not come yet. The Chinese are relatively wealthier and economic mobility higher. Many have chosen the easier path to run (to migrate) than to fight. But there will come a time when many have no where to go and yet feel the sense of helplessness. So MCA and Gerakan, please wake up. For once do something honorable. Don’t be a spineless soul losing all dignity just to hold on to some meaningless positions in Government. Demand our rights and equality and if you can’t achieve that, resign en-bloc. Based on the present scheme of arrangement, frankly it does not matter anymore whether you guys are in the government or otherwise.

22. #22 by Boneka on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:42 pm

Bravo, guys Bravo! You guys are great. It goes to show that no amount of (government) threats to arrest all demonstrators, Road Blocks (to prevent probable demonstrators), arrests of leaders (on the eve of the date), could prevent THE SHOW OF LEGITIMATE DISSATISFACTION OF THE INDIANS IN OUR COUNTRY. The police should be ashamed of themselves. Instead of using extreme force to disperse the demonstrators, they could have provided security and shown maturity by allowing the leaders of the Rally to hand deliver their Petition to the British High Commision? IT IS A SHAME THAT THEY (THE POLICE) COULD NOT ENVISAGE A SITUATION WHEREIN THE RALLY COULD HAVE BEEN PEACEFUL. Even with their use of extreme force against the demonstrators they did not turn unruly. This goes to show their real intention. I hope the government REALISES THAT IT CANNOT STOP AFFECTED AND DISCRIMINATED CITIZENS FROM SHOWING THEIR ANGER. I hope this would open its eyes to address the problems faced by US THE iNDIAN COMMUNITY.

23. #23 by Libra2 on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:46 pm

The entire riot police force was moblized since thursday. road blocks caused misery to millions of motorists. yet the end result of all these is zero. the people won. they defeated the police and the government.
    Its the indian spirit versus an indecent and immoral government.

24. #24 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:48 pm

Samy Velu should resign. What and how much he has done for Malaysian Indians? chindian

It is more than Samy Velu should resign.
    The number of cabinet posts has increased from around 26 to more than 30 now. Has the number of MCA, Gerakan and MIC representation increased? That itself is a dilution. What more you people have positions but with no authority. The MCA president, the most senior partner in BN from MCA is the Minister of Housing and Local Governments but has no oversights over housing or local authorities. The Minister of Transport has no authority over issuance of taxi, bus and lorry permits, never mind that all transportation projects are decided by PM and Nawawi. The Minister of Human Resource has no authority over foreign worker permits. The Minister Health has no power to dismantle “rent seeking” medical supplies. The Chief Minister of Penang today can’t even decide who should be the State Secretary or State Financial Officer. As for the MIC President, it must be an insult to our intelligence that he is the one who dishes out all the toll concessions and decides on all the toll rates.

25. #25 by mats on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:50 pm

bravehearts all the supporters of the force-hail hinduism!about time the indians start standing up to the rights of the indians.the world is now noticing us though the goverment is not.people in sabah n sarawak are long critical of people here whom they accuse of being polarized.so now the world is seeing the same illtreatment met out the palestinians,the sri lankan tamils,to people of pakistan is so far quietly happening here in malaysia.NOT ANYMORE!indians have started to rise and its not going to end.calling on ALL INDIANS OF ALL RELIGIONS-COME FORWARD AND PROTEST.its about indians-not tamils,telugus,malayalees,nothern indians,punjabis or gujaratis n sindhis.INDIANS!engineers,doctors,lawyers,teachers,policemen,soldiers,judges,nurses,shopkeepers,everybody come forward.KEEP PUSHING.

the other nonmalays like the chinese,iban,kadazans,all orang aslis come forward too.swing the vote this time for the opposition.50 years due.its everybody’s fight.everybody’s benefit these bravehearts went through today.

cnn,bbc,aljzeera,yahoo news,the hindu everywhere the news is out.BN has lost a big propaganda battle.PM boasts about censoring Pakistan,look in your own backyard,PM.WHAT DID DR.M SAY? rotten goverment.truly spoken.

26. #26 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:07 pm

Fu Ah Kiow, Deputy Minister for Internal Security, was quoted as saying the government might even invoke the draconian Internal Security Act if national security was at stake, although that would be a last resort.

This is what i meant by spineless soul, more so you are a Chinese Malaysian. Hello, Ah Kiow, if you can’t fight, let others who can do so.

27. #27 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:08 pm

“We don’t support street demonstrations,” said S. Samy Vellu, leader of the country’s main Indian ruling political
    party. “This is an opposition ploy to smear the government’s name.”

Ya, Semi, you are right, which means you are WRONG

28. #28 by lakshy on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:08 pm

Police used excessive force. In fact when the rally was peaceful, the cop on the ground should have made a decision to allow the rally to submit their memorandum and disperse. But their arrogance did not permit them to do so.

The police have failed the citizens.

I hope this results in the defeat of both Bodowi and Semi Value.

29. #29 by pwcheng on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:08 pm

limkamput Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 14: 48.33

I fully agree with you. That was exactly what I had written one or two months ago on the issue of “Power Sharing”. I can see it, you can see it, but we are not sure of whether MCA and Gerakan can see it!!

30. #30 by siudidi on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:17 pm

What do you expect from a bunch of pretentious hypocrites who always fight in the name of ISLAM? Malaysia does not need demonstrations to change, it takes an military invasion to do that.

31. #31 by malaysiatoday.com on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:17 pm

Water cannons and tear gas instead of twin towers soon to a symbol of Malaysia.

See videos and photos at http://www.malaysiatoday.com

MIC MP is no better than Zainuddin in his interview with Al Jazeera TV.

He twisted his tougue to say the rally is legal, but cannot explain why the police was acting violently against Indian marchers.

32. #32 by Jong on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:23 pm

limkamput, you said:

“I want the MCA, Gerakan and MIC to touch their hearts today and tell us in what way you are different.”

– Well said, thank you. It touched my heart. I hope those leopards will change their spots.

It sickened my today to watch and listen to one MIC idot – SK Devamany of Cameron Highlands, Pahang on Aljazeera. The Aljazeera interviewer was aghast when Devamany’s remarked “….the type of people who came to demonstrate….”. What type, if not his type then which type? He then avoided the question. What a shame we have these ampu bodeks, the umno dogs running around in MIC!

Regime change is next!

33. #33 by messy on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:25 pm

damn it…i can’t believe the police just killed a 20 year-old…
    istead of protecting the people they are harming the people…
    it’s a total irony…it was suppose to be a peaceful march…
    but all thanks to the police it became ugly…

can BN and UMNO read P E A C E F U L…
    damn the MPs…

if the police had first approved the rally then it’ll be a simple safe and sound rally…

the death of the 20 year-old is in the police’s hands, BN, and UMNO…

they are the murders of Malaysia, the Indians, the Chinese and the Malays…

[The death of a 20-year old has been denied by the Police, as reported by New Straits Times on “Inflammatory entries” on Monday 26.11.07 as follows:

“KUALA LUMPUR: Even before the protesters dispersed, a website linked to P. Uthayakumar posted inflammatory entries alleging racial attacks on Indians.

The Police Watch Malaysia website alleged that an Indian boy was murdered in Lebuh Ampang during the rally and that earlier yesterday a gang had burnt a bus and 20 motorcycles outside a temple in Batu Caves.

“It also alleged police brutality against Indians connected with the rally.

“In response to questions from the New Straits Times, seeking to verify the claims made on the website, Uthayakumar said: “We received unconfirmed information on those incidents and decided to post it on the website. We want police to investigate the incidents.”

“Checks showed no report of murders during the rally. It was also ascertained that the burning of a bus in Batu Caves at 2am yesterday, mentioned on the website, was the work of protesters retaliating after police ordered them to disperse.”

– Admin]

34. #34 by izrafeil on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:26 pm

I S L A M H A D H A R Y V H I N D R A F r o u n d 1

35. #35 by oknyua on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:27 pm

YB Lim,

By now all the smart guys in the administration would have seen the progression of events. Hindraf attracts protesters because racial imbalance continued unaddressed. In Felda, settlers have been given the rights to the land they worked in. Many are rich, some even millionaires. But we don’t see such thing in the Indian dorminated estates. The Indians continue to be marginalised.

There is no need for a professor to analyse as to why Hindraf protested. People are basically amicable. But if consultation is not heard, a silent protest would result. If silent protest is ignored, we have people in the streets as now.

Similarly, the recent BERSIH and Lawyers’ rallies were the result of being ignored. Each time a revision of electoral rules were called, the administration claimed it to be a “opposition gimick.” When the bar council called for a cleanup in the judiciary, every one in the legal authority claimed it was unneccesary. In both cases, interested groups took to the streets.

The frustration has now extended to many issues. The high level of corruption in the government and the ineffective NEP – enriching the rich and connected, are two big issues that the government failed to address. Would people take to the streets against these? Would threats and the use of ISA, water canons, FRU wipe out corruption? Can Ministers Fu AK and Johari answer this?

36. #36 by izrafeil on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:27 pm

i think i want to change … r

37. #37 by AsIseeit on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:28 pm

It is a sad day that the police started the violence according to reports; the police began shooting water cannons and tear-gas as early as 7.30 am and then later at 9.30 am.

Sorry to say the police has used the wrong way to solve an issue which really is a non-issue in the first place if the peaceful rally was not disturbed by the police.

The danger ahead may be that violence can begat violence. when people who are marginalised feel that they have nothing to lose and are in fact quite fed-up, get to the streets.

What if more peaceful demonstrations are held in the future?
    I won’t be surprised if that happens.

38. #38 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:38 pm

police (mainly Malays, using weapons) against Indians (emptied hands)

39. #39 by lauwengsan on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 4:03 pm

I attended the Hindraf rally this morning and this is the day I feel ashamed to be a Malaysian to see how cruel and violent Malaysian Police treating their masters.

I will upload more videos and photos in YouTube. You can see some very violent act against some of our Indian friends. A Malay plain cloth pointed a finger at normal Indians walking on the street and shouted “bodoh”.

When the Indians rushed to a nearby Mamak restaurant to have their meals and drinks, the police rushed into the restaurant like samseng and dragged all the Indians out.

Are they police or samseng?

You will never be able to differentiate!

Somebody must be answerable to all these violences from the men in blue.

40. #40 by RealWorld on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 4:15 pm

“The rakyat must not be cowed. The Police must be taught that they serve the people, and that they must not employ intimidatory tactics.” – Godfather

Dude, you have the rhetorics and all. But do you walk your talk?? Were you there this morning to support Hindraf?

41. #41 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 4:24 pm

2 demos in a month and so far all the authorities have achieved is to alienate a large portion of the populace and given us some notoriety on the world stage thanks to al Jareera.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2007/11/working-within-flawed-system.html

42. #42 by k1980 on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 4:39 pm

If Australia can throw out John Howard and his gang, so can Malaysia do the same to Abtullah & co

43. #43 by pwcheng on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 4:50 pm

k1980 Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 16: 39.52

Australia has fair and free election. Do Malaysia has the same? Far away from that and anybody who thinks that we can throw out UMNO through he ballot boxes are just naive.
    We have to systemetically disband the dirty tactics of UM NO before we can even think of depriving them of the two third majority.
    “DIRTY” is the only word you can use to describe them. DIRTY party with DIRTY leaders

44. #44 by zack on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 4:59 pm

i don’t get it … does it mean that when their wishes are granted by the BRitish .. will they then move to India? Why are we denying that we are here due to destiny? The events in that period that brought all of us here..Chinese, India and Indonesia were our destiny..just like the slaves in American …. its part and parcel of how God work ….

45. #45 by mendela on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 5:03 pm

Let me tell the world a simple fact: This UMO-led Government is scare, very scare now!

It is very fragile too!

Only Marcos and other corrupted Governments would treat its citizens with tear gas and water cannon so easily!

This Government is panic, extremely panic now.

Bodowi and cronies, pls get ready all the monies you have stolen and ready to run to Hawaii, just like Marcos did!

46. #46 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 5:48 pm

IGP Musa Hassan sounded like a stupid fool (much like a PMR dropout!) on Aljazeera news with his flawed logic & ridiculous replies!

He said the gathering was illegal. Who made it illegal? UMNO.
    He said there were fears of racial and religious strife? Whose fears? UMNO again!

The other races in Malaysia have no problems. The Indians have a democratic right to voice their dissent & make their demands to the British government. Whether or not it is senseless is for the British government and the English courts to decide, not the Malaysian government! Maybe the British government may wish to resettle all Malaysian Indians in Britain. Is that a problem for UMNO? Is handing a memo to the British High Commisison a problem for UMNO or Malaysia? I cannot for the life of me understand what security risks there may be for the police to brutalise the peaceful demonstrators! Why, for instance, should 5 or 6 burly policemen drag a helpless demonstrator along the road (and I saw one on Aljazeera news). Really bad for Malaysian police! Why cannons? Why tear gas? The marchers were prepared to disperse after handling over the memo. This is the kind of dilemma we will always face. This is what happpens when the Police force have little brains and use lesser still in damage control!

Many of my Malay friends have no problems if the Indians want to shout themselves hoarse in front of the British High Commission. The only party that is upset is UMNO. (What about MIC? That’s more like a subset of UMNO).

Why should UMNO be upset? Cannot for the life of me understand UMNO’s logic and UMNO principles. Never had. Never will. Some say it has something to do with pea-sized brains!

47. #47 by taikohtai on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 6:03 pm

In his victory speech after his emphatic win over John Howard’s Coalition party, Kevin Rudd said:
    “I want to put aside the old battles of the past … between business and unions … growth and environment … federal and state … public and private … “It’s time for a new page to be written in our nation’s history”…….

Meanwhile, Malaysia continues to be embroiled in most childish behavior in every aspect of governance. The latest episode of more water cannons and tear gases confirms that the mentality of the 50 year old gomen with attached umbilical cords has gone backwards and barbaric too.

48. #48 by malaysiatoday.com on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 6:13 pm

In past history has proven that any dictator using violence to crush demands from rakyat failed miserably.

Anyone says demo is not a local political culture, let examine how UMNO topple Malayan Union in 50s?

UMNO was using demostrations to voice out their demands to British colonial government.

Why demo was suddenly not a local culture after independence?

49. #49 by sj on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 6:24 pm

Bodowi and cronies, pls get ready all the monies you have stolen and ready to run to Hawaii, just like Marcos did!

If they manage to run away like that, that means Malaysian has already failed. This people must be arrested, and not allowed to run with the country’s money. Otherwise it will just be another Thaksin, where the corrupted escaped unpunished.

50. #50 by kslaw70 on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 6:25 pm

Aiyoh yoh yoh Samy. what are u doing when your own race are suffering ?

Dont point finger at opposition when your own race going against u as they know u can fight for their welfare.

Pls vote out the BN.

51. #51 by goldenscreen on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 6:37 pm

The irony is that the whole world could see the draconian and brutal reaction of the police to what was a peaceful demonstration, using the government’s very own traffic cameras! http://www.flickr.com/photos/7972222@N04/tags/hindraf/

So what was the use of locking down KL since Thursday besides a deliberate attempt to inflict collective punishment on the KL/Selangor population? Pak Lah, engkau pantang dicabar tapi sekarang masyarakat India telah mencabar kau, apa kau mahu buat? Pergi-lah bertaubat…

52. #52 by Cinapek on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 6:38 pm

I am not sure if the police in Johor wanted to show solidarity with their KL colleagues last night or they were rehearsing for a possible massive country wide rally in the near future.

Yesterday the PDRM in Johor set up a road block on the Pasir Gudang highway. I am not sure what time they started but when I drove by at around noon they were already in operation. There was a massive jam then. At 7 pm when I drove by again, they were still there and the jam was even bigger due to the rush hour plus the earlier jams.

The Pasir Gudang highway has been acknowledged by no less than the MB himself that the traffic is too heavy and there is a need now to build a new billion ringgit highway from Senai to Pasir Gudang to relieve the heavy traffic. Yet we have some brainless twits in the PDRM setting up a road block during the peak hours. Joining the traffic jam around 1km from the road block, it took me nearly an hour to clear the block. I feel sorry for those who came from Pasir Gudang further up. It must have taken them several hours.

We have lambasted the PDRM frequently of late for their lack of efforts in crime prevention activites. If this act is one of their measures to show they are on the ball, then it even more misplaced priorities. The policemen I saw on duty were certainly not after any serious crime criminals becuase the two of them holding the light sticks directing traffic were nonchalantly waving the traffic on. The others were dressed in traffic police uniforms and talking to a couple of cars that were pulled over. It looks like a traffic operations rather than a crime prevention operation. I hope the PDRM has a good explanation for their action becuase if it is a traffic operation then it has to be the most stupid and ill conceived idea to conduct a traffic operation on a major highway during peak hours causing a massive traffic jam and inconveniencing thousands of road users.

53. #53 by AhPek on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 6:50 pm

“Really bad for Malaysian Police! Why canons? Why tear gas? The marchers were prepared to disperse after handling over the memo.”.Endangered Hornbill.
    Well the pollice are beholden to UMNO and they do the biddings of UMNOPUTRAS.
    And so are all other institutions of this country.They all do UMNO’s biddings —- the Judiciary,the AG chamber,the ACA the Immigration Department etc,etc,etc.

54. #54 by kwkean on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 7:03 pm

http://english.aljazeera.net/NR/exeres/53685CBD-40D4-4AC3-B354-73BBC2DA7D51.htm

Check out the pic from Aljazeera which showing our FRU carrying a machine gun! We are nothing different from Myanmar or Pakistan!!

The Malay had march on 10 Nov and the Indian did it today on 25 Nov. When will the Chinese march? I really wonder sometimes are we really that week to express our feeling or are we indulging/linger in our own world without caring those who suffer around us. Look at our youngster, drinking, smoking, clubbing, free sex life and yet when you ask them about politics and those major problems going on in the country, how many of them actually know about it?

Talk talk talk, complaint complaint complaint yet how many actually join the walk when we are needed? How many of us actually blindly voting MCA just because they were ‘cucing our longkang’ whereas they are the one who suck up our wealth and become an UMNO’s dog. “Bark doggy” and there they will bark like a damn good dog. Team A or Team B? Like the fark I care about those 2 groups in MCA!!!

All I know is that the people of Malaysia is suffering now due to NPE and these dogs are not doing anything other then barking when their master asked them to do so. YB LKS, please organize a rally for the Chinese, it will be a good idea to see how many Chinese will participated in it.

Don’t care if people call this a racist rally or what so ever, we need to know how many Chinese are paying attention to the major problem in Malaysia. I do believe the Malay and Indian want to know too, if we Chinese are with them or not. Not point calling us to UNITE if we Chinese are not showing any initiative to do so.

55. #55 by eagleye on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 7:05 pm

Ajazeera reported there could be more than 10,000 people gathered, CNN and BBC reported more than 5,000 people gathered. I don’t think so the crowd is only that much. I saw the crowd were huge. Maybe more than 100,000 all together. They keep coming in group by group even police try to disperce them. Thousands were blocked by police in Batu Caves(crowd estimation-30,000). More than 50 buses blocked. Few got arrested. Police use gangsters to beat Indians. Badly injured. Read 20 years old boy dead in Lebuh Ampang. Old Klang road metrobus refused to take Indian passengers. PUTRA didn’t stop in KLCC and Ampang Park. All this I heard from the people involved. I were there also. What a major dictates over democrates.

Mmmmm….. What’s happening? Do we need this government? Abdullah in overseas to attend CHOGM and Samy Velu hilang, some say India and some say in one of our island… Hiding?

Guys, it seems we are living under government’s mercy. Thats how they painting it. They use violence against peaceful march… I even manage to talk with one of quite highly rank policeman in Kampung Baru PUTRA Station, he feel pity with those Indians out there, police have no choice because the orders from gov are such. Let the people decide who they choose as their gov in coming election. Stil BN? Nothing else to say…

56. #56 by oknyua on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 7:08 pm

“I don’t get it..” zack.

Have you visited the Indians int he rubber estates? The life you see hasn’t changed since their grandfather days (>50 years).

Now visit a FELDA scheme set up under the NEP. Within 20 years, these settlers are now landlords, and their children are educated in Universities.

There is nothing British about the Hindraf protest. If estate Indians are treated like Felda settlers, would they protest? Now do you get it?

Tan Sri Manikavasagam and his Inland Finance did a lot for the Indians. The present leadership…? I don’t even want to see their names here.

57. #57 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 7:21 pm

Samy Vellu, the government’s top ethnic Indian politician and president of the Malaysian Indian Congress, denounced Sunday’s protest as “an opposition ploy to smear the government’s image.”

“We do not support street demonstrations,” he said in a statement.

“We have been working within the system to resolve the problems faced by the Indian community.”

Al Jazeera

Samy, Samy, don’t you realise by now the system is corrupted by viruses and don’t work properly anymore? Where have you been?

Just what has the system and you achieved for your community? Why are they so unhappy that they are all crying out loud? If you are so “effective”, why have they not approached you? Just what have you done for your community Samy?

I hear you were shivering last night and today. You are now confirmed to be the last runner-up and no longer a “wira” in their eyes. You are a has been. Sungei Siput is no longer safe. You wanna try Gua Musang? I hear there may be “receptions” waiting for you when you next visit your temples and community functions. And Pak Lah is frustrated ‘cos you ain’t in control no more!

Oh Samy, Samy, Oh, oooo Samy Blue.

58. #58 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 7:27 pm

Boy, pictures on the internet showed police “Storm Troopers” ala Star Wars in action. (The Empire Strikes Back?).

Gotta find Luke and the Jedis pretty soon. But hey, in Chapter Six, the good guys win over the Evil Empire.

59. #59 by wtf2 on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 7:31 pm

semi value’s busy with wigs and hair transplants.
    bodowi is busy with his goats and ‘erb garden
    KJ is trying to bring the planet of the apes onto malaysia

any citizen of malaysia with some brains left should vote for alternative parties.

60. #60 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 7:45 pm

Quick, find Alaka Zam for a comical comment.

61. #61 by MISHUGINA on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 7:52 pm

Police used high-handed treatment on Hindraf protestors today. I passed by Jln Ampang, just below MRR2 highway and saw police having a fight with couple of protestors. Cant believe the police were pussies mobilizing their forces to paralyse KL just for Indian minority protestors.

On the same day, UMNO puppets NST published a so-called independent BS by Merdeka Survey claiming people’s confidence in BN still remains strong.

To say democracy is still alive in Bolehland is beyond farce.

62. #62 by MISHUGINA on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 8:09 pm

LOL, found this bulletin:

Here in Bolehland we have
    our very own
    7 wonders.

1. THE ZAKARIA ‘PALACE’

The only building built with no
    approval and unpaid
    assessment fees that is not demolished
    and sealed. The
    owner is the first bankrupt to be able
    to own
    a palace.

2. THE ‘BOCOR’ PARLIAMENT

Th e unique feature is its ability
    to ‘leak’ away
    billions of taxpayers money while the
    guardians of
    the nation stood there all wet.

3. ‘UNHAUNTED’ KUCHING PRISON

The only $600M prison in this world
    that is free of
    haunted stories and encounters.
    Reaso ns – No execution
    was done here before. In fact no
    prisoners were held
    in here. There are also no concrete
    walls with barbed
    wires to contain souls – both dead and
    alive. Maybe it
    can qualify as the first imaginary
    prison built with
    real money.

4. PAYA INDAH ‘WASTED’ WETLANDS

The nation’s premier eco-tourism park
    holds the
    record in the category of attracting
    more lawyers
    with litigation than tourists with
    binoculars.& amp; amp; amp; amp; amp; amp; amp;
    amp; amp;
    amp;
    amp; amp;
    lt;BR
    5. ‘NOT SO’ SMART TUNNEL

Unique ly designed to alleviate floods.
    When completed,
    it does everything except alleviate
    floods.

6. ‘DISCONNECTED’ CYBERJAYA

The one and only high tech city in the
    world that
    offers limited or no internet
    connecti on to its
    residents.

7. CROOKED ‘CROOKED’ BRIDGE

The most crooked bridge in the world
    dreamt by a
    most crooked mind. Too bad it was
    abandoned; otherwise
    it would make it as one of the
    wonders. It will end up costing more
    NOT to build
    than it would have to actually build
    it.

AND A BONUS SURPRISE ….PRESENTING
    TH E LATEST 8TH WONDER :

THE 1ST MALAYSIAN ASTRO MAN BLASTED
    OFF TO NOWHERE WITH MILLIONS OF
    RAKYAT MONEY BURNT IN 10 DAYS FOR THE
    MOST EXPENSIVE SPACE EXPEDITION
    HAS ENTERED INTO THE MALAYSIAN
    GUINNES S BOOK OF RECORDS AT 10 PM ON
    0CT 10, 2007. BRAVO!

( p.s. NO WONDER – PRICES today has
    increased “NAIK , NAIK, NAIK ” in
    2007….look and see….for
    sure.. ……tahun depan minyak
    mestiiiiii ii naik punya….this year
    cannot naik….sebab sudah
    promise-mah . ..!!!! tahun depan sure
    naik like soyuz pecut…dasyhat
    l ooo…. )

63. #63 by sj on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 8:17 pm

To maximise the effect of the protest, I suggest posting pictures and videos on the internet. Use the media to spread the message. You can be sure that there will be news blackout in Malaysia, but they sure wont be able to black out You Tube.

64. #64 by AhPek on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 8:38 pm

Over a period less than a month police have resorted to force to break up two peaceful gathering, one a peaceful march to present to the Agong a petition requesting the EC to that all political parties will contest on a level playing field and the second one is to gather in front of the British High Commission so as to present to them a memoranda to the Queen of Britain.
    These are peaceful gathering and the police have seen it fit to refuse such reasonable request.
    They did not see it unreasonable to grant permission Khairy the SIL
    when he organised a protest against Condaleeza Rice who is an official guest of the country at the invitation of the FIL.Can you allow your son-in-law to yell abuse to your guest to your house when he arrives at your door step.Bodohwi allows that to happen!!
    So police is doing OMNO’s bidding. They are beholden to them.Under this circumstances it is no longer to obey the rule –the UMNO made rule for under such oppressive rule ‘Disobedience is the true foundation of liberty.The obedient must be slaves.’. So says Henry David Thoreau

65. #65 by AhPek on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 8:45 pm

Correction–“………………….requesting the EC to be fair so that all political parties can contest on a level playing field and ……………….”.

“Under the circumstances it is no longer necessary to obey the rules — UMNO made rules for under such oppressive rule …………………….’.

66. #66 by straight talk on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 8:50 pm

Well! MIC has failed. whatever crumbs are given to the Indians through MIC has been graped by Samy and his team. So there needs to be some change in the representation. For those who stood their grounds and marched Kudos to you. You have taken on 4000 members of PDRM. At least you have been shown on all UMNO controlled TV Stations. Ha! Ha! the Indians march can effect adversely on the economy….. Now Pah Lah we will continue until you ensure fair treatment to all Malaysians. We are born in Malaysia. My motherland is Malaysia….So why can’t I be treated fairly. Why can’t I be given loans so that I can succeed. Why should the wealth of the country be given to only the Malays. Should I not be entitled to a SME loan as a fellow Malaysian.

Pah Lah this is a result of 50 years of frustrations…You say you are the Prime Minister of all Malaysians and I say you PENIPU BESAR.

67. #67 by budak on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 9:21 pm

Since we’re the master why shall we pay the “government slaves” to work for UMNO…

For today onwards, I’ll not pay tax, pay toll, pay anything related to government department…

if 30% or 7.8 million of Malaysian like me refuse to pay tax… see whether the government have ability to house us in jail or not…

68. #68 by mendela on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 9:25 pm

More than 50 000 brave Malays have done it on Nov 10, 30 000 courageous Indians have done it today, when is the Chineses’ turn?

69. #69 by lakshy on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 9:25 pm

Today the Indians who went to make their voices heard and stood against great adversity and stayed calm came close to emulating Gandhiji’s teachings! I salute you guys! You are heroes!

But it cannot stop now. BN must be voted out…………completely. That is the ONLY way for this nation to progress.

BN leaders are not concerned about this nation. They only care about lining their own pockets. Well its time for the rakyat to set matters right!

Lets vote them out.

And lets give them all a message loud and clear. Any function that they attend, we should get up and leave loudly when they start talking. We dont need to stay and listen to the nonsense they spout from their berok mouths!

70. #70 by bra888 on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 9:27 pm

71. #71 by hutchrun on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 9:27 pm

A martyr is made:

HINDRAF Update at 11.00A.M
    20 years old boy dead in Lebuh Ampang

http://policewatchmalaysia.com/

72. #72 by lakshy on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 9:28 pm

If it’s a temple function…………get up and walk out when they start talking. That message should get to them loud and clear.

These goons are so distanced from the rakyat! I guess its because of all the wealth they have misappropriated………..like Maika, Telekoms shares …..NLFC, etc

73. #73 by izrafeil on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 9:38 pm

ISRAEIL used rubber bullets
    MALAYSIA FRU COMPLETE WITH MACHINE GUNS
    hey they even fired two live rounds not long ago…. BATU BUROK
    now compare!

74. #74 by AhPek on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 9:40 pm

Before independence one often hears of these words from the Malays ‘Ini negeri aku.’.This is where the seed of Malay fanatism comes from.Whereas the truth is all of us are pendatangs. The original people are the orang aslis in the jungle of Peninsula Malaysia in the case of Malaya.They were already here as far back as when homo sapiens move out of Africa.The Malays came somewhere around the time when they first migrated from Yunan to Cambodia with one group coming from Cambodia thro to Thailand and eventually ending up in Malaya whilst the other went to Indonesia with some coming to Malaya from Indonesia.This probably happened some 700 years ago. Some tombstone found in Kelantan even suggested an earlier period than this and that tombstone is said to be Chinese!
    As Malaysians we must never let anybody say that we belong here because we are pendatangs because the chap that asserts that is also a pendatang (the orang asli has never utter this to anybody surprisingly).

75. #75 by AhPek on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 9:43 pm

Correction–“…….we must never allow anybody to say we don’t belong here because the chap that utters this is also a pengdatang .(…………………………).”.

76. #76 by lakshy on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 9:50 pm

Ah Pek, actually they did. When Tun Dr Ismail and gang coined the term Bumiputra (which in Sanskrit means sons of the soil) some wise guy came up with the term pri-bumi to refer to the indigenous peoples of Sabah and Sarawak, merely because they predate the Bumiputras in point of time in appearing in Malaya. It became a very sensitive issue at that time I remember when I was a kid.

Hey what they heck, Parameswara who founded Malacca was a Hindu Prince……. So how long ago did the Malays…….

But the sad part is an Indonesian can have more rights in Malaysia today than a Malaysia born Indian. Now that cant be right can it? How else can you explain the likes of Sanusi Junid, and Khir Toyo who are of Indonesian descent getting to the top in Govt office? Can any Indian do this today even if he had many generations born in Malaysia?

77. #77 by eagleye on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 9:51 pm

Latest, I heard FRU fired tear gas inside the gate of Batu Caves Temple yesterday. This occurs when a group of unidentified Indians act vioently towards FRU and injured them. Even damaged their vehicles. After this act, this group disappeared. This statement i heard from a group of people from Batu Caves which witness that incident. As what they showed in TV3 Buletin Utama today, police were injured. Buletin Utama news all sided to governments. They didn’t show how many Indians injured and about a death. There still more than 150 Indian are in custody. Hindraf Lawyers are fighting for them.

Indians moved peacefully even though FRU attacked them heavily in Ampang. Can hear each group leaders always keep shouting “peace, aman, cool, relax and all the Mahatma Ghandi words”. Is that could be a major set up by government or SAMY VELU in Batu Caves? Stil the crowd which i heard unofficially from policeman which is on duty reached 300, 000. If there is no road blocks and threatenings for 5 days, could reach more than a million.

Mmmmm… we are not talking just about Indian powers, it is RAKYAT POWERS!!! We do not want to eat BN poisons towards indirect racism. HIDUP BERSATU,NEGARA MAJU…

78. #78 by max2811 on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 9:52 pm

To Mendela.
    Please don’t think that the Chinese are not pissed by UMNaziO. They are worse off. But they are more resilient. They just work harder. Study harder. And they have more choices. If one job is not enough to support his family, then he’d have two jobs. They don’t wait for others to help. They help themselves. They don’t beg for money or places to study. They pay their own thru loans or family support. You can send 10k people or 50k people to protest but at the end of the day UMNaziO will not give up their cake. It’s just too tasty. Too much money involved. Too reliant on the state coffers. If you take that away from them, they will rot. They can’t feed themselves. They can’t hold on to a job. They can’t survive. The only way is to get yourself qualified and leave the country. They have a strangle hold on everything. Thanks to Tun M. Good nite.

79. #79 by zack on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 10:06 pm

Hello oknyua ,

Still don’t get it because if your description is the situation in Malaysia..why go for the British? Go for those who causes it here in Malaysia! Vote them out …democratically …

80. #80 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 10:30 pm

YB LKS:
    “Hindraf rally – excessive use of police force with firing of tear gas and water cannons”

Excessive? That’s the understatement of the Week!

This is a Pure abuse of power.
    An Immoral and unconscionable use of force.
    Unjustified and unjustifiable by any yardstick of the common man.
    A violation of innocence in a civil society.
    Has underpinnings of hatred & contempt for depressed underclass.

HAdhari what? Why should it be Hadhari against Hare Hare. Why can’t it be peaceful Hari hari?

81. #81 by eagleye on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 10:41 pm

Kerajaan Main Sentimen Perkauman Dalam Isu Hindraf: AMK
    KeADILan

Kuala Lumpur, 24 November – Naib Ketua Angkatan Muda Keadilan Malaysia (AMK), Khairul Anuar Ahmad Zainuddin hari ini mendesak pihak Polis Diraja Malaysia (PDRM) untuk meluluskan permit ke atas perhimpunan yang bakal dianjurkan oleh Hindraf Ahad ini.

Dalam satu kenyataan yang diperoleh oleh SuaraKeadilan.com, Khairul berkata sebagaimana perhimpunan yang dianjurkan Bersih pada 10 November lepas, perhimpunan Hindraf ini adalalah merupakan satu manifestasi hak rakyat untuk berhimpun dan menyatakan pendapat sebagaimana yang dijamin Artikel 10 Perlembagaan Persekutuan.

“Tindakan Timbalan Perdana Menteri yang mengecam Hindraf dengan cemuhan berunsur perkauman adalah sesuatu yang amat biadap, dalam keadaan masalah kerencaman masyarakat India di Malaysia pada masa kini bukan satu keadaan yang boleh dimanipulasi dengan sentimen perkauman.

“Sebaliknya ia berbalik kepada konsep keadilan sosial dan pengagihan ekonomi yang tidak seimbang yang diamalkan oleh kerajaan Barisan Nasional’” ujar beliau mengulas respon Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak beberapa hari lepas mengenai isu Hindraf ini.

Dalam usaha mengekang perhimpunan ini, pihak polis telah menahan 3 peguam yang merupakan tulang belakang kepada Hindraf iaitu P Uthayakumar, P Waythamoorthy dan V Ganapathy Rao semalam dan disabitkan kesalahan di bawah Akta Hasutan.

Menurut Khairul, penahanan oleh PDRM adalah merupakan satu tindakan yang amat tidak profesional, di saat mereka bangkit mempertahankan hak masyarakat India.

“Tuduhan yang disabitkan ke atas mereka di bawah Akta Hasutan juga adalah satu tindakan yang jelas cuba mengekang rakyat untuk mendapatkan akses maklumat.”

Beliau berpendapat sewajarnya Kerajaan Barisan Nasional memberikan penumpuan untuk memperbetulkan keadaan kestabilan masyarakat Malaysia, bukan mengekang rakyat untuk berhimpun dan melaksanakan hak demokratik mereka.

“Isunya bukan masalah kaum India semata-mata, isunya adalah penindasan berterusan ke atas rakyat Malaysia tanpa mengira agama dan bangsa. Dan terbukti jelas, selepas 50 tahun merdeka, BN meneruskan tradisi gagal membela rakyat.”

http://www.suarakeadilan.com/isi/2007/11/24/kerajaan-main-sentimen-perkauman-dalam-isu-hindraf-amk/

82. #82 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 10:42 pm

Let me play the role of the devil’s advocate and provide some fodder for Pak Lah and his famous but inexperienced SIL to think about!

What if IGP Musa Hassan briefs PM that the Police has no choice but to use force against the demonstrators?
    PM, being not-so-smart agrees.
    IGP has ulterior agenda. If things get out of hand, then PM loses face & popular support.
    This will rattle PM & cause massive GE losses and unsettle UMNO.
    Then next UMNO AGM, they will ask for PM’s scalp as an offering on the altar of Ketuanan whatever.

WHichever way it goes, PM is damned if he follows advice, damned if he doesn’t!

This is what happens when you have an unthinking, non-thinking or little-thinking PM (is there any difference?)

Then, crafty DPM waits in the wings to catch the crown when it falls.

SO what of the demonstration? The larger purpose of the Police Force is to create chaos for UMNO’s nefarious purposes.

At the end of the day and Year 2007, all Malaysians are suckers!

MY RECOMMENDATION TO WIPE THIS DISGRACE OFF THE MALAYSIAN POLITICAL SCENE AFTER 50 YEARS OF INDEPENDENCE, is to wipe UMNO off the map in the next GE. Then all the nation’s curses will be laid to rest.
    And UMNO’s soul may R.I. P. forever.

83. #83 by izrafeil on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 10:45 pm

can anyone count how many tear gas canister were used today, and how many tankful of toxic laced water was used? thanks

84. #84 by malaysia born on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 10:50 pm

By such provocative and unnecessarily violent method by the authorities, one can’t help but feel worried about the future of our beloved country.

Such actions can only hasten the anger and resentment of the Indians against the government (as in Malaysia, it can only mean the Malays). This in turn will lead to the birth of a dangerous situation; the beginning of the Malaysia chapter of the Tamil Tigers.

The PM and IGP has blood on their hands by not permitting the release of these pent up frustrations and emotions that did not manifest overnight but rather through the failure of the government economic policies and the inefficiency of the Indian based political parties to raise the living standard and dignity of their fellow Indians.

The future has been looking bright for the Indians of Malaysia and it sure doesn’t look good for Malaysia now.

85. #85 by Jackychin on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 10:50 pm

There will be more rally to come until the issue is “DESENSITISED!”

86. #86 by malaysia born on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 10:51 pm

……….* The future has NOT been looking bright for the Indians of Malaysia and it sure doesn’t look good for Malasyia now.

87. #87 by EARNEST on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 11:00 pm

Today, Hindraf demonstrators went to cash their cheques promised by the Constitution. The cheques bounced. — Courtesy of Martin Luther King.

88. #88 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 11:08 pm

If the police (or their ‘atasan’) can use such excessive force within a period of 15 days, It means their ‘atasan’ don’t give a damn for Rakyat. Rakyat should know what to do in next GE, Main media said protesters ‘violent’ first. Would anyone in right state of mind believe, empty hand protesters act violent against fully armed police !

89. #89 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 11:19 pm

EARNEST, the answer to your question about Jeffrey and the Cambridge “brat” is on the other thread:

“Hindraf rally – police stop over-reacting, dismantle roadblocks and issue permit”

90. #90 by Jong on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 11:44 pm

DarkHorse,
    Just let it pass and keep the peace, ok? Thanx.

91. #91 by smeagroo on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 11:47 pm

To the Indians well done!

I think of all the bunch, we chinese will be the main cowards when it comes to this. DUring hte 10.11, the malays hv shown they can stand up for what is right. Now the Indians. We always talk about inequality and we hv been hardly hit. But i am sure if there is such a rally tomorrow, we might not even get 10000 people.

The question is not whether we chinese dont seek for help like beggars. One dude said that if we cant survive we get a 2nd job or even a 3rd. But dont u see, that is not the solution. Sooner or later jobs will be scarce [deleted]

If we Malaysians can be so “defensive” and “stood up” for atrocities shown by other countries, why cant we do the same for our own?

92. #92 by kslaw70 on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 11:56 pm

Cause of this demostration, Bodowi will simmon a meeting among all the top crooks of BN, This is what he will say during the meeting :

“Oleh kerana masyarakat India terasa tersingkir, saya akan menwujudkan sebuah “koridor ekonomi” bagi tiap-tiap negeri di Malaysia. Kerana SIL saya dan mereka yang di Pejabat Tingkat Empat mahir menciptanya.” Harap semua kaum akan dapat berkongsi kekayaan negara.”

Samy kata : saya sokong kuat-kuat cadangan PM, sememangnya PM ialah seorang yang perihatin. Kita dapat selesaikan masalah dengan cara rundingan dalaman.

OKT kata : Apa-apa masalah harus diselesaikan dengan cara kompromasi BN. Kita tidak harus mengadakan demostrasi. Ini bukan budaya kita. PM akan bertindak adil utk semua kaum.

Oh yeah

93. #93 by negarawan on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 11:57 pm

Badawi and UMNO, your keris has drawn the blood of innocent lives. MIC and MCA, if you still have any honour left in yourselves, you should commit suicide. BN is utterly disgusting by any human standards!

94. #94 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 11:58 pm

That does not depend on me, Jong. I feel sorry for Jeffrey and Lee Wang Yen and others like them.

Further, I’m answering a question by EARNEST.

95. #95 by DarkHorse on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 12:01 am

EARNEST, the answer to your question about Jeffrey and the Cambridge “brat” is on the other thread:

“Hindraf rally – police stop over-reacting, dismantle roadblocks and issue permit”

I hope this helps to fill up the gap in the information.

96. #96 by EARNEST on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 12:32 am

Thank you DarkHorse. I have read it. Very impressive. How come you know so much about them?

97. #97 by pwcheng on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 12:51 am

malaysiatoday.com Says:
    November 25th, 2007 at 18: 13.09

You are right, Just see their placard and protest during the era of the Malayan Union. They can do it then but after enjoying all the comfort at the expense of the poor rakyat, Malays included, they had changed their tune o say that “demo is not a local political culture ” now. What a farce.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Protest_against_Malayan_Union.jpg

A recent example is with Proton; it is clear that Volkswagon spun them,(must be due o their hard headed NEP policy which they thought they can drive into everybody’s throat) but instead he said Proton do not need Volkswagon or GM because they are already getting healthy on their sales.
    These stupid spin doctor do not realize that they are just putting a noose around their own neck because if what he say is true, no investors will dare come here as they can be abandoned anytime, if the Malaysian economy gets better.

98. #98 by lml3281 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:01 am

For what is happening in Malaysia now, this generation we are considered doomed. But we must continue to fight on at least for our next generation. Whether our forefathers the Malays from Aceh, the Chinese from Mainland China, the Indians from Tamil Nadu India, the Ceylonese from Sri Lanka etc, we are Malaysian. Malaysia is our native land as we are born in Malaysia, grow up in Malaysia, study in Malaysia, work in Malaysia, celebrate various festival in Malaysia and did many other things together in Malaysia. Remember we were a powerful nation in badminton. We have Misbun Sidek (Jawa), Punch Gunalan (India) and Eddy Choong (Cina) all Malaysian. In 1992, I was in the stadium Negara and it was an unforgettable moment because Rashid Sidek, Jalani Sidek, Rasif Sidek, Foo Kok Keong, Cheah Soon Kit, Soo Beng Kiang and Kwan Yoke Meng are the Malaysians who brought back the prestigious Thomas Cup by beating the Indonesians and I was feeling very very happy because not only we have won the Thomas Cup, I saw with my bear eyes a chinese hugging a malay, an indian hugging another malay in tears. I believe those hugging each other is a Malaysian and not chinese, malay or indian. In football we have R.Arumugam, Mokhtar Dahari, Soh Chin Aun and many more Malaysians. But I guess we have forgotten all these because we have been manipulated by just a few of the POWER CRAZY, GREEDY, PEOPLE WITH NO MORALE (I use the word people instead of animal because these earthlings uses their brain to manipulate) and divided us Malaysians by implementing various UNETHICAL rules/laws so that they can continue to be in power and rule over us. We are no more in the colonial years where the British uses the chinese, indians and malays.

THINK VERY CAREFULLY FOR OUR NEXT GENERATION AND FOR MALAYSIA, FOR WE STILL HAVE A CHANCE. DO NOT END UP LIKE MYANMAR OR LIKE INDONESIA. WE CAN BE AS RICH AS SINGAPORE OR AUSTRALIA IF NOT RICHER, WHERE EVERYONE MALAYSIAN WILL GET A FAIR SHARE OR AT LEAST BE ABLE TO OWN A HOME! MALAYSIA BOLEH IF WE ARE UNITED NOT AS A CHINESE, NOT AS A MALAY, NOT AS AN INDIAN BUT AS MALAYSIANS. WE ARE NOT STUPID! JUST THAT WE LET THOSE #X@$ MAKE US LOOK STUPID. FOR THOSE WHO BELIEVE IN GOD, THOSE #X@$ WILL GET THEIR FAIR SHARE OF PUNISHMENT!

I would like to congratulate the Australians because they are CLEVER. See they have elected a new government that opposes war.

99. #99 by Godamn Singh on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:06 am

earnest, jeffrey is a regular contributor on this blog and has been so for years! he is respected and appreciated for his contributions. every contributor knows this. obviously you’re a newcomer.

100. #100 by smeagroo on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:19 am

Shouldnt DAP, PKR, PAS come out to woo these ppl now? HOw many of these ppl are registered voters? If 30000 of these disgurntled ppl can gv you 75% of their votes, that’s heck of alot. Dont forget the many who didnt turn up or couldnt.

Go for recruitment drive!

101. #101 by Count Dracula on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:24 am

To EARNEST

You are new here. Jeffry has been an indispensable contributor to this blog ever since Kit started it some years ago!

102. #102 by choonchoy on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:30 am

U nscrupulous
    M alicious
    N incompoop
    O ppressors

103. #103 by Man_of_Honour on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:38 am

Since when malaysian police force had been protecting rakyat?

I see a lot of them hiding behind trees while others busy manning road blocks on lonely streets. (Places where no accidents/crime occured). In Malaysia, polis only protect those who are in power. Whilst, they harm, threathen and bully the others. They should be called “Polis Politik Barisan National” rather than PDRM as they have no regards to the Royalty.

On the political side, under Tun Mahathir’s leadership, we’ve progressed very much. This I must agree. However, of course there are people who are displeased also. But who cares? Tun had delivered good results and managed to take care of its people.

Under AABadawi’s leadership, we see and hear lotsa talk, lotsa empty promises, lotsa fake hopes, lotsa media reports and many many more…, but sadly no constructive actions are taken. Having no actions might be a good idea. However, he chose unconstructive actions which lead Malaysia backwards in fast motions. People are suffering and now, and we’ve even lost our rights to demonstrate!

Zam said, Ma.. ma.. laysia is demokratic kauntry… bet he doesn’t even know the meaning of it. Obviously they don’t even know how to spell it correctly!

104. #104 by mwt on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 2:26 am

Many did not see the Al Jazeera interview with IGP at 4pm Sunday and his Shameful words “We allowed it” to hand over the petition! All protesters were saying & asking was “Give us a Chance to Hand in the Petition to British High Commission” – just an hour maybe. And what they got were tears and chemical water. It is most regrettable they were not given the chance to hand over the petition (was a copy faxed over?). And the gall of the IGP in the interview to say they were no leaders there to submit the petition.
    Read the shameful words of IGP: “we allowed it”

ALJazeera: Your officers were fairly effective in driving the protesters away from the British High Commission, do you think that had they been allowed to hand over the petition at the High C, this would have ended peacefully without any disturbance?

IGP: Well first of all we allowed it; but of course they got no leaders with them’ So we don’t know who wants to hand over the memorandum. And by the end of it the, leaders came, but later on they didn’t even hand over the memorandum to the British High Commission.
    More details, plus two Video Clips (Protest & interview) at
    Go H E R E

105. #105 by Godfather on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:52 am

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2005

Pordah !

106. #106 by dawsheng on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:18 am

Yesterday we witnessed how UMNO treated the Indians without any compassion. It is also clear that UMNO is not going to take the responsiblity for demolition of Indian temple, let alone helping to elevate them from poverty, and give them a future in their own country. Yesterday, the Indians in Malaysia was rob of their dignity, their status plunge to a level lower than second class citizen because in the Ketuanan Melayu ideology, there’s only masters and slaves, that is now a reality. As fellow Malaysians, we cannot let the Indians to fight this war alone.

107. #107 by sotong on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:29 am

There is a lack of confidence in the government to take proper care of this peaceful rally to protect participants and the general public.

Leaders said one thing, followers do the opposite – disorganise and lack of professionalism and discipline.

108. #108 by seaturtle on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:34 am

WHERE IS OUR BASIC RIGHT???

VOTE THEM OUT !!! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE

GET LOST BN !!!

109. #109 by seaturtle on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:38 am

KIT, We need more peaceful rally… maybe once a month until THEY know how to respect our right and respect us as a citizen of malaysia…

110. #110 by dawsheng on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:42 am

We cannot let our friends and family members robbed and rape by criminals and illegal immigrants every hour of the day. I hope all the opposition parties can unite as it is time for the largest public demonstration in the history of Malaysia. For those who thinks the ballot box can make the different, you have got the answer yesterday.

111. #111 by rasinblood on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:45 am

Good Morning,

It being awhile i never reply anythings, Seaturtle i strongy agree with you on the peaceful rally, Keep on preassure the goverment, COME ON !! LETS DO IT AGAIN !!! SELF-FISH Chinese business man stop looking at the NOW money and look out for the future for your CHILDREN SAKE!! dun repeat the mistake our fore father made. If the indians can be united waited early in the morning, we cant we DO IT ? WHY?

Get those oversea news to cover up, get interview over the news that, always see those cow brain get interview. saw musa interview? DOSA by lying those words infront of millions of viewer, what premit what goverment allow? There is no such thing if peaceful gathering allow with permit, it there will happen ” pig can climb up the tree ” and ” malaysia will hav the next pm to be a black or yellow skin ”

cheers

112. #112 by Bigjoe on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:04 am

I say, we should all count our blessings yesterday demonstration did not get worst.

Firstly, Hindraf should be congratulated for actually pulling it off and despite not getting into the British compound, the 8-hour with their speeches made most of the points needed. They put the issue up front and on the front pages of most global news organization.

Secondly, the police showed good judgement. I always says our police is not as pitiful as those who justify their corruption and failure to act. If under pressure, they can act and that is why the IPCMC with full power is non-negotiable..

Hindraf next move is logically in London, what should the PM do? – Get rid of Samy Vellu if you ask me…

113. #113 by k1980 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:23 am

Hindraf next move is logically in London, what should the PM do? Send the FRU and the water cannons to surround Buckingham Palace!
    Photos can be found aat:
    http://www.jeffooi.com/

114. #114 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:24 am

YB LKS says:
    “If the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had “walked the talk” of creating a Malaysia with “First World Infrastructure, First World Mentality”, today’s disgraceful display of excessive police force would not have happened.”

YB, a lame duck PM has no grace either in his walk or his talk.

115. #115 by assamlaksa on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:29 am

Kudos to Hindraf. The gathering did not cause any inconvenience to me and my friends but on other hand the police blocks along major roads and highways over the past few days caused hell lots of problems with cancellation of appointments, waste of time and resources due to the massive traffic jam all over the city.

The gathering despite the road blocks indicates the road blocks were ineffective. The road blocks is not an obstacle at all for the people to gather. The police could have deployed the road block for other meaningful duties such as going for illegal road races, snatch thieves, crime solving.

116. #116 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:18 am

“If the indians can be united waited early in the morning, we cant we DO IT ? WHY?” – rasinblood

Because the chinese in general will always without fail take that short term carrot dished out by BN.

1999 was the best opportunity for the Opposition. Because of the Anwar issue, the malays voted for the Opposition but what kept BN in power were the chinese votes. :)

1999 had come and gone. You lot had your opportunity.

117. #117 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:22 am

“KIT, We need more peaceful rally… maybe once a month until THEY know how to respect our right and respect us as a citizen of malaysia…” – seaturtle

Just a curious question here, did you attend that Nov 10 Bersih march and yesterday’s Hindraf’s event?

118. #118 by smeagroo on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:37 am

IF rallies need permits, then why cant ppl just gather at KLCC park every weekend dressed in their favorite color-themed shirt and lepak? NOt a crime rite?

119. #119 by HJ Angus on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:41 am

HINDRAF can become an important ally for the opposition parties in the next GE.
    But maybe get rid of the limited vision and work for ALL POOR Malaysians.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2007/11/hindraf-rally-possible-developments.html

120. #120 by Public Freedom on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 10:01 am

the chinese worry about well money for the most part…a lot of them becaue they have to pay for the kids college funds! and well the younger chinese ppl cares more about their new handphones and chinese pop music then politics

121. #121 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 10:17 am

“the chinese worry about well money for the most part…a lot of them becaue they have to pay for the kids college funds! and well the younger chinese ppl cares more about their new handphones and chinese pop music then politics” – Public Freedom

Spot on!!!

… and may I add colouring their hair, popping estacy pills & dreaming of making easy money.

122. #122 by megaman on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 10:22 am

I see posts asking when the Chinese would march …

In my own opinion, soon if the current conditions persist, if things continue to get worse.

But, when Chinese do march, it would means the country has already become a barren wasteland that can no longer sustain anyone.

This is probably the very nature of the Chinese community in Malaysia; entrenched political apathy, selfishness and resilience but when the Chinese themselves find it impossible to earn a simple living well that’s when they will march.

The Chinese should really march to show their solidarity with the other races and to air their grievances as well. But, under the current circumstances, do you really want the Chinese to march ?

123. #123 by oknyua on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 10:38 am

Megaman, this is exactly what would happen if the imbalance today is not addressed. The MCA is quite docile (good boy..sit, sit) and its past forms a dark cloud over it. And what about issues affected the Chinese?

Just an example: Why each year 12As, 15As Chinese SPM students are highlighted in the paper? Why? If 3As is an automatic scholarship for some, why overlook the 10, 11, 12As? And what about those that do not have access to the newspapers or the MCA or to any political party (like me)? I am compeltely forgotten. (Damned fool me, why don’t I join a political party?)

My prediction is that there are only 2 options left: We will continue to see marches, or we became another Myanmar where the elite few decide on the majority.

124. #124 by HJ Angus on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:23 am

Just to touch a little on why the Chinese do not get too involved in marches.

Perhaps it is their business approach to most problems.
    Just an example: Can’t get a crony contract?
    They find out who is in the line-up and then work out the Ali-baba deal.

They know that most cronies who get the sweetheart deals are not really interested in the tough work-out of the business and are prepared to pay a percentage fee to do the business.

As for those who get such manna from the top, why worry about business? There is more in the pipeline.

How’s the order coming along for my helicopter and that 5-carat diamond to woo that popular actress? Time to enjoy another wife, you know.

125. #125 by bennu chong on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:31 am

hi, this is my 1st reply in Yb Lim’s blog. Have been reading this blog for some time. I have a question to ask, how to join DAP or Keadilan? Am i free to join anytime or do i need to pass some requirements?

Im 22 this year, still studying in university.

thanks

126. #126 by vincew on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:55 am

Is is so sad to see Malaysia come to a time where street protest is required to show the world what is is happening here. All the media black out, story twisting and fact hiding by local channel has managed to force this to happen.
    No doubt this has been channel to most intelectual group of Malaysian but what about the others who have no access to internasional media. What do they know?
    It is surprising that more than 50% of Malaysian does not know what is happening to the country. Please let them know what is happening here and how the money of the people was spent buying the “SCREW DRIVER SET”, The “JACK”.

Please let this information be passed to all people from all race and religion. Let the people think about it and make a decision based on fact and not on “EMPTY” promises.

LET THE PEOPLE VOTE FOR A BETTER MALAYSIA!

127. #127 by St0rmFury on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:32 pm

Bennu, where do you stay? I’ll see if there’s any DAP service centres at your vicinity.

128. #128 by lakshy on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 2:04 pm

Hang on a second. Do you guys know that there was a crowd of around 30,000people at Batu Caves in the wee hours of the morning? Why were they attacked there? This is a religious month for Hindus and being in the temple should be acceptable.

Why did police fire tear gas at a peaceful crowd at a temple? The ban was applicable to Jalan Ampang? Why is the police action here not being looked at?

At 8:45am at Jalan Ampang, the crowds were told that they could march to the High Comm at 9am. At 9 am the police fired tear gas into the crowds. What is this? Deception?

There was lots of provocation by the police. I take my hats off to the indians for taking all of this and not getting violent.

It was a real thrill to watch the Indian crowds catching the tear gas canisters and throwing it back at the police. It was fun to watch the police run after tasting their own medicine.

Now which ruler allows his forces to use force against a peaceful crowd? Only thiefs and liars!

We dont need such politicians. All of us have a DUTY to get rid of them for the good of this country. Malaysian Politicians have a lot of maturing to do. Thankfully the rakyat has matured!

129. #129 by sotong on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:13 pm

Trying to find solutions around the bad, damaging and discriminative policies destroying the country will not resolve their community and country problems.

The government would not fully understand and realise the permanent and long term impact its failed and damaging policies had on the country and her ordinary people eg. NEP grossly exploited by political opportunists to enrich themselves at the great expense of the country.

130. #130 by shiver on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:21 pm

hi smeagroo,

i actually have a bone to pick with you. remember the toll protests earlier this year? you told someone (kopi37) i think that you are not interested in going to the jalan to protest. you claim it was a waste of time. i still remember, when kopi37 was busy asking people to join the toll protests, you said you not going.

now, you changed your tune to yes, i will be there and wanting to hantam the other chinaman who dont share your enthusiasm. i wanna ask you dear commentator, are you actually serious or are you one of those people here who are NATO? I hope that the past 10 months changed your mindset that the Govt should fear the PEOPLE and not the other way round.

i hope you will be brave enough if there is a call for the chinese community to walk the walk one of these days instead of being a tin kosong, making lots of noise, being embarassed about being a chinese and yet wont show your face when push comes to shove.

what you wrote ten months ago about having no point to walking the streets clearly shows that either you are one hypocritical person or you really see the need and the change in showing that you care for the country. I hope it is the latter.

131. #131 by shiver on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:30 pm

and yeah, everyone … just ignore real world.
    one tiny spec.
    he likes to come to a “opposition” blog and talk rubbish.
    hello, i notice there are many more people who is upset about the country, you can go out of the country watch chelsea play, or just continue to cut and paste people’s comment.

real world, i myself now dont give a flying f*** on what you wanna say because i have ignored your comments and i know most of the commentators here have.

which part of my writing are you gonna cut and paste now?

Unite Malaysians! UNITE!

132. #132 by St0rmFury on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:36 pm

Let’s just say there’s going to be another rally in the near future, I am planning to get some people (friends I made at the BERSIH rally) together to form a small group to control the tear gas. Instead of throwing the canisters back at the police, we are going to stuff them in plastic bags and seal it. That way, nobody gets hurt.

133. #133 by malaysiatoday.com on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:37 pm

HJ Angus Says:

November 26th, 2007 at 11: 23.05
    Just to touch a little on why the Chinese do not get too involved in marches.

Perhaps it is their business approach to most problems.
    Just an example: Can’t get a crony contract?
    They find out who is in the line-up and then work out the Ali-baba deal.

They know that most cronies who get the sweetheart deals are not really interested in the tough work-out of the business and are prepared to pay a percentage fee to do the business.

As for those who get such manna from the top, why worry about business? There is more in the pipeline.

How’s the order coming along for my helicopter and that 5-carat diamond to woo that popular actress? Time to enjoy another wife, you know

=============

I think you shall know my other handler, fearless in soc.culture.malaysia.

Don’t mistaken Chinese have no demostration culture. In recent history in Mainland China, the wind of change was from the student’s demostrations in the street.

Please be reminded that the majority of Malaysian chinese are not businessmen and rich people.

Alibaba type of business is not monopolized by Chinese, Indian businessmen also benefiting a lot from road construction, Telekom cabling, etc.

You are using a small number of Chinese businessmen to come to such a conclusion is a flaw in statistics.

134. #134 by St0rmFury on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:44 pm

I can vouch for malaysiatoday. A few months ago DAP organize a forum in support of Wee Meng Chee (Namewee). I was there and the crowd was HUGE. If so many people can unite together in support of one single individual, imagine how much will turn up in support of the country. When the time comes, you can bet the Malaysian Chinese will make their voices heard as well.

135. #135 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 4:26 pm

“real world, i myself now dont give a flying f*** on what you wanna say because i have ignored your comments and i know most of the commentators here have.” – shiver

If you dont give a flying f*** on what I say then why bother making such comments?? Dude, dont contradict yourself cos you end up looking like a mong.

Flying f*** …. gee such big word from a gimp.

136. #136 by shiver on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 4:49 pm

thats the one he cut and paste. loser.
    i wonder if he will go to a pro-BN website? obviously not cause he is a

L O S E R.

he calls other gimps? hahahahaha

P A T H E T I C L O S E R.

that is the reason why i have totally ignored him. whatever his nick is.

137. #137 by sj on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 4:58 pm

Instead of throwing the canisters back at the police, we are going to stuff them in plastic bags and seal it.

Dude, dont do that if you dont have a gas mask, and second of all, the tear gas canister is searing hot. So picking it up will sure to give you BBQ fingers of Malaysian. Yummy.

The more practical way would be using wet towels and wrap your face with it.

138. #138 by St0rmFury on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:07 pm

shiver, at the risk of sounding like a BN supporter, I am going to say that you are seriously starting to sound like Nazri. What did he call the people who disagreed with him? Pondan, monkey etc. What did you call people who disagreed with you? Loser, pathetic etc.

Look at yourself first before insulting others, you are not practicing what you preach. That goes for all of you people, me included. Ignore RealWorld if you want, but you don’t have to announce it for all to see.

As for you RealWorld, I’m fine with whatever you have to say as long as you don’t cross the line (I’m sure you know where the line is).

139. #139 by bennu chong on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:23 pm

Im currently staying at melaka,originally from sarawak.
    Im so happy that the opposition won 3/4 seats in previous state election. 3 by dap and 1 by keadilan. Im sure this time the opposition will get at least 40-50 seats compared to just 20 won in 2004 GE. But to deny BN 2/3 majority we need more than 70 seats.

140. #140 by bennu chong on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:24 pm

St0rmFury Says:

November 26th, 2007 at 13: 32.30
    Bennu, where do you stay? I’ll see if there’s any DAP service centres at your vicinity.

Thanks man i received their emails already.

Im currently staying at melaka,originally from sarawak.
    Im so happy that the opposition won 3/4 seats in previous state election. 3 by dap and 1 by keadilan. Im sure this time the opposition will get at least 40-50 seats compared to just 20 won in 2004 GE. But to deny BN 2/3 majority we need more than 70 seats.

141. #141 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:37 pm

“that is the reason why i have totally ignored him. whatever his nick is” – shiver

Is you are ignoring, why the tirade??
    Who is looking more pathetic now?

142. #142 by shiver on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:38 pm

hello storm fury.
    thanks for the reminder, will remember that next time if we ever meet. however, i am saying what i feel, with mongs and gimps included, as i dont understand the need for anyone who is blatantly here to irritate others and not because the person is here to want to know the truth or for that matter an alternative viewpoint, but just for the sake of antagonizing others into an empty discussion of whose daddy is stronger.

anyway, on your point, noted. coming on your point that Malaysian Chinese will unite when crunch time comes, i’m sceptical, but i still BELIEVE in the impossible, and I believe that there are Chinese Malaysians who loves Malaysia as much.

143. #143 by shiver on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:39 pm

real world – a tit for tat.

to me, you are still a loser.

144. #144 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:41 pm

Sorry, shiver … it should be, If you are ignoring, why the tirade?? :)

145. #145 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 6:05 pm

The only thing ‘Real’ in this ‘World’ in this context is that the “Hindraf rally – excessive use of police force with firing of tear gas and water cannons”.

People with the same flesh and blood were bullied, bruised and battered.
    People with the same intelligence and minds want to reclaim their voice.
    People whose grandparents came as rubber tappers today remain as rubber tappers; others have been deprived of opportunities and a fair share of the nation’s wealth and bounty.
    People who are denied land for places of worship.
    People who can’t understand why the government keeps building places for religious worship with taxpayers’ money for certain community and demolishes temples built by other communities with their private money.
    People who expect a place under the sun but are squattered in slums.
    People who feel denied, deceived and trapped in despair by thieves in suits.

People who pray that but for the grace of God they might be a new face of Al Qaeda here.

146. #146 by Toyol on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 6:40 pm

MIC is no longer relevant to the Indians like MCA is no longer relevant to the Chinese. Soon BN will implode…

147. #147 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 6:41 pm

Shakespeare teaches peace and harmony through his portrayal of the rift between Jews and Christians in the “Merchant of Venice”:

1. I am a Jew. Hath not a Jew eyes? Hath not a Jew hands, organs, dimensions, senses, affections, passions; fed with the same food, hurt with the same weapons, subject to the same diseases, healed by the same means, warmed and cooled by the same winter and summer as a Christian is? If you prick us do we not bleed? If you tickle us do we not laugh? If you poison us do we not die? And if you wrong us shall we not revenge? If we are like you in the rest, we will resemble you in that. If a Jew wrong a Christian, what is his humility? Revenge. If a Christian wrong a Jew, what should his sufferance be by Christian example? Why, revenge. The villainy you teach me I will execute, and it shall go hard but I will better the instruction.
    (III.i.49–61)

148. #148 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:06 pm

FROM ‘THE STAR’:

LIE NO.1 –
    “Musa said his men had also exercised restraint in all the other areas and only used water cannons and tear gas to disperse the crowd in some areas.”

LIE NO.2 –
    “There was no body contact at all. We made quite a number of arrests there (in the city) as well. ”

LIE NO.3 –
    “We would have negotiated with the leaders to have them hand over the memorandum but there was no leader in sight. ”

Hello IGP, if you had issued a permit, the whole thing would have been over in 1 hour. No bruises. No battery. No assault. No tear gas. No chemicals.

Hello, IGP, please resign!

149. #149 by malaysiatoday.com on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:04 pm

St0rmFury Says:

November 26th, 2007 at 15: 44.42
    I can vouch for malaysiatoday. A few months ago DAP organize a forum in support of Wee Meng Chee (Namewee). I was there and the crowd was HUGE. If so many people can unite together in support of one single individual, imagine how much will turn up in support of the country. When the time comes, you can bet the Malaysian Chinese will make their voices heard as well.

===============================================

Personally I disgree with “racist” approach used by Namewee. Chinese community was manipulated for his recording business venture. I am glad he failed to make money for his first album.

Hong Kong Chinese are labelled more money-minded than any Chinese, but one million HK Chinese (out 5 million plus) went to the street to protest 4 June 1998 Tiananmen SQ massacre.

Malaysian Chinese still not resorting to street demonstartions because they still can survive unlike many Indians. Anwar said it right, hindraf is a safety valve for releasing their angers.

If Malaysian UMNO and MIC politicians are still bullshitting as usual and ignore the real problem in Indian community, they better send a team of MPs to Sri Lanka to conduct a thorought study on the root causes of civil war in Sri Lanka.

150. #150 by goldenscreen on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:13 pm

The Star report that the “demonstrators forcing open the locked gates and breaking temple property”. Hello, the Hindus destroy their own temple? I don’t think so..the pathetic Star better look for a better excuse..the only people who love to destroy temples are our FRU and local council demolition squads. And didn’t The Star know that yesterday was also a Hindu religious festival?

Of course if you watched the Channel News Asia coverage of the protests at Batu Caves, you can clearly see the protesters marching out from the main gate peacefully and stopped in front of the FRU while chanting slogans, then the FRU violently pushed the people back into the temple with some FRU personnel seen using their shield to hit the protesters. They were lucky when pushing the protesters back didn’t nearly cause a stampede. All this was caught on video camera by an international news organization but mysteriously seemed to have slipped from the attention of Star, NST etc.

Furthermore, Musa said that “there was no body contact at all”. I have reviewed hundreds of photos and videos and clearly there were violent reactions by the police eg. a photo showing a bloodied Indian dragged away by police, videos showing police dragging a protester along the floor and another video showing police kicking at another protester while he was already pinned down by 3 other cops, video and photos of protesters who were directly hit by tear gas canisters on their body and face (with the police deliberately firing tear gas directly at the people).

Musa also said “police did not use any force, nor did they fire water cannons and tear gas at the crowd” in Batu Caves. Using the shield to hit people is not force? There was one direct hit between the shield and a protesters head, with the protester seen falling back! See the photos at Jeff Ooi’s blog and decide for yourself whether police did or did not fire cannons and tear gas into Batu Caves. (Link : http://www.jeffooi.com/2007/11/hindraf_rally_ethnic_minority_1.php#more)

Under the headline, “Traffic webcams broadcast rally”, The Star acknowledge that the traffic cameras could be used to watch the protest live. I saw it on the camera from 6.30am to 11.30am. As early as 7.00am people were gathering peacefully in KLCC, with many seen sitting on the ground. Without warning, police fired tear gas at the peaceful gathering. At other times also in KLCC/Conlay and Jalan Ampang, the FRU can be seen as the aggressors in attacking the peaceful crowd time and time again. The irony is this could be watched from the cameras and yet The Star can pretend that it is the protesters who provoked the police?

Many many videos show ordinary people voicing their very real anger at the government. Where were The Star’s so-called reporters? Yeah, forgot they were hiding behind the FRU comfortably. (that is until the protester’s threw back the tear gas at the police).

151. #151 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:20 pm

“There was no body contact at all. We made quite a number of arrests there (in the city) as well. ”

How do you arrest someone without body contact??

152. #152 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:42 pm

“Hello IGP, if you had issued a permit, the whole thing would have been over in 1 hour. No bruises. No battery. No assault. No tear gas. No chemicals.”

I guess you can trust the police not to to see further than their noses. Had they allowed matters to take their own course, there wouldn’t be images of Malaysian Indians being pummelled by tear gas cannisters, showered with chemical-laced water flashing across TV screens round the world.

Demonstrators do what demonstrators do i.e. they demonstrate because they want to be seen and heard. Now we have images of demonstrators demonstrating because they are not allowed to be seen and heard. The significance of the memorandum addressed to the Queen of England has been all but totally forgotten.

The police are playing right into the hands of anarchists among the demonstrators.

153. #153 by lakshy on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:46 pm

They let the three Hindraf lawyers go. Discharge not amounting to an acquittal. Mission accomplished. They just did not want them present at Ampang on Sunday. So the police conspired to keep them away. And today, release them docilely but with a caveat….not an acquittal yet.

Wasn’t that abuse of process?

And can someone tell me if a Magistrate’s court can charge someone for sedition? Wouldn’t that have to be heard in a Higher Court? I would expect sedition to be a major charge

154. #154 by wtf2 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 10:12 pm

there is a more blatant abuse of process ongoing in the mongolian murder trial
    do not forget how she died and the murderers involved

155. #155 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:14 pm

“They let the three Hindraf lawyers go. Discharge not amounting to an acquittal. Mission accomplished. They just did not want them present at Ampang on Sunday. So the police conspired to keep them away. And today, release them docilely but with a caveat….not an acquittal yet. Wasn’t that abuse of process?” lakshy

This is when we need the expertise of the blog’s legal analyst, Jeffrey QC. But sadly he’s gone – run out of the blog by an ‘impostor’ and a ‘fraud’.

I don’t really know what happened to the lawyers. Weren’t they arrested and then released on police bail? The CPC requires that the person arrested be brought to face the magistrate within 24 hours or is it 48 hours, and then be informed of the reason for his arrest, and asked to plead and then bail is offered – or not offered.

If upon commencement of PI the court finds there is insufficient evidence, and that having regard to the evidence there is no reason to hold the accused further, the accused is sometimes given a discharge “not amounting to an acquittal”. That way they avoid infringing the rule against double jeopardy.

There is no abuse. The police has not properly investigated the case and the prosecutor acted prematurely. Evidence against the accused fails to rise to the level required i.e. to meet the standard of prima facie case required before it could proceed to trial.

However, sometimes the accused is re-arrested as he walks out of court upon discharge not amounting to an acquittal. It gives the appearance of abuse of process – but technically there is nothing wrong for the police so to do.

156. #156 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:22 pm

“They just did not want them present at Ampang on Sunday.” lakshy

You’re talking arbitrary detention here. To arrest you the police would need ‘reasonable cause’. The magistrate is prosecution oriented and interprets ‘reasonable cause’ in a manner favourable to law enforcement agents.

157. #157 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 6:28 am

““There was no body contact at all. We made quite a number of arrests there (in the city) as well. ”

How do you arrest someone without body contact??”

T-A-Z-E-R
    Already 3 Canadians have been killed with this device.
    Don’t be surprised in the police don’t start using this here.

158. #158 by Colonel on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 9:40 am

“Don’t taze me bro” means don’t arrest me??

159. #159 by Godfather on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 8:33 pm

Guys, FakeWorld is here to disrupt and to divert people’s attention. He has been sent here by his UMNO masters to do a job. Just ignore his “cut-and-paste” comments, and soon he will disappear, perhaps to return later when his UMNO masters tell him to.

160. #160 by sarai on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 9:01 pm

To all the Indians of Malaysia, never ever forget what happened that Sunday. Do not be hoodwinked into voting for the Barisan in the next election. Please register as a voter if you have never voted. I plead with all the young generation who have reached 21 years. This is the only time you can exercise your right to vote. Vote these goons out!