The police should not repeat their over-reaction and high-handed action on Nov. 10 over the peaceful 40,000-people Bersih gathering to hand over a petition to the Yang di Pertuan Agong for electoral reforms to ensure free, fair and clean elections and should immediately dismantle the roadblocks creating massive jams in Kuala Lumpur and the Klang Valley since yesterday.
The massive Nov. 10 traffic gridlock creating massive congestions in Kuala Lumpur and Klang Valley were largely the creation of the police and could have been avoided or ameliorated considerably with enlightened and sensitive police handling of peaceful gatherings by citizens exercising their fundamental constitutional rights to get their voices heard in a meaningful democracy.
If the Police had issued a police permit for the Bersih peaceful gathering on Nov. 10, demonstrating greater sensitivity and respect for human rights guaranteed in the Malaysian Constitution as recommended by the Dzaiddin Royal Police Commission 30 months ago, all legitimate concerns would have been met — the concerns of the police and government with regard to law and order and the concerns of aggrieved citizenry to petition the Yang di Pertuan Agong for an end to electoral abuses.
For the Hindraf rally on Sunday, the Police has not only refused to learn any lesson to respect the human rights of Malaysians to peaceful assembly, but has decided even earlier to impose roadblocks — starting since yesterday on various roads and expressways in the Klang Valley.
Headlines of such traffic gridlocks are already in the media — “Klang Valley chokes up” (The Star), “Roadblocks mounted ahead of Hindraf rally” (The Sun), “Massive traffic jams leading into the city” (New Straits Times) and “Police roadblocks jam up roads, again” (Malaysiakini).
From all indications, the traffic gridlock in Kuala Lumpur and the Klang Valley this time is going to be worse than a fortnight ago — no thanks to the police.
The police should stop over-reacting, dismantle the roadblocks creating massive jams in KL and Klang Valley and issue police permit for the Hindraf rally.
The Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan has again threatened prosecution against parents for bringing their children to any peaceful assembly.
Musa and all police personnel must be reminded that such warnings cannot absolve them of responsibility to ensure that the police do not harm children and women by abuse of power and excessive use of force in any crowd control.
The world has unforgettable images of the Myanmar military brutalizing defenceless monks in the September “saffron revolution”. Does Musa want the world to have equally unforgettable images of the Malaysian police brutalizing children?
The Inspector-General of Police must ensure that nothing is done to turn Nov. 25 into a bloody Sunday in Kuala Lumpur, which can only add shame and ignominy to Malaysia’s international reputation.

#1 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 2:53 am
“Hindraf planned Sunday’s gathering to hand a memorandum addressed to the Queen of England to support a class-action suit against Her Majesty’s government for bringing Indians to Malaysia as indentured labourers and exploiting them for 150 years. It is seeking RM27.7 trillion in compensation..”
This reminds me of another class action law suit brought by African-Americans against corporate America amidst claims that the defendant companies had profited from slavery – a law suit which was later dismissed.
And now this! It is another case of political grandstanding.
#2 by lakshy on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 3:01 am
Come on guys, lets all lend support to this rally. lets all walk hand in hand to show BN that we stand in solidarity with the Indians. Let this be the continued march to democratization of Malaysia. Lets have a million people marching in KL and then we see what the police and authorities do!
DYMM SPB YDP Agung…………these are your people! We are your rakyat! Your role is to protect us!
#3 by somaris on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 5:18 am
To ALL INDIAN.
THIS IS THE TIME FOR U ALL PEOPLE TO COME OUT ALL THE WAY TO FIGHT FOR UR RIGHT.GO TELL ALL INDIAN WHAT HAD HAPPEN ALL THIS YEARS.INDIAN ARE POOR ,TEMPLE BEEN DESTROY BY THE MONKEY.VOTE FOR DAP.LONG LIVE LIM KIT SIANG.WE LOVE YOU.THE TIME AS COME LET ALL DO SOMETHING FOR ALL MALAYSIA.HIDUP MALAYSIAN. WE ARE ONE MALAYSIAN.
Throw Out MIC.PPP.
We Need NEW HINDRAF FOR ALL INDIAN
#4 by Godamn Singh on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 7:04 am
One little Indian, two little Indian….
#5 by Godamn Singh on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 7:36 am
One little, two little, three little Indians
Four little, five little, six little Indians
Seven little, eight little, nine little Indians
Ten little Indian boys.
Ten little, nine little, eight little Indians
Seven little, six little, five little Indians
Four little, three little, two little Indians
One little Indian boy.
#6 by Godfather on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 9:14 am
Crude, intimidatory tactics by the police who are subservient to UMNO. You can’t win in a court of law as the judges are also subservient to UMNO. Conclusion ? No chance of any redress against wrongdoings against the rakyat.
I really pity the Indian community. Semi Value took all the crumbs, and now the community can’t even go for a rally for their rights.
CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG !
#7 by mwt on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 10:22 am
For the latest Hindraf Saga & Details on
MORE PICS – 3 Hindraf Leaders Arrested & Released (but 1 refused Bail as protest, Hundreds Supporters at Court; 20 NGOs & MIC Say Don’t Attend:
Go H E R E
Apparently they were arrested over speeches in Tamil made at a forum in Batang Berjuntai, Selangor based on police investigations pertaining to reports lodged against them. They were charged under Section 4 (1B) of the Sedition Act in the Klang sessions Court.
But they were released on bail in no time as the charge sheet was not in order to what the DPP was saying. N Surendran representing the three pointed out that the charge sheet stated that only one word was seditious whereas the DPP said everything in the speeches were seditious. The police bungled in this case and the Magistrate ordered the charges be amended. Hearing resumes Monday
#8 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 10:35 am
The use of force against a peaceful protest is not going to win the hearts and minds of the people.
It seems the police force is being stretched to its limits when citizens want to lodge a complaint.
One wonders how we will cope if desperate folks resort to secret and more violent activities? After all we know that our border security is just a sieve with many unrecorded visitors.
Now if we allow a peaceful protest away from the city centers, let’s say limit to one licenced protest per month, we should be able to let people let off steam in a healthy manner.
#9 by Jonny on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 11:36 am
This is a war by the police (hands and legs of govt). The police are not exactly looking after the rakyat’s interest.
They are looking after their Masters’ interest. I’m quite sad that the government we elected is no longer working after our interest. And we’ve ended up enslaved.
The road blocks are PSYCHOLOGICAL WARFARE upon us, the people. To make us shrink our b@lls – especially the Chinese community – to go back to their safe cocoon and vote back the party into power. And ever again, the Chinese will complain non-stop for the next 5 years.
I rest my case.
#10 by WFH on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 12:47 pm
Had the police permit been made a commodity and issued into the hands of the likes of KJ, I’m sure this HINDRAF rally (or any rally or protest for that matter) will be allowed, as long as the police permit is “bought” from the KJ-types, ala AP.
#11 by tc on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 12:51 pm
What Jonny said was right.At the roadblocks the policemen were chatting away.They did not even looked into the occupants in their vehicles nor did they open their booths for checking for weapons.(Contradicting to what the police chief said)
All they did was to put up roadsigns on one lane and constricting the road and thus causing the jams.I am sure the policemen on duty are frustrated to follow their superiors’ orders and some of them will feel sorry for the entire mess they have caused.
When passing these roadblocks just horn continuously to vent your frustrations and to tell them that we,the rakyat are not happy at all with their bullying tactics.
#12 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 2:10 pm
Thank you, you are courteous and kind…
http://malaysiancartoons.blogspot.com/2007/11/thank-you-mr-policeman.html
#13 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 2:20 pm
To show they are impartial, and and to proof that ‘no one is above the law ‘ in this country,
The Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan
SHOULD intrust his men to arrest KHAIRY JAMALUDDIN, the son-in-law of Prime Minister, AAB
for:
leading an illegal assembly in July last year. I that event,
Khairy Jamaluddin, who is a former diplomat’s son, stormed the convention centre that hosted the Asean Regional Forum (ARF), demanding United States Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice to get out of Malaysia because “you have done nothing to stop the genocide and the murder of Palestinians and Lebanese”
This is the excerpt taken from : http://www.niknazmi.com/wordpress/?p=618
An estimated 5000 people protested nosily against the US led Israeli policy in West Asia and tried to barge in into the venue for the Asian Regional Forum (ARF) at the Kuala Lumpur Convention centre. The group was led by Deputy UMNO Chief Khairy Jumalludin, the son-in-law of the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah.
Has Nazri forgotten that UMNO was founded by demonstrations against the Malayan Union? More importantly has Khairy Jamaluddin forgotten UMNO Youths protest against Condoleeza Rice last year – one which Khairy tried to break through the barricade to hand in a memorandum to Condi? The police evicted him, but without any tear gas or water canons. No one tried to storm any barricade on Saturday, but we were given a rougher treatment. Furthermore then Khairy said:
“From the people of Malaysia, we do not welcome you here. You may be invited by the Government, but we do not
http://www.niknazmi.com/wordpress/?p=618
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zkRag7hlW_I&feature=related
So why no action been taken against him for holding an illegal assembly?
Is it because :
1. He is UMNO Youth’s deputy chief? = he is above the law
2. He is son-in-law of PM = law not applicable to him
3.He is ‘friend’ of the government…. so arm of law could not reach him….
so, how you describe ‘transparency’ and impartiality in Malaysia?
#14 by sec on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 3:12 pm
Besides the claim of money from British;HINDDRAF’s rally has recalled a very meaningful history in Malaysia.
Ask your grandfather; who built the road; the Railwayline; who planted the rubber trees and oil palm that belongs to Sime Darby; Dunlop Estate etc. ; now belong to Synergy Berhad.
Now who claim the ” Ketunan Tanah”; actually it belongs to All races in Malaysia.
Hidup Malaysia.
#15 by limkamput on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 5:03 pm
And now this! It is another case of political grandstanding. undergrad2
I disagree with you. I think the Indian community in this country has every right to bring their attention to the government as well as the international community. It is an indictment of almost four decades of NEP. We should be supportive of them because today it is Indians but tomorrow it would be other races in the country. I am deeply sadden why the DAP has not been highlighting their cause as vigorously as it should be.
#16 by Selwin Pandian on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 5:48 pm
LEND A HAND GUYZ….FOR I THINK AFTER 50 YEARS, ONLY NOW WE ARE LEARNING TO WALK. -INDIAN REFORMASI
#17 by limkamput on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 6:16 pm
Ah Pek and tzarina, well said. I may be wrong, i think DAP and PKR are not that supportive HINDRAF. Or may be it is a strategy to let the Indians learn their lesson – after all the Indians have been supporting BN election after election as boosted by Semi Value.
After Indians, I think the government will next take on the Singh and I hope the government will start with that Godamn Singh @ Ass Singh.
#18 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 7:19 pm
“….start with that Godamn Singh @ Ass Singh.” lamkamput
Calling all Singhs “asses” is this lamkamput’s aka ‘lam-par’ idea of supporting the non-Chinese and non-Malay community.
Now this ‘genius’ is pointing at the DAP for being not much more than a Chinese party. Is it wrong if the majority of its supporters today are Chinese??
Stop abusing other commentators for having a different opinion than yours.
#19 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 9:18 pm
Just ignore this limkaput, DarkHorse.
This is what I said earlier (scroll up)
“This reminds me of another class action law suit brought by African-Americans against corporate America amidst claims that the defendant companies had profited from slavery – a law suit which was later dismissed.”
This is his reply:
“I disagree with you. I think the Indian community in this country has every right to bring their attention to the government as well as the international community.” limkaput
I was referring to the law suit. But, of course, like you say the “genius” in the guy sees it his way, sees things that are not there and hear things said that were not said (“schizophrenic” as some would say) so he could badger other readers into submitting to his opinion.
We should leave alone to his devices.
#20 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 9:23 pm
Oh, one more thing!
This limkaput also said “i think DAP and PKR are not that supportive of HINDRAF..”
I thought I saw Kit being carried on the shoulders of some of the demonstrators when he arrived. He was an instant celebrity! And yet limkaput says the DAP is “not supportive”.
#21 by eagleye on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:33 am
On 24th Nov 07, THE STAR newspaper, page N8, first column, 11th and 12th paragraph :
It stated that:
“” In Putrjaya, Umno youth chief Datuk Seri Hishamuddin Tun Hussein said “the silent majority” should make itself heard and stand up to people with their own agenda.
He said racial and religous sentiments made for a dangerous cocktail that could spell disaster. He also cautioned Umno youth members to remain calm.”"
How its going to be racism? Everything is calm. Right now Malays, Chinese and Indians are stil working together as normal… Why Umno youth have to be cautioned to REMAIN calm? What they mean?
Pleaselah!!! The one making this issue an havoc is governments. Police Blocks, planned arrests, Cancelling permits and so on… Yet there is stil no chaos of racism. It shows we are united. BN, please don’t behave like gangsters. Don’t provoke racism by your unnecessary statements.. I’m not anti-gov but more to people’s voice… people made you guys, not you make people!!! Let the peaceful gathering go on… let it happen without racism, support peaceful Malaysia.
#22 by eagleye on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:44 am
http://www.suarakeadilan.com
Saya menyokong hak HINDRAF untuk berhimpun secara aman dan ingin mengulangi rayuan saya kepada Polis DiRaja Malaysia untuk memberikan permit agar perhimpunan mereka dapat berlangsung pada 25 November 2007.
Hak untuk berhimpun secara aman telah termaktub di dalam Perlembagaan Malaysia dan Perhimpunan Aman Bersih telah membuktikan bahawa rakyat Malaysia dapat bertindak secara bertanggungjawab sesuai dengan amalan masyarakat madani.
Tetapi saya saya menyeru kepada HINDRAF agar mereka mengambil pendekatan yang lebih sederhana dan bertanggungjawab di dalam menyuarakan ketidakpuashatian mereka, khususnya di dalam soal Perlembagaan, khususnya Perkara 153.
HINDRAF sepatutnya menumpukan perhatian mereka kepada kerajaan BN yang bertanggungjawab di atas salahguna kuasa yang telah menindas kaum India yang miskin, dan juga pada masa yang sama gagal menyelesaikan masalah semua rakyat Malaysia tanpa mengira kaum, warna kulit ataupun agama.
Gerakan HINDRAF menggambarkan masalah asas yang terus menular di negara kita dan membakar api perkauman yang hanya mengeruhkan lagi ketegangan kaum dan permusuhan sesame rakyat Malaysia..
Rakyat Malaysia terus komited untuk melaksanakan pembaharuan di negara ini mesti sedar bahawa pembangkang yang berwibawa adalah penting untuk Malaysia dan masanya telah tiba untuk menyokong pembangkang.
Parti-parti yang menyokong Reformasi mesti bekerjasama secara efektif, dan menekankan isu-isu bersama, terus bekerjsama dan mengelakkan menyalahkan kaum lain untuk masalah mereka.
Apabila kita berpecah, suara kita lemah. Tetapi bersatu, kita boleh hidup secara rukun dan aman damai di negara yang boleh kita banggakan bersama.
ANWAR IBRAHIM
#23 by eagleye on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:47 am
http://www.suarakeadilan.com
Kerajaan Main Sentimen Perkauman Dalam Isu Hindraf: AMK
Kuala Lumpur, 24 November – Naib Ketua Angkatan Muda Keadilan Malaysia (AMK), Khairul Anuar Ahmad Zainuddin hari ini mendesak pihak Polis Diraja Malaysia (PDRM) untuk meluluskan permit ke atas perhimpunan yang bakal dianjurkan oleh Hindraf Ahad ini.
Dalam satu kenyataan yang diperoleh oleh SuaraKeadilan.com, Khairul berkata sebagaimana perhimpunan yang dianjurkan Bersih pada 10 November lepas, perhimpunan Hindraf ini adalalah merupakan satu manifestasi hak rakyat untuk berhimpun dan menyatakan pendapat sebagaimana yang dijamin Artikel 10 Perlembagaan Persekutuan.
“Tindakan Timbalan Perdana Menteri yang mengecam Hindraf dengan cemuhan berunsur perkauman adalah sesuatu yang amat biadap, dalam keadaan masalah kerencaman masyarakat India di Malaysia pada masa kini bukan satu keadaan yang boleh dimanipulasi dengan sentimen perkauman.
“Sebaliknya ia berbalik kepada konsep keadilan sosial dan pengagihan ekonomi yang tidak seimbang yang diamalkan oleh kerajaan Barisan Nasional’†ujar beliau mengulas respon Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak beberapa hari lepas mengenai isu Hindraf ini.
Dalam usaha mengekang perhimpunan ini, pihak polis telah menahan 3 peguam yang merupakan tulang belakang kepada Hindraf iaitu P Uthayakumar, P Waythamoorthy dan V Ganapathy Rao semalam dan disabitkan kesalahan di bawah Akta Hasutan.
Menurut Khairul, penahanan oleh PDRM adalah merupakan satu tindakan yang amat tidak profesional, di saat mereka bangkit mempertahankan hak masyarakat India.
“Tuduhan yang disabitkan ke atas mereka di bawah Akta Hasutan juga adalah satu tindakan yang jelas cuba mengekang rakyat untuk mendapatkan akses maklumat.â€Â
Beliau berpendapat sewajarnya Kerajaan Barisan Nasional memberikan penumpuan untuk memperbetulkan keadaan kestabilan masyarakat Malaysia, bukan mengekang rakyat untuk berhimpun dan melaksanakan hak demokratik mereka.
“Isunya bukan masalah kaum India semata-mata, isunya adalah penindasan berterusan ke atas rakyat Malaysia tanpa mengira agama dan bangsa. Dan terbukti jelas, selepas 50 tahun merdeka, BN meneruskan tradisi gagal membela rakyat.â€Â
#24 by eagleye on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 3:07 am
I didn’t mean to ‘ampu’ Keadilan but his statements is rational…
#25 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 6:34 am
DarkAssHorse,
LOOK, if you can’t be impartial, just keep your big mouth shut. Why don’t you read what that ass Singh talked about me for reasons best known to him. All these show that you people can’t be objective. I have no problem supporting Undergrad2 if once a while he gave constructive ideas to the discourse. But for you and Ass Singh it is just one liner. No standard, to say the least.
#26 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 6:48 am
“I was referring to the law suit. But, of course, like you say the “genius†in the guy sees it his way, sees things that are not there and hear things” Undergrad2,
Undergrad2,
Surely you are smart enough to know that the law suit has almost no possibility of success and the objective is not really to seek compensation. It is a mean to solicit support and galvanise international attention. You were using term like “political grandstanding†when referring to the law suit, so what does that mean? I think you just want to show that there was such a law suit in America and it was dismissed by the court. YOU are not the only one who knows that, ok.
#27 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 6:55 am
And yet limkaput says the DAP is “not supportiveâ€Â. Undergrad2
I am being gentle when I said DAP is not supportive. I want to ask you a fundamental question? Is our opposition getting too soft? Yes, we must all play by the rule. But is BN subscribing to the rule? Why it is so difficult for you to understand what I am saying other than you having a personal axe to grind. Don’t be like that Cambridge brat or Jeffrey who are famous for indulging in polemics. The world is not changed by this type of people. The change is brought by people like those in HINDRAF. I must say HINDRAF was able to accomplish in one week (in terms of galvanizing support) what the PKR and DAP would probably take one year.
#28 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 7:28 am
“kepada HINDRAF agar mereka mengambil pendekatan yang lebih sederhana dan bertanggungjawab di dalam menyuarakan ketidakpuashatian mereka†Anwar Ibrahim
Saya tidak nampak bagaimana HINDRAF dapat menggunakan cara yang lebih sederhana. Apa yang dimaksudkan “lebih sederhana†di sini. Merayu kepada UMNO and Melayu untuk bertindak secara lebih adil? Untuk makluman Sdr Anwar, kaum Indian telah lama merayu, tetapi yang ternampak ialah ketuanan dan keislaman yang berterusan. Sekiranaya tren ini berterusan, mungkin tidah lama lagi, kaum China pun akan menghadapi sesat yang sama. Saya bersetuju perkauman itu berlaku di mana tempat, tetapi Malaysia boleh dikatakan sebagai sebuah Negara yang paling racist and hypocritical.
#29 by dawsheng on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 7:41 am
“The change is brought by people like those in HINDRAF.”
But don’t forget that the change can be better and it can be worst. There are just too many underlying consequences in this issue. Now imagine that Chinese temple were the one being demolished, I can guarantee you there could have been more than just a street protest.
#30 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 7:42 am
In Putrjaya, Umno youth chief Datuk Seri Hishamuddin Tun Hussein said “the silent majority†should make itself heard and stand up to people with their own agenda. He said racial and religous sentiments made for a dangerous cocktail that could spell disaster. He also cautioned Umno youth members to remain calm. Eagleye
There are lots of ironies here. Didn’t the government try to stop the silent majority by blocking the whole city? Didn’t he portray his racism and bigotry more than anymore else? By cautioning UMNO youth members to remain calm, didn’t he try to tell the rest that UMNO youth is watching. You see, we are what we repeatedly do. Our character is not an act, it is a habit.
#31 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 7:44 am
dawsheng, sorry i don’t quite understand you. so I can’t comment.
#32 by dawsheng on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 7:55 am
You blame no one else but Samy Vellu and MIC, Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi and his government for predicaments of the Indian community.
#33 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 8:03 am
But don’t forget that the change can be better and it can be worst. There are just too many underlying consequences in this issue. Now imagine that Chinese temple were the one being demolished, I can guarantee you there could have been more than just a street protest. dawsheng
On second thought, may be I should respond to your comment.
We are always thinking of the consequences because we want to hold on to the little we have. In the process we are actually trading short term expediency for long term misery. Let’s face it, are the non Malays’ position getting any better by keep thinking of the consequences of our action?
With regard to your view on Chinese Temple being demolished, I think nothing will happen for now because the majority of the Chinese are still relatively comfortable (I mean economically). I think we should all see that the current Malaysian Indians’ reaction is more than demolishment of Hindu temples. It is their sense of deprivation and continued marginalisation. The Hindu temple is just the catalyst.
#34 by dawsheng on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 8:18 am
It is the catalyst that hold the Indian community together and hopefully, it will be the catalyst that will bring about that changes the Indian community had long for, equal treatment. It is all about the demolition of Hindu temples, the catalyst and the symbol and the main reasons of their struggles.
#35 by DiaperHead on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 8:21 am
///With regard to your view on Chinese Temple being demolished, I think nothing will happen for now because the majority of the Chinese are still relatively comfortable (I mean economically)/// limkamput
Strange!
This is the traditional Malay point of view i.e. the Chinese are economically well off to really care and they can take more of the abuse by the Malay dominated government. And this coming from a Chinese??? Something is wrong with this picture. Somebody is masquerading and trolling.
#36 by dawsheng on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 8:28 am
“Don’t be like that Cambridge brat or Jeffrey who are famous for indulging in polemics. The world is not changed by this type of people.”
Seriously, I always thought it is all about indulging in polemics that make changes possible.
#37 by dawsheng on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 8:40 am
“We are always thinking of the consequences because we want to hold on to the little we have. In the process we are actually trading short term expediency for long term misery. Let’s face it, are the non Malays’ position getting any better by keep thinking of the consequences of our action?”
Your question is hypothetical and you have answer part of it, “we are actually trading short term expediency for long term misery.” The other part of the answer can be the complete opposite, if not extreme. It may lead to a full scale disaster but for now the majority interest is to balance the status quo.
#38 by goldenscreen on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 8:48 am
Well, the Indians of Hindraf were really brave today. They were generally peaceful around the Jalan Ampang area. Around 5,000++ estimated to have been there hundreds others stuck at Batu Caves, KLCC, buses detained at Setapak and other police stations. I must give credit to them, they did well facing the FRU. The FRU has just succesfully broken the demo and are now arresting people.
For the pics go to http://www.jpbdbkl.gov.my/index.cfm?method=Cam.Main_e&ch=CH01
For previous pics go to http://www.flickr.com/photos/7972222@N04/tags/hindraf/
#39 by dawsheng on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 8:50 am
“I think we should all see that the current Malaysian Indians’ reaction is more than demolishment of Hindu temples.”
You are absolutely right, this is not just an “Indian” problem, this is a “Malaysian” problem. DAP and PKR cannot let Hindraf walk alone.
#40 by Godamn Singh on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 9:53 am
///Dawsheng, sorry I don’t quite understand you. So I can’t comment. /// lamkampuiiiet
Dawsheng, this is his way of saying you don’t know how to write English. This is what he said earlier on another thread:
“So far, none of you has been able to debate on issues raised….. most of you write poor English.â€Â
Just like when he is quoted as saying that the DAP is not supportive of the Indians, he claims later he is being “gentle”. Now he’s being “gentle” towards you. Ha..ha..ha!!
#41 by Ms. Chindian on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 12:45 pm
Why this rally got bigger fuss than last time rally? Maybe all non-malays in malaysia should gather and rally for our rights. We are clearly being put below malays. It should not be happening.
#42 by limkamput on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 1:48 pm
Usually Singh are quite smart, but this Godamn Singh is about the dumbest Singh I have ever met. I think this is enough. I will just write one sentence a day with you. You can only handle so much. Beyond that you will go berserk and laugh like a chimpanzee, ha.. ha.. ha….
#43 by EARNEST on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 2:50 pm
Apparently, Godamn Singh, DarkHorse, Undergrad2, dawsheng are ganging up together against limkamput.
I am not taking sides but let me hazard some guesses. Godamn Singh is a probably a juvenile below 10 years old, practicing blogging here. Do not be too hard on him. DarkHorse is probably his protective father.
limkamput is probably a writer or journalist and quite a good one with independence of thought, and what he wrote mostly make sense, but he may be a bit cynical and trigger happy, offending a few with calling name, ass. He is capable of taking risk, and could can make a good leader, a revolutionary kind.
dawsheng is quite well off and a peace lover and makes a good follower. However, I do not know what his “majority interest is to balance the status quo” mean? I thought you either maintain the status quo or you rock the boat. How do you balance something like status quo? How do you know that there are no smouldering embers which could burst into flames by a tiny spark? Are the silent majority complacent and resigned to fate or are they nursing grievances silently? We do not have polling or survey results, so we do not know. We can only guess.
In the above context, perhaps limkamput probably meant “rhetoric” rather than “polemics”. He used the word “catalyst” as an analogy to a spark which could start a conflagration. It was misunderstood by dawsheng.
By the way, who is the Cambridge brat and Jeffrey?
BTW, I am an old man.
#44 by dawsheng on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 7:15 pm
EARNEST, to maintain the status quo some balancing acts by the majority will be required to keep their interest in place, hence my definition of “to balance the status quo”. My sincere apology for using words I myself sometime could not understand.
You ask: How do you know that there are no smouldering embers which could burst into flames by a tiny spark? Are the silent majority complacent and resigned to fate or are they nursing grievances silently?
I just know, that smoldering embers which could burst into flames just caught fire this morning but definitely not because of a tiny spark. What happened and will happen from today onwards may just rock the boat and capsized.
You are right about me being a peace lover and makes a good follower but I am not quite well off. :)
#45 by sj on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 8:24 pm
tetapi Malaysia boleh dikatakan sebagai sebuah Negara yang paling racist and hypocritical
By Limkamput
#46 by sj on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 8:27 pm
Well too bad is all thanks to UMNO’s Ketuanan style that has cause a very large rift. In fact after the May 13 riot and you look at how things unfold, they did not quite solve the problem, they only force the hands of other people to accept the Ketuanan Melayu way, by enforcing the notion of “Special Rights”. Now tell me, what is so special about Malay, or Chinese or Indian? We all bleed red, we all eat, we all sleep and we are ALL HUMAN. What is so special? Everybody should be equal under the Constitution. Especially in terms of human rights.
#47 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 9:53 pm
“By the way, who is the Cambridge brat and Jeffrey? BTW, I am an old man.” EARNEST
The Cambridge “brat” and Jeffrey are respected contributors to this blog whose opinions about issues here are matured and intelligent. I believe I’m speaking for the majority of readers here – except for one who calls Jeffery “stupid†and does so every opportunity he gets.
Jeffrey’s analytical powers are an asset to the blog and has won praise from Kit for his regular contributions. He has no axe to grind, no huge ego to nurse and no ulterior motive than merely to offer his opinion on issues raised by Kit – never rubbing another commentator the wrong way for his or her views. Readers can read what he writes or not read what he writes and form their own opinion about the issues.
The Cambridge “brat†that this Limkamput repeatedly refers to is Lee Wang Yen, currently doing his PhD at the Department of History and Philosophy of Science, University of Cambridge – a student in metaphysics, philosophy of language, philosophical logic, philosophy of mind, and philosophical theology. His articles have been published in major academic journals since his undergraduate years. He presently lectures to undergraduates at Cambridge University, the University ranked second in the world today according to THES.
Here are some comments by this Limkamput. You can judge for yourself the man who makes them.
About Jeffrey and many other readers, the following statements by Limkamput have made it to the blog’s “quotable quotesâ€Â
“I think the more you write, the more you show your stupidity. You are essentially a talk cock kingâ€Â
“Frankly, you swarm the blog with your inconsequential and irrelevant views.â€Â
“I think you have held sway with your half baked ideas for too long. You will be hearing from me more often from now on, whether you like it or not.â€Â
“…..most of you are victims of years of indoctrination and subtle inculcation. Whether sensible or otherwise, Jeffrey is famous complicating issues that are blatantly clear – to show his intellectual prowess perhaps. You may accuse me for being simplistic, but he is hollow sophistication.â€Â
About Lee Wang Yeng – who has done his country proud (many times over), a brilliant scholar at such a relatively young age, who has achieved so much against such heavy odds succeeding despite the policy of his own government. Here is what Limkamput has to say about him:
“….your sophisticated mind is not sophisticated enough after all. It was not illegal, period. If the law is immoral and at the same time can be arbitrarily applied, why are you worried whether or not it is legal or illegal? This is what I meant by hollow sophistication and you are fast becoming one (that is, if you are not Jeffrey).†Limkamput
Other readers would never mistake Lee for Jeffrey. But of course, Limkamput is unable to see the difference between the writing style because others are “stupid†and are “not capable of writing good English†like he says he can.
EARNEST, I have restricted my comments to the minimum – but enough so you could form your own conclusion.
Finally, Jeffrey, always the kind and polite commentator that he is, has only this to say in response despite all the cruel remarks made by Limkamput about him and all the personal attacks against his intelligence. When he wrote it was mostly in defense of other commentators, and Lee Wang Yen who has been literally run out of this blog by this Limkamput – perhaps never to return. Jeffrey said to Lee Wang Yen, agreeing with me that
“This blog would be all the poorer without your contributionâ€Â
As if that was not enough, the “brilliant†Limkamput went on to run down the University of Cambridge!
It is most unfortunate because the DAP needs people like Lee Wang Yen to come share his experiences on this blog and provide inspiration to those who wish to follow in his footsteps.
If Wang Yen is reading this, we readers here would like to see you return because you are an inspiration to all of us here! Yours is a story of a Malaysian Chinese who succeeded against all odds to eventually do his country proud – and I am not referring to your intellectual ability. You are a genius and geniuses are never made but are born.
Let not the antics of one immature commentator who suffers from attention deficit syndrome bother you.
#48 by ALtPJK on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 11:02 pm
That’s right DarkHorse.
In time, if not already obvious, contributors and readers will see the gaping difference between those who only shout rhetorics and those who articulate their views reflective of their keen analyses and clarity of thought and are able to present their arguments so succintly.
#49 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 25 November 2007 - 11:48 pm
Yes, I notice that Jeffrey too has chosen to withhold his commentaries. Let’s hope he returns to contribute to this blog the way he has been doing over the years.
As for our self-proclaimed ‘genius’ limkaput, I’m sure he has read the postings here declaring support for Lee Wang Yen and Jeffrey. He is not denying he made those remarks, is he? That would be fun to watch. Because like DarkHorse says “they have made to the blog’s ‘Quotable Quotes” for readers to read! So should we expect his response to the allegations made against him? I think not.
Even a dog knows when to put that tail between its legs – and run!
#50 by EARNEST on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 12:26 am
dawsheng and DarkHorse, thank you for your replies.
I am impressed with DarkHorse’s meticulous write-up on the Cambridge brat and Jeffrey. Kudos to a dark horse which could win races unexpectedly.
For all his faults, Limkamput nevertheless has fighting spirits. Imagine, he could cause a Cambridge graduate to leave the scene. Mind boggling. Is he from Oxford or Harvard?