Which is Malaysia’s premier university? Nobody knows!

Which is the Malaysian premier university?

Nobody knows and this is a big shame as it is caused not by competition by universities to be the best but to avoid the bigger plunge in international rankings.

Is it University of Malaya?

Until two years ago, there was no dispute if University of Malaya claimed to be the nation’s premier university — a position it had occupied unchallenged for over three decades.

It was also internationally recognized as the premier university in Malaysia as reflected by the 2004 and 2005 Times Higher Education Supplement (THES) World Universities Rankings for Top 200 Universities, being positioned No. 89 and 169th slots respectively.

However, it was toppled from the pedestal by Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) when UKM beat University of Malaya in the 2006 THES ranking, placed No. 185 as compared to the 192nd position for University of Malaya.

Is it UKM then?

UKM’s placing on the top of the university pole in the country lasted one short year as in the 2007 THES Top 200 Universities ranking, UKM plunged a shocking 124 places from No. 185 to No. 309, not only behind University of Malaya’s No. 246 but also Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) which is placed No. 307.

Furthermore, in the recent government ranking for public universities, both UKM and University of Malaya were ranked behind USM, the sole university to be placed on the five-star Outstanding category, with no university rated for the top-rung Excellent Category.

Is it then USM, to lay claim to be the nation’s best university?

Not so, although in the 2004 THES ranking, USM was rated among the Top 200 Universities when placed No. 111, but it plunged 215 places to No. 326 ranking in 2005, 277 in 2006 and 307 in 2007.

With no single university currently able to lay claim as the nation’s premier university, this sad state of affairs is a reflection of the very troubled public university sector.

May be this confusion awaits resolution when a private higher education institution establishes its claim as the nation’s premier university, better than anyone of the public universities — especially as the Chinese government has recognized 43 private universities and colleges as compared to only seven for public universities.

One aspect which had been overlooked in the latest THES Top 200 Universities ranking is that Malaysia is losing out badly in the international competition for excellence, not only to universities of developed nations but even those of developing nations.

Thailand, for instance, has established its superiority in university excellence to Malaysia when for three consecutive years, Chulalongkorn University of Thailand beat Malaysian universities in the THES ranking –121 in 2005, 161 in 2006 and 223 in 2007 as compared to Malaysia’s best of 169 in 2005 (University of Malaya), 185 in 2006 (UKM) and 246 in 2007 (University of Malaya).

Also for the first time in the THES Top Universities Ranking, Malaysia has lost out to three other third-world nations, viz.

Brazil

University of Sao Paulo — No. 175

University of Campinas – No. 177

Mexico

Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico — No. 192

South Africa

University of Cape Town — No. 200

The only way to restore Malaysia’s pre-eminence in university excellence is to end the policy of mediocrity and its replacement by a policy of meritocracy, with the recruitment of the best students and lecturers for each university coupled with an affirmative policy not based on race but on socio-economic needs.

Otherwise, Malaysian universities will continue to be left more and more behind other countries, including from third-world countries, in the global race for university excellence.

(Speech at the DAP Petaling Jaya dinner on Tuesday, 20th November 2007 at 10 pm)

Print Friendly

1. #1 by malaysiatoday.com on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 5:39 am

kanthanboy Says:

November 22nd, 2007 at 05: 13.36
    “…80-90% bumi enrolled to local universities are not qualified.” Malaysiatoday.com

I feel sorry for those 10 – 20% Malays who have the necessary qualifications and graduated from local universities. I have a Malay classmate in my secondary school class who eventually graduated as a doctor from University Malaya. I will have no hesitation in choosing her to be my family doctor. Unfortunately for those qualified Malays, they have to bear the sin of the NEP.

====================

There are smart and brillant Malay students as non-bumi students.

Unfortunately, the majority of those Malay students enroll to local universities are below par under the matrikulasi ticket.

An UMNO minister said a “grade A” in STPM is equal to “A” in matrikulasi is a joke only from shameless people.

2. #2 by ChinNA on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 6:08 am

Why don’t we start community based self-help group? All this talk is … well just talk.

Dear Mr Lim Kit Siang, since this site is obviously popular. Why don’t you add Ad-sense from Google into your pages. Give it a try.

Then if there are proceeds, it can be used as the seed to do something tangible.

Thinking out loud.

3. #3 by ChinNA on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 6:19 am

A bit more about self help group. In my uncle lee’s country, the self-help organisations are organised by the major races in his country. Currently there are 3 groups.

Each race will donate money to their own race’s organisation. Now in my uncle lee’s country, it is more automated (nobody can escape).

It is deducted from your salary every month automatically. The minimum amount is $1. Nobody is exempted from this minimum deduction.

In the case of Malayasia, it should be administer by the independent organisations that are beyond reproach.

Is there one willing to stand up and be counted? Can one be formed?

Talk is cheap but it is the beginning of the execution.

If you want to see a living example of self-help that built a university, there is one in Singapore. It is started by donations from the a lot of people.

It is called Nanyang Technological University.

4. #4 by sotong on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 7:18 am

When one is given an opportunity, one must take full responsibility to ensure one achieve the very best and work very hard to pay back and contribute to the society.

Decades of bad leadership and role models are doing enormous damage to the society and country.

5. #5 by Godfather on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 7:30 am

ChinNA:

How long have you been living in Bolehland ? You reckon that we can just go on a fundraising exercise to set up our own uinversity ? For over 30 years, shameless UMNO have controlled education for their political ends. It took MCA over 30 years to get approval for UTAR, and even then there were concessions extracted from MCA e.g. remaining mute over annual intake in other universities. You think that an opposition-inspired university will get approved ? You think that they will allow us the opportunity of producing world class graduates in comparison to their jaguh kampung ? Stop dreaming.

The only way is to help them accelerate the rot so that the system implodes from within. Let them have 100 pct bumi intake. Let them market university places to countries in Africa and the Indian subcontinent. The social issues will ultimately kill the goose.

In the meantime, our kids should go overseas. Or at least enroll in the local campuses of foreign universities like Monash and Nottingham.

All this talk is not in vain. The more we criticise, the more they stand resolute in doing things their way. It is their “bodoh sombong” attitude. It will simply accelerate the day of reckoning when the unemployed will turn on their masters.

6. #6 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 8:09 am

Frankly, I wouldn’t recommend anybody to enter any Malaysian university until way past 2015, depending on what steps the government takes to bring these universities to world speed. You can’t train or re-train or re-staff whole faculties in 5 to 10 years. Right now these Malysian universities are like limbless torsos. There is just no way they can be compared with world-class institutions that pride themselves on research and learning. Malaysian universities pride themselves merely on fulfilling entire social engineering objectives ONLY.

Different goals and different goalposts. No comparison.

So if you and your children are looking for world-class, look for a different playing field. The ones here are reserved for ‘SEVERELY HANDICAPPED’ students ONLY or almost.

7. #7 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 8:35 am

This ranking problem will keep the opposition busy for many more years, justifying the existence of the opposition. If BN will be so smart, they will just solve the problems and let DAP be out of the scene. It would perhaps be best to pass the problems to DAP and let DAP solve it. I don’t think there is any obvious solution.

8. #8 by ChinNA on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 8:48 am

Godfather,
    I got your point. Good and thought provoking. Thanks.

This my opinion: Malaysia Boleh! Malayasia Tak Boleh!

9. #9 by RealWorld on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 10:26 am

“For over 30 years, shameless UMNO have controlled education for their political ends. It took MCA over 30 years to get approval for UTAR, and even then there were concessions extracted from MCA” – Godfather

Hello brother, long time no hear. I have been out of the country for few weeks and just got back 2 days ago.

You are still so, so, so bitter, bro.

10. #10 by budak on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 10:28 am

kanthanboy, not only 80-90% students not qualify…
    i bet u the lecturer also hp6 1 lah…

11. #11 by Godfather on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 10:56 am

Ah, my old friend RealWorld is back ! No, I am not bitter, I am sad that after 50 years we are still hellbent on applying NEP to local universities, sad that the standards have plumbed new depths. Sad that I have to advise fellow Malaysians to send their children overseas. Of course your masters at UMNO know this too, judging by the number of UMNOputras who send their children overseas.

RealWorld, what is your take on this issue ?

12. #12 by RealWorld on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 11:25 am

My good brother, Godfather, whats wrong with parents sending their children overseas? Its personal preference la.

Its like you, wearing Levis jeans rather than locally made jeans. Perference la, my brother.

13. #13 by Godfather on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 11:41 am

How can you call it “preference” when it is not really a choice for many ? I mean if it is between choosing to go to NUS (which is in the top 50) or choosing to go to a local university of a similar ranking, then you can call it preference. If it is between NUS and a university ranked 200 places below NUS, then it can’t be called “preference”. It’s like choosing between suicide and survival.

14. #14 by Godfather on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 11:52 am

The correct term for it is called Hobson’s Choice. If the locally-made jeans disintegrate after 2 washings, then choosing it over Levis must be downright stupid.

15. #15 by RealWorld on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 11:58 am

Godfather, hold on a minute, you are talking about parents sending their children overseas. Isnt that preference??

16. #16 by RealWorld on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 11:59 am

Name me one brand of locally made jeans that will disintegrate after 2 washes??

17. #17 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 12:01 pm

Not all of us dapat masuk NUS. So the rest of us have to tolerate and be grateful to the local universities for giving us a chance. We understand that we have the third class politicians, third class universities, and also we ourselves are third class. At the end, we don’t complain because we form a good combination with these items.

18. #18 by ngahc on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 12:06 pm

There are many talented and capable Malays in this country. But they are either study in overseas universities or MARA, and definitely not in local u. In other words, local u generally do not have the best grade Malays.

For the bright non-malay, there are two categories: rich will go study in overseas and poor will have no choice but local u. For the latter, don’t forget that many are not able to get the courses that they want to study.

If we do not have the cream in the local u, how can the local u be excelled? The university’s reputation depend on quality of her students. To be fair, there are still bright students in local u but they are bogged down by the majority who are not so good. So, how can local u be excelled in this globalised world?

19. #19 by Jonny on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 1:01 pm

The decadence started from Mahathir time. Or even earlier.

And we’re now at the peak of the failure (or maybe have yet to peak yet).

And we’ve reached a dungu kayu which is etched on it “Aku tak tau”.

20. #20 by Jonny on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 1:01 pm

And another etching below it saying …

“Tanya si monyet”

21. #21 by malaysiatoday.com on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 1:29 pm

Godfather Says:

November 22nd, 2007 at 07: 30.34
    ChinNA:

How long have you been living in Bolehland ? You reckon that we can just go on a fundraising exercise to set up our own uinversity ? For over 30 years, shameless UMNO have controlled education for their political ends. It took MCA

===============

Non-bumis pay more tax and money invested in local universities shall benefit all Malaysians.

I did suggest “run-away” approach and study in overseas for smartest non-bumi students, but other less smart and poor non-bumis still depending on local universities.

22. #22 by malaysiatoday.com on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 1:43 pm

ngahc Says:

November 22nd, 2007 at 12: 06.29
    There are many talented and capable Malays in this country. But they are either study in overseas universities or MARA, and definitely not in local u. In other words, local u generally do not have the best grade Malays.

For the bright non-malay, there are two categories: rich will go study in overseas and poor will have no choice but local u. For the latter, don’t forget that many are not able to get the courses that they want to study.

If we do not have the cream in the local u, how can the local u be excelled? The university’s reputation depend on quality of her students. To be fair, there are still bright students in local u but they are bogged down by the majority who are not so good. So, how can local u be excelled in this globalised world?

====

UTM top students, coincidently majority of them are non-bumi are accepted by NUS and also Cambridge for their post graduare programs since 80s.

UTM old graduates have proven they are capable to compete with top students from all over the world in NUS and open a door for future UTM graduates to be accepted into NUS albeit officially Singapore government is still not recognize UTM.

Employers shall pick the gem from a pool of sand when they recruite local graduates.

23. #23 by sotong on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 1:53 pm

How could a government deny their people, in particular non bumi, the opportunity to achieve their very best to contribute to the country??

24. #24 by malaysiatoday.com on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 2:07 pm

Godfather Says:

November 22nd, 2007 at 11: 41.14
    How can you call it “preference” when it is not really a choice for many ? I mean if it is between choosing to go to NUS (which is in the top 50) or choosing to go to a local university of a similar ranking, then you can call it preference. If it is between NUS and a university ranked 200 places below NUS, then it can’t be called “preference”. It’s like choosing between suicide and survival.

===

For non-bumi, enter NUS/NTU is more easier than local universities for your dream course. A number of my STPM classmates with moderate results (I mean not 4A or 5A) could not get the courses they wanted in local universities, but most of them were accepted by NUS and NTU for the course of their choose.

About 50% of them return to Malaysia after finishing their agreement.

25. #25 by sotong on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 2:51 pm

…….by limiting, restricting and discriminating non bumi in education, it what way would it help unite the people and build a strong economy and country???

26. #26 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 4:13 pm

To be fair to those esp. non-Bumis who had to study locally, I believe that they would do well in any environment; this I must reserve for those who took up a ‘real core’ subject degree. I have had come across those with ‘rojak’ degrees, the so-called’ Studies’
    these are real hopeless. When I was teaching, I came across many of such graduates who never wanted to admit they did such ‘Studies’; they would say that they did’ History’, Geography’ and what have you?. In fact, there was this guy , who was fond of saying’ we economists’, when in fact he did only 3 papers in this subject which a fellow B,Sc. [ Econ] said: it was H.S.C. equivalent!
    Mind you after 2 years of teaching, he did graduated as an economist, because a certain local bank offered him such a post!. I wouldn’t want to tell you the name of the bank.
    It is also a fact that with the current liberal and money-based education many ‘unqualified’ non-Bumis are admitted to overseas universities, including the medical insitutions. Hence let’s be fair and judge them when you interact with them, not from generallzing
    from a distant. I do believe many who are writing here could be doing so out of anger over lost opportunities, well that is Karma.
    There was this teacher who ‘ graduated’ [ if I can use th e word] from a local teaching college with his HSC. One day I came across him marking 2nd year maths paper from a local U, as a joke, I asked him, if this was for real? He literally flew into a rage! He actually shouted at me, ‘ Can you call Dr……… and ask him you taught him Maths when he was in form 6!’.
    I could really understand his frustrations then! So let us be more prudent in our judgement, not by its cover but its content.

27. #27 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 4:35 pm

…….and ask him ‘who’ taught him Maths ……..

28. #28 by chgchksg128 on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 5:28 pm

“For non-bumi, enter NUS/NTU is more easier than local universities for your dream course. A number of my STPM classmates with moderate results (I mean not 4A or 5A) could not get the courses they wanted in local universities, but most of them were accepted by NUS and NTU for the course of their choose.

About 50% of them return to Malaysia after finishing their agreement.”

Really?Are you sure..non of my fren coming back and local grads went sg to work

29. #29 by chgchksg128 on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 5:30 pm

“If Lim Kit Siang really read this comment, I really hope u think of something to make ur DAP stronger and win more seats in future polls….and come to setiawangsa n titiwangsa….i hate PAS” – chgchksg128

You hate PAS?? Tok Guru threatened you with a keris? Or maybe issued racist remarks?

Yes, go ahead and vote BN, then come back here and moan for the next 5 years.

To short sleeve:
    I am not sure who is so naive of thinking support a party not ur choice if u dont support BN…wake up…becos of PAS…u now has an islamic country….pls make ur choice..if not the party u support..better dont vote…i will write this in blog later…welcome to visit

30. #30 by malaysiatoday.com on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 6:59 pm

chgchksg128 Says:

November 22nd, 2007 at 17: 28.04
    “For non-bumi, enter NUS/NTU is more easier than local universities for your dream course. A number of my STPM classmates with moderate results (I mean not 4A or 5A) could not get the courses they wanted in local universities, but most of them were accepted by NUS and NTU for the course of their choose.

About 50% of them return to Malaysia after finishing their agreement.”

Really?Are you sure..non of my fren coming back and local grads went sg to work

======

They came back to start up new businesses or hold senior posts in the companies, not to work as newbies.

31. #31 by budak on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 7:17 pm

i never got chance to smell M’sia U, NTU or NUS…
    but i contented with my uni standing @ 60 plus…
    also i still haven’t go back M’sia…
    cos the PM haven’t change hand…

32. #32 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 10:39 pm

“..i still haven’t go back M’sia…cos the PM haven’t change hand…”

Did he lose his hand recently?

33. #33 by RealWorld on Thursday, 22 November 2007 - 11:04 pm

Dear chgchksg128,

Since you hate PAS, you are more than welcome to vote for BN. Thanks. :)

34. #34 by eagleye on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 12:30 pm

Who cares which University is premier? Change syllabus first, be competitive. Don’t just create exams that test memory power, Create to give skills and prepare student to become talented graduates. When our syllabus accepted by most of the countries and give them cofidents to hire our students, thats where we should start to think about who is premier… Errr… maybe gov scared students will migrate to overseas if they improve our syllabus uh? than lack of expertise in Malaysia… mmm… logic logic, than forever like thislah? choose!!!

Comments are closed.