End NEP in universities – why Malaysia has fallen out of Top 200 Ranking

Just as Vice Chancellors must be held responsible for the poor rankings of their universities, the Higher Education Minister, Datuk Mustapha Mohamad must bear personal responsibility for the dismal international ranking of Malaysian universities – particularly for Malaysia falling completely out of the list of the world’s Top 200 Universities this year in the 2007 Times Higher Education Supplement (THES)-Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) World University Rankings.

I find it scandalous that the shocking fall of the ranking of Malaysian universities THES-QS 2007 world Top 200 Universities was totally ignored by last week’s Umno General Assembly, whether by Umno delegates or leaders, although the 2007 THES-QS rankings were revealed when the Umno General Assembly was in session.

This shows the superficiality of the commitment of Umno leaders to the slogan of “Cemerlang, Gemilang and Terbilang” and to transform Malaysia into a knowledge-based innovative economy marked by a world-class university system.

Further details and studies have shown that Malaysian universities have suffered a very serious drop in the international league of the world’s best universities, virtually undergoing a free fall when compared to other Top Universities.

For the first time, there is not a single university in the op 200 Universities list.

Both Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) and Universiti Malaya (UM) had fell out of the Top 200 Universities ranking, with UKM plunging from 185th slot last year to 309th while University fo Malaya plunged from 89th in 2004 to 169th in 2005, 192nd in 2006 to 246th in 2007. Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM), which was ranked as the only “outstanding” five-star university in a recent government survey, fell to 307th spot from 277 last year. In 2005, USM was in the 326th spot.

But this is not the only dismal result for Malaysian universities in the THES-QS 2007 ranking. Also for the first time, there is not a single Malaysian university in the separate listing of Top 100 Universities for five subject areas — Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities; Life Sciences and Biomedicine; and Engineering and Information Technology.

Last year Malaysia was placed in four of the 500 slots in the five Top 100 Universities for the five subjects – University of Malaya ranked 49 in Social Sciences and 95 in Natural Sciences, UKM No. 62 in Natural Sciences and USM at No. 96 for Life Sciences and Biomedicine.

This year, Malaysia was completely excluded in all the five listings of Top 100 Universities for the five categories.

There are 38 “elite of elite” universities, which are not only ranked in the Top 200 Universities list, but also ranked in every one of the five Top 100 subject list. The country breakdown and details for these 38 “elite of elite” universities are:

United States – 15
United Kingdom – 4
Australia – 6
Canada – 5
China – 2
Japan – 2
S. Korea – 1
Taiwan – 1
Spore – 1
Hong Kong – 1
Total – 38

United States — (Ranking in Top 200 Universities in bracket)

Harvard (1)
Yale (2)
Princeton (6)
Chicago (7)
MIT (10)
Columbia (11)
John Hopkins (15)
Stanford (19)
Carnegie Mellon (20)
Cornell (20)
California, Berkeley (22)
Brown (32)
Boston (47)
Texas at Austin (51)
Illinois (73)

United Kingdom

Oxford (2)
Cambridge (2)
UCL (University College London) (9)
Edinburgh (23)

Canada

McGill (12)
British Columbia (33)
Toronto (45)
Montreal (93)
McMaster (108)

Australia

ANU (16)
Melbourne (27)
Sydney (31)
Queensland (33)
Monash (43)
New South Wales (44)

Japan

Tokyo (17)
Kyoto (25)

Hong Kong

Hong Kong (18)

Singapore

National University of Singapore (33)

China

Peking (36)
Tsinghua (40)

South Korea

Seoul National (51)

Taiwan

National Taiwan (102)

I am very surprised that the Higher Education Minister, who is currently on a visit to universities in China, had asked the Chinese government to recognize more Malaysian universities and colleges for two reasons.

It was news to me and to most Malaysians that China has recognized 50 institutions in the public and private sector in Malaysia — 7 IPTAs (public institutions of higher learning) and 43 IPTSs (private institutions). This is a clear indicator that public universities in the country are losing out in terms of academic excellence and international recognition to private institutions.

Secondly, the Chinese government has recognizing more Malaysian universities and colleges than the Chinese universities and colleges recognized by the Malaysian government — when many Chinese universities are internationally recognized for their academic merit and excellence while Malaysian universities have disappeared from the international radar of academic excellence.

In the 2007 THES-QS) World Top 200 University Rankings, six Chinese universities were ranked but not a single one from Malaysia.

The six Chinese universities are:

36. Peking University
40. Tsinghua University
85. Fudan University
125. Nanjing University
155. University of Science and Technology of China
163. Shanghai Jiao Tong University

China has two universities, Peking University and Tsinghua University, which are among the 38 “elite of elite” universities, as they are also listed in all the Top 100 Universities in all five different categories.

Altogether, Chinese universities occupy 21 spots in the 500 slots in the five Top 100 Universities for five categories — but Malaysia does not recognize anyone of them although we do not occupy a single spot in the 500 slots for the five lists of Top 100 Universities.

Malaysia even refuses to accord recognition to the degrees of Peking University and Tsinghua University, two of the “elite of elites” universities as the Malaysian government only recognizes their degrees for Chinese language studies.

Details of the 21 spots occupied by Chinese universities in the five Top 100 lists are:

• 6 in the Top 100 Life Sciences & Biomedicine (Peking 18, Tsinghua 51, Fudan 52, Nanjing 78, Science and Technology of China 84 and Shanghai Jiao Tong 92);
  • 5 in the Top 100 Natural Sciences (Peking 15, Tsinghua 34, Science and Technology of China 40, Nanjing 76 and Fudan 80);
  • 4 in the Top 100 Engineering & IT (Tsinghua 16, Peking 36, Science and Technology of China 49 and Shanghai Jiao Tong 55);
  • 3 in the Top 100 Social Sciences — (Peking 23, Tsinghua 44 and Fudan 62); and
  • 3 in the Top 100 Arts & Humanities — (Peking 18, Fudan 45 and Tsinghua 91).

Why has the Malaysian government not recognized these internationally-acclaimed Chinese universities for their world-class degrees and courses, when Malaysia does not have any equivalent whatsoever?

It is most strange and extraordinary that a country which has dropped out of world-class university rankings is asking for more recognition for its universities from another country with universities of international repute but which it has refused to recognize?

The Malaysian government should promptly and forthwith recognize all the degrees of Chinese universities which are internationally-recognised as among the world’s top universities, and not just the Chinese Language Studies of four Chinese universities, before we can righteously ask China for more recognition of Malaysian universities by Chinese government.

If the government is serious about its slogan of “Cemerlang, Gemilang, Terbilang” to create a world-class university system to transform Malaysia into a knowledge-based innovative economy, it must end the New Economic Policy (NEP) in the universities and fully restore the policy of meritocracy and academic excellence coupled with social need to provide university education opportunities to economically-backward Malaysians regardless of race.

It is the NEP policy and mentality which caused University of Malaya to fall 213 rankings behind University of Singapore in less than four decades as both universities had started on the same footing some 50 years ago. University of Malaya is ranked No. 246 as compared to the 33rd ranking for National University of Singapore.

The government must recognize that so long as the NEP is kept in place in the universities, there would be no way for any Malaysian public university to compete with other universities from other countries. This is why Malaysia is also losing out to universities from Thailand and Africa — which was unthinkable four decades ago!

If Malaysia is to get back to the trail of world-class academic excellence, all universities should be allowed to enroll the most qualified students, employ the most competent professors and researchers with competitive remunerations and restore a culture of academic excellence and freedom.

One simple test of whether the government is seriously committed to abandon the baggages of past NEP policies to create a world-class university system is whether it has the political will to end the annual brain drain depriving Malaysia of the best and brightest for the development of the country.

For a start, the Prime Minister and the Cabinet should check the annual four-figure brain-drain of the best and brightest STPM students and Chinese Independent Secondary school students to Singapore by providing them equitable higher education opportunities at home to demonstrate that the government is serious in wanting to build a world-class university system.

(Speech at the DAP Bukit Bendera Dinner at Cheah Association, Penang on Saturday 17th November 2007)

1. #1 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 7:40 am

“If Malaysia is to get back to the trail of world-class academic excellence, all universities should be allowed to enroll the most qualified students, employ the most competent professors and researchers with competitive remunerations and restore a culture of academic excellence and freedom.”

Over the dead body of UMNO, the den of thieves. It’s their patronage to the UMNO grassroots, which in turn ensures the survival of the leadership. You revert to true meritocracy and the UMNO leadership will lose the very reason for its existence.

No chance, Kit. The only way is to beg, steal or borrow to send our children overseas.

2. #2 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 8:51 am

““If Malaysia is to get back to the trail of world-class academic excellence…”

What?? Get back to the trail…?

I thought this poster “limkamput” whose name is actually Dollah who hails from Kg. Attap has made his point clear to you guys that there are “thousands and millions of bumi grads” (to quote him) from local universities who are a lot smarter than you guys are willing to admit, that foreign grads studying for their PhDs from Cambridge are nowhere compared to him and that there is nothing wrong with the standard of local universities?

3. #3 by js on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 9:04 am

I dont think BN will take away the NEP in place in University. They will protect so called the rights of Malays as what they had said in UMNO General Meeting.They are willing to lose the world ranking rather than to maintain their rights.

4. #4 by bra888 on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 9:25 am

NEP = New Economic Policy = Not Equal Policy

5. #5 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 9:32 am

The NEP has practically destroyed everything including recognition of our local university degrees. At one time our degrees were recognized overseas – not anymore for a long time.

In the pre-NEP years when Mahathir was on the University Senate of the only university then, he was responsible for admitting many Malay students who failed their HSC as it was then known. Many of these students didn’t make it to the second year. Or had to switch courses from pre-Medic to say agriculture and so on. Some failed their second year Medic and had to leave.

MARA was sending students who failed their HSC to the University of Ohio by allowing them to complete two years at MARA college. Their policy was to send as many Malay students overseas to the U.S. especially that were willing to admit them despite their low GPA.

6. #6 by k1980 on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 9:50 am

Dollah sezs: “What? Remove the NEP from the universities? I’ll be trashed by umno before you can say ‘Badawi’!”

7. #7 by techm on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 9:50 am

Even baby birds need to grow up and risk their lives learn to fly or fall. Stay in the nest and you’ll be left behind for sure …and probably become a meal to a crafty cat in the process.

These UMNO really needs to learn to stop clinging to the empty nest out of fear of change. Makes them make all kinds of funny decisions.

As master Yoda put it…

“Fear is the path to the Dark Side. Fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate; hate leads to suffering. I sense much fear in you.”

8. #8 by smeagroo on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 9:53 am

The UMNO scums wont even acknowledge the rankings as they will say it is flawed (just like the ASLI’s report). To them they are still ranked 1 as they are the creme de la creme of the world.

And hey dont forget that CIMB (yea this great powerhouse in the financial sector lately) will be allocating RM100mil to help some Indonesian students to pursue higher education. Yea what about doing some good for your own countrymen first?

9. #9 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 10:44 am

Today newspaper talk about the 4 new non-bumi DVC gives a clear idea of policy of the government to improve education and on top of that is NOT removing the NEP. They may tweak it but never a removal.

Its the same with the so-called meritocratic system – its not and we all know that, its a targetting standard system where the standards are changed to meet the numbers rather than a pure quota system.

The new DVCs is another example of how they think they can get away with things – put a non-bumi DVC to check on excesses and improve where he can BUT never give up control or most credits to him. This is how our Cabinet and many other places that practises so -called ‘fair system’ is done. In fact, its Badawi idea of ‘fair’. Its a ‘fair’ system in the mind of people who don’t believe in open democratic system.

The fact is its intellectual masturbation that the perverts now argue is real. So its perversion of ‘fair’.

The political leaders either don’t believe that removing the NEP will improve bumi students AND/Or its politically not feasable or too costly. In the end, they won’t pay the price to do the optimal thing so, its not likely the NEP will be removed anytime soon.

10. #10 by raven77 on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 10:48 am

After the rankings…..Silver lining…..Malaysians ….DO NOT SEND any of your children to IPTAs….unless you want them to be churned out as dumbos……..consider overseas or selected local private institutions…….The rot in the IPTAs starts right at the top…….there is currently not one decent VC who can show his/her face on the international stage……..our VCs are a disgrace to academic society…………but they dont care……as long as they have their chauffer driven Mercedes and their 10 kids………Malaysian academics in government have no shame……whatsoever…

11. #11 by taikohtai on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 10:53 am

Contrary to what LKS is proposing to upgrade the standard of the Malaysian universities, don’t be surprised to find the BN gomen patting themselves for a mission well accomplished :(.
    What mission would that be, pray! Answer is to keep the rakyat as stupid as possible so as to maintain the status quo of the ruling party. Why? So that BN can continue their plundering ways without fear of being caught and penalised. To continue to trick the poor rakyat into thinking that only BN can ensure their daily lives in today’s world that is full of terrorists, conmen and irrational ways.
    Remember Malaysia being one of the parties that supported Zimbabwe and Burma so that the respective ruling party can continue implement their own domestic agenda indiscriminately? See what sort of pariah status have these two countries descended into?
    Malaysia had all the golden opportunities to become THE LEADER amongst ASEAN but the myopic policies that continued until today have arrested whatever dreams Malaysians behold. Now its just the daily grind – taking one day at the time. The future is gone.
    Until the rakyat realises quickly that they have been conned over the decades and decide to empower themselves once more (vote BN OUT would be a great start), DO NOT EXPECT Malaysia to be competitive in whatever field they indulge in, except an odd victory in badminton now and then perhaps. And of course, in ladies squash – Go Nicol!

12. #12 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 11:07 am

If we blame the NEP, shouldn’t TARC be listed as one of the top 100 colleges?

13. #13 by year of snake on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 11:13 am

DREAM Uncle Lim! There is not a single VC in all the public universities, not a single SG in all the ministeries and not a single CEO in all the GLC except for DEPUTIES.

14. #14 by posh66 on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 11:20 am

The Malaysian Govt is regressing in the current space age. Talking about sending our people to space for research and what not. Bull dung! All these are wasting our money, taxpayers money. The Ministers ride on their egos in which their own bodies can’t cash. Taking hundreds of millions of Ringgits from our pockets to splash on something impractical instead of investing in something which we are lacking so far behind.

Our Govt has failed miserably for many decades in most implementations, not forgetting our own education system. We were once proud of our UM during my younger days, the top university in the region. I am appalled by UM’s ranking behind NUS by 213 rankings. Sadly, our Education Minister and his team are either blind or riding on their egos so high that they still think Malaysia’s education system is still at the top. They can only turn around 180 degrees by visiting our very own neighbour, Singapore. Indeed, thousands of bright Malaysian students are drawn to the city state every year, post SPM and STPM. This is based on meritocracy, NOT NEP. S’pore Govt doesn’t care whether the student is a Chinese, Malay, Indian, Caucasian or any other race. As long as they acheived the education standards required by the Govt., they will be given the opportunity to excel.

Look at our own Bumiputra students. Grade 2s and 3s allowed to study medicine, engineering, computer science? No wonder buildings fall by it’s own, highways cracked, government buildings leaked and who knows MSC hacked?

Higher Education Minister asking Chinese Govt to recognise our Universities when we do not recognise theirs even though they have 3 universities in the top 100 ranking. Wake up, man!

15. #15 by digard on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 11:27 am

Thanks, pulau_sibu. It would be delusional to assume that certain people were generically better than others. It is simply false to assume VCs or deans of a specific race could by right of birth perform better or worse than those of another one.
    The greater part of our formation is done through schooling on all levels. The current practices are detrimental to staff, scholars and candidates of all races. Don’t forget that bumiputra suffer from such practices as well. You might have noticed a certain inequality among bumiputra themselves. As long as the undeserving among them are promoted, things are really screwed up.

16. #16 by Chin NA on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 11:53 am

I would like to suggest that everyone has misunderstood the key point in the context defined by the slogan “Chemerlang, Gemilang dan Terbilang”. Malaysian universities are still the leading world-class institutions in the educations segments that Malaysian Universities choose to compete in.

Remember it that is “Chemerlang, Gemilang dan Terbilang” and indeed Malaysian university excels. I should know better, I went to National University of Singapore and Nanyang Technological University. The top 2 universities in Singapore since then.

From personal experience, ever since the 1980s, Malaysian Universtiies have been way ahead of Singapore universities in the educations segments that Malaysian Universities choose to compete in.

Even today, Singapore universities are lagging way behind in the educations segments that Malaysian Universities compete in.

I rest my case.

Malaysia Universities are still the best in the educations segments that they compete in.

Malaysia Boleh!

17. #17 by madmix on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 11:55 am

read this article in the Star:
    SHANGHAI: Malaysia needs outstanding professors with “cutting edge minds,” said Higher Education Minister Datuk Mustapa Mohamed.

“We have produced people with higher education and we now need a large teaching staff.

“The next stage for universities will be to conduct research and commercialise their research findings,” he told Malaysian media here yesterday during a study trip to China.

“We have liberalised the system by allowing researchers to keep part of the profits from the projects,” he said.

He said public universities had begun talks with prospective clients and gone on television to promote and market their research products.

The ministry has identified 60 products covering biotechnology and information technology that can be commercialised. Universities can apply for the ScienceFund, TechnoFund and InnoFund under the Science, Technology and Innovation Ministry.

comment:
    When you talk of commercializing your research, you will never be be a good university let alone a leading one. Science is about learning the nature of our universe, not about selling stuff! universities are institutions of learning and knowledge, not commercial research centres. if you can discover new insights into the nature of the atom, you are a great scientist even though this has no immediate commercial application.
    Stop talking about making money, that is for others to do, not universities.

18. #18 by madmix on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 12:04 pm

These are the sort of scientist we have:
    Star:
    KUALA LUMPUR: A Malaysian company has filed two global patents on local herb kacip fatima with the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) in Malaysia on Thursday.

The medicine patents filed are for liver protection and immune enhancement, said Holista Biotech Sdn Bhd chief executive officer Datuk Dr M. Rajen.

“Previously, claims had been made for tonic usage and post-natal care but this is the first time that an activity patent has been filed on the herb,” he said.

The research is a joint collaboration with the Indian Institute of Integrative Medicine based in Jammu, India, he said.

The research teams also presented the data at the Women’s Health and Asian Traditional Medicine Conference here on Friday.

Comment: how do you get a patent for a HERB? You can get a patent to for a process to extract active ingredient for a herb but can you patent the use of the herb? Surely the patent belongs to God who created the herb!

19. #19 by motai on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 12:13 pm

The people who make wars, the people who reduce their fellows to slavery, the people who kill and torture and tell lies in the name of their sacred causes, the really evil people in a word—these are never the publicans and the sinners. No, they’re the virtuous, respectable men, who have the finest feelings, the best brains, the noblest ideals.
    For neither man nor angel can discern
    Hypocrisy, the only evil that walks
    Invisible, except to God alone.
    No man, for any considerable period, can wear one face to himself and another to the multitude, without finally getting bewildered as to which may be the true.

Is it stupidity or is it moral cowardice which leads men to continue professing a creed that makes self-sacrifice a cardinal principle, while they urge the sacrificing of others, even to the death, when they trespass against us? Is it blindness, or is it an insance inconsistency, which makes them regard as most admirable the bearing of evil for the benefit of others, while they lavish admiration on those who, out of revenge, inflict great evils in return for small ones suffered? Surely our barbarian code of right needs revision, and our barbarian standard of honour should be somewhat changed.

If anyone says, “I love God,” yet hates his brother, he is a liar. For anyone who does not love his brother, whom he has seen, cannot love God, whom he has not seen.

BIBLE, I John 4:20

20. #20 by atan on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 12:20 pm

“Shiok Sendiri” , who cares?
    In Malaysia, we are still the no.1 ma.

21. #21 by LittleBird on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 12:39 pm

How can that be? Must be western conspiracy to belittle the great achievement of Malaysia.

1)We just got over 40000 straight A scoring students.

2) We manged to built the tallest buiding in the world.

3) We were the first to built smart tunnel.

4) We buit a administrative capital for future need.

5) We got our own car.

6) We initiated the crooked bridge.

Can any other country can achieve these? Obviously the ranking is wrong. Western conspiracy.

They were just talking c**k. Pure Cockology!

22. #22 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 12:48 pm

Local universities are not meant for higher education you fool!!!

It is a tool to fish for votes and to provide jobs for incompetent, unqualified & sub-standard earth-prince lecturers.

Ministers of Malaysia send their children to US, UK & Australia

AND I WONDER WHY????

23. #23 by LittleBird on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 12:53 pm

opps! I forgot to add “wink wink” in case some patriotic get confused with the message.

24. #24 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 12:57 pm

Nowadays everyone is a degree holder from our sub-standard local universities.

In fact it would have been more shocking to find one that has no degree from our local universities since it is soooo easily attainable, with the slightest or no effort at all.

You do not believe? You think I am lying?

The government do not care if the standard goes down the drain because they know in order to improve the standard, they have to UP the requirement & quality of students entering our local universities. To do so would be akin to shooting themselves in the foot. Political suicide indeed!!!

So? They resolve to be ignorant or at best pretend to TRY solving the issue, meaning NATO (No Action Talk Only).

25. #25 by passerby on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 1:06 pm

I strongly believe that the only way you can force the government to change is to move whatever idle money overseas. It is easy and all you have to do is place it in ,say, S’pore or buy overseas shares. You have to cut off the source of the problem,ie., the money.

Right now the government is using your hard earned money to pay all these useless bums sitting on top doing nothing and eventually they will destroy the economy, like in Indonesia. Why not help them to hasten it by moving your money out, since this is what they are in fact doing. Without the money, there is no nep.

26. #26 by pkrisnin on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 1:20 pm

I know what solution they will implement for this ranking issue.
    They would claim bias and other BS for the World University Rankings and come up with a local Malaysian ranking, just like Malaysian guiness record. Malaysia Boleh ;(.

27. #27 by harrisonbinhansome on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 1:27 pm

As the rankings of the Malaysia’s once top universities are now in the drain,it reflects how monopolization is being misused just like the N.E.P. and Telekom Malaysia.

When I visited a Malay friend’s house, I noticed a new DVD player, and she told me she paid RM260.00 which I coincidentally purchased at RM200.00 for the same brand 3 weeks ago from the same old Towkay.

When the Bumiputras (The Prince of the soil and some indegenious race from Sabah & Sarawak, which are 2nd class Bumis ) are enjoying the double standard pricing from cut-rate stock shares to coveted overseas scholarships to discounts in properties, the Chinese are in fact ‘axing’ them whenever they walked to mostly Chinese owned businness except flagship stores and supermarkets.

Telekom Malaysia (TM)is another inevitable setbacks for Malaysian consumer. In the pre-monopolizing of cellular phone days, I had to pay RM2.20 a minute to call my (ex of exes)girlfriend in Australia. But when the demonopolization of the TM cell-phone industry, with mobile companies like Digi, Maxis, Mobikom and Celcom, (the latter 2 are being takeover by TM) only then TM has decided to slash the ‘cut-throat’ rate. And I am still awaiting long due for the government to liberate TM landline and broadband (Streamyx) services.

And if UiTM is only apen for the Bumis and others like UKM and UM whrerin only non-Bumis with myriad As are allowed entry, then all the good graders especially Chinese will eventually go abroad which resulted in the erosion of standards of the Universities.

*For your kind information, I am holding a Masters from the University of Jet Li.

28. #28 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 1:51 pm

Yes, I think we can all agree that the quality of our universities needs improvement. But why are we so obsessed with the rankings compiled by THES? Has it ever occurred to us that the rankings are probably bias towards Anglo-Saxon countries like UK, US, Canada and Australia? There are so many top ranked universities in these countries but are their economies and the people in general doing better? Yes, their standards of living are probably higher than others, but are they not living on past glory and past accumulation of capital. What does a country like UK do other than financial services and running some universities that continue to exploit the rich and poor parents of third world countries? We will use the THES as a guide, but let us not be obsessive over it.

To DarkHorse, I have never said that there are thousands of Bumi graduates better than the bloggers here. I only said that there are probably thousands of Bumi graduates better than YOU. If you can’t understand this simply statement, then it is better for me to judge that there are thousands of Bumi NON graduates (read carefully) better than you! You never get it, do you? Let me behave like that Cambridge brat for once. You are never my standard.

29. #29 by yellowkingdom on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 2:39 pm

I recently met a former lecturer from UTM Skudai, Johor, who told me there exist an unwritten policy to have 100% Bumi-lecturers in UTM by 2012. They are not to far off if I go by what I have gathered from current undergraduates. CEMPIANG ! GELUMANG ! TEMBERANG!

30. #30 by Traveller on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 3:38 pm

I don’t think the govt really cares about the ranking. They still defend their education policies as reported in AsiaOne – “KL defends education policies after varsities’ rankings slide”.
    As long as the Malaysian graduates don’t go overseas, then I guess nobody would know their true quality. Back in Malaysia, as long as the govt considers their graduates as good as anywhere else and continues to hire them, who is to argue?
    Just don’t ask them to design the Penang bridge or the Petronas Twin towers, or build the off-shore patrol boats.

31. #31 by Boneka on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 3:57 pm

So what guys if our Us are not amongst d best in the world. Who said we must be there anyway? Our Us have no problem enrolling enough students yearly, it does not matter what quality. Now our Minister for Higher Education is begging China to recognize more of our Us, which I think China would agree to.You know why more and more of its students will get opportunities to “transit” through Malaysia to enter Us in Australia, Canada, USA, Britain and others, their ultimate objective. They would not want their students to obtain our local degress to work in China eventually. They would want their students to come back with ‘world recognized degree’ to contribute to the development of China.
    So our cheap Us make it affordable for the Chinese. By wanting to be amongst the top Us in the world, would require the intake of students based on their merit, which may result in more non-bumi students being admitted, our Us must employ really qualified professors, which may reduce the Malay quota of the teaching staff, it may also result in higher fees payable, amongst others. So lets not rock the boat.

32. #32 by zainuddinmaidin on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 4:29 pm

The problem in Malaysia is, most of the lectures aren’t quality lectures. Some of the lectures are retrenched from their normal job such as engineers, accountants, etc. and only local universities could give them a job. These lecturers aren’t educators, they are just losers from their field, and these type of people are the lecturers in our local universities. Losers are educating our future generations? YES!

The next problem is – student intake. Theres no guarantee for a place if you score straight A’s in the exams or a 1st class student. In Malaysia, its all about ‘cable’, if you don’t meet the minimum criteria to enter a local university, but you have a ‘cable’ working with the higher education ministry or MARA, theres a place. Pity to those who worked hard in school and from hard families, did well in their exams but no offer to them . Their place in local universities are snatched by ‘cable’ students. Cable students aren’t that clever, most of them are in UiTM. They play a lot and wasting taxpayers money. This is the problem because the students aren’t studying, meanwhile, 1st class students need to find their own way to excel in life, studying abroad-private.

33. #33 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 4:44 pm

Sadly Malaysia is becoming a failed nation like Pakistan.
    The Judiciary is a pale shadow of its former state, Parliament works only to enrich those in power and not for all Malaysians and there is hardly any intelligent long-term planning – just look at the flip-flop on the English language.

The only reason there has not been a military takeover is that the top brass are linked to the top politicians and are well taken care of.
    So on the surface, we appear to be still chugging along but it is all a facade. One day the house of cards will collapse under a crisis as the present leaders do not know how to get away from the edge.

34. #34 by politicalopinions on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 5:15 pm

Give a man a fish, and he’ll last a day. Teach a man how to fish and he’ll last long.

Give them an easy way to obtain a degree and they’ll slack, give them fair competition and they’ll compete and improve.

I come from a renowned school in KL. Speaking from experience, during my year, there aren’t even a single malay student who rank in the top ten in my school.

Why you may ask. There are just not competitive knowing that they can enter local university easily. What’s the point of working hard when you are already guaranteed a place in the local university? How the government guarantee a place for these malays? Ever heard about matrix? Its even easier than form 5. Pretty simple to use that to enter the local universities.

JPA scholarships…familiar with them? From what I observe, there are students obtaining less than 8A1 and they still get JPA scholarships to do medicine.

To be fair, I would want to acknowledge that there are smart malays around. Not all are lazy. For those who are smart and hardworking, congratulations to you. However, since you are educated, you should know that NEP is going to make our country go backwards. Do something for the sake of this country (not the government).

Thank you.

35. #35 by Godamn Singh on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 5:30 pm

‘//Give a man a fish, and he’ll last a day. Teach a man how to fish and he’ll last long.//

Give a man a fish, he’ll return to ask for more. Teach a man how to fish and there is one more fisherman to feed.

36. #36 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 5:37 pm

In his China road show, Mustapha would do well to pay a visit to Shanghai Jiao Tung University (THES No. 163) to find out how they do so well as well as try, yes really try, to find out why NO MALAYSIAN university is listed in their top 500 Universities in the world.

But hey, Mustapha is a proud man and is convinced Malaysian universities are tops.

Incidentally, the BEST AND TOP MALAYSIAN UNIVERSITY is………tadaaaa………MULTI MEDIA UNIVERSITY (MMU) !!!!!!!!

Yes!!!! Multi Media University.
    At Number 182 of the top 200 universities worldwide.

http://www.4icu.org/top200/

Hahahahahaha!!! No other Malaysian University made it into this “popular” list.

National University of Singapore (NUS) is at Number 20, Nanyang Technological University (NTU) is number 69 etc etc.

Enjoy!!!

Incidentally, 4 Universities in Hong Kong are in the THES top 200 list but sadly no Indian or Arab universities made it.

The highly touted International Islamic University is not listed anywhere. Maybe if we have a listing of the top Islamic universities, Malaysia, an “Islamic state” might be tops.

But bottom line, we are still better of than the University of Ghana.

37. #37 by Godamn Singh on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 6:02 pm

‘//But why are we so obsessed with the rankings compiled by THES? Has it ever occurred to us that the rankings are probably bias …’//

What do we have here??? An apologist for UMNO’s failed education policy! You came to the wrong blog, my friend.

It is obvious that you’re not interested in having any kind of discourse with readers here but only to nurse that huge ego of yours, never forgetting to remind posters that you know better, that others are talking cock, that so and so is stupid, a moron etc.

Please don’t drag the quality of this blog down to the gutters.

38. #38 by oknyua on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 6:27 pm

YB Lim, I met Rafiah when she was in the corporate world. We chit chat a bit and yes she commented a little about her graduates (Law Faculty, UM). She wasn’t happy.

Now with the ranking as such, I believe she is equally upset. Don’t forget she is operating within the confinement of the system. To change the system, VOTE DAP, PKR. Reduce UMNO’s majority, or eliminate them if possible.

39. #39 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 6:37 pm

“Talking about useless graduates and your condemnation of bumi graduates. Come on, don’t be smug. There are thousands and millions of bumi graduates smarter….” and “You are an epitome of useless graduate. In case you don’t understand…” limkamput

Is that not what you said, limkamput? “Thousands and millions of bumi graduates” – you’re revealing your true identity here, don’t you think so? C’mon, come out and show your real pathetic self.

40. #40 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 6:51 pm

I tell my friends there is no need to cry about our children not getting into any Malaysian public universities now. They are so hopelessly lousy, we won’t even want to get in even if they give scholarships and provide other incentives. Why waste time with a degree that nobody (I mean nobody of any repute amonst world class universities) would even give a second look!

As to NEP and discrimination in education – even if they begin a system of meritocracy now, it will take at least 2020 before Malaysian universities can begin to produce world-class scholars. You don’t become world-class with the speed of Malasyian instant-noodles. You can’t buy excellence off the shelves like canned sardines. You can’t buy world-class the way we get instant astronauts by paying for rented seats on foreign space capsules and photo-op our ‘boy’ twiddling thumbs on the take-off!

Actually, I know how we can begin to be world-class. First, get rid of those UMNO and BN MInisters who behave like world-class idiots with their sick and slapstick performnces in and outside of Parliament!

Just thinking of their world-class performances makes me puke. Whilst these idiots clown, the lives and livelihoods of 26 milllion Malaysians go to waste! That is the price we have to pay which can be matched only by the disgust and contempt we must all have for their stupidity.

Malaysai burns whilst UMNO and BN fiddles.

41. #41 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 7:02 pm

BTW, Mustapha is a graduate from either Monash U or Melbourne U.
    He should know at least some of the elements that make a world class Univ. The hellish problem is that he is also playing stupid politics with the lives of univ undergraduates!

Come off it. The fact is UMNO politicians don’t care a damn how our Universities fare. Their children are mostly in overseas universities. Check: Najib’s daughter in UK, Hishammudidin’s son/daughter in Australia? These are only those reported in the news. Can someone continue the list?

UMNO leaders don’t even trust our own medical graduates and hospitals, right? AAB had his medical in Australia. WHo else? Chan Kong Choy had his medical – where? SOmewhere overseas too? Who else? What a waste of taxpayer’s money. Ministers’ medical bills are paid from taxpayers money, right? So there is nothing to stop a Minister who has a running nose to run to Austarlia for treatment, right or wrong? And squeeze in a long vacation at taxpayer’s expense!

42. #42 by catharsis on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 7:07 pm

Rubbish in Rubbish out syndrome prevails in our universities

43. #43 by sj on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 7:07 pm

They should have put this on Al Jazeera as well. UMNO fishing voters out from local Uni and put them in their pockets.

44. #44 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 7:11 pm

Hello, Pak Lah,

How not to have low self-esteem when you and so many other Malaysians have to graduate from no-class universities?

Discard Low Self-Esteem For Progress, Says Abdullah

SETIU, Nov 18 (Bernama) — Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi today called on the people to discard low self-esteem which he said can poison their mind and restrict personal development.

45. #45 by k1980 on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 7:29 pm

Will Malaysian universities end up like the African ones?
    http://www.iht.com/articles/2007/05/20/news/africa.php
    The disarray of African universities did not happen by chance. In the 1960s, universities were seen as the incubator of the vanguard that would drive development in the young countries of newly liberated Africa, and postcolonial governments spent lavishly on campuses, research facilities, scholarships and salaries for academics.

But corruption and mismanagement led to the economic collapses that swept much of Africa in the 1970s, and in the retrenchment universities were among the first institutions to suffer. As idealistic postcolonial governments gave way to more cynical and authoritarian regimes across Africa, universities, with their academic freedoms, democratic tendencies and elitist airs, became a nuisance…

46. #46 by motai on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 7:41 pm

Yet many who speak out vitriolicly against racism, are themselves racist, displaying intense antagonism towards people of other races, and advocating policies which discriminate on the basis of race.

These are many of the same people who would respect Martin Luther King, but who are not willing to live by his maxim: “They will not be judged by the colour of their skin, but by the content of their character.”
    Frustrated people easily give in to character conditioned hate. The easiest idea to sell anyone is that he is better than someone else.
    H.G. Wells noted that racism “justifies and holds together more baseness, cruelty and abomination than any other sort of error in the world.”

47. #47 by cancan on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 7:50 pm

How can Malaysia universities be of world class when the Umnoputras are of third class mentality?

All they ever know is race,race,race!!!

We are in a very pathetic state in many fields.

Allah,Jesus,Goddess of Mercy, Lord Muruga and all those immortals,please save Malaysia.

48. #48 by Chin NA on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 7:56 pm

Are comparing apples to apples here?

Let’s take Singapore Universities (NUS and NTU) as examples. Are they really comparable to UM, UKM, USM, UUM, UMU or TARC?

Based on the chosen metrics suitable for Malaysia, local universities are way ahead, way way ahead. When suitable criteria are used, the truth will should prevail. Or will it?

Malaysia Boleh!

49. #49 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 7:59 pm

To: DarK Horse

Limkaput has something derogatory to say to posters. He says this of our Jeffrey

“I think the more you write, the more you show your stupidity. You are essentially a talk cock king..” and “he (meaning Jeffrey) is hollow sophistication.”

If that is not enough he went on to say “I think you (meaning Jeffrey) have held sway with your half baked ideas for too long. You will be hearing from me more often from now on, whether you like it or not.”

Of our PhD student, Lee Wang Yeng from University of Cambridge, ranked No. 2 in the world by THES, he has this to say

“..your sophisticated mind is not sophisticated enough after all. … This is what I meant by hollow sophistication and you are fast becoming one (that is, if you are not Jeffrey).”

He calls me a “moron”.

If that is not enough, to Dawsheng he says

“Dawsheng, I have left you alone thus far. .. I don’t label others stupid and talking cock for nothing.”

No doubt if left alone, he would have spewed more derogatory remarks. For a poster who visits this blog only to deride others, it is best to leave him alone. Let’s hope he reads this and decides to go away quietly.

50. #50 by Chin NA on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 8:02 pm

I will comment on what politicalopinions said (I come from a renowned school in KL. Speaking from experience, during my year, there aren’t even a single malay student who rank in the top ten in my school.)

Just ask ourselves, was the correct metrics being use? Were they suitable? That is why I agree with atan when it was said (In Malaysia, we are still the no.1 ma.)

Metrics drives behaviours. Wrong metrics beget wrong behaviour.

Think about it.

51. #51 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 8:09 pm

YB, this topic reminds me of an incident I must relate. When son was still in school, I was asked to attend the PTA meeting. During the meeting, a parent, obviously, a very senior gomen officer stood up to ask the HM, as to why the school was segregating the students based on the test results?. He went on to say that he was proud to say that he got only a 3rd grade in SPM, but later he was able to secure a Phd after serving the gomen.
    Some one at the back of the hall asked,’ which university awarded you the PHD?’. There was total silence, there was no reply for a couple of minutes! Then, laughter echoed the hall.
    While at the subject of merit, my daughter who spent her primary years in a Chinese national-type school and a few of her mates scored 7 As and were admitted to the secondary school, after the 1st day, she came back, obviously a little shaken. She said that the head mistress told them that notwithstanding their 7 As against those students who scored only 5As, they would never be put in the ‘A’ class! So much for an ‘enlightened’ mind! Obviously , her position was more than an HM, she had the ‘connections’; somehow she drove an ‘E Class’ .
    Looking back I had no regret over the incident, both of them decided to call it a day as far as their careers are concern in this country. This is really shameful to the nation. My son used to tell me, that travelling on his job, he met many overseas businessmen who seek to employ Malaysians for a varieties of reason! Of course, it is plain sailing for anyone who wants to meet the challenges of the international market.
    In the number of years, I spent in the national schools, I always hold that 30% of the teachers were under-paid, 40% were paid equitably, and 30% of the ‘politicians’ were definely over-paid by many folds; they never attend classes and spent their time attending ‘ceramahs’. They got promoted over and above those few hard working BUMI teachers who had no connections, so after all these years, you expect Top 100 universities?.
    Of course, for the NON-BUMIs, the only solution would be to ignore the scenario or look for some thing better to do. Well, personally, I had no regrets when I decided to end a career that I first loved.
    In such scenario, you may want to think that it is the will of ‘Heaven’ or one’s Karma, but you would never regret the experience you would gain; which you can also endow to your children. So, don’t fret over such challenges. Learn the lesson from the Jews!!

52. #52 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 8:16 pm

“I find it scandalous that the shocking fall of the ranking of Malaysian universities THES-QS 2007 world Top 200 Universities was totally ignored by last week’s Umno General Assembly..” KIT

Education has been politicized over the last four decades. It did not start with the NEP like many are under the impression. Surely, Kit you don’t expect them to own up and admit that they have been instrumental for putting our educational institutions – secondary and tertiary – in a free fall.

If they admit that policies need to be revised to correct anomalies in the system, at least we could still hope for a soft landing.

53. #53 by Loyal Malaysian on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 8:25 pm

The needed will not be done.
    For all the BN is concerned our local public universities have done their public duties of churning out graduates for the local market, but sadly, there are now too many unemployed graduates even for the government service to absorb!!
    What is consequence of this ranking?
    None! – for the elite and the well-to-do, their children can take their pick save the limitations of their entrance qualifications which thankfully I believe cannot be manipulated so easily as our public universities

54. #54 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 9:16 pm

You want a degree? Now everybody can get one. Entry is so simple and guaranteed graduate in due course. Just be a good boy or girl.

Very soon we will be like the graduates of some countries in this region – fit only to be house maids. We mass produce so that we can be a “hub”. Quantity over quality, thats our philosophy and game plan. And hope for the best.

55. #55 by Short-sleeve on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 9:53 pm

It will benefit BN more if our Universities continue to have these low standards.

56. #56 by AhPek on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 9:54 pm

Education has been politicised over the last four decades. It did not start with the NEP like many are under the impression.”.undergrad 2.
    Very true and in fact during the later stage of renowned Prof Danaraj well managed stewardship of the faculty of medicine the umno controlled government started intervening into the autonomy of the faculty by lowering the passing marks of Malay students that has resulted in British Medical Association withdrawing recognition of medical degrees from UM.This was way back some 30 odd years back.
    By admitting bumiputra students with much lower qualification and employing Malay graduates in such large numbers (affirmative action) with deans mostly of one race and VCs only of one race the decline of local universities accelerated even faster.There will be no reversal of the trend unless there is a change of government that believes in true meritocracy accepting students with suitable bench mark academic qualifications and employing the best qualified staff from anywhere in the world.

57. #57 by AhPek on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 10:03 pm

And perhaps if I may add, autonomy in the running of the university must be returned to those who are in the business of knowing how best universities should be run.In short it is not the business of politicians to decide how universities should be run.

58. #58 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 10:57 pm

Like you said, AhPek those days the issue of ‘university autonomy’ was dear to the heart of UM undergrads – then the only university.

Today we should not be surprised if undergrads ask what ‘university autonomy’?? They cannot be blamed for they had no idea of what university autonomy is, about the university campus being out of bounds to police etc and therefore could never fathom the significance of its loss.

The 60s were a time when the only University then was held in high regard by the international academic community. Our degrees like our Medical and Engineering degrees were recognized abroad. Not anymore today.

The early to mid-60s was a time when the likes of UMNO ultras Mahathir had not taken their seats on the University Senate. This was to change around 1967 (before the NEP was even conceived) when Mahathir started interfering with university policies by allowing Malay undergrads who barely made it passed HSC to enter into the Medical Faculty and other faculties including the Arts Faculty. Many failed to pass the first year or if they managed to pass the first year would not make it to the third.

But AhPek, we must tread carefully here or else this ‘limkaput’ might jump out of the woodwork to accuse the both of us of talking cock as he once did.

It is about standards. Should academic standards be lowered across the board to accommodate political objectives is the issue. It should not be seen as Malays vs. Non-Malays. It is true then that Malay students were in the minority in the various Faculties except Malay and Islamic studies – Abdullah Badawi and Anwar Ibrahim were graduates from this Faculty which saw the largest concentration of Malay students. In fact Malay undergrads then made up just below half of the total student population.

But when marks were “tampered with” (marks added across the board if you were a Malay student) to allow more Fifth Form students to make it to the Sixth Form, and then to university as a matter of policy and general practice, it opens the floodgates for a racist policy and one which would eventually erode further the declining academic standards.

The rest is history.

Should we, therefore, be surprised if the standards of our tertiary institutions continue on their free fall? THES? Soon we will find ourselves falling off the page completely.

59. #59 by smeagroo on Sunday, 18 November 2007 - 11:12 pm

more stupid people for the future and unemployed suits BN just fine. Then every person will hv to kow-tow to the powers that be and the mega rich. THe more stupid these ppl get the more they will vote for the corrupted.

60. #60 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 12:52 am

What happened to MUST? Is it one of the top 500 after we paid so much money to MIT?

61. #61 by sj on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 1:54 am

Dont forget, the Akujanji contract put more nails to the coffin of education than it help. All these are contributing factors through decade of incompetence.

62. #62 by DarkHorse on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 1:57 am

limkamput says,

“I only said that there are probably thousands of Bumi graduates better than YOU. If you can’t understand this simply statement, then it is better for me to judge that there are thousands of Bumi NON graduates (read carefully) better than you! You never get it, do you? Let me behave like that Cambridge brat for once. You are never my standard.”

We have a racist on board who hides behind a misleading ‘handle’.

63. #63 by sj on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 2:04 am

You want a better university, you can do one very simple thing, MERITOCRACY. Fire the dead woods and the parasites from within that are not producing after years of service and replace them with people that are focused on R&D. That means VC himself or herself must be proactive in it and must go out and do fund raising. Not just sitting around in office and arbitrary coming up with policy that does not do jack to improve the school. Increase the requirement of lecturers to at least PhD level. That should be a good place to start.

Next phase, cut off UMNO’s influence by rejecting low quality students. This of course has to start from the VC and it touches the issue of university autonomy. To do that you must have the staff revamped with better quality teaching staff, and do weed out classes to ensure only capable people are left. Those with UMNO are not interested to study anyway, so this is a good way to kick them out with the excuse of they fail in their studies.

3rd phase, provide a forum and platform for students to voice their complaints about the university and the corrupted and dishonest practise that they have in there. From there an investigation can be carried out to ensure everybody in the realms of academia put integrity as their hallmark of excellence. This action of course also implies that Ministry of Education needs to be changed and Mustapha and Hishammuddin should be fired if not toppled from their position for being a stupid ignorant, racist dead wood.

64. #64 by malaysiatoday.com on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 2:40 am

yellowkingdom Says:

November 18th, 2007 at 14: 39.44
    I recently met a former lecturer from UTM Skudai, Johor, who told me there exist an unwritten policy to have 100% Bumi-lecturers in UTM by 2012. They are not to far off if I go by what I have gathered from current undergraduates. CEMPIANG ! GELUMANG ! TEMBERANG!

==============================================

I was ex-UTMer in 80s. For non-bumis to be employed by UTM, preferably at least you are a muslim.

Salman Leong is a Chinese muslim and was named the youngest professor in Malaysia as per Malaysia Book of Records. Our kampong standard universitiy was highly rated him like a genius.

Unfortunately you could not find more than 10 citations from him research works when he was promoted to a full professor.

When UTM started to use NEP meritocracy system based on SPM, they realized that a half of new intake is Chinese. They quickly changed the intake criteria to STPM and Matrikulasi in the following year.

UMNO know in a true meritocracy system based on a unified exam, Malay students will be losers like in 60s.

Why? Figure out yourself.

65. #65 by chisinau on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 3:11 am

In Malaysia the bigger figure is better! Ooops. Do they know what a ranking is???

66. #66 by Filibuster on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 3:58 am

The few things a Government should not tinker with (or face heavy consequences in the form of demographic imbalances) is unadvised birth control (either in the positive or negative context) and education, primarily (there are more, but not to put things out of topic, I mention only these two). When they do tinker with such issues, the problem is that it is out of their control – returns only come after what… easily 10-20 years?

See, let me take the example of birth control. If a Government decides to promote birth rates, but does not secure any measure to accomodate the higher number of youths in the future, through a variety of planning – job availability, spaces in local schools, university, funding etc, then what will become of them? Unfortunately we now see rempits around – I don’t criticise them all the way because I know it’s not their fault – the lack of planning by the Government gives rise to this kind of social problem.

So let’s return to the issue of education. The “localisation” of many universities – was this done with proper planning? Admittedly, the abolition of meritocracy comes with heavy effects – effects that initially are not obvious to the people, but hit much harder after a number of years (or batches of graduates) – these batches (no offence to anyone) ultimately devalue the prestige of a university degree from that particular IPTA / IPTS!

Keep in mind that most American universities are preferred because of good employer feedback. What gives rise to employer feedback, anyway? It is competency, mainly, among other factors. When this happens, the name of the university is more highly revered – perhaps this is indeed the best way a university can advertise itself to the world. By taking the road not taken, the Malaysian education stands more to lose than to gain – there is bound to be a lot of bad feedback that caused it’s ranking to plummet, thus handicapping not only the new batches going through (if they are indeed able to prove that they can do the job – they may lose out on first impression – just the name of the University they graduated from alone!), but also the older ones (perhaps those who hold the degree before meritocracy was introduced?) as well.

Chin NA had a very good statement; indeed, are we comparing apples with apples? We lacked the planning that other, more developed countries put into their system – by blindly embracing meritocracy, we are taking a big risk in this game of high stakes – not only are the futures of our people who graduate through local universities there to lose, but our international credibility stands to take a plunge.

Planning seems to be really important, but it looks like it hasn’t been done, and this is one of the few times I believe the fault does not lie squarely on the shoulders of Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s Government.

67. #67 by ihavesomethingtosay on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 4:04 am

Please lah………………

Malaysia has not fallen out from anything…..

in fact,

Malaysia is still in the top 15% of the top 2000 ranking!

remember that……………

only 4,000 and not 40,000 who march, conveniently, one zero drop here and one zero added here.

why not?

in Malaysia, we can tahan MALU!

68. #68 by Godfather on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 7:15 am

Most countries see education as the key to the future of their countries. Singapore, Thailand, China, UK, Australia, you name it. These countries not only have meritocracy in intake, they have quality control and safeguards to withstand external critique.

In Bolehland, the den of thieves see education as key to the party’s survival. Stupid is as stupid does.

69. #69 by aSmallVoice on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 7:54 am

m a phd student receiving aust gov scholarship, but facing a dilemma whether to go back to msia… Intend to help own country, but met an x-head of school from one of the unis in msia, who told me that “going back to msia is useless bcoz even though u intend to help, u won’t get the chance, simply bcoz u r non-M!” The person continued with telling me his own experience of being a hos but not getting equal opportunity.

I was told that one of the top criteria of driving academic excellence in unis is to have excellent research output, but doubt that we would get the equal environment and resources as we were able to in overseas. Perhaps if our country knows how to appreciate the right talents, and able to give adequate encouragement to the right person, many overseas graduates will be back to promote education and in fact, the overall technology for the industry?

Btw, the x-hos received handsome salary & research grants wo work in countries other than his birth country, Msia… To a certain extend, I wonder why other countries treat foreigners better than the way msia treated his own citizens… I thought, we are Malaysian…

I am just a small voice… apologize for saying wrong things… TQ!

70. #70 by Jeffrey on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 8:11 am

“…//….by blindly embracing meritocracy, we are taking a big risk…//…”Filibuster
    Care to clarify context of the statement? Since when have we blindly embraced meritocracy” without planning that caused problems? If anything had we blindly embraced it, even without proper planning, we might have been in better stead.

I thought TDM’s administration tinkered too much with “localisation” of our education system/universities with the NEP that got us on the road where we are today and that what we really need now is a “re-tinkering” of it with a dose of ‘blind meritocracy’ (as ex Lord President Salleh Abas would say the government should “re-interfere” the state of Judiciary system (eg by appointment of Royal Commission to establish amongst other things the Judicial Commission). :)

71. #71 by Bigjoe on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 8:12 am

There is no doubt that removing the NEP would be the main thing needed to do improve the education system. Same thing can be said about improving our economic competitiveness. So its inevitable the NEP will be removed but the issue is when and the result after that.

I put it to you that removing the NEP will only be done when either its just insignificant anymore (i.e., when the population of minorities is so small like 10%,) or when conditions are so bad, it makes no difference (we are so behind the best that it will not change much even if NEP is removed).

There is this assumption among Chinese in this country that somehow, when the NEP is removed eventually, they can claim their rights and equality then. I put it to you that is not necessarily so and at some point very much not probable. Its possible, the Chinese community, for most part, in this country could be marginalized such that they won’t be able to claim thru equality forever or for a very very long time. Worst it could be very soon that it may not be worth it to try even given a globalization economy.

Put it this way, I would seriously consider sending my child to India or China for their universities rather than a local one today. I am quite sure at some point in the future, that would be most non-bumi priorities. Sure if I can afford it the US, UK and Australia/NZ would always be better but if I cannot, local universities would be last among many many universities…

At that point, would even trying to remove the NEP matter?

72. #72 by boh-liao on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 10:03 am

“cut off UMNO’s influence”. Are you joking?

Before 10 Nov – the Yellow Wave Day – our public universities issued a warning to their warga that the rally is illegal and no one should take part in it.

Staff and students were not even allowed the luxury to think independently to exercise their rights as a thinking citizen!

And the minister wants staff and students to carry out independent cutting edge world class research so that they can publish their results in reputable journals for others to cite them. Wow!

73. #73 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 10:33 am

MUST has at least half Chinese and is a research university. If it is not ranked, then Uncle Lim’s idea will not work. It is more likely the failure of boleh system, not the race.

74. #74 by sotong on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 11:08 am

The ” cabling ” to get something or cut the queue must stop.

Proper government policies and procedures must be strictly adhered to ensure fairness for all.

75. #75 by Filibuster on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 12:20 pm

@Jeffrey: Thanks for pointing out my mistake – I wanted to type out marginalization instead of meritocracy. Definitely changes the whole tone of the message, eh? :/

76. #76 by Toyol on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 4:25 pm

Our universities are a breeding ground for racists and a means to continue the NEP. After the USM or UPM incident, I can’t remember most non bumi parents have already made up their minds not to send their children to local universities. So the ranking keeps plummeting. The BN people don’t care…as long as they have an excuse to continue the NEP. Unbelievable? Think again.

77. #77 by AhPek on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 8:41 pm

The singular reason for the decline of standards in our public universities is without any doubt the exuberant fervour in carrying out affirmative actions in all positions in the universities.

78. #78 by undergrad2 on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 9:19 pm

Anyone who denies that should have his head examined.

79. #79 by budak on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 10:28 pm

our Uni ranking incomparable in this league…
    maybe South African league would show MalangSial Uni at Top 20 from below… sooner they may join North Pole league…

80. #80 by undergrad2 on Monday, 19 November 2007 - 11:15 pm

Filibuster, throughout the years everything that happens in Malaysia is ad hoc and hardly any real planning. What would you call a traffic study with projections valid only over the next five years? Would its recommendations qualify as ‘planning’? By the time they finish building whatever they need to build or do, it is time for another study because it cannot accomodate the traffic flow that it was meant to resolve.

What they plan is what to do and where to channel their ill-gotten gains, either to have them invested in real properties in far distant lands in the names of their mistresses if not their drivers or start a Nasi Kandar restaurant so they could launder such illegal proceeds of their illegal activities – have such illegal proceeds become legal and repatriate back to Malaysia for investment.

81. #81 by babasiao on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 1:29 am

kit, can you also address the brain drain within the accounting profession? we witness in recent years unprecedented outflow of qualified accountants to cities like new york, hong kong, london, shanghai, san francisco, etc. this has exarcebated the already-bad-enough exodus across the causeway. i guess the main pull factor is the remuneration within the profession in these cities, but i can’t help to think that these opportunities to leave malaysia (and nep of course) are too good to to turn down. and i know most of these beancounters have to foresake family and friends in malaysia for a better life, not only for themselves, but for their children, and children’s children.

82. #82 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 3:42 am

Babasiao,

If you have an accounting background or an IT background, chances are you’ll get a job more easily than others in the same position as you are (legal or illegal alien) when you arrive in the U.K. or the U.S. You do not need to be an accountant – just someone with experience as an accounts clerk or an IT technician.

83. #83 by limkamput on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 11:53 am

Darkhorse, Undergrad2, Godamn, the Cambridge brat and other bigots,
    Please don’t be too presumptuous. I am a Chinese Malaysian, pure and pure. You people can’t even see your own prejudice, narrow-mindedness, racism and bigotry. When you read a view that is different from yours, your spontaneous reaction is that I must be a Malay. When you read a view that is more national and inclusive in outlook, your immediate response is I am a UMNO apologist. Has it ever occurred to you all that you can only tolerate your own ideas. So far, none of you has been able to debate on issues raised. Instead it is just one tirade after another. As I said earlier, I don’t label others morons for nothing. And most of you write poor English.
    Undergrad2, you should repeat I wrote about you earlier if you want to quote me. Why left out yours. It shows you are a dishonest person, pure and simple.
    I am sorry I can’t come to the blog as often now. I am travelling. So, please don’t think that I am running away.

84. #84 by swee_ann_tweety on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 2:09 pm

Let’s see, Dr. Chiew Sing Ping of NTU is renowned for Steel Structures. If he is here in Malaysia, probably lots of projects wouldn’t collapse like Belum. Hell, he may even bring up one of our public universities. He is well renowned. Guess what? He is Malaysian. Some other renowned professors / associate professors in Singapore Universities Dr. Carmen Heah, Sam Choon Kook (from UM, she left for Singapore), ….

I am sure there are more Professors and Assoc. Prof who are Malaysians but find it better to work in Singapore. I really wonder why??!! Why isn’t our government doing something to attract them back and boost up our local university standard ?

If we just look at how Zainuddin Maidin answered Al Jazeraar, (“yo yo yo”), I don’t think I can expect much!

85. #85 by Beh dah-han on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 2:42 pm

Under the NEP, no matter how clever you are (for the non-bumi) you still stupid. Even though you score 15 A1s, there is no guarantee a place for you in local universities. Enrollment does not base on qualification but KULITFICATION. There is no way Malaysian universities could improve the ranking as long as this semi apartheid policy exits.

86. #86 by malaysiatoday.com on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 3:56 pm

swee_ann_tweety Says:

November 20th, 2007 at 14: 09.40
    Let’s see, Dr. Chiew Sing Ping of NTU is renowned for Steel Structures. If he is here in Malaysia, probably lots of projects wouldn’t collapse like Belum. Hell, he may even bring up one of our public universities. He is well renowned. Guess what? He is Malaysian. Some other renowned professors / associate professors in Singapore Universities Dr. Carmen Heah, Sam Choon Kook (from UM, she left for Singapore), ….

I am sure there are more Professors and Assoc. Prof who are Malaysians but find it better to work in Singapore. I really wonder why??!! Why isn’t our government doing something to attract them back and boost up our local university standard ?

If we just look at how Zainuddin Maidin answered Al Jazeraar, (”yo yo yo”), I don’t think I can expect much!

==========

A local Malay professor in UM, a handful one respected by non-bumis was trying to invite my friend (was his former student in UTM) who is associate professor in a HK university.

My first advice to my friend don’t be stupid enough to work in a race-based university.

87. #87 by raverus on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 6:03 pm

We got the biggest budget but lowest ranking, what have the budget done? or should i say where have the budget gone? shameX2

88. #88 by DarkHorse on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 6:25 pm

“I am a Chinese Malaysian, pure and pure. You people can’t even see your own prejudice, narrow-mindedness, racism and bigotry. When you read a view that is different from yours, your spontaneous reaction is that I must be a Malay.”

You must be an MCA upstart with an inferiority complex then.

Just ignore this guy.

89. #89 by Godamn Singh on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 7:10 pm

“As I said earlier, I don’t label others morons for nothing. And most of you write poor English.” limkamput

And you write good English??? Give us all a break!

Hey dei! You can’t even spell ‘derogatory’ – duh??!

90. #90 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 20 November 2007 - 7:18 pm

Actually there is no shortage of research money for academic staff members of our public universities.

Sometimes, research money (like RM50K per staff) was given suddenly to the staff members and they must finish spending the money within 3 or 4 months. Many (bumi and nonbumi staff included) were unable to do so but they had other ideas – rather than returning the money to the university, money was very cleverly shuttled to outside parties (like an offshore account) and used for other purchases or for rainchecks.

Open secret lah. Ask any bumi or nonbumi supplier that deals with the researchers and they will tell you how they survive by being flexible and understanding. That’s how taxpayers’ money is abused.

91. #91 by akarmalaysian on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 12:47 am

can can says:
    “We are in a very pathetic state in many fields.

Allah,Jesus,Goddess of Mercy, Lord Muruga and all those immortals,please save Malaysia.”

p/s: dun forget my natok kong

92. #92 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 4:09 am

“”So far, none of you has been able to debate on issues I raised.” limkamput

Hey limkamput, the only issues you raised are

1. Jeffery is stupid
    2. Ahpek talked cock
    3. Dawsheng is a talk cock king
    4. Lee Wang Yeng the Cambridge graduate studying for his PhD is “hollow sophistication” and comes, according to you, from an Ivy League university
    5. Undergrad is a moron

You took to task posters on this blog as being less clever than yourself, writes bad English when you cannot even spell “derogatory”

Wanna raise more issues, blockhead??

93. #93 by 1eyecls on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 - 10:55 pm

at this very moment,our HEM mustafa still promotes malaysia’s universities to mainland chinese,i was wondering most of these youngsters have surfed into “UPM ‘s security is bullying chinese students” at YOUTUBE,FREE-OF-CHARGE also thy may not consider coming to this racist land!

Damn stupid mustafa!

94. #94 by limkamput on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 2:36 pm

Darkasshorse: you are really an ass. Since when the term ivy league must specifically refer to US universities. I think you are too stupid to be here. Go find a children site.

95. #95 by non-racist on Monday, 2 August 2010 - 12:22 pm

please everyone…we should not fighting each others..who ever we are,race,religions,we born in this land of malaysia…we are one team..so we supposed to rise up and together incresed the university level in our country.dont make politicians fool us.together we success.TQ