Yet another book banned

Letters
by Zainah Anwar

We have just been alerted to another round of book bannings by the Book Censhorhip DIvision of the INternal Security Ministry.

This time it includes a very important book by a very progressive religious scholar from Indonesia, Kyai Hussein Muhammad who runs a pesantren in Cirebon and sits on the Women’s Commission, appointed by the President of Indonesia.

This is really disgraceful as the govt is sending out the message that anything written about equality and justice for women in Islam is considered a threat to national security!

And yet the PM goes on and on talking about a rational and progressive Islam that is open to reinterpretation to meet the challenge of change; the 9th Malaysia Plan and the cabinet committee on gender equality has set a minimum quota of 30%women in decision making positions, Islam Hadhari promises to eliminate injustice agianst women – are these all empty words?

SIS has translated Kyai Hussein’s book into BM as we find it most useful to help Muslims understand that Islam stands for justice and equality and there is much within the tradition that is progressive and supportive of women’s rights.

The version banned is the original Indonesian version. I do hope you and your colleagues would be able to raise this issue in Parliament

1. #1 by izrafeil on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 8:28 am

actually this is a blessing in disguise, the more you try to cover up, the more people find out about it, will get myself a copy in my next visit there. thanks for sounding up!

2. #2 by Libra2 on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 8:52 am

“And yet the PM goes on and on talking about a rational and progressive..”
    It will be foolhardy for anyone to take the PM seriously on any thing he says. He merely read speeches prepared by his secretaries or his SIL without understanding the contents.
    He never means what he says. He rattles away like a bumbling fool and makes promises and declarations that he does not mean.

3. #3 by wantonhead on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 8:53 am

The Lord of the Circle

Small circle indeed, with Pea-Brained personality … need to say more …

4. #4 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 9:02 am

“And yet the PM goes on and on talking about a rational and progressive Islam …”

Rational and progressive?

When is he going to begin about this rational & progressive? Sigh, guess we’ll have to wait forever.

5. #5 by sotong on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 9:02 am

Equality and justice for women in Islam a threat to national security?

Fear and control are their ultimate objectives….what does the country has to gain from lack of equality and justice for women???

Are men that insecure of their role in the society?

6. #6 by wizzerd on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 9:10 am

It seems like the phrase “threat to national security” had been the warcry these days by the politicians of the ruling party.

BERSIH march = threat to national security
    Alternative views = threat to national security
    Bloggers = threat to national security
    Reports from foreign media = threat to national security
    now..a book about women’s rights is also threat to national security..
    followed by threat of using ISA..sick of that..okay
    If those beruks have nothing valid to say,better keep quiet, or else you all sound like a parroting beruks

7. #7 by Filibuster on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 9:16 am

Now now, we should not go overboard in what we do; we should find a copy of the book and read it first (or have someone reliable put a synopsis of it’s ideas across), before debating on whether it is unfair for the Government to ban the book, or not. To exercise impartial judgement on the issue we should see this issue, and that of the Government’s other actions as a seperate.

8. #8 by Filibuster on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 9:17 am

I stress that caution must be exercised, especially if it’s to be brought up in Parliament, because to thread on unsteady ground would be potentially detrimental towards the Opposition’s cause in the next General Election. I hope you take notice of this, YB Lim.

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 9:20 am

Banning a book does not do anything to the book but helps it in its circulation and helps to popularise it. That’s what happened to Mahathir’s “Malay Dilemma” in the late 60s – written in poor English, hardly the kind of book that would make the best seller list anywhere.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 9:49 am

Don’t know much about Kyai Hussein Muhammad by repute a respected Muslim scholar who runs a religious school in Indonesia except the genral position that he articulates that there is a need to question versions of Islamic teaching used to codify Sharia laws inconsistent with justice and equality (one part of which is between the sexes) because ultimately justice and equality is what Islam is all about.

Zainah Anwar therefore makes a good point : why should a leader harps on rational and progressive Islam that is open to reinterpretation to meet the challenge of change (Islam Hadari) and yet by action ban Kyai Hussein Muhammad’s progressive view?

There will always be people who will doubt what a leader says but they will start believing when they see him actually does it. Nothing demoralises more than not only mere inaction but more so contradictory acts.

That belief of people is eesential. Otherwise people will not be inspired and motivated to follow what a leader says, and he can no longer lead since he demonstrates greater inclination to follow!

Yet a leader must also sometimes follow. Wasn’t it Franklin D. Roosevelt who said a leader can’t get too far ahead of his followers? Follow in the sense that he has to embody the concious values and the unconscious, sublimal impulses and prejudices of the community that he leads and if he goes too far ahead and divergent from their mores and values, they’ll boot him out. So that is relapolitik consideration of political survival.

On the other hand, it is also the higher calling and duty of the leader to guide his followers away from their prejudices, to lift their level of thinking, visions and aspirations beyond their normal limitations and prejudices to a higher organisation beneficial for the god of the community and the nation, present extending to the future.

This requires him to put his foot down, where it needs to be done!
    He should not shirk from doing right just because a small faction of demagogues or religious conservatives exert pressure disproportionate to their size against enlightened change and in voices stentorian shout him down, costing him votes and support and even earning him enmity from some quarters dedicated to his overthrow.

So Life is not easy even for a top leader.

Leadership involves then a delicate balance juggling between what and when to follow and what and when to lead at the right time, depending on the manifold circumstances as they unfold and the unique challenges they pose in each instance of time.

The knowledge of a leader of this difference of what is right and when to fight for it and when to temporise and delay it is the measuring cast that distingishes between the good and savvy from the ordinary or poor leader.

Inconsistencies of policies, talk and actions of a leader per se will not by themselves doom him – he is not expected to be consistent all the time, as only expected given he needs to juggle the ebb and flows of power around him – as long as between the shifts, to and fro, he is always mindful that when he takes one step backward in reforms, it is always in order to pave the way for 2 steps forward, guided by the consistent, unflinching, dominating and overarching course of always pressing forward to bring his people collectively to a higher organisation of thinking, visions and aspirations beneficial for the country. That is the ultimate benchmark that determines his mark as a leader and his legacy. The main element then is always sincerity and consistency of this sincerity.

11. #11 by oknyua on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 9:52 am

Author: Kyai Hussein
    Language: Bahasa Indonesia
    Synopsis: ?

Progressive but what is the book about? Any website giving synopsis to the book?

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 9:56 am

Sorry typo error – beneficial for the “good” (not god) of the community

13. #13 by carboncopy on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 9:59 am

Another best seller in the making.

If I were to write a book. I want it banned by govt.

Said this before (somewhere), in Singapore, they have a special shelf for books banned in Malaysia. And they proudly advertise it as such.

Not withstanding all that I have said, any banned should be fought and challenged.

The notion that government knows better than the people as the reason for censorship is rubbish.

The only reason why censorship ever existed (from beginning of time) is to have control over people, so to achieve stay in the seat of power.

14. #14 by anak_malaysia on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 10:01 am

izrafeil Says:
    November 16th, 2007 at 08: 28.11

actually this is a blessing in disguise, the more you try to cover up, the more people find out about it, –

i m more than agree with it. There is a chinese saying “a paper can’t wrap a fire”. e.g. the murdered of the Mongolian citizen in M’sia, the BERSIH march to the Istana Negara, illegal discharge of firearm during BERSIH seminar in Batu Buruk, Istana Zakaria of Klang, RM 4.6bil bailout for PKFZ, and etc

The more they cover up, the more worst it became.

15. #15 by mat saman kati on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 10:04 am

Brader Kit,

I, too have a letter to send to you but I don’t know how. Can give me your mail address?

Thanks.

16. #16 by anak_malaysia on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 10:05 am

all i can say is UMNO = double standard

everything that UMNO do is good and great. other muslim from other country, especially their brothers in Indonesia is bad and lousy?

For UMNO, Indonesia should be grateful with the present of *some* Malay Malaysia? *Some* of the Malay Malaysia are arrogant enough that they can shoulder a bigger responsibility, just like the old English man saying “White man burden”? Now it is the Malay man burden to educate the Malay in the region, not Indonesia educate Malaysia?

17. #17 by ahkok1982 on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 10:13 am

well, if it is banned here in Malaysia, then why not make it available online.. so that people can just download it an read… hahaha… the gov still dont learn do they? you can ban the book physically but then once it is uploaded onto the net, what can you do about it? yell, scream and shout as usual??

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 10:17 am

There is nothing shocking about the book banning. It is just one more added to the list which is growing; and among them is the Christian Bible written in Bahasa Indonesia.

Interestingly “koran” in Indonesian means newspaper. “Allah” means God. “Tuhan Yesus” means Lord Jesus. The Malaysian government has banned all these words. It is as if by banning them, these words no longer exist or are no longer in use. Isn’t language a communication tool?

“…who runs a pesantren in Cirebon and sits on the Women’s Commission, appointed by the President of Indonesia.”

Apparently this is more than just about gender discrimination. It is about the role of women in a Muslim society – how Muslim women are treated, how they are not treated as equals, neither by their husbands nor by syariah law.

The Malaysian government is run by conservative Muslim traditionalists rather than secular progressives and so anything that smacks of feminism is viewed as a threat against their ideology.

Organizations like SIS should be banned!

19. #19 by madmix on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 10:28 am

Yes Yes, ban this and ban that: books, demonstrations on the streets, movies, vcds and maybe they should consider shutting down all internet service providers as there are millions of sites on the internet on sex, Islam, etc that needs top be banned.

20. #20 by helpless on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 11:01 am

Wonder what is right of Malaysia citizenship ?

http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/content/view/12085/2/

21. #21 by oknyua on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 11:21 am

Zainah,

When they banned Alkitab Indonesia, it appeared to affect thousands of us, me included. Our response? Ignore it. If you go, I mean if you should go lah.. to rural Sabah and Sarawak, you’d notice we just use the Alkitab. “Banned? I don’t know.” We hurt nobody. It’s the book we read everyday. So how to ban it? If they don’t want to read it, that’s their business lah. Fair, isn’t it?

22. #22 by k1980 on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 11:28 am

23. #23 by g2geetoo on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 11:28 am

Ahhhhhh……the Malaysian Muslims or rather the UMNO muslims. Yes the Muslims in UMNO……..the lost tribe who is neither here nor there! Chasing their own tails wondering what is halal and non-halal, what is more islamic and forgeting that they practiced neither!

They are Malaysian biggest Muslim hypocrites! Tarnishing the image of the rest of the Muslims in Malaysia.

Islam Had-Sehari!

24. #24 by Just Din on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 11:42 am

Zainah,

You are sorely missed since the NST decided to discontinue your column. I am glad that you are using the alternative and increasingly popular media to air your views and share your ideas.

Like you, I thoroughly disappointed with the policy of banning books and publications. This is not the way to develop a thinking society. Anyway, it is an exercise in futulity. If you can’t sell your book, you can serialise it on Sdr. Kit Siang’s blog, Bakri’s, Raja Petra’s and others.

Please stay in touch. You can reach me at [email protected] or [email protected]. Let me know where my boys and I at Anwar Ibrahim’s office can help you to get your views and ideas across to the reading public.

25. #25 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 1:19 pm

The easiest thing for pea-brains to do is to ban everything!

26. #26 by mwt on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 1:38 pm

Off topic but interesting
    Watch the latest Better Quality Video Clips (Visuals & Sound) on the Al Jazeera 101 East Forum on Bersih Rally (broad casted last night, 513 10.30pm)
    Part I – 8 min;
    Part II – 9 mins 40s
    with inserted Video Clip on the Protest March on 10 Nov 07; And the last Q & A transcript
    Teymoor: As a representative of the younger generation of the UMNO Party, do you agree with what the minister said or do you think there is room for change within the institutional structure
    Khairy Jamaluddin: I agree with what the minister says. There is nothing wrong with the system. There need to be some changes to the process to strengthen it. The institutions are fine the system works we lose an election, we lost Kelantan we lost before. More details at:
    http://powerpresent.blogspot.com/2007/11/al-jazeera-bersih-rally-forum-videos.html

27. #27 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 2:58 pm

YB., I can’t understand why they took the trouble to ban books in this country. I am sure that half of the ‘educated’ local graduates would not understand the content and for the rest of the population, I wander how many have been reading, since the gomen never bother to provide libraries to the masses. You know, I have been trying to figure out why, even amongst the Bumi students, there are more females going to Us than males? I believe I know the answer. Going to Us will take at least 4 rears of study [ 1 matric + 3 years for the ROJAKs degrees called STUDIES in any form], if I am a BUMI, I would spend the 4 years starting an UMNO branch some where. As a branch head, I am sure I can ‘earn’ much more than the poor BUMI who took the trouble to spend his time learning! EUREKA!

28. #28 by Old.observer on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 6:00 pm

It seems like the phrase “threat to national security” had been the warcry these days by the politicians of the ruling party.

BERSIH march = threat to national security
    Alternative views = threat to national security
    Bloggers = threat to national security
    Reports from foreign media = threat to national security
    now..a book about women’s rights is also threat to national security..
    followed by threat of using ISA..sick of that..okay
    If those beruks have nothing valid to say,better keep quiet, or else you all sound like a parroting beruks – wizzerd

wizzerd, I must chuckle when I read this! How very true when we substitute “threat to national security” with “threat to removing them from being the government in the next election”. :-)

Old Observer.

29. #29 by borrring on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 7:08 pm

Why am I not surprised?

30. #30 by shortie kiasu on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 7:46 pm

This country is no different from others fundamentalist Islamic countries in the world. Just take a look at the global situation and we understand. They are all the same.

What democracy to yell about? Intolerant of dissent. Can’t take criticism from others, only to critisize others.

31. #31 by dawsheng on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 8:29 pm

“This is really disgraceful as the govt is sending out the message that anything written about equality and justice for women in Islam is considered a threat to national security!”

Model Islamic women in Malaysia, guess who? Rafidah Aziz! Now you know why they banned the book.

32. #32 by undergrad2 on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 8:30 pm

Please stay in touch. You can reach me at [email protected] or [email protected]. Let me know where my boys and I at Anwar Ibrahim’s office can help you to get your views and ideas across to the reading public.” DIN MERICAN

I hate feminists!

Don’t get me wrong, I like the ladies – like you do Din Merican, the Don Juan of Sime Darby reputation who now plyies between Rangoon and Chams-Elysees.

33. #33 by AhPek on Saturday, 17 November 2007 - 1:44 am

Malaysians by and large is not a reading public.Just pop in to any bookshop and you’ll find that almost all bookshops sell mainly school textbooks.
    So who knows Kyai Hussein Muhammad who apparently writes about equality and justice for women in Islam.Now many people has come to know him.
    Who is this Namewee? The moment these Umnoputras start to go after him threatening to put him under ISA and taking away his citizenship, Namewee is a household name with Taiwan TV stations competing to get to him first for an interview.
    So there you are, we have this group of pea brains running this country and we wonder why no universities in Malaysia can make into the list of top 200 universities of the world!

34. #34 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 17 November 2007 - 1:53 am

“It seems like the phrase “threat to national security” had been the war cry these days by the politicians of the ruling party.” Old Observer

We have only ourselves to blame if we insist on reading ‘national security’ to mean exactly what it says.

35. #35 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 9:58 pm

The Holy Quran is used by PAS, an opposition to the BN government. Why not ban the Quran then??????