Haider Panel on Lingam Tape – greatest service to cause of justice is to resign en masse

Sin Chew Daily and China Press reported today that the Haidar Panel into the authenticity of the Lingam Tape, which was supposed to meet for the second time today, has postponed its second meeting indefinitely.

China Press reported that the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA)’s inability to complete its investigations into the Lingam Tape as the reason for the postponement of its second meeting today, which was fixed when the Haidar Panel met for the first time on October 3.

It is three weeks since the Haidar Panel’s appointment by the Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak on Sept. 27 to complete its terms of reference within a month. The Haidar Panel took one week to prepare for its first meeting on Oct. 3, after which it went into hibernation for two weeks leaving all the legwork to the ACA.

China Press reported that the next meeting of the Haidar Panel may be on Oct. 27, the last day of its one-month life tenure.

In the past fortnight, the three-man Haidar Panel disappeared from public view completely upstaged by the two-act histrionics of the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, viz:

• Firstly claiming that witnesses and whistleblowers are protected by the law, even offering plastic surgery to give “a new identity or even new look” for the person or persons who took the Lingam Tape, only to find subsequently that there is no such Witness Protection Act or Bill; and

• Secondly claiming that he will ask the Cabinet to provide protection for the people behind the recording of the Lingam Tape, only to announce after the Cabinet meeting that there would be no such protection.

During the period, the ACA had issued an ultimatum to Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) vice president R. Sivarasa and Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s personal assistant Sim Tze Tzin to reveal the source of the Lingam Tape or face prosecution and jail — with both defying the ultimatum.

With ten days left before its deadline of Oct. 27 to submit its report, who believes that the Haidar Panel is capable of submitting any report to authenticate the Lingam Tape after hibernating in the past three weeks and relying completely on the ACA to do all the legwork and refusing to call in technical experts to verify its authenticity without having to demand for the source of the recording?

It is significant that there has been no clarification from any official quarter about Najib’s statement on Oct. 3 that the Haidar Penal was not to call any witness, although after its first meeting the same day, the Haidar Panel called on witnesses to come forward despite its admission of the farcical “Five No’s” — no power to administer oaths, no power to compel witnesses to come forward, no power to commit anybody for contempt, no power to provide immunity and no power to protect witnesses.

It may be said that the Haidar Panel would have achieved its purpose if the real objective of those who appointed it was for it “to fail to authenticate” the Lingam Tape by October 27.

In fact, the government should explain why it is necessary to set up the Haidar Panel to establish the authenticity of the Lingam Tape, as it should be left to the ACA if all the investigation is to be done by the ACA. Or is it because the powers-that-be are not very sure about the reliability of the ACA on the matter of establishing the authenticity of the Lingam Tape, if the ACA is allowed to carry out its investigations without any interference whatsoever?

The Haidar Panel should realize that it lacks public confidence and credibility, both in terms of its narrow scope of term reference which served the purpose of shifting the focus of the Lingam Tape scandal on the independence, integrity and meritocracy of the judiciary, as well as on the integrity of the Panel membership, in particular the conflict-of-interest role of Tan Sri Haidar Mohd Noor because of his past and present positions.

The greatest service the Haidar Panel can do to the cause of justice is for its three members to resign en masse and to ask the Prime Minister to end the state-of- denial and establish a Royal Commission of Inquiry into the Lingam Tape scandal and to restore public confidence in the independence, integrity and meritocracy of the judiciary.

1. #1 by RealWorld on Thursday, 18 October 2007 - 10:21 am

bystander,

Trying to wriggle your way out of your true racist self, eh?
    Anyway, I give you a B- for effort. :)

2. #2 by cheeyong on Thursday, 18 October 2007 - 10:24 am

That makes 2 of us. The only different, you got some sedekah that help you in life. Anyway dont worry lah RealWorld, this coming GE, BN will win la based on how unfair election is. Using First Past The Post (FPTP) system and redelineating constituency boundaries, BN will sure win.

RealWorld will take out his keris and celebrate. But dont worry, taking out keris is not act of war as mentioned by kerismuddin. RealWorld will use it to slaughter some animals for korban outside Parliment hahahaha…..

3. #3 by RealWorld on Thursday, 18 October 2007 - 10:29 am

cheeyong,

BN win you say its unfair. Dont be a sore loser, baby boy. Dont throw all your toys out of your pram, ok?

Not only you have never failed in life before, I take it that you are now also a fortune teller – able to tell the future, that I be taking out my ‘keris and celebrate’??

4. #4 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 18 October 2007 - 10:36 am

In a democracy the majority gets to decide. The majority however is not always right. There is such a thing called the tyranny of the majority over the minority.

V.K. Lingam could be heard plotting with an unidentified person or persons to fix some very senior judicial appointments on the tape. What has the majority of Malaysians got to say about it??

5. #5 by cheeyong on Thursday, 18 October 2007 - 10:45 am

So you do have a keris in your house.A true Hang Jebat. But not a smart and noble one…hehehehe. Hero sedekah. :p

Well RealWorld, if you think winning 64% of votes can get you 91% of the Parlimentary seats is fair….then…….I rest my case. But no suprise again coming from someone that receives handouts.

6. #6 by RealWorld on Thursday, 18 October 2007 - 11:06 am

cheeyong,

Now, you claimed I have a keris in my house! I can certainly see where your “I have never failed in life” came from.

64% of votes, why is it not fair?

Dude, you need some serious help.

7. #7 by cheeyong on Thursday, 18 October 2007 - 11:16 am

No la, just guessing only. Guess you dont have any ornaments like keris in your home. Sorry bout that sister.

64% win 91% seats. U ni macam censorship board la. Adegan ni potong, adegan tu potong. Babak 91% seats u potong.

I do need help RealWorld. I want whatever you have been getting. For instance 7% discount buy house will help me alot. How about my sons and daughters go through matriculation. Or ASB open for all races. Or printing jobs for govt contracts give to non bumis? I need help realWorld….please help me……..hahahaha

8. #8 by Jimm on Thursday, 18 October 2007 - 12:17 pm

Well, we all know that all Government tenders are ‘ALI BABA’ out from those awarded parties as they normally don’t have the expertise. In Malaysia, it’s not what you know and have .. it’s who you know first and have the right connection.
    Look at KJ for instance, he planned his entire political career by riding on the context of marrying AAB’s only daughter. Today he make it big. With monies and power, he can owned any love there is all over the world. AAB daughter is just the stepping stone for him and the Oxford tool of success methodlogy.

Anyway, there are enough Malays that are fooled by policies to make one Malay rich each day. That’s fact of life. One thing about Malays, they like to talk over things over and over again and later claimed that it’s GOD’s will that things are happening to them in any manner. Accept the fate in HIS hand.

9. #9 by Godfather on Thursday, 18 October 2007 - 2:35 pm

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” Imam of Islam Hadhari, 2005.

10. #10 by Godfather on Thursday, 18 October 2007 - 2:50 pm

Nothing of what everyone has alleged EVER HAPPENED. Semuanya OK….

11. #11 by Godfather on Thursday, 18 October 2007 - 6:54 pm

Hey RealWorld, I read somewhere that your master has a new nickname…

Abdullah Al-Korridori

12. #12 by wits0 on Thursday, 18 October 2007 - 10:01 pm

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” Imam of Islam Hadhari, 2005.

But some people can’t tell whether they are been cheated or not once their mind is fully under controlled by repressive ideology.

13. #13 by RealWorld on Thursday, 18 October 2007 - 10:15 pm

“Hey RealWorld, I read somewhere that your master has a new nickname…
    Abdullah Al-Korridori” – Godfather

Dude, if your petty insults gonna bring in em’ votes for DAP, I be happy for you.

Really.

14. #14 by RealWorld on Thursday, 18 October 2007 - 10:16 pm

“I need help realWorld….please help me……..hahahaha” – cheeyong

I can get you a discount for your stay in Tanjung Rambutan. :)

15. #15 by Godfather on Thursday, 18 October 2007 - 11:57 pm

Hey RealWorld:

Take your pick from the readers of the blogs -

Sleepy Head
    Sleeping Beauty
    Bodohwi
    Abdullah Al-Korridori
    Phuck Lah

These are not coined by me, OK ? It generally relates to people’s perception of your big boss. What are you doing to alleviate the poor perception of the rakyat ? Sit on your 91 pct majority ?

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 2:51 am

Malays have a discount mentality. I caught one asking for a discount on his bill before leaving the Hilton Health Centre. She refused saying she had to go through the same agony as the next girl.

17. #17 by cheeyong on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 9:18 am

hahaha no thanks RealWorld, will not take up an offer from an exisiting inmate there :)

18. #18 by Jimm on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 11:39 am

Well, the CJ is a distance relative to one of our Sultan as claimed through the dialogue.
    I believe the Sultan and all the Malay Rulers should set an executive example about human equal rights in Malaysia for any found scandals especially when it comes to national judiciary system.
    Whatelse does our Rulers want their people to live and abide on when the judiciary system can be ‘fixed’ ?
    How long can we all survive under national scandals and whatelse can the country offer to her people in the future ?

19. #19 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 12:04 pm

Godfather,

You can come up with whatever petty insults you want. It still wont change a single thing. We are still the majority. :)

The question now lies on you, actually. What are you gonna do about it?? Continue with your tirade of petty insults, eh?

Brilliant then!

20. #20 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 12:07 pm

“I need help realWorld….please help me……..” – cheeyong

Maybe you should resort back to wearing diapers. Those disposable ones …

21. #21 by cheeyong on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 12:17 pm

RealWorld, help me………you’re a bumi with many benefits. Please share some benefits you’re getting with us thats not so fortunate as you.

We want to feel how’s life is like being a pemgemis accepting sedekah.

22. #22 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 12:45 pm

“We want to feel how’s life is like being a pemgemis accepting sedekah.” – cheeyong

Thats easy, dude. Go look in the mirror and the answer is right in front of you. You are already one, a bitter mong. You just dont know it, thats all.

23. #23 by cheeyong on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 12:52 pm

Wow I am impressed with your vocab in bahasa org putih. Dahsyat!!

Think you’re confused dude. Non NEP recipients = work hard. NEP recipients = pengemis aka peminta sedekah.

24. #24 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 1:09 pm

Care to explain more in detail the difference between a recipient and a non- recipient?

25. #25 by cheeyong on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 1:15 pm

Simple brother. Tomorrow a poor non bumi go and buy a house, and a rich bumi which is you go buy a similar house, lets see whats the price he and you end up paying.

Actually if you have compassion in your heart, you should renounce this unfairness, and exercise your vote in GE to tell the govt, enough is enough. NEP must go to make way for a fairer system for all Msians. We non bumis are also anak jati Msia.

26. #26 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 1:34 pm

cheeyong, my brother, now this is serious talk here ok. Compasssion in heart and all ok. Say, I wanna renounce this unfairness come the GE. Who should I vote? The Opposition? Ok here is the issue, in the Opposition like many I am unclear with DAP PAS PKR policies. Got agreement or no agreement or not? Sometimes I see ada agreement. Sometimes I see sudah cerai. How la ini macam, satu hari kahwin besok cerai again? Actually, who is the leader and how is PAS Islamic State? DAP agree to PAS Islamic State? If the parties are united, how come they dont contest in the elections under one banner?? Confusing la. And if they are not united, how can they govern and administer the country?

And brother, on your “a poor non bumi go and buy a house, and a rich bumi which is you go buy a similar house, lets see whats the price he and you end up paying.” explaination, I got a question. How can a poor non bumi buy a house in your example. If the poor non bumi can afford to buy a house, he.she cannot be considered poor , right?

27. #27 by cheeyong on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 1:43 pm

My friend, thats why need to hutang keliling pinggang. Money in, money out to pay the house. But if poor non bumis can get a bit of help, like a 7% discount, it will be a good gesture that goes a long way in helping us. Have you ever wondered based on what a rich bumi Dato needs a 7% discount. Something is terribly wrong with the policy.

Have you read the book The Reluctant Politician? Tun Dr Ismail made a fair statement in that book in regards to the term bumiputera and how he liken it as a situation in giving a handicap in golf. Read that.

PAS as you have noticed has toned down on Islamic state. Furthermore, secular state or Islamic state, the motivation is he same. A clean, fair country for all. I believe Islam respects all. Unless you want to prove me wrong here.

Tried before under Gagasan Rakyat, but it was strategy that burned DAP. We can have a loose coalition. With negotiations still ongoing, we hope to see a one on one competition. And we also hope DSAI can hopefully paved the way to lead the Oppositions into the next GE.

28. #28 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 2:05 pm

cheeyong, my brother, if we look at Malaysia top 50 rich list, you will see about 70% are of a certain race. I mean if it is so hard in Msia, why is it that this group is thriving? On the other side, personally, I hope this NEP go away some day, so that those deserving of aid gets aid.
    Do you think having a loose coalition is the way to go? Will the rakyat throw the dice and gamble on a loose coalition? One on one competition can only work if you lot contest under one banner like the BN.

29. #29 by cheeyong on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 2:21 pm

RealWorld thats why those rich chinesee tycoons that get special privileges like umnoputra can go to hell as well. But those that worked their butts off, we must give them credit when credit is due.

Msia is one of the worst countries in the world when it comes to perbezaaan diantara jurang pendapatan between the rich and poor. Do you that the income share of the bottom 40% of households decreased from 14.0% in 1999 to 13.5% in 2004 while that of the top 20% of households increased from 50.5% to 51.2%.

In fact the inequality among bumis was the highest compared with the Chinese and Indians.

The NEP must go now and replaced ASAP with an affirmitive plan that helps all that needs help.

Vote them out if they are not showing any results. With the state of things the country is in today, its not a gamble per say. Its a sure win choice to vote the oppositions.

30. #30 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 2:41 pm

“Vote them out if they are not showing any results. With the state of things the country is in today, its not a gamble per say. Its a sure win choice to vote the oppositions.” – cheeyong

Brother, it is not so easy, my friend.

31. #31 by cheeyong on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 3:19 pm

Of course not easy to take the road for changes. So many people has been taking the hard knocks from BN. Saudara Kit Siang and his fellow comrades incl those from PKR and PAS and other social activists have all been through hell.

Lets support them in their struggle.

32. #32 by Godfather on Saturday, 20 October 2007 - 3:17 pm

To UMNO, the easy part is the stealing, cheating and lying. The not-so-easy part is the preservation of integrity and transparency.

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” Self-proclaimed Imam of Islam Hadhari, 2005