Challenge to ACA – disclose how many persons had been arrested/prosecuted for corruption from previous Auditor-General reports

In China, a senior official at the Agricultural Bank of China was executed for corruption following years of ordering suppliers to pay him kickbacks. Wen Mengjie, 50, former head of information technology at one of the bank’s Beijing branches, was executed Tuesday for embezzling and taking bribes worth 15 million yuan (USD1.97 million).

In the Philippinnes, former president Joseph Estrada was sentenced to jail in prison after he was found guilty of massive corruption and plundering the country of tens of millions of dollars in tax kickbacks and bribes.

In Japan, Prime Minister Shinzo Abe announced he would resign after being dogged by a string of damaging scandals that hampered his reform agenda.

What do we have in Malaysia? Another year of shocking revelations of corruption, criminal breach of trust, overspending and mismanagement of funds by the Auditor-General, Tan Sri Amrin Buang — with the apt headline of the the New Straits Times yesterday “Same old story year in year out” — while the culture of impunity reigns on without anyone in high office having to bear responsibility for corruption and abuse of power.

This year the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) has taken a more proactive publicity stance, declaring that it is scrutinizing the Auditor-General’s Report 2006 on spending by the federal and state governments to see if any of the transactions of projects involved corruption.

ACA director-general Datuk Ahmad Said Hamdan said on Tuesday that if there is any hint of corruption, the ACA will haul up the officials concerned, including ministers, for questioning.

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, who was also present, said the Prime Minister had instructed all the ministers to look into the AG’s report seriously and to correct whatever that was wrong, and if there were elements of abuse of power and corrupt practice, there was nothing to stop the ACA from investigating and taking action.

These were all empty words utterly lacking in credibility as corruption has worsened in the past four years, as reflected by national and international perceptions, whether by Malaysians (including the former Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad) or by international organizations like the Transparency International in its annual Corruption Perception Index.

Public confidence in the ACA in its independence, capability, professionalism and integrity to fight corruption and to bring the corrupt to book is at an all-time low in the four-year premiership of Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, which was why even the officially-endorsed National Integrity Convention held a day before the 2008 Budget presentation last week adopted a resolution unanimously calling for the Anti-Corruption Agency to be made an independent body.

In my speech during the budget debate in Parliament on Monday, I noted a conspicuous omission in the 2008 Budget speech — the total absence of any reference to the scourge of corruption which added to the cost of doing business in Malaysia and a major obstacle to economic efficiency although Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had pledged when he became Prime Minister in October 2003 that eradicating corruption would be his top priority.

In the exchange in Parliament with Barisan Nasional MPs, who claimed that the government was serious in wanting to eradicate corruption, none of them dared to stand up to contradict my prediction despite repeated challenge that Malaysia’s ranking in the Transparency International Corruption Perception Index 2007, which is expected to be released in a month’s time, is likely to be even worse than the lowest ranking of No. 44 last year and would be approaching No. 50 on the occasion of the nation’s 50th Merdeka anniversary!

When I read that the corrupt banker who was executed in China, Wen Mengjie, had bought three houses in Beijing with the bribes he received, I was reminded of what the former Inspector-General of Police, Tun Hanif Omar had written in his Sunday Star column, that he had been informed by a high-level ACA officer when he was deputy chairman of the Royal Police Commission that 40% of senior police officers could be arrested for corruption without further investigations strictly on the basis of their lifestyles.

It is most deplorable that Barisan Nasional MPs were more interested in “shooting the messenger” instead of focusing on the message when I referred to Hanif’s revelation in Parliament on Monday — with the most irresponsible BN MPs launching a most disgraceful personal attack on Hanif.

I challenge the ACA to prove that it is not a “toothless tiger” and call on the ACA director-general to disclose how many persons had been arrested and prosecuted for corruption and criminal breach of trust from previous Auditor-General’s Reports.

1. #1 by smeagroo on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 1:12 pm

Even Former President of Philippines was sentenced to jail. Here? Hahaha. the jails are not for them. Maybe 6-star hotels. They can share it with those hang leaders in the pretext of jailterm.

2. #2 by smeagroo on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 1:12 pm

hang = gang

3. #3 by a-malaysian on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 1:21 pm

This statement will clear all of them of any wrong doing so long as they can come out with any fabricated reasoning.

//Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, who was also present, said the Prime Minister had instructed all the ministers to look into the AG’s report seriously and to correct whatever that was wrong, and if there were elements of abuse of power and corrupt practice, there was nothing to stop the ACA from investigating and taking action.//

ACA should also start looking into the invoices of all suppliers involved. I know the suppliers may not receive all the amount in the invoices but to deter any kind of corruptions, these suppliers who abide by instructions to inflate the prices in order to get the contract must be charged as well.

There are so many ways that aca can check to route out these corrupted ministries but they are always so slow and keep on saying invetigations are still going on and the end result no one is charged.

I just cannot believe that the Malaysian government is so clean that no one ever get caught for corruption and abuse of power.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

4. #4 by k1980 on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 1:30 pm

If ministers are required to resign for corrupt practices, there will be no one left in the cabinet.

5. #5 by Jamesy on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 1:32 pm

Sometimes you wonder why Samy Vellu needs millions upon millions to repair the ceilings and upgraded works in Parliament House and several government buildings.

THAT’S THE REASON, YOU SEE.

6. #6 by justice_fighter on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 1:38 pm

Everything is just empty talk by this full-time hypocrite PM. As long as the sleepy PM does not have the will to put ACA under parliment, forget about fighthing corruption!

At the end of the day, it seems that we are asking for the most corrupt person to fight corruption, so what do you expect?

Exercise your vote and tell this message to the hypocrite PM in the next GE!!

7. #7 by RealWorld on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 1:44 pm

Here is the reality for you lot.

If what some of you been ranting about is true i.e. rampant corruption, how come the rakyat still vote in BN overwhelmingly each time??

8. #8 by justiciary on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 1:55 pm

The whole government machinery is hypocritical and insincere.The rakyat is getting empty promises from ACA to bring to book the crooks that betray the trust given to them.These crooks are the most unpatriotic for they plunder and squander public fund.They are worse than the rascals who burned our national flags in Trengganu.Wake up now you ACA yang tidur.yang buta gaji.

9. #9 by KL Dude on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 1:56 pm

When the opposition mentions something on corruption, they will say that the opposition’s claims are baseless, utter rubbish and cannot be proven.

But now, there’s prove from the Auditor General himself and let’s see what they got to say this time.

Well, it looks like even the recent claim made by Tan Sri Hanif Omar on the corruption in the police force also seems to carry no weight. I doubt there would be any action taken on this as well.

They may just be “lip servicing” now to show that they are concern but just after some time when the ‘heat’ is off…everything will just be swept under the carpet…. and as the Auditor General has correctly pointed out…. the same old story will then surface again….year in year out.

10. #10 by silhouette on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 1:57 pm

The rakyat didnt read blogs. They only read mainstream media which is controlled by the governemnt. We cant blame them entirely. Try to reach them by walking with them.
    Beside the BN who is there that the rakyat can fall on to? As long as all political parties are racial based, this is how we will continue. Maybe a two party system will work in Malaysia as we have only two choices, the devil or the deep blue sea.

11. #11 by justiciary on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 2:02 pm

What to do ,as long as there are simple minded and moronic voters around,the corrupt and incompetent will still be elected.But I am not one of them.

12. #12 by ablastine on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 2:12 pm

Oh you can be assured that somebody will go to jail. They are usually the whistle blowers, opposition members and bloggers. I think we really shouldn’t be making so much noise. We should join the Alliance and help ourselves to easy money and when the oil well run dry just migrate lah with family and friends. What is the problem. Let the ignorant kampong folks who can’t go anywhere but love BN nontheless face the music. I am sure their BN friends won’t be around as well when there is no more easy money to be earned.

RealWorld. You are either very blind or very stupid. Probably a bit of both. You really believe there is no rampant corruption in Malaysia, my God.

13. #13 by voice on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 2:18 pm

In Malaysia, they are the law, they can say anything, and it will become the law, that’s the difference.

14. #14 by badak on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 2:27 pm

COMPLAIN ,COMPLAIN ,COMPLAIN.We the voters are stupid wan lah.. We made alot of noise in coffee shop and warong,But when election come BN sure win wan,

Fight corruption you guys must be joking, Another scandle is happening with E.KESIHATAN,Supremme Systems a company set up to do medical check up on drivers of heavy vihicle and conductors,

For doing shit this company is going to made RM500 MILLION,Why a middle man ,There are hundreds of companies like this ,I tell why ,Because it is this companies which will give BN the money to buy your votes.

ACA is just another agency that can do shit,They don,t have the guts to their work.The A.G ,S report will be forgotten by next week,

15. #15 by badak on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 2:37 pm

I want to thank Pak Lah for not increasing taxes on my cancer stick , And my Trip to the local pub, Cheers lets all get drunk and let the BN GOVERMENT screw us,

To all the muslim who can,t get drunk,( drinking is haram to muslim just in case you don,t know) I pity you guys ,because you can see how we are being screwed .

16. #16 by Libra2 on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 3:05 pm

” Kit asked What do we have in Malaysia?”
    Here we reward them with a promotions and a title to boot. After all they are keeping up with the traditions and culture of the UMNO led government.
    How to take action when everyone, starting with the PM, is tainted with the same crime?
    If they follow Japan and The Philippines, then we wont have a police force, a civil service and a government. All will be in jail.

17. #17 by sotong on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 3:09 pm

With decades of bad leadership and governance of the country, it is difficult to control corruption……many are involved – directly or indirectly.

18. #18 by ethnicmalaysian on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 3:10 pm

It’s truly unbelievable that AAB has asked the ministries to only ‘explain’ the AG’s findings when the corruption are so blatantly and painfully obvious that I was astonished that there was no cover up. You talk to vendors and companies dealing with the govt sector, ministries, councils, state bodies, GLCs, and it’s the same story – rampant corrupt practices, padding of contracts, delivery of nonexistent purchases etc etc. Essentially everyone and practically everyone is doing it.

I don’t think RealWorld is blind nor stupid. He/she may even believe that there’s rampant corruption in Malaysia, (because the AG’s findings are so blatant and obvious) but it’s something we have no choice but to live with, as part of the ‘social contract’ made by our forefathers. The end purpose is to cast doubts over these ‘allegations’ made by bloggers. Misinform and disinform – that’s the idea. Does the fact that the BN has won overwhelmingly in the last GE indicate that there’s no rampant corruption and that the AG’s report is what….influenced by the opposition perhaps?

19. #19 by greatstuff on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 3:12 pm

ha ha ha ha !
    I am in near excrutiating pain from the funniest question of the 21st century!
    There s NEVER sufficient evidence to prove charges of “ill-gotten” gains- even when the suspects are living in mansions from modest salaries; it’s amazing what such a salary can support- luxury cars, houses, wives dripping in jewellery, the list goes on and on, and we read about it all the time, but they never get put away- impossible!

20. #20 by Godfather on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 3:22 pm

Once a thief, always a thief…carry on stealing.

21. #21 by madmix on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 3:24 pm

In malaysia, the corrupt all look out for each other; they are all brothers in crime. If all are taken care of from office boy to clerk to middle level officer to the top official, its like no fault insurance! Those who got caught are the ones who are too greedy, keeping the loot to themselves without sharing it with his collegues

22. #22 by KL Dude on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 3:32 pm

I wont be surprise soon someone will be charged for corruption… and he maybe just a ‘small fish’. This is just to create an illusion to prove that they walk the talk…. However the real ‘big fishes’ who are the worse culprits, will be spared.

Even if the real ‘big fishes’ are brought in also… they will soon be let off the hook with the excuse of inadequate evidence.

23. #23 by madmix on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 3:50 pm

Yes do not forget that government servants are special people with iron rice bowl to be treated with respect and just a rap on the wrist for wrong doing. The chief secretary has already said, those who misbehave should to given VSS and not sacked or charged in court. When the public protested, he changed VSS to forced penchen. Again no mention of sacking.

24. #24 by winc on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 3:51 pm

The entire event appears nothing more than a “sandiwara” or perhaps “ceritalama” or some name it “cerekarama”. Whatever it is, the question lies herein as to why the AG reports are being released at the moment whereby the election is near? And why all over the nation in a sudden with ministries quoted in the report reponded and appeared as such that they are not aware of it?

Subsequently, with words by the ruling parties clouding the entire mainstream media pledging and vowing to wipe off unscrupulous clowns on their “mismanagements”, the next question is why it has not been addressed before it was published to the mass?

Come on Malaysians, all issues if not most are being highlighted before i.e. navy vessels delay is not a fresh piece of news; whatmore with jacked up prices of goods/services ordered by the ministries.

The best is yet to be discovered until our dear AP Queen took examples of Currypuff and fault the supplier for quoting above market rates instead of inquiring themselves of malpractises. Why purchase when the “price” is not right?

Oh well, be it a “ceritalama” or “cerekarama” we had seen it too many times. The Govt needs more to get us buy their claims in combating nonsenses whatever it may be….

25. #25 by lchk on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 3:54 pm

Realworld is beyond stupidity and is just plain tutup dua mata.

Let’s give more support to the likes of Mr Lim to spread the news of BN’s corruption culture.

26. #26 by Godfather on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 4:09 pm

Be careful, lchk. They have the right to call us names, we don’t have the right to call them “stupid” or “tutup dua mata”. They have every right to be corrupt because the rakyat gave them a 91 pct mandate years ago.

27. #27 by voice on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 4:54 pm

No, corruptions and scandals are LEGAL for BN government and considered as routine.

28. #28 by Jimm on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 5:01 pm

A very typical tales from the past which have groom ‘monster’ in our government system.
    They are really great preachers by nature and good ‘conmen’ from inside.
    Money is their GOD when they asked Malaysian to respect their religion. They can easily get their own kind to give even with others that trespassed into their ‘wealth’ garden.

29. #29 by badak on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 5:21 pm

Ministers after ministers are saying that they are innocent,Even one lady minister said that the contract was sign befor her time,and every was above board.

There is only one answer, either all our ministers are so stupid ,that junior officers can cheat without getting caught or they themself are so corrupted ,that it is fair game for all to be corrupted,as long as you share your ill gotten gains with the top people

30. #30 by waterman on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 6:00 pm

Go try a petition to our King ( Agong).

31. #31 by kensball on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 6:03 pm

ACA, “toothless tiger” Go for bigger meat(All Ministers), dont go for peanut(Department head)

32. #32 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 6:23 pm

It seems that in Malaysia : As long as you are an ally to someone who powerful in the BN government, you enjoy the immunity to corruption charges…

SOME WANT WOULD SAY…. ‘TIADA RASUAH…. ITU SEMUANYA FITNAH…. KES DITUTUP!! ….

So many MONKEYS would cling to the AAB rambutan tree- to enjoy the fruits and immunity…… Now TDM tree no more bearing fruits-it is abandonded.

33. #33 by blueheeler on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 6:59 pm

Enough talk lah. Elections coming up soon. Let our fingers do the talking…
    So much for Pak Lah being Mr Clean. His govt slogan should me ‘Clean-sweeping public funds’.

34. #34 by Chong Zhemin on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 7:25 pm

Independence is a very important phrase when comes to auditing and a check and balance. Our current ACA has to report to the Prime Minister Department. How could you expect him to be independent? You want an employee to report wrongdoings of his boss? Dream on lar~

35. #35 by naked taliban on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 7:43 pm

WE have moonbucks , coffee nut but nothing taste better than good old DUIT KOPI…… \ FROM A MAN IN BLUE “

36. #36 by borrring on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 8:03 pm

“50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition”

I had enough, but others? Despite knowing corruption is on the high, I was appaled to hear that a colleague had the nerve to say, “if i voted for other than BN, what happens to us,the malays? what happens to the rights of malay if the non malays rule the country?”….i even came across another remark…”politicians are all the same. they are all corrupted.what difference does it make if i chose other than BN?”….another remark was…”let some seats be taken by the oppositions, and not let the majority seats to be taken up BN, it keeps everyone in line”…so u see,corruption is not the least of their worries, as long as their rights are still protected,y vote other than BN?

37. #37 by bystander on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 8:50 pm

All opposition must work together for the coming GE. Kelantan and Trengganu will fall to PAS, Sabah will fall tp PKR & DAP, Sarawak to hopefully DAP and Penang to DAP parts of WP to DAP.

38. #38 by karaoke singer on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 8:59 pm

You ever wonder what happens to the money if these money corruptors are arrested ? You ever wonder if these money will go into the country ? You ever wonder if these money lands up in another person’s pocket ? If we are so cemerlang, gemilang, terbilang, should we be having such a big headache over mismanagement of power and money ? The real fact is the present management does not know how to manage and if it does not know how to manage then it does not know what to do with the money properly. There are some people who are not allowed to know any financial transaction. Why ? Because they don’t want them to know all the fishy business that has been going on since Merdeka.

39. #39 by akarmalaysian on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 10:20 pm

i scratch ur back u scratch my back.all are the same.we knw some of thm paid a lot of money to keep themselves clean.and nothing will happen to them at the end of the day.they need to close others mouth shut to stay innocent.we knw its much a bigger picture than we can imagine if all those suckers were really charged and arrested with their corrupt wrongdoings.one thing will lead to another.these ministers are so fatking rotten till they dun even knw wats rotting in them.if our PM is really serious in getting to the bottom of all these…which i doubt he will…i really suggest he cud start doing something and coming down hard on these idiots whoever they may be.

40. #40 by borrring on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 10:25 pm

I remember getting an email about a few months back. It was a comparison on the highest level of education between the Singapore’s & Malaysia’s MPs…and guess what’s the outcome?

41. #41 by k1980 on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 10:46 pm

Anyone interested?
    http://ghostline.wordpress.com/2007/09/12/
    …any cyberthugs who might find themselves out of work can apply for a lucrative and illustrious position as agents provocateur with the PDRM. With the General Election just around the corner, UMNO-BN and the PDRM are hiring frantically to cope with the expected increase in demand for agents provocateur once the election campaigns take off. All unemployed cyberthugs, please find job application details at myAsylum. Intelligence not required.

42. #42 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 11:28 pm

But they haven’t finished their stealing and pilfering yet?

43. #43 by 4th_wife on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 11:30 pm

To be flank 50% or more of the whole cabinet should be serving jail term now and the ex-minister from Malacca who rape an underage girl serving life sentence.

44. #44 by bystander on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 12:45 am

I just came from a drink with a well connected Dato. On PKFZ, he told me [deleted] Thats why all the costs are inflated and balloned to RM 4.6B. These characters should be put in jail. In China they will be executed.

45. #45 by ablastine on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 12:46 am

To be fair there is enough of dole to go around for everybody for a long time because God gave us oil. Despite corruption at all level our living is still fairly Ok compare to many of the African nations. The smart thing to do is to join in the fun and enjoy the party… while it last.With enough of money stash away, you can be assured that your progeny won’t be around when the music stop. Get PR somewhere lah so that when the ringgit is worth 20 to 1 USD, you can change citizenship and wahlah overnight you a wealthy citizen of a new and prosperous country. I mean which place got no corruption. Be tolerant a bit lah. After all life on earth is not forever. Live and let live lah. I mean fools will have to part with their money.

You don’t expect the simple kampong folks with simple needs not to vote BN in forever do you. The kampong folks which make up the majority of the electorate decides ultimately the direction of the country and we should know pretty well who they will choose. So no point fighting the current just go with it and when the time is up just bale out. I do not think the fortune of the country can really be reversed. It is already condemned and the best thing is the leaders don’t even know it.

46. #46 by Jeffrey on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 12:48 am

It suffices for deterrent purposes to require a public official, proven guilty of corruption, to make restitution of his unlawful gains and perhaps serve a time in jail.

China’s execution of Wen Mengjie, 50, for embezzling and taking bribes worth 15 million yuan (USD1.97 million) is barbaric. Only communists will go overboard to prove a point of political will.

Whilst I am not condoning corruption and defending that it should be tolerated and go unpunished, I am totally against Capital Punishment being prescribed for it – indeed any other crime, including murder!

Look at justice in wider sense. Yes, it is justice to punish corrupt officials but is capital punishment proportionate to the offence of corruption?

In the first place, for every taker, there is often a willing giver.

Secondly, Wen Mengjie was just unlucky to get caught where countless others are equally corrupt if not more corrupt : though 2 wrongs don’t make a right, selective prosecution and imposition of death penalty would violate the sense of fairness.

Thirdly, laws are not the only means to stem the scourge of corruption. They must be complemented by education of the public that such a corrupt behaviour is both legally and morally wrong not only for officials but even amongst the public themselves…. There is surely something wrong in a people amongst a high proportion of whom are corrupt in their ordinary lives and yet they hold their politicians and officials to higher standard, and demand that these corrupt politicians and officials should be hanged if caught for the same behaviour. It smacks of double standards.

Take the case of our country. We condemn endlessly members of the ruling clique for their rent seeking and corrupt behaviour.

But if one looks around, corruption seems to prevail quite rampantly amongst the rakyat as well – at least amongst those who have power to make decisions in their respective companies and organisations.

The directors and general managers of companies, banks, people in professional services (whether valuers or fund managers) also receive kickbacks, don’t they?

They also farm jobs to their cronies based not on merits/competition but on the ‘I scratch your back and you mine’ principle.

A lot of transactions and business deals in private sector are not arms length – certainly not subject to open tender!

Contriving to obtain unfair gain or advantage over others seems to be the prevailing culture.

Does such a society then, used as it were, to such a milieu and culture have the moral right to hold its leaders and officials to a higher standard of probity that when the latter falls short of such standard, the leaders and officials are justified to be hanged and made to forfeit their lives like in the case of Wen Mengjie?

47. #47 by sotong on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 6:42 am

Totally against capital punishment for any crime – judge could make mistake or be unfair for various reasons, including political, and innocent victims could be executed wrongly.

Further more, research has shown it is not effective and we are living in a more civilised world now where human lives and their rights are important.

48. #48 by sotong on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 7:04 am

A person in a public office with a position of trust, power and influence should have the highest and unquestionable standand of moral to performance his/her duties and responsibility entrusted by the people.

Public sector leader/s, in particular in Asia or developing countries, will have a significant influence on the private sector leader/s through their fair, efficient and effecitive policies and enforcement.

But this is grossly lacking in our country.

49. #49 by AhPek on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 7:08 am

Jeffrey,
    Whilst I agree to a large extent to what you are trying to expound, are you also not trying to say that there is no solution to this country’s problems since most Malaysians are either givers or takers,we just have to accept that this country miring in corruption is a norm.If so then all of us have no right to cry foul to what this present government is doing since what they are doing is also what we are doing!!

50. #50 by ahkok1982 on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 7:33 am

i juz read tt aab said to give the developers of PGCC fast track approval because he thinks that the developers presented a superbly good proposal and he is very impressed.
    dear uncle lim, would it be possible to force him to tell what are these plans which gave him such good impression? i for one would believe that he knows shit and when asked to explain of these good proposals he will not be able to say anything because he knows nothing at all.

51. #51 by Jeffrey on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 8:13 am

Ah Pek,

We have the right to cry foul because public office demands that we contain corruption or else there is chaos if every official and leader dip his hand in the pie (State would go bankrupt). But at same time recognise hypocrisy for what it is – no knee jerk measures like capital punishment etc selectively enforced. Singapore (the least corrupt in this part of the world) evinced a political will and has been generally effective to address the issue without resorting to capital punishment. In Singapore, even top Ministers were taken to task – if after a big pay hike, they are corrupt : no selective enforcement. As I earlier said, fair enforcement of the law must go hand in hand with education of all (beginning with young school children) that corruption (unfair advantage) is both legally and morally bad. But for that to be convincing people must believe that reward should justly come from merits and fair competition and not unjustly from other crityeria including power of office. Here is difficult because meritocracy and competition is not an ethos : race, creed etc is (institutionalised and legalised)! The mindset is that being unfairly enriched is an entitlement of office, position, affliliation to power, belonging to right race under the social contract. This kind of mindset has to change. Sporadic enforcement of law will not change it.

Corruption is a natural phenomenon world wide where market economy/capitalism is unbridled and money god worshipped.

China is case in point.In good ole days of China’s revolution, the model Communist cadre pursued the goal of a socialist utopia, work for the good of the party and if corruption was rampant it was corruption of power than money. Since Deng Xiaoping’s push for market economy in 4 Special Economic Zones of the East, the ethos has changed in these places where corruption (in money sense) has been rife with many of them hailing from Guangdong, one of the country’s wealthiest provinces.

China’s response has, at best, been knee jerked.

Another case of corrupt official executed (besides Wen Mengjie) was Duan Yihe, former MP and party chief of Jinan city in the eastern province of Shandong. The problem is the new rich in China from corruption have predilection for mistresses (status symbol), and every one of these would make incessant demands for money so that the other mistresses don’t get so much! In Duan’s case he was so fed up of the mistress money demands that he asked his nephew, Chen Zhi, a Jinan policeman, to help arrange a road accident to eliminate the young woman, Liu Haiping. Chen planted explosives in Miss Liu’s car which detonated by remote control as she drove down a busy road in Jinan on July 9, the blast being so powerful that her Honda sedan was ripped apart, her lower body was destroyed and her torso landed 30 metres away….Now does that not ring a bell here? :)

But application of law has not been constant. Whilst 2 other cases involving Mayor of Shenyang and his deputy were sentenced to death in 2001 for land deals and a former head of the state food and drug agency sentenced to death for taking bribes in 2007, Sun Xiaohong, former director of the People’s High Court of Yunnan, was let off comparatively painlessly by being expelled from the communist party for having pocketed 10 million yuan. The other dramatic case is that of Pang Jiayu, 63, a city mayor and local committee chief in the north-western province of Shaanxi who was also just sacked and expelled from the Communist Party as punishment. Dubbed the “fly-zip mayor”, Pang allegedly used his power and influence to acquire not just money but the wives of his subordinates who had to ‘sacrifice’ their wives for promotion and profit. 11 of his mistresses (some of whose husbands were sentenced to death for graft) ganged up against Pang and produced documentary evidence of his corruption to the State. (Out of 14 most senior officials caught of late for corruption, 12 were due to mistresses spilling the beans!)

Zhou Zhengyi, a Shanghai property tycoon, whose influential political contacts included the former president Ziang Zemin has so far kept the prosecutors at bay. Like here provincial mayors and lower ranking party members have taken the brunt of the tough campaign against graft started by President Hu Jintao.

Don’t hear of any top communist party leaders being taken to task : are we to assume that they are clean? Same situation
    as here where the middle bureaucrats are caught by ACA but big fish are let off!

52. #52 by xaviers on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 8:20 am

investigate investigate… some people will get arrested to show action.
    in the end no one gets charged, no one resigns, all’s forgotten …back to normal.

53. #53 by Irene on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 8:45 am

Ha Ha In Malaysia the ACA, Police and even Court are controled by UMNO. WHere and How are we going to have punishment and justice. They can name thousands of people and investigate them BUT who is going to say YES to punish and sentence them when all the TAIKO of UMNO says NO as those named are actually their cronies. I am very sure ALL Malaysians have the same view as mine.

54. #54 by undergrad2 on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 10:18 am

“In China, a senior official at the Agricultural Bank of China was executed for corruption …”

“In the Philippinnes, former president Joseph Estrada was sentenced to jail in prison after he was found guilty of massive corruption …”

“In Japan, Prime Minister Shinzo Abe announced he would resign…”

“What do we have in Malaysia?” asks Leader of the Opposition.

Ali Baba and the 40 thieves??

55. #55 by AhPek on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 10:33 am

Correction—“…………………………………,we just have to accept that this country miring in corruption is the norm.”

56. #56 by AhPek on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 10:47 am

“What do we have in Malaysia?” asks YB Lim.
    We have UMNOPUTRAS who are entitled to take the choiciest part of the cake leaving the crumbs to the lapdogs to keep them compliant.

57. #57 by vjvip on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 11:08 am

Finally!!!!!!!

I as a Prime Minister of Malaysia had instructed all the ministers to look into the AG’s report seriously and to correct whatever that was wrong. Semua menteri dan kakitangan kerajaan yang mengambil bahagian telah pun menghantar laporan masing-masing dan saya sendiri telah meneliti semua maklumat tersebut. I feel verry satisfied with their explanation and all of them are never don’t anything wrong. Well Newspaper was misquoted the AG reports wrongly which is i feel verry upset. Maka tolonglah semua media dan juga rakyat Malaysia jangan memperbesarkan-besar hal ini. An I strictly warned all the opposition to not use this issue as their election campaign. Thats it Semuanya sudah Bersih.

58. #58 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 12:01 pm

If the ACA and judiciary are controlled by the corrupt PM, how can we expect the ACA to investigate the PM and bring him to court?

It is a hopeless situation in Malaysia. In fact everybody in UMNO, who supports the PM, is above the law.

59. #59 by ktteokt on Saturday, 15 September 2007 - 8:34 am

As long as “Separation of Powers” is not practiced, the Malaysian legal system might as well be pronounced dead!! How can the legislature and the executive control the decisions of judges who are supposed to be independent in their judgments? This will definitely lead to biased and unfair judgments being delivered.

Furthermore, can all of you remember the day five high court judges were removed simultaneously? What right has the executive to remove these judges? If we go strictly to the law, it would be utterly difficult to even remove one single sessions court judge but we did it, we removed five high court judges on the same day, without having to consult parliament or the DYMM.

Law in Malaysia is on the rot and if any one thinks that Malaysian law offers protection for Malaysians, forget it! Malaysian law is only meant to offer protection for the elite!

60. #60 by wtf2 on Sunday, 16 September 2007 - 6:25 pm

normally investigation has a start and proposed end date – just like projects.
    Malaysia’s investigations do not, neither do projects appear to have an end date.
    long drawn investigations end up being abandoned due to incomplete evidence.
    Long drawn projects end up massively overrun because the delivery obligations cannot be met

So will ACA investigate till the next AG report comes out?