RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout scandal – most improper for Nazri to tell PAC Chairman Shahrir to “shut up”

It was most improper and unwarranted for the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz to tell Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad to “shut up” about the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) investigation into the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) bailout scandal especially when Nazri is an interested party, being a member of the Cabinet which decided on the bailout.

On Thursday, the PAC had a two-hour meeting on the PKFZ bailout scandal, with a briefing by the Port Klang Authority (PKA) general manager Datin Paduka O.C. Phang, who was accompanied by an accountant and administrative staff and Transport Ministry officials, including its secretary-general Datuk Zakaria Bahari and representatives from the finance, planning and port divisions.

After the two-hour meeting, Shahrir as PAC Chairman told the press that the PAC was “unsatisfied” with how the meeting went.

Shahrir said: “The problem with the Port Klang Free Zone is far bigger than what the papers have reported. Far too many questions were left unanswered.”

It was over Shahrir’s comments that Nazri blew his top yesterday, telling Sin Chew Daily that Shahrir should “shut up” on the ground that it was wrong to talk to the press before the end of the PAC investigation.

This was not the first time that Shahrir as PAC Chairman had made comments about ongoing PAC investigations in the past three years but Nazri had never voiced any objections in the past.

Why is Nazri so sensitive and high-strung now over the PAC investigation into the RM4.6 billion bailout scandal? Is it because Nazri has a vested interest, being an interested party as a Minister of the Cabinet which had approved the RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout?

It is Nazri who should “shut up” about PAC investigation into the PKFZ scandal and not interfere with the independence of the PAC to carry out its tasks mandated by Parliament as the PAC is answerable to Parliament and not to Nazri, though he is Minister in charge of parliamentary affairs for the Cabinet.

I am disappointed that in his 2008 budget speech yesterday, the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had failed to assume full accountability to justify the government bailout of the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal.

This is all the more regrettable as for the whole week, both the Deputy Finance Minister, Datuk Dr. Awang Adek bin Husin and the Parliamentary Secretary to the Finance Ministry, Datuk Seri Dr. Helmi bin Yahaya had been misleading Parliament and the nation about the true nature and character of the RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout scandal.

In the 2007 supplementary estimates passed by Parliament on Thursday, the Finance Ministry asked for RM260 million for Port Klang Authority without giving any explanation as to its true purpose.

It was from my exchange with Helmi during the winding-up of the debate at the committee stage that it emerged that the RM260 million sum was the first amount of the RM4.6 billion government bailout for PKFZ, as beginning this year, the first annual payment of RM510 million for the RM4.6 billion bailout for the bonds raised by Kuala Dimensi Sdn Bhd — the PKFZ turnkey contractor – has to be made.

It was also only after I had made persistent demand, declaring that this was information that Parliament and Malaysian taxpayers have right to access, that Helmi read out the schedule of repayments in the RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout, viz:

2007 – RM510 million
2008 – RM660 million
2009 – RM660 million
2010 – RM772 million
2011 – RM487 million
2012 – RM733 million
2013 – RM170 million
2014 – RM170 million
2015 – RM170 million
2016 – RM170 million
2017 – RM179 million

Total – RM4,681 million

I fully agree with Shahrir that there are definitely more questions than answers about the RM4.6 billion PKFZ bailout scandal, which does not reflect well on the accountability, transparency and integrity of the Abdullah administration.

1. #1 by art-upon-mu on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 1:10 pm

Nazri Aziz, the Mouth, knows all the laws and he is the law. Nazri Aziz rules, OK?

2. #2 by art-upon-mu on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 1:14 pm

People should not keep harping on past issues. Look forward and be happy and grateful to the AAB-led government for the latest compassionate and people-friendly budget that benefits all citizens. What more do people want? Hidup BN!

3. #3 by Rocky on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 1:16 pm

Nazri is just that, shout and shout. He thinks he is the judge and jury and everything he says is final and everyone should kow tow to him. Go and flykite la.

as for shahrir, I don’t trust him either. when it comes to crucial moments, he’ll retreat like in the ECM case. All a show!!!

4. #4 by voice on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 1:32 pm

I think we need to deal with them with a different way, now they are the law, they are the government, they are the parliament, they can do whatever they like.

5. #5 by LittleBird on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 1:46 pm

Did he say “shut up” once or….”shut up..shut up shut up…shut up X n”?

6. #6 by toniXe on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 2:05 pm

od course Nazri is the law ! that is why he talks like that !
    So what can nybody do ! other than also talking loud ?

7. #7 by badak on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 2:24 pm

Just before announcing the next G.E, The goverment will ask the papers to write only fill good news,NO robberies,big time accident, No murders all the news will be about how the BN goverment is,How many people really read the opposition blogs,

This is what i heard the, net in Malaysia will have problem during the election period,But i hope its only a rumour.

8. #8 by anakbaram on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 2:30 pm

Transparency is important because members of the cabinet is made up of individuals who were elected to the be representatives of the people. So it is the people who are the ones who are to be served. Because of that the people who elected them should be as informed as possible. The democratic process should not END at the casting of the ballot paper. But it should go on from there. Casting of the ballot paper is just one of the early stage of a citizen’s involvement in the running of the country. Each citizen must be given the honour and respect that any other citizen of this country deserve. No group of citizen ought to treat any others as if they are inferior or less deserving. This applies to right, material or spiritual. Seen or unseen. Anyone who try to deny others of this right is a criminal and should be treated they way he deserved.

9. #9 by anakbaram on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 2:37 pm

We need to be transparent because the real danger to peace in this country does not really come from the conventional thieves and robbers who prowl in the dark and normally despised by society. The people who are worst than these thieves are those who are normally given all protocols and titles. At gatherings they are given the high tables, at the podium, paid to go 1st on planes and paid by the government. These thieves can do worst damage and lost to the country more than the conventional thieves. Be ware of thieves and robbers in “High Places”.

10. #10 by azk on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 2:40 pm

If DAP is going to file candidates in more constituency, the Rakyat will have a chance to reduce the BN number in parliament.

How many GE must we wait to see a stronger alternative government than the current corrupted one?

For god’s sake, just stop being OPPOSITION! And start being the government.

11. #11 by ihavesomethingtosay on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 2:40 pm

what do you expect from any barisan najis’ loud mouth?

and is Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad going to take this insult silently?

12. #12 by badak on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 3:37 pm

We can never catch this crooks if we don,t vote wisely,Corupption has become so bad in the BN lead GOVERMENT, it,s no more

”’The one good apple that spoilt the whole bunch”” But its “”The whole bunch that spoilt the one good apple””

13. #13 by badak on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 4:04 pm

Want to know how bad corupption is,A few months ago my elder brother died at home of a heart attack it was saturday,The police took the body for a post mortem,Since it was a saturday, the H.A said, the post mortem can only be done on monday and the body will only belease late monday or tuesday morning,All the argument and crying was of no help.

So my sisters and i left for home to tell my parents that we can only bury my brother on wednesday, but before we reach home,i recieve a call on my hand phone that the post mortem on my brother can be done on the same day and the body will be release to us by late afternoon,If we are willing to pay some money to the right people.What a shock it was for us,

So after agreeing on the amount we paid the guy,The guy made a call hardly 10 minuites i recieve a call,The caller said “Pukul 3 .45 petang boleh datang angat jenazah “”

So you see how bad corupption has become,Some one said why not report to ACA ,what prove do i have ,One call the ACA ,to do a sting, some said why pay you are only ancouraging it and its a crime to pay. One friend even said why can,t we wait till tuesday till the body is release,

What would you have done….

14. #14 by Jong on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 5:47 pm

When we have a Prime Minister who is so blur, so out-of-control and unable to comprehend what is going on around him, this is what we get.

Imagine after 50 years Kemerdekaan, our august house is filled with uncouthed umno MPs behaving like thugs. Sheer arrogance!

Time we go for regime change!

15. #15 by Chong Zhemin on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 5:48 pm

Uncle Kit,

whenever any comments goes against Nazri’s own interest, better shut up.

“The problem with the Port Klang Free Zone is far bigger than what the papers have reported. Far too many questions were left unanswered.”

This is just a very simple and common comment where most of the people that follow this news would know.

I wonder if Shahrir said ” There is absolutely no problem with the PKFZ, all questions could be answered.”

Would Nazri still react the same by telling Shahrir to shut up?

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 6:18 pm

“I am disappointed that in his 2008 budget speech yesterday, the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had failed to assume full accountability to justify the government bailout of the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal.”

Government bailout? It is time we stop desensitizing bailouts by referring to them as ‘government bailout’ – and instead refer to them as what they really are i.e. taxpayers having to fork out money so that politicians could retain theirs.

17. #17 by boh-liao on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 6:46 pm

Scandal? What scandal? Everything is OK. Just ignore the rumour that Chan Kong Choy, who is on medical leave, has threatened to quit his post as transport minister. All quiet on the corruption front.

18. #18 by k1980 on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 7:35 pm

Question: Who the blazes can sleep standing up?

Answer: http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/pictures.php?itemid=7992

19. #19 by ihavesomethingtosay on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 9:51 pm

20. #20 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 10:17 pm

He is a big Napolean!

21. #21 by bystander on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 10:25 pm

Maybe malaysia should follow China’s treatment of corrupted officials and politicians. If that’ s the case, CKC and Ling and UMNo gang should be lined up to face the firing squad. Luckily they are in Bodohland.

22. #22 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 10:44 pm

The phrase “Shut Up” is becoming the motto for BN leaders who have no answer to touchy questions aimed at them.

By the way, how much did Pak Lah allocate for the development of Transparancy, Integrity and Accountability initiatives?

23. #23 by naked taliban on Saturday, 8 September 2007 - 11:52 pm

By the way my friend what is Transparancy, Integrity and Accountability ? No such phrase in BN govt , allocation is only for themself.

24. #24 by Jonny on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 12:02 am

Badak,

What was done is very atrocious indeed. These corrupt people are benefitting over dead people (fatt sei yan choy – a chinese saying).

If they are doing this. What makes the whole corrupt government machinery not benefitting from us the LIVING ONES?????

D@mn with the govt. More of us are getting intolerant with the current state of lip service and hard core corruption being done behind our backs.

The Opposition is not the opposition. They can be the government. And WE ARE THE GOVERNMENT. Government’s money = public’s money which should be held accountable for.

25. #25 by wtf2 on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 1:19 am

what qualifications (& from where) this nazri guy possess>?
    it does seem as if he;s the unofficial mouthpiece of the sleeping frog

26. #26 by pwcheng on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 3:31 am

I had great respect for Shahrir earlier on for his remarkable dissent with the BN resulting his removal as the chief of the backbencher. However just about a week or two ago when he appeared in a forum on TV2, I lost all that when I heard him spoke. I think he do not have much up there.

27. #27 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 4:50 am

“what qualifications (& from where) this nazri guy possess>?
    it does seem as if he;s the unofficial mouthpiece of the sleeping frog”

Do you know a place better then that where he could put his mouth on? It happens all the time everytime his boss let things hang out.

28. #28 by LittleBird on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 8:52 am

PAC…lol..continue watching “drama minggu ini”

29. #29 by wtf2 on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 9:53 am

u mean the front or the other orifice?

30. #30 by justice_fighter on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 2:55 pm

This useless chap Nazri would have been given a death penalty if he is a minister in China. If he is in Japan, he would have hang himself. In Bodohlah, the ministers don’t know what is ‘shame’.

31. #31 by negarawan on Sunday, 9 September 2007 - 9:51 pm

The level of corruption in UMNO, MCA and MIC is shocking http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/9/9/nation/18832193&sec=nation We have to stop the rot and destruction of Malaysia urgently. Vote wisely

32. #32 by akarmalaysian on Tuesday, 11 September 2007 - 1:16 am

its not proper for a minister like nazri to ask somebody to shut up in such manner.it doesnt show any profesionalism and respect as a minister like himself.anyway who is he to ask people to shut up.just imagine asking him to walk down any street and ask a commoner to shut up…then see what happens.dont ever forget that its our money that you ministers are spending the money on.its so obvious thr is something wrong with the whole thing and yet this government is just asking this stupid nazri to stand up and ask people to shut up.if hes the one who got rigged wud he just sit down and shut up?nazri is just one of the biggest moron in the cabinet.

33. #33 by tunglang on Wednesday, 12 September 2007 - 10:02 pm

Time and time again, we hear of another bailout. BUT this time at a price of RM4.6 billion is beyond imagination. Why are we so rich to bail out failed many ventures when to build a 2nd Penang bridge took soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo long a decision to make! Who in the higher ups CARES when it comes to using Ah Kong’s money. We are soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo RICH.