Selayang Municipal Council Dog Hunt Competition

Spate of outraged emails over Selayang Municipal Council’s insensitive competition, like this one from Grey: “This is an outrage! When the Americans all over the US and the world are condemming Michael Vicks for promoting animal cruelty by having dog fights, the Selayang council is actually giving cash prize up to RM15,000 to the rakyat for the capture of these creatures!!! That’s OUR Selayang council. Check out their website to find the offending annoucement.”

Here is another:

I bring to your attention the abovementioned matter.

It’s come to my attention via the Selayang Municipal Council’s website
(http://www.mps.gov.my/default01.htm) of this very attractive part-time “job”.

I would like to express my uttter disgust and am absolutely repulsed by this barbaric competition which is being held by the council. This competition is not only NOT solving the problem of strays in the area, in fact, I believe it is so easily-abused by greedy citizens. What’s going to stop strangers from stepping into someone’s home, abducting someone’s pet, removing the collar and pass it off as a stray?

The prizes offered are lucrative enough for many to steal in order to receive the top prize. RM15,000, RM13,000, RM11,000 for first, second and third prize respectively.

The Selayang Municipal Council is not only irresponsible, it is downright barbaric! Instead of offering the prize money as an incentive, a better way would be to use the money for spaying and neutering the strays. An even better solution would be to actually donate the money to its local SPCA or PAWS.

I plead to you and your organization to do the right thing and highlight this matter in all ways possible to stop this from taking place. In a country where a dog is deemed unclean by the majority of its citizens, it’s easy for the council to get away but each animal has a right to live and if it has to be put down, it has to be done in a most humane way possible.

Thank you.

Sincerely,
SiewYee

Print Friendly

1. #1 by dawsheng on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 5:56 pm

Will there be “Tangkap Cina” competition soon?

2. #2 by pigtail78 on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 6:18 pm

Reading about the MPS’s contest made me feel so angry and appalled that such a barbaric act could be condoned by the authorities. I signed the petition immediately and hope more people will be aware of this.

Why are only dogs targetted? Stray cats pose just as much trouble with their defecating and carrying of diseases. Mass neutering of all strays would be a much better way to spend that prize money.

Sadly, there are some bigotted individuals that do support the dog hunt, claiming that the stray dogs will attack children.

http://almuslimin2.blogspot.com/2007/09/another-idiotic-group-that-support.html

I couldn’t help but notice most of those that are protesting and petitioning against the MPS are non-Muslims. What about the majority of Muslims? What are their thoughts? Do they also share the same feelings as that narrow-minded person…that dogs are as haram as pigs and should be killed cause it offends their religious sensitivities?

3. #3 by badak on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 6:34 pm

Capture on sight all coruppted Politician and Municiple councillors. 1ST PRIZE RM 3 ONLY, 2ND PRIZE RM 2 ONLY, and 3RD PRIZE RM I ONLY, Check out the ACA WEB SITE.

4. #4 by lobster on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 6:36 pm

Wow…this is outrageous!!!!!!!
    Why dont they treat the cats the same??? Why do they have to be so selfish??? Just because they dont like dogs / pigs, they must get rid of them like this????!!
    Why spend 100M to celebrate merdeka when there is no real merdeka for 30 odd percent of the population in this country! Some people can do whatever they please, some people live in oppression, even though all of them are citizens of the same country.
    This country is getting more and more hopeless by the day.

5. #5 by malaysia born on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 6:50 pm

All along we knew in the back of our minds that there are people holding public office that they will take the easy way out of any problem and this competition show that we are not wrong in suspecting so.

When one can’t even act humanly towards an animal, how in heaven’s name are such people going to be compassionate and humane at all?

The irony of the whole incident is that if one observes carefully the slogan on MPSJ web site, it reads, “Maju, Progresif, Sajehtera’. One thing i can say about them is that besides being inhumane and idiotic, they are a bunch of jokers too!

Now I am tempted to organize a “Catch A Corrupt Public Offical’ hunt too.

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 7:21 pm

Don’t tell me they learnt this also on their “Belajar sambil pelancong” trip to Mauritius and South Africa trip last year. Last time it was to learn about how to clean toilets.

Will there be another “Study while Enjoy” trip this year at taxpayers expense? Maybe to Hong Kong, Taiwan or South Korea where dog meat are delicacies? While there, a detour to the Great Wall in China might be included as to how to build strong walls.

Maybe we can export our dogs to these countries and make some money for the Municipality? If monkeys can be exported now, why not dogs?

7. #7 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 7:23 pm

The Council like other civil servants and government departments are insensitive, shallow-minded, myopic, self-centred in their ways of conducting their duties.

Time and resources could be used for more productive business of the days.

Another of those many flip-flops by civil servants like the councils staff.

8. #8 by Chong Zhemin on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 7:36 pm

First they came for the pigs. Now the dogs…..

What’s next???

9. #9 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 7:46 pm

IT REALLY SUCKS AND STINKS :- SELAYANG MUNICIPAL COUNCIL.

IN this age of super corridors . IN this age whereby the premier advocate first class mentality. we have BABARIANS IN MPSJ.

these are idiots – having a dog hunting competition.

i have to restrained myself from profanity to address them at the MPSJ.

since when , we have turn babarians. since when we are giving prizes for hunting down living creatures ????????

abdullah badawi- what is happening to your government.?

visit malaysia year – may the tourists flock to selayang and watch the competition and than relate that in their countries.

selayang MPSJ – man- you guys are sicko. you guys are m.sadist.

MPSJ- IF EVER you needed a competition – go hunt spiders and cockroaches , mosquitoes.

seriously- the mentality of those in MPSJ are zombies. brain dead.

10. #10 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 7:51 pm

YB MR. LIM KIT SIANG.

i hereby offer a reward of RM 10.00 for each corrupted MPSJ officer charged in the court . and a further reward of RM100.00 for each found guilty.

after being found guilty of corruption – lets have a dart competition in MPSJ , and bull’s eye a photo of the sickos.

11. #11 by burn on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 8:19 pm

this is what you get, a half past6 councilors.
    they can’t even think straight. what SPCA and PAWS is here for?

12. #12 by Libra2 on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 8:26 pm

This contest will be total failure. Why? The competition is organized by babarians and human being are expected to participate. Which human will go round catching dogs to make money, knowing fully well that these dogs will be shot and burned.
    Only a dog lover will know what a wonderful creature it is.

13. #13 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 8:27 pm

Ever wonder how Malaysia has come to such a state?

It is all due to the education systems. We are breeding idiots. Look around you. 60% of us are idiots with no ability to think or properly utilize this organ called brain.

It is a sad fact and the saddest part is things are going to become worse! Yes worse! Idiots will breed even more stupid people and eventually everyone will be shallow, barbaric, savage & plain stupid!

Ever wonder why violence is on the rise? It is because people have lost the ability to communicate effectively via words thus the use of bare knuckles.

Trust me things can only go worse from here. Unless we change the government and the education systems.

Malaysia boleh kah? Mimpi lah.

14. #14 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 8:32 pm

Why? Why are we still supporting this useless government?

Why?

Have we become so stupid that we are not able to see the bigger picture – that Malaysia is eroding, that crime is on the rise, that so-called leaders of ours are raping our money and resources?

Why? Why oh why Malaysia?

Wake up people!

It is time. It is now or never.

If we do not do something this coming election I can confidently say that is the end of our next generation!

Stoping being a fool and for once stand up and say “Tak Nak BN”

It is time we change! It is time we give a chance to other people to lead and advance this country!

It is NOW!

15. #15 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 8:33 pm

Bull fights, dog fights and even cock fights! You see it’s all about a culture obsessed with gambling. It all starts on one lazy hot afternoon after school and after heavy rain when there’s nothing much to do but go out to catch ‘fighting fish’.

16. #16 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 8:39 pm

Malaysians are a bunch of pitiful people. We work like hell just to buy ourself a decent car and a comfy home. And life ends there!

While we are sweating and slogging like mad men, our so-called leaders are not helping us instead they are putting more weights on our shoulders.

Why?

Petrol price Up! Toll Up! Electricity UP! Water Up! Car price UP!

Why? Why?

Why is this government not helping the people yet the people keep voting for them? Why?

Have we really become so stupid?

Isnt the role of the goverment to help and make life easy for EVERYBODY?

But no. Why? Why?

IT’S TIME LADIES AND GENTLEMEN.

Let’s show em who’s the boss.

17. #17 by tidaknama on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 8:42 pm

Why don’t they have a cat catching competition? Hundreds of stray cats around Penang.

18. #18 by cabby mabok on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 8:48 pm

Mind you this town council people belongs to one religion, is it true that their religion is more barbaric, abductive (Koreans in Afghan) and inhuman?

19. #19 by Lee Chee Lek on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 8:48 pm

Why don’t someone organize one with double the prize money for killing cats. All the cats don’t have licence and are always straying around like those dogs without homes.
    I think it is best for all the Selayang residents to keep the dog in the house most of the time and only let them out being accompanied.

20. #20 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 8:48 pm

Don’t you guys get it?

It is not about dogs or cats. It is about our mentality. The general mentality of people of this country is so bad that everyday we are seeing funny incidents such as this.

And this is going to happen everytime non stop until we change the systems that is breeding such products! Defective products!

We need to change the systems, the machines that is churning out s-h-i-ts. We are akin to s-h-its whether you like it or not.

Dog fight, PKFZ scandal and so on is going to happen again and again and again. There is just no full stop to all these.

Tomorrow we are going to read another news from this blog about another idiots doing something that idiots do best. And agian, again and again and again.

don’t you guys get it.

It is not going to stop until we stop it!

21. #21 by Lee Chee Lek on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 8:53 pm

Why don’t we offer triple the prize money to also kill all stray human beings who don’t have homes. Maybe add in also those who look like dogs and cats.
    God would luv all those who kill the animals he created. Are cats, dogs also the same as chickens, pigs, cows, goats, fish?

22. #22 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 8:53 pm

today is dog competion, tmorrow is this scandal that scandal and again and again and again and again.

who suffer most? our leaders? our pm? our menteri?

NOOOO.

It is us the general public of MALAYSIA.

We are like comedy to people outside Malaysia.

No wonder the singapores laugh synically at us. No wonder the Australian label as as Malaysia Bodoh.

The main topic here is not dog or cat.

It is about – WHY EVERYDAY WE ARE READING SUCH STUPID AND SCANDALOUS EVENTS HAPPENING IN OUR BELOVED COUNTRY?

23. #23 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 9:00 pm

Please do not connect any events to any race!

No body gains but EVERYBODY lose!

It is the NO. 1 objective of the present goverment to create a ****** among all the races so that we feel insecure, and suspicious of each other.

It is called divide and rule game whcih they are playing very well.

After 50 years have we not realize this game they are playing with us?

The malays do not prosper, the chinese do not prosper and the indians do not prosper!

The only race that prosper is the crony race. they can be of any color, any height, any religion, any background.

Wake up lar bodoh malaysia.

24. #24 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 9:13 pm

“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be measured by the way in which its animals are treated”. — Mahatma Gandhi.

I rest my case.

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 9:16 pm

“There is not an animal on the earth, nor a flying creature flying on two wings, but they are peoples like unto you.” – Koran, surah 6, verse 38 …

I rest again.

26. #26 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 9:33 pm

“It is not about dogs or cats. It is about our mentality” – malaysia_mana_boleh correctly said.

There is a direct connection between the way we treat the animals and the type of society in which we live and the type of mentality of those making and enforcing rules affecting our lives.

Animals like dogs are sentient creatures, in the sense that they have sense feelings and they too like us can feel pain. They are God’s creatures (if you’re religious) or somewhat inextricably linked to us in the wider circle of Life (if you’re not particularly).

Except where they are manifestly fit and intended in the Food Chain to end up in our plate for our survival, they would be just as entitled a place in the world for those who value the sanctity of Life.

Until we could extend the circle of our compassion to the suffering of living things other than our species, we have not arrived, and it becomes doubtful that we could even treat our own species with decency, dignity and respect

27. #27 by hotsync on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 9:43 pm

Totally unbelievable! reading the newspaper today with photo showing a minister (obviously an idiot) holding a stick hooking up to a fake pictorial dog!! endorsing the contest!! the last paragraph stated they can also supply the “equipment(s)” to catch dogs??!! &&**(&*((&

Bunch of gobloks! Idiots! Morons!

28. #28 by azk on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 9:47 pm

This is the same municipal council that spent tax payers money to sponsor its staffs overseas to study public toilet system or was it garbage collection system? This is the same municipal council that spent tax payers money for its staffs to enjoy at Awana Genting resort on the pretext of having meeting.

I’d say bring back the municipal level election and get rid of these morons!

29. #29 by azk on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 9:55 pm

Why don’t they do the same to cats?

30. #30 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 10:00 pm

50 years of breeding idiots and later these idiots will breed more next generation idiots.

Using logic or any sort of analysis will tell you things will only get worse. The root cause of this is still very much intact and on-going.

Common sense tells us unless the system is removed, the end products will still be the same – continuously eroding quality until a point where quality can go no more south.

who cares if it is cat or dog. it could be YOU next time!

31. #31 by dawsheng on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 10:07 pm

There will come a day when we finally have to admit that there is no possible way to unite all races as purely Malaysian because there are more elements that are determine to tear us apart and at this very moment, we are coming close to that day. And after that day, let us hope Malaysian of all races will finally found a common destiny and build our nation on that basis thereafter. Now, who is willing to compromise on what you eat and what animal you are keeping as pet? Who is willing to compromise that the phrase “A dog is man best friend” is the opposite in Malaysia and keep a cat instead?

32. #32 by smeagroo on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 10:10 pm

why cant we do the same to BN scums?

33. #33 by borrring on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 10:21 pm

whose idea was that? cos they can’t come into contact with dogs? is that why they’re asking the nons to catch them…as clearly,they can’t even touch dogs, eh

34. #34 by borrring on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 10:22 pm

whose idea was that? cos they can’t come into contact with dogs? is that why they’re asking the nons to catch them…as clearly,they can’t even touch dogs, eh

35. #35 by dawsheng on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 10:24 pm

“It is called divide and rule game whcih they are playing very well.” malaysia_mana_boleh

Oh well, the divide and rule game is not without any consequences that will lead to the greatest disaster in our nation building’s history that those playing it so well would not get burn by it. For all you know it, there are better players out there, just that it is not the time to join the game yet.

36. #36 by dawsheng on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 10:31 pm

“Mind you this town council people belongs to one religion, is it true that their religion is more barbaric, abductive (Koreans in Afghan) and inhuman?” cabby mabok

I don’t know whether this is playing the divide and rule game or is this being played into the divide and rule game.

37. #37 by babique on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 10:37 pm

these people mentality are worst than beasts. wonder what they learn from their holi boobs – being cruelty to dogs. do not forget that they are also animals created by your alla.

38. #38 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 10:45 pm

dawsheng Says:
    “For all you know it, there are better players out there, just that it is not the time to join the game yet.”

you must be dreaming!

There are only two players playing this game:

the goverment and the people.

The rest are negligible!

I guess you are one of the unfortunate product of the systems as well.

39. #39 by voice on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 10:49 pm

Is that the way they do with whatever they hate?

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 11:18 pm

“When the Americans all over the US and the world are condemming Michael Vicks for promoting animal cruetly…”

One caveat though. Dog fighting is the culture of the deep South among black Americans: Whoopi Goldberg.

So which culture promotes dog fighting (and hence animal cruelty) in Malaysia??

41. #41 by devilmaster on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 11:20 pm

42. #42 by dawsheng on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 11:23 pm

“I guess you are one of the unfortunate product of the systems as well.”

Unfortunate? You must be kidding. The unfortunate ones are the one with never ending dillemmas who needs a never ending policy to help them survive in the face of universe. Anymore more unfortunate product of the system than this? You tell me.

43. #43 by dawsheng on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 11:49 pm

devilmaster, your post is very nasty and I think it is a mistake to post it in Uncle Kit’s blog. Are you playing the divide and rule game as well?

44. #44 by badak on Thursday, 6 September 2007 - 11:49 pm

This should not be an issue to belittle all malays and muslim,It,s the the power that be who should be criticise,They are the one who are doing all the thinking for us,

With their narrow thinking and holier then thou attitude ,Which are racking our daily life,What should we do

VOTE THEM OUT COME THE NEXT ELECTION

45. #45 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Friday, 7 September 2007 - 12:05 am

devilmaster,

are you stupid or what???

why the f**k are you doing this???

posting such rasist message!!

you should be banned from this blog!

46. #46 by hanuman on Friday, 7 September 2007 - 12:07 am

Warning : MUSLIMS YOU WILL DEFINITELY FIND WHAT I POST is ULTRA ULTRA OFFENSIVE. IF YOU DO PLEASE DO NOT READ.

Pigs are out, dogs or out, anything non-halal are out. I wondered what else is out. Maybe my blood or my organs that I pledged are also out. Maybe I should INSIST, that my blood (non-halal) and my organs (non-halal) that pledged when I die are also out. MAYBE IT SHOULD BE GIVEN TO NON-HALAL PERSONS.

I am a Chinese I eat pork therefore my blood and organs are considered non-halal ??? I am considered non-halal. Then why should I DONATE MY BLOOD AND ORGANS TO PEOPLE THAT CONSIDERED ME NON-HALAL. MAYBE THE BLOOD AND ORGANS DONATED BY ME SHOULD BE MARKED NON-HALAL BLOOD AND ORGANS.

YOU PEOPLE THINK RACIAL AND RELIGIOUS TENSIONS ARE NOT REAL ??? ASK YOURSELVES AGAIN. IF I CAN HAVE THESE OPINIONS MANY OTHERS WILL HAVE THE SAME OPINIONS. HOW MANY ??? WHEN THE TIME COMES IT WILL BE TOO LATE. POLITICIANS ESPECIALLY BN (UMNO) PLAYS BIGOTS AND RELIGIOUS ISSUES. WE ARE ALL MALAYSIANS (BANGSA MALAYSIA). MP’S (MINISTERS) WHO INSISTS THAT THERE IS NO BANGSA MALAYSIA THEN WHAT IS HE ?? BANGSA ASING I WILL SAY. IF YOU ARE NOT BANGSA MALAYSIA, PLEASE PACK YOUR BAGS AND LEAVE. MALAYSIANS DO NOT NEED YOU. YOU ARE AN ALIEN.

I AM BEING PATRIOTIC, I WANT MY MALAYSIA BACK, NOT A MALAYSIA WITH FULL OF BIGOTRY.

STOP THESE NONSENSES BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE.

MALAYSIA IS MY HOME, MY HOMELAND, TANAH AIR KU. I WILL DEFEND IT EVEN IF IT IS GOING AGAINST THE GOVERNMENT OF THE DAY FOR A PEACEFUL, RIGHTEOUS AND HARMONIUOS MALAYSIA.

47. #47 by devilmaster on Friday, 7 September 2007 - 12:14 am

i have e-mail uncle kit to delete that comment.

after reading few times, i too found out it was “nasty”. Sorry if i offended anyone.

48. #48 by cabby mabok on Friday, 7 September 2007 - 12:24 am

Hey Hey! all the people here please restrain from all this nasty remarks.

Our once a year “Pesta Makanan” is coming soon and lets us all enjoy this month long festival.

All are welcome to eat more and no race is discriminated even if you are Indian, Malay, Chinese, Kandazan or Iban. I like the Ikan Bakar, what about you?

49. #49 by Jeffrey on Friday, 7 September 2007 - 12:25 am

The criticisms of Dawsheng, Badak and malaysia_mana_boleh are consistent with the spirit of ‘peer moderation’ that YB Kit once suggested and when anyone of us gets carried away, as it could happen in the heat of debate, the Administrator should do the necessary – fast – in the interest of this Blog.

50. #50 by hanuman on Friday, 7 September 2007 - 1:31 am

YOU PEOPLE HERE DO NOT GET IT DO YOU. THESE SHOULD BE DELETED THAT BE DELETED. IF YOU CONTINUE TO THIS THEN YOU ALL HERE ARE NO DIFFERENT FROM THE GOVERMENT OF THE DAY. SWEEPING EVERYTHING UNDER THE CARPET, THIS IS SENSITIVE THAT IS SENSITIVE. WE ARE ALL MATURED MALAYSIANS. WE KNOW THINGS ARE NOT WHAT THEY SEEMS. YOU KNOW AND I KNOW WE WANT A MALAYSIA WITHOUT ALL THE BIGOTRIES. YOU AND I WANT TO LIVE A LIFE AS A MALAYSIAN IN PERFECT HARMONY.

I DO NOT CARE if you are MALAYS, INDIANS, CHINESE, IBANS, SIKHS, KADAZANS OR … I DO NOT CARE IF YOU are MUSLIMS, HINDUS, CHRISTIANS, BUDDHISTS … We are ALL MALAYSIANS. IT IS THE GOVERNMENT OF THE DAY THAT IS DIVIDING US ALL. DON’T YOU GET IT. IT IS THE GOVERNMENT OF THE DAY THAT IS DIVIDING US ALL BY RACE AND RELIGION!!!!

ALL I WANT IS, A MALAYSIA WHERE WE USE TO VISIT ONE ANOTHER DURING FESTIVITIES AND BEING NEIGHBOURLY WITHOUT RACIAL AND RELIGIOUS BIAS. DON’T YOU WISH THAT ???

WE ARE ALL MALAYSIANS NO MATTER WHAT RACE, RELIGION AND CREED.

WE ARE MALAYSIAN, WE ARE HER CHILDREN !!!!

I LOVE MALAYSIA. I WAS BORN AND BRED HERE IN MALAYSIA. MALAYSIA IS MY BELOVED HOMELAND. I WOULD GLADLY GIVE MY LIFE FOR MALAYSIA EVEN THAT MEANS GOING AGAINST THE GOVERNMENT THAT IS DIVIDING US ALL.

WE ARE MALAYSIAN, WE ARE HER CHILDREN !!!!