The Cabinet’s inept and irresponsible mishandling of undergraduate Wee Meng Chee’s six-minute rap music video on Negaraku in creating a new and major cause of national dissension especially among the young generation of Malaysians on the occasion of the nation’s 50th Merdeka anniversary has vindicated former Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad’s epithet of a “half-past-six Cabinet”.
It has made more and more Malaysians, particularly the young generation, disgusted with the MCA, Gerakan, Umno and other Barisan Nasional Ministers and leaders who are unable to differentiate between the important from the less important issues.
The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi confirmed that the Cabinet on Wednesday discussed at length (“kita bincang lama” — Utusan Malaysia) Meng Chee’s public apology to the government and Malaysians for his rap video because it was “an important or big issue”. (Sun)
Nobody can fault the Cabinet for discussing Meng Chee’s Negaraku rap video clip, but when Ministers had no time for bigger and more important national issues, Malaysians have a right to demand to know why the country does not have a more dedicated, competent, professional and more patriotic Cabinet!
The country is at present drowned by a plethora of bigger and more important national issues than Meng Chee’s six-minute Negaraku rap video which should have been the focus of the Cabinet attention last Wednesday, such as:
- The failure of the Prime Minister and his Cabinet to make the 50th Merdeka anniversary really meaningful by “walking the talk” in the past 45 months to deliver the pledge of a clean, incorruptible, efficient, accountable, trustworthy, just, open and democratic administration which is prepared to “hear the truth” from the people;
- The RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone scandal, the breach of Abdullah’s pledge of no mega-billion-ringgit bail-outs and the top-most question among Malaysians – why no one had been arrested or brought to book for the biggest financial scandal in the start of any Prime Minister.
- The shocking comment by the nation’s most famous Inspector-General of Police and Deputy Chairman of the Royal Police Commission, Tun Hanif Omar on Sunday that 40 per cent of the senior police officers could be arrested for corruption without further investigations based “strictly on their lifestyles” and the total lack of action by the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) in the past 27 months to arrest a single one of the 1,400 out of the 3,502 (i.e. 40 per cent) senior police officers from the rank of Assistant Superintendent to Inspector-General of Police since the publication of the Royal Police Commission Report.
- The unilateral, arbitrary and unconstitutional revision of the Merdeka social contract and Malaysia Agreement on the fundamental nation-building principles agreed by the forefathers of the major communities on the attainment of Independence half-a-century ago.
- Malaysia’s continued omission from the World’s Top 500 Universities ranking for the fifth year in succession in the Academic Ranking of World Universities 2007 just released by the Shanghai Jiao Tong University.
- The constitutional crisis and impasse with the Prime Minister’s nominee for the post of Chief Judge of Malaya unable to get past two meetings of the Conference of Rulers since the retirement of Tan Sri Siti Normah Yaakob on January 5, 2007, raising the question whether the Conference of Rulers is mere rubber stamp or has important check-and-balance role to ensure good governance.
Did the Cabinet on Wednesday have time for these bigger and more important national issues than Meng Chee’s six-minute rap video, and if so, why there had been no proper public accounting of the Cabinet decisions?
Next is the manner and outcome of the Cabinet’s “long discussion” of Meng Chee’s rap video. I presume Meng Chee’s video clip would have been shown to the Cabinet.
The Star reported: “Student must face the law — Cabinet, however, accepts his apology” . The Sun has a different take on its front-page report: “Who’s sorry now? — CABINET CANNOT ACCEPT APOLOGY AND RAPPER WHO MOCKED NEGARAKU MUST FACE THE MUSIC”.
The Cabinet has made a total mockery of itself. Has it accepted Meng Chee’s apology or has it not. If it has accepted the apology, why are Ministers still demanding action to be taken against Meng Chee and for him to be prosecuted by the Attorney-General — which is the clear message from the Prime Minister and UMNO Ministers including Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, Datuk Zainuddin Maidin and Datuk Dr. Rais Yatim that there should be prosecution. In fact, according to Zainuddin, this was also the stand of Datuk Seri Dr. Lim Keng Yaik in Cabinet on Wednesday!
MCA Ministers must explain why they put such great pressures on Meng Chee and his family when they are unable to get Umno Ministers and the Cabinet to accept the apology?
Why was there double-standards here, when the Cabinet could accept the insincere “apologies” of two Barisan Nasional MPs, Datuk Mohd Said Yusuf (Jasin) and Datuk Bung Mohtar Radin (Kinabatangan) who made crude, derogatory, sexist and gender-offensive remarks in the infamous “bocor” scandal without demanding any follow-up disciplinary action to be taken against them in Parliament?
Meng Chee can be faulted for the rough language, irreverent expressions and even the use of the national anthem and national flag in the rap, but it is utterly disgraceful that the entire weight of the Malaysian government machinery, going up all the way to the Cabinet, should be used to criminalize, demonise and crush a 24-year-old undergraduate for the rap video clip, when he had already tendered a public apology.
In fact, Meng Chee should be commended for his very clear expression of patriotism in articulating the frustrations of the ordinary rakyat at police corruption, civil service bureaucracy, discrimination against Chinese education and the insensitivity of the authorities — which must also be the concern of all Malaysians who love the nation.
The least MCA Ministers should have done is to ask the Cabinet to address the frustrations and exasperations of Malaysians expressed by Meng Chee in his rap, but this had not been done, and the Cabinet had completely ignored the real message of the rap — an indictment of a “half-past-six Cabinet”!
The continued demonisation and persecution of Meng Chee will cast a dark shadow over the 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations creating even more alienation, dissension and disunity among Malaysians particularly among the young generations.
Abdullah should cut the Gordian Knot, accept Meng Chee was acting in a very patriotic manner and meant no disrespect to the national symbols although his methods could be faulted, end the public ruckus over the rap music video and advise all parties concerned to learn the right and positive lessons from the incident to contribute towards greater national understanding, tolerance, resilience and unity with respect for diversity of views and freedom of expression.

#1 by democratic junkie on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:01 pm
BN is leading malaysia to the path of a failed state.
Meng Chee rapped the truth. What is wrong with that? If the wheel is broken you say its broken. But that is not the case in Malaysia. BN wants the rest of the world to think that malaysia is a model state when it is not.
#2 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:07 pm
What happen to those UMNO peoples who make very racist and seditious speeches? Nothing happen, of course.
What will happen to Wee Meng Chee who make not so seditious song? The whole Government machineries will go after him. They just want to put him in jail.
This is a rotten government headed by a sleeping Prime Minister.
#3 by kleptocrats on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:13 pm
I am equally disgusted.
This whole episode also shows that MCA is weak, totally unable to represent and protect the Chinese community.
#4 by raverus on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:15 pm
Big issue, they will spend another 3 months working in it.
Others big crook, later!
#5 by boh-liao on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:17 pm
To the UMNO-led BN government, Wee Meng Chee’s six-minute rap music video on Negaraku is a god-sent diversion to get Malaysians, especially less-opportuned Malays whose share of the nation’s wealth has been diverted to their own richer kind, to forget about the many current corruption-related issues and to ramp up their rage against this young man, who sang about some obvious problems that exist in Malaysia.
Wee Meng Chee is the perfect bogeyman and sacrificial lamb for the UMNO-led BN government. What UMNO wants, UMNO gets and their lap-dog partners will just wag their tails.
#6 by mendela on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:25 pm
We MUST bring down the world’s most corrupted and most imcompetent UMO-led Gomen in the next GE.
Enough is enough!
Let’s bury all the hyenas and running dogs alive!
#7 by greatstuff on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:33 pm
THe Meng Chee Rap was an opportunity for [deleted] politicians to gain maximum “brownie points” via their self righteous whinings and pandering to the gallery, whislt ignoring the ever liklihood of decaying skeletons in their own cupboards!
What an immature lot, really! Far better for them to move on with more important issues that plague the nation, for the interests of all and betterment of society!
#8 by sabah tun on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:45 pm
This is a very biased decision…yet i m not surprised. Badawi has really turned our government from respectable to despicable.
#9 by greatstuff on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:46 pm
The “howling” politicians have shown what an immature lot they really are, intent on scoring self-righteous points for political gain. Really, there are so many more urgent issues to focus precious time on, instead of what a 24 year old student presented, cheeky as it seemed to some, creative and democratic as it seemed to others. Instead, the governing cabinet has exploited the issue by furthering “the storm in a tea cup”, and made an embrassment of itself in the eyes of many! Lets please focus on more important issues..please government lah……….
#10 by dawsheng on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:55 pm
Meng Chee is not at fault at all, you cannot fault someone for speaking out the truth, in this case singing about the truth nothing but the truth. So what rough languages was used??? It is the truth!
#11 by sotong on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:56 pm
Like Sharks, once they smell bloods they want bloods!
#12 by grace on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:02 pm
Cabinet is like a big bully. Taking on Meng Chee is like using a sledge hammer to kill a fly. Shame on you Nazri. So many of your cabinet ministers and UMNO delegates and members uttered more seditios words than Meng Chee and Nazri and Rais Yatim have keep their dirty , stinky mouth shut!!!
The country’s economy is real sick now and you choose to focus your attention on a minnow like Meng Chee. When our youths particularly UMNO burn and insult other countries , you just to keep quiet.
Oooh, God help us!
#13 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:18 pm
Mr. Wee meng Chee .
clearly you have done something quite inappropriate with using the national anthem as the song for rap. whatever your frustration or certainly unpleased with. mind you,in thailand, any insult , verbal or otherwise to their king can be death sentence. most recently, a qweilo was sentenced to jail for that. i am too very unhappy, that after 50 years of merdeka, we are getting so paranoid about being a true malaysian. but i would have use another song maybe by mawi or siti or amei.
i am sure you understand that.
To all bloggers and writers.
The bn government will used meng chee to the maximum, to get at local bloggers. my oh my, what a good example was provided by our dear meng chee, that now, as someone stated god send , to punish all bloggers and writers. this will certainly give the excuse, that the hammer must be used to kill off the mosquitoes, and set an example to all the rest.
wrong timing. right thing. wrong song. right expression.
i think raja petra would be a martyr very soon.
TO ABDULLAH BADAWI AND THE CABINET MINISTER.
as if the country is in such a good state, that an entire cabinet was required to discusssed this issue of meng chee. the listing of problems raised by yb lim as above is CLEAR AND NEEDED TOP PRIORITY ACTIONS FROM THE ENTIRE CABINET.
WHERE ARE YOUR PRIORITIES ?
yb lim, at least from the CABINET MEETING, you could see very well, how mca is treated in the barisan nasional spirit of cooperation. chua soi leck, a minister held a press conference a day before and accepted meng chee apology on behalf of mca and call for the end of this episode. this is NOT SO THAN. now this is god send, that the mca are useless in defending the very chinese that the party claims to represent. all those seditious statement by the umnos and the keris, were not even brought to the cabinet, less any Umno Minister saying i am sorry. make good use of this . THIS SHOWS THE MCA IS TOOTHLESS TIGER./ PAPER TIGER.
the mca ministers, how are you going to defend meng chee?
According to the media, one minister brought up. i guess it must be soi chai. what about fong chai / kating chai. /kong chai. ?
elegent silent.
meng chee, i feel sorry for you. but you have learnt something.
MALAYSIA, I FEEL SORRY FOR OUR COUNTRY, THAT OUR LEADERS NEVER LEARN.
MALAYSIAN THAT LOVE MALAYSIA, I MOST SORRY, THAT WE MUST EXECRCISE OUR VOTE WITH CLEAR CONSCIENCE.
sad day.
#14 by Jeffrey on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:19 pm
Agree that the Cabinet has made a total mockery of itself if it accepted the apology of and yet cried for blood for investigation and prosecution against Wee Meng Chee without internal consistency in treatment of the two BN MPs, Datuk Mohd Said Yusuf (Jasin) and Datuk Bung Mohtar Radin (Kinabatangan) let off for their sexist remarks after a public apology.
It is a definite “overkill†showing that our leaders are not magnanimous. Otherwise why would they want to be seen trying to destroy a young undergraduate future by seeking prosecution against him for an alleged offence that he has apologized under auspices of MCA?
It is hardly fitting in the context of the 50th Merdeka celebrations where more magnanimity or forgiveness ought to be shown than meanness, not to mention a slap being delivered to the component party, MCA’s face to have such an outcome, which hardly help its cause in the coming elections.
But whether Meng Chee’s future is permanently impaired by this controversy is the moot question.
Thanks to the attendant publicity generated by the controversy, this is good start for Meng Chee to commercialise his pain and suffering by starting a business to market his copyrighted compositions/musical videos on “political rap and hip hop†music…
#15 by malaysia born on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:19 pm
This is what happens when one says/rap about the truth.
Attention is being deflected from the medium of how the truth is mentioned (the song) instead of the content of the song (lyrics).
Amazing that there has been no focus on the truth that is being told here.
One of the comments stated that ,’Cabinet is like a big bully. ….using a sledge hammer to kill a fly.’ Don’t forget that we, the people, are the bigger sledge hammer and we will crush them.
We need to make our support for Meng Chee known. We need to make more noise. There may have the main stream media for that but we have the internet. Make FULL use of it. One thing for sure, we can’t depend on mca, gerakan or whatever-kan.
God help those who help themselves…and their fellow brothers & sisters.
#16 by lbn on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:35 pm
The young man had apologised, and the Information Minister had pardoned him. It should stop there. What precedent? The truth is the truth! The whole world knows. Everyone has to be treated equal. When this fair treatment is not accorded, the affected party is unhappy. It’s only normal. The non-Malays have been very accomodating and tolerating all this while. Certain point in time, it has to give way. The unfair treatment is from bad to worse. Best MCA and MIC buck up, otherwise they would be badly thrashed this coming election. Best they leave BN and stand as independent. Not so nice to join the opposition. Don’t be the “mah chai”!
#17 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:41 pm
actually, how many of the CABINET ministers have seen the video clip by meng chee to call for blood?
please raise the hands.
i think only soi chai saw it.
pm- where got time to see.
sami- see no point , no understand mandarin
other malay cabinet minister ? how many know mandarin? do they know what was rapped?
mca/gerakan- did the ministers seen it.?
#18 by iStupid on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:42 pm
My take of the Negarakuku rap incident is : UMNO says Go to hell you Chinese voters! The Malay votes is enough to see us through the next GE.
My dear Malay bethren, you decide who rules this Tanah Melayu, who does not. 50 years of UMNO misrule is enough! You dont want to be ruled by imbeciles any more. Use your votes to boot them out!
#19 by sotong on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:43 pm
Some criminals do things to threaten or incite aggression, hatred and may be violence against innocent people, nothing happened to them.
This speaks volumn of the mentality of the government.
#20 by guessin on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 4:03 pm
well some of the politician accept bribe but did not get punished why?
because he is malay.Our goverment is full of corrupt people and useles those so called minister.mca n gerakan is half past six n the goverment is half past six too. i think all malaysian are wake up to fact that the whole goverment is helpless n we should cast our to opposition party. such small matter needed all those stupid minister to discuss at length.
#21 by Toyol on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 4:33 pm
Our Ministers are really NOW showing the world how stupid and immature they are. Going after a 24 year old student who actually showed how patriotic he was albeit in an unorthodox way.
The Ministers leave it to the AG, thats the law they say…I say what about the seditious statements made by the Education Minister and Deputy Prime Minister. Shall they leave it to the AG as well since the law of the land applies equally to all. They throw the book at Meng Chee for speaking the truth while the real scums get away with lies and sedition. This is the real law in Malaysia! No wonder we are behind in everything!
The sickening thing about it is that they are so proud of it!!! I think the time has come for the Rulers to step in before all hell breaks lose. They have to stop these ridiculous behaviour of our Ministers and change the top if Malaysia is to go forward.
#22 by smeagroo on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 4:49 pm
not that they are inept but they are smart to divert the attention form those scandals that besieged their OWN PEOPLE aka UMNO goons and MCA lapdogs.
They are always swift in handling such issues apart from governing the country properly.
Everyday I read all these news makes my heart ache and wanted to shout at their face all those 4-letter words. DARN!
Wee Meng Chee did a rap and will surely bring down the economy for 10 years. Oh maybe it has started. Look at the BUrsa today. Yea go after him!
It is ok for ppl to screw the economy via bail-outs especially if those ppl are the elite umno scums!
Way to go PAC Lah.
All I can say under ur administration, we are all PAc LAH!
#23 by oki on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 4:56 pm
what ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH said.
“wrong timing. right thing. wrong song. right expression.”
government full attention on the cyber threats recently only explains their concern towards continuation of power lusting.
namewee’s creation in fact tested the tolerance and fragility of the bangsa malaysia idea. it should be up for the rakyat to discuss under a forum or something likewise. it doesn’t need the full attention from the government and full coverage of the media on an issue like this. like what have mentioned above, your priority, mr?
being this sensitive is like digging their own grave. bunch of half past six.
#24 by St0rmFury on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 5:22 pm
Heh, I have a hunch that UMNO is using the “good cop, bad cop” tactic here to fish for votes.
First MCA squeezed an apology out of Wee and asked everyone to forgive him, gaining favour from the Chinese population.
UMNO then rejects his apology and continue to persecute Wee, gaining the Malay’s favour (the fanatical ones at least). “Melayu tidak boleh dicabar” at work here.
Later MCA will successfully persuade UMNO just drop the whole thing. UMNO will say they are willing to put this behind them because National Day is coming and Wee should consider himself lucky.
Both Chinese and Malay will rejoice. Chinese because MCA still cares for them and Malay because it will show that they are gracious and merciful.
Behind the stage, UMNO and MCA will congratulate each other for putting up one of the finest charade the nation has ever seen. Bravo.
#25 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 5:42 pm
Barisan government………………….. hahahahahaha!
wanna tangkap YM RPK, made him really really famous,
wanna tangkap Tian Chua on fake photos, also make him famous,
tangkap NATTAN, now he’s a household name.
tangkap NAMEWEE, now he is famous world wide, household name in Malaysia, Singapore, China & Taiwan. Tangkap him and international backlash.
whatever the propagandalist of these cock party can think of, they just do it big time wrong.
I wonder who will they tangkap next? me perharps? will they make me famous?
#26 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 5:49 pm
Meng Chee ,
When you do something that have big possibility could land you in hot soup in this Bolehland you should consider this:
1. You should wear Zorro style mask made of Malaysian flag too
2. You Should use a proxy from ISRAEL to upload your video clip…. yeah… you know the level of cooperation between Israel & Malaysia….
#27 by witoutprejudice on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 5:49 pm
storm
it will be a wasted that the story didn’t buy into the bollywood, or at least Amir or Yasmin got some inspiration what’s the next movie title. what a clown. well, if it is 5-6 years ago, i probably will believe the MCA / UMNO story via the The Star/NST/Utusan/B. Harian/TV1&2&3.
But now, i believe the urban and internet-access- non-urban netizens can see the real story behind all these tai-chi-story. This really prove we have a HP6 govt with 3rd world mentality. Stamp right on their forehead. muhahaha. what a day.
#28 by fido on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:02 pm
Actually what we are seeing here is the same repeat and repeating actions from the govt.
The whole idea is to …..divert attention to non important stuff so that they will not be questioned on those BIG issues which they do not have solutions to. Buying time and take their salary, what else is new?
They can’t even solve a simple problem like our bus and taxi problem, how can they solve any other complex issues?
#29 by badak on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:07 pm
Mr Lim ,Namewee is a god sent to the chinesss , now we can really see how UMNO is treating MCA,Even after his father said sorry with the help of MCA , this bunch of bigots in UMNO still want thier pound of flesh.Are they in UMNO really
defending king and country,and the rest of us are traitors.
To me the real traitors are the guy who drew the kriss and the other guy who said when are you going to use it.The real traitors are the guys in power who build a palace on land meant for the poor.
So all you chiness out there who think that MCA are looking after your interest please think again.UMNO is so scared to loose the election just because all the scaletons in their in the cupboard will start falling out one by one
#30 by Bobster on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:13 pm
WMC has made a mistake by making fun of the way our Muslim friends pray and he has apologized. Our Muslim friends have shown their maturity for not getting so emotional and create riots. People are ready to learn from the mistake and move on.
Unfortunately some of our cabinet ministers still trying to find fault harping on the issue. PM unable to make up his mind saying out loud whether yes or no and put a stop on his men. We have seen our cabinet ministers making bigger blunders too but we have never seen them apologize in the Parliament or to the public. WMC mistake carries 3 yrs jail terms? What kind of justice are their taking about when we have hardcore traffic offenders, criminals and corrupted civil servants escape the law unpunished? People are suffering even died because of failure of the government system and they still have time harping on this issue?
Let us not getting too emotional about the whole incidence. The way it goes we might witness a 24 yr old young man making a fool out of our ‘learned doctorate’ ministers. We might even witness a 24 yr old young man bring down the credibility of the whole Parliament due to half past six ministers and failure of Parliament to uphold injustice and law. All Malaysians should not be afraid but keep a clear conscience mind and watch what our cabinet ministers going to do next.
#31 by burn on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:23 pm
this is what you get, few tiga suku mentris…
there are bigger issue out there, but instead they take longer time to discuss petty issues. cantak betul…
orang mati kerna kelembapan pihak mentri. dah nak 50 tahun merdeka, masih macam tu jugak. kemana perginya mentri mentri tiga suku ni. perkara tentang bas bas awan, bas bas sekolah, lori lori hantu, lori lori pendek yang boleh ditukar jadi lori panjang sudah lama menjadi. dulu heboh! lepas 3 bulan, senyap! karang orang dah mati, nak heboh balik.
kalaulah tak tau macam mana nak jadi mentri, lebih baik letak jawatan. ikutlah cara jepun!
#32 by Bobster on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:32 pm
Memang cakap Burn, orang akan mati, tengah mati, sudah mati kerana tiga suku metris punya kerja.
Sampai hari ini circus show dekat Parliament masih belum henti. What next? Rakyat sudah cukup bosan sama tiga suku mentris.
#33 by grace on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:36 pm
I would suggest that M. Chee stay back in Taiwan. When he comes back, he would be hounded like a dog. Poor young man. Just for a moment of anger, he had stirred up the hornet’s nest.
It is a crying shame shame that UMNO would want to pick on this helpless guy.
With ministers already passing the verdict on him, what chance does he stand in the court of law? You and I should know better our judiciary system!
#34 by Bobster on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:45 pm
The way it goes let them punish, the more they punish the more foolish they get themselves into. Like Malay proverb says crab teaching smaller crabs how to walk straight.
It is a good wake up call for the whole country to watch how their cabinet ministers perform and making a mockery out of themselves.
#35 by requiem87 on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:46 pm
I really dont understand why they take all the problem to extradite a nice guy like Namewee from Taiwan and yet the robbers , rapists , murderers , thieves , speed demons and etc. still roaming the streets ?? who poses more danger to our society ? you be the judge ~! I still haven’t heard bout the news of the rapists who gangraped a 19 year old girl in ipoh being caught ~!! Where is justice ???
#36 by boh-liao on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 7:19 pm
In Mandarin å±机 (crisis) = danger + opportunity.
The opposition parties should use this god-sent opportunity to showcase the biasness, double standard, and no-principle attitude of the UMNO led-BN government.
Put Wee Meng Chee’s video and some infamous UMNO politicians’ seditious videos (e.g., blood-thirsty kris-waving incidence and others) together and show people the action (and the speed of reaching a consensus to take action) or non-action taken by our cabinet against each case. Also show how lame, meek, and limp the non-UMNO cabinet ministers towards the response in each case.
Wee Meng Chee should also turn this crisis to his advantage. Be innovative and global, that’s what our government wants our citizens to be. Good luck.
#37 by Godfather on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 7:22 pm
Priorities for the Badawi cabinet (in order of importance):
1. How to cover up the PKA scandal
2. Should they revoke a young kid’s passport
3. What to do with bloggers
4. Who gets what contracts
5. Trade mission to Latin America
6. Who to blame for the worst traffic accident in Bolehland.
7. How to shut up Mahathir and Hanif
“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2006
Cemerlang, Gemilang, Temberang
#38 by k1980 on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 7:59 pm
“We are not in the business of cheating the people. But we are in the business of cheating the rakyat”
When thieves fall out
http://www.harakahdaily.net/bm/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=9331&Itemid=85
Mahathir dengan tegas mengkritik pelancaran Koridor Utara yang dilancarkan Abdullah baru baru ini. Beliau dengan tegas menyatakan kekesalannya, pada ketika zaman pentadbirannya melancarkan projek sejumlah RM 2 billion yang dianggap mega Mahathir menerima kritikan yang pedas.
Namun katanya, apabila Abdullah melancarkan projek jauh lebih mega sehingga berbelas billion, semua mendiamkan diri dan tidak berani menegur Abdullah. Secara sinis Mahathir berkata, PM begitu rajin mengumumkan projek mega untuk pembangunan negara, “but nothing on the ground.”
Begitu juga dengan Syarikat Berkait Kerajaan (GLC) sekarang itu tidak wujud untuk kepentingan rakyat jelata, malah ia disalahgunakan untuk memperkayakan individu tertentu dari kalangan keluarga, katanya.
#39 by shortie kiasu on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 8:13 pm
Yes, agreed, half past six cabinet as said by all now and then.
#40 by UFOne on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 9:15 pm
In Kota Bahru, P.M. talked about human assets once again. Do these human assets include
non-Melayu and Namewee ? The government is more interested in self glorification, self excellence and self praise. That is why it cannot stand shame and embarrassment for all the wrong things done in this country. Malaysia may be cemerlang, gemilang and terbilang in the eyes of the Muslim world but definitely not in the whole world. There was once when some mat salleh praised our present P.M. for his management skills which are different from the other former P.Ms. Should not this management skill include letting people voice out their frustrations because if there is no Namewee and others like him, the government would think that being in power is so easy. If the government knows how to threaten their very own people in various ways and to make them compete unhealthily, shouldn’t they take their own bitter medicine also ?
#41 by mwt on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 9:16 pm
The apology initiated by MCA, encouraged by Zainnuddin and arranged by the Health Minster backfired. Cabinet spokesman Nazri said Wee committed an offence against the Nation and the Rule of Laws applied.
Yes the laws be applied but must be fairly and not selectively. DAP Sec Gen Lim G E suffered for it and when the seditions act was applied to the SMS woman, Raja Sherina, what happened? – Nothing, no offence & no prosecution.
It was really a sham. When the news surfaced in Nov 06, there was a hue & cry over this SMS incitement when than 500 Muslims gathered to protest in front of a Catholic church in Silibin here following the spread of an SMS rumour that national mariner Datuk Azhar Mansor would be participating in the baptism of a group of Muslims there. The FRUs were there to maintain Public Order
The keris wielding party and other groups have been organizing protests to disrupt meetings and dialogues. The police always cited worries of Public Order and denied permits and venues for opposition & NGOs meeting. More details at
http://powerpresent.blogspot.com/2007/08/more-pics-video-namewee-rapper-apology.html
and a 17 sec clip (extracted by Bernama) from Wee’s video
#42 by devilmaster on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 9:39 pm
i was ROFLMAO when i read de facto Law Minister Nazri Aziz’s statement of action should be taken against YouTube and bloggers for posting images and contents that overstepped the boundaries on sensitive issues.
This totally confirmed Nazri as a HP6 cabinet minister. If Nazri could take any action against YouTube, I will salute all UMNOputras and their supporters. This type of statement if directed to hoodwink those kampung folks, maybe can la.. but dont try to insult the intelligence of the learned one like us.
#43 by sheriff singh on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 10:45 pm
Atom bomb the helpless small fry!! Atom bomb the helpless small fry!!
Thats about what the Cabinet did. The situation has turned about somewhat. Its not about the appropriateness of the rap. Its now about big government bullying an ordinary, helpless citizen using all the resources in its power.
They were “offended” by Meng Chee’s rap on our National Anthem. But really what Meng Chee said reflects the reality, but the Cabinet just cannot fathom it. Maybe they are old, belong to another era, just don’t and can’t get it anymore. Cobwebs clouding whatever’s left of their shrivelled brains.
Pak Lah says “tell me the truth” and our rapper raps it to him but the old geezer just don’t get it. Truth finds it very difficult to enter his mind, for him to digest. Is he senile?
One wonders what Samy Vellu (the Indian “hero”), Ong Ka Ting, Lim Keng Yaik, Minimouse Ongkili, Barney Dompok etc said at the meeting. Or were they just shivering in their pants?
Is Nazri (the “stupid, stupid, stupid”, “racist, racist, racist”, Minister)and Rais (the “Culture” Minister, honest) more powerful than Zam, the Minister of “Infotainment”?
And when somebody said last year that the Negaraku sounds like an old Hawaiian song, Mamula Moon, our “Culture and Heritage” Minister said “Shaddup. Don’t talk about it. Be patriotic. Be proud of our Heritage”.
Is MCA now confirmed dead or in a deep coma and the Minister of Health cannot help anymore? Is Lim Keng Yaik and the Gerakan now speechless for lack of saliva? And did Samy say “Its not an Indian problem, don’t get it into my “hair” “?
And will the Internal Security Department, the Immigration Officers, the Police, Rela members, Mat Rempits, the Culture Minister, the Law Minister, all the jing bangs, go after them illegal and legal Indonesians on some barmy night for singing “Terang Bulan” with gusto after they have had a few drinks with their girl friends?
Will our Hawaiian expatriate friend be arrested for singing “Mamula Moon” while playing his ukelele on his verandah?
Are them Indons and Hawaiians or any loyal, law abiding Bolehlanders be insulting their motherland if they do so and be liable for sedition?
Wah, this small episode has really turned into the “mother of all molehill issue”. Enough to cause unease in the Cabinet. They are really worried. Whats gonna happen to them at the next elections?
Itchy, itchy, ache!!
#44 by requiem87 on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 11:20 pm
UFOne , the human assets Pak Lah mentioned are bloodthirsty-kris-wielding umnoputras , HP6 ministers , elegantly silent ministers , yesmans and also mat rempits :)
#45 by requiem87 on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 11:22 pm
i forgot to mention , the legendary cyber-troopers….
#46 by badak on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 11:48 pm
Ahh ya.. why only made noise on the net B.N skin so thick nothing we say can hurt them.. let us talk with our votes during the General election
.But then again the way they cheat during election how to win because when come to election time the amount of money they throw around can make you forget the rape ,the corruption, and all the money they have rob from you.
B.N next time can buy my vote … dream on
#47 by Jonny on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 11:59 pm
We have to thank Namewee in one way or another.
Not condoning his action or what. But the reaction from the full giant machinery of the govt and them continuously making a full of themselves.
It just speeds up the end being nearer to them.
#48 by kun9999 on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 12:00 am
Next GE, vote any1 beside BN.
#49 by requiem87 on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 12:01 am
Namewee is my hero ~!!
#50 by Bigfoot on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 12:06 am
Doesn’t the Cabinet have many more important things to discuss than Namawee’s video? There are so many other pressing issues, but this is all they discuss. It doesn’t say much for our Cabinet.
If UMNO is serious about supporting its fellow BN partner, MCA, they would drop this matter. More so in the light that General Elections are coming up. However, UMNO is showing great disrespect for MCA, which went out of its way to get Namawee to apologize, which he did.
In fact, Namawee’s video is tame compared to many things that keris-waving UMNO members have done. Yet none of them have ever been brought to justice.
What’s more, if UMNO wishes to speak about desecration of the National Anthem, they should look at how our beloved Malaysian flag was desecrated by Indonesian protestors, which incidentally included Islamic school students. Not only was it trampled on, it was burned as well. So where was our PM, and UMNO in general, when all this was occuring? Why didn’t they send a formal diplomatic protest note to Indonesia? Why the double standards, in how they treat something that is far worse, ie. flag burning by Indonesian protestors, to something that is relatively tame, Namawee’s video?
http://www.malaysia-today.net/Blog-e/2005/03/malaysian-flags-trampled-on-burned-in.htm
http://www.suanie.net/2005/03/24/look-here-my-indonesian-neighbours/