Chan Kong Choy and RM4.6b Port Klang Free Zone scandal – explain, Royal Commission of Inquiry or resign as Transport Minister

Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy should resign as Transport Minister if he is not prepared to break his four-year silence on the RM4.6 billionh Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal or secure Cabinet approval on Wednesday to establish a Royal Commission of Inquiry to bare all the facts about the scandal.

Since becoming Transport Minister 2003, Chan had studiously ignored queries about the multi-billion ringgit malpractices and cost overruns at the Port Klang Free Zone, which had ballooned from a RM1.1 billion “self-financing” project which did not require a single sen of public funds to a RM4.6 billion scandal requiring government bail out using taxpayers’ monies.

As the latest Sun expose on the PKFZ scandal revealed today, “red tape, political meddling, inaccurate minutes and attempted tax evasion real reasons Port Klang Free Zone deal collapsed”.

Sun reporter R. Nadeswaran said in his commentary, “Bring PKFZ culprits to book”:

It was then the biggest financial fiasco in the country’s history — the Bumiputra Malaysia Finance (BMF) scandal of the Eighties which prompted the government to set up a Royal Commission of Inquiry. The amount involved was less than RM2 billion.

Today, we have on our hands a scandal that would put the BMF affair in the shadows. More than RM4.6 billion has been spent on the Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ), and behind the massive expenditure is an intrigue of family deals, demands, interference by politicians and government officers with vested interests, attempts at tax evasion, gigantic cost over-runs, unauthorized payments, influence peddling, cloak-and-dagger operations, and above all, a total lack of transparency and accountability and care-a-damn attitude by the key personalities involved.

When Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi became Prime Minister, he had promised an end to such scandals of corruption, abuses of power, malpractices and total unaccountability.

As I said at the Muar DAP Dinner on Saturday night, the whole weight of government machinery should be brought to bear to bring to book all the crooks and criminals responsible for the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone scandal, diverting RM4.6 billion of public funds which could be better used to improve the livelihood of Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazans and Ibans from the lower income groups, instead of the recent government obsession to persecute and demonize a 24-year-old student from Muar, Wee Meng Chee for his six-minute video-clip Negarakuku speaking unpleasant truths and which had attracted over a million visits on YouTube.

It will appear that for the first time in Barisan Nasional history, the first major scandal to erupt in a new premiership will come from a Ministry headed by a MCA Minister.

This makes it even more compelling that Chan must come clean on the whole RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal, have a Royal Commission of Inquiry or resign his Cabinet post.

1. #1 by fabm on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 5:44 pm

Up to 2003, Ling Liong Sik is the Transport Minister and Mahathir is the Prime Minister.

The land purchase by PKFZ was agreed upon in 2002 and the development of PKFZ was started in 2003. A project of this magnitude must have been started with the full knowledge and approval of both the Transport Minister and Prime Minister at that time. They should also be accountable for approving this project.

A Better Malaysia

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 6:13 pm

Iskandar Development Region. Northern Corridor Economic Region. Then now Pak Lah proposes another similar Corridor for Kelantan and trengganu by the end of this year.

But they cannot get just one simple white elephant like PKFZ right. And we hear all these corrupt practices, bullying, bureaucracy etc etc right.

Heck. No wonder Harry Lee from down south warns his potential investors to be wary when investing in IDR or in Bolehland. Them Arabs from the mid-East have learnt the hard way that their brothers in Bolehland are out to take them for a ride.

Yes!! Royal Commission time. But will it ever be meaningful if we use IPCMC as a bechmark?

What has the “elegantly silent” PM got to say about this, he having been given advanced notice and warning by the investors? Will the Tun now have a ballistic missile now against his successor?

And you wonder why Wee Meng Chee was so “frus” when he aired his frustrations aloud? Who now is the “bad boy”?

The Minister of Transport and Air Asia spokesman owes us explanations big time.

3. #3 by smeagroo on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 6:24 pm

More projects to plunder before they retire or get kick out.

Recent survey already said that most ppl are not ready to retire or funds insufficient. But of cos our leaders all can even retire now.

Just let the rakyat and next generation pay the debt.

Happy 50th whatever!

4. #4 by shortie kiasu on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 6:37 pm

That is the tip of another iceberg.

There are many more icebergs whose tips have yet to surface.

That what Abdullah claimed to be his style of good and transparent governance under his premiership.

It is real let down and disappointment.

5. #5 by smeagroo on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 7:19 pm

You say PKFZ is in deep shit but how come they hv money to even advertise in The Star today? The facilites not even completed. What re they gonna provide to the ppl who are gonna use it?

It is a ghost town la. See how they can continue to spend like there is no tomorrow.

Are we still secular or otherwise? What a load of rubbish.

KUDOS!

6. #6 by AhPek on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 7:36 pm

RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone scandal is a scandal of mammoth scale even though it is only in riggit terms.And Mr. Prime Minister,Sir,how come you are still elegantly silent on this?I would safely say most Malaysians would expect you to cry foul and go after the jugular vein of the culprit or culprits!!!
    How come there is such a hue and cry for the blood of Wee Meng Chee who is articulating his frustrations about the unfair play perpetuated on non Malays (included all non Malay bumiputras) whereby at least 40% of Malaysians would resonate with his sentiments.HE HASN”T DONE ANY HARM OR DAMAGE TO HIS COUNTRY.For all we know he loves his country far more than most of you in government.
    Didn’t you come on board riding high on the wave of ‘Mr.Clean” image?Your rhetorics “Work with me, don’t work for me.” ,”I am the No1 civil servant.”, “I am Prime Minister for all Malaysians.”.They sounded so nice to my ears when I first heard those but now they make me puke.YOU HAVE NOT DONE ANYTHING SINCE YOU CAME ON BOARD.Sorry this is my perception — you prove me wrong.

7. #7 by requiem87 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 8:21 pm

Aiya…MCA are nothing but thieves and robbers la… Ong Kah Chuan robbed RM6 million from the citizens of Ipoh Timur , Ipoh Barat and Batu Gajah ~! He simply use those money for donation or rather buying for votes….i wonder how many million slipped into his and his cronies pockets :)

8. #8 by undergrad2 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 8:31 pm

“.Sorry this is my perception — you prove me wrong.” AhPek

You’re too kind in the choice of words for this PM. I prefer to call a spade a spade. I think he does not have what it takes to be a leader. As CEO I would demote him to office boy because that’s what he has been doing – carrying messages and keeping his bosses in touch with one another, and being exploited in the process.

I think he has brought shame to the office he holds.

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 8:35 pm

For this Prime Minister, the presumption of guilt applies rather than the presumption of innocence. He should be worried about his political legacy, how history is going to remember him – but he is not bothered.

He cannot hold the pieces together and so he might as well have his piece.

10. #10 by observer on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 9:05 pm

The whole BN is rotten, even a diam diam minsister who is so eloquent in Chinese literature had stoop so low.. wonder who is going to save us the oppressed malaysian.. Who can dispensed justice in our bolehland…

11. #11 by Godfather on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 9:10 pm

This is the classic Barisan Ali Baba modus operandi. The man behind the developer is Azim, who is the treasurer of UMNO. The Malays need the Chinese to plan, to execute, so they rope in some Chinamen by throwing them some crumbs. In comes Ling Liong Sik and Chan Kong Choy. They even have a connected businesswoman, OC Phang, to run the show.

Those they can’t bribe, they intimidate, they remove from their posts. Consultants were replaced or warned. Fortunately for the country, and unfortunately for UMNO, the operator was a subsidiary of Dubai World. Mohamed Sultan Sulayem was recently featured in the Tribune as one of the shrewdest businessmen in the Middle East. He controls an empire bigger than the foreign exchange reserves of Bolehland. Can you imagine that even his letters to Chan Kong Choy went unanswered ? Who did they think they were dealing with ?

Of course PKA has to be bailed out – the money had already gone out of the door, to pay for sewing machines for the elections, to pay for angpows and green packets for the elections. The bulk, however, had gone into the pockets of a few in UMNO, with crumbs thrown to the MCA.

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2006.
    “Work with me, not work for me.” AAB, 2004
    “I am the nation’s No. 1 servant.” AAB, 2007

These people are all thieves, whichever way you look at it. And that UMNO poodle RealWorld had the temerity to ask us where is the proof that UMNO has stolen from the rakyat.

12. #12 by Godfather on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 9:20 pm

SATU LAGI PROJEK BARISAN NASIONAL.

CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG.

13. #13 by k1980 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 9:28 pm

Which race is best described by the statistics below? http://powerpresent.blogspot.com/2007/08/more-pics-500-malaysian-indians-protest.html
    “They make up 14% of its juvenile delinquents, 20% of its wife and child beaters and 41% of its beggars. They make up less than 5% of the successful university applicants.” May God have mercy on their souls
    A. The Malays
    B. The Chinese
    C. The Kadazandusuns
    D. The Indians

14. #14 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 9:29 pm

I agree fully with what YB LKS has written.

What strikes me is the abject poverty of ideas and leadership in Chan Kong Choy. Good grief, he certainly can’t go beyond being an humdrum executive in any good office of repute. How did he get to be a Minister?

MCA must be so ridden with cliques and factions that they provide a fence for people who have been bought and are obedient to their masters-lobbyists! Can’t understand the MCA mess and their loss of scruples! Big damning shame and a disgrace to the Chinese community they purport to represent.

High time the Malaysian Chinese kick MCA out along with Ong KA Ting and Chan Kong Choy in the next GE with their clogs and flip-flops. The surest way to signal Malaysian Chinese’ displeasure, disappointment and disillusionment with MCA is to make sure OKTing and ChanKChoy lose their deposits in the next election. MCA will then learn that it doesn’t pay to be a pariah poodle.

15. #15 by k1980 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 9:32 pm

Who is this super-rich fellow?
    “I am the nation’s No. 1 holiday-maker, going away on holiday every 2 weeks per month.”
    A. YB Lim Kit Siang
    B. Samy Velloo
    C. Dollah Badawi
    D. George W Bush

16. #16 by dawsheng on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 10:20 pm

Prime Minister Abdullh Badawi is “Bapa Gajah Putih Malaysia”!!! Hahahaha….

17. #17 by smeagroo on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 11:24 pm

Puppet Minister going for holiday again. Yahoo.

Putrajaya monkeys again rule the world.

I think Chan “King Kong” is not fit to be a transport minister. He can join the group of apes in PUtrajaya and have a field time.

Disgrace to the chinese.

How I wish these few stupid ministers appraoch me in public while doing their stupid publicity stunts like taking a ride on LRT “once upon a time” to show the Msians that they too can “change lifestyles”, giving out flags at toll booths so that I can warn them not to deface my car, and giving out angpows / duit raya during festive season and chide them for stealing my money and giving me back peanuts.

18. #18 by sheriff singh on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 11:57 pm

Chan Kong Choy. Please have the decency and dignity to resign right now. What have you got to lose? Tony already reserved the Chairmanship for you. Quickly go before he changes his mind.

And why is Shahrir so quiet these days? Has the Public Accounts Committee lost interest in everything? And shouldn’t the Auditor General and his boys be looking at the books now? Why is the Minister of Finance 1 and 2 not interested in why the Transport Ministry gave financial support and guarantees without their knowledge? Did they exceed their authority? Under BAFIA, BNM would have stepped in already.

This incident has tarnished our image as far as Middle East investors are concerned. They tried to legitimately invest here and we tried to rip them off big time. We thought they were dumb and had alot of money to throw away. So we inflated everything for them to foot the big bill and our con-men get rich big time at their expense. Unfortunately they have used their money wisely and hired good people to advise them and found out our scam. Now they walk away and our con-men will now have to answer for the big hole. They are now caught with hot potatoes in their hands.

With that kind of money, we could have built two or more bridges to Penang Island and do not need Chinese money. Or build a highway to Kota Baru. And built 4-5 crooked bridges to the red dot. Hospitals, schools etc. Just imagine.

Kong Choy, you paying attention? Pak Lah, you awake?

19. #19 by hasilox on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:03 am

Resign?! No way man.
    There is more money flowing in from the bail out package. New year celebration is a bit early this year *slurp*

20. #20 by sean on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:19 am

Well as the head of MCA always telling the people”..life long learning education”in his elegant batik shirt….hmmm….i guess some people may be mistakenly learning the wrong “education”from most of the leaders from that party afterall.

21. #21 by melurian on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:20 am

no, he MUST not resign, or else his seat will be taken by umno just like finance.

22. #22 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:24 am

In Thailand, when a white elephant is sighted, it is a good omen, an auspicious sign and time for celebrations.

In Bolehland, when a white elephant is uncovered, it is a bad omen, an inauspicious sign and time for excuses, cover-ups and bail-outs.

Its a cultural thing.

23. #23 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:31 am

Malaysia is the land flowing with milk and honey. One can make money in good times and bad times. In honest biz and crooked biz.

Truly MalaysiaL

24. #24 by mendela on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:35 am

Let me tell you, the Iskandar Development Region and Northern Corridor Economic Region all will become white elephants in no time.

My Deloitte friends who were asked to advise the Gomen told me that most of the decisions were made with self interest came first by most of the decision makers.

All these projects would need many more RM 4.6B to bail out!

The problem is: We can afford how many more RM 4.6Bs ?

25. #25 by Rocky on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:35 am

the UMNO buggers only go after small flies. The bigger issues, they look away. Classic case is rpk, boy they rush to police station and forget the evidence. Will they rush to the police station for this case? Hell no.

Piiiiiilah!!! Puiiiiiii!!!

26. #26 by ablastine on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:44 am

It is strange isn’t it, politics. The MCA leaders had they not been subserviant to their UMNO master they could not possibly become Minister. That I can understand. What I cannot understand is why do people vote for all these running dogs time and again. They almost do nothing for their community except making unilateral compromises, trading minority rights for personal gains and resonate UMNO whimps and fancies. When Mr Lee Kwan Yew pointed out that their people are marginalise, they are the first to deny it. When Wee Meng Chee is taken to task for his patriotic outburst they add salt to wound with their own condemnation. At least we identify Hishammudin by his keris waving and Khairi for his mad dog cries. They at least are doing their work as their position in UMNO demands it. But heck these MCA chappies what have they done. Yet when election time comes people come out in horde to vote them in. It just doesn’t make sense to me.

27. #27 by art-upon-mu on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 1:22 am

Do you expect Chan Kong Choy to open his mouth on this matter? The company awarded the rights to develop the PKFTZ is Kuala Dimensi, whose current chairman is UMNO treasurer Datuk Azim Zabidi. A soft whisper by Azim will get CKC shaking, if not pissing/shitting, in his pants.

Don’t worry, RM4.6 billion bailout is only a small sum compared with the income of Petronas.

With the launch of north, south, and east economic corridors, more goodies are on their way to Umnoputras. Happy days are here again!

28. #28 by lchk on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 1:41 am

Where are the UMNO apologists in this thread?

Strangely silent.

29. #29 by raven77 on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 2:16 am

Cant believe this…..thought all this time that the Bumis inexperience and cockups were responsible for the shit we are in….but in the Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal, almost all the characters are MCA lunatics who actually thought they could get away with this con……..and why did they have to treat this Jebel guys like gangsters……..kasi malu negara …..zero integrity….willing to cheat anyone just to make a buck…….but after Machap had very much given up hope on the Chinese community………..no principles…..

30. #30 by raven77 on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 2:17 am

Cant believe this…..thought all this time that the Bumis inexperience and cockups were responsible for the dump we are in….but in the Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal, almost all the characters are MCA lunatics who actually thought they could get away with this con……..and why did they have to treat this Jebel guys like gangsters……..kasi malu negara so that can songlap money just as in the LCCT case…..zero integrity….willing to cheat just to make a buck…….but after Machap had very much given up hope on the Chinese community………..no principles…..

31. #31 by Godfather on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 5:00 am

There will be no inquiry, no recriminations. The mainstream papers will be told not to write about it. UMNO is involved, and clearly they are being abetted by MCA. Why would they want to wash dirty linen in public ?

So in the best traditions of this BN government, there will be stony silence, in the hope that over time, people will forget. There will be more angpows to be given out at elections, and hopefully there will be no further outcry. Stealing has been honed into a fine art by these people.

Only thing that remains for these clowns is how to deal with Semi Value who must be really upset that the Indians are marginalised again – even in crime. He must be banging on Chan Kong Choy’s door now asking for his cut.

32. #32 by sotong on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 7:23 am

Please resign to set a good example for other Ministers to follow!

33. #33 by sotong on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 7:32 am

All the smaller component parties in BN like MCA, MIC, Gerakan and etc.. probably benefited from bad leadership and governanace of the country.

This is probably one of the reasons they kept very quiet.

34. #34 by bystander on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 7:40 am

The Sultan of Selangor should insist getting to the bottom with no stones unturned and bring all culprits responsible for this financial debacle to book. Heads must roll to set example.

35. #35 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 9:03 am

What if Elections Commission ‘selectively’ deletes some names on the pretext they are ‘uncontactable’? Read on (found STAR online):

“He said a circular would be out soon to explain the indelible ink to political parties.

Abdul Rashid said that only one of the 22,433 voters registered under the eight-digit identity card whose names were displayed by the EC last month had come forward to verify the status.

The Treasury, he said, had allocated RM3.6mil for the EC to trace the remaining 22,432 based on the locality they first registered as voters.

The exercise, he said, would take about a month from September to complete and names that could not be traced would be struck off the roll. “

36. #36 by Bobster on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 9:21 am

Foreign investors are pulling out of the country due to failure in the system which full of red tapes, bureaucracy, inefficiency etc. We are here talking about one of the biggest Middle East investor arm pulling out of the country showing very serious sign of blunder in the administration. Why the government continue to remain silent hoping the case will be forgotten??!! No action taken against those in charged? As usual, case close in the end?!! Nobody responsible?! Shocking Unbelievable!

Personally I have met one Taiwanese investor packing his back leaving the country to China cursing and swearing about the gomen, full red tapes and bureaucracy. Told me he can get things done much better in China, what for invests here!

NCER and IDR both depend heavily on foreign investors. If the government continue the tidak apa attitude, no hope for the country! Hey, Mr Government, foreign investors are doing us a favor investing in our country and create jobs. Why all these red tapes, 30% share and nonsense. They have many other options, heck why must invest in this country?! #$^*^%!

37. #37 by k1980 on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 9:29 am

Will BrightChild Chan take the honourable step and commit suicide?
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/Frontpage/20070814074346/Article/index_html
    Was this ill-fated vehicle a “bus potong” (cut-and-joined)? The experts said most Malaysian buses were of substandard quality, causing them to split into two during an impact.The reason for this is that the four main frames of a bus were welded when the frames should be single pieces from the roof to the bottom of the bus.

Malaysia Design Council member Sulik Suleiman Salleh said most of the local buses had a weak body structure. “Don’t be fooled by the external appearance. The welding and engineering of buses here are questionable.” From his research, Sulik discovered that the upright pillar was made up of two pieces welded together. “Buses in most developed countries have solid frames and do not collapse during impact.”

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/Frontpage/20070814073702/Article/index_html
    “I don’t get a basic salary or any other benefits like EPF or Socso,” he said…”I need to spend 10 to 14 hours on the road and make at least three trips a day in order to make the bare minimum.”

Another driver was more eloquent. “I have been an express bus driver for 17 years and still have not managed to buy a house. That will tell you how much I earn. “I don’t have a basic salary, no medical benefits, nothing.”

The 39-year-old, who gets paid RM50 for each round trip between here and Butterworth, said he made RM1,100 a month working 10 hours a day and up to 20 days at a stretch.”We are under tremendous pressure to drive faster and longer just to make enough to meet our needs.” He admitted to dozing off while behind the wheel on many occasions. He blamed this on exhaustion. “Some drivers resort to drugs like syabu to stay awake.”

38. #38 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 9:51 am

Chan Kong Choy will not resign. He was placed in the Ministry as a rubber stamp. And he not only looks the part but he also performs well as a good rubber stamp.

A rubber stamp just stamps when required. No questions asked.

39. #39 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 9:52 am

Please tally up the total losses made thru the 4 years under SLeepy PM and divide them by 26million citizens. See how much each of us have lost out. If divided by let’s say rm10million poor citizens, they would hv upgraded their living standards. Now that’s changing lifestyle my dear DPM.

PLease harp on such issues to reach the poor folks especially those in kampung2. THey hv been voting for the same dung every GE.

Time to smell something fresh!

40. #40 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 10:01 am

Badawi waste of money did not began with PKFZ, first, the crooked bridge in Johor which ended up getting spend but no bridge, the Monsoon cup in Terenganu, the Eye of Malaysia which is now losing money. The Second Penang Bridge will also lose money, you wait and see. IDR already a failure before it begin (what is happening now is a rescue really and depend on Singapore doing it for them). NCER, Kedah-Kelantan oil pipelines, all these are doomed to failures…

Badawi has no talent for great ideas, he is an administrator and best when he remain so. The problem is the job calls for great ideas which is why he legacy could be destroyed if he does too many of these project.

41. #41 by raverus on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 10:30 am

‘Masuk poket, masuck poket’. Somehow it just hit our mind again and again. Pathetic…

42. #42 by shiver on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 11:18 am

im not paying for this bail out.
    screw the “barang naik”

43. #43 by k1980 on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 11:38 am

Will Malaysia end up like this?
    “This is Captain Dollah speaking. On behalf of my crew, I’d like to welcome you on board Malaysia Boleh Spaceship from KL to Kuching. We are currently flying at a height of 35,000 feet midway across the South China Sea. If you look out of the windows on the starboard side of the aircraft, you will observe that both the starboard engines are on fire.

If you look out of the windows on the port side, you will observe that the Port wing has fallen off. If you look down towards the South China Sea, you will see a little yellow life raft with three people in it waving at you. That’s me your captain, my wife, and the co-pilot. This is a recorded message. Thank you for flying with us”

44. #44 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 11:43 am

PKFZ is a ghost town and this scandal received much publicity yesterday. My Chinese friends told me it also coincided with the beginning of the yearly Hungry Ghost month. How timely and appropriate. Any more skeletons in the cupboards?

45. #45 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 11:45 am

The prime minister of Malaysia will remain ‘elegant silence’ on all national issues.

1. rm 4.6 billion disaster was not a problem only realised last week. it was and is a problem since inception of the so called first class infrastructure. who is the chairman of the pkfz ?

2. chan kong choy will never resigned. period. non of our malaysian cabinet ministers, deputy ministers, parliamentary secretaries, excos will ever , ever have the nobility and courage to resign. this is a fact. so yb lim. forget it.

3. once upon a time, a son of a tun, was a billionaire at a very tender age of 20+. he was certainly flying very high, before he parachuted down. now he even hold senior position in the party. So lets be rational. crows of the same colours flock together.

4. this is not the first nor is it the last scandal to affect our beloved Malaysia. but unfortunately Malaysians have short short memories . you deserve who you voted. did you vote ? are you a registered voter? and did you vote rightly?

5.i must add on that the deputy prime minister is on leave with effect from yesterday, to somewhere , while we malaysians are deem unpatriotic to celebrate the Merdeka. some reports stated two weeks, some unknown time, to an unknown country. so much of being Patriotic for a leader , so much for asking me,to cuti cuti Malaysia.

6. The prime minister complained about the public ( me ) that i dont know how to maintain buildings and roads and bridges. It is reported in the NST .( if for reason of sedition – nst instigated me ). how in goodness sake, that i am responsible for the collapsed roofs of many government buildings ? its the government that chose and pick their contractors , their buddies, and the decision of the price . since when am i responsible for the ceiling falling down !!!!!!!!!!. what a joke.

7. back to this white elephant. either the epf or petronas will be the white knight. it happened before, it will happen again. Of course unless, malaysians decide the future of Malaysia . have you decided ?

8.HRH Sultan of Selangor and HRH Raja Nazrin have spoken. will the government listens. they better do. ( it’s sedition to disobey the Sultan ) . By the way YB Lim, what happened to your mr. ronnie police report . I swear he told me at dang wangi that within six weeks , if the police do not take action, he can apply to the court .!! that ‘s what he claimed.

9.YB lim. you dont need a soothsayer to know that the opposition will gain lots of mileage from this coming election. This is not because the opposition is STRONG , BUT BECAUSE THE BARISAN IS WEAK. but do learn from history why the pendulum swings left and right every one term. Be a party for all malaysians first. tackle the bread and butter issues first. Rhetorics are best left within the August House.

freedom of speech is allowed. no malice intended.

46. #46 by lakshy on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 11:49 am

I believe this issue was reported to ACA not once but several times. And ACA has investigated. But since no action was taken probably everything was in order and it means the green light probably comes from waaaay up.

So everything ok bah!

47. #47 by shortie kiasu on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 11:49 am

Recently appointed PKA Chairman Chow Chee Hor (MCA Kedah) who replaced Yap Pian Hong (MCA Serdang) told the Star reporter he has no comment to make, very busy with meeting, so is Madm Pang, retired but reappointed many times, as if there is a dearth of capable people who has not retired to handle the post and the job, fantastic, but she and her team mess up the whole project and squandered billions and some may enrich themselves somehow, no one knows until the JV partner pulled out and spill the beans, to be pick up by the reporters, especially those from theSun, leader in investigative reportings in this country.

Now that the tips of iceberg has emerged above the surface, Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had asked Chan Kong Choy to explain. But we just wonder, the project started long before Chan Kong Choy took over the Ministership, don’t Ling Liong Sik be asked to explain too? He was the fish head then that rots.

48. #48 by lakshy on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 11:58 am

He got his Tunship..so he is beyond our courts! See how they looka after their people!

Malaysia! malaysia!…..how much longer must we endure?

49. #49 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:01 pm

shortie kiasu.

you are so right. i respect you SIR/MADAM. i adore you.

but again the Star is owned by mca. spare the reporter . cari makan saja.

the plots thickens. so who is this madam pang ? do you know ?

all belong to mca. i think.

( PRIME MINISTER WILL ASK KONG CHAI TO EXPLAIN )

what is there to explain? damaged done.
    you scratch my toes, i scratch your toes.

50. #50 by lakshy on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:16 pm

Her name is Datin Paduka O.C. Phang

Following taken from PKA website:-

PKA General Manager Appointed PKFZ Chairman

Port Klang Authority, General Manager, Datin Paduka O.C.Phang has been appointed the Chairman of Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) by the Minister of Transport.

PKFZ is wholly owned by PKA and is the biggest development project undertaken by the Authority since the privatization of port services nearly two decades ago.

Datin Paduka Phang is also the 1st Vice President of the International Association of Ports & Harbors (IAPH), the first Malaysian and first woman to attain such a position in the association. She was also a past chairman of the ASEAN Ports Association at the regional level and ASEAN Ports Association, Malaysia (the local chapter).

Datin Paduka has been the General Manager of PKA since September 1997.

51. #51 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:23 pm

thks lakshy.

with such resume, can also screw up.

now that answers Mahatir comments on brain drain.
    why the good and brainy dont come back to serve the country we love.

even being with such great resume. also screw up.
    how? the question is WHY?

52. #52 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:27 pm

THKS LAKSHY.

quite an impressive resume.

53. #53 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 2:26 pm

Adam Yong said:
    “even being with such great resume. also screw up.
    how? the question is WHY?”

Why? If you put a rose into a stinking garbage bin, the rose will still turn rotten and smell.

This issue must not be allowed to be swept under the carpet. Leading up to the GE, the Opposition must continue to bring it up to the rakyat so that those who raped and pillaged the taxpayers are made to pay for their crimes one way or another. And this includes those connive and abetted them in this dastardly deed.

54. #54 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 3:11 pm

So what is DAP and PKR gonna do now? Toll increase got demo. How about this? This is daylgiht robbery.

Shouldnt we parade our arses around Putrajaya?

55. #55 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 3:15 pm

Usually those who screw up got big big titles in front of them.

56. #56 by justiciary on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 5:02 pm

These shameless leaders should learn from PRC.Go and catch the corrupted big fish,the not so serious ones,put them in jail for life and the serious ones put them in front of the firing squad.Then you do not have to take loan from China to build the second Penang bridge.