Welcome, Jeff Ooi, Malaysia’s pre-eminent blogger to DAP and Malaysian politics!
Jeff has created waves in the Malaysian blogosphere. We await a tsunami from him in the political arena.
Jeff’s statement of the reasons for joining the DAP is an eloquent expression of patriotism of a Malaysian, illustrating that patriotism is an integral part of all Malaysians and not the monopoly only of those who hold office or high positions. This makes the 50th Merdeka anniversary particularly significant.
Recently, one political upstart said:
“It is the law of the jungle and we need to take action against one ‘monkey’.
“I think the other ‘monkeys’ will also get scared.
“They are not above the law.”
This upstart was referring to Malaysian blogs. Apart from his loyal following, he will not find much agreement from bloggers.
It is regrettable to see the use of such derogatory language and the debasement in the standard of public discourse.
Many however will agree if his description is applied to public and political life, especially with regard to corruption, crime and public accountability and transparency where the rule of law appears to have been replaced by the law of the jungle.
There will also be considerable agreement as to the identity of such “monkeys” in the law of the jungle of public life and politics.
But will any action be taken against one “monkey” so that the other “monkeys” will also get scared and the country can begin to see the restoration of integrity, efficiency and effectiveness in public and political life?
I do not want to use the “monkey” language but this will be one of the challenges of Jeff Ooi, together with others in the political arena, to fight back the creeping law of the jungle and to restore the rule of law in Malaysian political and public life.
It has been said that Jeff Ooi’s decision to join the Opposition is a loss to blogging.
It should not be so. It should be a gain to both politics and blogging in Malaysia, enriching both.
I will like to see more politicians taking up blogging and more bloggers entering politics.
After all, blogging particularly socio-political blogging is not an end by itself but a means to an end and a time must come when bloggers must decide whether they should “dirty their hands” and make the transition from advocacy of their political ideals in cyberspace to enter the political terrain to be able to directly translate their ideals into action.
There is the perception that politics is dirty. It it is not politics that is dirty.. Politics is an honourable calling demanding conviction, passion, selflessness and sacrifice. If politics is regarded as dirty, it is the politicians who make politics dirty. Let bloggers get directly involved in politics to cleanse and rid it of “dirty”, unscrupulous and unprincipled politicians!
This welcoming party for Jeff Ooi to is significant both for Malaysian blogging and Malaysian politics.
It coincides with the 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations which should be a milestone to assess both our achievements and failures in five decades of nation-building so as to chart the nation’s course for the coming decades. It also takes place in the midst of a “war on blogs” declared by the powers-that-be, demonstrating that the those in power have not come to terms with the influence and implications of the new media.
We are at the end of the fourth year of the Abdullah premiership which had received the unprecedented mandate of 91% of parliamentary seats in the 2004 general election. There is now a full-blown crisis of confidence over the lack of political will of the Prime Minister to honour his reform pledges and agenda to lead a clean, incorruptible, efficient, accountable, trustworthy and democratic administration which is highly competitive to face the challenges of globalisation with world-class institutions like world-class civil service, world-class police, world-class universities, world-class judiciary, world-class Parliament, etc staffed by towering Malaysians.
But we have yet to make a real start in this direction while in many instances, we have regressed and gone backwards.
We, including bloggers, have to pick up the pieces. I call on more bloggers to emulate Jeff Ooi to make the 50th Merdeka anniversary a catalyst for a political commitment to create an united, progressive, democratic and just Malaysia where all Malaysians are proud of the country and can walk tall in the world.
I look forward to see Jeff Ooi and other bloggers taking their places in the next Parliament and State Assemblies to create a better Malaysia for ourselves, our children and our children’s children.
(Speech at the “Jeff Ooi’s Welcoming Party” as member of DAP in Petaling Jaya on Tuesday, 31st July 2007 at 11 am)

#1 by Taikor on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 2:09 pm
Not for me!
It’s very disappointing to know that such a dishonest and uncouth person would taint the party.
I hope his problem only confines to himself and not the whole party.
#2 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 2:18 pm
Taikor,
Who are u refering to?
#3 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 2:30 pm
Yes, Taikor, who are you refering to? And whatever resons please air it right now?
#4 by kleptocrats on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 2:49 pm
It is obvious who he is referring to but why?
#5 by a-malaysian on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 2:50 pm
WELCOME JEFF OOI
Another booster to power this great Rocket and remember this Rocket is going to take our very first malaysian into space and not umno or the barang naik(bn) government.
Three Cheers For DAP
For those who do not agree, like poster Taikor, think out of the box and weigh the differences.
50 years is ENOUGH
Vote For A Change
Vote For Any Opposition
Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.
#6 by requiem87 on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 3:03 pm
It is now the time to restore the 3rd vote ~!
#7 by k1980 on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 3:06 pm
Where, where tell me where else in the universe can a jobless, obnoxious monkey of a son-in-law get RM 9 million a month?
http://rockybru.blogspot.com/2007/07/jeff-oois-tea-party.html
…if a RM9 million ringgit*, jobless, obnoxious monkey of a son-in-law can be elevated to such a high seat in Malaysian politics, don’t you dare tell me a blogger has no business stepping into the ring.
#8 by burn on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 3:10 pm
pernah bekerjasama dengan jeff ooi. a very hardworking and honest guy. di harap, he will boost DAP further. only thing DAP miss out… kaum bumi!
#9 by Godfather on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 3:18 pm
Jeff Ooi needs to learn to keep his temper in check. We had a tiff some time over over his unnecessary bashing of Harry Lee, and he called me all sorts of names in his blog. Something like “small-minded minion”. Hope he learns to accept alternative and sometimes contrarian views.
#10 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 3:28 pm
yes Jeff also had a tiff with me calling me names like practising self-righteous when I chastised the ppl including him over some Akademi Fantasia sms votes.
Nevertheless, I wish him well and to me whoever sits in DAP will still get my family’s votes.
#11 by sybreon on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 3:29 pm
well, even if he doesn’t contribute in any other way, he would be a great noisemaker.. however, i’m still waiting to see what the new opposition line up can do.. at the moment, it’s still only promises..
#12 by devilmaster on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 3:37 pm
Jeff Ooi Parliament blog & his latest press statement.
http://parliament.jeffooi.com/
Welcome to DAP.
#13 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 3:38 pm
“Jeff Ooi needs to learn to keep his temper in check. We had a tiff some time over over his unnecessary bashing of Harry Lee, and he called me all sorts of names in his blog. Something like “small-minded minionâ€Â. Hope he learns to accept alternative and sometimes contrarian views.” – Godfather
‘Small minded minion’??? hahaha … ohh I bet that was really like a kick up the backside for a peacock like you. :)
So, tell me are you still in Europe or you are back in Malaysia?
#14 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 3:47 pm
It is obvious who he is referring to but why? – kleptocrats said.
Well MAYBE Taikor was comparing Blog Owner RPK’s defiant response to authorities over the allegedly offensive 11 comments disparaging the King and Islam to two cases involving Screenshot’s commenters: -
· One by the nick of “Anwar†who compared Islam Hadari and money politics in unsavory language in a posting of September 2004; and
· Another, IImran who posted “Somebody, please shoot this Gunasegaram for good†and had a run in with P. Gunasegaram, the executive editor of theSun and NexNews Groups.
In the above 2 cases, the commenters were made to account in one way or another due to official action whilst in Malaysia Today’s case, the 11 posters and their IPs are still unknown.
#15 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 4:23 pm
Common Law applies to human-beings only, and not to bloggers, since bloggers are classified as animals by a representative of the ruling government, who is also the sil of the pea-am.
#16 by kleptocrats on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 4:28 pm
Jeffrey,
I can understand what you trying to say. Well, Taikor may has something to add to his initial comment later.
To All,
Just thought of this. Can someone be liable if a racial/hatred etc remarks were posted on a different site, but retype (copy) as part of a reference, or a pointer, in a totally different comment with different meaning (by different person) posted in, again, a different blog, say in LKS blog. Will LKS be made liable too? Given that it is only a reference rather than a direct racial remarks spur on by the original writer’s article in a different blog? Or they just catch you using the exact “word by word” without taking the tune, the whole structure of the comments, the objective into consideration etc etc.
Hmmmzz…maybe I am just confuse over this whole racial, hatred remarks thingy.
#17 by mendela on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 4:38 pm
devilmaster said in Malaysia Today//BN only managed to secure 64% of the total votes. But they managed to get 92% of Parliament seats because of rural areas, some with only 3000-4000 voters only.
Foreign election watchdogs have been criticizing our Election process, when you see big constituency like Bukit Bintang having 50,000+ voters, whilst some small areas like in Pahang with just less than 7,000 voters, could also be considered as a Parliamentary seat.//
Yes, well said. In countries like Japan, it is illegal to have a constituency with numbers of voters bigger than twice of the smallest constituency. This is one of the main tricks why UMO is in power for so many years.
Our opposition parties needs to fight on such injustice and vote manipulations.
#18 by Godfather on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 4:52 pm
RealWorld:
An UMNO stooge will not fathom how I could write to blogs 24 hours a day. Unlike the cybertroopers paid by UMNO, I write and comment for my own pleasure. Jeff Ooi and I had a tiff, but he didn’t steal from the rakyat unlike your UMNO bosses, so I will vote for him anytime over any BN candidate. Heck, I may even campaign for him.
#19 by Godfather on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 4:54 pm
He called me a minion in the heat of the moment, just as I probably called him names in the heat of the moment, but we are united in a single purpose – to show the country that we should live without the UMNO thieves, cheats and liars.
#20 by ihavesomethingtosay on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 4:59 pm
One more good reason for not reading the controlled media such as The Star, The Straits Times, Sin Chew, Nan Yang, Oriental Daily, Berita Harian, Utusan etc.
Good on you Jeff, now if only Rocky will consider.
#21 by Godfather on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 5:02 pm
RealWorld:
The biggest liar of all has to be the UMNO President. He said “I am the country’s No.1 servant” right after the last elections. He has been sleeping ever since.
#22 by Taikor on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 5:08 pm
Mine wasn’t just a mere tiff or petty argument.
What could be worse than having your entire family being leveled with insults?! Sore loser!
We got into a misunderstanding and he started to attacked me with all sorts of imaginable verbal abuse. After much explanations and lengthy posts, as he began realise his BLUNDER, he gave me a last insult and banned me from responding to his allegations. I was denied the right to defend myself!
It was not the first time he exhibit his angst at me and fellow posters who expressed their views differently in his blog.
The last time we entered into explosive argument was also the last time I appear in his blog. It wasn’t a case of me deserting his site. He banned me!
I seriously doubt his sincerity to ‘serve the people’. Such a person, full of venom in his head, lacks credibility.
His joining of DAP might just be to pick up a fight with the UMNO goons.
Some people here might think it’s a good thing that he’s joining and adds DAP’s firepower. Don’t be too sure. He’s a coward! He’ll show his face when EVERYONE’S are shouting at the goons but if you think he’ll lead the charge, forget it.
#23 by Bobster on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 5:13 pm
Best wishes to Jeffery Ooi. Hope you will make a mark for the rakyat. Like to see more new blood from other races, people like RPK, Dr Azly Rahman, Ms Arbiga, Dr Azmi and many more to to join the opposition be it DAP or PKR and run for parliamentary seats. My family and friends will give you our vote.
This country needs talents who can rational issues beyond own race to lead. Not those ‘monkeys’ in the BN/UMNO running the Parliament, court house, town councils and country like a circus show, only know to play racial and religious cards to cover up own corrupt practice.
#24 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 5:16 pm
Hear, hear. Jeff Ooi’s entry into politics is one small loss to political fence-sitters and one Giant Leap for a Malaysian Malaysia.
Having followed Jeff’s Screenshots for so long, on an almost daily basis, (more ‘religiously’ than I have ever done for the STAR and none for NST – that’s the absolute truth!), one can detect unmistakably his conscience-of-the people’s approach to the varied issues confronting the common folks and the time and trouble he has expended to acquaint himself well with the nitty-gritty of those issues – be it tolls, petrol, police excesses etc. etc.
What awes me is that to be a conscience-of-the-people, Jeff would have to live with and face up to more stresses (perhaps harassments too) from the warped conscience that is the BN government.
The fact is not lost on Malaysians that for decades BN has murdered its conscience, strangled its scruples, screwed its morals, raped its ideals and anaesthesized/desensitised all its nerve roots to the extent that all BN component parties (UMNO, MCA, MIC, GERAKAN, PPP etc…) are now left with no more feeling for the people. BN leaders now only feel for their own pockets! Just look at all those multimillionaire BN ex-Ministers and ex-MPs!
The assemblage of Tony Pua, Jeff Ooi and others who have joined shoulders with the others in the DAP bandwagon i.e. YB LKS, KARpal, Guan Eng, Dr TAn Seng Giaw, Theresa Kok etc augurs well for a nation that’s fast falling apart at it’s seams.
Kudos to you, Jeff – for putting the nation’s weal before self.
Hear. Hear. Did I hear Jeff saying ‘Fellow Malaysians, lend me your ears’. Malaysians must give DAP a voice to speak on behalf of the Malaysian people. Even such fundamental liberties are now fettered by the clampdown and intimidation exerted upon bloggers.
So for freedom of expression, a moral conscience and MORE of a Malaysian Malaysia – VOTE DAP/PKR.
#25 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 5:30 pm
Godfather,
Lets put aside our debate for awhile.
Personally I rate Jeff Ooi (even though he is joining DAP) , unlike you I dont use one brush to paint the entire potrait. It is good to see some young professionals joining DAP, but I feel the party needs to have a more multi racial field.
I cant wait for the next GE … it will be interesting.
#26 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 5:31 pm
Taikor,
I think you should give it a rest.
#27 by k1980 on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 5:35 pm
These are what the past 50 years of independence have brought:-
the separation of powers, that is, legislative, executive and judicial, are being concentrated in the hands of a few persons,
the machinations of the ruling party and the excesses of its officials
a bloated yet hugely inefficient civil service,
declining academic institutions (especially tertiary institutions),
a rising yet uncontrollable crime rate,
rampant corruption right up to the highest level,
rampant frauds (especially unrelenting looting of the Treasury),
unabashed state-sponsored racism/religious bigotry wholly for political expediency,
stagnant and shrinking economy due to its inability to move up the value chain,
the shortage of talent/capital/FDI due to unfavorably skewed government policies/strategies
#28 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 5:36 pm
Recently, one political upstart said:
“It is the law of the jungle (UMNO’s laws???!!!) and we need to take action against one ‘monkey’.
“They are not above the law (UMNO’s laws???!!!).â€Â
Maybe the political upstart should stop ‘running around’ with frenzied squeals and debate on TV3 either Tony Pua or Jeff Ooi on “The blogosphere, not UMNO, operates like the law of the jungle” or something like that. Helluva clever little ‘Political Upstart’ can be given a handicap and even allowed to choose to be either Pembangkang or Pencadang. I’d be delighted to be the moderator but would be equally delighted to settle down as a mere listener in the audience. Malaysians would like to know how an Oxford political upstart performs against another Oxonian or a local USM boy, Jeff. Otherwise, cease and desist and forever hold your peace. Even third-graders with the connections and strong-enough strings can be an Oxonian. Or am I scandalously wrong?
#29 by grace on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 5:42 pm
“It is the law of the jungle and we need to take action against one ‘monkey’.
“I think the other ‘monkeys’ will also get scared.
“They are not above the law.â€Â
When those words were uttered it was meant Raja Petra for allegedly posting seditious articles on his blog.
Now that his father-in-law is found to be in the same boat as Raja Petra, I guess the former is the biggest monkey of them all!!!
Ha!Ha! Well done, Oxford Grad!!!
#30 by bystander on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 6:08 pm
I would vote for DAP but not Jeff. He is abrasive, offensive, obnoxious and thinks too highly of himself to become an opposition politician who is receptive to rakyats problems. Too many tiffs with too many ppl
#31 by citizen on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 6:08 pm
I think that ‘gorilla’ wanted to be a dominant.
#32 by bystander on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 6:17 pm
I fully concur with Taikor. Jeff Ooi is a sore loser and spineless and unprincipled. He lacks class and finesse.
#33 by Chong Zhemin on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 6:22 pm
I cant log in jeffooi.com and his new blog(jeff4malayisa) now. I believe the huge traffic might have caused this.
#34 by oedipus on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 6:28 pm
dear bystander, lets all hope that he will (he has to) learn to control his emotions better then! if he can, i am sure he will benifit the rakyat more and its a plus plus for us.
to be honest, we do need more young blood doing mature politics in malaysia. with kj on the other side, lets see how well they all square off.
#35 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 6:42 pm
RealWorld Says:
July 31st, 2007 at 17: 31.39
Taikor,
I think you should give it a rest.
———————————
Hmmm… make sense.
#36 by Zeebra on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 6:53 pm
He cannot work alone…..he need a party behind him to ……
#37 by bystander on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 6:53 pm
How can a not so young fart learn when he has no respect for elders and no humility like YB. He must apologise to all bloggers first for his offensive language and insults. Lets see whether he is prepared to come down to earth and be humble before taking on any greater challenge ahead. “It takes a great man to listen and a greater man to say he is sorry.”
#38 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 6:59 pm
I can see some unhappy people with Jeff Ooi joining DAP. Some even claimed that they will not vote for Jeff Ooi! What happened to your support for your party? Gone so fast already!!?
All those previous chest thumping i.e. “I will support DAP etc etc” is looking more like a show now.
#39 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 7:01 pm
“I would vote for DAP but not Jeff.” – bystander
Dont make sense, dude. If Jeff is contesting under DAP in your area, when you are in the polling box, you cannot want to vote only DAP but not Jeff.
#40 by negarawan on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 7:09 pm
Jeff Ooi, we wish you all the best and good luck in your political endeavours. Internal pressure within the country is not enough. More international pressure must be garnered to get rid of corrupt practices and human rights violation in Malaysia
USA and Australia are doing the right thing not to seal any FTA agreement with Malaysia http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/stories/A/AS_FIN_MALAYSIA_AUSTRALIA_FREE_TRADE_ASOL-?SITE=ASIAONE&SECTION=SOUTHEAST&TEMPLATE=DEFAULT&CTIME=2007-07-31-05-24-37
#41 by Jan on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 7:15 pm
I am a reader of screenshots for many years. Yes Jeff Ooi has sometimes potrayed himself as an arrogant b*stard, this much I agree with people like Taikor. Pls remember he too is under a great deal of pressure from the authorities due to inflammatory postings from us readers. He’s even being taken to court because of you and me. Let’s forgive the man for he’s only human and unite behind him and his party to make this a better country.
#42 by citizen on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 7:17 pm
“He must apologise to all bloggers first for his offensive language and insults” – bystander
Hasn’t your personal adventure went too far across the borders? I have no knowledge that he has to apologise to Tony, Lim Kit Siang, and many others who are bloggers.
#43 by Rocky on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 7:18 pm
Jeff Ooi joining DAP is good. he is a good guy overall and yes he can be very opinionated and has his views. He can do a good job and DAP needs people who are visible and don’t need too much introduction like Jeff ooi. Jeff is very Malaysian and his likes for pantun etc is refreshing.
I know of Jeff Oo and hope he can be elected to parliament cos he can really do good there with his research etc.
Jeffrey – yes the 2 commentators got into trouble in Jeff’s site cos of their comments. One could be his site is located in Malaysia thus the law can get hold of the people and Jeff easier. Or maybe Jeff gives away info on the ‘bad’ guys.Not sure which.
#44 by bystander on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 7:23 pm
Being an UMNo apologist, I would not expect you to understand. If UMNOputras and apologists can comprehend then we dont have all these unresolved problems such as NEP, special privileges, freedom of speech and religion, constitutional crises. Instead UMNO apologists get paid to stir up troubles in blogs to prop up these corrupted UMNOputras. Otherwise how can they cari makan.
#45 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 7:25 pm
I would love to see some prominent Malays joining DAP.
#46 by Jan on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 7:26 pm
In fact Jeff has warned that any reader who posted inflammatory postings will be banned from his blog and will be reported to the authorities if required. You have been warned so you can’t blame him if he “betrays” you.
#47 by citizen on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 7:28 pm
“Jeffrey – yes the 2 commentators got into trouble in Jeff’s site cos of their comments. One could be his site is located in Malaysia thus the law can get hold of the people and Jeff easier. Or maybe Jeff gives away info on the ‘bad’ guys.Not sure which.”
Didn’t hear or see any news that his server was being confiscated for forensics, so I’m guessing it is highly possible it is the latter.
#48 by bystander on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 7:28 pm
You are entitled to your opinion and so do I. And I beg to differ. Lets see whether he is a small man bending with the wind (small minded like what Taikor says and I fully concur) or a great man.
#49 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 7:29 pm
“Another booster to power this great Rocket and remember this Rocket is going to take our very first malaysian into space…”
Remember too, that this old rocket is red-hot and is coming from the outer reaches of space spiraling to earth. Malaysia may not survive after the blast which is coming.
#50 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 7:35 pm
“Lets see whether he is a small man bending with the wind (small minded like what Taikor says and I fully concur) or a great man.” bystander
Small mind thinks alike!??