Another brutal crime in Ipoh — 22-year-old hairstylist whose semi-naked body was found sprawled at her salon in Taman Perpaduan, Tambun, Ipoh on Friday.
Sunday Star yesterday reported:
The body of Ooi Choo Lee was discovered by her father Ooi Ah Hee, 57, when he went to check on her after she repeatedly failed to answer his phone calls.
Choo Lee was found sprawled in the toilet of the shop at about 4am yesterday.
She had apparently been strangled and was believed to have been raped.
Ah Hee said he had rushed from Sungkai, about 120km away, where he worked, to check on Choo Lee.
“I thought she was at the supermarket when she didn’t answer the first time at 8pm (Thursday).
“But when there was still no answer much later, I decided to go to Ipoh.
“She had always been told to keep her phone turned on,” he told reporters at the Ipoh Hospital mortuary here.
Choo Lee was from Sungai Petani who moved to Ipoh two years ago.
Only last week, a teenager was kidnapped, robbed and raped in Ipoh by two parang-wielding men when she went to a 24-hour clinic at 2 am for treatment.
The crime wave and the spiraling fear of crime in Ipoh, as elsewhere in the country, must be checked and eradicated to make the streets, public places and homes safe again. This must be the No. 1 national agenda — a safe Ipoh and a safe Malaysia for the people, tourists and investors!
The Parliamentary Caucus on Human Rights and Good Governance should hold its fourth public hearing on “Fight Rising Crime” in Ipoh to raise greater parliamentary, police and public consciousness on the grave problem of crime and public safety in Ipoh. I will discuss with the Parliamentary Caucus Chairman and other Committee members to schedule such a public hearing.

#1 by Godfather on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 10:59 am
RealWorld:
I was just throwing a red herring to see if you are an UMNO cybertrooper. Thankfully you are not; you are just a misguided UMNO loyalist. No, I am in Malaysia and I have been fighting the fight in your midst.
You kept on saying that there is no alternative to BN, no alternative to UMNO. Well, we shall see about that. We will show you that there is an alternative to lies, cheating and theft. We will show you that your boss has breached his previous election promise of a transparent, accountable government. We will show you that your party has committed criminal breach of intimidation when it condoned the waving of the keris threatening to spill blood. We will show you that your party has committed theft when it knowingly awards contracts worth multiples of what an infrastructure project would cost. We will show you that your party has abetted theft when it allowed APs to be given to cronies when taxes are supposed to be for the benefit of the country’s treasury.
We think that us monkey bloggers can run the country better than the UMNO clowns and crooks. If the electorate does not give us the chance, we will continue to soldier on, for the day will come when there is nothing left to steal.
#2 by hasilox on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 11:17 am
RealWorld,
You really harp a lot on election, people decide craps regardless of the topic discussed.
Despite murdering thousand of his own people, Saddam Hussein still got 100% votes during the ‘elections’. What happened during the US invasion? Iraqis didn’t even bother to defend the country.
#3 by Godfather on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 11:23 am
Let’s not compare Iraq with Bolehland. RealWorld’s point is that there is no alternative to the BN, no alternative to UMNO, and we should respect his opinion if he wants to continue supporting liars, cheats and thieves. We just have to make sure that we spread the truth about the lies, the cheating and the thefts to as many people as we can.
And that’s why the masters of RealWorld are trying to stop us with their concerted efforts. All at the expense of the rakyat’s wellbeing and security. In ball games, it’s called “taking the eye off the ball”.
#4 by sotong on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 12:04 pm
izrafeil,
I know of a few Muslim Copts who returned to their original faith, Christainity.
They could read Koran and understand its meaning. They said the religious conflicts in Middle East are solely caused by politicians.
#5 by eantautjk on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 2:29 pm
I hope for Mr. Lim to demand from PDRM the outcome of the investigation for the earlier rape/slash cases in JB and all other brutal crimes commited up to now..
Has anybody ben detained?
Has the criminals been apprehended?
Is the PDRM annoucing that crimes are not punisable in Malaysia?
I demand to know.
#6 by requiem87 on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 2:54 pm
undergrad2 defending rapists again ??
#7 by requiem87 on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 2:59 pm
perhaps we can try to offer policeman who caught a rapist rm10k see they’ll go and catch or not…
#8 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 3:25 pm
Godfather,
You are now in Malaysia, and not Europe??! Actually dude, which is which la? You are starting to sound below pathetic, going back and forth Europe & Malaysia thingy. I likened you to some washed up i.e. passed the sell by date half baked politician.
Anyway, your “accountability” thingy was good comic relief until you got found out and have to resort back to “I am actually in Msia etc etc”
Dont worry, you will together with the rest of us will have that opportunity to vote in the next GE (unless suddenly *spoof* … you are in Europe!) :)
#9 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 3:31 pm
“You really harp a lot on election, people decide craps regardless of the topic discussed.” – hasilox
What do you mean by “people decide craps”? Are you insulting the rakyat voting rights?
As for Saddam Hussien & Iraq, yes Saddam killed ten of thousands but he kept the country in order. Since the invasion, do you know how many hundred of thousands died??? And is there order in the country??? I dont see you calling George Bush ? Tony Blair murderers???
“Iraqis didn’t even bother to defend the country.” – hasilox
Have been sleeping all this while?
#10 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 4:21 pm
Today’s news in NST (31st July) front page – “The nation’s top cop said yesterday he was framed by his own men, resulting in him being investigated by the Anti-Corruption Agency.”The allegations against me were a frame-up by other policemen, and I am now issuing the warning to all policemen not to abuse their powers,” said Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan. Please see this link – http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/Frontpage/20070731071518/Article/index_html
For the record, I don’t have much doubt about what the IGP said or (up to now) any problem with his integrity.
Knowing the esprit de corp that normally prevails amongst those in uniformed services, which head of a service would say this of certain sections of his own men – in public – if he didn’t genuinely believe it was true – that he had been framed?
What I am worried about is this : if these people even dared to frame the top cop where do we the ordinary citizenry stand if we were taken in and framed? Would we get due process?
Secondly, how do we address the bludgeoning crime problem involving abduction rape etc when certain sections of law enforcement dare to even commit crime allegedly by way of framing even their own boss?
This ‘framing’ is a serious matter and getting out of hand and should convince even the IGP that the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission should be implemented fast.
#11 by Godfather on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 4:24 pm
Hahaha….I have to keep your UMNO masters guessing. I may stand in the elections, I may not. I may be in the country, I may be out of the country. One thing for sure – I will vote for any opposition against your merry band of thieves.
#12 by sotong on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 4:47 pm
The leadership in all government departments is seriously divided – everyone wants power to acquire status, wealth and influence at all costs at the great expense of the country and her ordinary people.
Money/benefits were used to keep challenges and competing parties quiet to maintain control. But this type of leadership is most damaging to the proper administration of the country in the long run.
Decades of self serving and short sighted leadership had a permanent, long term and far reaching consequences on the country and her ordinary.
#13 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 4:49 pm
Godfather,
You should walk the talk. It is still office hours, and you have an accountability to your employers as such you should not be blogging.
Kosong la …
#14 by Godfather on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 5:09 pm
RealWorld:
I may be my own employer. Someone else may be my employer. At least I am not sleeping on the job.
#15 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 5:44 pm
Godfather,
Enough la, you been found out.
#16 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 6:49 pm
So childish…
#17 by requiem87 on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 8:54 pm
would it be some people paid some desparate drug addicts to wreak havoc in Uncle Lim’s constituency to make him look bad ? So the next election the people there will vote for another person ??
#18 by hasilox on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 9:04 pm
RealWorld,
I am saying someone craps too much. Sorry, no price for guessing who.
Are you trying to tell me that the killing of Iraqis by Iraqis now is about defending the country? I don’t mind people sleeping. Just please don’t snore too much. It’s irritating.
#19 by lchk on Tuesday, 31 July 2007 - 11:06 pm
Realworld wrote:
“You know, we have a democracy in Msia.”
Now that is funny statement!
#20 by takazawa on Wednesday, 1 August 2007 - 12:08 am
Ichk,
It very much depends on how Realworld defines real “democracy”. If real “democracy” is defined through his real narrow world as autocracy, despotism, tyranny or rather DEMOCRAZY, then that’s absolutely agreeable! We should thank God for allowing Realworld into our cyberworld to show us how the real UMNO world stinks. Hahaha…pardon the puns if you will.
#21 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 1 August 2007 - 12:08 am
Could it be maybe the our police officers are addicted to rape and murder crime scene, they seems just couldn’t get enough of it. Our police force is guilty of not discharging their duties. IGP Musa must be held responsible for every lifes lost due to crime.
#22 by ihavesomethingtosay on Wednesday, 1 August 2007 - 2:40 am
“Godfather,
You should walk the talk. It is still office hours, and you have an accountability to your employers as such you should not be blogging” – RealWorld Says:
Et tu?
#23 by takazawa on Wednesday, 1 August 2007 - 4:21 am
ihavesomethingtosay,
Are you speaking French to Realworld? You are doing this to confuse him? My answer to your question would be “Il aussi”…LOL.
#24 by negarawan on Wednesday, 1 August 2007 - 10:57 am
Criminals in Malaysia are having a boom time now. The police force is incompetent, lazy, and got their priorities wrong. The justice system is screwed up with weak and incompetent prosecution, weak investigation. The judges are questionably rejecting incriminating evidences. No wonder foreign tourists are given travel advisories on Malaysia. Behind all these problems is BN who do not even know what to do, or rather do not want to do as they enjoy their luxury lives. The only hope Malaysia have is to change the government. Look at Japan, it’s not impossible. Vote BN out!!
#25 by k1980 on Wednesday, 1 August 2007 - 11:12 am
http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/bm/news.php?id=276580
Mad Taib, may I ask who is more dangerous to society– bloggers or a Youth leader of a political party, an exco member of a local authority, armed with a Beretta without a permit. The ACA detained him for a week before releasing him last Thursday. No Malaysian blogger had been found by police to be in possession of an unlicensed firearm, or suspected of being on the take and detained by the ACA.
http://aisehman.org/?p=214
#26 by RealWorld on Wednesday, 1 August 2007 - 1:48 pm
“Are you trying to tell me that the killing of Iraqis by Iraqis now is about defending the country? I don’t mind people sleeping. Just please don’t snore too much. It’s irritating.” – hasilox
Dont side step my question boy. You are saying Iraq is so much better now without Saddam??
Snoring while one sleep is ok. But sleeping when one is awake is beyond irritating.
#27 by RealWorld on Wednesday, 1 August 2007 - 1:51 pm
“We should thank God for allowing Realworld into our cyberworld to show us how the real UMNO world stinks. ” – takazawa
What has God gotta do with crime rate in Ipoh?? Dude, if you want to be smart, at least try to act the part.
en cule :)
#28 by Godfather on Wednesday, 1 August 2007 - 5:19 pm
RealWorld is probably some highly paid civil servant with nothing to do, so he dutifully goes to “work”, and comments on blogs between 9.30 a.m. and 4.30 pm.
#29 by raverus on Wednesday, 1 August 2007 - 5:21 pm
Hey the police are busy with cyber crime aka bloggers operasi now?
Too busy for others crime?
#30 by MWong on Wednesday, 1 August 2007 - 9:31 pm
Gone was the good Old Ipoh !-SIGH-..Ipoh Garden East is the vibrant part of Ipoh which offers a wide range of cuisine, shoppin’ spots and entertainments.
My heart bleeds to know the peaceful ‘Foodie paradise’ is now crime city in the making.
Seriously, since election is drawin’ near, the rulin’ party might use the deteriorating security in Ipoh to badmouth DAP in favour of ballots. Ipoh Timor and Barat need DAP, we’d enough of the incompetent police force and govn!
#31 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 2 August 2007 - 8:34 am
In Indonesia, the only law and order is the street version of it. All scores are settled on the spot because the police are so corrupted and unreliable.
An Indonesian Christian family I know who waited for decades for their red IC has plans to return to Jakarta because he says, “It is no longer safe for him and his wife ( both chose Malaysia to retire after having served the Malaysian government and Petronas for more than three decades) to remain in Malaysia!” They have a son who is a computer programmer earning more than US$120k a year but have also chosen not to migrate to the U.S. because of the crime rate.
Imagine Indonesians consider Indonesia a lot safer place to stay than Malaysia!!
#32 by Godfather on Thursday, 2 August 2007 - 6:25 pm
RealWorld has gone AWOL. He is awaiting instructions from his UMNO masters as to how to respond.
#33 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 2 August 2007 - 7:43 pm
Naaah! I think he skipped across the border for a little of R&R (‘rest and recreation’) with his boss.
#34 by 1chai on Friday, 3 August 2007 - 11:43 pm
I want to introduce my punishment for gang rape offender.
The 1st rapist will be punished with the present law.the 2nd until the last rapist will be sentenced to death penalty. If the sequence of the rapists can’t be determined,then all are sentenced to death penalty.
the victim has the absolute and final decision to identify the 1st rapist,though it may be wrong identification.
Reason:because the 2nd until the last rapists didn’t stop the 1st rapist, instead they follow him.
with this act, i believe many gang rape cases can be prevented.
#35 by requiem87 on Monday, 6 August 2007 - 12:39 pm
just castrate them all ~!!