Crime wave in Ipoh

The crime wave and the fear of crime in Ipoh as elsewhere in the country – escalating and not tapering off, as illustrated by the following report:

NST Online
2007/07/24

Teenager at clinic robbed and raped
By : P. Chandra Sagaran

IPOH: She was sick and went to a clinic at 2am. There, she was kidnapped by two parang-wielding men who took her on a terror ride and then raped her.

The teenager was later abandoned in Tanjung Malim, about 140km away.

City police chief ACP Jalaludin Ibrahim said the girl had gone to the clinic in Ipoh Garden on Saturday with a friend.

While waiting to be treated, two men entered the clinic and held up the two friends and a nurse, robbing the clinic of RM1,900 and the women of two handphones.

“The men then grabbed the victim and pushed her into a BMW 3 series car parked outside the clinic.

“The girl was taken on a terror ride before being raped. She was abandoned at 6.30am in Tanjung Malim,” said Jala- ludin.

She later sought help from passers-by and lodged a report. She was sent to the Tanjung Malim Hospital for a medical examination.

Jalaludin yesterday released the photofits of two men in their 20s whom they believe can assist in investigations.

1. #1 by LittleBird on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 10:30 pm

YB,

Where did we go wrong?! Small girls get kidnapped and molested… clinics get robbed (though they also “robbing” poor patients ..hehehe)…water meters get stolen, and (not related but relevant) just read JAFZA is pulling out of Port Klang Free Zone.

2. #2 by eDee on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 11:15 pm

Goodness! Poor young girl!

I wonder where are all those policemen, aren’t they patrolling during that time? Or their manpower is limited, that’s why this kind of sad things happened?

I really hope the related departments spend more times & efforts to fight crimes, we can’t afford to lose our wealth & most importantly – our lives!!

3. #3 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 24 July 2007 - 11:36 pm

While the big cat is sleeping the smaller cats are running around enjoying themselves and the rats are having a fine time too as each are going their own way.

4. #4 by hhding2006 on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 12:09 am

YB,

PLEASE HELP US !!!! I SCARE TO COME OUT LAH ……SANA BUNUH , SINI RAGUT , SITU ROGOL WHAT HAPPEN ALREADY WITH MALAYSIA . SO SAD !!!

5. #5 by ablastine on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 12:36 am

Answer is simple. What do you think is the probability of the perpetrator of such henious crime of ever being caught. The answer is probably Zilch. So these animals will continue to have a field day getting free sex from the populace. Most will never be caught.

6. #6 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 1:17 am

I’m sorry if we cry “Rape!” all the time someone gets raped and then blame the police and the party running the government, then we will not be doing much else. In the U.S. someone gets raped every four seconds! I’m not joking.

How about figuring if our love sick Prime Minister recently under house arrest (detained by his wife Jeanne Danker Abdullah) has gone into a witness protection program??

7. #7 by zack on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 7:00 am

we tend to put all blame to the police. of course there are bad apples in the force just like in any other organization. I truly the two MP from IPOH and i hope both will play their role. I’m from Fairpark and we have never had any visit from our representative and we end up going to the other party. ……

8. #8 by ahkok1982 on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 7:42 am

to undergrad2,
    why would u want to compare bodohland and US on e rape statistics? this is not a case of “ur country has a worse rape statistics than mine so i dont hav to care about how bad my country is yet”.
    and dont u know tt US is a much larger country than US? when ppl say tt e number of crime in sg is much lower than bodohland, ppl say tt its because it is a much smaller country. same applies here.
    and on e case of AAB, we can juz forget about him. we dont hav a PM n tt is e truth. we need a PM who is a true visionary who give a damn about e country n who actually works to realize his vision. not a spokesperson for his party of thieves, liars n bullies.

9. #9 by Irene on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 8:16 am

WHERE IS OUR PRIME MINISTER?
    WHY CAN’T WE POINT ON HIM?
    DID HE SUGGEST OR INSTRUCT ANY ACTION ON THE SERIOUS CRIME SITUATION OF THE COUNTRY?
    IS HE STILL AROUND IN MALASYIA?
    IS THE MEDIA BARRED FROM MEETING THE PRIME MINISTER SINCE MEDIA ARE BARRED FROM MANY RECENT ISSUES????

I think PM is still in his own dreamland and I just fell ashmed that a man at his age pick this way of life and worst of all taking up position of the top man of the country. We are not suppose to comment on others private life but he is our PM, so he should be our example.
    WHERE CAN WE FIND LEADERSHIP BY EXAMPLE in this country ?
    If we implement LEADERSHIP BY EXAMPLE then most of the men in Malaysia will be busy daydreaming or honeymoon.

10. #10 by mendela on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 9:35 am

Let’s all rush to Dan Wangi Police Station to show support to RPK.
    RPK will be there at 11 am today!

11. #11 by Jong on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 9:35 am

The Prime Minister of Malaysia has sub-con his ministries to Boys of the 4th Floor ! The rest on auto-pilot!

12. #12 by MWong on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 9:53 am

My heart goes out to the lil girl and the family..This is a piece of brutal,perverted, and scary news..

OMG, Ipoh Garden!!this area is peaceful and secured..but seems like no longer now..in view of the time mentioned, @2.00am, it serves as a precaution to everyone..

Perhaps we’ve to lock ourselves at home soonest after dawn??No?..(even broad day light it happens), anytime, anywhere..

13. #13 by accountability on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 9:56 am

another sad example of how malaysia has descended into anarchy…

…no more security for the general public…

it’s time to remove our hopeless PM who does nothing but keep silent when his cronies keep talking nonsense through their ass as well as launch mega (failure) projects without the money to fund them

14. #14 by Jong on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 9:57 am

What’s wrong with those bastards?! The 19-year old girl was sick in the middle of the night and that was why she was at the 24-hour clinic, and she was taken away to be gang-raped! Society is so sick these days.

15. #15 by sotong on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 10:14 am

Rape, let alone gang raped, is a violent and hedious crime.

Ineffective leadership and enforcement of law and order at all levels and break down in society and family values are the main causes for this disgusting and shameful situation.

These criminals/animals knew they could get away with it.

16. #16 by ilovepenang on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 10:26 am

From now onwards, the media should include the race of the criminals so that everyone can be more alert.

Also, it is high time for the authority to revise the current punishment for this sickly criminals (or animals). Make them as a strong warning to other potential criminal-to-be.

MP LKS: is there anything that you can do in Parliament?

17. #17 by fm2 on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 10:53 am

I believe not just girl will scare and worry, even we guys go out with out gf or wife. u’ll still scare the same thing happen. i’d suggest the punishement for this type of people is sentence to death. Or else those ppl wont scare.

18. #18 by Jong on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 10:57 am

The race is already known but again it’s “ban” from revealing I guess. It’s rumoured the BMW was a stolen car.

19. #19 by klangmali on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 11:05 am

I think the our beloved PDRM has send all their forces to Johor and forget about other places in Malaysia; especially Ipoh and Klang.

20. #20 by Sergei on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 11:12 am

Robbers and rapists are not dangerous to a nation…….
    Bloggers are dangerous to the nation. It shapes the population’s thinking. The change of government of a country depends on the Bloggers effectiveness and efficiency.

We must curb their presence to prevent them destroying our present wonderful country and government.

21. #21 by Godfather on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 11:29 am

In China, the perpetrators would have been executed in public as a warning to others. In Bodohland, the perpetrators will probably get a slap on the wrists – under the influence of drugs – jailed on public funds, and then released a couple of years later to rape again.

22. #22 by klangmali on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 11:47 am

It is so sad to see our country Malaysia not safe anymore.

23. #23 by shortie kiasu on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 12:28 pm

Besides the Police action to prevent & to track down the heinous criminals in this case, one just wonders whether there were other staff in the clinic and what about the doctors of the clinic?

There was no mention of the doctors in the clinic. There must be other patients too. If not where was the doctors/doctor of the clinic?

There should be a speedy report to the police who can then swarm into action instantly.

Waiting for the victims to report to police 4 1/2 hours later definitely won’t help the police to track down the criminals.

This is another case of public apathy and the doctor in the clinic was doing nothing. It would be quite sure that there is commotion duirng the struggle when the criminals were trying to get the victim.

24. #24 by Jong on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 1:01 pm

It’s Klinik Rxxxx, next to a Yoga centre, near a budget hotel on Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah Selatan(Tasek Road), Ipoh Garden, Ipoh. All the shoplots there are new under 6 mths old.

25. #25 by Daniel Quah on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 2:45 pm

this remind me about Canny Ong case, i didn’t see what the outcome of the case..if you rape people, when in court you put some Islam dress and look like you have regret..u get away from this…nice trick..i hope it happen to some politician and by then we will see what the outcome…

26. #26 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 2:45 pm

I am most disappointed with the silence and attitudes of many other Malaysians towards serious crime in Malaysia. We should not take it for granted just because our love ones are not the victims of crime, I must say you are still lucky, that’s all. At the rate the crime such as rape is happening, let me warn you your love ones may be next. Uncle Kit, the caucus for crime where DAP was actively involved and chaired by Nazri will not gives Malaysian any assurance to reverse the trend of crime in our country. I wish that DAP and PKR or even PAS come together and set up a task force, or an organization of a sorts made up by volunteers and concerned citizens, to assist the police wherever they may needs help. It is time the oppostions look beyond themselves as mere oppositions. I believe, the rakyat are behind you.

27. #27 by madmix on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 3:06 pm

You see, the police is very hardworking and thorough when it comes to cracking down on people like Raja Petra and other bloggers. When it is robbery and rape, no urgency.

28. #28 by k1980 on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 3:13 pm

Raja Petra and bloggers are not armed and dangerous whereas robbers and rapists are. So who do you expect the police to focus their energies on?

29. #29 by Jonny on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 3:27 pm

Ipoh, the peaceful town it was, is no longer safe. Eventually, the cancer will spread to smaller towns like Taiping.

We’re dealing with a growing cancer.

In Malaysia, problems can be represented by holes.

Solutions can be represented by hole-cover.

Now, we all know the made of metal hole-covers offers such huge demand that these are stolen by unscrupulous people. They have the network. And knows where to seek buyers/money from.

And as well, there are those who have no morals to buy these hole-covers.

Now, we have 10 holes. And only 6 hole-covers left.

One problem / new hole surfaced. Not enough hole-covers. So, we inter-change use the hole-covers in view of the urgency.

Hence, there is short-term solutions in JB. Long-term wise, if things deteriorate in smaller towns like Ipoh, then – the hole-covers are removed from JB and moved elsewhere.

Happiness is short. Hence, a 5-year promise may not even hold water at end of the first year after all the heat died down.

30. #30 by Jonny on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 3:31 pm

We must sit down and go back to the fundamentals and basics.

As for this Merdeka celebration, I’m gonna shut myself up at home. Is much safer.

I’m not surprised if there’s a poll to find out who prowls more on the streets and celebrate till wee hours in the morning, a lot of them may not be Malaysians. And with the lack of enforcement, definitely – locked up at home is more safer.

31. #31 by sotong on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 3:52 pm

The experts got to find out what make these criminals/animals do what they do.

Do the criminals/animals have any specific targets and why they pick on these targets? What are these criminals/animals backgrounds? Had they been in trouble before for similar crime?

For a country that focus on religions and morals, our society is really ill and something has gone terribly wrong.

32. #32 by Utopia on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 4:53 pm

What went wrong is the police serves the government not the people. Government say go catch bloggers, we all go, got reward ma. They say you get raped, robbed, and killed not my problem. I don’t get merit if I catch the criminal. Whoah if I catch bloggers, I guaranteed promotion by end of this year….

There it goes…

33. #33 by Jong on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 5:11 pm

Jonny,
    Don’t be too sure that by staying home and shutting yourself up, it’s the best way to keep your home safe. Haven’t you heard that garden iron gates get stolen ever so often? Whether you are at home having a nap or at the market or out for your breakfast in town, it makes no difference to them.

They don’t care whether yours is a bungalow or a link house. If they so decide to come, boy they are daring, nothing will stop them. They’ll be armed with oxy-acetylene torch and within minutes, your iron gates will be plucked off the ground.

You’ll be so confused, wondering what’s the noise and what’s happening, and while still searching for your bunch of keys to unlock your padlocks and layers of doors, your iron gates are gone! ta!ta!

34. #34 by Educator on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 7:58 pm

What is the chance of a rapist, robber or snatch thief being caught? What is the percentage of crimes solved? 30% or less?
    I have the gut feeling that it is safer to be a thief than an ordinary citizen.

35. #35 by Zeebra on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 8:25 pm

I hope the RAPIST is reading this blog. WHY RAPE INNOCENT CITIZEN? if you are brave go rape govt official daughter…..

36. #36 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 9:24 pm

“..dont u know tt US is a much larger country” and ” ..when ppl say tt e number of crime in sg is much lower than bodohland, ppl say tt its because it is a much smaller country. same applies here.” ahkok

Ahkok,

Size has nothing to do with it (as the girls would like to have us know). We’re talking about rates of crime and not number of crimes. Of course, I am not suggesting that Malaysia waits until it catches up with the U.S. in crime rates before doing anything.

What makes it alarming is that in Malaysia the issue of soaring crime rate in Malaysia is tied up with issues of racial discrimination.

37. #37 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 9:25 pm

And if I may add, the same applies in the United States.

38. #38 by tc on Wednesday, 25 July 2007 - 11:07 pm

“I hope the RAPIST is reading this blog. WHY RAPE INNOCENT CITIZEN? if you are brave go rape govt official daughter…..”
    Not good enough!Must be top ministers’ and top cops’ daughters.Then we will see their comments and immediate actions.

39. #39 by sk88 on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 4:36 am

“Wrong time and wrong place” is what the newspapers said as though seeking medical treatment at 2 am is wrong. If someone is not safe in clinics that supposedly saves lives, where else can someone be safe. I thinks hospitals too would be unsafe soon if nothing is done, other than verbal declaration of war against crime.

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 6:50 am

Crime is a fact of life, boys!! You got to learn to protect yourself. Be smart! Take up self-defense classes – girls too. The government cannot protect you all the time.

In the U.S. being a boy is no guarantee you will not be raped.

41. #41 by sk88 on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 8:52 am

Just simply because there is lawlessness in USA, it does not mean that we have to accept that here. The USA is based on wild wild west culture.
    How much can individuals do to protect? What can self-defense do against 3 parang waving idiots. Government certainly has a moral and legal duty to restore confidence in the minds of its people.

42. #42 by sotong on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 9:15 am

Like USA, we should have the right to own guns/weapons for self defense against these criminals/animals.

43. #43 by requiem87 on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 11:51 am

Uncle Lim….can i volunteer myself to start a patrol of dangerous places in IPoh ??? i need some help in doin so ~!
    i really cant let anymore rapes happen in my beloved hometown ~!! i really cant imagine the trauma suffered by that girl…

44. #44 by requiem87 on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 11:54 am

Uncle Lim…i think another solution would be enforcing harsher punishments to the crime of rape….such as
    !00 strokes of rotan or castration….i think castration would be ideal….so that if the rapist should be released…he cant commit anymore rape ~! please take this to the parliament ~!

45. #45 by tc on Thursday, 26 July 2007 - 5:10 pm

To undergrad2:
    Take up self defense?Don’t waste time!You think this is Kung Fu movie?Chop and kick the assailants out cold.When they point the pistols or parangs at you, you have to give in.The police must arrest all of them before they commit any more crimes.The government owes us our fundamental rights.
    So don’t suggest things what the police will normally do after a nasty crime like:
    1) take up self defense
    2) don’t go out at night alone
    3) be aware of your surroundings
    4) report any suspicious persons
    5) dont carry too much money.What about rape cases?Leave that thing in the refrigerator while you go out?
    6) don’t wear sexy clothes and the list goes on and on.

46. #46 by ablastine on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 12:46 am

I think the most effective method against crime is the use of death squads. Saddam and possibly Thaksin have used them to great effect. LKY uses the army. Oh come on, these animals do not deserve human rights or mercy. Just dig these bastards out in the middle of the night from their hideouts and make them ‘disappear’ for ever. I assure you the country will be rid of them in no time and problem solve.

47. #47 by hkgan on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 12:55 am

Its been more than a month since the kidnap and rape cases in JB. FOr a week or two after protest, you can see many patrol cars on the street. Now, you see none. Whre are the policemen?

48. #48 by hkgan on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 12:57 am

Exercise your vote in this coming election. Vote for Change

49. #49 by undergrad2 on Friday, 27 July 2007 - 2:08 am

“…i think another solution would be enforcing harsher punishments …i think castration would be ideal…. please take this to the parliament>’ Requiem87

Errr… There is a slight problem here. Castration would be a human rights issue. Remember FGM or ‘female genital mutiliation’ as practiced by Muslims in Africa? It is a human rights issue. Girls facing the threat of FGM are given refugee status under U.N. laws against torture and they are eligible to ask for asylum in countries which are joint signatories to the 1967 Protocol on Refugees.

When you talk about castration for rapists, remember he is somebody’s husband and somebody’s boyfriend, brother and uncle. Why do you punish all these people for the crime perpetrated by their boyfriends, husbands etc?

You have more reason to blame drug companies making the blue pill. Guys on these blue pills have difficulty with their erections which normally last some four hours.

50. #50 by requiem87 on Saturday, 28 July 2007 - 10:52 am

undergrad2 my friend

are you trying to protect rapists ??
    this kind of law should be implemented because rapists arent afraid of imprisonment or mere few strokes of rotan anymore and i strongly believe that harsher punishments should be given ~!!
    and erm…FGM are practiced on innocent girls…we’re talking about RAPISTS here my friend…alot of rapists are second time offenders…they served their time and then get out n rape again…
    If the rape happens to your loved ones i think your comments would be very different and you wont care about human rights…

51. #51 by requiem87 on Saturday, 28 July 2007 - 10:57 am

i forgot to mention bout the blue pills…??
    what does it have to do with rape ???
    if their erection cant go down they’ll do it with their wives
    and erm…i never heard bout any rapist take the blue pilll before they rape…

52. #52 by sk88 on Monday, 30 July 2007 - 7:00 am

requiem87 You said it right.

Castrastion would be a good suggestion. What human rights? What about capital punishment? Whipping? Is Undergrad2 suggesting that convicted rapists can apply for refugee status? Refugee law protect convicts? Since when? Even genuine cases have to go through hell to get a refugee status.

53. #53 by sotong on Monday, 30 July 2007 - 8:45 am

When the criminal/animals committed a violent and hedious crime, they have forfeited their rights to live in the modern and civilised society.

Tough punishment is OK but we got to be careful of innocent victims.