JAWI raid on Indian restaurant for public display of Hindu deities – PM should stop the “Little Napoleons”

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi must stop the “Little Napoleons” in JAWI from imposing a “reign of terror” with their lack of understanding of the Merdeka social contract and contempt for the constitutional rights of all Malaysians, creating inter-religious tension and setting back inter-racial harmony and nation-building.

I refer to the multi-agency raid led by JAWI (Jabatan Agama Islam Wilayah Persekutuan) to the eating shops in Lorong Maarof, Kuala Lumpur on Tuesday, 26th June 2007, at about 11.30 a.m., particularly an Indian restaurant and a mamak restaurant.

This blog yesterday had carried an email giving an eye-witness account.

Last night, I received an email from another public-spirited Malaysian who visited Lorong Maarof to check on the complaint. This is the account her email after the visit:

“I dropped by the two Indian restaurants at Lorong Maarof this afternoon to chat with the workers and to verify what exactly happened. The Star and another paper were already there yesterday, they said.

“I looked at the summons issued to Aiswari restaurant: The raid was done by the Bahagian Hub Halal of JAKIM, together with officials from other agencies, including JAWI, KPDN and HEP (? must be Kementerian P or D (not clear) Dalam Negeri; don’t know what HEP is) and DBKL. 10 of them came into the shop, but the cashier said there were about 15 others milling outside the streets.

“According to the summons, the officers came because of a complaint (choice of berkala/aduan/susulan). 4 jenis kesalahan were written down:

1. bukan pemegang sijil halal JAKIM (this means their halal logo is from some other source?)

2. arahan tidak boleh menggunakan logo halal dan perbahasan [should be “perhiasan” – kit] dalam premis (??)

3. Sita?? – ayat ayat Qur’an di buat oleh JAWI?? (four framed ayats, 2 big, 2 small were taken away)

4. tiada pekerja Muslim (? cashier and all workers are Muslim)

“The cashier who seems to be in charge was quite agitated, esp about the Muslim workers and halal meat served. He is an Indian (national) Muslim, showed the JAKIM ppl his passport with his Muslim name and all the 7 workers there were Muslim and so is the owner. The raiders questioned the ‘halal’ ness of the food served and took the halal certs issued by the meat suppliers. Said he and the workers and owner are all Muslim so why shd they serve non-halal meat and chicken.

“they also took away all the ayat Qur’an, but I can’t figure out what the offence is – ayat Qur’an dibuat oleh JAWI??? Maybe they allege this is not a genuine Halal Muslim place, so they have no right to display ayat Qur’an?

“At the corner restaurant where my friend’s niece ( the writer of the original email) was eating, they inspected the place, checked the meat to see if its halal, took pictures, took the halal certificate, and questioned why they have pictures of Hindu gods and candle on the mantlepiece behind the cashier when they serve Muslim customers. The guy said he told the JAKIM people the meat served is halal and showed him their halal cert from the supplier. Two other restaurants were closed.

“These seem to be neighbourhood hangouts and people of all races were there when I stopped by at 3 pm. If indeed they were doing the rounds to check on halal certification, why the heavy handed approach and comments and actions on display of religious symbols. (oh Ganesh was still very much there today on the wall, but the ayat Qur’an remains missing in the other place)

“My niece’s friend said it was very intimidating to have 10 officials walking around, taking pictures, asking questions, picking up food… and in these days of Lina Joy, Revathi, Subashini, Sharmala, it all points out to the same motive. How come everytime women complain about husbands not paying nafkah, or not appearing in court, the courts keep saying they do not have enough enforcement officers to serve summons on errant husbands/fathers, but plenty of enforcement officers to go on khalwat and halal raids…”

This morning before coming to Parliament, together with DAP MPs Chong Eng (Bukit Mertajam) and Fong Po Kuan (Batu Gajah) and DAP Selangor state secretary Lau Weng San, I visited these two Lorong Maarof restaurants, and verified the complaints and the facts that had been given in the two emails as true and accurate.

At the corner Indian restaurant, the JAWI-led raid team took away the “halal” sign and served a notice of its infringements, which I have yet to have sight as the owner was not in.

I understand that this is not an isolated case but such raids and offensive and insensitive remarks about the display of Hindu religious symbols in Indian restaurants had taken place in other parts of Kuala Lumpur.

The Prime Minister should cause an immediate investigation into the JAWI-led raids in utter disregard of the rights and sensitivities of non-Muslim Malaysian businesses and to suspend the errant officers from JAWI and other agencies like JAKIM.

1. #1 by Jong on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 4:50 pm

I am more interested to hear what those politicians in MCA, MIC, Gerakan and other BN component parties has to say about this.

They claim to represent the non-malays and non-muslims of this country, so why are they still dragging their feet and not speaking up?

Let’s start with Samy Vellu.

2. #2 by kelangman88 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 4:59 pm

Even if Samy tail is burning, he’ll still say, I support my boss. I think my tail is bad.

3. #3 by achmedrauff on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 5:06 pm

I am a Muslim and I have my breakfast and lunch at an Indian shop everyday (Mamaks serve lousy dirty food) and I cry foul over this matter. Bodoh bodoh dan lebih bodoh~!

4. #4 by LittleBird on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 5:21 pm

Can I put pottu (red and sandal dot) and white ash on my forehead when eating in a muslim restaurant or can I run my bloody business with my pottu and white ash when muslim customers walk in?

Oh yeah …Federal Consti states that Islam id the religion of the Federation. Next, I guess we can only speak and write in malay because the national language is malay.

But these are all maybe election ploy to keep people from PAS and PKR.

5. #5 by Utopia on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 5:31 pm

Uncle Lim, you should change the title of the post. How can you compare those JAWI officials and etc. to Napolean? JAWI officials are more like Little SAWIs!

No doubt Napolean pratices dictatorship, but he was a master of tatician in battles and a truly charismatic leader. Even though his regime did not practise democracy, it is only through him that made people to have second thoughts about monarchy. IMHO, he might not be the kindest leader but he is a truly brave and remarkable leader. Sadly he died being poisoned by those who are so afraid of him even when he is in his exile.

6. #6 by justiciary on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 5:54 pm

If Kerismuddin can flash his dagger and fight the non Malays till their last drop of blood,the non Muslims can also stand united and fight for our rights (not through violence like the barbaric UMO people)through votes and peaceful means.Hell to the fanatics.to the extremists and the future talibans n what not.We want the secular state of Malaysia and not the real bodoh n backward state of Malaysia.

7. #7 by Bobster on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 5:54 pm

Nothing new. This is not the first time JAKIM, JAWI, KPDN and HEP and DBKL appeared in Malaysia BLACK Book of Records for stirring up the racial sentiment, harassing foreign visitors, arresting non-Muslims for holding hands in the park, imposing ridiculous assessment fees, going around town collection toll (DBKL in particular) etc.

To the BN Government :- No need to waste taxpayers’ money carrying out National Service for the youth hoping for better racial relation in the future. With all these racist religious hypocrites around, what hope do we have in this country.

WAKE UP FELLOW CITIZENS, THING ARE DETERIORATING UNDER THE PRESENT RULING!

8. #8 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 6:36 pm

The moderate Muslims are not saying anything….The extremists thus believe that they are enjoying the support of the moderates. So they continue preaching and practising extremism.

9. #9 by wizzerd on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 6:39 pm

This is not the first and definitely not the last…Another case of transgression into the rights of others.
    What happened could be some joker happened to notice things that are not-islamic in the shop..and made a complaint which seemed legitimate, for.e.g. “Certain restaurant is not serving halal food, displaying idol-like symbols offensive to our religion, insensitive to our feelings, might be detrimental to our national security(pun intended)…blah…blah… and voila..all religious officials came with their guns blazing…after all..nobody can stop them cos they have powerful backing from the top.Looking at their summons…they can really come up with some trumped up charges.

What say you..MCA and MIC politicians..Are you gonna go on a roadshow to ‘explain’ and justify their actions?? or maintain your elegant silence

10. #10 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 6:53 pm

What’s the difference between JAWI and NAZI?

11. #11 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 7:07 pm

One is a fanatic and the other is fanatical??

12. #12 by Godamn Singh on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 7:10 pm

If these people are this intolerant then it is a matter of time before they approach me and others like me, demanding that I take the diaper off my head.

13. #13 by dawsheng on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 7:16 pm

One is a history that killed millions of human being, the other one has not.

14. #14 by dawsheng on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 7:32 pm

Burke’s in his Thoughts on the Cause of Present Discontents: “When bad men combine, the good must associate; else they will fall one by one, an unpitied sacrifice in a contemptible struggle.”

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.

15. #15 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 7:46 pm

It’s about time for the moderate muslims to break their silence and come out and tell their extremist brothers that what they are doing is not Islamic. If they continue to remain silence, the world ( Muslims and non Muslims as well ) would be given the impression that what the extremists are now practising is Islamic. This will create hatred instead of forgiving those people who have been misled or with the wrong practising of the religion.

16. #16 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 7:53 pm

““According to the summons, the officers came because of a complaint (choice of berkala/aduan/susulan). 4 jenis kesalahan were written down:

1. bukan pemegang sijil halal JAKIM (this means their halal logo is from some other source?)

2. arahan tidak boleh menggunakan logo halal dan perbahasan [should be “perhiasan” – kit] dalam premis (??)

3. Sita?? – ayat ayat Qur’an di buat oleh JAWI?? (four framed ayats, 2 big, 2 small were taken away)

4. tiada pekerja Muslim (? cashier and all workers are Muslim)

Pray tell which part of the Summons is proof that JAWI has acted ultra vires the Federal Constitution 1957.

17. #17 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 7:59 pm

To DiaperHead – The restaurant is not halal or the food is not halal?

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:01 pm

“It’s about time for the moderate muslims to break their silence and come out and tell their extremist brothers that what they are doing is not Islamic. If they continue to remain silence….”

Should we expect them to break their silence over a matter involving the non-compliance of rules and regulations issued by a body like JAWI when they have not come out to condemn the indiscriminate killing of civilians in another part of the world??

19. #19 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:04 pm

My VIEW,

I think he is asking: (to paraphrase ) which part of our Constitution is being violated here??

20. #20 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:09 pm

“The cashier who seems to be in charge was quite agitated, esp about the Muslim workers and halal meat served. He is an Indian (national) Muslim, showed the JAKIM ppl his passport with his Muslim name…”

Perhaps the Immigration Department should visit the many Indian Muslim restaurants run by handsome looking and over friendly owners who invariably double up as cashiers to inquire if their presence here is legal. Were their marriages to locals bona fide?

21. #21 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:09 pm

Undergrad2,

You are right. But they still have to start somewhere.

22. #22 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:14 pm

You don’t just walk into peoples restaurant and disturb the peace there, would you?

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:27 pm

OK Let’s translate the Summons issued in Bahasa to see if we were of one mind about the contents. Excuse the paraphrasing.

“Bukan pemegang sijil halal JAKIM””

Not a holder of the halal certificate issued by JAWI.

“Arahan tidak boleh menggunakan logo halal dan perbahasan (to read: “perhiasan” according to Kit) and ” ayat ayat Qur’an di buat oleh JAWI”

Unlawful and illegal use of the halal logo within the premises (instead of outside?); and the unacceptable use Qur’anic verses not provided for by JAWI.

“Tiada pekerja Muslim”

Not meeting the requirement that some workers must be Muslims.

24. #24 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:27 pm

YB Kit,

I think you better check the facts before blowing up the issue. I have raised this point about the conditions of halal certification in the previous thread “Tolerance my ass!”

The facts are:

1. by Islamic law of this country, not everyone has competent accreditation to give halal certification. JAKIM is, for example one of the few – or maybe the only (I’m not sure) – competent authority being responsible for halal certification in Malaysia for (say) restaurants. JAKIM will issue the halal certificate and give permission to use the halal logo for the products supplied. If the Indian restaurant had obtained the halal certification from an unauthorized source – when or if JAKIM is the sole and competent Islamic authority to issue it – then I think the religious authorities are acting within the powers to take action against the restaurant operator, who may be alleged to be misleading muslim patrons by 4 four framed ayats and what purports to be a lgo halal hung on the wall, which was unauthorized!

2. when a restaurant purports to be halal and hangs up a halal certificate issued from (say) JAKIM, there may well be many conditions attached to such a certification – for example no non-Halal food is to be allowed into the Halal certified premises, staff shall wear proper attire or decent clothing, and FIGURES OF DEITIES, IF ANY, IN THE HALAL APPLICANTS’ PREMISES SHOULD BE HIDDEN FROM THE PUBLIC’S VIEW. This seems to be an international standard and I can confirm that even the Halal Certification Terms & Conditions of Majlis Ugama Islam Singapura have this condition that figures of deities, if any, in the halal applicants’ premises should be hidden from the public’s view, and I frankly don’t expect JAKIM’s conditions to be any LESS stringent than Majlis Ugama Islam Singapura.

3. If a restaurant operator for commercial profit wants to apply for halal certification for his food premises to make profit from muslim patrons – and the applicant is fully aware of the conditions of such a halal certification – it is only right that he does not flout and infringe these conditions of which he is aware and have agreed to. For no one forces him to apply for a halal certification and subject to such conditions. He has an option. If he does not want to hide his deity then he shouldn’t apply for halal certification for his premises. One cannot have the cake and eat it, one’s deity displayed and also profits from Muslim patrons. If he is not forced to make his premises halal and he applies for the halal certification voluntarily fully aware of its restrictive conditions, then it cannot be said that his constitutional right to freedom of religion has been violated by JAWI’s actions, and it appears that the religious authorities were acting within their jurisdiction and powers conferred by Islamic laws (never mind and apart from the separate question whether the manner they had carried out their duties were insensitive and haughty in the context of our multiracial and multi-religious society.

For the above reasons, it is ill-advised to blow up the issue and champion the resturant operators’ cause if iin the process of “cari makan’ they have flouted the restrictive rules incidental to halal certification that they themselves knew, had voluntarily assumed and thought they could circumvent.

25. #25 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:29 pm

Did they act therefore within the authority given to them?

26. #26 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:31 pm

I call upon the DAP not to politicize the issue.

27. #27 by Libra2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:33 pm

Perhaps Malay Muslim are superior to Indian Muslim. May I invite JAWI to walk into some of the elite golf clubs and hotels where they will be able to see Muslims serving or DRINKING beer/liquor.
    Or are they afraid to confront VVIP’s in these places. Why only go after poor helpless mamaks.
    Come on guys, go after the big shots, some of whom are in some hotel rooms with their girl friends right now.

28. #28 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:37 pm

“JAWI raid on Indian restaurants for public displays of Hindu deities….”

Shouldn’t the thread read: “JAWI raids an Indian Muslim restaurant for improper display of the halal logo and the use of Qura’ic verses not approved and provided fby JAWI and the non-employment of Muslim workers”??

It smacks of politicization of an issue which has nothing to do with religion and race.

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:38 pm

Did they act therefore within the authority given to them? – Undergrad2.

I suspect the JAWI authorities acted within their authority, power and jurisdiction, and I’ve given the reasons for this in an earlier post that so far has not appeared (or maybe never will) in this thread.

30. #30 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:42 pm

It looks like Kit has found himself holding the tiger by its tail – not clever.

31. #31 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:46 pm

Jeffrey QC,

Posts are being lost in cyberspace left to circle the earth forever! I thought the U.S. satellite hovering over Malaysia has been too busy monitoring the North Koreans.

32. #32 by dawsheng on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:50 pm

I call upon the DAP not to politicize the issue. – DiaperHead

I think it is hard for DAP not to but very careful when BN hit back.

33. #33 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:52 pm

“Perhaps Malay Muslim are superior to Indian Muslim”.

If that were true, how come an Indian Muslim became the country’s Prime Minister for some 23 years? How come there are quite a few heading the country’s Ministries and shouting expletives at Opposition MPs in Parliament?

34. #34 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:56 pm

Jeffrey,

Yes. I got to read it on the other thread. But you did insert a qualifier.

35. #35 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:57 pm

If this is an Indian Muslim restaurant, then JAWI has acted within their authority. We are wasting our time here. Are you guys the 80% unemployed women?

36. #36 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:00 pm

So if JAWI enforcement officers acted within the scope of the authority delegated to them, why the accusation of “religious intolerance” – I don’t understand.

37. #37 by Jong on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:02 pm

YB Lim, seriously I think you need to have a 4-eye meeting with the Prime Minister.

He should be back from his honeymoon already. I just heard he has an appointment in Ipoh, to officiate the opening Centennial Celebration Expo of Perak Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry(PCCCI), at Indera Mulia – Fri 29 June 2007.

Let’s see how he is going to respond to the press on this issue. I won’t be surprised the press will be warned not to bring this up?!

38. #38 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:03 pm

MY VIEW,

That is a sexist remark!

39. #39 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:04 pm

Another point is that how can an Indian Muslim restaurant display hindu dieties publicly. So JAWI, this time you are on the right track.

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:09 pm

“Let’s see how he is going to respond to the press on this issue. I won’t be surprised the press will be warned not to bring this up?! Jong

There doesn’t seem to be anything he should respond to. That was not a raid on Indian restaurants accompanied by the removal of Hindu deities.

It was a raid on an Indian Muslim restaurant for non-compliance with rules and regulations issued by JAWI. JAWI is very territorial when it comes to this.

I would like to see Health officials visiting this restaurant to see if there has not been any infringement of the Ministry’s regulations. There are clearly public health issues involved in some of the cases.

41. #41 by dawsheng on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:11 pm

Is easy to be Malay but it is sure difficult to be halal.

42. #42 by Godamn Singh on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:16 pm

If I am not mistaken someone says the owner showed his passport to prove he is a Muslim. Why passport and not IC?

Yes. I too would like to see Immigration officials visiting mamak restaurants dotted all over Kuala Lumpur to see if their presence is legit – that is when they are not too busy deleting records of visits made by Mongolians, one of whom had C4 stuffed in her.

43. #43 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:16 pm

Dear Diaperhead, sorry if I have offended you. I am merely quoting one of our Minister. My sincere apologies.

44. #44 by dawsheng on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:19 pm

“It was a raid on an Indian Muslim restaurant for non-compliance with rules and regulations issued by JAWI. JAWI is very territorial when it comes to this.” Undergrad2

And so Jawi will not tolerate any presences of other religions on display in places where halal food is serves. This meant that to be halal must also conform to be islamic, the restaurant is now under the syariah jurisdiction.

45. #45 by LittleBird on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:22 pm

Quote from main article:-

“At the corner restaurant where my friend’s niece ( the writer of the original email) was eating, they inspected the place, checked the meat to see if its halal, took pictures, took the halal certificate, and questioned why they have pictures of Hindu gods and candle on the mantlepiece behind the cashier when they serve Muslim customers….”

46. #46 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:26 pm

If you are a muslim or a muslim restaurant, you are under syariah jurisdiction. No doubt about it.

47. #47 by Jong on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:27 pm

Undergrad2,

What about a Hainanese “halal” shops, does it mean the owners aren’t allowed to display their Buddhist or Taoist figurines? Comeon, that is definitely not right!

48. #48 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:31 pm

Dawsheng, in a nutshell of what I said in an earlier post that did not appear, the Indian owner cannot VOLUNTARILY ON HIS OWN ACCORD apply for halal certification of his restuarant for commercial profit from muslim patrons and yet flout the conditions for that halal certification stipulated by Jakim (one of which is no public display of deities) and have both his cake and eat it. Neither can he simply hang halal logo and ayat ayat marketing his eatery as a proper halal restuarant when the halal certification is obtained from unauthorised source and not an acredited competent authority like JAKIM mandated by our Islamic laws. I would say the JAWI authorities acted within their powers and jurisdiction.

49. #49 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:33 pm

On second thought, is it alright for an Indian Muslim who owns a restaurant serving halal food, have Indian dieties displaying in his shop? I think it is ok to display the dieties as long as the food is halal as promised.

50. #50 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:33 pm

Please don’t mistake halal from ‘pork free’ shops. The former (halal certification) is subject to stringent standrads set by the competent Islamic authoritioes mandated by our Islamic laws.

51. #51 by dawsheng on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:35 pm

“If you are a muslim or a muslim restaurant, you are under syariah jurisdiction. No doubt about it.” MY VIEW

How about Banana Leafs restaurant runs by Indians but patronize by muslims, must the apply for a halal certificate as well?

52. #52 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:36 pm

“What about a Hainanese “halal” shops, does it mean the owners aren’t allowed to display their Buddhist or Taoist figurines? Comeon, that is definitely not right!” Jong

Sorry but am I missing something here? Was the raid in issue accompanied by the removal of Hindu deities?

53. #53 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:42 pm

dawsheng, I already have a second thought and given my opinion above. You must also refer to Jeffrey’s input.

54. #54 by dawsheng on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:42 pm

Please don’t mistake halal from ‘pork free’ shops. The former (halal certification) is subject to stringent standrads set by the competent Islamic authoritioes mandated by our Islamic laws. – Jeffrey

Some of the muslims patronize ‘pork free’ eatery. Could this be a sign that in future all restaurants who wish to serve muslim customers must obtain a halal certificate? Or we will have to obtain a non-halal certificate and paste it at the front door so to avoid muslim from stepping in and commit a sin?

55. #55 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:42 pm

I really think that JAWI enforcement officers should also visit Malay restaurants with statues on display. It may be part of the ambiance and therefore not religious symbols but part of the effort to attract clients – but it is against strict Muslim teachings to display statues and images.

I they are really serious about it.

56. #56 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:46 pm

Jeffrey, if a restaurant have a legal HALAL certification, does that mean that the restaurant cannot display any dieties of their religion ( non muslim ) in the restaurant?

57. #57 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:50 pm

Any Muslim here who can help answer all these halal related questions?

58. #58 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:55 pm

“Neither can he simply hang halal logo and ayat ayat marketing his eatery..” Jeffrey

Yes. Here you touch on a valid issue which is whether it is ever right for a business to use religion and religious symbols to attract business.

I don’t think this is the reason behind the requirement for the ‘halal’ logo to be displayed at the front of the shop.

If these people really want to get it right than all businesses should not be allowed to use religious symbols in this way. Religious symbols could, of course, adorn the walls of the private part of the business premises.

59. #59 by Jong on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:55 pm

Let’s take a rest, don’t further confuse ourselves. We’ll wait for tomorrow’s news. Kayveas is in the mood, he was in today’s “live” news. Maybe he’ll outdo Samy Vellu.

60. #60 by Godamn Singh on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:57 pm

MY VIEW,

I am a Muslim. What is it that you do not know?

61. #61 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:59 pm

Undergrad2, I feel that there is nothing wrong displaying those statues or even dieties as long as the food served is HALAL. If the food is hygenic and taste good, muslims and non muslims will patronise the restaurant.

62. #62 by Godamn Singh on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:00 pm

But, Jong, the raid if you could call it that, has nothing to do with Samy Bulu!

63. #63 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:02 pm

MY VIEW,

I would like to see the image of the cross displayed in my room as manager of the restaurant and not be used as a religious symbol for monetary gain.

64. #64 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:06 pm

Had our Federal Constitution separated religion from state, we would not be made to face all these government intrusions into our private lives.

65. #65 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:10 pm

“Undergrad2, I feel that there is nothing wrong displaying those statues or even dieties as long as the food served is HALAL. If the food is hygenic and taste good, muslims and non muslims will patronise the restaurant.” MY VIEW

Tell that to the Jews who refuse to eat at outlets selling non-kosher food and outlets run by Jews they suspect of infringing their religious beliefs.

66. #66 by dawsheng on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:16 pm

There is this issue with the Liquor License where the outlet cannot serves a muslim alcoholic beverages and the penalty for breaking the rules is your license will be revoke. So if someone who looks like a Malay approaches the bar, ordered a alcohplic drink, you first question will be “are you muslim?”.

67. #67 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:18 pm

Had our Federal Constitution separated religion from state, we would not be made to face all these government intrusions into our private lives. – undergrad2

That’s how government departments “cari makan”.

68. #68 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:23 pm

To MYVIEW – when a restaurant operator applies to JAKIM for HALAL certification, it is made known to him that the certification applied for is attached with several conditions one of which likely that figures of deities, if any, in the premises should be hidden from the public’s view. I suspect this condition is probably not imposed only by our accredited issuing authority of halal certification (JAKIM) but by many Majlis Ugama Islam (issuing authority) world wide including the one in ‘secular’ Singapore. I agree that what is public view or not is a matter of opinion. You put diety behind cashiers counter to bless the inflow of money, but the muslim patrons contributing the money can see these deities when they come to the cashier counter.

To Undergrad2, you must ask whether one can be allowed to flaunt, advertise and hold out a claim to muslim patron that one is strictly halal in one’s restuarant, with proper certification and to buttress one’s claim, display ayat ayat and arabic scriptures from Koran, and yet when one examines the halal certification, it is found to be not from the proper Islamic accreditation authority recognised by Islamic laws of this country but from some dubious agency purporting to be able to certify, when it clearly has no authority to do so – isn’t this false advertisement? Just like in another context you sell goods purportedly made in France when it is actually made in Sri Lanka – aren’t you a fraud liable for committing an offence for misleading public under the Trade Description Act?

69. #69 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:23 pm

Godamn Singh, welcome to the world of CONFUCIUS – we are all confused.

70. #70 by hermes on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:24 pm

Talk about PAS wanting to set up an islamic state. UMNO is doing the same but doing it on the stealth. At least PAS is trying to do it openly.

What is the difference between Pas and UMNO? NONE. Both are trying to set up an islamic state, PAS to do it openly but UMNO is trying to do it by stealth and sneakily. That is the only difference.

So for the non muslim. Wake up! UMNO is also setting up an islamic state. Wake up MCA and MIC you are sleeping with an islamic party. Do not, as you often lie, that the opposition is sleeping with an islamic party. You are doing it openly and appear to be proud of it.

The country is going islamic by UMNO and Barisan. The difference is that PAS cannot by itself form an islamic state because the opposition have stated they will not endore it.

On the other hand UMNO can set up an islamic state because they are the government and because MCA, MIC and the others partners willingly agree with UMNO to go on the islamic state path by stealth.

71. #71 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:29 pm

The point here is no one forces anyone to apply for halal certification in his restuarant. To force is unconstitutional and unreasonable and wrong. But if one voluntraily wants to apply for such a certification to tap the muslim market and knows the conditions attached to such a certification – whether or not those conditions seem reasonable to a non muslim, being entirely a separate issue not in debate here – can one (an applicant for halal certification) thereafter be allowed to break or circumvent the conditions that he earlier accepted for profit motive? Doesn’t sound right isn’t it?

72. #72 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:50 pm

“…display ayat ayat and arabic scriptures from Koran, and yet when one examines the halal certification, it is found to be not from the proper Islamic accreditation authority recognised by Islamic laws of this country but from some dubious agency purporting to be able to certify, when it clearly has no authority to do so – isn’t this false advertisement?’ Jeffrey

There are a number of issues of fact and law here intertwined.

The first is whether, in that case, the halal logo used is that of JAWI’s – fact.

The second is whether JAWI has the sole and exclusive authority to make the halal certification and issue their logo – issue of law.

The third is whether the display of Quranic verses found meet the prior approval of JAWI. Remember that Indian Muslims are Shiites and not Sunnis (in Iraq they are killing each other for being one and not the other) – issues of fact and law.

The fourth is whether the restaurant in question has contravened any of the rules and regulations issued by JAWI – issue of fact.

The fifth is whether the actions of the JAWI enforcement officials violated the constitutional rights of citizens – issues of fact and law.

Finally, whether the Summons is void because it violates the constitutional rights of citizens – issue of law.

There are also issues exclusively of facts and not law.

Was the restaurant owned and managed by citizens or legal permanent residents. This would be an issue for DBKL and their licensing department – and of course, also immigration.

Is the restaurant owner an illegal immigrant who over stayed his visitor’s visa – a question best answered by our Immigration when they are not too busy deleting records of foreign visitors.

73. #73 by dawsheng on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:52 pm

What if the restaurant didn’t apply for the halal logo from JAWI because they were muslims as in this case? I don’t remember seeing halal logo in Malay coffeeshop or it applies only to non-malay muslim establishment?

74. #74 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:54 pm

correction indians from india are shiites and sunnis and this owner could well be a shiite.

75. #75 by Godamn Singh on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 11:00 pm

MY VIEW,

I thought somebody already has the exclusive right to be confused.

76. #76 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 11:04 pm

“What is the difference between Pas and UMNO?”

The spelling and the kind of ‘diapers’ they have on their heads?

77. #77 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 11:13 pm

“There is this issue with the Liquor License where the outlet cannot serves a muslim alcoholic beverages and the penalty for breaking the rules is your license will be revoke. So if someone who looks like a Malay approaches the bar, ordered a alcohplic drink, you first question will be “are you muslim?” dawsheng

Yes, they are prohibited from serving liquor to Muslims and not just Malays. There may be Mongolian Muslims too.

But only if you knowingly flout the law!

Waiters and waitresses have a duty to ask – but that is where their duty stops. They do not have to go further and verify by looking at documents – ICs or Certificates of Conversion issued by JAWI or passports.

But if they ask the patrons could refuse on the ground of discrimination.

78. #78 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 11:18 pm

Wow! There is a delayed response. Many posts crossing the other. Goddamn Singh is not the only one confused.

79. #79 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 11:19 pm

Is this your post that was temporarily lost in cyberspace?

“YB Kit,

I think you better check the facts before blowing up the issue. I have raised this point about the conditions of halal certification in the previous thread “Tolerance my ass!”

80. #80 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 11:24 pm

Undergrad2, yes that posted on June 28th, 2007 at 20: 27.53 was the one temporarily lost in cyberspace and now re-materialised.

81. #81 by Alvin on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 11:35 pm

i believe Jeffrey QC’ (borrowing undergrad2’s term) has clarified the stand on ‘halal’ sufficiently well and now it’s back to Kit to authenticate the facts.
    let’s not expand further energy on this subject and move on to important issues affecting us, BN and the country, especially those non performing MP’s the cabinet & etc.

82. #82 by MY VIEW on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 11:41 pm

Good discussion. Good night everybody.

83. #83 by rukunegara on Friday, 29 June 2007 - 12:43 am

//Tolerance my ass!

I have received the following very angry email from MS, with a very ferocious heading which I am using – breaking a rule of this blog – Lim Kit Siang//

The above piece and now, this piece, is what people call “irresponsible journalism”. Mr. Lim, you should be ashame of yourself for not getting enough facts to support your claim.

84. #84 by Kit on Friday, 29 June 2007 - 8:26 pm

Wrong to display religious pictures?

New Straits Times (29.6.07)

KUALA LUMPUR: Is it an offence to place pictures of verses from the Quran and Hindu deities in restaurants?

This is the poser following the confiscation of such pictures from two restaurants in Lorong Maarof, Bangsar, here.

A spokesman for Restaurant Aiswaria, A. Mohd Dhasthagi, said officers from the Department of Islamic Development (Jakim), Kuala Lumpur City Hall and the Domestic Trade and Industry Ministry inspected the premises on Tuesday.

A notice was issued, saying that the restaurant did not have halal certification from Jakim and also did not have Muslim workers. The owner was asked to rectify the situation. The team took away a picture of Mecca and another with verses from the Quran.

Aiswaria owner Jehabar Ali Hussain Kader said yesterday: “I have not broken any laws. It’s ridiculous that I was cited for these offences. I never knew that it is an offence to display religious pictures in my premises. Being a Muslim, I purchase food items from a halal vendor.”

He said he had Muslim workers.

Restaurant Seetharam, a few doors away, was also cited for similar offences. The raiding team confiscated three pictures of Hindu deities placed behind the cashier’s counter.

The employees said they were baffled by the removal of the pictures.

The issue was highlighted yesterday by opposition leader Lim Kit Siang. He had earlier visited the outlets with two other MPs, Chong Eng and Fong Po Kuan.

Lim said this was not the first time such raids were conducted and he feared it could set back inter-racial harmony.

Jakim director-general Datuk Mustafa Abdul Rahman said he was not aware of the incident.

“If it is true, I will ask for a report from the officers involved. This is a sensitive issue and I can’t comment until I know the whole story.”

Perlis Mufti Dr Mohd Asri Zainul Abidin said the display of religious pictures had nothing to do with the food served.

He said Muslims could consume food in restaurants as long as the ingredients were halal and the preparation followed Islamic principles.

“Islam allows the display of religious pictures and paraphernalia in a private area as long as it doesn’t disturb the peace. This incident must be investigated carefully as we don’t know what the real issue is.”

85. #85 by Kit on Friday, 29 June 2007 - 8:30 pm

‘Shocking’ Jakim raids on restaurants
    Joyce Tagal
    Jun 29, 07 11:42am

“I’m Muslim too, I’m Muslim too,” says Mohammad Jehapar Ali Hussaien Kader, who is still in shock and disbelief that his restaurant was raided by religous officials on Tuesday.

Twenty-five officials from the government religious department Jakim (Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia) pulled up in front of his Restoran Aiswaria, in Lorong Maarof, Bangsar, during lunch hour on Tuesday, asking to see certification that the eatery was halal.

After finding out that Aiswaria had no official halal documentation, the officials proceeded to take down Quranic verses and a framed picture of the Kaabah from the restaurant’s walls.

According to Mohammed Dhasthasir, one of Aiswaria’s workers, officials took down the verses and picture because they were “misleading”.

He said the officers implied that since the restaurant was not certified halal, Islamic paraphernalia could not be placed on its walls.

The picture and verses were taken by the officials and not returned to the owner.

The officers filed a report (left) stating that Aiswaria had committed several offences, including not having halal certification, displaying Quranic verses not “certified” by Jawi and not hiring Muslim workers.

However, Aiswaria has seven Muslim workers out of a total of 12, including Mohammed Dhasthasir himself.

“I told them I was Muslim, and I signed the report with my full name!” said an indignant Dhasthasir. “My name is Mohammed, how could they not know my religion?”

No proper explanation

Dhasthasir and Ali are also frustrated that the officials took away the restaurant decorations without proper explanation.

“I am Muslim, so why can’t I display Quranic verses? I have them in my car as well.” says Ali. “Just because we have no halal certification, is that a reason for them to take away my religious decoratives?”

He also lamented the officers’ hardline actions. “They should have given us a three-day notice. I understand if you come to check my halal certification, but something like the pictures – they should have let us know and we would have taken them down ourselves.” Ali said. “They shouldn’t have taken them away.”

“It’s akin to legalised robbery.” he added.

Dhasthasir says that the officers came in a large pack, although 15 actually walked into the cafe while the others milled around outside. For 20 minutes, the officers questioned the workers, looked around the restaurant, took the pictures and left.

The New Straits Times today also said that the same officers had also confiscated pictures of Hindu deities from Restaurant Seetharam, an Indian restaurant on the same block as Aiswaria.

Meanwhile, Opposition Leader Lim Kit Siang said in a press statement that the religious authorities should stop their “reign of terror” and called on Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to put them in check.

Referring to the Lorong Maarof raids, he accused them having “little Napoleons” complex of “not understanding the Merdeka social contract” and having “contempt for the constitutional rights of all Malaysians”.

86. #86 by undergrad2 on Friday, 29 June 2007 - 8:40 pm

So the allegations made by MS who e-mailed contained inaccuracies. It was not JAWI but it was JAKIM and it involved enforcement officers from domestic trade division of the Trade Ministry and DBKL. That makes more sense.

“Lim said this was not the first time such raids were conducted and he feared it could set back inter-racial harmony.” KIT

So it has been sensationalized by vested interests?

Past raids have not spared Malay and Muslim businesses who went against the rules and regulations of JAKIM and other similar bodies from having their property confiscated. They have had their Quran’ic verses on display in their premises confiscated.

This phenomenon has been described by foreign journalists as evidence of ‘creeping Islamization’ in Malaysia and has been particularly acute in the last ten years. Increased Government intrusions into the private lives of citizens in a country claiming to be secular and democratic is worrying to both – Muslims and non-Muslims.

87. #87 by undergrad2 on Friday, 29 June 2007 - 8:48 pm

The U.S. Department of State report on Malaysia has highlighted attempts by the Malaysian government to stop what it refers as deviant Muslim teachings which is not sanctioned by the Government.

So the incidents we are seeing from time to time are really attempts by the government bodies and agencies concerned with the development of Islam like JAKIM, to stop the growth of such beliefs and teachings.

Unfortunately it has spread to also include the non-Muslims.

88. #88 by undergrad2 on Friday, 29 June 2007 - 9:06 pm

““I am Muslim, so why can’t I display Quranic verses? I have them in my car as well.” says Ali. “Just because we have no halal certification, is that a reason for them to take away my religious decoratives?”

It is called law, friend. And not knowing the law is no excuse. But it is true. There is a constitutional issue involved i.e. the right of citizens to practice their religion. The right of Malays to choose their religion is a different matter unconnected to this incident since no Malays were involved – only Muslims of Pakistani origin(?).

This issue of halal certification and the display of Quran’nic verses in business premises open to the public is a matter clearly within the jurisdiction of bodies like JAKIM, DBKL and Ministry of Trade’s Domestic Division. so the issue of who has jurisdiction and who does not is very clear -and is not an issue here.

It is a case involving compliance with the law i.e. the rules and regulations issued by the relevant bodies – and not with the religious beliefs of the Muslim owner of this restaurant!

The other restaurant owner’s constitutional right has clearly been violated. This has to be addressed.

89. #89 by undergrad2 on Friday, 29 June 2007 - 9:11 pm

“This issue of halal certification and the display of Quran’nic verses in business premises open to the public is a matter clearly within the jurisdiction of bodies like JAKIM, DBKL and Ministry of Trade’s Domestic Division…”

Sorry, please omit DBKL and Trade Ministry which are bodies involved apparently because of licensing issues and because of the lack of bumiputera participation. The display of Quran’ic verses have no relevance to them but only to JAKIM.

90. #90 by undergrad2 on Friday, 29 June 2007 - 11:33 pm

In the U.S. there are kosher food outlets which sell only kosher food to Jews and those who want them. Conservative Jews would only buy from their own who sell only kosher food.

Muslims follow the same Old Testament tradition. But the decision like in the case of kosher food, should be left to them to make.

This is another example of government intrusion into the private lives of its citizens which is inevitable because Islam has been politicized by design more than by default.

91. #91 by terencesgk on Saturday, 30 June 2007 - 12:49 am

From the second letter, and the newspaper reports posted by Kit, this owner of Restaurant Aiswaria would definitely be at fault if he doesn’t have a halal certification from Jakim. A law is a law and I believe that even non-Muslim know that Jakim is the only body with the authority to grant halal certification in Malaysia. It’s not an issue whether you’re Muslim or not but it’s a matter that certain law had been broken. So, if you are not happy with this law, then change it through the proper channel. By the way, if he is Muslim, why on earth does he want to display Hindu deities? We all know that Hindu display their deities for prayer purposes.

That being said, from NST report, these people took pictures of Hindu deities from Restaurant Seetharam, an Indian restaurant, which I would assume has nothing to do with halal or not halal provided that they don’t claim it to be. Then this is definitely a breach of constitutional rights and such action, which I would like to call “contempt of the Constitution”, must be acted on with heavy punishments meted out.

“In the U.S. there are kosher food outlets which sell only kosher food to Jews and those who want them. Conservative Jews would only buy from their own who sell only kosher food” – undergrad2

Thanks for the insight undergrad2. That’s the way it should be. If Muslims are offended by items displayed in non-Muslims premises, they have the choice of not patronising these premises.

The way these ‘enforcerment’ were carried out left much to be desired. I have seens such operations by the local authorities on eateries and their conduct is definitely very very intimidating. I was in one of the premise ‘raided’ by these people and these guys really spoilt my evening (and my dinner). By the way, if the authorities (not only Jakim) really care about enforcement (not only religious), I would suggest that our local authority look at the illegal eateries mushrooming everywhere (on pedestrian path eg. opposite Putra LRT’s Universiti Station). I definitely do not think that they are legal (can’t approve to operate on pedestrian path right) and I am really puzzled how they get their water and electricity supply. Again, law is law. And if they really can get out in such big group, then they are definitely not short of man power. Probably can reassign them to do some street patrol.

92. #92 by brt on Saturday, 30 June 2007 - 3:42 am

I think enough is enough.Those Malaysian non-Malays who can do so, leave Malaysia for good. Especially if you have businesses and assets, sell them off and LEAVE. If these Taliban Nazis want to create a failed state, we shall oblige and leave them to wallow in their misery. The problem is occuring because mainly the Malays themselves are not speaking out against this extremism. The cure to this problem is to actually allow it to accelerate, because the first victims of Islamic extremists will be Muslims themselves. Once a critical mass of Muslims get pissed off, this problem will correct itself. So let’s allow these taliban Nazis to accelerate further.

93. #93 by mabert on Saturday, 30 June 2007 - 9:32 am

Mr.Lim, there is so much talk about religious sensitivities in this country. I,myself a civil servant wish to state that non muslims are being forced to attend courses that include ceramah agama and vcd shows conducted by Jakim. This is very true in the ‘Bengkel Integriti’ course which is compulsory for all government servants to attend or face displicinary action.Right on our faces they talk about kafir which normally refer to us non muslims. Should I react the way these people reacted towards Lina Joy. P.S I went for the course but I stay at hotel room during the ceramah. In future I may not attend any of these courses anymore. I even e-mail the matter to the department concern. Talk about religious freedom! This what happens when the so call ’social contract’ handed over too much power to one community.

94. #94 by WFH on Saturday, 30 June 2007 - 12:10 pm

//…
    # mabert Says:
    June 30th, 2007 at 09: 32.24

Mr.Lim, there is so much talk about religious sensitivities in this country. I,myself a civil servant wish to state that non muslims are being forced to attend courses that include ceramah agama and vcd shows conducted by Jakim. This is very true in the ‘Bengkel Integriti’ course which is compulsory for all government servants to attend or face displicinary action.Right on our faces they talk about kafir which normally refer to us non muslims. Should I react the way these people reacted towards Lina Joy. P.S I went for the course but I stay at hotel room during the ceramah. In future I may not attend any of these courses anymore. I even e-mail the matter to the department concern. Talk about religious freedom! This what happens when the so call ’social contract’ handed over too much power to one community….///

Omigod! Another battlefront opens..:-(

Is the summons issued to the neighbouring Indian restaurant the first “inch” in pursuing that ALL eateries be required to be HALAL? Is this another 4th Floor stealth move, in furtherance of THE world “HALAL” Hub which Malaysia has announced it wants to be?

And we all know the personality behind that initiative is no other than the Son-in-law, with full blessings of Father-in-law

Interesting also, that not long ago, KFC incurred financial losses when their chicken had their HALAL certification disputed by either rumour or official circular. But subsequently validated.

Stretching this a little bit further, if I live in the same street as Muslims/Malays (which I do, by the way), does it also mean that I CANNOT display my little red altar for my joss sticks beside my door, since it is in public view, including in the view too of my neighbours and any Muslim/Malay passing along the street? What about the crucifix I adorn above the entrance way?
    What about when I throw my bak-kut-teh and non-HALAL chicken leftover bones in a plastic bag into the rubbish bin? Will Alam Flora be legally/religiously entitled to REFUSE to collect my rubbish?

This country needs divine help from a Council of Gods from up-there.

95. #95 by achareeya on Saturday, 30 June 2007 - 1:09 pm

Great article…

I have linked this to my blog and a related issue on today’s The Star highlighting the plight of Hindu rights activists seeking justice over the demolishing of 79 temples nationwide.

http://achareeya.blogspot.com

http://achareeya.blogspot.com/2007/06/group-seeks-action-over-demolition-of.html

96. #96 by MY VIEW on Saturday, 30 June 2007 - 3:09 pm

Let the so called errant muslims be punished by the human god. Non muslims should not interfere in this muslim matter.

97. #97 by MY VIEW on Saturday, 30 June 2007 - 3:14 pm

brt Says:

June 30th, 2007 at 03: 42.56
    I think enough is enough.Those Malaysian non-Malays who can do so, leave Malaysia for good. Especially if you have businesses and assets, sell them off and LEAVE. If these Taliban Nazis want to create a failed state, we shall oblige and leave them to wallow in their misery. The problem is occuring because mainly the Malays themselves are not speaking out against this extremism. The cure to this problem is to actually allow it to accelerate, because the first victims of Islamic extremists will be Muslims themselves. Once a critical mass of Muslims get pissed off, this problem will correct itself. So let’s allow these taliban Nazis to accelerate further.

To brt, what you are saying is actually happening. You are the wise one.

98. #98 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 30 June 2007 - 9:06 pm

Zack, are you there??

99. #99 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 30 June 2007 - 9:11 pm

“Thanks for the insight undergrad2. That’s the way it should be. If Muslims are offended by items displayed in non-Muslims premises, they have the choice of not patronising these premises.” terence

Except that in Malaysia they are playing politics with religion, and rightly so, so they claim because it is there in the Constitution – written out in stone for all to see and appreciate its glory and its power.

100. #100 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 30 June 2007 - 9:22 pm

“Stretching this a little bit further, if I live in the same street as Muslims/Malays (which I do, by the way), does it also mean that I CANNOT display my little red altar for my joss sticks beside my door, since it is in public view, including in the view too of my neighbours and any Muslim/Malay passing along the street? What about the crucifix I adorn above the entrance way?” WFH

This has been happening for years now! Neighborhoods are being turned into Muslim only neighborhoods or non-Malay non-Muslim neighborhoods, rich middle class neighborhoods and working class neighborhoods – the former not necessarily overlapping with the latter, and to the extent that it does not, it is a class struggle.

101. #101 by lakshy on Saturday, 30 June 2007 - 9:47 pm

I hope that according to Muslim laws then that it is wrong for the restaurants to place pictures of deities in such shops which purport to sell halal food.

Oh by the way, for all those factories that have tokongs and deities, watch out!

I know of chemical factories that supply chemicals for water treatment purposes that have datokong in their premises. So I guess that all the water used by muslims for ablutions all these years are not halal. And all the water they drink are not halal too!

Sheesh! Its tough being a muslim.

Even the cover of antibiotic capsules bought and distributed by the government hospitals are made of animal gelatin….not kosher or halal. And thats bought by the government! Wonder whether the muslims can sue our gevernment for feeding them non halal medicines?

102. #102 by dinadz on Monday, 2 July 2007 - 3:57 pm

This has been too much. Far too much. Seems that JAWI officials has no other better things to do. Problem arise when you put the wrong person in the wrong place. JAWI official, let them believed in their belief and you believe in yours. JAWI officials, think before you act. You are humiliating the muslims in Malaysia. To be a good muslim, you should respect other religions and cultures.

103. #103 by KS R on Wednesday, 4 July 2007 - 12:43 am

Hi Uncle

Please inform JAWI Fellows to buck up. Firstly this people no bloody brain. When praying must be silence not open the speaker loud and make noise i,e in the morning people sleeping and Taman area too loud and concentrate tv and other programmes
    Jawi official no other works do not worry what other race place. Goverment should consider to give the Jawi fellow some work. to catch thief,robbers, snatch thief, patrol Taman area and look for criminals. Too free that is why this uncivilised animals creating problem.

KS R