I have received the following very angry email from MS, with a very ferocious heading which I am using – breaking a rule of this blog:
Couldnt help feeling this angry today. I know at my age, I am supposed to be mellowing out, looking forward to a nice chilled day and now what? I find myself with the same amount of righteous anger as I had when I was 16 – going through puberty and finding the world most unfair that my mum wouldnt allow me to have my first pair of cargo pants!
I was sitting in the banana leaf shop this morning having a roti and a coffee when a group of JAWI officers entered the premises. 10 officers to be exact, into this little shop. They spent a good 20 minutes going through the place (and it is a small place!) and finally one officer writes out a writ and gives it to the cashier. They then left. Curious, I asked the cashier what that was all about and he replied that they were not allowed to have their little altars and pictures of their deities in their shop “because otherwise, Muslims cannot come into their shops” . What utter nonsense! Are we still living in the Malaysia that is so “famed” for its “religious tolerance”?? The shop is not a mamak shop. It is an Indian Banana leaf shop. Why would it be surprising that they should have signs of their religious beliefs in their own space? I didnt think that sort of thing was illegal (please correct me if I am wrong). What is wrong with this picture? Will it come down to the point when my Muslim friends should not visit my home just because I have a cross or a chinese altar there? PLEASE!
Better yet, I discovered as I was leaving , that the JAWI personnel had targetted the other 3 banana leaf shops along that row of old shops (near the vets office – off Jalan Maarof). There were at least 4 nos of vans for the officers , ALL double parked on the main road and causing an inconvenience to the other road users. Is there a separate set of laws that govern these people? Notwithstanding the fact that they are trampling all over the definition of religious tolerance in this country , they also flaunt the general laws of the land. This makes me really angry and sad about the state of our country.
I now find it difficult to speak up for Malaysia when there are arguments comparing Malaysia to other countries. It is sad that we can have the once world tallest building and still think like we came out of the jungle yesterday.
My Personal Big Sad Day today
MS

#1 by DiaperHead on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:53 pm
As for Christianity, only the Catholic Church uses images of the Lord and Saviour and the saints. Other Christian denominations do not use stone images of the son of God – only the use of the Cross as a symbol of the life, death and resurrection of Jesus the son of God.
#2 by atlk on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:54 pm
gather your wealth! earn as much as you can… and then leave.. there are many better places out there… melbourne, auckland, switzerland, singapore, uk…or the states…or you can move to manchester!!!!!
#3 by Woody on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 10:00 pm
If those JAWI officers are correct, then the assessment, taxes(like sales tax, income taxes, road tax and etc), quit rent and etc paid by non muslim must not be used to pay their salary, built amenities as they are non halal.
#4 by babasiao on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 10:06 pm
kit, i fear for the country. at least we have you to make all the noise, to provide some form or check and balance if you will, no matter how pale in comparison this compared to the amount of rubbish these people are dishing out each day. my only wish is dat you start grooming a protege, someone who will fight for a malaysian malaysia. if you can, pls groom a hundred. even with you around things are getting from bad to worse, drawing us back 40years. i dread to think what will happen in 10years time if the current situation continues. please, someone, save malaysia.
#5 by MY VIEW on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 10:11 pm
I only have this to say. Actually Malays are very nice people if you know them. It is the politicians who are taking care of themselves financially and otherwise, and the religious leaders who are screwing up this lovely country with their own beliefs and actions.
#6 by Jonny on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 10:18 pm
yes … am already looking into this, atik.
#7 by Jong on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 10:26 pm
The Talibans came marching in? ..all because of Mahathir and his “Malaysia is an Islamic state” !
#8 by Elvan on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 10:38 pm
Well first of all I’m new here so if my response is a bit astray help me out will ya? OK, I honestly think that those JAWI ppl are a bunch of ignorant ppl cos they don’t even know their teachings. There’s no such impulsions like that in the Quran or even the Hadith so where in the hell did they learn it from? We’ve been dealing with too much religious discriminations don’t you think YB? Do something and help us believe in whatever faith that we want… TQ
#9 by carboncopy on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 11:00 pm
2 words : NO JURISDICTION!
#10 by ctzen on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 11:01 pm
This time eateries are being targetted by JAWI. Next will come sundry shops, hardware shops and other non muslim businesses. Many of these have altars. Does it mean that muslims can’t patronise these shops? Wow, the country is afganistan the second.
Sure malaysia boleh – boleh imitate the taliban.
#11 by Loh on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 11:04 pm
///a group of JAWI officers entered the premises. 10 officers to be exact,///
Whatever they did in a premise, did they need ten officers? They are government servants, and I wonder what services these officers have performed for the benefit of the country. Why do they need 10 persons to do the job of inspection which require not more than one person? Were the 9 other officers providing security in performing a ‘sensitive’ job? Maybe it is because there were actually no specific beneficial work for these officers to perform that they chose to abuse the authority to bother the restaurant, to kill the time during office hour.
If that is an example of staff deployment in government service, we can safely conclude that the government service is bloated. That is why civil servants cannot be paid the right wages for them to do the job expected, and those in the lower rung had to take additional jobs to make ends meet.
How Malaysia has turned into a Bolehland. Another anticipated result of NEP.
#12 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 11:47 pm
THen it is high time the pirated cd peddlers and kingpins put up altars in their shops. Am sure these officers whether from Jawi, Jawa wouldnt dare to go in.
Yahooo!!!!
#13 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 11:57 pm
“If those JAWI officers are correct, then the assessment, taxes(like sales tax, income taxes, road tax and etc), quit rent and etc paid by non muslim must not be used to pay their salary, built amenities as they are non halal.”
This is no laughing matter. It is a real issue with them. They were debating on whether proceeds from illegal activities are ‘halal’ or ‘haram.’ For example, a hotel owned by them. They are in business and business means they must cater to the needs of their clientèle or lose the business to competitors. In the hotel business it is impossible to separate the proceeds from the sale of liquor sold to non-Muslims from the rest of the revenue.
So some of them thought of ways to make legal what are illegal proceeds from activities which are not legal – much like money laundering!
#14 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 12:00 am
“These Jawi [deleted] don’t realise that they are paid with taxpayers money.”
The tax payers don’t pay them. The government does. Where does the government get the funds to pay them? That is between the government and the tax payers.
Kapish???
#15 by Jong on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 12:01 am
See those idiots are spoilt! Baru naik gaji and they go on their rounds again.
I am quite sure they would have with a promise to
“help” the owner of the eatery. Boleh tolong punya, senang selesai, you tolong kami lah.
#16 by Jong on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 12:02 am
sorry, “..they would have left with a promise..”
#17 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 12:07 am
“I honestly think that those JAWI ppl are a bunch of ignorant ppl cos they don’t even know their teachings.”
They are not a bunch of ignorant people who do not know their own teachings. Ignorant they are not. Misguided maybe.
Hey, these are enforcement officers and being officers who deal with enforcement for a living they will need to be seen doing their jobs. Or else the Department will be facing budget cuts!
Would you not do the same to protect your job and provide sustenance to your family?
#18 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 12:11 am
“Why do they need 10 persons to do the job of inspection which require not more than one person?”
There is strength in numbers? Perhaps it is only fair that all 10 get to enjoy the allowances that come with field work rather than two?
#19 by lchk on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 12:14 am
Diaperhead wrote:
“You can always place altars and other religious symbols away from public view. Nothing to do with religious tolerance or intolerance.”
This was a private establishment run by non-Muslims. If you feel offended by Hindu idols and altars, kindly abstain from patronizing the restaurant then.
You religious fanatics have a thing or two to learn about tolerance in a multi-cultural society.
#20 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 12:17 am
“If I, reasonably, deduce that the “writ†is headed under the authority of some Islamic enforcement agency (obviously, because it was written, presumably signed and served over by the JAWI officer, acording to MS)”
I think only the court issues a writ. But a summons can be issued by law enforcement officers. They have what you refer to as delegated authority.
#21 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 12:26 am
“This was a private establishment run by non-Muslims. If you feel offended by Hindu idols and altars, kindly abstain from patronizing the restaurant then.” lchk
True. It is not a question of taking offense from the presence of religious symbols placed in private property like your house. An eatery or restaurant or whatever has an standing invitation to all as visitors. Some of these visitors (and I am using the word ‘visitor’ in a legal sense as opposed to ‘trespassers’) may order their food and then notice the presence of for example Chinese altars used for praying or Vishnu or the Goddess of Money or Jesus staring at them. What then?? Of course it is their fault.
But what of Article 3 of the Federal Constitution which states that Islam is the ‘religion of the federation’? Are these empty words??
#22 by Godamn Singh on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 12:29 am
Can I display a picture of Guru Nanak on the wall while I drink cows milk with ginger?? Sheriff the Singh, what do you have to say?
#23 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 12:38 am
“This was a private establishment run by non-Muslims”
Private establishment? Hmmmm….not quite.
#24 by tzarina on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 12:44 am
To DiaperHead
Your name is APT. You are wearing a diaper at the right place, where your head should have been.
The overzealous Jawi officials may concentrate on non-Muslim restaurants for now…but whose to say that next they wouldn’t go towards other businesses as well? And from business, towards personal clothings and accessories? After all…they already stooped low enough to kidnap dead bodies and babies.
I bet you and your cronies made alot of noise when the purdah was remarked upon or banned in western countries like the UK, Netherlands or France…or closer to home like Singapore where…so with what grounds are you insisting the non-Muslims must adhere to your own set of rules like hiding our alters from public eye? Do you want our temples and churches also to be covered up so it wouldn’t pollute your “iman”??….oh wait…you burn and raze them instead…and make it so difficult to be built in the first place…
As time passes, all these will lead to what you see in Afganistan…where ancient statues are blown up because it is deemed sinful to be living in a vicinity where other faiths are being practiced so openly! And school girls in Saudi are left to die in their burning building coz they were not wearing the “proper” clothing during the fire and firemen were stopped from helping them!
#25 by face_value on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 1:07 am
YB Kit,
This is the first time I post a comment in your blogsite and I’m sure it will not be the last.
I’m what constitution of Malaysia describe as Malay and by default my religion is Islam. I’ve lived overseas half of my life and I couldn’t recall telling people out there I’m Malay, cause I feel more Malaysian than Malay.
I didn’t check any race box in any of the forms that I need to fill because:
1. They don’t need to know what race I am just to get streamyx.
2. I don’t see a point to.
3. I feel it’s a redundant question.
I’ve gone to Church for one of my good friend’s wedding and that didn’t make me less of a Muslim. (Sure, if some Malay newspaper caught me in the act it’ll make a big headline the next day, but so what?)
My best friends are mostly Chinese and I hang out mostly with non-Malays (be it Chinese, Indian, Eurasian etc) and only few Malays I consider them as friends. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not racists or anything, just comfortable being surrounded by people who accept me the way I am, that’s all.
I went to Mandarin kindergarten and spent first 3 years of Primary education in Chinese school. I go to Raju in PJ to get my banana leaf fix.
What we have today is the greatest violation of human rights.
1. The right of the shop owner to do business peacefully.
2. The right of shop owner to show respect to his/her beliefs.
3. Abusing power given by the (corrupt) authority.
and the list goes on and on.
Since when JAWI is involved in business premises enforcement? I am sick and ashamed by these officers who doesn’t know any boundaries and respect to other fellow Malaysian.
I have to agree with few comments in here. If they found the idols of other religion is offensive, then leave the place. No one is putting a gun to their head to eat there. What has become to this country?
The Government are really playing with fire here. When someone is on the hot seat on 4th Flr (or anywhere else in BN for that matter), they are playing racial cards to divide Malaysian. If this report is authentic, it is bad for the country. This is sad. Pathetic is the perfect word to describe our state of nation.
#26 by AnakAskar on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 1:33 am
Dear Mr. Lim Kit Siang,
Some have suggested that you meet and bring up this matter with our PM, but if what I read is right, you may have to come up with 50K before you might even get the chance to see him.
and since most the time, our PM has not been attending Parliament sessions, whom would be addressing the matter with in the next Parliament session soon?
One of His(Ministers or Office Boys) at the Prime Minister’s Department?
Mmmm, that would even be a much tougher battle for you, because you would be accused of spreading rumours from the Internet without any proofs to begin with, and you or your comrades might again be barked at repeated, and abused by you know who, as “Bodoh! Itu semua bohong! Khabar Angin Dari Internet! Mana Itu Bukti! Bodoh! Bodoh! Bodoh!…”
#27 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 1:36 am
If anyone thinks that MS story is unbelievable, please think twice!! If you had studied in mission schools before, please go back there and take a look and you would be surprised by all the “good works” done by the Muslim Principles and Principles who followed the instructions from the MOE in islamising the schools, sorry to say that the church people are the ones who had tolerated all these islamisation in the mission schools by keeping quiet!!some of these schools principles had instructed that all the crosses be taken down from the roof tops even though the schools are still the properties of the churches but they longer have any say in running the schools!!!
#28 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 1:52 am
The meaning of religious tolerance in this country is that the minority faith has to tolerate the nonsense of the majority faith!!! e.g. They can make five calls a day using the loud speakers with mega amplifiers through out the day and expect every one to listen to that without complaining even though you have to work night shift or just want to rest peacefully without any noise!!! just imaging doing this with your faith and you will know what will be the consequences!!! mind you, they do this even in areas where they are the minority!!
#29 by tc on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 2:57 am
JAWI, MAWI, SAWI [deleted]…. all sounds the same. Religious and racial persecution. The future of our country is in OUR hands. We keep barking and whining and bitching about everyone and everything but come election day, we become spineless cowards who are reluctant to rock the boat and sell our principles and values for RM 100 duit kopi! IT IS IN OUR HANDS!!!
#30 by dawsheng on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 3:24 am
What we need to find out is whether these summons issued by JAWI is valid or not valid. The head of JAWI must speak out so that everyone can understand what is the rational behind its officers’ action. The public deserves an explanation and whatever reasons it better be good. I hope Raja Nazrin can do something about it.
#31 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 6:00 am
“This was a private establishment run by non-Muslims. If you feel offended by Hindu idols and altars, kindly abstain from patronizing the restaurant then.”
Except for the fact that Islam is the religion of the federation: Art. 3 Federal Constitution 1957.
Go amend the Constitution to make it secular.
#32 by cherasusie on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 6:58 am
this does not mean about religion only….this means our country going nowhere and the system collapsing.
only desperate nation will end up this way, cant imagine what more these religious zealots will do when the government cannot pay their salaries.
discrimination in our country has reduced jobs, thus jobs are forced to be given to certain groups for political reasons and worse still, creating more useless and unproductive positions like those ruthless religious disciplinary officers, to plug possible uprisings.
unless our country realises the meaning of “white cat, black cat, the one catches the mice is a good cat” we simply on the way to the graveyards.
many chinese youths now are whiling away their times in mamak stalls, day and night…. my friend, this is not a good sign… they may become……i don’t know, i really don’t know BUT definitely will not be good.
#33 by k1980 on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 7:56 am
http://howsy.blogspot.com/2007/06/bedolling-around-world-in-80-visits.html
Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has made 80 official and working visits overseas since 2004, the Dewan Rakyat was told.
And Malaysia’s Global Standing has been enhanced by these 80 visits:
1. Tier 3 or one of the countries in the worst category in the US state department’s annual Trafficking In Persons 2007 report.
2. Ranked 44 in TI Corruption Perception Index 2006.
3. Third rudest city in Reader’s Digest 2006 survey.
4. Ranked 4/7 as ‘Partly Free Country’, the same as Bangladesh, Burkina Faso and Kuwait.
5. Listed in one of the countries using torture- 2004/2005, in the same league as Iran and Iraq.
6. Ranked 156 in the May 2007 FIFA Football World Ranking, the same as Grenada and Myanmar.
#34 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 7:57 am
“……Except for the fact that Islam is the religion of the federation: Art. 3 Federal Constitution 1957…..Go amend the Constitution to make it secular….//….†– DiaperHead.
The Constitution may not be entirely secular – actually it is like a hybrid – in the sense that it allows the official religion Islam to be promoted by the government but this has always been taken to apply in the context of promoting it amongst those Malaysians of Muslim faith without encroachments and impediments being imposed on other Malaysians of a different faiths by virtue of article 8 of the same Constitution. Otherwise why have article 8?
If one compares the situation in 1957 until recently, notwithstanding article 3 of the Federal Constitution, one did not hear of altars and deities in Indian Banana Leaf have having been subject to such official harassment until this incident (if true). Are we saying that the incident reflects the true purport and meaning of Article 3 and that the tolerance of other faiths all this while is wrong or inconsistent with that article?
This cannot be. Like what I earlier said, if the promulgators of the Constitution had intended article 3 to pave the way to this country to become an Islamic State, why have an article 8 (Freedom of Religion) that an Islamic State does not ordinarily have – and why does this government keep preaching tolerance (whether or not the words were matched by deeds)?
It is article of faith and tenet upon which the multiracial harmony of this country is built that all should bear the responsibilities of sensitive and tolerant of each other faiths and no practice of faiths other than the Official religion may be otherwise suppressed or repressed even if the government utilises substantial resources to promote the Official faith amongst Muslims of this country.
From these perspectives the alleged act of JAWI officers, if true, are regressive and reactionary, contrary to ethos of tolerance for nation building adopted and accepted by all communities since the birth of this nation, and the fact that certain sections of the Muslim Community think differently and would like the complete Islamisation of this Country does not make it right, correct or justified by a selective citation of Article 3 without regard to why Article 8 is there!
As I have said earlier, JAWI can enforce laws and practices prescribed for Muslims but they have no jurisdiction or powers to do so in relation to non Muslims which is what this incident entails when a summon (described “writ†by MS) was issued.
If one is talking of the Banana Leaf restaurant owner is doing things (like having deities and altars) offensive to the sensitivities of Muslims, the owner should be taken to task by either MPAJA (municipal/licensing authorities) or even the police under sedition provisions) but certainly not JAWI officers who can only prosecute and charge a Muslim in a Syariah Court, which has no jurisdiction over Non Muslims.
Let us not use the authority of Article 3 to make an apologetic defense for the misguided acts of petty bureaucratic officials who deem fit to out their duties in an overzealous manner in excess of their powers and contrary to the very ethos upon which the fabric of multi-racial and inter-religious harmony is forged so far in the country.
#35 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:07 am
I do agree however with the observation that it is the perception of weak political leadership at the top, and the perception by people like JAWI officers that they could get away with doing anything in advancement of their authority and agenda with impunity without resistence is probably the explanation why Islamic authorities could expand their power and influence so quickly and easily with necessary encroachment into the sphere of the rights and freedom of moderate Muslims and non Muslims of late.
#36 by izrafeil on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:29 am
TALIBANISATION OF MALAYISA is very very real indeed. Fast Forward 15 years, we will be like AFGHANISTAN!
#37 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:30 am
This is precisely why Tunku Abdul Rahman was against Islamic state. He was worried about those who were weak and did not have true faith in the religion. He knew the dangers of these people no matter what the religion was and he loved his religion too much to subject it to abuse by the blasphemous.
Tunku undestand that ultimately its the separation of power, the core differences between him and Dr. M that can stand the test of time -separation of religious and state power and the three branches of government.
Islamic state has got nothing to with the afterlife but about the greed and other human weakness of the current life.
#38 by from this day onwards... on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:36 am
LKS the opposition should really get their act together and present a united and confident party that the rakyat and vote and stand tall together. Now is the best time to go forth and defeated the BN. The internet has open up a whole new world of awareness never seen before, the public educated, the public saw, read and mourn. Nothing is hidden in darkness now. Mr Lim your battle has been a long and lonely struggle now is the time to capture the glory and perserve as ahead remains the last leg of the race. Mussle up the remaining ounce of energy and sprint forward dont give up!! BN leaders are laughing now and ridiculing us but in the end the righteous shall have the last laugh.
#39 by Cinnamon on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:39 am
Jawi has no jurisdiction in issuing the writ. We know it, but not all Indian banana leave shop owners know it. Some of them are hardworking people, without much education, trying very hard to come up in life.
It’s time to teach Jawi [deleted] a lesson that they can’t simple mess around and make a example to the rest.
Can a civil case be put up against the Jawi people, for harrassing the public? Sue them for millions for the unreasoanble mental torture.
Talking in Parliment is not good enough. Let’s create mental torture to them.
#40 by Cinnamon on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 8:42 am
Can the Jawi bastards be sued in civil court? They have created undue mental torture to the shopowners. Sue them for millions.
Talking in Parliment is not enough. Let’s give them the same pain.
#41 by megaman on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:05 am
“……Except for the fact that Islam is the religion of the federation: Art. 3 Federal Constitution 1957…..Go amend the Constitution to make it secular….//….†– DiaperHead.
Does this mean we cannot place altars in our own private premises ?
Does this mean we need to place pictures of kaabah in our offices, eating places or business outlet even though we are not Muslim ?
Or worse, the business is non-halal ?
Totally illogical, Islam as the official religion DOES NOT imply that we cannot honour our own religions in premises that we own, be it that the altars or any other apparatus of worship is viewable publicly.
WHAT KIND OF CRAP U TOKING ABT DIAPERHEAD ?
#42 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:09 am
Not everywhere is freedom taken away and religious fascism imposed as radically and drastically as the Iranian Revolution led by Ayatollah Khomeini ousting the Shah.
More, often the enemies of freedom seeking to subvert Constitution and thwart and redefine its framers’ intentions according to their agenda will advance their agenda piecemeal, inch by inch, pausing at each juncture to evaluate whether they can get away with that initiative/step un-resisted so that each little step advanced and marginal progress is used as a new starting point to take further steps nearer towards their final goal.
You see, the trick is a marginal advance in each instance is by definition too insignificant by itself and therefore has the advantage of the likelihood of being achieved quietly and impartibly un-resisted – so that over time, an aggregation of countless unremembered advancements would constitute major milestone attained, a reversal of which by those opposed to this ‘creeping’ agenda becomes difficult if not impossible short of subjecting the whole system to be on tethers and the brink of being torn asunder…..
It therefore behooves all peoples cherishing freedom to be vigilant of their rights and to resist passionately each initiative and to try stopping each marginal advance and if possible rolling it back.
Otherwise, the Constitution and the government will eventually be in the grasp and controls of religious extremist and fanatics to the detriment of all.
#43 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:09 am
If JAWI can storm into Indian restaurants and do this, my question is what is the difference when NAzis storm into Jewish restaurants and turn their tables?
JAWI=NAZI???
We just have to remove this Pak LAh and BN. It’s an unadulterated case of the blind leading the blind – whatever HADHARI may mean!
#44 by xaviers on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:33 am
How can we publicise this? Let everyone know, what’s happening. It seems that there is a media blackout on things like this…cause the newspapers are afraid.
Somehow, I have this gut feeling that when this happens, these JAWI people will deny such incident ever happened.
Malaysia… living in denial and full of pride, and outside people cannot comment.
#45 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:43 am
I like JeffOoi’s Merdeka 1234 wish list in today’s Screenshots:
“With two months away from the 50th anniversary of Merdeka, I outlined my biggest wishlist for the next 50 years of nationhood.
Let’s do away with Malaysians 1234. We have to abolish all forms of forms that demand you to fill in ( 1 ) for Malay; ( 2 ) for Chine; ( 3 ) for Indian; and ( 4 ) Lain-lain for the field of race.
Forging a Bangsa Malaysia, the media and civil society should make sure that it’s not all form over substance.”
For those unfamiliar with Shakespeare’s “Merchant of Venice”, here is one of Shakepeare’s timeless quotable quotes when Shylock, a victim of deep racial prejudice, eloquently demanded that a pound of flesh be cut from Antonio nearest to his heart:
‘To bait fish withal: if it will feed nothing else, it will feed my revenge. He hath disgraced me, and hindered me half a million; laughed at my losses; mocked at my gains, scorned my nation, thwarted my bargains, cooled my friends, heated my enemies: and what’s his reason? I am a Jew. Hath not a Jew eyes? hath not a Jew hands, organs, dimensions, senses, affections, passions? fed with the same food, hurt with the same weapons, subject to the same diseases, healed by the same means, warmed and cooled by the same winters and summer, as a Christian is? If you prick us, do we not bleed, if you tickle us, do we not laugh? if you poison us, do we not die? and if you wrong us, shall we not revenge? if we are like you in the rest, we will resemble you in that. If a Jew wrong a Christian, what is his humility? Revenge: if a Christian wrong a Jew, what should his sufferance be by Christian example? why, revenge. The villainy you teach me, I will execute; and it shall go hard but I will better the instruction.”
Whether it be racial hatred and prejudice or religious intolerance and persecution, they will tear a nation at its seams!
Now I will tell you a simple fact why Malayisa will descend and scrape the bottom of the barrel in the economy of nations: because race and religion have been used to divide the people and further politically bigoted aims. Countries like Vietnam will eventually rise because they don’t bicker and bludgeon each other and waste useful resources chasing hopeless racially-biased programs.
Malaysia must reverse its doomed course through resolute political leadership or slip gradually into being a pariah nation…literally, through brain drain, weak and incompetent human capital, loss of FDI, wastage of national resources, corruption, divisive national policies, religious bigotry etc…
Over 400 years ago, Shakespeare saw the cruelty and doom that accompanies racism.
Malaysia, does it take us over 400 years to learn racial integration. The earliest Chinese like Admiral Cheng Ho had sailed to this peninsula in the 15th Century?
#46 by good coolie on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 9:57 am
Malaysians have been keeping pictures and idols in restaurants for a long time since Merdeka and the Constitution. There is no conflict between doing so and recognising that Islam is the religion of the Federation. The extremists among Muslims are trying to reinterpret the constitution to suit Islamic state agendas. These people must be challenged at every turn or they would take our silence as assent.
#47 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:06 am
I believe the “Social Contract” has been articulated thus:
// It recognises “the special position of the Malays,†Malay as the national language, Islam as religion of the state, the Malay rulers as constitutional monarchs, and non-Malays rights of citizenship and freedom to practise their religion, language and culture. //
Islam as religion of the state is just one leg of the bargain. It is not THE religion or the the ONLY religion allowed. There is also the guarantee of non-Malays rights of citizenship and FREEDOM to practise their RELIGION….
face_value – if only there are more Malays like you…
#48 by terencesgk on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:09 am
If what this man claimed is nothing but the truth, then a very serious Constitutional issue has just happened. As some commenters have put it, which article/law of the Federation of Malaysia give JAWI the authority to conduct such action? If there is none, then these officers had committed some ‘constitutional crime’ and as the Constitution is the highest law of the land, severe action/punishment must be meted out. If the action of JAWI is constitutionally wrong while the rights of those affected banana leaf restaurants’ owner are enshrined in the Constitution, then what JAWI did is definitely a ‘contempt of the Constitution’, challenging the social contract agreed upon by our forefathers, ‘raping’ these owners’ right to their freedom to practice the religion of their choice, stirring/ignoring the sensitivities of the fragile multi-religious society (reason why inter-faith dialogue are not allowed) etc. etc. Contempt of court is serious and we have seen heavy punishment for that, therefore, I don’t see why contempt of the Constitution should be allowed.
I don’t remember any such incidents during the previous administrations (correct me if I’m wrong, maybe I was too young then), even during Mahathir’s administration (who has been accused of ‘corrupting’ the Constitution and branded as Pharoah by certain people). This surely would leave a black episode for AAB administration. Unless this problem is tackle properly before it become widespread (in the sense that before more such incidents happen), there is a possibility that the current administration would go down in history as a anti non-Muslim administration.
#49 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:31 am
// ENDANGERED HORNBILL Says:
June 27th, 2007 at 16: 54.52
What’s this on S’pore STI online which has since been deleted!
Asia | 4:14 PM
M’sia stiffens penalties to stifle Muslim conversions?
Anybody knows? //
Must be about this story …
27/06: Tougher law for Malaysia converts
Category: General Posted by: Raja Petra
Al Jazeera
The only opposition-ruled state in Malaysia has approved stiffer penalties to deter people from trying to convert Muslims to other faiths.
Under the revised law passed by Kelantan state, anyone found guilty faces a maximum penalty of six lashes with a rattan cane, five years in prison and a fine of almost $3,000.
Kelantan is the only Malaysian state led by the opposition Islamist party, PAS.
Hassan Mohamood, who heads Kelantan’s Islamic affairs committee, told The Associated Press on Wednesday that the stiffer laws are useful “as a form of deterrence”.
The previous maximum penalty was two years in prison and a fine of RM5,000 ($1,400).
Proselytising of Muslims is forbidden under federal laws, but the recent case of Line Joy, a Malay-Muslim woman who sought legal recognition of her right to pick her religion of choice, raised fears among some in Malaysia over mass conversion.
Attempts to convert Muslims to other faiths are rare, and people found guilty face prison terms in most states in the country where nearly 60 per cent of its 27 million people are ethnic Malay Muslims.
Religious conflicts
The amended penalties in Kelantan, where PAS has been in control since 1990, are believed to be the heaviest nationwide.
In Malaysia, Islam comes under state-level jurisdiction and religious authorities often send Malay Muslims who try to convert out for counselling and rehabilitation.
Some have also been imprisoned for apostasy.
In the Lina Joy case, the woman who was born to Muslim parents failed to get the country’s highest civil court to recognise her right to choose her own faith.
The Malaysian constitution guarantees freedom of worship for all citizens but the country’s parallel Islamic legal system often gives rise to religious conflicts.
Malaysia has large ethnic Chinese and Indian minorities that mostly practice Buddhism, Christianity and Hinduism.
#50 by DiaperHead on Thursday, 28 June 2007 - 10:45 am
Once upon a time, was there ‘halal’ and ‘non’halal’ food? So could this be a step towards having ‘non-halal’ premises??