I have received the following very angry email from MS, with a very ferocious heading which I am using – breaking a rule of this blog:
Couldnt help feeling this angry today. I know at my age, I am supposed to be mellowing out, looking forward to a nice chilled day and now what? I find myself with the same amount of righteous anger as I had when I was 16 – going through puberty and finding the world most unfair that my mum wouldnt allow me to have my first pair of cargo pants!
I was sitting in the banana leaf shop this morning having a roti and a coffee when a group of JAWI officers entered the premises. 10 officers to be exact, into this little shop. They spent a good 20 minutes going through the place (and it is a small place!) and finally one officer writes out a writ and gives it to the cashier. They then left. Curious, I asked the cashier what that was all about and he replied that they were not allowed to have their little altars and pictures of their deities in their shop “because otherwise, Muslims cannot come into their shops” . What utter nonsense! Are we still living in the Malaysia that is so “famed” for its “religious tolerance”?? The shop is not a mamak shop. It is an Indian Banana leaf shop. Why would it be surprising that they should have signs of their religious beliefs in their own space? I didnt think that sort of thing was illegal (please correct me if I am wrong). What is wrong with this picture? Will it come down to the point when my Muslim friends should not visit my home just because I have a cross or a chinese altar there? PLEASE!
Better yet, I discovered as I was leaving , that the JAWI personnel had targetted the other 3 banana leaf shops along that row of old shops (near the vets office – off Jalan Maarof). There were at least 4 nos of vans for the officers , ALL double parked on the main road and causing an inconvenience to the other road users. Is there a separate set of laws that govern these people? Notwithstanding the fact that they are trampling all over the definition of religious tolerance in this country , they also flaunt the general laws of the land. This makes me really angry and sad about the state of our country.
I now find it difficult to speak up for Malaysia when there are arguments comparing Malaysia to other countries. It is sad that we can have the once world tallest building and still think like we came out of the jungle yesterday.
My Personal Big Sad Day today
MS

#1 by jah on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 3:41 pm
YB KIT,
Pls do something in Parliament. We are celebrating 50th anniver.
#2 by mendela on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 3:45 pm
These people are Talibans.
Enough is enough!
#3 by Godfather on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 3:45 pm
They look at you in the eye and say “So What?”
#4 by awesome on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 3:48 pm
Oh yeah! this is outrageous! Please tell the cops that they should stop this nonsense and concentrate in solving crimes and not stirring up issues.
High time we have an Army coup and put them to shame for not carrying out they work well!!!
The streets are not safe, the homes are not safe and here they are creating more chaos.
Why can’t a muslim eat in such shops? Well if it is not catered for them..don’t eat. Simple! It is the shopkeeper’s income not the police income…right?
So silly!
#5 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 3:56 pm
Kalau tak suka, KELUAR!
No one forces them to eat there if they cant accept it. SO does it mean that every restaurant hv to cater to them? SO no more non-halal food in the future bcos they cant eat?
I think these are those over-employed and hv nothing better to do.
#6 by devilmaster on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 3:57 pm
AFAIK, more than 90% mamak shop & Indian food shop operators voted for BN. Go and tell Samy Vellu and see whether he is interested in listening or not. In this case, you deserve your government.
#7 by madmix on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 3:57 pm
The sad thing is there will be more and more of this until we become more and more like Saudi Arabia where all must stop work on the call to prayer or get whacked. When it comes to religion the moderate and the liberal although in the majority have no voice as they are the sinners.
#8 by kleptocrats on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 4:07 pm
Instead of defending Islam, these Jawi fellows had created resentment. Do not expect respect when you have none for others.
#9 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 4:09 pm
The only cause of concern with altars could be health related – for example if they burn joss-sticks at a high level the soot could get into the food.
Also food offerings may be left too long and start to decay.
I wonder what authority JAWI officers have in a non-Muslim shop?
#10 by Billy on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 4:15 pm
These days, living in this country is like living in a nightmare that doesn’t seems to go away. It is no mere wonder that I have stopped inviting my Muslim friends to my house for Christmas or any auspicious occasions for fear of being apprehended for propagating Christianity to them.
#11 by k1980 on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 4:23 pm
There were at least 4 vans for the officers, ALL double parked on the main road — Aaha, now we know where those 80,000 unemployable grads had gone to
#12 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 4:28 pm
My fear is, where is this going to end?
This must be challenged in court unless the civil courts says it has no jurisdiction to hear syariah court matters.
#13 by zack on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 4:29 pm
i do hope that YB LKS will bring this to the relevant authority and check the authenticity of this report. Maybe JAWI (must be in Wilayah) can repsonse to this. The complainant on the other must be gentlemen enough to go to the right authority …. letting YB LKS posting it in his blog lacked authenticity …. AS it is now, I doubt if the Govt. is taking this blog seriously. just another twick in the back.
#14 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 4:54 pm
What’s this on S’pore STI online which has since been deleted!
Asia | 4:14 PM
M’sia stiffens penalties to stifle Muslim conversions?
Anybody knows?
#15 by Winston on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 5:06 pm
The best thing that the shop owners can do is to bring the matter up to the MIC and see what they can do to help.
If the former choose to keep quiet, then there’s nothing that anybody can do.
#16 by Phat-kor on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 5:18 pm
Uncle Kit, can you bring this up to the personal attention of aab – let’s see if he will dare do something about this. I do believe the jawi officers will find their match somewhere, sometime – they are accountable to their almighty god anyway.
#17 by cykoed on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 5:18 pm
I would hope that the majority of Muslims in this country do not believe and feel that this is appropriate action. Isn’t it sad that the current government does not curtail, and possibly condones, such behaviour in order to cause division between the races and religions to fuel their selfish and corrupt agenda? I still believe that Malaysians do not bear inherent dislike and distrust between races and religions, unlike the many other countries where conflicts are centuries old with deep rooted dislike and distrust. Divisiveness along racial or religious lines enables exploitation to suit an agenda of political and economic control – but distracts the country from real nation building issues.
#18 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 5:31 pm
According to MS, “the shop is not a mamak shop. It is an Indian Banana leaf shop†meaning the eatery establishment is not a muslim one (though muslims may patronize it where it is pork free).
Now, the powers of JAWI officers too can only be exercised over Muslims as may be conferred under The Administration of Islamic Law (Federal Territories) Act 1993 (“Islamic Actâ€Â).
So what is the JAWI officer writing out a writ and giving it to the cashier for? Just throw it in the waste paper basket. What can they do? They can only prosecute the owner of the Indian Banana leaf shop in a Sharia court but if the owner is not a Muslim, the Sharia court has no jurisdiction to try him.
To not allow the shop owner to “have their little altars and pictures of their deities in their shop because otherwise, Muslims cannot come into their shops†is to infringe the owner’s constitutional right under article 8 of the Constitution to freedom of religion.
If anything like having “little altars and pictures of their deities†that may stop Muslims from coming into the eatery/shops were prohibited, what’s next – will owners of Chinese restaurants serving pork be issued a similar writ to stop serving pork for otherwise “Muslims cannot come into their shopsâ€Â?
The government should keep these overzealous officers in check. I don’t think the Islamic Act confers them such powers. I believe these JAWI officers are misguided and had exceeded their powers.
Every legal power must have legal limits, otherwise there is dictatorship, in this case an Islamic dictatorship.
YB, you should establish with the Indian Banana shops whether what MS said is true and if so raise this in Parliament. Ask Samy Vellu what he thinks.
#19 by Phat-kor on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 5:35 pm
hei Jeffrey, you are damn right. I can only guess that they are looking for some bucks to be earned???
#20 by blastmeister on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 5:54 pm
What it this? These JAWI ppl really lost their mind? What are they thinking? Try to show the public that they are doing something? Another group of “little Napolean”?
Hello? Are these JAWI ppl living in M’sia or Saudi? U tak suka, u boleh keluar, jangan makan di sini. Easy.
#21 by Ghost on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 6:00 pm
Nature always have its’ way to neutralize whatever effects which defer from its actual medium of existence. So, looking at our current situation, are going to continue ignoring our surrounding, waiting for the neutralization to occur which maybe a living hell or try playing a part in this defering circumstances?
If playing a part is our desire, so, complaining and deminishing our collaboration is a wise choice? or focusing to compliment all differences, clearing the misunderstood teachings and compose all into One is a better choice? Its’ ours decision, everyones play a role for better or worst.
#22 by Rocky on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 6:06 pm
Just cos the non muslims have no right to ask about muslims issues, the JAWI guys are being overzealous and think they can do whatever they want on the name of Islam and stepping on your freedom is nothing to them cos they do not belief in your rights nor the constitution.
o MCA, MIC, Gerakan…where are you buggers who voted for various laws that took away the rights of the non muslims??
#23 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 6:10 pm
This is what happens when there is no leadership from the top. Our PM has done this country a lot of injustice by not being more hands-on.
Mahathir for all the wrong that he did viz. cronyism and corruption, would have acted to stop the rot. Instead this PM chooses to be the country’s Head of State instead of the country’s head of the executive branch, and acts only when he is prompted to do so by those below him, his advisers etc
There is no leadership and this is what troubles everybody.
#24 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 6:13 pm
“The government should keep these overzealous officers in check. I don’t think the Islamic Act confers them such powers. I believe these JAWI officers are misguided and had exceeded their powers.” Jeffrey
Are you sure?? Have another look.
#25 by lakshy on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 6:13 pm
Thats right. There is a planned move to Arabicize the country. So the terminology Islam Hadhari is just another name for cuci mata.
#26 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 6:17 pm
There are constitutional issues here. I hope some constitutional lawyer would take on those issues pro bono. Malaysians would be interested to know how the highest court in the land would react to that. This is not a matter such as apostasy that lies squarely within the jurisdiction of the syariah court. In fact I think it does not lie at all in the jurisdiction of such courts.
So no jurisdictional issue, only constitutional.
#27 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 6:20 pm
The world is not oblivious to the creeping Islamization in Malaysia, but this is something else!
#28 by digard on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 6:24 pm
Am I wrong, or are the other posters blind ?
To me, this has nothing to do with Taliban or religion. To me, it has all to make with success in business. It is not the only issue and neither the first, where religion is used as a vehicle to slow down businesses not owned by those considered ‘deserving’. Where ‘deserve’ applies rather to an ethnicity than a religion; though both go in synchronism in this case.
In short, this activity by JAWI officers is not genuinely based on religion, but on successful business activities of the ‘wrong’ people.
#29 by democratic junkie on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 6:24 pm
hah, islam hadhari la tu!
#30 by WFH on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 6:40 pm
Could it be that there is now a campaign to systematically demolish Hindu Banana Leaf restaurants too, because the number of Hindu temples (legal and/or illegal) not yet demolished are getting fewer and fewer due to the rounds of temple demolitions in recent times?
On a seriouser note, JAWI is tasked not with inspecting eating establishments, whether for premises inspection, fire, safety and health compliance, licences inspections, even illegal immigrant workers, and whatever else.
It will also be very interesting to look at and read the “writ”, summons, notice or infringement notice (whatever it is called) and read into it to see what authority issued it, under what section or sub-section etc of which civil legislation, by-law, or any other Bandaraya regulation had been infringed. Maybe, but let’s hope, it’s written in romanised BM, and not in the Jawi script.??
If I, reasonably, deduce that the “writ” is headed under the authority of some Islamic enforcement agency (obviously, because it was written, presumably signed and served over by the JAWI officer, acording to MS), I would say without any hesitation that the supposed offence or infringement for which the “writ” was issued would be in the nature of an Islamic/Muslim infringement. Since the recipient can be safely assumed to be non-Muslim (otherwise the rsturant would’ve ben called a mamak restaurant), and hence not in any way coming under, let alone be punishable, under Islamic regulations, then the “writ” would be null and void.
The only place for the “writ” then would be to use it to wipe where the sun don’t shine.
#31 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 6:51 pm
Digard or Diehard,
I think you have been reading too many conspiracy theories.
#32 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 6:55 pm
“The world is not oblivious to the creeping Islamization in Malaysia, but this is something else!” Undergrad2
This is religious and ethnic persecution.
#33 by pongsakling on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 6:56 pm
Who is this person MS? How true is this person comment?
GE is near, maybe someone try to play racial feeling. Someone try to make racial tension just to frighten Chinese and Indians so all Chinese and Indians will vote for BN again. All BN members know that majority of Chinese will surely vote against them because Chinese are not happy with whats going on now, like the keris issue, JB, NEP and etc. So hope that DAP will not fall in BN trap, maybe this person MS is BN agent assign by Samy to create racial tension!! Remember BN Samy, Nazri, Zakaria, Bung, Said, KJ and others, they are thick skin and can do anything just to win vote in next GE! Good luck YB Lim, DAP will always get my vote, no doubt!
#34 by maya on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 8:08 pm
MS, i think it is a sad day for the rest of us too, having to read this. Malaysia used to be the ‘tanah tumpahnya darahku’, now it seems so many of us are literally crying tears of blood. I know i sound dramatic, but really, i feel so sad to think that my children will never enjoy the same interracial friendships that i had and still have with my childhood friends. We were always at each others house, eating food from each other’s tables…These morons go around implementing their skewed ideas and regulations, and the rest of us, the normal sitis, siew lings and mayas ( sorry for the feminist streak!) we are driven further apart. Malaysia truly Asia, when i see that advertisement here, it sickens me to the core. Make it Malaysia truly Malaysia first. God bless us Malaysians and protect us from these people who think they are Gods.
#35 by silhouette on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 8:41 pm
I am a Malay and a Muslim and I DETEST this despicable act by JAWI. You are right YM Lim in questioning if any religious tolerance is practised in this country. Everyday they are coming up with outragious actions to justify their existence.
#36 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 8:43 pm
“t will also be very interesting to look at and read the “writâ€Â, summons, notice or infringement notice (whatever it is called) and read into it to see what authority issued it, under what section or sub-section etc of which civil legislation, by-law, or any other Bandaraya regulation had been infringed.” WFH
Yes. Their legal adviser must have advised these enforcement officers from JAWI on the legality of their actions. Since a writ has been issued we must assume that the proper application has been made to the syariah court for its issuance.
We wait with bated breath for Jeffrey QC who is now studying the Administration of Islamic Law (Federal Territories) Act 1993 (“Islamic Actâ€Â) for his expert opinion.
Jeffrey?? Are you there?
#37 by LittleBird on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 8:57 pm
yeah…saudara Kit, you better make sure MS is telling the truth. I doubt whether can anyone be so stupid to tellthat you cannot have altar where you earn a livelihood.
Wonder, if they are going to to tell Hari Krishna restaurant to remove all the stuff from the restaurant.
Verify first. I doubt it actually happened unless they were checking for fake halal logo.
#38 by joehancl on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:10 pm
Can we say all christians, buddhists, hindus, whatever should not go to shops with jawi writing or Islamic symbols.
#39 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:14 pm
“…finally one officer writes out a writ and gives it to the cashier. ” MS
OK. If he “wrote out” it could not have been a writ. A writ is issued by the court. It must have been a summons.
#40 by pamelaoda on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:15 pm
Uncle Lim
You must be kidding me! I really cant believe it and I dont know what to say!
#41 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:19 pm
Kit,
You would do well to check it out as hindsight shows this appears to be an over reaction to a summons to the restaurant owner for non-compliance with some by-laws.
He mentions ‘writing out a writ’. You must have known that this could not have been a writ.
#42 by negarawan on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:20 pm
What has MIC to say about thing? I guess nothing as Samy must be still reeling over his poetry copycat fiasco. I don’t expect MIC to say anything anyway, as they don’t really care about anything concerning their own community except for their own pockets
#43 by Alvin on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:31 pm
These Jawi [deleted] don’t realise that they are paid with taxpayers money.
May i remind them that not all taxpayers are muslims.
that equates to you [deleted] being paid by non-muslim’s money.
if you [deleted] cannot make sense out of this, stop collecting your salaries and live on fresh air and sunshine.
ENDANGERED HORNBILL Says:
June 27th, 2007 at 16: 54.52
What’s this on S’pore STI online which has since been deleted!
Asia | 4:14 PM
M’sia stiffens penalties to stifle Muslim conversions?
Anybody knows?
Which day was it posted, i’ll help you check it out here.
#44 by DiaperHead on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:37 pm
“They then left. Curious, I asked the cashier what that was all about and he replied that they were not allowed to have their little altars and pictures of their deities in their shop “because otherwise, Muslims cannot come into their shops.” MS
“Muslims cannot come into their shops”??
Of course that is an excuse but it is to make non-Muslim eating places popular with the public comply with Article 3 of the Constitution which provides for Islam as the “official religion of the federation.”
It has nothing to do with the legitimate rights of non-Muslims and non-Malays to practice their religion!
#45 by DiaperHead on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:39 pm
sorry omit “official”
#46 by taikohtai on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:42 pm
Watched an Australian TV channel interview by a Bristish reporter on one of the Bali Bombers who was caught recently. When asked if he would kill him (the reporter) because he was white, the bomber smiled and said since his British government was involved, the answer was YES.
Islam, alas, can be so narrowly and easily interpreted that it borders on a cult. As if their god is so scared of mere ‘deities’ and ‘idols’ that muslims must see to it that these are not openly displayed!
And they claimed that islam is a peaceful religion.
Hate cannot be appeased by hate; hate can only be appeased by love. And this is a universal law beyond the realm of any almighty.
#47 by DiaperHead on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:42 pm
You can always place altars and other religious symbols away from public view. Nothing to do with religious tolerance or intolerance.
#48 by DiaperHead on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:43 pm
It would be different if it involves religious symbols in your house.
#49 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:46 pm
If it is proven that these extremists elements has no legal jurisdiction, next time if they come around again, treat them like a bunch of trouble causers trespassing on your property and business. And you know what the law allows you to do to protect your property and business? Teach them a lesson they will never forget and make them curse the day they were ever born.
Remember an incident years ago when those white robed Islamic fanatics went round burning Indian temples in Selangor?
#50 by DiaperHead on Wednesday, 27 June 2007 - 9:49 pm
“As if their god is so scared of mere ‘deities’ and ‘idols’ that muslims must see to it that these are not openly displayed!” taikohtai
What if I tell you that Moses a prophet to all three great religions Christianity, Judaism and Islam was so angry with the use of idols when he came down from Mt. Sanai that he broke the stone tablet containing the 10 commandments!?
Stone idols (not American Idol) is a no-no to Jews and Muslims – both strong believers of the Old Testament. Even a photograph according to some is a no-no but this is controversial.