Nazri acting as Super-ACA and Super-AG to declare Johari innocent of RM5.5 million corruption allegations

The “bohong” and “bodoh” outbursts of the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz in Parliament yesterday during question time on corruption in Malaysia (video clip here) was most shocking, but even more shocking should be his “day-dreaming” that Malaysia is in the “premier league” among the 50 countries with the least corruption in the Transparency International (TI) Corruption Perception Index (CPI) 2006 when it is actually in “Tier 3”.

What should be most shocking of all is his mental preparedness for Malaysia to plunge further in the TI CPI 2007 towards the 50th ranking on the occasion of Malaysia’s 50th Merdeka anniversary.

This is the Bernama report of what Nazri said during question-time yesterday:

Malaysia In The `Premier League’ Of CPI

KUALA LUMPUR, June 21 (Bernama) — Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz said although the preception on corruption in this country is considered to be unfavourable, Malaysia is still included in the `premier league’ comprising 50 countries with the least corruption.

“When we have reached (the group of) 50, how can we go up further? We are already in the premier league, it is not easy to improve,” he said in the Dewan Rakyat when responding to a question from Datin Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail (Keadilan-Permatang Pauh) who wanted to know the measures taken by the government in view of the decline in the Corruption Perception Index (CPI) for Malaysia prepared by Transparency International compared to countries such as Indonesia, Vietnam and Singapore.

In the first place, Malaysia’s is not in the “premier league” of TI CPI 2006 — which can only be reserved for the Top Ten countries regarded as least corrupt, namely Finland, Iceland, New Zealand, Denmark, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, Norway, Australia and Netherlands.

Tier 2 will be the band of 20 countries led by Austria, Luxembourg.and United Kingdom ranked from No. 11 to No. 30 while Tier 3 for the countries, including Malaysia from No. 31 to 50 as Malaysia’s ranking is No. 44.

Secondly, Nazri appeared to be quite proud that Malaysia is ranked No. 44, even if lower so long as among the top 50 countries.

Thirdly, is this an indication that the Abdullah administration is aware and mentally prepared for a further plunge in the TI CPI 2007 from 44th towards 50th ranking?

Nazri should explain why he had resorted to the unprecedented and extraordinary action of clearing the Deputy Internal Security Minister, Datuk Johari Baharum from RM5.5 million corruption allegations and in the process pre-empted the decisions of both the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) and the Attorney-General, Tan Sri Gani Patail.

This is because the ACA had conducted investigations into the RM5.5 million allegations and had submitted its report to the Attorney-General who has yet to make a decision on the ACA investigations.

Nazri has himself admitted that he had no information from the ACA and the Attorney-General.

Is Nazri’s action in Parliament yesterday pre-empting the ACA and Attorney-General Chambers by unilaterally and arbitrarily clearing Johari of the RM5.5 million corruption allegations an expression of his lack of confidence in both the ACA and the Attorney-General, especially when Nazri is the Minister responsible to Parliament for both the ACA and the Attorney-General?

If Nazri has lost confidence in both the ACA and the Attorney-General, the honourable thing he should do is to ask the Prime Minister to take the necessary action.

Nazri should not act as Super-ACA and Super-AG to override both. If Johari is to be declared innocent of the RM5.5 million corruption allegations, it must come from the ACA and AG and not Nazri.

1. #1 by sotong on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 2:51 pm

Everyone is above the law. There is no clear line of duties and responsibility from top to bottom as to who is doing what.

This explains why our country is lost and confused.

2. #2 by democrate on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 3:11 pm

I had read thru’ the Sin Chew early this morning. The answer given by the senseless minister pertaining CPI is like a Chinese saying ‘head of a cow is not an answer to the mouth of the horse’
    Firstly, he said Spore is a small dot and easy to trace corruptors.
    Hey Nazri from that point you had agreed that the corruption in this bodohland is beyond control? or you and the BN are trying to protect these culprits cos all of you are sitting on the same boat? You are terribly naive and childish to give such an excuse that we have a bigger population so we can’t control!. You rascals are not doing the job or otherwise you rascals must have somrthing to hide , thats all. Secondly, Indonesia is no doubt much poorer than this bodohland at least they are improving to wipe out corruption and their CPI is ranking smaller while our ranking is worsening

3. #3 by Loh on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 3:23 pm

///Firstly, he said Spore is a small dot and easy to trace corruptors.///

Let’s agree for a moment that tracing corruption might be a bit difficult in Bolehland, but what happen to the 18 high profile cases?

4. #4 by wtf2 on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 3:24 pm

Since the entire government infrastructure is no longer functioning maybe we should start a list “indexing” the MPs who are not performing by listing their collective ignorance such as

1. The guy in charge of parliament who is ignoring calls to debate matters of public importance.
    2. Nazri – who’s been declining all positive moves to improve public and global perception of Malaysia.
    3. The person in charge of ACA and the Police Force – for ignoring JB’s plight and stalling investigations/announcing results of investigation into perceived corrupted persons.

etc etc

That way maybe one can stop their left hand patting the right hand’s back and saying well done in front of the mirror

5. #5 by smeagroo on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 3:37 pm

Nazri was given the job to Talk Kalk alot in Parlaiment to throw the debates astray and indirectly divert the issues at hand. It saves the scums the trouble and PM for having to sit in those meetings so that he can jet set into the blue yonder. And I must say Nazri is doing a heck of a good job and will surely his position like semi-value will not be challenged. PM is very grateful for such ppl.

6. #6 by shiver on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 4:22 pm

Nazri Bow Tie Aziz must be missing the “English Premier League” la
    hahaha he is a moron.
    i dont know why but how come when these ministers talk, they end up having foot in mouth diseases? its really damn funny talking of it, how can he open his bloody mouth without even getting his facts right?
    Between us, i think the Ministers nowdays are getting VERY VERY BAD in their homework. Arent they concern they are looking more and more like idiots when they open their mouths?
    i wish everyone in this country was smart and above the poverty line so that then the leaders must be smarter.
    like us in urban areas, if we have some stupid moron leader who only have half a brain, then it will make the entire district look like fools too.
    reflection, a matter of perception.
    only when the bullshit ends, the whining will.
    Vote BN OUT!

7. #7 by Utopia on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 4:33 pm

No such thing as Priemer League! Nazri no better than Najis!

Malaysia Ranking 2001-2006:
    (Dropping ever since Badawi comes into power)
    36/91
    33/102
    37/133
    39/159
    44/163

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corruption_Perceptions_Index

8. #8 by anodize222 on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 5:27 pm

nazri sucks….. uneducated talk nonsense….
    don’t vote for him!

9. #9 by lakshy on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 5:36 pm

Wonder what the PM sees in such people? Tin kosong! But malaysians still vote for such people.

Looks like there is no helping malaysians.

Perhaps he was refering to malasyians when he uttered the words..bodoh?

10. #10 by Phat-kor on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 5:47 pm

,,,,i am ashamed to have day dreamers in the most august house of the country and to have all day dreamers in the line-up of the country’s government for us to regard as leaders.

11. #11 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 6:17 pm

Nazri is one of the NEP product….so you can estimate the NEP products’ quality….

so with NEP,

…Bangunan parlimen bocor…..bukan kerana rasuah….
    ….jambatan retak….bukan rasuah….
    …projek perumahan terbengkalai… pun bukan rasuah…
    ….jenayah di Johor ….bukan rasuah….

with NEP, and ‘KeTuHANan’ Melayu…. there is no “RASUAH’

12. #12 by ContractorclassA on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 6:30 pm

,,,,i can guarantee anyone that with the state of day dreaming these lot of people are in, even if they were to drop from the skies 30,000 ft down, they will still not wake up and will still be in denial of everything. They will only wake up when the cake is gone, ohhh, by then the ge will be over and too late,,,,

13. #13 by pwcheng on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 6:35 pm

“Spore is a small dot and easy to trace corruptors” I think this guy is quiet an idiot. He just talk without thinking and this is the second time that I know he talks rubbish. The other time was he said that the civil service cannot have a Chinese KP because the majority subordinate staff are Malays.

His arguments totally do not hold water and he talks like a loose cannon. For his argument of a Chinese KP in the civil service, I had put in this blog that why Chinese majority areas like KL Bandar, PJ Bandar, Ipoh municiality, Klang Municipality and of course many more areas where the Chinese are majorities, we still have a Malay as Mayor or Council President.

Coming to the Singapore dot, he must know that Australia is a very much larger country in terms of land area and the population is almost equivalent to us, and why are they still able to control corruption. What about the US, a very much larger country and a very much larger population, and yet their corruption index is way better than us.

These are all cheap and bodoh excuses meant only for his Kampung folks or some naive villagers.

14. #14 by Bobster on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 6:39 pm

What more to say about this country. With all these clowns sitting in the Parliament and Nazri dare to shout ‘bodoh’ for ‘alleged’ corruption! Even blind can see.

Come on, Nasri shut you bl**dy mouth. No more hope with this country under BN ruling.

NEP + BN + Nazri = Corruption

Only God can help the nation and bring justice to the people.

Uncle Kit, keep up the fighting spirit!

15. #15 by undergrad2 on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 7:02 pm

“Nazri should not act as Super-ACA and Super-AG to override both. If Johari is to be declared innocent of the RM5.5 million corruption allegations, it must come from the ACA and AG and not Nazri.” Kit

Although apparently he was only making his personal opinion known to all, it is highly improper – and what’s more, he knows it.

This is why I feel that although we have managed to set up the institutions and the infrastructure needed for democracy to work we do not have the tradition and the values to fall back on when it doesn’t. We have a Parliament consisting of the lower and upper chambers and we take pride in announcing to the world that ours is the Westminster model of Parliamentary Democracy as if to purge ourselves of values undemocratic but after some five decades we still have not got it. We have self-serving representatives who call themselves parliamentarians thumping their fists to drown any attempt at debate on the issues before the House, hurling derogatory remarks, racial slurs as if to remind the Opposition that they lost the elections and as losers they have no legitimacy to share the same room and breathe the same air as the victors – nor do they deserve respect that only the victors deserve. This is not what democracy is all about – and they know it. We are fools for thinking they don’t.

It is not up to the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department to tell us if one of their own has been guilty of anything. If the case is before a judge, comments like that would make the Minister liable for contempt. If there is such a thing as contempt of the AG, he would be the perfect candidate.

It is time Malaysians of whatever political affiliations wake up and learn the meaning of “power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely” before it is too late.

In a presidential system like that of the United States, with three branches of government and through the use of checks and balances a branch of government is prevented from usurping the functions of the other. In Malaysia we have the necessary political and social structures as preconditions to democracy in place so a government of the people, by the people and for the people could work – but we do not have the will nor the wherewithal to make it work. We have a person highly qualified and trained in the application of the law to play the role of chief prosecutor for the government in the person we proudly refer to as the Attorney General. But is it surprising that in a country where the ruling political party and the government are looked upon as being the same when they are really separate, when the latter is supposed to be neutral, that the AG who holds office at the pleasure of the Prime Minister also holds it at his displeasure if he does not do what he is expected to do. And so he replaces the head of the team of lawyers originally given the unenviable task of prosecuting a power broker for the government (read: Minister) for an alleged capital crime.

Malaysia is a country where judges are not scared of dispensing justice only when justice is interpreted to mean furtherance of the vested interests of individuals within the ruling party. It is not even the interest of the ruling party!

Separation of powers?? Naaah… that is a term worthy of debate in a classroom full of wannabe political scientists in the country’s tertiary institutions.

16. #16 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 7:02 pm

Head of Gestapo in Malaysia, this stupid Nazi.

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 7:44 pm

“If Johari is to be declared innocent of the RM5.5 million corruption allegations, it must come from the ACA and AG and not Nazri.” Kit

Correction.

Only the court can declare anyone innocent – more accurately ‘not guilty’ of the crime he is charged with (not necessarily innocent). The role of the ACA is to investigate and to forward the result of that investigation to the AG, and the AG’s role is to find if there is enough evidence to charge him with – not just bits of evidence but enough to make up what lawyers refer to as ‘prima facie’ evidence.

18. #18 by Richard Teo on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 7:44 pm

What do we expect when our country is runned by incompetent fools like Nazri.This chap always spew rubbish whenever he opens his mouth.Frankly I am baffled how this idiot can be a minister, but then this is bodohland, so not surprising.

19. #19 by cklife on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 8:39 pm

Ah Eleh, Si Nazri ni, sombong ngan angkuh pulak tu. Kalo die betul betul dapat menjawab tentang kes Johari tu, mesti lar die to ada ‘insider’ maklumat.

Kalo betul die tu insider, mungkin masalah korupsi tu melibatkan dia kot? ade kemungkinan? Kecuali Johari tu bapak die lar… defend tak tentu pasal..

Bagaimana skrg? Encik Lim nak buat apa lagi?
    Selaku orang di negara ni, mesti menpertahankan maruah diri. Xkan nak bagi die bantai cakap ‘bodoh’ cam tu je.
    Gi lar report die, aku sudah serik ngan attitude si Nazri ni, dahlah angkuh, sombong, dan bodoh, pernah comment tentang perkauman lagi……..

Bedal je die Encik Lim….. cam cakap cina,… taruk kao kao

20. #20 by kun9999 on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 9:47 pm

something out of the topic…

Have you guys notice that of some website being blocked by the govt because Securities Commission and Bank Negara found them operating illegal investment scheme?

If i not mistaken, there is a bill that guaranteed Ensure no Internet censorship.

Any comment?

21. #21 by MWong on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 10:34 pm

YB Lim, 1st of all, a heartfelt thank-you to u and ur colleague contribution to have sacrificed so much for sake of the people and to make our home country a better place!

I’m a Msian who study, work n live in abroad ( almost 6 yrs since) , and therefore have little knowledge bout the political climate in Msia. I’m glad that I happened to have found your site.

But it’s a letdown to see how ridiculous and senseless the rulin’ government could be, no sign of improvement at all but merely driven our country from the situation of worse to WORST! is in deep sh*t!!

Now ive to think twice if I should still enthusiastically introduce my BEAUTIFUL homeland to the world (my foreign course mates) to promote the ‘ VISIT MALAYSIA YEAR 2007’…

The authority can’t even protect our poor JB citizens but let them to live in a state of fear, insecure n unease. How on earth they can guarantee the safety of the tourists ???What ‘MSIA TRULY ASIA’ simply a sugar-coated slogan…

22. #22 by izrafeil on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 10:39 pm

apakezadahnya Nazri masih diampu oleh puak2 kroni dan bertahan di parliamen, tempat di kat padang rengas tu

23. #23 by Winston on Friday, 22 June 2007 - 11:45 pm

If Malaysia falls to 50th place in the TI rating, it will match well with the 50th year of our Independence.
    It will be 50/50 or half past six!

24. #24 by khch01 on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 12:33 am

When one tipu say RM100 millions, the law will take years to catch up with him . If one’s luck is good he will get scot free. Otherwise the one will be fined say RM3 millions or so. Case closed. This environment is too conducive for cheating / corruption. Unless there is a landmark judgement, he who cheated / corrupted must pay back all the money he had cheated / taken + jail sentence and not a token sum of fine only. Otherwise it is very difficult to climb up the CPI index.

25. #25 by smeagroo on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 1:14 am

The king of THIEVES covering for his bandits. What more can I say. The biggest T is on a holiday. It is a free for all. Even if the big T is here, I doubt he can do anything. Just as Bad***

26. #26 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 2:31 am

“The authority can’t even protect our poor JB citizens but let them to live in a state of fear, insecure n unease. How on earth they can guarantee the safety of the tourists ???What ‘MSIA TRULY ASIA’ simply a sugar-coated slogan…”

Supposed you’re livin’ in the U.S.. Just the other day two tourists while visitin’ Disneyland got kidnapped and brought to an ATM to withdraw money. They were later beaten up and released.

They didn’t whine about it. They didn’t curse their President.

27. #27 by MWong on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 7:52 am

Dark horse, Im just usin’ an example in contrast! Even ur own citizens’ security is at stake, do u expect foreigners to choose Msia as their holiday spot? Ask urself, will u choose a place for vacation that will risk ur safety ?

Supposedly, Sporeans are our best source of tourists.JB, the city right across the causeway is in a strategic position to suck in all the Sing dollars! (lived in Sg for 2 yrs b4, I know Sporeans love to double the value of their shoppin’ , pump their petrol for half the price they’re payin’ in Sg, but the security in JB simply drives ’em away!

If our govn is really into promotin’ the country tourism, y not starts from our neighbours?? As a true blue MSIAN (even im in abroad) I’d love to prove SM LKY wrong that JB is a crime city! But how sad to know that the TRUTH suggests OTHERWISE!

Btw:- im in Europe, not in the states.

28. #28 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 8:00 am

If “Nazri has himself admitted that he had no information from the ACA and the Attorney-General” on the outcome of investigations into RM5.5 million corruption allegations against Johari Baharum, then obviously he has no basis to ‘jump the gun’ by the “unprecedented and extraordinary action of clearing the Deputy Internal Security Minister”. To prematurely do so may suggest to some as a premature preemption of the release of investigation report by announcing aforehand what appears to be a political decision already made to absolve and exonerate Johari, which in turn possibly explains why (a) Johari, the one investigated, so enthusiastically canvasses the early release of the investigations and (b) the investigators/AG Dept have not sought to make public the investigations with equal enthusiasm pending final instructions. Which of course may further create reservations on public part as to how independent the investigations really are!

29. #29 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 8:12 am

Wong,

The kind of Mat Salleh tourists we mostly see in Malaysia are the backpackers on shoe-string budgets staying at YMCA and other cheap accommodations like B&B. You must give credit to local criminals for knowing who to rob and who not to rob because they have nothing that could be robbed. These tourists enjoy a certain immunity for being poor. Locals have more to fear.

30. #30 by Winston on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 8:53 am

# khch01 Says:
    June 23rd, 2007 at 00: 33.06

“When one tipu say RM100 millions, the law will take years to catch up with him . If one’s luck is good he will get scot free. Otherwise the one will be fined say RM3 millions or so. Case closed. This environment is too conducive for cheating / corruption. Unless there is a landmark judgement, he who cheated / corrupted must pay back all the money he had cheated / taken + jail sentence and not a token sum of fine only. Otherwise it is very difficult to climb up the CPI index.”

Agreed!
    The environment is VERY conducive for crooks.
    Those, especially in the corporate world, who dip their hands into the till of the company or swindle investors of hundreds of millions of ringgit, are either jailed for a few years and/or find a few millions.
    The balance is theirs to keep and ENJOY when they come out of jail.
    Under the circumstances, I’m not at all surprised that there out senior executives whose main motive for being in charge of a company is to swindle the investors!!
    I have posted elsewhere in LKS’s blog that such crooks be caned + jailed as prescribed by the law IN ADDITION to having to pay back every sen they have taken or else they can remain in jail as long as it takes to recover the money.
    That’s the way to wipe out this menace.
    Making it lucrative for them will only encourage more crooks to follow.

31. #31 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 9:27 am

Nazri main job is to spin any marginal fact to be larger than it is. Its the tradition of so called ‘perjuangan’ of ultra-Malay wing of UMNO. The means justify the ends even though no one is really clear what that end is going to be just some overpainted glorious picture that covers the ugly truth of self-interest.

Its hard to go higher? If you want to argue about it, one wonder how truthful is the ranking in 50 given that much is not even known. Remember the index is perception only. Not reality. Reality with the likes of every politician making it rich beyond most western countries politician dream of riches? The truth is the preception is much better than reality.

32. #32 by Godfather on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 10:09 am

“Difficult to trace corruption”

This is the biggest bullshit statement from BN designed to mask their unwillingness to go after their own kind. There is a total lack of political will, and if we have investigators like those in the first tier countries, half of BN will be behind bars.

Everything is traceable. Whatever the thieves do, they always leave behind their footprints. SMSes are recorded by the telcos, banks keep records of instructions, of deposits and withdrawals. Telegraphic transfers are documented. We don’t have unnumbered accounts in this part of the world. Nobody carries luggage bags full of cash nowadays (maybe apart from a dumb UMNO guy who got caught in Australia a few years back).

Tracing corruption is made easier in Bolehland as the thieves generally flaunt their wealth, and live beyond their means. Fast cars, big houses, first class flights, even helicopters. It’s easy to trace, Nazri. When there is no political will and no moral fibre, you run and hide behind the standard excuses.

33. #33 by maya on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 10:51 am

Dear Uncle Lim,
    I was shocked to see this video. It was much worse than the one he called Sothinathan a racist. I have real concerns about this guy’s mental health, i really think he needs to see a psychiatrist. Or better still, have a psychiatric evaluation mandatory for all those who wants to stand in general elections, that is the least we deserve. And the Speaker’s conduct was despicable, to say the least. These clowns should be made to watch some of the telecast of the parliamentary proceedings in other countries to learn some decorum, but then i suppose that too will be lost on these morons!! God bless us all.

34. #34 by bhuvan.govindasamy on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 12:36 pm

Mr. Lim,

I remember while reading the Malay Dilemma by Mahathir, where, the Malay was described as being polite, respectful of elders & guests. Ye Sheng Lin in his Chinese Dilemma talked about the ugly chinaman. However, this video clip clearly shows a role reversal. Through out the video, though you did look flustered, you handled yourself professionally, while Nazri was clearly impolite or biadap. I felt that he did not show respect to an elder and fellow politican.

I believe that the Nazris & Hisap-mmudins are a product of Mahathirism, affirmative action & NEP. The easy wealth coupled with ketuanan melayu & islamization, has produced these clowns. Sadly, they aren’t funny. What they do not realize is that this kind behavior reflects their upbringing, shaming their own parents & culture. Behavior isn’t a perfect yardstick, but, what else do we have?

Truly, my belief that Mahathir was simply wrong for Malaysia is getting stronger by the day.

35. #35 by Bobster on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 12:55 pm

The most idiotic video Najis ever displayed in Parliament!

Uncle Lim, should highlight Datuk Z case referring to Najis allegation that newspapers reports are all perception, untrue and stupid. So datuk Z now clear of corruption even after ACA ‘investigation’ ?! Come on, datuk Z sitting in the council and operate stay shop can afford to build multi million mansion in illegal land. BLIND ALSO CAN SEE LAH, NAJIS!

36. #36 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 12:55 pm

No Parliamentarians anywhere in the world need to conduct in the manner that some Malaysians Parliamentarians, especially those from UMNO, glaringly showed in the Malaysian Parliament, past, now and in the future. It is shameful, demeaning, degrading downright unbecoming of these Parliamentarians.

37. #37 by malaysia born on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 1:54 pm

Let us all pause for a moment and reflect, shall we?

This idiotic outburst from an incompetent Minister was the result of only ONE (opposition) MP seeking an explanation. Imagine what if there was 10 more (opposition or otherwise) MP’s seeking explanations?

Now imagine again, what if there was 50 more demands (for explanations)?

Do you people see the picture.

The more MP’s there are in Parliament seeking answers, the more pressures these incompetent fools will feel.

And the more pressure we apply to them, the faster they will crack!

So what we need, people, are MORE OPPOSITION MP”s IN PARLIAMENT !!!

Spread the word.

DO THE RIGHT THING AT THE NEXT ELECTION!

38. #38 by Irene on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 4:46 pm

Nazri pretend that he does not know the duty of an MP. He shout and act like a wounded lion in Parliament. WHAT A SHAME!! Malaysian (BN) MPs seem to act like animals and getting wild when being ask to answer on issues faced by the citizen. Is it not that (MP) are elected to protect citizens interest and make sure our country’s money are being being taken care of and the goverment and all others having contact in the goverment are not corrupted. Nazri seems to be acting and performing vise versa. WHAT A SILLY NASIR OR OTHERWISE.

39. #39 by art-upon-mu on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 6:12 pm

With a minister like Nazri, there is no need for the Tourism Board of Malaysia to spend millions to publicise Malaysia. Thanks to Nazri, Malaysia is famous or infamous.

40. #40 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 9:09 pm

Thanks to Nazri, Malaysia is famously infamous!

If a pea-brain like Nazri can be a Minister, then most Nazis can qualfy as Ministers too.

41. #41 by wtf2 on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 10:22 pm

the jackass’ statements made it to a page in Singapore Straits Times.

42. #42 by Godamn Singh on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 11:01 pm

Goddamn it!

If this Nazri had lived in Nazi Germany, he would be treated like all gypsies were then. He would have had his head cut open for signs of some explanation as to why he is so mentally retarded.

43. #43 by mybangsamalaysia on Saturday, 23 June 2007 - 11:23 pm

After 50 years, BN still think that they are on top of ACA. Worst, ACA think that their employer is BN.

44. #44 by MWong on Sunday, 24 June 2007 - 1:24 am

//So what we need, people, are MORE OPPOSITION MP’’s IN PARLIAMENT !!!//
    Agree, Msia-born!

Like what my parents alwiz describe opp. party cant defeat ’em even raisin’ both their hands and legs in the parliament! BUT, this is just in terms of QUANTITY, definitely NOT quality though)

Yes, the only way to serve these fools ( Nazri & the likes) right is to vote ’em out!

P/S: Pls update more bout the election when it draws near, I’ll try to cast my vote at the nearest embassy. Not sure if this works? or they’ll simply chuck my ballot into the bin?

45. #45 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 24 June 2007 - 4:14 am

I hear Malaysian Embassies tend to run out of toilet paper during the time of the general elections! I wonder why?

46. #46 by sk88 on Sunday, 24 June 2007 - 9:19 am

YB Lim Kit Siang,

I salute you for your courage and determination.

Malays always claim that they are polite and cultured people but the behaviour of Nazri just says otherwise. The behaviour of Nazri is just typical of a Malay person – inability to work under pressure or think logically. The only thing they are capable doing is being abusive or exercise threat when put under pressure and that too when they know there is a crowd of idiots behind them. Just tribal behaviour.

Most Malaysians don’t have the guts to vote for the opposition and yet they want radical changes. With such weak oppostion, people like Kit Siang can’t do much but to endure the abuses of these wild dogs.

47. #47 by OverseaMalaysian on Sunday, 24 June 2007 - 6:50 pm

YB LKS, Salute!

Nazri has shown his (and hence, the Pak Lah administration’s) stupidity ‘unreservedly’ in his reaction on the CPI issue. He correlates CPI with population, which is baseless. Many countries that top (ie, corruption free) the CPI list have much higher population than Malaysia.

He worries that people start to realize his incapability in doing his job, or worse, he is a ‘contributor’ to the poor CPI. Let’s stop to be fooled by this kind of idiots.

48. #48 by sotong on Monday, 25 June 2007 - 7:26 am

Most ordinary Malays are polite and cultured people.

The behaviors of the Malays politicians do not represent the ordinary Malays.

49. #49 by Phat-kor on Monday, 25 June 2007 - 3:49 pm

hey,, latest news,,,,six customs officers fired,
    is this news or what????,,,,,,,,,,,

50. #50 by ChangeMalaysia on Monday, 25 June 2007 - 4:28 pm

Tun Lim Kit Siang !,

after watching the video, I salute you as true malaysian who work and represent the voice for the Rakyat. You deserve the Tun and the highest Tun among many tuns awarded to malaysian

your stand in looking after the interest of the nation should be congratulated and sealed as nation greatest asset, no MPs will be able to match the desire and energy that you’ve put forward to safeguard the interest of the beloved rakyat

therefore, with an honor from me as truly malaysian, you deserve the accolade, respect and highest dignity

may God bless you with health, wealth and peace

regards

51. #51 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 26 June 2007 - 9:41 am

NAZRI – Read this from STI online. Then, please comment somewhhere. Nobody seems to understand the correlation between corruption, in particular public authorities corruprion and population statistics!

“June 26, 2007

S’pore’s 4m population not reason it’s graft-free

I REFER to the report, ‘Don’t compare S’pore and Malaysia on graft: Minister’ (ST, June 23).
    Malaysian de facto Law Minister Nazri Abdul Aziz commented that if an island of only four million people like Singapore is unable to control graft, then it would have a real problem on its hands. This remark implies that Malaysia has difficulty in controlling graft because of its larger population of about 24 million.

The Transparency International Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) defines corruption as the abuse of public office for private gain and measures the degree to which corruption is perceived to exist among a country’s public officials and politicians.

Last year, Berlin-based Transparency International ranked Singapore, with a CPI score of 9.4, as the fifth most corruption-free country among 163 nations while Malaysia, with a CPI score of five, was in 44th spot. A score of five is the number Transparency International considers the borderline figure distinguishing countries that do and do not have a serious corruption problem.

We are proud of our Government’s intolerance of corruption and ability to maintain a relatively low level of corruption all these years. This has helped to make Singapore a desirable country to live in, to invest and to do business.

In addition, our Government has made Singapore a place where the system works. The physical environment and efficient administration make life in Singapore hassle-free.

A government system that works for four million people will also function effectively for 24 million people as it depends on the ability of the government to manage. Japan, which has a population of about 127 million, managed to achieve a CPI of 7.6 and was placed in 17th position.

Goh Kian Huat “