Bahrain flyover RM100 million – why Kuching flyover RM200 million?

by Sara Wak

The Seef Flyover, Manama, Bahrain – RM100 million, The Kuching Flyover – More than RM 200 million – Why?

The differences are –

The Seef Flyover, Manama, Bahrain was built by WCT Engineering Bhd. from west Malaysia.

The Kuching Flyover was built by Global Upline Sdn Bhd.

You can see the difference in quality also. The Seef Flyover is of international standard, whereas the Kuching Flyover is on a much lower standard.

Why did it cost so much more to build the Kuching Flyover?

Abdullah Badawi has to explain. Our Dear Samy Vellu will also have to explain.

There is no other better day for him to explain other than his wedding day today!

The Seef Flyover, Manama, Bahrain – taken from www.wcte.com.my/WCTE/page.asp?catId=231

This forms part of the proposed North Manama Corridor Improvement Project, which consist of reconstruction of 2.2 kim of dual 3-lane arterial from Seef Roundabout to Pearl Roundabout i.e. Al Seef Flyover and Central Market Interchange.

The Proposed highway works under this contract included :

Al-Seef Flyover consisting two parallel independent 3-Span bridge structure utilising triple-cell box girder with total length of 112.0 meters covering 15.90 meters width. The Structure is designed to be founded on 800 mm dia. cast in-place bred piles with reinforced concrete pile caps. The Government of Bahrain take initiative to up-grade Al-Seef Flyover from 3-Span to 5-Span bridge structure in view of the massive development going on at Al-Seef District.

Central Market Interchange consisting three parallel independent 3-Span bridge structure utilising triple-cells box girder in combination of 3-Span twin-cells box girder. Total length of the structure is 106.0 meters and the total width is 12.1 meters.

The scope of works to be performed under this contract includes Site Clearing & Earthworks, Bridge, flyovers and interchange, road and associated works, Open box beam (Guard Rail), Drainage Works.

Project Sum : RM 100M

1. #1 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 10:14 am

Sheets and sheets of cynicism are building up as day after day more and more corruption scandals are revealed in Malaysia. The American chamber of Commerce, Singapore, lists Malaysia as one of the corrupt nations in ASEAN where corruption is an impediment to doing business.

Malaysia needs a sea change to rise from the ranks of pariah natios with the stench of corruption reeking in every state and ministry. BN must be removed!

Otherwise, we might as well sing with Joni Mitchell and allow cynicism to thicken further:

CIRCLE GAME

And the seasons they go round and round
    And the painted ponies go up and down
    We’re captive on the carousel of time
    We can’t return we can only look behind
    From where we came
    And go round and round and round
    In the circle game

Sorry, this is an auspicious day for AAB, but I can’t help picturing him and Samy Vellu, yes, the entire BN Cabinet as painted ponies in thier component colours!

2. #2 by madmix on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 10:28 am

contracts in malaysia 100% guaranteed by government to make money with huge profit margins and easy variation clauses.
    UE world tried their hands in Middle East and India with open tender contracts: now black listed in India, lost big money in middle east. If malaysian company get 1 billion tender overseas, do not buy their shares because of high risk, can lose big, or at best make 5 % profit. If company get malaysian project sure make at least 30% with more off the accounts.

3. #3 by anakbaram on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 10:35 am

This is what happen when those in power stay too long. They can get away with anything without being touched. This is another proof that the legistatives in Sarawak is one of the most corrupt in Malaysia. Please Pak Lah or any one out there do something. “Lead us not to temptation and deliver us from evil. Amen”

4. #4 by FuturePolitician on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 10:48 am

The current government isnt run like a CORPORATE structure.. Our PM isnt strong will enough to displine them or negotiate with them not to abuse their power. Even as normal citizen, when we buy something we always compare prices and quality. At the moment, that is not done..No OPEN tender, IF there is , qualified “Bumi-status Only can participate”.. Gone are those days where government tenders has only MOF to qualified now 30% bumi, 50% bumi for participation..and if set to 100% forget it..not qualified. Even if OPEN TENDER, the reason for rejection is not stated even if you are the cheapest and has a superb trackrecord, you still can be rejected because there are others whom has better know WHO than know HOW.. This leads to , dont participate anymore, all the KNOW HOW contractors not bidding, Leaving ALL the KNOW WHO to bid., ending WHO KNOW WHO HIGHER Wins..corruption spiral upwards..

There your Bridge..for RM200mil that can actually link Sarawak and Semenanjung..but I need VO of RM1billion to do it..Sure why not it isnt MY MONEY.. tak apa attitude..No express duty to protect the interest of the people.

5. #5 by azk on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 11:02 am

exact reason why we should not pay tax

6. #6 by aspire on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 11:06 am

That would be a difference of RM 100 million. But wait ! Are the two flyovers same in every way; materials, design, length, width etc. etc. etc. ? Anybody has both the flyovers’ photos ? Beside the money, let’s think about the ” service charge “. Let us put on our critcal thinking caps for a while if we have not done so for a long time. Issues like terrorism. What sort of miracles can that RM 100 million discount make ?

7. #7 by lakshy on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 11:17 am

Check who owns Global Upline and you will see why its marked up

8. #8 by anakbaram on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 11:34 am

The very same company is now building a flyover in Miri, Sarawak. Perhaps with the same formworks and excess materials from Kuching. But also with the same if not inflated charge.

It was the same company which extend the runway and bult the new terminal at Miri Airport, Kuching Airport, Kota Kinabalu LCCT and Bintulu Airport. Go and check for yourself and find out the low quality tiles and materials used. Go and look at the cement works outside between the terminal building and the runway and see that they are disintergrating/cracking. So we know the thing they do is not as glorious and rossy as the local newspapers painted; about how efficient the company is in delivering work in time or before the targeted date.

9. #9 by mendela on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 11:55 am

The Seef Flyover, Manama, Bahrain – RM100 million, The Kuching Flyover – More than RM 200 million – Why?

Why? The Seef is made of steel and the Kuching Flyover is made of gold and platinum!

10. #10 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 9 June 2007 - 3:31 pm

With a name like Upline the mind wonders where does the money go.

Of course, it should be much cheaper to build in Bahrain – so much cheap sand available – all you need is a storm like Gonu(?) and you will have tons of the stuff all over.

Pardon my rambling – swear it must be somthen in the orange juice!
    http://malaysiawatch.blogspot.com/2005/09/report-card-on-nep.html

11. #11 by izrafeil on Sunday, 10 June 2007 - 9:56 am

the only way to get rid of the ROT is to vote out BN, they have no political will to make our beloved Malaysia a respectful and celan country!

12. #12 by Jonny on Sunday, 10 June 2007 - 10:55 am

Global Upline Sdn. Bhd. ….

hmmmm … even the name smells fishy. It sounds more like a canned manufactured RM shelf company name

Which some parties through the power of networking, with no-money-down, able to get pre-inked black & white agreement to build the said flyover in Kuching. And hence forth, quickly in motion buy the shelf company. It may not be the flyover being the first project. Maybe other projects. Modus operandi is the same.

Hence, end of day, it maybe a two-man company. Whereby work is sub-sub-sub out to sub-sub-sub contractors. And payments need be made out to Maharajah Broke’s family and various others to grease all the machineries.

Hence, the results becomes a sub-sub-sub standard work with bloated obscene cost to the RAKYAT!

No wonder East Malaysia is so rich with resources, yet is so poor, as if on verge of bankrupt!

13. #13 by shortie kiasu on Sunday, 10 June 2007 - 11:34 am

Maybe partly due to the fact that RM is like Banana Curreny now, that is why the big difference?!

14. #14 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 10 June 2007 - 12:24 pm

RM is not like Banana Currency yet as the country has still the timber and oil to let some people get rich.

But with the widespread corruption it becomes a question of WHEN and not IF the country is going to get bankrupt.

15. #15 by ReformMalaysia on Sunday, 10 June 2007 - 5:21 pm

Well, you must understand… cost of doing business right here is much higher…

We need:
    1. to offer competitive quantum of kickbacks to secure the contract.
    2.We need to pay our minimum 30% (B)sleeping partners ‘royalty fee’ .. every months
    3.We also buy the building material from the specified building material in Sarawak… which is owned by …C~~ , at specified price

So, how can we build it at RM100,000?

16. #16 by gianthunk on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 9:36 am

From what I know the Kuching and KK Airport contracts were sub contract to WCT. So who is behind Global Upline? They may not know anything about construction but in Malaysia who care?

17. #17 by blastmeister on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 10:05 am

Who is behind Global Upline? Check this out – Tan Sri Datuk Amar Dr. Sulaiman Daud (Chairman) http://www.globalupline.com/directors.html

18. #18 by Godfather on Monday, 11 June 2007 - 10:22 am

Ting Pek Khiing lah, who else ? Daniel Abong is his lapdog.

19. #19 by silhouette on Tuesday, 12 June 2007 - 11:29 am

When projects are procured through a tender of course it will result in a low price. Since our projects are all on direct nego, the price will be determined by additional costs to certain parties for thei election fund, fund to enrich certain individuals. It matters not if the job is substandard since any remedial work to damage after completion will be borne by the government.

Mr Lim Kit Siang, please find a mean to amalgate all the opposotion parties by whatever mean just to teach the present government a lesson. Definitely some form of compromise can be reached among the opposition parties whatever the differences among them. The People want a change but as long as you are going your seperate ways and competing each other in every constituency, no way this can be achieved. Just concentrate on parliamentary seats and forget the state seats so as to focus your limited assets to bring about an effective campaign. I think this is the desire of most Malaysians.

20. #20 by Anak_Permyjaya on Tuesday, 10 July 2007 - 1:07 pm

I think it’s not corruption in this case, it’s just gov tactic to help the malay group or else our fellow chinese will “control” the business world while fellow indian will “control” the medical and It world, agreed?

Limitation to University intake based on our race and those berhad company or those who want to go on main board/ 2nd board in KLSE, you need to have malay group as directors… etc

(Poor Tun Dr. M, your tears last time doesn’t wake up the malay group still… they’re still the same till now…)

Just be a loyal citizen of Malaysia, enjoy what’s given to us so far and give thanks we’re not in war or riots… If possible, stop complaining what can’t be change since no matter how much voices you raise to the parliment or newspaper, nothing ever changes…

Remember “they’re still in control” with their race and religion, you can’t do anything…

AnakBaram, where are you these days? Miri needs your prayer.. before you go too far to pray for semenanjung or other part of sarawak or sabah….