Dewan Rakyat House Committee – 5 BN MPs not fit and should resign

Before I left Kuala Lumpur last Sunday for Tokyo for an international conference at the Japan Diet, I had issued a media statement calling on the Dewan Rakyat House Committee under the chairmanship of the Speaker to come out of its hibernation and hold an emergency meeting to take ownership of the many deplorable problems of Parliament House — roof leaking and even fire risks from short circuit despite a RM100 million renovation two years ago — and to resolve them once and for all.

The sole Opposition MP on the House Committee, Tan Kok Wai (DAP — Cheras) wrote to the Speaker, Tan Sri Ramli Ngah as Chairman of the House Committee on Monday asking for a House Committee meeting to discuss matters concerning Parliament’s leaky roofs, wiring, details of the building’s renovation and upgrading, its progress and the contractor’s inefficiency.

I just checked with Kok Wai and he told me that no meeting of the House Committee has been convened.

The other members of the House Committee apart from the Speaker and Kok Wai are all from the Barisan Nasional: the Chairman of Barisan Nasional Backbenchers Club, Dato Raja Ahmad Zainudin bin Raja Omar (BN — Larut); P. Komala Dewi (Kapar), Datuk Goh Siow Huat (BN – Rasah), Datuk Wan Junaidi bin Tuanku Jaafar (Santubong) and Datuk Suhaili bin Abdul Rahman (Labuan).

Malaysians are seeing a disgraceful aspect of Parliament – MPs of the Dewan Rakyat House Committee who are not in the least bothered about the scandals of leaking roof and fire hazards in Parliament despite RM100 million renovation.

Parliamentarians who are not in the least bothered about the parliamentary scandals of leaking roof and fire hazards should not sit in the House Committee in the first place and should resign and be replaced by other MPs who are more conscientious and responsible about their parliamentary duties.

Let Raja Ahmad, Komala, Goh Siow Huat, Wan Junaidi and Suhaili justify to the Malaysian public their utter indifference about the deplorable state of Parliament House, which comes directly under their responsibility as members of the House Committee.

Are they all afraid of Works Minister, Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu?

1. #1 by toyolbuster on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 11:57 am

Just name one BN MP who is not afraid of Samy.
    He makes Kalimutu looks like a choirboy.

2. #2 by osaya on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 1:30 pm

active use of fear and demanding conformity eventually conditions passive apathy.

3. #3 by moong cha cha II on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 1:59 pm

i think with leaking here and there, GE may come much later, in time for Anwar.

4. #4 by VoiceOfMalaysian on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 2:36 pm

It is high time for a change. Vote for Opposition. Malaysia need a strong alternative government like US to improve transparency, integrity and competency.

It has to be started from some where -from you and me..

Vote out BN!!

Malaysian deserve better government to run this country!

Say NO to corruption, nepotism, racist, sexist and discrimination!!! by saying NO to BN!!

5. #5 by lianchan on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 5:22 pm

Come on people, time is NOW!

Put the X where there is not a BN mark. Vote for DAP, PKR or PAS – is a vote for a better MALAYSIA.

6. #6 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 6:45 pm

“Malaysians are seeing a disgraceful aspect of Parliament – MPs of the Dewan Rakyat House Committee who are not in the least bothered about the scandals of leaking roof and fire hazards in Parliament despite RM100 million renovation.” Kit

Not in the least bothered?? Could it be because too much attention has been brought to bear on the issue of sexism among MPs almost to the exclusion of everything else?

7. #7 by ihavesomethingtosay on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 8:32 pm

Hello Kit,

Would just like to correct you, there is not on MP under the BN regime that’s fit to perform their job, they should all resign if they have a shred of decency in them.

They never represnet the people that elects them, for that, they are wasting our time and money, and that is the basis of their in peormance and they should have step down, that’s if their up bringing has taught them that.

8. #8 by bolehlandor on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 8:34 pm

Leaking roof at the august house; burst pipes in Putra Jaya buildings; flooded toilets in new Court Complex and etc etc…..
    Anyone out there want to guess how many more such scandals will surface within the next month? Perhaps the PM’s residence will also be affected. But you can bet your life that Samy the evil deity will have a perfectly working residence that will last a hundred years. Need I say more?

9. #9 by babique on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 10:14 pm

lianchan: “Put the X where there is not a BN mark. Vote for DAP, PKR or PAS – is a vote for a better MALAYSIA”

… but then putting an X beside PAS and getting them into power, will be worst, for instance you can’t even hold your wife’s hand when going out!!

10. #10 by yellowkingdom on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 10:28 pm

All I can see are votes “leaking” , “falling” and “flooding” to the Opposition in the coming elections. Let us vote for CHANGE in the next GE! We can’t do any more damage than what has been done to the Rakyat WITHOUT accountability, transparency and good governance.

11. #11 by dawsheng on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 11:21 pm

If you think the most canggih weapons can protect us I am afraid you are wrong. What is the use of even the most sophisticated weapons if those who swore to protect malaysia eventually will sold her out for self-interest? Looks like we have been sleeping with the enemy all along.

12. #12 by dawsheng on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 11:22 pm

Ooopss… Sorry.. wrong thread.. hehe..

13. #13 by ipohfly on Monday, 28 May 2007 - 11:37 am

Just to share this poem some genius wrote out there:

Bocor Lagi
    by Keris Silau – Malaysia Today

Bocor teruk kata Samy
    Wiring lama kata Ramli
    Bangunan tua kata Nazri
    Najib said it’s PWD

Semua ada alasan sendiri
    But where you all spent the money?
    RM90 juta untuk cantikkan lobby
    So that it looks luxury

Nice décor and nice settee
    But now you kena letak baldi
    Bocor teruk when it rains heavily
    MP yang busuk pun boleh mandi

The floor is wet and slippery
    The luxury lobby now looks untidy
    Inilah dia third class mentality
    Luar cantik tapi dalam very shoddy

Structure work should get priority
    And now whose responsibility
    JKR or Parliament Committee
    While you all gaduh sama sendiri

Rakyat want an answer immediately
    Otherwise kita tak bagi you undi
    Sebab you spent money unnecessarily
    You know it is taxpayers’ money
    So please spend the money wisely

14. #14 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 28 May 2007 - 2:03 pm

First of all, i think election commission should make the following change immediately i.e. put a TICK instead of a X in the ballot paper for the candidate that you want to elect, the reason is that there are many who put a X in the ballot papers thinking that they are not voting the particular candidate, that is why BMK (Buang Muka Rakyat) and MSY of and many MPs of BN being elected. They thought that they are crossing the candidate out!! our eduction system also thought our school children to X out for thing that they dont want. Time to change!!

Talking about Samy, who is not afraid of him in BN? even TDM said that he could not touch him as he is untouchable!! any way, i pity Samy as he wants to be in power and yet he could not do anything other than being told by his master, he should resign long long ago, he should learn from Tan Sri Dompok instead.

15. #15 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 8:00 am

It’s a disgrace that parliament house, such a solemn place where the laws of the nation is made, is in such a run-down state despite spending nearly rm100 million in renovation costs. What have they renovated then? Don’t they know the roof is the most important part of any building? Even cavemen know this thousands of years ago, but our “civilized” lawmakers didn’t know this.

Pointing fingers at one another, a common scene among BN component parties, is not going to help. Samy Vellu as the Minister of Works should be the right person to carry the “baby” this time. He should not just shove off the burden like what he did when the flyover at Kepong and the highway in Ampang had problems.

The new Kuala Lumpur Court Complex is another disgraceful scandal. Imagine judges and lawyers walking in and out of an “illegal” building? How can the new Court Complex be without a Certificate of Fitness for Occupation? That means judges and lawyers are abetting whoever built the building to commit crimes.

I’ll bet this is another incident of “Malaysia Boleh!” and if things go on this way, we are not only going to achieve “Malaysia Boleh” only, it will be “Malaysia Boleh MATI!!”

16. #16 by OnTheFence on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 2:32 pm

the datuk suhaili from labuan…

I heard from labuan people itself that he is a well known “magician” of making other people money vanish before he was elected……he is alo known to have a wide collection of cars in labuan…

how come we can elect these people..let alone BN endorsed them to represent them?

I also heard many stories about our “leaping from northpole” PUTRA UMNO leader….he also a well known “magician”….

WAKE UP MALAYSIAN & MAKE A DIFFERENCE