What else does the govt want from us?

What else does the Govt want from Us?
by Richard Teo

On the same day when it was reported that two major banks “require law firms to have a minimum of three partners of which one must be Bumiputra with a minimum 50 per cent stake in the firm before they can do any business with the banks” another report in Singapore says “Job ads in the city: No age, race.”

Two different emphasis on policy matters, one from our close neighbour Singapore and one from our own virtually sums up the two different directions we are heading.

After 50 years of being in power our leaders are still promulgating laws and policies which are dividing the nation while in Singapore, the rationale is to eliminate race as a criterion to select candidates for jobs believing in the concept that “multi-racialism is a fundamental principle here”.

How divergent and different each nation’s path has become.One will lead the nation to ultimate destruction whilst the other will grow and prosper.

How can our leaders be so myopic and parochial? Why must it always be the Malays vs Chinese thing? Can’t they adopt a more pragmatic view that the Chinese are not their enemies and that we are all sitting in the same boat. If this boat sinks we sink together.

Our immediate competition will be from our neighbouring countries like Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia and Vietnam. Yet this has not been their main focus.

Instead of directing their energy and strength to combat our external foes our leaders are doing their level best to weaken our own citizens.

How can our leaders be so short-sighted as to sacrifice long term gains for short term benefits?

Instead of looking at the bigger cake from outside our shores we are scrambling for the contracting small cake within our country.

With each passing day as citizens of this country, we feel hopeless and helpless as our leaders remain oblivious to the consequencs of their own policy-making decisions.

We can only hope with abated breath that a miracle will prevent the ruination of this country. Otherwise, only divine intervention can rescue us from this path of destruction.

1. #1 by DiaperHead on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 7:26 am

Richard Teo,

Stop painting a picture of ‘doom and gloom’. Don’t shout “Fire” in a crowded cinema.

Our leaders need to take a deep breath, pause and think. If they are slow to think, then we can prompt them. One way is through the electoral process.

DAP/PKR and PAS need to play the role of catalyst for change very carefully if change is to come. DAp will win more seats but lose the elections.

We need to think beyond the elections.

2. #2 by azk on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 7:26 am

Summarizing a well known issue but doing nothing about it. Instead of telling us what we already know, why not use your critical thinking to suggest what we can do about it?

3. #3 by DiaperHead on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 7:30 am

“Instead of directing their energy and strength to combat our external foes our leaders are doing their level best to weaken our own citizens.”

Is that why they are buying French submarines that don’t dive and float and Russian obsolete jet fighters that don’t fly?

4. #4 by kurakura on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 7:44 am

Maybe the government will want one of the kidneys of all non Bumis next……

5. #5 by lakshy on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 8:49 am

The government wants us non-malays to leave if we cant accept the conditions here.

Surprisingly, at the same time, many forward looking countries are realising that there is a massive shortage in skilled people as the number of technical graduates and those with technical skills are declining rapidly. Hence many countries will accept such people to help develop their own nations.

This will be a push for more people to look for greener pastures elsewhere.

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 8:52 am

Its not what the government want but what the politicians are not willing to give up and that is change. They have a system that cost opportunities and human potential but that does not necessarily mean a failing system. Its a mediocre system and the truth is it need not necessarily fail any time soon.

Slavery lasted hundreds some say thousands of years. It was not economics that changed it but rather social sentiments based on liberal religious underpinning.

There is nothing in our history and background that suggest that we are capable of great liberal change. Our liberal foundation are primarly from external influence and forces.

Singapore is changing not because it has liberal social values but because long ago it was forced to engage the world for survival and has to live with what the world changes to.

Our insularity is afforded by our wealth and advantages of our character we take for granted. So long as there remain exploitable means, the issue of engaging the world will not be embraced until its forced upon us.

All is not lost but Malaysia is a nation of that cannot tolerate results that are too bad. But it has never been a nation that grabs at the best there is, merely fortunate to have someone being part of it by their own means or by fortune. So long that dynamic exist, there exist hope but also prolong mediocrity as a nation.

Nothing is as great as it seems in Malaysia but its also never as bad as its lamented. It is who we are..

7. #7 by mwt on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 9:00 am

For MORE PICTURES – DAP 1 Day Congress to Amend Constitution to postpone Party Election and DAP BIG PLANS for 12 General Election – Contesting 54 Parliamentary & 115 State Seats in Penang, Perak, Selangor, Sabah & Sarawak – in predominantly Chinese constituencies, Go To:
    http://powerpresent.blogspot.com/2007/05/more-pics-dap-big-plan-for-12-general.html

8. #8 by scrtls on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 9:23 am

Check this link. It shows why Malaysia is loosing while Singapore is gaining.

http://news.asiaone.com.sg/st/st_20070503_116553.html

9. #9 by azk on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 9:30 am

BigJoe,

one word can sum it up lah.. “OKLAH”.. mentality

10. #10 by dawsheng on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 9:46 am

“Instead of looking at the bigger cake from outside our shores we are scrambling for the contracting small cake within our country.”

This is what many chinese and indians in Malaysia have been doing all these years and must continue to do so for many years to come. If the NEP policies continue to persist, more will be leaving to make ends meet as the job prospects and business opportunities are getting scarce each day. But I am least worried for my fellow chinese and indian Malaysians, for I know we will be able to survive even in the toughest environment. And for my fellow malay Malaysians, all I can do is pray for a divine intervention, as it appeared only god can knock some senses into their medieval thinking. Not only that, if it took someone some five hundred years or so to understand 1+1=2 and 1-1=nil, what hope there is in this country? Forget about E=mc2, that is like totally out of range for them.

11. #11 by paix on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 9:58 am

What good is the electoral process with the rampant corruption and cheating that is going on? It is business as usual.
    100 years from now historians will look back and point to this group of “leaders” as the cause of the decay and ruination of a once promising nation.

12. #12 by k1980 on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 10:31 am

“After 50 years of being in power our leaders are still promulgating laws and policies which are dividing the nation…” That was exactly what the leaders of Yugoslavia, Sri Lanka, Burundi, Rwanda, Fiji etc did and look at what happened to their countries— smashed up, crushed down and amongst the least developed in the world!

13. #13 by Godfather on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 11:16 am

What a silly question, Richard. What the government wants from us is to make sure we vote the Opposition !

14. #14 by sheriff singh on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 1:10 pm

Will the following soon occur ?

1. Employees can only see bumi doctors.
    2. GLCs can only employ bumi consultants
    3. External trainers must only be bumis
    4. Purchases of everything can only be from bumi firms
    5. Only bumi legal and other advice is acceptable
    6. Only bumi auditors are acceptable
    7. All savings and current accounts must have 50% bumi shareholding
    8. Only insurance policies from bumi firms are acceptable
    9. Bumi clients will get 50% more benefits
    10. Oh, you add on the rest.

Do you know that with the proliferation of Islamic banks, banking and their products, only the Islamic way will be acceptable to these institutions so as not to compromise their integrity? It means 100% Islamic compliance like legal advice, investments, accounting, decision making, heck, everything.

The landscape is changing fast folks and you better be prepared for it. Conventional banking will become secondary within 10 years. Don’t complain when and if it catches you unawares.

The next 50 years will see us all becoming more Islamic in our everyday life, like it or not.

15. #15 by tc on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 1:15 pm

Our leaders are too smart!Smart in the way as to know exactly what to do to hold on to their seats.Please the majority thats all.Contradicting to what Richard mentioned, they are certainly not oblivious to the consequences of their policy -making decisions.Deep down their conscience they know what the future outcome for the country will be.They will do anything to remain popular,stay in power and to continue to harvest huge amount of money through their unscrupulous ways.Whether the country collapse or not they don’t care tuppence.And when it happens,they will take off to another country with their fortune and their family members to “Live Happily Ever After” Then, the majority will be left stranded.YES! the same majority which supports them.
    There was a suggestion that all teachers should take an I.Q test.A very good suggestion indeed.Should we citizens want sincere,honest,reliable and smart people to run the country?Then a pre-qualification is necessary for all present politicians to take the mandatory tests:- 1) Lie detector 2)I.Q and E.Q.(if they do not know what these means,they have already failed the tests)
    Perhaps many of them dare not even sit for the tests.For obvious fear of embarassment.We will have many more By-Elections.

16. #16 by Jonny on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 1:59 pm

They believe in a world of scarcity where greed rules and nothing is enough. With no rent-seeking, how would it lubricates the economy and private treasure-chests all located offshore?

Let them have all.

Hope they not realize too late one day that we all are in the same boat. By then, it would be too late as the Titanic sinks.

17. #17 by whc on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 2:38 pm

Everything is about bumi.Are we not malaysian though we are chinese? Bumi can never feed themselves unless you Mr Government stop spoon feed.MR MCA seem to be very quiet even though chinese are being slowly marginalised.Can’t you guys speak up for the chinese with the Maybank ruling?

18. #18 by smeagroo on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 2:55 pm

And in the Star today it shouted “Malaysian wins Pulitzer Prize”. Haha. MALAYSIAN. SHe studied in Singapore and who sponsored her? Malaysian govt? Ohhhh. Hahaha.

19. #19 by DiaperHead on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 4:22 pm

Richard Teoh,

The government wants you to change your name and convert so that some preferential status could be worked out for you.

To start with you could change your name to Ramli bin Abdullah and stop the howling.

20. #20 by burn on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 5:16 pm

“What else does the Govt want from Us?”…
    they want to sapu semua.
    they want others to work for them, not work with them.
    they want to control other malaysians.
    they want to tell others, we are the “ketuanan” of this land. the rest are all kafirs.

aku punya falsampah!

21. #21 by smeagroo on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 5:40 pm

looks like the prophecy is coming true. We must all have a “sign” to do biz with the govt. Preferential. Hmmmm…..

22. #22 by Fort on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 7:15 pm

UMNO leaders had always wanted

a Malay daminated Malaysia. What is the use of changing a white taukeh to a Chinese one? What they want is a Malay one. The progress may be slow or even regressive. Does not matter! It is like we are all in a race, let the Malays catch up first, then they will lead. Or rather, all are to slow down so that the Malay can lead.

What hope do we have?

Or rather what will happen?
    Wait we must, untl most Malays if not all have reached the level where they are good enough to compete with the world.
    The day will only comes if the rest are not moving forward. It is not going to be like that. That means we will be forever mediocre.

The hope we have

is that an alternative government can arise to provide the leadership and show that it can bring Malaysia to excellence.

The day will come

sooner than you think. 50 years is enough! Let the day come sooner by working hard. Do our part however meager it may be within our sphere of influence!

23. #23 by ctzen on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 11:56 pm

Why don’t these myopic people suggest this or make it a rule: bumis cannot accept the blood and organs of non bumis. There should be separate blood banks. Or should it be 50% of all blood donated must be bumis first before non bumis can do so. The list goes on…sigh.

24. #24 by taikohtai on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 5:00 am

No doubt controversy will be attracted, but how about equating their religion to their way of thinking? Islam after all, promotes an eye for an eye. So what makes you people think that they understand other universal values? Fitnah, they claim.

Just because they wear a white cap, they reckon everything under it is halal, including corruption.

25. #25 by accountability on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 5:07 am

richard teo,

to answer you – [b]the BN [/b] (not just the govt), which means all the greedy UMNO & their rempit-putras, the cowardly MCA, and the incompetent MIC, [b]want everything for themselves without having to work for it[/b]

26. #26 by DiaperHead on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 5:40 am

“Can’t they adopt a more pragmatic view that the Chinese are not their enemies and that we are all sitting in the same boat. If this boat sinks we sink together.” Richard Teo

You forgot that the Alliance symbol was a sailing boat. The Alliance boat is unsinkable. So where does that leave you? You’d be thrown overboard so the boat will not sink – food for the sharks!

27. #27 by lchk on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 8:04 am

DiaperHead wrote:

“Richard Teoh,

The government wants you to change your name and convert so that some preferential status could be worked out for you.

To start with you could change your name to Ramli bin Abdullah and stop the howling.”

Dream on. No bumi status is ever conferred on a chinese muslim convert.

28. #28 by k1980 on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 6:33 pm

“…change your name and convert so that some preferential status could be worked out for you.” Even muslims gleefully slaughter each other in Iraq. So a slant-eyed muslim will still be discriminated here.

29. #29 by lakshy on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 9:51 pm

Malay dominated malaysia will be as good as pakistan or bangladesh. Its the others that have provided some ooomph to malaysia.

Hey I like that thing about blood. Can the blood of a person who takes pork and non-halal meat be given to a muslim? To any layman it would be non-halal right? But the ulamaks will say that using the blood to save another life is ok…..so its halal. Same way that using cat gut etc will be acceptable to muslims!

30. #30 by goldenscreen on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 9:57 pm

1) Bar politicians from heading sports associations! Let professionals, trained sportsmen handle sports. Mixing politics with sports is bad.
    2) Hold elections for local council to make them more democratic and transparent.
    3) Solve the PTI issue in Sabah
    4) And for heaven’s sake, arrest those 3 VIP politicians in Sibu already! I know who they are, Sibu and Sarawak people know who they are, the gangsters know who they are, the police know who they are, their victims know who they are, so what’s our men in blue waiting for?

31. #31 by Jimm on Wednesday, 9 May 2007 - 3:37 pm

BN have run out of their initial objectives to ‘conquer’ MALAYSIA. They are now working in ‘smaller’ groups with bigger appetite for monies to their own pockets.
    It’s like those olden days movies, where the ‘towkays’ will keep more people to protect them , their assets and their territory.
    That were those days, now a days, the people that they are ‘raring’ can ‘bite back’ one. These people join and support the ‘towkays’ to be one by themselves too…. where got like last time ….

32. #32 by Not spoon fed on Wednesday, 30 May 2007 - 11:30 pm

Racial Discrimination in Malaysia:

a long list of discriminating policies in Malaysia. This is a good country to live in? Mr Lee Kuan Yew is right!

http://www.worldpress.org/2298.cfm