The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi should reprimand and discipline the Minister for Science, Technology and Innovation Datuk Seri Dr. Jamaludin Jarjis for his disgraceful conduct in making racist and derogatory remarks about Malaysian Indians when he met Malaysian students in California on Monday (30th April).
During his official visit to California on Monday, Jamaludin met some of the Malaysian students studying in California especially the ones from TPM Academy twinning programme at the Belacan Grill Malaysian Restaurant, Redondo Beach, Ca.
One of the students was Sheena Moorthy, a third-year Biotech Malaysian student in CALYPOLY.
Sheena complained that during the 3½ hour session, Jamaludin passed a few racial remarks on her, being one of the two Indians present there.
Sheena has formally written to the Prime Minister to complain against Jamaludin for the “totally uncalled-for racial insults”, citing the following instances:
Incident 1 – Each student had to briefly introduce themselves. When it came to her turn, while speaking he interrupted her and asked if she knew Samy Vellu, because he knows him. She did not see any relevance in that and he mentioned it a few times for no apparent reason.
Incident 2 — He gave a speech regarding how agriculture started in Malaysia. He mentioned how the British invested in Malaysia and made farmers work. Due to the lack of work force, “buruh India” was brought in. While mentioning this, he looked at her saying “that’s how we get Indians in Malaysia”.
Incident 3 — After saying he is going to get MARA to help the Bumiputra students, he looked at her and asked “How many Indians are here?” Sheena did not keep track of number of Indian students so she mentioned that in the room there were two (pointing to another Malaysian Indian friend, who is fair skinned) and Jamaludin looked at him and asked “Oh. You are an Indian? Which means you are an upper class Indian and she is the lower class one” (pointing at her). Jamaludin went on to say that, “Oh, I am not going to help upper class Indians, I only help the lower class ones. They are the ones that need it’.
Sheena left the room feeling very insulted as the Minister had judged her based on her skin colour.
This incident happened in front of a crowd of about 100 people including students, officials from the Malaysian Consulate, TPM, Tourism Malaysia, etc. But everyone is afraid and nobody is prepared to stand up to speak the truth.
I can fully understand Sheena’s hurt feelings at being humiliated and insulted by Jamaluddin in public. All right-thinking Malaysians should support Sheena’s demand for a public apology from Jamaludin.
Sheena’s sister, Dr. Sheela Moorthy, who is currently living in the USA and supporting her sister’s education at CalyPoly, is so incensed that she has written to the media to express her disgust and anger that a Minister of a multi-racial country should be making such racist and derogatory remarks about Malaysian Indians at a function abroad, giving the country a bad image.
Sheena has also written to complain about Jamaluddi’s biased and disgraceful conduct to several Malaysian Ministers, including the MIC President and Works Minister, Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu.
I hope Samy Vellu would raise the Sheena issue at the Cabinet meeting next Wednesday to add his voice to the growing demand for public apology from Jamaludin and to support the Prime Minister to reprimand and take disciplinary action against the Science, Technlogy and Innovation Minister.
Jamaludin is still in the United States as he is currently leading a 300-man Malaysian delegation to the Biotechnology Industry Organisation (BIO) Convention in Boston, Massachussets.

#1 by izrafeil on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 11:59 am
JJ is very insensitive and inconsiderate! On behalf of all Malays i humbly apologise to Sheena Moorthy.
#2 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:00 pm
What to expect from a malaysian even he is outside? the brain cells do not change.
can this student lodge a report to the american police (because he point at her skin) and let the minister be detained. or he has the rights of free pass in US?
i think it is always stupid for malaysians outside the bolehland to go and worship these malaysian gods, whenever they go there. may be the insult was a result of free lunch/dinner.
LKS should say the same thing to Samy and see Samy’s reaction.
#3 by smeagroo on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:06 pm
Haha u expect the “sleeping beauty” to reprimand jj? the newspaper may report a tongue-lashing but the real facts could be a hi-tea at putrajaya. JJ is untouchable. Yea not even the zzzzzz can touch him. That’s where his arrogance comes from.
#4 by k1980 on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:06 pm
JJ conveniently forgets to mention the fact that Indians were one of the earliest settlers in malaya, where they established settlements such as Merbuk in Kedah and Gangga Negara in Beruas, Perak. This is the direct result of dropping references to the ancient empires of southeast asia, such as Funan and Srivijaya, from malaysian history textbooks. These “islamisation of history” which started in the early 1980s under Anwar Ibrahim’s tenure as Edu Minister has resulted in an entire “lost generation” of malaysians who knows next to nothing about the non-islamic background of this region.
#5 by k1980 on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:15 pm
“…the Minister had judged her based on her skin colour.” Let’s refresh our memory and recall the day when the former Australian PM called Dr M a (golly)wog. So Jama Jarjis’ skin colour, while beautiful to his own eyes, is viewed as extremely distasteful in the eyes of others.
#6 by madmix on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:30 pm
This is good; the umno racist are showing their true colours. JJ is speaking out loud what has always been in his psyche: his disdain for Indians. How he despises Indians and other non-malays living in Malaysia. Let the public know his stance. Don’t bother asking him for an apology or asking Pak Lala to reprimand him. Just publicise this incident to let the world know the inner thoughts of these racists. And let us see if the Indian voters will take this lying down.
#7 by smeagroo on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:39 pm
And when the day comes when the Indians didnt vote for MIC, we dont wanna hear sammy Dummy asking the dumb question as to why the Indians are not voting for MIC. WHen MIC cant even stand up for their own people might as well change the party’s name to Msian Independant CONgress. Yea, he stands for himself only. ME ME ME!
#8 by malaysia born on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:44 pm
I defintely DIDN’T vote for this guy….and will NEVER EVER WILL!
The REAL insult is that NOBODY from the govt went so far as to say that such actions are wrong…let alone reprimand this idiot.
Then again, this is BN mah, why am i suprised?
#9 by dragon88 on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 1:21 pm
Sheena should report this disgraceful incidence to the
Anti-racial Discrimination board or its equivalent in the US. In Australia, there is such a board that would charge him for making such a remark. Despite his doctoral qualification, he seems to be an ignorant [deleted] He seems to be in the same league as that infamous minister who has an Oxford degree.
#10 by trashed on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 1:33 pm
The question should be put to S Vellu – as leader of the MIC, what are you going to do about it?
The apartheid mentality is showing, JJ.
#11 by unknowngrouse on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 1:44 pm
We should ask JJ when his family came to Malaysia and for what reason. I believe K Toyol is a second generation and now an MB whilst I am a 4th generation Malaysian and still considered a pendatang, and asked to go back to China if I criticise the corrupted G.
UMNO is the KKK of Malaysia
#12 by madmix on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 2:01 pm
this is off topic but deserves our attention. Where will all this lead to? Soon every profession and enterprise will need 50% bumi equity to do business with GLCs.
I urge all credit card holders and fixed deposit holders of this bank to cancel their credit cards and fixed deposits and take their business elsewhere rather than supporting this racist bank.
here is the article from the Star:
ACCCIM raps bank over bumiputra requirement
THE Associated Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry of Malaysia (ACCCIM) has rapped a local bank for requiring all law firms dealing with it to have at least 50% bumiputra partnership, Sin Chew Daily reported.
ACCCIM said the move would prevent businesses from operating freely and many law firms from being legal advisers to the bank.
Maybank, which is a government-linked company, issued a letter recently requiring all newly appointed legal firms to meet the requirement, with effect from July 1, while the deadline for existing firms was a year after the new ruling was implemented.
“Currently, many legal firms have both bumiputras and non-bumiputras as partners and each owns only small shares in these companies,†ACCCIM said, adding that the requirement would force these firms to reshuffle.
It said Malaysia was working towards improving the quality of service industries including the legal profession to face the challenges of globalisation.
“The move shows that we are moving backwards and we hope that the bank will reconsider its decision,†it said.
Bank Negara said there was no specific requirement for legal firms appointed by financial institutions.
#13 by Libra2 on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 2:32 pm
This isuue will die a natural death as nothing will come out the many complaints.
UMNO needs only the Indian votes. That’s why MIC is in BN.
Indian’s equity ownership is at a remarkable 1%. Thats to the MIC and keep on voting for the BN.
#14 by Billy on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 2:51 pm
Can someone confirm this. Since Samy is dark-skinned, can we assume that he is from the lower caste? If he is so, now I can understand why he is behaving with such superiority behaviour to cover his inferiority complex? As usual, when something adverse happens to an Indian, bet your bottom dollar Samy is looking up in the air and whistling away.
#15 by cklife on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 2:53 pm
We are all pendatang since a millenium ago. The true people who live in malaysia that stayed through timeframe of stoneages are the orang asli; whom evolved from this prehistoric time.
So it’s not wise to call anyone they are ‘pendatang’ , while they are ‘pendatang’ too. This country belongs to everyone. Even belong to Indonesian, Bangladeshi, Chinese from China, American, Israelites Jews and whoever they are… as long as they are citizen here. They live here. And dont ever call them pendatang.
We should eliminate this thought of knowing people from which region of the world they come from.
Malaysia could have been formed as one of the land of Indonesia if it weren’t for political revolution and british colonisation in the early days. Even Malay roots are mainly indonesian. While Chinese were traditionally travelling worldwide..and Indian were the effective workforce that moves around the world in the early days. None of them deserve any ranking; such as low class or high class.
By the way, Caster system for indian does not apply in Malaysia after all.
Racism is shown at how people communicate.
WE ARE ALL HOMOSAPIEN; insulting one another is insulting ourself.
WE SHOULD LIVE AS A COMMUNITY OF HOMOSAPIEN. GOD’S CREATION.
Good Luck to Racist, you’ll be nailed.
#16 by osaya on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 2:56 pm
the only ‘lower class’ indians i know of is Samy Vellu. maybe that’s why they feel the constant need to help ‘lower class’ Indians like him.
#17 by akarmalaysian on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 3:31 pm
JJ…as far as i am concerned..who in the hell does he think he gets his ministerial post from?he is only a servant of malaysian people.dun forget that JJ…UMNO is nothing without the coalition which means u are nothing without the chinese or indians or others in malaysia.if u think u have a color thats gonna signify u are of superior gene than others…u are wrong.i think u are mentally retarded.
#18 by benjamin1019 on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 3:32 pm
I feel sad what happened on Sheena.
This isn’t a fresh incident which happened in Malaysia…
To Sheena, if you read my reply…
S Vellu is just another corrupted soul, never ask him to bring justice.
As you stay on the land of freedom, ask for police or UN Anti-discrimination department’s help is wiser solution.
Let the racist people face the punishment.
#19 by burn on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 3:35 pm
apa nak buat… nama aja minister… minister telor separuh masak.
sheena should just concentrate on her studies. hack care with those mentality telor separuh ministers.
#20 by ihavesomethingtosay on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 4:01 pm
that’s what you get, all Indians in Ijok supported BN, hence racist remark.
All stupid Chinese supported BN, giving them a land slide victory in the last GE, and what did you get? KERISMUDIN
this is BN, welcome to the world.
#21 by ihavesomethingtosay on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 4:04 pm
If the US had learn anything from their racist past, they should ban [deleted] like that from their convention. I hope he gets the full [deleted] treatment.
he thinks he is white perharps?
#22 by dawsheng on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 4:50 pm
Minister for Science, Technology and Innovation Datuk Seri Dr. Jamaludin Jarjis was jealous because Indians are better than Malays. And because he is racist, that’s why he reacted that way towards Sheena.
#23 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 5:33 pm
I am surprised and disgusted that the man behind the beard and moustache, Jamaludin Jarjis, is so shallow and myopic in his view and outlook?! It is shame reflected on the Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and his cabinet.
#24 by Kingkong on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 5:41 pm
Is that a surprise? Look at our country bumpkin parliamentarians and ministers debating in the parliament, you know what type of a substance they are!
When this country bumpkin minister goes to the world arena, he has become a laughing stalk, a disgrace to the image of our country. I don’t use the word “ kampung “ style because it will be a disgrace to our kampong folks. Leading 300+ delegates to the conference perhaps is more like a blind leading a blind type of merry happy go lucky US tour. I bet there won’t be any follow up after the conference, and the biotech valley is just as dead.
It is a good thing that Sheena has learnt it very fast that she is not to let it go and have pursued a vigorous protest and that is the type of education that one regretfully can’t pick it up in a local higher education environment.
Sheena, please cheer up and study hard and you have the best wishes from us!
#25 by wsblurtn on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 6:14 pm
Dear Sheena
dont get upset by this arrogant “kepala otak” fella. Many of “these people” are famous for their senseless remarks. This goes to tell how shallow and uncultured they are. Buat kita malu saja!!
Yes, make a hue and cry over it …highlight it while you can over there! Let our country men know what kind of rascist are ruling our beloved country and hopefully, will know how to cast their votes.
#26 by Godamn Singh on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 7:14 pm
From what I read here, it looks like Sheena Moorthy has over-reacted, reading into the remarks by the Minister, reading in between the lines and then arriving at the anti-Indian sentiment which she claimed the Minister was guilty of.
What has dark-skinned and fair-skinned got to do with being superior? Malayalis are fair-skinned and Tamils are darker-skinned. Is it not true that Tamils are at the bottom rung of the caste system? If the Minister is guilty of citing the facts, then he is ‘guilty’. If the Minister says that he would like to assist the poor Indians, don’t you think that it should be welcomed? What is racist about these remarks?
#27 by fm2 on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 7:21 pm
conference?? i totally agree is just a fully paid 5 star trip for a bunch of useless fella.
will this incident publish in the CNN or BBC. just the malaysian know is not enough, should let the whole world know. how ‘lucky’ we r in this bodoh land.
#28 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 8:19 pm
JJ is a racist chauvinist pig. Period.
#29 by sapna on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 9:13 pm
Get the video of the event and then play it during general election… at indian populated area…
#30 by PureMalaysian on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 9:21 pm
Having said so much. Everyone giving comments. But what have we got by the sun rises tomorrow? NOTHING. Everything will fade off, and the day goes on for JJ as usual, as well as for Pak Lah and BN. We are just wasting our energy discussing such thing here.
Sigh.
#31 by malaysia born on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 9:43 pm
Mr Lim, Notice that there has not been much protests from our indian friends.
Either this means that your blog is not reaching out to the indians ….. or such remarks are okay, as far as they (indians) are concern.
Where are your voices, my fellow indian friends? (Samy NOT included).
Pak Lah? Sssssssssssshhhhhhhh……….don’t disturb the old man in his sleep.
#32 by sapna on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 10:26 pm
Sheena did the right thing; walk off the function, then complain to Samy Value, and Pak Lah (did she?). From her act i sense that she is MIC girl, now let see what MIC can do after the win over Ijok.
In addition to that, Sheena can do the following also:-
1. Continue staying in US (if permitted) until JJ give his appology.
2. Complain this to Datuk Seri Anuar Ibrahim as he has influence over foreign media, then probably JJ name will appear in CNN, BBC, Blomberg, and Al Jazera. That will make JJ more popular… and join the same rank as hishamudin, and khairy jamaludin (the higher caste people in UMNO, as now JJ is only low caste in UMNO). I dont think Lim KIt Siang can do this as he is not that influencial. So far this news is still unknown to many malaysian in Malaysia as the main stream media never highlight this.
3. Complain to US police for JJ’s racial remark
4. Complain to Datuk Nazri (Dafacto Law Minister) so that he can repeat JJ racist.. recist..racist.. 42 times in the parliment. He is the only “Jantan” in BN to break the record by saying racist word so many times…
5. Complain to Tun Dr Mahathir, as Dr M can use this as one of the point to attack Pak Lah in his speaches and Pak Lah may finally scold JJ.
6. Complaint to Lim Kit Siang. So that he can keep shouting in parliment that even after 50 years of independence… UMNO ministers are still racist highlighting Hishamudin, JJ, Khairy Jamaludin, and Jerai MP
7. Complain to JJ himself… and see what more racist words he has in his mind..
8. Complain to Pak Lah…. questioning him about his BN election manifesto… and then wait days and months for his response as Pak Lah even does not bother to read letters from Parliment Opposition leader.. what to say more ikan bilis like you…
#33 by toyolbuster on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 10:44 pm
This idiot owns a private school. I wonder what his students learn in his school, pity them. AAB should step down as PM if he cannot understand how damaging it is for the country to have such idiotic fools representing a once Great Malaysia in a foreign land.
#34 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 11:04 pm
a point to emphasize here. malay could be an offspring of Indian. malay language is also strongly affected by languages from india. i am not sure if malays are aware of that
#35 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 11:12 pm
Who is JJ??
#36 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 11:14 pm
Sheena may be over reacting a bit here. This Minister, however, should show more sensitivity.
#37 by uniticious on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 11:27 pm
It’s not a case of over-reacting…
Sheena should have a international media conference
Don’t waste time consulting ‘Semi Value’ =P
#38 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 12:53 am
Imagine JJ’s lessons on racism to his sons and daughters:
The Indians are ‘klings’. They are better off as night soil carriers and estate workers. Samy Vellu is a robber and gangster.
The Chinese are the Jews of the East; you can hate them like Hitler hates the Jews. Ong Ka Ting is a wooly sheep; he can be slaughtered without a bleat.
All the other races in Malaysia – just keep them at the fringe as UMNO expands North, South, East and West. The Malays are God’s people; the Arabs are just lucky to be on the right side of the fence. Even then the Malays only respect the rich Arabs who have money to spend and, of course, the Sultan of Brunei, for as long as he is rich.
What do you think will JJ’s sons and daughters be like when they grow up? World citizens? No, no. Just like JJ. More of JJ. Sickening, stupid, senseless JJ.
No wonder we have so many racists in this country because, ultimnately it’s the parents who teach their children to be so.
#39 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 1:09 am
Is this the same Jamaluddin Jarjis ?
”
Jamaluddin is a highly qualified electrical engineer. He graduated with first class honours in his Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering from University of Manchester, Institute of Science and Technology (UMIST). He went on to pursue his higher degrees in Canada. He obtained a Masters of Science in Electrical Engineering from University of Manitoba and a PhD in Electrical Engineering (Power System) from McGill University.
Jamaluddin Jarjis has held a number of positions throughout his professional career. He began his career as a lecturer at Universiti Teknologi Malaysia in 1974. In 1984, he established his own engineering consultancy firm, J&A Associates. Since then, he has become the Executive Vice Chairman of EPE Power Corporation and Chairman of Tenaga Nasional Berhad, the national power supply company.
” Wiki.
Must be referring to somebody else.
Minister Jamaluddin has no class.
#40 by smeagroo on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 1:17 am
I think JJ was insulting semi dummy indirectly. What a smart he is. Semi Dummy is real charcoal balck. Thats what JJ was saying, lower caste for darker skin indians. But we will never know. Esok Semi Dummy will do a Micheal Jackson stunt and bleach himself white.
Semi Dummy,
YOu have met your match.
#41 by slashed on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 1:18 am
I won’t call the man a racist so lightly. Rather I think he just showed his incompetence and a severe lacking of skills in relation to social intercourse.
Of course I am not saying he IS NOT a racist; merely that I won’t infer that he is based on this specific incident. Perhaps someone could enlighten me as to his previous misdemeanours.
#42 by Kingkong on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 1:24 am
“ Having said so much. Everyone giving comments. But what have we got by the sun rises tomorrow? NOTHING. Everything will fade off, and the day goes on for JJ as usual, as well as for Pak Lah and BN. We are just wasting our energy discussing such thing here “ PureMalaysian Says:
Wrong! We must keep voicing out just like what Kit, Sheena and others do; the people’s voice without fear!
That will make people like JJ to use their brain if there is any when they want to say something similar next time. Keep on bombarding if such racist’s talk comes out!
Silence means we condone this kind of talk! Internet / bloging is our tool, use it!
#43 by Donald on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 1:43 am
If AAB were to reprimand JJ, it will be on the grounds of lack of professionalism, lack of diplomacy and lack of political sense. As for AAB himself, does he know that a conflict is brewing between JJ and SV ? There was a time when one got to see a lot of JJ in the t.v. These days, you hardly see him. But SV is still able to maintain his popularity rank among the mass media.
#44 by rahimahbibi on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 2:36 am
For people out there who does not know the history of true malaya..
The history of the Malaysian area can be seen as four successive phases of outside influence, followed by the final assertion of Malay independence.
The first phase saw the domination of Hindu as well as Buddhist culture imported from India, which reached its peak in the great Srivijaya civilisation based in Sumatra, which ruled most of the Malay world from the 7th to the 14th centuries.
The second phase began with the arrival of Islam, which began in the 10th century, and led to the conversion of most of the Malay-Indonesian world and the breakup of the Srivijayan empire into many smaller sultanates, the most prominent of which was the Melaka (Malacca). Islamic culture has had a profound influence on the Malay peoples, but has also been influenced by them.
The third phase was the intrusion into the area of the European colonial powers: first the Portuguese, who captured Melaka in 1511, then the Dutch and finally the British, who established bases at Penang and Singapore. European domination led to the most fateful event in Malay history – the Anglo-Dutch treaty of 1824, which drew a frontier between British Malaya and the Netherlands East Indies, which became Indonesia. This arbitrary division of the Malay world has proved permanent.
European domination also led to the fourth phase of foreign influence: the mass immigration of Chinese and Indian workers to meet the needs of the colonial economy created by the British in the Malay Peninsula and North Borneo. The Chinese and Indians posed a profound threat to the Malays, dominating economic life and the professions, and at one time threatening to make the Malays a minority in their own country.
The history, as opposed to the pre-history, of the Malay-speaking world begins with the advent of Indian influence, which dates back to at least the 3rd century BC. Indian traders came to the archipelago both for its extremely abundant forest and maritime products and to trade with merchants from China, who also discovered the Malay world at an early date. Both Hinduism and Buddhism were well established in the Malay Peninsula by the beginning of the 1st century AD, and from there spread across the archipelago. Chinese chronicles of the 5th century AD speak of a great port in the south called Guantoli, which was probably in the Strait of Malacca. In the 7th century, a new port called Shilifoshi is mentioned, and this is believed to be a Chinese rendering of Srivijaya.
The site of Srivijaya has never been found, but it was probably at the mouth of one of the rivers in eastern Sumatra, possibly near Palembang. For 700 years the Maharajahs of Srivijaya ruled a loose-knit maritime empire that controlled the coasts of Sumatra, Peninsular Malaya, and Borneo. Sometimes they also ruled parts of Java,but there were always rival Javanese states which resisted Srivijaya’s hegemony. Srivijaya lived by trade, welcoming annual trading fleets from China and India, and also traders from further afield, including Japanese, Iranians and Arabs. Its greatest enemies were the Siamese, who were always trying to encroach from the north. To secure a powerful ally against these enemies, the maharajahs paid tribute to the Chinese Emperors, but they were never under Chinese control.
From the 10th century the power of Srivijaya began to decline. Never a centralised state, it was apparently weakened by a series of wars with the Javanese, which disrupted trade. In the 11th century a rival power centre arose at Melayu, a port believed to have been located further up the Sumatran coast, possibly in what is now Jambi province. Melayu’s influence is shown by the fact that the name is the origin of the word “Malay.†The power of the Hindu Maharajahs was also undermined by the spread of Islam. Areas which were converted to Islam early, such as Aceh, broke away from Srivijaya’s control. By the late 13th century also, the Siamese kings of Sukhothai had brought most of Malaya under their rule. But the great wealth of the Srivijayan sphere, with its rich resources of aromatic timber, sea products, gold, tin, spices, wax and resins – all highly prized both in China and in the west – kept Srivijaya prosperous until it faded away in the 14th century.
#45 by rahimahbibi on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 2:46 am
In 1970 75 percent of Malaysians living below the poverty line were Malays, the majority of Malays were still rural workers, and Malays were still largely excluded from the modern economy.
Now..The government’s objective is for Malaysia to become a fully developed country by 2020, and this seems quite achievable. It leaves unanswered, however, the question of when and how Malaysia will acquire a first world political system (a multi-party democracy, a free press, an independent judiciary and the restoration of civil and political liberties) to go with its new economic maturity
#46 by kurakura on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 4:58 am
To izrafeil,
You do not have to apologise. He is the one at fault, Malay or not.
Also, I have to say that although I used alot of racial profiling here in this forum, I do not have any personal hatred with all Malay.
I am just against the system which happens to be run by Malays. And among these UMNOPUTRAS, there are also some spinless Chinese and Indian cowards who do not care about the public.
Cheers.
#47 by thedoctor on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 7:02 am
This is directed to Mr GoDamn Singh…well its Indians like you who bring shame to the Community, look at all the other remarks we got from the Non-Indians…n here u are thinking thats its ‘over-reaction’ to someone calling you a ‘low-class’ based on skin color in front of 100 people.
Whats there to read in between the lines??? Please wake up and smell the coffee……..maybe u would get offended if someone said something about turbans???
#48 by Godfather on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 7:39 am
When JJ was Chairman of TNB, he pushed for the TNB Coal deal, where he paid hundreds of millions to buy a coal mine in Indonesia. Last week, TNB announced that it is now exiting the coal business and is selling 99 pct of the coal mine for RM 19.5 million.
Then he tried to come up with a proposal to privatise part of the Sg Buloh Rubber Research Institute land. Luckily this ran smack into other people with vested interests and the proposal did not proceed.
The marina on Tioman Island that destroyed a huge swathe of cabbage coral and table coral ? That’s JJ’s.
Who allowed JJ to be what he is today – arrogant and self-serving ? None other than TDM. Don’t waste your time about Bodowi reprimanding JJ. It isn’t going to happen.
#49 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 7:55 am
“Complain to US police for JJ’s racial remark” sapna
LOL. You sound like an immature, misguided school boy writing a bad essay on the wrongs of racism.
The state troopers, FBI and the DHS (Department of Homeland Security) are in the thick of it. A citizen of Malaysia complaining to United States government about racial discrimination at home or in the U.S., about Islamization etc.??? Malaysia is a sovereign nation – like the U.S. Don’t make my toe laugh!
#50 by Godamn Singh on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 8:08 am
“Can someone confirm this. Since Samy is dark-skinned…”
Samy Velloo cannot grow his hair. That makes him inferior to the rest of the flock.