I issued an Open Letter to the Barisan Nasional Member of Parliament for Tawau, Shim Paw Fatt, today asking him to resign before May 17 to position Tawau as the centre of state, national and international attention, end the decline of Tawau into an economic backwater and spur super-development with hundreds of millions of ringgit allocations that will be poured in by Barisan Nasional as demonstrated by Machap and Ijok by-elections.
In my Open Letter to Shim, I wanted him to know that my suggestion at a press conference at Sin Onn Market in Tawau yesterday that he resign as Tawau MP was no political game or “child’s play” but a deadly-serious proposal after serious consideration as to how to end the long-standing neglect of Tawau by the Barisan Nasional, whether at the state or federal level, transforming it from a stagnant economic backwater into a vibrant and dynamic growth centre for the region.
I told Shim that nothing in his political life could achieve greater results for the super-development of Tawau than to make a personal sacrifice by resigning as MP for Tawau before May 17, the deadline when any vacancy for a parliamentary seat would have to be filled by a by-election, causing a by-election to be held.
My Open Letter to Shim reads:
YB Shim Paw Fatt,
MP for Tawau,
Tawau.Dear YB Shim,
Proposal that you resign as MP for Tawau before May 17 to give Tawau the unprecedented opportunity to transform itself from stagnant economic backwater into vibrant growth centre with Barisan Nasional pouring in hundreds of millions of ringgit of allocation for super-development in a by-election
I am taking the unusual step of issuing an Open Letter to you today for two reasons:
Firstly, to underline that my suggestion at a press conference at Sin Onn Market in Tawau yesterday that you resign as Tawau MP was no political game or “child’s play” but a deadly-serious proposal after serious consideration as to how to end the long-standing neglect of Tawau by the Barisan Nasional, whether at the state or federal level, transforming it from a stagnant economic backwater into a vibrant and dynamic growth centre for the region; and
Secondly, that the best way to achieve this objective is to cause a parliamentary by-election which will turn Tawau into the cynosure of state, national and international attention, end the decline of Tawau into a stagnant economic backwater and spur super-development with hundreds of millions of ringgit allocations that will be poured in by Barisan Nasional as demonstrated by Machap and Ijok by-elections.
I want to assure you that in making this unusual proposal, I am not being personal but being fully professional, as you would yourself agree that nothing in your political life could achieve greater results for the super-development of Tawau than to make a personal sacrifice by resigning as MP for Tawau before May 17, the deadline when any vacancy for a parliamentary seat would have to be filled by a by-election, causing a by-election to be held.
For over a decade, the soco-economic and urban woes of Tawau have kept increasing and worsening, as illustrated by the following:
- Lack of job opportunities forcing the young people of Tawau to leave the district to go to other parts of Sabah and Malaysia to find a living.
- Although Tawau is a major contributor of the state revenue from its oil palm FFB (Fresh Fruit Bunch), the district has not received proper returns from the revenue to ensure the proper and planned development of Tawau as a thriving urban and economic growth centre.
- Decline of Tawau as a centre for tourism.
- People of Tawau have lost their fundamental right to be free from crime and the fear of crime as a result of rocketing crime rate, turning Tawau into one of the worst centres of crime in Sabah and Malaysia.
- Unchecked and spiraling influx of illegal immigrants. I am told that illegal immigrants had worsened in the past decade from one to four to one to three, when taking into consideration the illegal immigrants who had been given false identifications including voting rights.
- Deplorable infrastructure facilities which discourages business and investment like the shocking state of power supply, with power disruptions as often as 10 times a day.
- Deplorable water supply with frequent disruptions, poor quality and abysmal management issuing billings going back to 20-30 years.
- Deplorable road and drainage conditions, traffic jams, lack of car parking lots, poor refuse disposal service and street-kids problems.
- Lack of municipal good governance as illustrated by the Sabindo open space scandal, with the Tawau municipality teeming with “Little Napoleons” defying the Prime Minister and the Sabah State Cabinet in depriving the fundamental right of the people of Tawau to open spaces and recreational grounds.
The Machap and Ijok by-elections have shown that if there is a by-election, there will not only be an outpouring of development funds, even problems which had been impossible to resolve would be soluble overnight.
This is an unprecedented opportunity for you to spur super-development by bringing in funds to Tawau not in terms of millions, tens of millions but in the hundred-million ringgit bracket.
If you have doubts, you should seek public opinion from the people of Tawau whether your resignation as MP before May 17 to cause a by-election to be held would spur super development and unprecedented opportunity for the resolution of the catalogue of urban and socio-economic woes of the people of Tawau.
If necessary, I am prepared to meet you to discuss my proposal. Let me end my assuring you that I have nothing personal against you in making such a proposal, but you would agree that if there is no better way to ensure the instant attention of the State and Federal authorities to spur super-development of Tawau, this is an option which must receive your serious, immediate and selfless consideration.
Yours sincerely,
(Lim Kit Siang)
Parliamentary Opposition Leader
29th April 2007

#1 by Jimm on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 5:48 pm
We all do love this country mainly because most of us have part of our growing up started here. I strongly believe that there are more to just our government and their policies. There must be a much higher or powerful group of influence people that draw up the entire structural and terms and condition.
These ‘people’ are not any simple ones to be profile for public knowledge. They are the film directors, script writer, producer and screen play. We just have to realized that to them, we are only the tenant of this country and they are the owner. So, what they decided for changes, be it good or bad, it’s their choice.
#2 by tiger on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 10:14 pm
This proposal will work. I am from Tawau and I know the situation. Its a noble proposal and is the best to solve all these woes. For the best interest of the Tawau people, its worth it to sacrifice oneself for many. It will be first in the world and Tawau will not only be known by Malaysians, but the world. The MP would be known by many as a man who really love his rakyat and want the best for them without making them to wait for too long. But for Kit, his proposal is definitely for the benefit for the people than himself or the party. He definitely will sacrifice more by mobilising his party for election and expecting to loss. But they are happy because they see the people gain. Political Reality tells us that the super YB contributes super developments, unfortunate is a dead YB and its true. but we want a living YB to be a super YB and give super development to Tawau, and Tawau has this unique situation. Take it courageously and gracefully because you must think of the people first. You got another 15 days to decide the fate of Tawau. Its a choice between continue Tawau downward progress or turn it to upward. to leave a noble good name or be remebered as a deadwood. YB, you know that more than 12 billion was given to Sabah under RMK9, the biggest ever for Sabah. How much was given to Tawau? I didn’t see any small development. Secondly the state goverment, impose 7.5% on oil palm, what CM yesterday claimed to be the biggest after oil revenue. Tawau contributed the most, tell Tawau people how much is being chanelled back to Twau. Can the revenue be use to make a multiple carparks in Tawau? How long do we have to wait for the double cariage way to Sabah CHinese High School? Just a few small developments, how long do Tawau people have to wait. So don’t wait take the chance, its one a million, it is a Ripley’s believe it or not recipe, it will work out magically. You walk out a noble man rather than deadwood, not because of you but the red tape of the government. YB take my word believe it, act on it, it will guarantee super development happen. If you don’t believe in Kit Siang, but believe the Tiger. I will not bring you to Holland, but to lead you to the land of endless glory.
#3 by sativa on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 10:42 pm
For the good of the Tawau people, I think it is a good proposal though politically very not correct, but hey, that’s what politics everywhere is all about, right. To make the people happy, not suffer. To bring development, not no development. Maybe Tawau can show the way to instant development. Who knows, if it works, we don’t need to wait for 2020 to achieve Tun M’s vision.
#4 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 9:07 am
Dear Jeffrey,
Troll??? My, my looks like the arm chair wanna be politician is now resorting to petty name calling now eh?
From your writings, i can see that you write a lot , most of the time going around in circles. You really do enjoy your little kingdom here, dont you. For someone who expect the ‘guy to lodge the police report but would only consider to lodge the report if the same incident happened to him’ , I must say you are really full of it.
Rather than being here in this virtual little sandbox of yours daily , writing long winded rhetorics, why dont you come forward and put your ideas to the people? I am sure Msia need more people like you to develop it, especially so with all the doom and gloom I been reading here.
It would be good is gimps like you get out of their pyjamas and do something real for a change.
#5 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 10:10 am
RealWorld: Be nice now. If you promise not to wave the keris and not to let your UMNO dogs with Scorpion insignias loose in Bodohland, I’m sure Jeffrey will be prepared to stand up and be counted.
#6 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 12:01 pm
Dear RealWorld,
To be frank, many like us write in this Blog or other forums to do our part to contribute to the discourse space which has a part to play in our nation’s evolution and devlopment of democarcy. Having said that, the fact that we ‘contribute’ in this blog does not necessarily preclude our contributions to the country we share in our private and professional lives, which how we do it and at what level, it is not necessary or prudent for disclosure just to settle a point. To be a candidate and “helping out the candidate from making sure food and water be delivered to all the party workers to going to the ground explaining policies to the locals†is one way of doing it. There are other ways, maybe even more important ways like for example advisory or strategic planning on various capacities etc. Don’t presume that people who write here in blog do nothing behind the computer. You know nothing of who they are and what they do.
#7 by Tawau boy on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 2:54 pm
If a person could not deliver what the people want, then he should bow out. Or the person can try to shape up or ship out. Come on YBs pull up your socks. Don’t make people suffer if deep inside you could not give what the people want. If you have any priciple than use it. Stand firm to your principle, just like Kah Kiat who resigned recently because of PRINCIPLE……
#8 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 5:17 pm
“You know nothing of who they are and what they do.” – Jeffrey
Then before you run your mouth off by stating your disappoinment with the poor blogger who did not lodged the police report, you ought to activate those dormant brain cells of yours to think maybe a little bit before you open that gap of yours. For someone who ‘would consider’ to take action, you certainly are a turtle.
#9 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 5:20 pm
It is hard to keep up with a scatterbrain like you popping from subject to subject. Good day :)
#10 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 5:21 pm
“If you promise not to wave the keris and not to let your UMNO dogs with Scorpion insignias loose in Bodohland, I’m sure Jeffrey will be prepared to stand up and be counted.” – Godfather
Keris!!?? When & where did I threatened anyone with such a weapon? You see, the problem we have here is mongs like you creating stories and hurling empty accusations.
Dont be too sure about your lackey, Jeffrey standing up and all? A turtle will never stick his head out period.
Bodohland again??? If Bodohland, then your family who are all living here are a bunch of bodohs?
#11 by Nelson on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 5:58 pm
It’s really disheartening to see so many cases in the country where, local councilors or YB’s, due to the “cordial” relationship within the concept of BN, members of component parties who were expected to “work closely” together in the “true spirit” of BN,had to remain silence at the expense of people’s right for good governance in this beautiful country.
Just look at the case in Tawau , no wonder “little Napoleons” thrill in places like that !!
what ? some one said “transparency’? what transparency ?
#12 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 6:57 pm
RealWorld:
No, you did not threaten anyone with waving the keris, but it was metaphorically speaking for someone so connected to UMNO which blatantly (albeit silently) condones the waving of the keris by its leaders.
Like I said in a previous posting, a country led by Sleeping Beauty with scandals breaking out left, right and centre, with enforcement agencies totally impotent or incompetent, and continuing to be supported by the majority of the people at election time has only one word to describe it – Bodohland. Yes, all those living in Bodohland are probably bodoh, but then that is my personal opinion.
#13 by pamelaoda on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 10:34 am
To Realworld
Hv been fllwing yours n the rest comments for a while. Since tis LKS’s blog obviously they r many die fans of the opposition blogging here including myself. But since freedom of speech is a very component of Democracy, I hope u wld continue to blog here more BN supporters are even better!
However, I m really curious to know what actually made u support BN instead of Opposition? I m not pulling ur leg cos I oso want to know what so good about BN tat I don know. Hope u cld enlighthen me here.
#14 by pamelaoda on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 10:34 am
shld b very important component in Democracy
#15 by RealWorld on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 2:46 pm
Dear Godfather,
“Metaphorically speaking”? You are connected to DAP, should I also do likewise and “metaphorically” termed you as a chinese ultra??
Dude, lets not make any blanket assumptions, shall we?
Country led by a ‘sleeping beauty’? Would it be better if Msia is led by a coalition of Opposition parties with their marriage of convenience arrangements? If you lot cant even work together, how are you going to govern?
Anyway, today is a good day. My team, Liverpool will be in the final of the CL. Lets not spoil the day with too much politics.
#16 by Godfather on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 4:47 pm
RealWorld: Agree that today is a good day, even for people with differing views and political affiliations.
#17 by RealWorld on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 4:54 pm
pamelaoda,
On your question, can I answer you tomorrow instead? Why??? Because I only went to bed this morning at 6am after cheering my team, Liverpool to victory.
Do you support Liverpool? If yes, there you go! We at least have something in common. :)
No politics today.
#18 by angel on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 3:29 pm
The genuine Tawau people who loves their open space, I am sure would be very grateful if MP SHim give way for by-election. And I am very sure if Shim contest in the next election even as an independant the Tawau people would give him resounding support. So don’t worry YB the people will not laugh at you for doing the unthinkable for the sake of the people. Nothing venture nothing gain. Can’t beat them, lose ‘em. Ponder on this and search deep in your soul.
#19 by December84 on Friday, 14 December 2007 - 6:19 pm
I totally agree to that Mr. Lim proposal. I’m from Tawau, what he mentioned is really true. Where is all the money go to develop? In whose pocket? Or going to somewhere else?