I have received an email which grieves my entire being but does it bother Pak Lah, our Prime Minister and the Cabinet? If they do not understand the cry deep from the heart and soul of “J”, who sent the email, then the 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations this year are completely meaningless, waste of time and money.
Read this heart-rending email:
Dear Mr. Lim,
I have utmost respect and admiration for your tenacity in remaining in Malaysia to champion the cause of justice and equality and fight for a Bangsa Malaysia. My heart broke when I read about your article regarding the honest cyber cafe operator especially when he wondered if he “had chosen the wrong country” to start and operate his business.
I see my situation summed up in that phrase. You have said before that the best and brightest are leaving this country. Well, I am making every preparation to leave. I have consistently scored straight As in every public exam and placed among the top 3 of my form. In university, I studied medicine and am among the top scorers. I have just graduated and scored near perfect results in a medical licensing examination that will enable me to work abroad and further my studies.
I was born a Malaysian yet I cannot see myself as a Malaysian. As a chinese, I feel that I am being discriminated against. I feel that the government is trying its hardest to sideline me just because of my race. I look around and see this discrimination manifested in various forms. From the issue regarding religious conversion to the allocation of places in local universities, the stench of discrimination is sickening.
It was horrifying to note in my batch of medical students, there were a substantial number of malay students who actually did not apply for medicine but were sent to study it. It is disgusting to think that many STPM straight A scorers are deprived of a chance to study medicine while the government gives the places to people who are not even sure that they want to study medicine.
I have seen how racial politics sully the environment in the university and how unqualified people are in high posts at the expense of far more intelligent and qualified individuals just
because they are malay. I have heard the terrible statements made by delegates at the recent UMNO General Assembly about revoking my citizenship rights should I question their special rights. I have seen the videos on YouTube where UMNO MPs have the audacity to ask us to “keluar” of the country if we don’t like what they are doing to it. And I see the pathetic attempt by the PM to “discipline” these racists. I hate the fact that Gerakan and MCA have done NOTHING to fight for my rights instead of
just kow-towing to UMNO for their own gains.Patriotism isn’t about singing the national anthem or raising the flag. It isn’t about accepting at face value everything the government says. It isn’t about attending merdeka celebrations. It is about feeling accepted as part of your nation. It is about knowing that your nation accepts you as a son or daughter. It is about realizing that being a part of a nation entails certain responsibilities. That is my definition of patriotism. And right now, as a Malaysian, I am feeling anything BUT patriotic. 50 years of independence? So what? What has it done for me? Whoopee.
I have a chance to change my life. I will change my destiny. I could not choose the country where I was born but I can very well choose the country that I will swear my allegiance to. I want a country that will recognize me as a citizen and grant me rights equal to that of all other citizens. I want a country that has the wisdom to recognize my potential and talents and reward me accordingly. I want a country where the government fears its people and conducts itself in a manner worthy of respect and honor.
This is not my nation. I am leaving. Mr. Lim, I salute you and all those like you who can find the strength and energy to fight for an ungrateful bunch of people. How many actually held mass protests, hunger strikes or rose up to defend you and your family when you or your son was imprisoned for fighting for us? How many did more than just shake their heads and move on with their petty little lives? None that I know of. Yet you continue to defend their rights. You are an amazing man, Mr. Lim and I truly admire you for that. Unfortunately, I have a bright future ahead and I will not waste it in this country. It is not my nation.
Thank you for fighting the good fight.

#1 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 8:57 pm
Well, RealWorld you can step up to my plate anytime. I can do with a dishwasher or two in my restaurant.
#2 by marcuschwen on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 9:38 pm
1 million. The number of Malaysian abroad.
Do any of you know what your VOTE can do? It takes a mere 0.1% of you to swing the direction of Ijok.
J, the country had provide you with education. The least you can do is try and succeed here before giving up.
You said,
“Patriotism isn’t about singing the national anthem or raising the flag. It isn’t about accepting at face value everything the government says. It isn’t about attending merdeka celebrations. It is about feeling accepted as part of your nation. It is about knowing that your nation accepts you as a son or daughter. It is about realizing that being a part of a nation entails certain responsibilities. That is my definition of patriotism. ”
You are right, it is not about accepting everything the government said. Then, do you know that you have the RIGHT TO VOTE for government? To score such high marks in the exam, I’m sure you are well aware of that, or do you?
#3 by yapthomas on Sunday, 29 April 2007 - 10:17 pm
Why leave the country?
I don’t see a need to leave the country.
Simple logic, people who cares but dare not speak leaves the country.
Who are the people left? people who cares but dare to speak. Just a hand-full. I feel that it is plain stupidity to leave the country. Leaving the country means you are leaving no hope for those who are in the same league as yourself. Sorry to quote “stupidity” but i do think that although there are opportunities better outside, but do you want to see Malaysia crumble?
Why not hang around, fight for the cause of the people whom are in the same league as yourself? Leave means lose, and lose means there is no more Malaysia as how we want it.
Why YB Lim keep on struggling? Why DAP keeps on fighting.
Because of people like me and you whom they are caring but just lack the support. I always tell my friends. Leave the country for a better prospect, but do come back when you are needed. (e.g: elections, disaster and more)
Your votes in the next GE counts alot!
#4 by smeagroo on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 1:16 am
the problem is everyone of us can vote but who is keeping an eye on SPR for all the unfair tactics? WHo the heck are keeping tabs on the counting of votes and the proper delivery system? If they can be so unfair u expect them to count fairly?
#5 by grace on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 7:25 am
“How many actually held mass protests, hunger strikes or rose up to defend you and your family when you or your son was imprisoned for fighting for us?”
Yes, Mr Lim, you and company have made the utmost sacrifice so that we can have a fair Malaysia!
But regretably that most of the people are not grateful.
I am particularly sore with the voters in Penang where DAP could at least be returned to a few ADUN or parliamentary seats. But it was not to be. They are particularly selfish,mostly Chinese(sad to say). Just for a small amount of gain, they will vote for BN.
Yes, Mr. Lim and co., I salute you for for tireless fight for justice at the expense of your freedom and security. Without you and the likes of Karpal or Dr. Tan, we would be trampled by those corrupt officials. A good exmple is Karpal Singh trying to get back the Indian converts back.All of you could could have chosen a good life by joining BN and made ministers by kowtowing or running dogs to UMNO. But to you and all, Principles abd justice are paramount to you and no amount of wealth could change that.
I hope the people in Penang can be grateful to DAP by voying for DAP.
#6 by grace on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 8:27 am
yapthomas said this,”Simple logic, people who cares but dare not speak leaves the country.”
Hey, what is the use to speaking to babbons, donkeys and buffalos? Would they listen to you? That is the very reason why I admire LKS and co for being so patient to try to talk sense to those imbeciles.
When it is obvious that the color is black, those in power in insist that it is white. On top of that poodles, MCA Gerakan and MIC would concur with them!
Now tell me how not to get fed up!
Call me a coward! I still say that those who have a chance to migrate, by all means, GO, Go, GO!
#7 by ah lau on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 10:32 am
Migrating to other countries is not a good answer.
Remaining in neither the solution.
Pray hard that one day I am born as a King or as high official …..
For the time being, I need to do something and it looks like praying to my deities is the better choice ????????
There is no need to appraise, analyse or …… at the present
Mlayasian time !!!!!!!!
What say you ?
#8 by poo on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 10:52 am
For all non-malays (especially chinese), pls take a look at the past few election results, it is saddening to see you still vote for this no use government under bodowi and his cronies. If all register non-malays voters (and going to register non-malays also) vote the opposition, i’m sure the very next day you will see all this discriminating policies will be immidiately tone down or maybe be gone. We got nobody to blame but for ourselves!
Yes, those people that can immigrate pls get out of this rotten country asap before they built (using our tax $$$) in every corner of the country.
#9 by dawsheng on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 11:19 am
The victims of BN govt is not only the chinese but everyone irregardless of race. Remember also MCA and Gerakan represents most of the chinese in Malaysia. So if malaysians, particularly the chinese still facing discriminations from the ruling party, faults must be directed at them. Not the malay or the indian specifically, its the govt of BN made up of malay, chinese and indian.
Remember also the problems starts with the practices of corruption, trade protectism and racial/ religous discrimination. Who allowed all this? If not UMNO, then it must be MCA or Gerakan. If its not the latter, then former is but a bully because they are the majority. Ong Ka Ting said it loud that MCA’s roles in Malaysia politic is to create a heathlty poltical environment, but till today I cannot understand what he meant, does it help Js to have healthy political environment? Obviously not!
So there you have it. MCA and Gerakan is not there for the chinese, or the help the chinese or malaysian in general. They are
there just to keep the status quo, which by any means are meaningless to Malaysian, given the real problems that are facing us are more of globalization than internal politics.
But why people still vote BN and not the opposition?
#10 by RealWorld on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 11:52 am
“You’re asking me to come back but I thought you wanted me to leave?? You cannot have it both ways, dude. Or you’ll end up facing a sodomy trial!” – undergrad2
When have I said I wanted you to leave?? What have you been smoking or sniffing over there , eh??
Sodomy??? Sorry am not rim jobs and homosexual pleasures as you.
#11 by durianguy on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 12:02 pm
Quote J, “It was horrifying to note in my batch of medical students, there were a substantial number of malay students who actually did not apply for medicine but were sent to study it. It is disgusting to think that many STPM straight A scorers are deprived of a chance to study medicine while the government gives the places to people who are not even sure that they want to study medicine.”
mmm… not sure if i want to be treated by a Bumi doctor!!!
#12 by cherasusie on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 12:39 pm
MICky & MCApek representing the indian and chinese respectively should put forward this question to Ammo…
are the sarawakian, sabahans, indians and chinese MALAYSIAN or not?
if yes, pls dismantle all racist ideologies so all can be one heart in working towards a GREATER MALAYSIA.
we can’t work with racists, hypocrites, religious fanatics, selfish & corrupt political schemers.
given free hand, thugs will prevail, irrespective of race!
#13 by RealWorld on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 2:14 pm
“But regretably that most of the people are not grateful.
I am particularly sore with the voters in Penang where DAP could at least be returned to a few ADUN or parliamentary seats. But it was not to be. They are particularly selfish,mostly Chinese(sad to say). Just for a small amount of gain, they will vote for BN.” – Grace
Spot on! The chinese voters in Msia should take a cue from the Kelantanese. Over there, they never budge no matter what. They will stick to Tok Guru through thick and thin.
In DAP ceramahs or during an election campaign, you will see thousands of chinese going up and shaking Kit and Guan Eng’s hand but come voting day, they will go the other way. Di hati mereka sokong tapi tangan tanda itu dacing. :)
An in this blog, you will see the likes of Jeffrey with his empty rhetorics but you will never see the likes of him on the ground.
#14 by good coolie on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 2:23 pm
Ijok is won for the Barisan and we have all the
Good Coolies to thank for that.
Even if you have outrageous cases like
Revathy’s case and the corpse-snatching cases,
You still have the coolies supporting the Barisan.
We are loyal coolies.
“You arrr my motherrrr
Yand my fatherrrr.
If you can’t kick me
Or beat me,
Who else can?”
Chinese have their companies
Malays have their companies.
We are discriminated against equally in both!
We don’t moan about leaving Malaysia.
We are good coolies.
#15 by undergrad2 on Monday, 30 April 2007 - 7:58 pm
RealWorld should get real with the issues.
To the extent you seek to paint the Chinese with a very broad brush stroke, you can do the same with the Malays.
The Malays are clearly divided today than they were at any time of the country’s history. They continue to give their votes to the corrupt regime of Abduallah Badawi and Najib. Let’s hear what you have to say about that.
#16 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 7:24 am
“To the extent you seek to paint the Chinese with a very broad brush stroke, you can do the same with the Malays†(Undergrad2 to Realworld).
You cannot reason with a person whose business here is not to reason and discuss for the end of common understanding but whose agenda here is sinister, to harass, vex posters, sow the seeds of confusion and disrupt the operation of the blog.
The proof of this is here: -
1. RealWorld said in Blog thread Ops Lallang and Chinese Primary School Crisis in his posting on April 28th, 2007 at 2:27 pm
“Just got back from Ijok today. From the look of things, I would say BN and PKR chances are just about equal. The 51% malay population seem to be supporting PKR, but the Chinese in Ijok will vote for BN. Indians there are split down the middle. So, it is going to be close. VERY DISAPPOINTING TO SEE THE CHINESE SELLING OUT AGAINâ€Â.
Why does this posting convey? That there would be a split – that it is disappointing Chinese in Ijok would vote for BN, that “Chinese are selling out againâ€Â, meaning vote for BN (in such a close fight), the word “disappointing†conveying the impression that the poster is either not in favour of a BN’s win or has utter disdain against Chinese voters supporting the BN. This is made clear in this posting April 28th, 2007 at 10:01 pm in which he said “The GE in 1999 comes to mind. If you can recall then it was the chinese votes that swung it for BN when the malays voted for the Opposition due to the Anwar factor. One can hope till the cows comes home but the makeup of the Chinese here are a bunch of sell outsâ€Â.
2. Then in a subsequent thread (Open Letter to Tawau MP) RealWorld in posting of April 30th, 2007 at 11:32 am explained how “ I support my party by being personally being there in Ijok. Helping out the candidate from making sure food and water be delivered to all the party workers to going to the ground explaining policies to the locals. I do not call the country Bodohland.â€Â
Now which is his party?
3. In response to Dawsheng’s posting ““May I suggest Uncle Kit put realworld as DAP candidate to contest in Tawauâ€Â, RealWorld then clarified in his posting April 30th, 2007 at 11:42 am (I quote) “Hahahahah … lawak la you ni!!! DAP???? Sorry , my party is UMNO. I support BNâ€Â.
My Question : What kind of a person who supports the BN’s Cause, who boasted he went to the field and grass roots to work for the BN’s cause in Ijok would complain, without a feel of internal inconsistency, that the Chinese are a bunch of sell out to vote for the BN?
I pressed him to explain in what context he meant it.
This is his disingenuous reply in posting April 30th, 2007 at 12:30 pm in same thread :
“Well, if you are in active grass root politics you will understand. Kit, Guan Eng, Karpal and all have done a lot for the people. They have always put the interests of the people ahead of theirs. Kit could have walked away any day and be a Tan Sri (like someone) if he wanted too. I admire their principles and dedication. However, despite what they have done for the chinese especially, I feel in a way saddened to see them shaking their hands and cheering them on during election campaigns but only to vote the other way come polling dayâ€Â.
Comment here : If “Kit, Guan Eng, Karpal and all have done a lot for the people†and “have always put the interests of the people ahead of theirsâ€Â, why does it suggest of the thinking and political ideology of a person who is dedicated to the Cause of the opposite side (the BN)?
There are two possibilities here:
First, the man is a hypocrite when he said he respected the principles of Kit, Guan Eng, Karpal in putting the interests of the people ahead of theirs – and yet work for the opposite cause of BN.
Second, if we give the benefit of the doubt to the man that he is not a hypocrite, then the conclusion is that he genuinely respects the principles of Kit, Guan Eng, Karpal in putting the interests of the people ahead of theirs, except that the word “people†here are not “his people†and that he supported the opposite side BN because it represented his people!
This has got to be inevitable conclusion that the man does look at “people†or Malaysians in terms of their interest as one group but two groups notwithstanding RealWorld said in his posting of April 30th, 2007 at 12:00 pm “Jeffrey, Whether I support UMNO and you DAP doesnt mean we are external enemies, right? We are still Msians, though I will never call my country, Bodohland. And this blog is open to all , right???We are here to discuss and discuss , we will…â€Â
Again I have no beef with that : we can discuss, he can expound BN’s ideology of Ketuanan and NEP here, it is fine, and if he does it cogently enough who knows many of us here may also come to agree and vote for the BN.
But he does not do that. He snipes, insults, irritates, discredits and tries to tell posters to shut up and not comment about policies here unless backed with action (work amongst grassroot like him) – unless one is deprived “basic education, amenities and are living in a 5′ x 8′ cardboard under a bridge? – unless one returns from thousands of miles away and not seek relative safety outside – should not use words like ‘Bodohland’ (which may reflect on him).
In doing so, it looks as if he is carrying on the grassroot work in Ijok for BN right inside thuis Blog after that by-election. This is the part that is not right : he is a guest here of a blog owned by Opposition leader. He is at liberty to express political views including opposite and contrary political views but it is altogether a different plate if he carries out political work here as well that includes sabotage of the blog. Just so that you understand where I am coming from, this is my main beef.
#17 by pamelaoda on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 7:58 am
“But regretably that most of the people are not grateful.
I am particularly sore with the voters in Penang where DAP could at least be returned to a few ADUN or parliamentary seats. But it was not to be. They are particularly selfish,mostly Chinese(sad to say). Just for a small amount of gain, they will vote for BN.†– Grace
Wait until they get a melayu CM then they will wake up!
#18 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 8:14 am
Correction : This has got to be inevitable conclusion that the man does look at “people†or Malaysians in terms of their interest as NOT one group but two groups
#19 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 9:16 am
With his long winded writings and all. This Jeffrey guy should be a candidate for the Opposition in the next election. Hope he can speak good mandarin and bahasa malaysia as well. :)
Yo Jeffrey, rather than debating here why dont we sit down over coffee and have a face to face discussion??
#20 by lchk on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 12:37 pm
“He snipes, insults, irritates, discredits and tries to tell posters to shut up”
Very true.
I am sure the contributors to this blog knows very well who is being a cyber-troll here.
#21 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 5:24 pm
“I am sure the contributors to this blog knows very well who is being a cyber-troll here.” – lchk
Ahhhh … Jeffrey’s lap dog speaks!!
Good doggy boy.
#22 by lchk on Tuesday, 1 May 2007 - 7:06 pm
Jesus Christ once said of false prophets:
“Ye shall know them by their fruits”
Seems like it’s applicable to UMNO saboteurs who cannot string a coherent argument together in opposition blogs too.
#23 by ehwa78 on Wednesday, 2 May 2007 - 3:34 pm
“Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country”, John F Kennedy. Period.
#24 by teraniaya on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 12:54 pm
Malaysia, oh Malaysia. After 50 years…still thinking what to be proud of her. After 50 years, they still shout ‘democracy!!’ but ISA still prevails, after 50 years, there are dual court systems, after 50 years, there are growing number of mobsters to kill apostates and burn churches, temples,. after 50 years, education system keep changing year after year, more missionary schools are eroded of their characteristics…crosses taken down, school anthem changed…etc. after 50 years, more students & graduates who are not fluent in English ( after BM is stressed ), after 50 years, more non Malay Muslims become UMNO members. The list goes on of what Malaysia produces after 5o years of independence. See and think deeply, what caused or determined all these. My answer is religion. It determines and act as the fundamental reason for what all the decisions and policies undertaken by the govt. Don’t believe me, do your research. Well Mr. LIM, I pray to Jesus that He’ll shower you with his WISDOM, STRENGTH & UNDERSTANDING and that HE’ll open the hearts of the ministers.
#25 by terencesgk on Monday, 7 May 2007 - 12:38 am
undergrad2, thanks for “start rolling”. From your reply, I’m sure you’re in the US. I don’t know what’s your immigration status but what I am talking about is migrating to the US the legal way. Please take note that I am against going anywhere illegally, though I have about many people doing it.
Racism and discrimination is everywhere, and I agree with you on this. You also said that over there in the US, you’re accountable for your racist action and this really make a difference. I don’t think you need to be accountable to be one over here especially if you’re from the majority. I have many American friends, and so far none of them are racist.
Your information is not of much help here. Thanks anyway.
#26 by Simon Templer on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 7:18 pm
Well said young man. From all the replies, I’m sure everyone has their own opinion in terms of your thoughts about Malaysia and “bodohland”. On the contrary, what about the Chinese who are reaping wealth in Malaysia, the YTL group, Sunway to name a few. What are their thoughts? Are they doing well because of their strong network with the ruling coalition?
I used to share the same sentiment on what a deprived lot we are as Chinese but I have come to realise that the Chinese will always SURVIVE no matter what, an example is YOU who stutied hard and ensure you get your ticket out. The question now is what about those who are not so lucky to buy/find their ticket out? This is where it gets interesting. What can DAP do? What can those who can’t afford do? Nothing? I don’t think so. Ask the “Char Koay Teow” seller or the taxi driver. Quite a number of them are working really hard to send their kids overseas for education. There are already plans (albeit subconciously) to “migrate when necessary”.
What can be done is to prepare our future generation of such possible obstacles in LIFE! Let the rling party do whatever they want! Further what goes around comes around, lets see what Malaysia will turn out to be in the next 5-10 years. We will most likely be left with plenty of idiots in this country. Then, we can say “serves you right!”. The Saint.
#27 by wakeupMsia on Tuesday, 15 May 2007 - 3:12 pm
RealWorld likes to comment non-sense. You are under estimated people’s view and mind. Pls don’t take American history and compare it to Malaysia tiday. They being treated equally now no matter they are Black, Red Indian or Asian as long as they are citizen of U.S. They don’t have special privileges given to the white citizen likes what we practiced here in Malaysia. When you talked about aborigines in Australia and Latinos in LA, have you check their background and status before comment on this? Majority of them are holding illegal status that’s why they have no choice to choose for a better job. If you are a professional, educated and qualified degree holder and with valid status, I am sure you have no problem finding a job there.
George Bush is killing hundred of thousands of innocent Iraqis, do i see likes of you screaming that what the US is doing in Iraq is not right? By RealWorld, When I read this, you are totally out of the topic, peace off!!
Shall we look at America and how the blacks were treated then and even till today? You been to NYC? Go see who are the hardcore poor in the ghettos or Queens. By RealWorld, oh please RealWorld, don’t judge people at first place by what you see, The black and I rather call them Native American, they are doing great too like the whites. The Blacks that you mentioned are just those useless crap without fighting for their life. They do have some Whites living in poor condition too. Yes I’ve been to NYC even stayed there for a year plus.
At last, I salute Mr. Lim for all the hardwork he has fighted for us. Jst know about this website and registered at SPR, will support him for the coming election.
#28 by nehelee on Friday, 8 June 2007 - 6:18 am
It grieves my entire being but does it bother Pak Lah and Cabinet?
This is my response to Mr. J. He sounded like a self centred and selfish individual. Just because he scored straight A’s, he thinks he is entitled to the best that the country can offer. Patriotism means being loyal to the nation with all its faults. It means staying back to correct whatever that is wrong and contribute what you can to make Malaysia a better place. If all Mr. J cares about is what he can reap the maximum from the country, then it is better that he joins the throngs whose only concern is looking for the greener pasture. It grieves my entire being that such a brilliant mind like Mr. J can only think for himself rather for the nation. Mr. Lim Kit Siang does not scored straight A’s, he invested his entire life to fight against injustice. That is patriotism.