The NEP has been abused to help the rich

by Richard Teo

How long can the govt continue with its NEP policy? If the govt’s denial that ASLI’s report “of 30% bumiputra equity ownership had already been exceeded ” then it’s incumbent upon the govt to provide a clear official methodology as to how corporate equity is measured.

Earlier, the centre for public studies headed by Dr, Lim Teck Ghee had made a statement that its findings had established bumiputra equity ownership had exceeded 45%. In order to rebutt this findings by ASLI and to deny further credence to the findings that “corporate equity distribution was narrowly based, unrealistic and has resulted in an underestimation of the true volume and value of bumiputra equity”, the govt must reveal the official methodology to measure corporate equity. Based on its
calculation it must provide clear irrevocable proof that bumiputra’s equity has regressed to a lowly 18% in 2006.

At that time when the ASLI’s findings was published many UMNO leaders including the P.M called the report “baseless, inaccurate and irresponsible”. UMNO vice-President Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin went even further and called it “rubbish”.

There was a beacon of hope to establish the truth when DPM Najib gave an assurance that the methodology used to calculate the Bumi’s corporate equity would be publicly revealed.That assurance was given almost six months ago and it appears quite likely that the DPM has reneged on his word.

NEP in its present form has been abused and lost its initial noble objectives of helping the poor and the needy instead of the rich of one single race. Instead of affirmative action based on poverty it was exclusively based on a policy of helping just one race irrespective of the wealth of that person.

Hence we have a situation where a rich bumiputra is entitled to purchase a high-end property at a discount. What kind of logic is it? If he can afford to buy a high-end property surely he don’t need a discount.

The NEP must embrace the concept that there are poor Malays Indians, Chinese, Ibans and Kadazans etc. If the NEP is to have any meaning it must help those in need irrespective of their race and not because they belong to a select community.

If there is any defect in ASLI’s report, it is its failure to pinpoint the recipients of the 45% of bumiputra equity.The revelation maybe academic but the truth is maybe only 10% of the bumis benefitted from the 45% corporate equity distributed by virtue of the NEP.

As long as the govt refuse to accept this reality the longer it will be for national reconciliation.The inequitable distribution of wealth can only mean that the poor and the needy will continue to be deprived of govt assistance while the rich will continue to benefit from this skewed affirmative policy.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by MALAYSIANbukanMALAYSIAN on Wednesday, 18 April 2007 - 1:38 pm

Dear Kingkong

I bet you’re not yellow skin.

Yellow skin will never group under on roof. If they do, one C4 is not enough to kill all yellow skin. Scattered around, they need many C4.

Chinese strategy lah!

It’s easier to aim at a Kingkong but very hard to aim at smarter and more agile human being like The Chinese Man!

2. #2 by MALAYSIANbukanMALAYSIAN on Wednesday, 18 April 2007 - 1:42 pm

Dear Honourable Kingkong

BTW, we are in Tanah Melayu, Malaya, Malaysia. Can you spell out M.A.L.A.Y.A?

G’duy mate!

3. #3 by Kingkong on Wednesday, 18 April 2007 - 2:52 pm

Dear MALAYSIANbukanMALAYSIAN,

G’duy to you too!

Weak point No:1 — still see people through color. “yellow skin” mentioned . I already said: “— WE could learn from — “

Weak point No: 2 – quickly put up a personal attack trying to disgrace a person who just wants to bring up a point for discussion by asking me whether I know how to spell M.A.L.A.Y.A.

Weak point No:3 – self glorifying – smarter and more agile human being like The Chinese Man. If WE are really that smart, today, WE don’t grumble all these unequal treatments here and there.

It is very important that WE have community unity; otherwise WE could be even subdivided and ruled even easier. WE are already small in number.

Fifty years ago, there was a saying that Chinese people were like a plate of loose sand; said by Chinese not other people. Today, perhaps Chinese in China have improved; Singapore Chinese have improved, Have WE Malaysian Chinese improved? I am skeptical!

4. #4 by sotong on Wednesday, 18 April 2007 - 3:32 pm

Come WW3, the China will be the only Superpower.

US and Western countries technology will not win them the war.

After the initial battles where all countries are severely hurt and damaged, winning the war is solely dependence on the size of your army with basic and conventional weapons.

China has 30 millions full time soldiers and 300 millions in reserve! That’s why even US feared China…..the sleeping gaint has awaken!

5. #5 by MALAYSIANbukanMALAYSIAN on Wednesday, 18 April 2007 - 4:54 pm

Dear Kingkong

Colours are not important. Whether I am yellow or brown is not important.

The chinese are talking about political survival. Loose sand is difficult to trap.

We should be talking about uniting Malaysians not by race. When we talk about colours, every colour wants to look brighter. When we have uniformed colour, we all look the same. So when you raise the colour issue, think hard.

6. #6 by MALAYSIANbukanMALAYSIAN on Wednesday, 18 April 2007 - 5:08 pm

Dear Kingkong

China can be untied because chinese are majority in China.

Uniting chinese in malaysia still makes chinese a minority.

Its’s better to unite all Malaysians to go against the BN!

The issue here is exposing the BN corrupt practice.

No offence to you. Enjoy your evening and many evenings.

7. #7 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 18 April 2007 - 8:29 pm

“They will not vote for an alternative just because its POSSIBLE to be better but rather it must be clear that its will be better by a significant degree for them to risk them. Voters are not in the business of risk taking especially in our undemocratic and fractious society, the cost of risk taking by voters is high which is the real barrier for opposition to be an alternative.” Bigjoe

Bigjoe has provided an interesting window for us to debate. Whilst his attempt to analyze a political situation through the use of economic concepts associated with ‘risk taking’ is innovative we should be aware of its limitations. Notwithstanding those limitations ‘political science’ and ‘economics’ are both social sciences and their concepts are not too dissimilar that they could not be used to solve problems common to both.

Politics is akin to risk taking and with all risk taking, it has a rate of return to investment. Asking the Malays to vote for parties like the DAP is, according to Bigjoe, like asking them to invest in securities which carry a lower rate of return but an increased exposure to risks. It does not make commercial sense.

With due to respect to others who may share such views, I’d have to disagree. Here is where the use of economic concepts in politics fail in their application.

I feel there is a middle ground which has not been explored. There is no need to view politics of the NEP as a zero sum game i.e. your loss is my gain and my gain is your loss. NEP could move to the next stage i.e. reflective more of the kind of politics of accommodation and compromise that we see elsewhere – a sort of middle ground, a transitional stage where only the poor and needy among Malays are the beneficiaries of this policy. Right now in the field of education, for example, the Policy does not distinguish the poor and the rich among the Malays giving rise to resentment not only from the point of view of poor Malays but from the poor among the other races.

Rather than view it as akin to asking the Malays to invest in risky securities with a lower rate of return which does not make commercial sense, it is more akin to asking a group of investors to invest in long term securities with a stable rate of return.

8. #8 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 18 April 2007 - 10:14 pm

The DAP however would need to undergo a transformation of its public image – from being a Chinese party to a truly Malaysian party. We need to give a Malay face to the Party.

Mere assertions that it is not a Chinese party is not enough.

9. #9 by Kingkong on Wednesday, 18 April 2007 - 11:56 pm

Dear MALAYSIANbukanMALAYSIAN,

Good Evening!

I did not bring up the color subject. You did. It is against my principle to judge a person by color.

Anyway, I am glad that you said that:” Colours are not important. Whether I am yellow or brown is not important.”

Once upon a time, a long time ago we did have the Malaysian Malaysia, and that time we only had a simple name called Malaya. It has been screwed up by the last twenty two plus four years of regime as some of the commentators pointed out in their postings.
    To reverse such situation is not easy especially by the election machinery which is anyway controlled by the regime who finds it too lucrative to give up.

The next best thing we could think of is how to survive as a community which has to be more closely knitted.

Lim Guan Eng fought for justice for an innocent Malay girl who ultimately betrayed him because after all she had to be with her community. He went to jail and sacrificed a lot, but in the end he was also not supported by his own party in the by election. Something must be very wrong, and perhaps Kit could enlighten us!

The Jewish way of managing their own community intrigues me in the sense that they are always a minority in their host countries and yet they are so powerful in economics and in political influences. It was spectacular when they returned to establish Israel; the type of support from the Jews of all over the world was fantastic. This boils down to the wisdom of Talmud.

As a minority, we need to learn that; the survival wisdom. Take a simple step first and don’t talk big. If we can’t even unite our own community people let alone the whole Malaysia. Like I say before, if DAP can’t even manage their own party well, how could they convince us that they have the ability to manage the whole country.

It will be forever playing the role as a watchdog. That is real.

Good night, Dear MALAYSIANbukanMALAYSIAN, take it easy, just a talk, have a good sleep!

10. #10 by Richard Teo on Thursday, 19 April 2007 - 1:00 am

Dear undergrad,
    you were a small kid when the first NEP expired and the 2nd one begin.I am old enough to be your father and I have live through four P.M. I have followed what our leaders spewed and I am quite aware of the spirit of the NEP that was intended.I doubt you are aware of the chronology of the events that transpired after the initial NEP.

11. #11 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 19 April 2007 - 3:04 am

“I doubt you are aware of the chronology of the events that transpired after the initial NEP.”

I will have to give that to you, Richard. I was away overseas during that critical period including the leadership crisis of 1987 and 1990 when you claim the NEP ‘went through a restructuring’. With due respect to you, one does not have to be an eye witness to the riots of 1969 to understand it, or to understand what the NEP is all about.

You seem to be Loh’s contemporary who is sure that the riots were planned, organized and politically orchestrated by vested interests from within UMNO. In the immediate aftermath of the 1969 general elections when UMNO was reeling from the record loss of seats both at state and federal levels, forces were at work from behind the scene (but exactly what their roles were have never been determined) manipulating incidents to cause more riots when nerves were already raw and deaths have occurred. That is as close as I could go to saying that the riots were organized.

The NEP was the result of the riots. One aspect of the policy was to provide credit to bumiputra and bumiputra owned businesses, to encourage bumiputra participation in business. It was a period when bodies like MARA and UDA and the Ministry of Trade and Industry took on aggressive roles; and to add that the Credit Guarantee Corporation (CGC) under the initiative of BNM.

When did such statutory bodies have anything to do with Chinese and Indians?

12. #12 by sotong on Thursday, 19 April 2007 - 7:18 am

The Jews are no better than other races in this world. Why do Europeans hate them so much during WW2?

Human being contribute nothing to this world except pollution and destruction of mother Earth.

Mother Earth does need human being for her survival. We need her for our survival.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 19 April 2007 - 9:29 am

I have to respond to undergrad2 as his interpretation of my point is wrong.

My analogy is not that the opposition is asking the Malay to invest in riskier securities for lower return. My argument is that the opposition is asking the bumiputras to invest in riskier securities for a much higher return BUT also possibly with losses. Its UMNO that is asking bumiputras to invest in lower risk securities with below market returns. The problem with investing in undermarket returns is that at the end of it you don’t get what you need. That is the problem with the NEP eventually it will never give most bumiputras what it needs at least not at great moral peril.

I also did not make the point that the NEP is a zero sum game. My point is that its a declining return investment. It actually may never become zero-sum game but at its best it will at least come close eventually. Its possible to prolong the process but its all a question of luck and we have been very very lucky and could possibly still be but all gamblers know that eventually luck runs out as in 1997.

14. #14 by MALAYSIANbukanMALAYSIAN on Thursday, 19 April 2007 - 10:10 am

Good morning to my firend KingKong

Looks like we share the same opinion afterall. Let YB Lim give us some answers.

It’s true that DAP needs to re-strategize!

15. #15 by Richard Teo on Thursday, 19 April 2007 - 7:58 pm

Undergrad,
    I suggest you do some investigative work on Tun Razak policy speeches when he amplified NEP in the context ” of an expanding pie” that every desrving citizen will benefit from it.Whether the spirit of the NEP was subsequently adhered to is another matter but it was the intention of the NEP to be equal and beneficial to all needy citizens.

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 19 April 2007 - 8:33 pm

Richard Teo,

What he meant by that is with political stability, every citizen (Malays, Chinese and Indians) gets to reap the benefits of this Policy aimed at leveling the playing field for the Malays. It is what he didn’t say that matters or failed to elaborate that matters. Razak was a shrewed and crafty politician – not to be taken at face value.

17. #17 by robert wong on Thursday, 19 April 2007 - 10:00 pm

A good example of the NEP flaws, multi-billionaires of bumiputra are still getting 10% on properties and prefrential loan from the government. Is this so-called “level-playing field”.

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Friday, 20 April 2007 - 1:15 am

These people are the unintended beneficiaries of the Policy. The flaw has to be corrected and corrected now.

Why are the powerful and the politically connected getting all the contracts? Why are rich kids getting scholarships when their parents could afford the cost of their tertiary education? This has nothing to do with the objectives of a policy like the NEP.

19. #19 by robert wong on Friday, 20 April 2007 - 8:08 am

undergrad2 , now that you knew all these, what are going to do about it ?

20. #20 by Kingkong on Friday, 20 April 2007 - 11:42 am

Most of the policies in Malaysia are well written. It is the law enforcement that is in trouble.

Those multi-billionaires of Bumiputra must be cheating in the preferential loan application. In Australia, some people also try to fraud the social security system, but one has to get the means test, and if one gets caught, it is a very serious offence. Jail is the answer and disgrace in the public media would deter the cheater. Hence this form of cheating is minimized.

In Malaysia, corruption is too deep rooted. The independency of anti corruption and judiciary system is doubtful, so the system has been greatly abused.

When a C4 could be easily used to blow up a human being by connected high power authority, what else can we do about it? Can DAP or PKR help?

21. #21 by undergrad2 on Friday, 20 April 2007 - 9:15 pm

“undergrad2 , now that you knew all these, what are going to do about it ?”

Fight to re-take the government for the people from BN. The DAP/PKR electoral alliance would be one way to do that.

22. #22 by Jonny on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 12:09 pm

Actually, why be democratic / capitalist? Why not just do away with it and introduce communism? Everyone would have equal share. Much better than NEP which benefits only the well-connected and well-heeled.

Just a thought of ‘what-ifs’

23. #23 by Kingkong on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 4:33 pm

No, Communism can be equally corrupted if there is no check and balance. Communism is good in clearing out the rubbish of the existing corrupted regime using gun powder revolution, but not good for sustaining growth by the incredible human creativity, and productivity. In other words, individualism is not fully developed to a fullest extent in a communist system.

The party heads, the committee members in a communist system are the ones who could rip off the fruits from the people under the name “for the country “. You still can’t have equal share. People all work like government servants, and government servants all over the world are usually not so competitive and productive.

Those days, workers who escaped from mainland China to Hong Kong were very much despised as a eight to five “ Tai Loke Chye “ which means lazy unproductive and un-competitive fellows.

Teng Xie Peng adopted Capitalist system to open up China which only then grows.

24. #24 by Not spoon fed on Saturday, 21 April 2007 - 10:11 pm

fargowin:

You are correct. Since Malayisia is marginalising non Malay, let work and pay taxes in other countries.

Keep your citizen while working in other countries so that you still could vote.

25. #25 by ktteokt on Monday, 21 May 2007 - 11:56 pm

Indeed, this is the ugly truth! The rich in Malaysia is getting richer by the day and the poor, poorer. With the NEP, the gap between the poor and the rich is drifting to wider dimensions. Has the NEP achieved its objectives of eradicating poverty of the Bumiputeras? Definitely not! It has instead created an elite group who have sprung to riches overnight! The ordinary bumiputera would not have benefited from these government actions.

The only group who actually benefited are the elite Malays, the Tan Sri Putras, Dato Putras and Elite Putras, not the bumiputeras.

26. #26 by VoiceOfMalaysian on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 3:02 pm

UMNO was formed on 11 May 1946.

13 May tragedy occurred on 13 May 1969 (2 days after 23rd anniversary of UMNO formation.

It is a co-incident? Think about it!

27. #27 by VoiceOfMalaysian on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 3:06 pm

As a old Malay saying goes:

‘Benih yang baik kalau jatuh ke laut akan menjadi pulau, kalau jatuh di darat akan menjadi gunung’

So why blame the British?

Why need the NEP?

Does that implies the ‘benih’s are no good?

Comments are closed.