Why public universities will never improve

Why Public Malaysian Universities will Never Improve

by ex-researcher

I used to work in a Malaysian university holding a professorial post on contract. I could not be confirmed because I do not have a SPM (more later). I worked in research dealing with stem cells but left after 3 years despite the offer of renewal for another 2 years. I am a Malaysian Chinese who spent nearly 20 years overseas in some of the big name universities in Australia and the UK.

After observing the system from the inside I can tell you that Malaysian universities will never improve, and whatever improvement you see will not last. I will set out my reasons in a concise manner.

1) Staff are not hire on merit

I’ve noticed that most the new staff hired are Malays. There are very few Chinese and Indian staff on tenure track. Infact most of the non-Malays I came across are hired on contract. It does not take a genius to know that if you don’t put people on tenure, they will not give their best.

One day I asked a DVC in private why there are so few non-Malay staff on tenure. I was surprised when he told me directly that there was an unofficial quota. He further told me that there is a lot of resistance from the junior Malay staff when non-Malays come in because they perceived the non-Malays are better researchers and academics. He also told me that good non-Malay staff go overseas, especially to Singapore so they do not want to waste their time in hiring non-Malay staff. I do not if this is true.

2) No research culture since promotion is not based on research

Despite all the talk by the Minister, there is no research culture. Infact, most local academics are not interested in research. A few of the Malay academics told me straight in the face that they like group or cluster research because it is “easier”. They don’t go for excellence or individual research. They also tell me that promotion is based on administrative work and “cables” to the Minister or VC. In fact a few of them tell me that good researchers are punished by the whole group because they make the others look bad or lazy. Thus no matter how good you are when you join, by putting you in a “research group” they are slowing the good ones down and before you know it, they become part of the group culture.

In the university where I was working, the VC or DVC did not published a single paper in an international referred journal. Except for one DVC, the VC and the other DVC do not even have a single book. The DVC with a book is a textbook in Malay and when I looked at it, I realized that it was mainly translation he passed off as his own work. Two of the DVC were active with UMNO and the VC is a relative of an UMNO strongman. Thus the “cable” theory appears to be true.

A retired Malay professor told me the most important criteria for promotion is “how you get along with people”. He also told me if you are good, they will bring you down because if the universities have standards, then they cannot survive in their jobs. In his own words, more than 4/5 of the current university staff will never be able to get academic jobs in a real university.

3) Pettiness and Jealously

The Malay culture is based in group behaviour and gossip and during my time there, I noticed that even academic staff took a lot of time in gossiping about nonsense. Most of the female academic staff used gossip to bring down capable people. For example, one Malay guy who just came back with his PhD had to endure a lot of gossip, all because one female academic staff complained that he did not hold a kenduri to celebrate his successful completion of PhD.

Another time, all the academic staff, including the Dean, ganged up against me because I had managed to published a paper in a leading international journal. Immediately after my name was mentioned by the VC as an example, the Dean started telling other academic staff that I did not “contribute enough” to the faculty.

I was under the impression that I was there to do research and publish but for these people, who cannot do research, the priority was on social events. This Dean was not even an academic in the first place but was a civil servant before he was appointed Dean. All the academics he has appointed since he became Dean all come from his state and all are local graduates. So how to improve?

There are many more things I want to say but these are the main reasons why Malaysian universities have no hope of ever being world class. As long as everything is based on race, pettiness and not on merit, I cannot see a way out.

I am writing this not out of frustration ( I am now overseas) but to also show why local universities waste so much money joining the Geneva Exhibitions and the like (as reported in the newspapers). The sad truth is when you have people who cannot publish in real academic journals, then they play silly games like join exhibitions.

The USM DVC who defended this practice would be laughed at if he was at a real university. In fact, to be frank, people like him cannot get a real academic job in Singapore, NZ or US. He is a symbol of what is wrong at local universities.

In sum, you have the blind leading the blind.

1. #1 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 1:18 pm

I always cannot understand why a person well established outside bolehland has to come back. Usually we heard of the very impressive intention – trying to serve the motherland. In fact, many of these returned birds are those who cannot set their foot probably overseas. Instead of being half-past six and unrecognized persons overseas, they hope to be treated as heros at home. The fact is bolehland cannot treat any one coming back from overseas as hero.

2. #2 by bhuvan.govindasamy on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 1:19 pm

ex-researcher is absolutely correct. This mentality is also prevalent in the private sector. This is why most private R&D centers are staffed primary by non-malays, who end up overseas through internal transfers. Researchers and R&D engineers of value are quickly snapped up and shipped out.

Not having the human bandwidth is why M’sia will not progress in R&D, both in the academia and private sector.

3. #3 by Malaccan on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 1:36 pm

I am currently an academic in a private higher learning institution. Last year, I sent in my resume to a few local public universities and overseas HLI. Guess what happened? NO reply at all from our local public universitities, but I was called for interview by two overseas HLI, they were Temasek Politechnic Singapore and Hong Kong University. However, I turned down the HKU offer at last due to some personal reasons. What puzzled me that time was “Why NO reply at all from local public universities? Was I unqualified? If I were unqualified, why HKU made the offer to me?” Now, thanks to ex-researcher’s email, I’ve got the answer:-

“I was surprised when he told me directly that there was an unofficial quota. He further told me that there is a lot of resistance from the junior Malay staff when non-Malays come in because they perceived the non-Malays are better researchers and academics” – ex-researcher.

After reading this, I really have to think not only twice in submitting my resume again to local public universitities.

4. #4 by azk on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 1:43 pm

I hope they continue to rot… nothing is better than to sit and watch stupid ppl self-destruct

5. #5 by Tai Lo Chin on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 1:43 pm

The primary objective of research in universities is to pursue knowledge and the truth.

The problem in public universities here is a reflection of the larger society led by elites who care nothing about the worth of truth except how to spin it for expediency and delf serving purposes.

The best test of truth is whether one has the ability to get accepted in the market : does the wider market accept our graduates?

The whole culture is premised on wrong values placing material wealth or social status and power more important than intrinsic wisdom or character of the person, conformity to cultural and religious conventions more important than freedom of mind and individual expression, indolence to strenuous exertion, hubris and pride over humility, privileges over merits of competition.

What else can I say? Sigh.

6. #6 by Ah Hong on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 1:44 pm

this is why too i decided not to further PhD in local Uni. after completed my Msc in the same local Uni. To many red tape which in my opinion, wasting my time and a lot of other people time, and money too!!! Imagine it take about 9 months for me to submit my frist thesis until Viva. We can have the world best research equipments, but they dun have the procedure to take care of them…..sigh!!! One of my chinese senior graduated from Japan Uni PhD, worked as tutor and cant appointed as lecturer. End up she left for Private College. While another Malay senior, graduated from the same Japan Uni., even speak very very poor English, score second lower class in her Bac degree, and yet offer as lecturer. So, no eye see, it is still based on race when u r in local Uni. Sad to be truth!!!

7. #7 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 1:57 pm

“The problem in public universities here is a reflection of the larger society led by elites who care nothing about the worth of truth except how to spin it for expediency and delf serving purposes.”

Lo Chin – do you have a different definition for “elites”? I thought elites are the cream, and not the lees.

;)

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 2:00 pm

The rampancy of the rot, the pervasiveness of pernicious attitudes and the parochialism of academic pariahs……will as Prof. said replicate itself and, may I add, inure itself like a cesspool of bacteria. So objectively speaking, there is no hope.

No hope if the prevailing environs and winds remain unchanged. No hope if the culture of subservience and mediocrity persists – of course. This is why there must be a sea change, a complete change of leadership, where men of vision and character must take the helm and steer the nation to success and a better future. That’s not going to happen with Pak Lah, NAjib or BN – as sure as eggs are eggs.

But yet, there is hope! For all who see the ills and follies of our times and country, please ensure your votes (and postal votes too, Prof – you must register with the embassy; find out how) count in the next GE and begin the current of change. It’s either we do it for our children’s sake (and Goddamn Singh – you may use your ‘Goddamn it’ in this context) or goddamn it! we shall perish; then migration will turn from waves that wash into foreign shores into torrents that rise and race to these lands.

The sense of despair is sadly, beyond the pale of any doubt and is ubiquitous and universal. Speaking to some very senior non-Malay civil servants recently, I could sense the nakedness and vulnerability in them. I felt as much. It was as if spears were scything through my brains, driving asunder my throbbing cerebellum and cerebrum. I felt ravaged by those horrid stories of utter disregard for basic rights and notions of fairness and propriety. One prominent ex-civil servant gave a graphic illustration of such offense – it was like the Malays were speeding down in the direction of a descending escalator whilst the non-Malays had to run upwards against the headwinds and against the descending escalator. Often enough…and embarassingly so for the malays, the non-MAlays succeed to reach the end of the escalator or the goals faster than the Malays. This is not only embarassing for the malays but also goddam it! infuriating! Who asked the malays to pit (or measure) themselves against the non-Malays in this land instead of benchmarking aganst the best in the world and excel thereby with little thought for the wasteful energies expended on envy! Even fools would have better sense than this.

This rambling must stop and good sense must prevail. The Malays must know that their hopes do not lie in a doomed party like UMNO of BN, where leeches are mistaken for amulets of hope and prosperity. The time has come for the Malays to trust DAP and PKR – just one term to begin with. If they do not live up to the promise, it’ll be very easy to bury DAP/PKR because the majority vote is still the Malays in this land.

After 50 years and a pathetic record of failures and disgrace, surely PKR and DAP can be given just 4 years toprove they have the wherewithal to make this country a success.

This is a pasionate plea to malaysians …and to malays in particular.

9. #9 by lakshy on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 2:06 pm

What a coincidence. I met a local Engineering University Research/Teaching Assistant two days ago, and he had this story to tell.

He is a Muslim from an Asian country doing his Master’s here. In his home country he has to compete hard to study in University. But here, he sees the racial discrimination as a major factor that is weakening the Universities. In his country if the person lacks ability, he would be classified as non-technical material and would not be allowed to do engineering, but here, almost everyone who enters University graduates with a degree.

When he conducted quizzes and marked them he found that the Chinese scored perfect to near perfect marks, while the malays were barely passing or were failing. After he had marked the papers, he gave them to the lecturer (a malay with foreign Degree, Masters and PhD) who was happy with his work. However, the Assistant Dean then told the lecturer to adjust the marks as the malays marks were low. The lecturer refused to do so, as he believed in fair play. This lecturer is an exception, as all other lecturers do it according to my story teller.

These same students then approach the Assistant Dean for additional marks, and marks are given for doing clerical work in the office! E.g. placing letters in envelopes, photocopying etc. No wonder everyone graduates.

When the same lecturer was given an assignment to complete a project, his entire team comprised of non-malays and foreign students. When he was queried on this matter and forced to take malays, he refused saying that given the deadline for completing the project, he was not willing to take malays, as what could be accomplished by 1 non-malay would take 4 malays to do, if they could get it done at all!

Sadly, the system is weakening the malays further. Without the need to strive for excellence, we are churning out thousands of graduates, that the private sector finds un-employable. I find many malays that I have employed to be weak in Engineering. We spend years training them, and then they leave to join companies such as Petronas. They can survive in companies such as Petronas because they don’t need to be hands on. The operators run the plants. When a problem occurs, they inform their supervisors, and if they cant solve it, the supervisors contact the Engineers. The engineers just contact a contractor or consultant and the job is done. He does not even have to get out of his air conditioned office.

This is the training given, and these are the products then end up in the field to propel our country towards achieving developed nation status by 2020.

10. #10 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 2:07 pm

a reposting:
    Chinese tend to look down at bumi students. But if we do a survey, I afraid there are more bumi who hold a PhD overseas compared to non bumi. Non-bumi are good in only studying books, and when coming to doctoral level research, there are not too many. of course, the NEP created more PhD bumi by sending them overseas to get the degrees whereas non-bumi wealth has been used up after finishing the first degree.

Be aware of the fact and thought that Chinese are always better than bumi? One day, when we start to wake up, it is already too late

11. #11 by k1980 on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 2:34 pm

I am of the same opinion as pulau_sibu above. If a survey is ever taken of the number of holders of diplomas, degrees, masters and PhDs according to race, the bumis will knock out the non-bumis flat. Nowadays, the enrollment of entire courses (mostly arts-based) in certain colleges and universities comprise of 100% Malays. So the Chinese have to wake up now even though the MCA is still sleeping

12. #12 by madmix on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 2:47 pm

What is the purpose of building so many universities in MY? Answer: to churn out as many Malay graduates as possible. Non-malays get to fill in their small quota benefits as well. So why bother with research and publications? Just teach what others have researched for you. Make the undergrads regurgitate what is taught and you have many graduates. Quantity is more important than quality so that NEP targets can be achieved. Gold medals from dubious exhibitions give the unis bragging rights. And bragging rights is the most important thing for some Malaysia boleh people.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 2:51 pm

So what if we do not have great research universities? Is it THAT important? The danger of the tale here is not the lack of pride or some imagined great import of academic excellence. The real horror tale is the institutionalization and culturalization of mediocrity.

The mediocritization is not just in higher academic but spreads through our judicial system, our schools, law-enforcement, other public service and even GLCs AND even private bumi corporates.

A friend of mine who worked in a billion dollar bumi company decided to just ask her colleagues, all degree holders at least and some even govt scholars, whether they support removal of NEP and they came back quickly almost unanimously NO. But the most surprising thing was not that. The shocking thing was many ask her why i.e., they did not even know the downside of the policy anymore.

14. #14 by Prudent Thinker on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 3:27 pm

Hey pulau_sibu and k1980.

It seems as if you are aware of the CRUDE qualities and mentalities that the masses of bumis possessed.

Quantity doesn’t measure up to Quality. (Compare Singapore and Malaysia) OBVIOUS

The quality of effort employed are more critical than the quantity of effort exerted if one is to have sustainable progress.

Don’t get me wrong. Till today, I bear great respect for Bumis. But, only for those who deserved it. Out of the masses, only a fraction of them are conscious about the way they lead their life. (Yes indeed, i do believe the bumis DO possessed great potential but,sadly great potential aren’t justified with sufficient effort to propel forward)

If you are thinking about gearing the whole nation into a ‘developed ‘ status, the easy way out mentality should be erased/exorcised out from their way of life. (Opportunity based on Racial Status but not merit)

It’s the same for other races as well. Respect and Success are for for those who deserved it. Superficial Success in life/business are greatly adored by those who can’t make it in reality. Hence, a model of superficial success was taken as the path to success by the norms leading the whole masses going the wrong way.

I really hope that, energy exerted by the bumis on diminishing the effort of other races should be converted into energies to propel them forward. (and if possible greater than the Chinese/Indian, so we can create a competitive environment bearing great challenges demanding all of us to drive forward)

15. #15 by smeagroo on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 3:27 pm

Universitites are the place for them to make money. Till today the purchase of equipments rcv lots of kickback and “commissions” and all these are left unchecked. Some even do it blatantly without fear. Pay a visit to most of these scientific labs you will see all the brand new sets still nicely wrapped and no one qualififed enough to handle it. The bleeding each year will come up to millions.

16. #16 by Johorean on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 3:45 pm

I did not attend local schools but from observations Singapore has done a tremendously good job in attracting alot of our very good quality talents over. Seems like Malaysia is run by a bunch of incompetent people. I would personally advice people who is into academic field to stay in countries like USA, UK or Singapore.

17. #17 by azk on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 4:01 pm

we must find a way to make them continue to rot…

18. #18 by Johorean on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 4:08 pm

Academic being an important part in nation building had been in a mess for decades and I do not think this is going to end anytime soon. I absolutely had no confidence in Malaysia’s educational system and what was indicated above is not at all surprising. Hope Malaysia could be run by more competent people. God bless.

19. #19 by taikohtai on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 5:59 pm

Sorry to sound cynical but ex-researcher need to understand the ‘big picture’. Unfortunately, the ‘big picture’ does not support the excellence agenda as far as Malaysia is concerned. It is more about preserving the status quo!
    And when you do see the big picture as such, it is not hard to understand why after 50 years of independence, Malaysia continues to be 3rd world. So long as the rakyat are kept under the tempurung, they will continue to be the asset generators for the ruling party members. Case of the recent toll hikes is proof of the sinister policies behind the enrichment of the the corrupted gomen. I cry for you Malaysia.

20. #20 by pwcheng on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 6:11 pm

All our institutions of higher learning and research are all going downhill all in the name of Keutaman Melayu. What ex-researcher said is definitely the truth and I can vouch that this is the same that is happening to a a very prominent research house called RRI (Rubber Research Inst) now called (MRDB)Malaysia Rubber Development Board.
    If anybody can remember clearly this Research Institute was World Renowned and had many internationally known scientist and the forefront of research as far as natural rubber is concerned. But when the Malays took over this Institute and thanks to the system as described by ex researcher the Institute has gone to the dogs and is now called Mainly Rubbish Development Board. They even want to convert the Tun Abdul Razak Research Centre (TARRC) in Brickendonbury, UK into a sports complex. The two deadly diseases (Malay agenda and Corruption) will soon kill this country.

21. #21 by ai57sm on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 6:26 pm

Quote pulau_sibu “….. if we do a survey, I afraid there are more bumi who hold a PhD overseas compared to non bumi…”

Quote k1980 “…. If a survey is ever taken of the number of holders of diplomas, degrees, masters and PhDs according to race, the bumis will knock out the non-bumis flat….”

Do both of you have any hard data to justify your claims?

Pls bear in mind that those so called ‘academicians with degrees bachelor, masters & phds’ from local M’sian tertiary institutions cannot be considered as qualifiers. The reasons are very obvious from the readings above.

Neither can those with any tertiary qualifications from Nth rated oversea tertiary institutes can stage a claim. The reasons are too obvious. The entry level qualifier should be degrees from the top 50 world recognized institutes of higher learning.

The above declarations are not to degrade anybody – just that sometime when a statement is made then there must be hard data. Not just figure pluck from the sky.

A good site to do the moderation is http://educationmalaysia.blogspot.com.

22. #22 by grace on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 7:15 pm

.The USM DVC who defended this practice would be laughed at if he was at a real university. In fact, to be frank, people like him cannot get a real academic job in Singapore, NZ or US!

No surprise! Most of the deans anVCs or DVCs could not even get a post as an ordinary teacher in the countries that were mentioned! It is already a well-known fact. Only the authorities do not care about it.

On the other hand, many of our Malaysian non-Bumis who are holding high posts in prestigious Unis overseas ‘could not qualify’ to be primary HMs!!!

23. #23 by japankiller on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 7:21 pm

Giving Malays priority doesnt sound a help to improve their quality, in fact our government are forcing those who ran too fast to slow down so that the Malay can catch up.

Malaysia are moving back into stone age.

24. #24 by sammyvellu on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 7:58 pm

Malaysia’s definition of R&D is to outsource the works and expect to claim credit and “reap results”

Do you know that the so called R&D to develop Gen2 is done by LG in Korea? And not a single word is uttered about this until a forumer in http://www.autoworld.com.my posted a URL to the LG webpage

25. #25 by accountability on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 9:04 pm

i have always considered myself a muhibbah malaysian as i get along and mingle well with my friends of all races…

…that is, until i joined school and university – based on my experiences, these institutions have become nothing more than political playgrounds of politicians.

these are places where racism are extremism are introduced by religious zealots and incompetent but politically-connected appointees (headmasters, deans, VCs)

ingenuity are not decided by race, it’s a result of hard-work and discipline. ideas of supremacy are political propaganda by the very corrupt BN government led by UMNO.

i do not blame the Malays, as the Chinese, Indians and other BN members are also equally guilty.

i have plenty of right-minded friends (especially Malays) with a conscience, and who are equally if not more impressive in their work at my workplace!

26. #26 by Jonny on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 9:53 pm

Either we go about like business as usual. Let the rot continue.

Or either REMOVE or REDUCE THE MAJORITY!

27. #27 by grumpy on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 10:43 pm

Pulau_sibu:
    I feel sorry for Malaysia for the type of mentality you have.
    At first I wanted to ignore your posting, but I am not one of the docile MCA Chinese who will take it lying down. So, I am going to respond.

You said:
    “I always cannot understand why a person well established outside bolehland has to come back. .. these returned birds are those who cannot set their foot probably overseas. Instead of being half-past six and unrecognized persons overseas, they hope to be treated as heros at home. The fact is bolehland cannot treat any one coming back from overseas as hero.”

As for this ex-researcher, granted you may have a point there because I wonder too why with 20 years overseas experience, he is still looking for a permanent job.

However, I take issue with your insinuation about ‘half-past six..returned birds who cannot set their foot..overseas..and coming back..as hero'(to paraphrase your statement). I am a former Malaysian Chinese and I may be that hal-past six bird that you referred to. However, this half-past six bird has a permanent job overseas and many times more publications in international refereed journals that many of your full profs in Malaysia. I survive without special privileges. This half-past six bird is also worried that it would take several generations for Malaysia, if it ever reverse course, to recover from the on-going destruction of the quality of education in Malaysia. You should go back and read what a retired Malay prof told ex-researcher about the chances of your profs in a real university.

Pulau_sibu, with the concurrence of k1980, also said that there will be more bumi..and less non-bumi PhDs because of lost of wealth..

I responded to your posting in the other discussion thread but you just ran away without responding and now you are here saying the same thing.

So, for the sake of the people here, I want to reiterate that you don’t need wealth to do PhD. If you are well qualified, US universities will support your PhD until completion. Only people who fail to get these assistantships will enter as paying graduate students. In your case, if the Malaysian govt wants to pay for their PhD students, the US universities will be more than glad to take them. That doesn’t mean they are better than others because the better ones get assistantships. As to why there appear to be more bumi PhDs, that is because they are all just relaxing in the public universities in Malaysia instead of working hard to compete in the world out there that non-Bumi PhDs are doing.

I hate to have to respond like this because we consider members of our own profession as colleagues and treat each other with respect. I apologize to all academics in Malaysia for this posting.

Pulau_sibu, your disparaging remarks indeed deserve this type of response. If your profs in Malaysia feel insulted they should kick your butt for the nonsense that you spewed that invited this type of comment.

28. #28 by tsn on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 10:49 pm

R&D stands for Rehat & Duduk

Pulau Sibu:No one can be a hero unless those idiots on the ground treat them as one. We shouldn’t have any scepticism on those who choose to come home. Afterall it is our people elected government extended the olive branch to them.

The most worrisome fact is a lot of Malaysians do not understand basic economics principles. The educated Malays do not know the downside of NEP whereas a lot of Chinese(some even with Uni degree) with perception it is to the advantage of Chinese to cari makan if the Malays are weak & lazy. If the Malays are smart & hardworking, habislah kita, susah cari makan.

29. #29 by greenacre on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 11:37 pm

When I applied to do masters in three local universities non gave any response. UM never answered, IIU never answered but UKM took RM30 to process and fell silent. I told my family my uk degree must be not so good, after all.
    Two years later I applied to an Australian university and they responded quickly. I am a masters graduate now and also was awarded two distinctions in subjects that I took.

30. #30 by MlyMixed on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 11:49 pm

i can be considered a frequent visitor to this blog. Reading, browsing topics highlighted by LKS. Its interesting to note that some topics highlighted in here can not be found in the mainstream media. I do also sometime take the opportunity to browse and read the comments posted by the visitors with the intention to try to understand the opinions, grievances and personality of the commentators. Some comments are intelligent backed with facts, solid, impartiality etc and some are not so to the extend it’s an insult to my intelligent.

I noticed when there is race based issue, the number of commentators jumped high compared to other non race based issues that are equally important. Most of the comments are trying to point the fingers to the one particular race as though that race had caused so much difficulty in their life.

Allow me to share something here, I a Malaymixed Malaysian, my dad is malay and mom is Chinese. I believe I have to certain extend the authority to say about these 2 races. I’ve seen the good and bad sides of these races, if you say Malay is lazy then in my personal and professional life I’ve seen lazy Chinese, if you say Malay is corrupt, I’ve seen corrupt Chinese, if you say Chinese works hard to survive, I’ve seen Malays do the same, if you say Chinese works and awarded on merit, I’ve seen malays receive the same, and this can go on and on… one simple request from me, please stop this race bashing because we know that what makes a person stand out from the others is not the outer side but the inner side of that person.

There were also on several occasions, commentators claimed that private or international education is far more superior or better compared to local education to the extend they have to put an opening remark I quote ‘I did not attend local schools’ Well let me tell you something I’m without an iota of shame admitting that I’ve attended local schools, local unis throughout my education life and landed with a job in a MNC with BIG pay check.

Throughout my professional career, I’ve had the opportunity to interview candidates from both sides of education and again let me tell you something there were times I came across candidates from private/international university that sucks big time compared to local uni and vice versa. The conclusion here again, it’s the onus on the individual to stand out among the crowd and not to allow the paper qualification to decide one success.

Btw, for those who had so much to say good things about Singapore or other country than this beloved of ours, I think it’s about time you pack your bag and move on.

31. #31 by smeagroo on Thursday, 5 April 2007 - 11:51 pm

Local Unis are now the centre whereby those “flers” learn abt the birds and the bees and perfect their scoial skills. Wasnt it lately that a study revealed that 99% of the girls are no longer virgins and later it was refuted? And then in Harian MEtro a piece of shocking news came out that students are willing to give up their bodies to get a passing grade from their lecturers?

Firstly, by admitting non-performing students to a Uni will only pile up the pressure for them to perfrom well and the added pressure will make them do almost anything to pass. THis doesnt help when lecturers are also as corrupt as them in suggesting methods to these fellas on how to get a passing grade and in some cases, distinctions!

If this is allowed to grow, just imagine each student trying to outsamrt the others by offering even more to get higher grades.

32. #32 by pwcheng on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 12:01 am

Are you telling that the girls or even the boys are using their body in exchange for a better grade. This is very serious and needs a very thorough investigation.
    If it is true then it also explains why we are getting many unemployable graduates.

33. #33 by Pengajar on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 12:34 am

Research is scientific. If you want a promotion based on research, how will you go about it ? You have to look at the nature of the work. You have to look at the complete person. So what are the criteria for promotion ? First of all knowledge. How do you know if a person has knowledge at her finger tips ? Do a few questions prove so ? Does asking about one subject alone prove so too ? Second, her attitude to work. Promotion always means more work. How would you know that she has a good attitude to work without you keeping an eye on her ? Fixing a hidden camera eye ? Depending on your spying sources ? Third, relationships. Would you promote one who likes to cause conflicts ? How will you know in a scientific manner that this person values good, working relationships ? Fourth, the appearance. Would you want to promote a man who will tell you one thousand and one reasons for keeping long hair ? What are other scientific questions which you can think of ?

Cultural values are good example being polite in front of someone elder than you but it is just an assumption to think and say that the oldest is the wisest among them all and should be made a leader. This is also known as the fifth reason for promoting someone. This fifth reason overrides all the other reasons, meaning that the person is promoted to fulfill your plans and not because she is anything that good. And this leads to conflicts. Sadly in Malaysia, as soon as you enter into any government departments, the first thing you see is the number of bumi government servants. Where is national integration ?

I wonder what other bumis think of the following people.
    Azhar Mansor
    Muszaphar Shukor
    Abdul Malik Mydin
    Sharifah Mazlina Syed Abdul Kadir
    They have proven themselves to be independent individuals who are capable of taking care of themselves and thinking for themselves. No doubt with the powerful backing of the government. Shouldn’t the government also see to it that the university graduates are like them in some ways if not all ?

34. #34 by lylee80 on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 1:01 am

i know the situation is terrible, but i still wanna go home, it’s where i belong, no matter how bad it is..we just need to do wat we are supposed to do..i really hope we can work together to solve this problem, leaving the country don’t seem to be a good solution. How about the future generations or the poor who dont have a chance to do so?

35. #35 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 5:12 am

> Do both of you have any hard data to justify your claims?
    please go to the web sites of local universities and you get the answer right away. What is the ratio of numi professors versus non-bumi professors? the answer is obvious.

> Pls bear in mind that those so called ‘academicians with degrees bachelor, masters & phds’ from local M’sian tertiary institutions cannot be considered as qualifiers.

why you set your own conditions and eliminated the local entities?

> Neither can those with any tertiary qualifications from Nth rated oversea tertiary institutes can stage a claim. The reasons are too obvious. The entry level qualifier should be degrees from the top 50 world recognized institutes of higher learning.

I would need your list of 50 universities, and why the listed 50 universities.

>has a permanent job overseas and many times more publications in international refereed journals that many of your full profs in Malaysia

you still cannot compete with local professors. you may be great, but you are probably not relevant to Malaysia because you are too smart. [do you think we need a russian nucler scientist when we don’t develop nuclear weapons? of course, I don’t know what is your specialties and thus I said you could be irrelevant] if you are willing to take a lower position or less pay, i think you can find one.

>If you are well qualified, US universities will support your PhD until completion. Only people who fail to get these assistantships will enter as paying graduate students.

i think so. that is why so many chinese Malaysians went to US with their own money. Perhaps we are better than bumi, but under the same umbrella in the foreign land, we are perhaps not too much better. So we should try to be humble a bit when criticising bumi.

36. #36 by sj on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 6:59 am

To be honest, the research culture in the entire South East Asian region is miserable. Many view it as non profit if not totally useless type of endeavour. How did many foreign companies made it big? Is because they actually pour millions of dollar of money into the research. That is why people are able to grow and go global. They actually go to universities and recruit Professors or grad students to do the work. They actually acquire real research result, not dump in tonnes of money for feasibility study for sales. People came up with the product itself. Whether it makes money or not, that is secondary and it will be for long term investment.

The research culture in South East Asian region is geared towards short term investment. That is why it can never foster a conducive enough environment and infrastructure for the real deal. Mainly it is because of the people’s attitude towards research. Ask yourself, how many people you encountered in work that actually praise a researcher or a group of engineers/scientist for the real technical stuff they did? Ask yourself, if they keep complaining about lacking of engineers, why arent the market cater for these intellectual groups of people? Ask yourself, any magazine or newspaper article that is actively publishing about this kind of science stuff in the South East Asian region? The most popular ones I remember are Popular Science, or Popular Mechanics and TV documentary on scientific research. But those are not South East Asian region isnt it?

37. #37 by Taiko on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 8:24 am

That’s why we Johorian would rather study in Singapore universities. Better quality and more internationally recognized.

38. #38 by ai57sm on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 8:34 am

pulau_sibu,

Now I know where you’re coming from!

 please go to the web sites of local universities and you get the answer right away. What is the ratio of numi professors versus non-bumi professors? the answer is obvious.

Reading without thinking – the many postings in this blog have clearly spelled out the standards of the local ‘numi’ professors. They are nothing more than ‘dressed-up’ high school students with NO PROVEN & NON-RECOGNISIBLE peer reviews under their belts (should I say belly).

NO OFFENDS to those Malay intellectuals in some of the local Us where their commitments & qualifications are world class. BUT their numbers are just cannot compared, either with the number of the non-Malay or the so called ‘numi’ profs.

 why you set your own conditions and eliminated the local entities?

Again reading without letting the contents filtering through your piece of grey matter lying between the ears! Dude – the many commences in the blog have already given very clear reasons of WHY.

Just to help you digest this piece of meat – this is a case of comparing the same standard – apples with apples. Not like the case of matriculation vs STPM – apples with rotten oranges!

 I would need your list of 50 universities, and why the listed 50 universities.

How about this http://educationmalaysia.blogspot.com/2005/05/world-class-universities.html

for a start?

I’ll leave the rest of the nincompoopic arguments to the others to reply.

Sound very much like you’re ONE of THOSE in our local U.

I rest my case to prolong this stupidity with dumbos. Humbleness does not pay in this case!

39. #39 by lakshy on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 9:51 am

MlyMixed, I agree with you. But then why the need for preferential treatment for the Malays? This in effect is spoiling them and making them weak.

Pulau-Sibu, I agree with you that there are more Malays with higher qualifications than non-malays. This has been because its sponsored by the government. Very few would have paid for them selves. I dont find myself agreeing with ai57sm’s comments however, as the quality of the person counts. He has got his own biases.

40. #40 by tsn on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 12:15 pm

MlyMixed: I think you miss the crux of discussion here, when there is a need for comparison, the comparison is only on overall terms. When we say Singaporeans are richer than Malaysians, we are talking about the Income per capital, rich and poor gap for the 2 countries, of course there are a lot Malaysians such as Azman Hashim, Daim, Khairy, Lim Goh Tong….these few Malaysian are much much wealthier than Phua Chu Kang,Phua Chu Beng……

As educated Bumi,Mlymixed you are our hope to stop Malaysia from going downhill, our hope is not from DAP but educated & intellectual Malays, who should have broad worldview & understanding ability. You really have to realise your kind of perception & mentality is really detriment to your beloved motherland. If your MNC boss complains/comments about Malaysia’s corruption, red tape, bureaucracy,dare you challenge your boss to pack their bag & go elsewhere, after their leaving,I bet your MNC BIG pay check will just evaporate in the polluted air. Probably your MNC is just the kind who rip-off third world natural resources, then do not waste your energy to ask them to leave, they will just disappear the day our nature is run out of resources. Good luck!

41. #41 by Sergei on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 3:24 pm

Why are we so disgrunted with these unofficial quota? There are ample opportunities for us in “tidakbolehland”

Move on and train the deserving. Leave these burdens behind and leapt forward.

42. #42 by MlyMixed on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 4:22 pm

lakshy, who says without preferential treatment one will not be spoilt or weak?

tsn, reading your reply is an insult to my intelligent. btw thanks for the luck.

43. #43 by tsn on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 9:44 pm

MlyMixed: You see, you are stepping on the same booby trap again.
    Agree with me if I say with preferential treatment not everyone will be spoilt or weak, we can easily compile list of outstanding Malays in various fields. However with preferential treatment our national car industry tengah mati, tunggu gulung tikar, friend this not merely weak but mati.
    What we are concerned here is if Malaysia is to be compared with South Korea, Taiwan(not to compare to Singapore too sensitive) then you will realise how far others(without rich natural resources) have leapt forward. We are just worry Philippines scenario will fall upon us.
    One correct word from a Malay mouth is definately carry more weight than pages of reasonings from Non-Malays. Non Malays are not in any position to tell Najid, Hishammudin, Khairy… to run the country.

44. #44 by Sense of Belonging on Friday, 6 April 2007 - 11:34 pm

tsn: i agreed.
    Other country: Happy with Malaysia quota rules. Since Gov here does not appreaciate good talent. The talent will go somewhere.
    Then somebody in the Government wake up and ask 1 intelligent question.
    Why Brain Drain?
    Answer: Because they don’t love their country.
    No further question will be ask because for their current IQ level, this consider preventive action taken for the one and only question asked.

45. #45 by DiaperHead on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 3:45 am

I think we should close all the universities except for five of the best. A country with just a population of some 24.0 million people and yet we have so many universities.

It is disguised unemployment. That’s what it is.

46. #46 by pwcheng on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 4:03 am

To MlyMixed, you have the best of both worlds. Your Malay father will bestow you the Bumi status and your Chinese mother will impart the culture of hard work hard but being a product of 2 races do not necessary give you “the certain extend of authority to say about these 2 races”.

I must agree with you that all races have their strength and weaknesses but do bear in mind that the racial discrimination in this country is so profound that it stares straight into your face and the non Bumis are getting fearful, frustrated and angry and feels that they are unable to do anything about it because by nature the Chinese value peace more than anything else. The Negros of USA had done it, the indigenous South Africans had done it. The east Timorese had done it. So naturally some of them are just so frustrated that they had to translate their frustration somewhere. Perhaps psychologically it makes them feel better.

If you think all of us are equal maybe you can do us a favor by telling your UMNO brothers to treat us all equal but I doubt you will ever do that even if you have the power one day and because of absolute power that right is abused and discrimination becomes legal and benefits certain elite Malays. Please look around and you will still see many poor Malays. I hope I am wrong for saying that you have some sign of extremism when you remark that those who praise Singapore,, ”it’s about time you pack your bag and move on”. What is wrong in emulating something that is good. Most mothers taught us this when we were young.
    Sorry if you are not comfortable with this message.

47. #47 by Godamn Singh on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 7:47 am

“Btw, for those who had so much to say good things about Singapore or other country than this beloved of ours, I think it’s about time you pack your bag and move on.” Malaymixed

I say man, what gives you the right to tell us to leave if we don’t like it here??

I have very good things to say about India. My girlfriend even wrote to the Prime Minister of India – India mind you, a foreign country – asking for help in order to stop the destruction of Hindu temples by the Malaysian government! What choice have we got? Our loyalty is better off with India rather than the country of our birth. We are loyal but loyalty has a price.

“I noticed when there is race based issue, the number of commentators jumped high compared to other non race based issues that are equally important. Most of the comments are trying to point the fingers to the one particular race as though that race had caused so much difficulty in their life.”

You noticed? You noticed?? You gotta be blind not to. Racism and racial discrimination and the fact that racism is institutionalized as it never is elsewhere is morally wrong. period.

The fact that you are half half may moderate your political views to some but to me I have seen enough to know that it not necessarily true. Musa Hitam has a CHinese mother but he was a Malay ultra early in his political career. People like you grow up to face serious identity problems. They are not accepted readily by either race and they end up in all cases developing extreme views so they could be accepted by one – and that normally would be the race of their Malay parent usually father. It would be different if the father is Chinese and mother Malay.

Yes. At one time politicians were encouraging inter racial marriages but that is no longer politically correct for the politicians to do so today.

Racial polarization has reached new heights today.

Now you cannot be blind to this.

Goddamn it!

48. #48 by Jan on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 11:12 am

If university appointments have been based on merit the real beneficiaries would have been the students, majority which are the bumis. If they continue to appoint based on race and quotas definitely the rot will continue. I wonder why the authorities can’t even see that.

49. #49 by KL_Lim on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 1:44 pm

The rot will continue indefinitely because the government and the Bumis does not welcome improvement and progress at the expense of the Bumis. The Bumis know it very well that if competitions for undergraduate and postgraduate academic opportunities were equal and fair regardless of ethnicity, they will lose. This is despite the Non-Bumis being 28% (Chinese) and 9% (Indian) of the population. The Bumis should gather together and figure out for themselves what is it that they want over the next 50 years… to hold on to their outdated preferential policies (by the way, that’s precisely the USA were disgusted and did not agree to a free trade deal with Malaysia) and be satisfied to be stagnant in the midst of a meteoric rise of economic power in Asia OR show some guts and compete with the rest of the Non-Bumis.

50. #50 by burn on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 6:51 pm

terus terang… diaorang want to tell the world that they are better than other malaysians. tak nak mengaku kalah!
    they want the whole world to know that, we are the one that create malaya, not other races.
    we are the one that bring malaysia up, not other races.
    they want malaysia for their own without sharing with other malaysians.
    they create border zones, this for me, that for me, your one… is for me too, others… not important to them.

51. #51 by csn on Saturday, 7 April 2007 - 11:37 pm

I’m one of those people worked in the local u. Strangely, these people that most of you guys dislikes, give me the opportunity to further on. i’m given opportunity to further with local master programm. and i have no difficulty in working with them. Most of them are as hardworking as chinese, but i dont denied that some are bad. These also seen among chinese or indian. It all depends on type of person you work with. Nearly all my malay colleagues are type A personality. In fact, they are the one that stay on, when chinese left for money or what ever…. One of my senior chiense lecturer told me that chinese could not stay long in Public University is becauses of our mindset, that malay are useless. this is not true. I personally think that those who look down on malay should spend sometime with my malay senior lecturer and colleague. They are the one that standing tall when others are rotting away……..

52. #52 by Godamn Singh on Monday, 9 April 2007 - 1:52 am

I worked in a loca uni too. I was jaga there for a few years.

53. #53 by Danniel on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 2:19 pm

Malaysia oh Malaysia.
    Reminds one about the movie “Planet of The Apes”.
    Humans (non-Malays) are being marginalised/enslaved by the apes.
    Who are the apes? Just try image yourselves.

54. #54 by outsider in own country on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 10:39 pm

to mlymixed

u r just like a typical malay that only good at saying “if u don’t like it here, u can pack your bag and leave”. same old same old. this just goes to show that malays simply can’t take positive and constructive critism let alone healthy competition.

55. #55 by pamelaoda on Tuesday, 10 April 2007 - 10:46 pm

“a reposting:
    Chinese tend to look down at bumi students. But if we do a survey, I afraid there are more bumi who hold a PhD overseas compared to non bumi. Non-bumi are good in only studying books, and when coming to doctoral level research, there are not too many. of course, the NEP created more PhD bumi by sending them overseas to get the degrees whereas non-bumi wealth has been used up after finishing the first degree.

Be aware of the fact and thought that Chinese are always better than bumi? One day, when we start to wake up, it is already too late”

When they do woke up, then please wake me up too…can’t be keeping awake for too long for you guys to wake up right..dudes!

56. #56 by ginasai on Monday, 16 April 2007 - 6:22 am

Ok Pengajar I would like to hv a nice talk with you:)

your said: Research is scientific. If you want a promotion based on research, how will you go about it ? You have to look at the nature of the work. You have to look at the complete person. So what are the criteria for promotion ? First of all knowledge. How do you know if a person has knowledge at her finger tips ? Do a few questions prove so ? Does asking about one subject alone prove so too ? Second, her attitude to work. Promotion always means more work. How would you know that she has a good attitude to work without you keeping an eye on her ? Fixing a hidden camera eye ? Depending on your spying sources ? Third, relationships. Would you promote one who likes to cause conflicts ? How will you know in a scientific manner that this person values good, working relationships ? Fourth, the appearance. Would you want to promote a man who will tell you one thousand and one reasons for keeping long hair ? What are other scientific questions which you can think of ?

me: International reputation i.e. peer reviewer & publication in areputable journal should be a measure of promotion for Univ lecturer… my argument is that, I’ve never see once in my lifetime an excellent ‘true’ professor without a good work ethic, highly knowledgeable & excellent international reputation… I don’t say about ‘professor tiruan’ in Msia bcoz most of them are ‘lazy, stupid, useless & purposeless, unknown outside Msia etc etc’… That is why our univ ranking is dwindling…

you said: Cultural values are good example being polite in front of someone elder than you but it is just an assumption to think and say that the oldest is the wisest among them all and should be made a leader. This is also known as the fifth reason for promoting someone. This fifth reason overrides all the other reasons, meaning that the person is promoted to fulfill your plans and not because she is anything that good. And this leads to conflicts. Sadly in Malaysia, as soon as you enter into any government departments, the first thing you see is the number of bumi government servants. Where is national integration ?

me: Old prof oversea is very good, very knowledgeable & has a high intl reputation… in msia… many of the older prof is simply useless & purposeless… they effectively stop learning after their PhD… so what is your points of promoting the old useless ppl… promotion should be 100% based on merit alone…

you said: I wonder what other bumis think of the following people.
    Azhar Mansor
    Muszaphar Shukor
    Abdul Malik Mydin
    Sharifah Mazlina Syed Abdul Kadir
    They have proven themselves to be independent individuals who are capable of taking care of themselves and thinking for themselves. No doubt with the powerful backing of the government. Shouldn’t the government also see to it that the university graduates are like them in some ways if not all ?

me: hahahahaha… malaysia hold many world record like lemang terpanjang, buang wira kat pole etc etc… did USA or Russia throw any car to moon or mars just for a stupid show hehehehe…. I think we all Msian should think of winning a noble prize etc2… sorry but I’m not subcribed to the religion of saying Msian going to the pole, everest, sailing around the world as a success…. did u know that the nepalese climb the everest fo life, the eskimos live in the pole & million of ppl are sailing around the world… hahaha lol…