Hi Kit Siang
I’m not sure if you’ll be reading this, or even why exactly I’m writing to you; but like other times after reading about the happenings in Malaysia through your blog, I am saddened and moved from deep within.
Allow me to introduce myself. I was born in Johor, in 1983 – making me 24 years of age this year. From a young age, from primary (or standard one) I studied in Singapore. Instantly, this placed me into a group of ‘forgotten Malaysians’ of which I still belong to today – do read on. I did not study in Singapore by choice, my parents decided to see put me there when I was 7, because being part of the Malaysia school system when the British system was employed -they were alarmed by the perceived drops in the levels of education in Malaysia at that time – and they really wanted me to grow up speaking good English…and Singapore was the closest country to have its curriculum in English at that time. I’m sure you can appreciate the incredible irony in Malaysia reversing on its decision years ago and teaching Math and Science in English now. And while I am most capable of invoking my own commentary and discourse on the subject and others like it, I shall resist the urge and refrain from doing so on this occasion, as I nevertheless will find myself doing throughout the rest of this email – as each instance of the incredulous policies and politicians that dominate our country come up.
But I digress. I studied in Singapore a full ten years, travelling DAILY from Johor Bahru, not residing in Singapore because, I guess, my parents wanted me to retain my unique Malaysian identity and “Malaysianess”. I do not have fond memories of my time in the country, although I did well at school, I guess, I dislike autocratic and freedom-curbing societies where the rights of the individual are sacrificed for the whims of the elected collective in the name of nation-building. That is not to say I do not understand the need for such measures at certain times – but I suppose I do not function well in countries where such practices are the norm.
At the end of my high school studies in Singapore, I made the decision to return to Malaysia. To study at a private college in KL. I had tried on past occasions when I was in high school, to do so, only to find out that I was not eligible to do so because I did not take Bahasa Melayu as my primary subject. As a result of studies in Singapore, where English was the medium of instruction and Mandarin was my ‘mother tongue’, I cannot speak fluent Malay to this day nor do I have the ability to write in it. Therefore, according to some quarters, I am not considered Malaysian. But was I to blame? I remained in KL a full 3 years, was one of the top students at my college for a worldwide course, until it was time for me to pursue my education overseas.
I love Malaysia. I consider myself patriotic. I was and remain a staunch defender of its uniqueness and the beauty of the country and its people. Well, most of them. I grew up reading The Star, NSTP and the like. I read most of our former PM’s books and took in every shred of reasoning he and others gave for the obvious disparity between the races. I quoted and defended the NEP on the classic grounds the policy being of “wealth creation” and not “wealth redistribution.” My family and friends would laugh, sniggle and sigh. Up till then, I was colour-blind, but as case after case of blatant discrimination occurred, our dear politicians made me unsure for a good deal of time.
Then I made the move overseas…and realised what I had left behind. I had left behind a country full of life and colour, of some of the best examples of racial harmony and understanding anywhere in the world. Malaysia at her best is truly a beautiful country. But living in a different country opened my eyes to what I had also left behind; a flawed and made-up democracy, weak institutions, institutionalized racism, hypocrisy and worse of all – a country living in denial. The former can be defended on the grounds of “a country in progress”, the latter is indefensible. I liken it to a child growing out of his adolescence. When a young child behaves badly, you can excuse him on the grounds of “he doesn’t know any better.” For example, if he throws tantrums and has no regard for authority, that can be instructed in the child as he grows. But the realisation and acknowledgement of his wrongdoing is vitally important – as he gets older, the same excuses simply cannot be sustained. Granted, we are a young country – but it has been close to 50 years of denial. Of the fact that it is a democracy. That its media is free. That its institutions are fair. That everyone has similar opportunities. That it respects and abides by the Constitution and rule of law. That there exists freedom of religion and speech – and I’m just brushing the tip of the iceberg here. Doubtless, some would say I have been ‘corrupted by Western influences’ – but to confine such basic human elements to a Western nature is the classic disservice that Malaysians do unto themselves. At the expense of the discomfort and fear of change, such people choose to remain myopic and backward.
It took a lot for me to critically examine my own country for its failings and admit to them. To study political science and understand the true meanings and contexts of fundamental political concepts, frameworks of democracy, rule of law and associated concepts. I measured where Malaysia was in relation to these fundamental principles – and the result was a gut-wrenching, painful admission from a proud Malaysian that his country wasn’t all he thought it was – or likely to be if the culture of apathy and denial prevails.
As long as the ‘minority’ ethnic community in Malaysia continues to remain inert, apathetic, uneducated and disempowered to evoke even the most fundamental of changes (by voting in the right manner), wherein lies the mechanism and hope for change? How many more UMNO general assemblies do we need to see the true intentions of the ruling party? That last word is deliberately in the form of the singular. If only the MCA, Gerakan, MIC etc had more guts – and stop just surviving – and start living.
My intentions and comments do not come out of a desire to establish a race-dominated government of any sort. It is to create a truly representative and responsible government, one that recognises the importance of the abidance and adherence to the sovereign Constitution, that respects the rule of law, where all have access to equal educational, job and wealth opportunities and is colour-blind to the extent that it does not discriminate on the grounds of race, religion, sexual orientation — and yet, celebrates the incredible cultural diversity our country has been blessed with – and not use it to instil fear and bigotry in its people. It is in fact, repulsive and disappointing to me that close to 50 years after independence, we continue to have political parties that are divided along racial lines and not on solid ideology and sound policies.
Until then, what IS there for a Malaysian like me to go back to? Pray tell. I belong to a “minority” ethnic group, I do not speak strong BM and as a result, I’m sure the opportunities in my own country are vast indeed. Yet, I was the one top students at my university, hold a B.Econs (Hons), a M.A (International Relations), have been published academically and am working for the Australian government in delivering policies and bottom-line savings to the economy. And I’m just at the beginning of my career. I say all this not out of pride, but out of disappointment – where I want to be and can be most effective, my land of birth – I have little future.
I have great admiration and utmost respect for your work and all that you’ve laboured/struggled for Kit Siang. Sure you’ve made mistakes – we all have – but I respect the way you’ve come out of them. I’ve always belonged to a class of ‘forgotten Malaysians’ – once when I studied in Singapore, because I can’t speak BM, because I left my country to study abroad and haven’t returned. But I haven’t forgotten my country; I never will. But as much as I love Malaysia, does it remember me…and the many others like me? I do not expect an answer to that question.
I’m not expecting a response – I guess I now understand why I’ve taken the trouble to write such a long email to you. I want you to know, you have people on your side of the struggle. That as much as it holds nothing for me to go back, perhaps one day, I will…because at the heart of me, I am Malaysian… and stand for all things truly Malaysian.
Kind regards,
W.O.

#1 by Kingkong on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 11:48 am
//“Therefore, I hope we do not encourage people to stay away when someone whi works abroad is contemplating about to come home or not to come home. It is so unfair to us still living here. Worst, is the “encouragement†made to them, when they decide not to come back. This is really a soul-wrenching line for us to read. Those of us who are still living here “//
It is actually up to an individual to decide on what he wants in life. The worst type is the one who does not know what he wants. If he is in he wants to be out, and if he is out he wants to be in.
There are pros and cons in living abroad and back home. Basically, the greener pasture most likely provides;
1. Clean living environment and basic infrastructure for healthy living, like clean water and food hygienic control.
2. Good social order such that people could work and live without fearing of being hurt. ( e.g notorious JB , Klang valley and KL areas )
3. Fair and equal opportunity for jobs, education, and advancement such that one’s potential could be developed to the fullest.
4. Appropriate assistance is given if you are in really jobless & financial difficulty.
5. Good family life. Ask the wife of the migrated family, the husband becomes very homely. Perhaps, too much night life and happy hours in Boleh land.
The beauty of Kit’s blog is that it provides a platform for everybody to speak out from the inner part of his heart and most likely it is honest as the names are anonymous in majority. It is merely an opinion, and cannot be classified as “ encourage “ or “ discourage “. You will be guilty also if people are “ encouraged “ to come back and fall into the deep shit trap. Neither can we self censored and say nothing.
There are actually people who lost a lot with a flicker minded decision in moving in and moving out.
Migration and living abroad is a very personal thing and one has to make up his own mind, and that cup of tea may not suit all.
During shotie kiasu’s era, most of the overseas Malaysian graduates rushed home after finishing their studies. Why?
a. the industrialization began in Singapore and Malaysia and there was ample opportunity for graduates particularly if they were of engineering and technological type. In Malaysia, relatively speaking, more equal opportunity was given to all Malaysians.
b. In overseas, the white man policy prevailed; as soon as you finished your final examination, the immigration letter started to come and chase you back.
Today, if I am not mistaken, most of the overseas Malaysian graduates will try to find ways to stay back after graduated. There must be an obvious reason.
#2 by W.O or Wilson on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 11:54 am
To classmonitor:
That’s a very good question you ask.
Well, because like you I’ve had many friends who share your experiences. They’ve been discriminated against, marginalised and are dillusioned with the country.
And I want to make a difference. I have always strived to do so and will continue to do so. Some would some I am idealist, and I while I do not dispute the fact, my idealism is also firmly grounded in a acute realisation of realism. But with this realisation lies a desire for change – and a search for concepts, strategies, platforms and mechanisms for this change.
I am a constructivist (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Constructivism_in_international_relations) by the closest definition possible. While I acknowledge the hard reality of the situation in Malaysia, I also envisge a better future if the people who have the capability and the capacity to make a difference decide to commit themselves in making a difference – in their own ways.
So yes, I want one day to return after building up enough knowledge, capability and capacity in what I’m doing to be in a significant position to make a difference to the land of my birth.
Cheers.
#3 by W.O or Wilson on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 11:59 am
To TheWrathOfGrapes:
I was in no way slagging Singapore off. I was simply stating the facts. Every Singaporean would agree with me when I say that Singapore is a parochial state, that much is abundantly clear. It has a progressive government that tries to remain relavent and attuned to the needs of its changing society – albeit only 3 (or less now) Opposition MPs – lack of checks and balances.
It has a lot of good things going for it, but I am also entitled to my preference for where I live. And I did not choose it.
I cannot see how that is slagging Singapore off in anyway.
And aside…under their education system, I suffered more than I would like to go into here. So I ask you not to be so quick to judge.
#4 by W.O or Wilson on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 12:14 pm
To dawsheng:
I have every intention to vote in the next G.E, and please don’t forget that by law I’m eligible to vote overseas at an embassy or high commission as well.
tsk tsk…did you think I was all talk no action? :)
#5 by Song on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 1:26 pm
WO,
can that be done? If yes, we could poll ppl from across the globe to vote via embassy/high commission.We could start propagating this move…. the gvt cannot ignore votes if it is a significant number.
#6 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 1:45 pm
/// I was in no way slagging Singapore off. I was simply stating the facts. ///
Your selective and chosen facts say more about you than about Singapore.
/// Every Singaporean would agree with me when I say that Singapore is a parochial state, that much is abundantly clear. ///
Every Singaporean? That is a bit rich, isn’t it? Since when have you been appointed spokesman for all Singaporean?
Singapore parochial??? If there is one country that is not parochial, it has to be Singapore. Parochials are the rednecks in the midwest and the sheilas in the outback. Singaporeans as a class are probably the most well travelled people and the most exposed to external influences. I am afraid you are confused the self-serving aggrandisement of the politicians and the perceived arrogance of Singaporeans as parochialism.
What is abundantly clear is your lack of decency and gratitude.
/// It has a lot of good things going for it, but I am also entitled to my preference for where I live. And I did not choose it.///
Have I asked you to stay there? All I am asking is just a bit of consideration for the country that nurtured you.
#7 by achia3 on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 2:09 pm
Wilson are you sure I can cast my vote in Australia too? Perth only has a consulate. Also, is there any guarantee that our vote will reach its intended destination without being compromised?
#8 by W.O or Wilson on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 3:24 pm
To TheWrathOfGrapes:
Wow. Looks like I’ve crossed a really patriotic Singaporean here.
===============================================
“Your selective and chosen facts say more about you than about Singapore.”
================================================
- Sure, of course they do. They reflect my views and my opinions. That much is clear. Are you saying that I’m of inferior character simply because I do not like Singapore? What is the justification for that? Gratefulness and gratitude are unmeasurable attributes, who are you to say who I should/should not be grateful to, or how much I should be grateful to a place?
“Every Singaporean? That is a bit rich, isn’t it? Since when have you been appointed spokesman for all Singaporean?Singapore parochial??? If there is one country that is not parochial, it has to be Singapore. Parochials are the rednecks in the midwest and the sheilas in the outback. Singaporeans as a class are probably the most well travelled people and the most exposed to external influences….” =================================================
– Once again, we have a difference in opinion here. My experiences undoubtably do not parallel yours. I concede the point about “every singaporean”, I spoke out of turn and too quickly. But by simply being well-travelled is not evidence of non-’parochialness’, it is a state of mind. But I do not speak out of ignorance here, I was in Singapore 10 yrs and am at least entitled to MY opinion on how I percieve the country. You are free to disagree.
=================================================
“What is abundantly clear is your lack of decency and gratitude”
- Now, THAT’s a bit rich. Judging my character on one statement I made. That fact that you can even utter a statement like that about another person that you know next to nothing about speaks volumes about the type of person you are, not me.
“All I am asking is just a bit of consideration for the country that nurtured you”
- It has my consideration and I do have quiet admiration for all it has achieved.
- But you’re stretching it when you claim it “nutured” me. It did not do that, far from it. My education in Singapore, esp in high school, was quite simply one of the worse experiences of my young life. Perhaps you are right in one sense. It made me a stronger person, by making me realise that my intelligence, value and worth as a person does not depend on what stream I’m placed in, or whether I’m good at the Sciences, or my mother tongue. The world isn’t just about these things.
- However, I have no intention of relaying my life experiences to you. I just hope you can be LESS PAROCHIAL and see that there are people who don’t care very much for Singapore and all that it has to offer despite its good points. It is not the only country to live in, nor the ‘best’ place to grow up in. I’m sure there are Singaporeans who agree with me on this. Just ask those who left.
But thank you for taking the time to comment, I appreciate whatever you had to say, however discourteous and misguided.
Cheers.
#9 by sotong on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 3:29 pm
Wilson……..you are OK.
#10 by ericio on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 3:50 pm
I am little bit sad to see some criticisms toward W.O. Better save all the criticism and debatables issues to our BN.
Please be more constructive.
#11 by achia3 on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 4:28 pm
Lee Kuan Yew vs Tunku A. Rahman\T. Razak\Hussein Onn\Mahathir
Come on ppl of Malaysia and Singapore…. all this things about Malaysia vs Singapore started way back by the politicians above…. please don’t get sucked in to it. Both countries has its flaws….I get bad remarks always from both sides and seldom the good side apart from the good food.
Wilson is only making a point from his own experience, just we all making a point about our own experience with Malaysia.
TheWrathOfGrapes: Just be mindful that you are only blowing hot air without any substance.
#12 by redsmoke on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 5:33 pm
Quotes:
From W.O. : So yes, I want one day to return after building up enough knowledge, capability and capacity in what I’m doing to be in a significant position to make a difference to the land of my birth.
From Song: WO, can that be done? If yes, we could poll ppl from across the globe to vote via embassy/high commission.We could start propagating this move…. the gvt cannot ignore votes if it is a significant number.
From achia3: Wilson are you sure I can cast my vote in Australia too? Perth only has a consulate. Also, is there any guarantee that our vote will reach its intended destination without being compromised?
—————
I’m heartened to see that some positive intentions have started to surface. This is what we want to see, not bickerings among ourselves. I know we are all capable of doing something. If we group together and stay united, we will be able to stay afloat and accelerate in the increasingly competitive world of globalisation and make a difference to our motherland. Our real enemy is no longer that race or this race. It is the globalisation. We need to be aware of this.
In our quest for a better Malaysia, we must stay focused. Be mindful of detours and interruptions that might get us carried away or distracted. We have an instance here as what happened earlier in the comments. So let’s us get back on the right track. I know we can do it.
#13 by robtang on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 5:44 pm
Good day, mate! Anyone can decide to work whenever he or she feels like and to talk about his or her patriotism to the country of origin. But lately there are some who on the surface may be expressing sadness and sympathy for the state of condition of their country of origin but are in actual fact taking the opportunity to say (essentially), “See how great I am! I am now doing this or that great things. Oh, I am such a great loss to the nation.” Whether such “sadness” is expressed to a single individual or to many, it’s the same. If one really feels true sadness for the state of condition of one’s country, a single small step of action at home is better than a thousand words expressed from afar which ends with something like, “I am not coming home anyway because I can do greater things for another government.”
#14 by W.O or Wilson on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 6:25 pm
To robtang:
G’day mate. Nice to see some well-thought of comments.
But I wish you would refer to some of my comments above to the others.
You are entitled to how you think we can change Malaysia, and good on you that you’ve stayed on.
But I feel I have a different strategy; because of my shortcomings in the present, I feel it is right for me to build up a significant amount of credibility overseas before returning to make a difference…otherwise, I would never be accepted or even productive.
So the last paragraph of my email doesn’t actually imply what you said.
It should read more like “I want to make a difference for my country and in particular in the government. However, at this present time, because I do not feel sufficiently equipped to do what I hope to achieve on the scale which I wish, I serve with a another government – in the hope that, as I build up my experience in this similar sector, I can one day bring back those skills to MY government.”
Think about it in my shoes for a minute. Cheers.
#15 by Song on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 6:55 pm
Hi all:
After following this post for some time,I have to say- by the end of these posts/comments,I hope to see us more UNITED, not more DIVIDED.
Secondly: can we vote via embassy/high commission from all over?If yes, we can do something about this- forgotten malaysians no longer. I’m talking global here.Think of the impact if it works. Thanks.
#16 by robtang on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 6:59 pm
W.O.
There’s no need for you to respond to every thought or comment expressed here. But of course you are free to do so.
The only proof that the thinking “I am not coming home anyway because I can do greater things for another government†does not apply to you is if and when you actually do what you said you would, that is, to return to your country of origin. Until you actually return, there is no reason to believe you would.
When is one ever ready for anything? Were you ready when you were born? Were you ready when you took in the first drop of milk from your mother’s breast? Were you ready when you took your first step in walking? Were you ready when you fell in love the first time?
Readiness is not about accumulation of skills. If you were to wait until you have learnt all the skills needed to survive in this world, you would never have been born. If you were to wait until you could skillfully suck in the first drop of your mother’s milk, you would have starved to death by now. If you were to wait until you were certain that your first step was firm, you were have not been walking today. If you were to wait until you know that your first love would be reciprocated, you would not know what love is.
Readiness is more about the conviction of the heart. Until you are truly convicted, a thousand words would not be able to convince others.
#17 by W.O or Wilson on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 7:13 pm
To robtang:
You are drawing illogical parallels and I hope you see it.
That are some things that are instinctive, and there are others that are accumulated.
Suckling when one is an infant, the desire to walk, these are instinctive as is the need for food and water. But a lioness also teaches her cubs how to hunt, stays with them till a certain age, till they have learned the skills to fend for themselves.
We are educated to prep us for the working world (oh, what happened to the joy of knowledge?). You can’t be an engineer, accountant or doctor unless you were trained can you? Similarly, running a country or leading major change is not one can do with adequate readiness, whether in capability, mentality or capacity.
I have no reason to justify myself to you, but I hope you see that your argument doesn’t hold in this instance. To me anyway.
And on that note, we agree to disagree.
#18 by tsn on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 7:55 pm
To robtang:Don’t be too harsh to our young patriotic man. He is only 24, full of dreams and ambitions. Hopefully years later the title will not change to “forgotten Malaysia”.
#19 by Godamn Singh on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 7:58 pm
Ignore TheWrathOfGrapes, Wilson.
Like another reader who commented earlier he’s nothing more than a pompous ass out to ruffle feathers to feed his ego. He is out here to show how ‘smart’ he is but ends up tripping and stumbling over his own inconsistencies in his argument.
A lot of hot air like another reader said.
#20 by Count Dracula on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 8:07 pm
Stay on Wilson.
We’re waiting to see TheWrathOfGrapes’s response to your reply. If he’s worth anything he would have something positive to say.
#21 by DiaperHead on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 8:24 pm
“Have I asked you to stay there? All I am asking is just a bit of consideration for the country that nurtured you.” TheWrathOfGrapes
A bit of consideration?? C’mon SourGrapes, you damn well know that Wilson has more respect for the country than that. There’s nothing in his email and his responses on this blog that so much as hint that he is ungrateful – and you know that, you idiot.
#22 by DiaperHead on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 8:29 pm
“What is abundantly clear is your lack of decency and gratitude.” TheWrathOfGrapes.
This is clearly over the top and Wilson deserves an apology for this uncalled for remark. Talk about your own lack of decency…
#23 by robtang on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 9:05 pm
W. O.
Yes, you don’t have to justify yourself to me or just anyone. If and when you are ready, like perhaps if and when you win a Nobel Prize and are ready to return to serve Malaysia, then let us know.
#24 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 9:14 pm
Here is a comment by a blogger worth your thoughts:
“I haven’t decided whether I want to migrate yet. But at the present, for both the structural reasons outlined and the lack of individual opportunities, I would have to say I’m very much leaning towards migration. It’s indeed sad, because I do love this country  I don’t love it for what it is, but I love it for what it could be and for all (albeit the quite little) it’s given me.”
Johnleeremick
#25 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 9:15 pm
sorry – johnleemk
#26 by robtang on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 9:29 pm
It’s true that there is a time for everything. But until that time comes and until it really happens, it doesn’t mean much. I had never actually said that W. O. was one “who on the surface may be expressing sadness and sympathy for the state of condition of their country of origin but are in actual fact taking the opportunity to say (essentially), “See how great I am! I am now doing this or that great things. Oh, I am such a great loss to the nation.†I only said that there are such people. W.O. could actually be one or not one. He knows himself whether he is one or not or at least he believes he knows. But as things stand at the very moment, only time can tell …
#27 by robtang on Wednesday, 21 March 2007 - 10:21 pm
By the way, talking about parallels, who says that parallels have to be “logical”? If parallels have to be “logical”, there would be no parallel to speak of. “Parallels” are just to provoke thoughts. After all, logic is based on assumed truths or axioms.
#28 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 22 March 2007 - 1:58 am
This is a good example of “Parallel” thinking.
#29 by Ipoh Guy on Friday, 23 March 2007 - 12:01 am
WO,
I appreciate actually that you took the time to write the email and then we should also thank Uncle Lim for making it public. The result of this is really cool.
Looks likes there many who post in this blog and live abroad by choice, is for WO; most of those who are still in the country, are clearly not for WO. That is the trend I see, anyway.
I am one of the latter group, clearly. So, I can see what robtang is trying to say.
Some ask us to stop debating about WO’s position. This is obviously against democratic theory. The position of people with talent like WO, or anyone else, should be debated and this concern the future of this motherland. 1 very apt example is Uncle Lim himself: He is obviously patriotic, has a vision for the country, and resilient, and many other positive characteristics.
Now imagine he is not working in the country, and not for the country.
I imagine the reason LKS posted your email is that he is concern with the lost of talents from this motherland.
Our situation is akin to a garage: The mechanics are trying to fix and upgrade the car, but some of the best tools have just left the house.
I understand clearly that the present team of mechanics is inept and corrupt; that is why we should work together and hire new mechanics.
And this message, is not entirely to WO, but to others too.
#30 by robtang on Friday, 23 March 2007 - 7:30 am
It’s a good that Ipoh Guy is trying to put things in proper perspectives.
Actually I am not against or for anyone in this matter. A person is free to choose where he or she wants to live on this planet earth. But what I do notice is that there appears to be individuals who tend to express the “sad” state of the nation, use it as a self-serving platform to show case their achievements abroad and at the same time say something like, “I am not returning (yet) because …(e.g. I cannot win a Nobel Prize if I go back) ” or “I will return if and only when … (e.g. there is a world class research facility)” or “I am an ambassador for the nation by the great work I did overseas”. Someone may be truly doing great things overseas (great things may mean doing an ordinary task extraordinarily well, not necessarily something that would land you grand prizes), a Malaysian may be a good example of a good person abroad, but he or she doesn’t need to shout this out himself or herself. People will notice your goodness themselves. It’s fine for someone to choose to live where ever he or she wishes for whatever reasons.
I am not saying that W. O. falls into the category of individuals mentioned above. I don’t know whether he is or not. But what I am trying to say is this. Words may be necessary but they are meaningless until one is ready for action.
#31 by undergrad2 on Friday, 23 March 2007 - 8:23 am
“…a Malaysian may be a good example of a good person abroad, but he or she doesn’t need to shout this out himself or herself. ”
I don’t think this is a fair summation of what Wilson said.
#32 by Ipoh Guy on Friday, 23 March 2007 - 2:53 pm
robtang,
I know what you mean.
I would commend on WO cause the act of writing a private email to KS is a good enough proof that WO is genuine in his action and thought. I think I can thus safely say that we are explicitly not referring to WO. It is after all, a general comment which you have made on the subject.
WO in fact said that the return to Malaysia is imminent; but until then it is time to learn and be prepared. I like that idea as that is a sign of maturity. In fact, if you may, WO has made a pledge to Uncle Lim to come home and serve the country, and the support is there for Uncle Lim to succeed in his cause. I believe that when there is a political change, WO will return to the motherland ASAP.
There are obviously those who are now abroad, work there, yet has not such grand scheme to return to Malaysia, even after there is a change. You and I, if I am right, feel that others in a situation similar to WO, can do as much as WO or even more.
Firstly, being commital is good. Either you are planning to come home or not, that is of course important to Malaysia. And we are talking in this context totally, about contributing to this homeland. If you plan to come home, a private email to LKS, Anwar or PAS, or people here, indicating you want to return, is a good moral boosting act to those in the Oppositions working there arse off.
(When I say working arse off: Its 190 MPs against 20 MPs in the Parliament and you have to take very hurtful and personal attacks, like those experienced by Ms Po Kuan and Karpal Singh)
Secondly, if one decides not to return, or not in the near future, and that is fine with many, as many said here, it is a personal choice.
I however have to share, my incompetence, to comprehend why the choice to make scathing and rhetorical public postings here and in other blogs, commenting from afar on the country which you have left temporarily or permanently, voluntarily.
I believe my comment, which in actual fact is a question, is a fair one.
#33 by W.O or Wilson on Monday, 26 March 2007 - 12:09 am
Perhaps it’s fitting that having started this topic, I’ll close it off by saying/repeating a couple of things:
1) This was a person email to Uncle Lim/Kit Siang, which he chose to publish – it was not of my asking. That is the context of this email.
2) I am first and foremost a believer in the supremacy of the Constitution and the freedoms that it guarantees, the rule of law, the equality of rights and the integrity of institutions. I believe these things to be fundamental to any functional democracy or society – without them, any notion of economic progress is an eternal exercise in futility.
3) It is much harder being a Malaysian abroad than most people think – the cultural, racial, mindset, and workplace challenges/discriminations that one goes through – well, until you have experienced it, it is easy to sit back and judge. Having said that, I take heart that I have at least some recourse here should the need arise. You cannot change the hearts of men in a day, but at least, you can have laws to protect against discriminatory behavior.
4) I have never once contemplated giving up my Malaysian citizenship despite being persuaded on many occasions to do so – I remain steadfast in my belief that Malaysia can be changed and when the time is right, I will endeavor to return and do my part.
5) I thank everyone for their comments, positive or negative. I believe in the freedom of expression, and I’m happy my email has provoked such a plethora of responses – it is heartening to see that there are still Malaysians out there who are concerned about the state of their country, enough to post. I never take arguments personally, hence, no offense taken to the sometime vicious attacks on my character, stance and views – remember, this is only one side of me you’ve seen/read.
Take care everyone…and don’t lose the fight…I know I won’t.
Cheers,
W.O or Wilson.
#34 by akarmalaysian on Thursday, 12 April 2007 - 3:14 pm
“JFK famous saying: Just do not ask what your country can provide to you, but just ask what you can contribute to your country.”
i think the more the people in malaysia contribute…the worst and more corrupted the country’s leaders get.
#35 by rosicky on Wednesday, 18 April 2007 - 6:43 am
W.O,
At first glance, your email seems to be another of those typical overseas talent lamenting the state of our country.
However you have impressed me with your replies to criticism that was hurled against you. You have shown remarkable composure for a man your age. Your replies have been courteous, straight and not dwelling too long in negative/pessimistic tone(of which many are guilty of).
Thumbs up!!! One of the best discourse in LKS blogs.
#36 by rosicky on Wednesday, 18 April 2007 - 7:51 am
To TheWrathOfGrapes:
Firstly to make things clear, I am not defending W.O. on the SG issue.
What local Malaysians who accuses others as deserters must remember that, it is always difficult to rough it out in a foreign land. Discrimination of foreigners exists in every country.
For the case of SG:
As some who are living or have lived in SG, SGreans sometimes have a natural preference and infatution with foreigners of developed country(caucasians, japanese or koreans).
Whereas foreigner from developing countries (Malaysia, China, Myanmar and etc) faces more of uphill task to make it.
After enduring all these and still being able to make it, W.O is untitled to his views.
The semi-autocratic SG state was born out of neccesity. It is just a small Chinese controlled dot(with negligible natural resources) with hostile neighbours.
It needs systematic civil obedience to keep the government and economy running smoothly. In some way SGreans are manufactured in the same mould.
It also needs lucrative (but controversial) remuneration for its senior goverment officers on the basis of being highly educated. How good are them remains to be seen. This is the only way they know to prevent SG going down the blatantly corrupt path of its neighbours.
Also to attract money and investments it needs to reward the bosses and eduacted talents. As a result the gap between poor and rich in SG is widening.
Still it has no choice.There is no other viable model of a successful moderate center left goverment in SEA for them to follow.So it can never be an ideal state.
W.O was just highlighting some of the more obvious shortcomings of a young SG state. He merely states his non-preference of it.
As a Malaysian working in SG, I can relate to some of the not so pleasant view and experiences of SG. I am not as highly educated as W.O. Naturally, I need do the shit jobs that SGreans shy away.
I am not condenming SG. We are still grateful of the whatever good or substandard opportunities that SG have given us.
But I do agree with W.O. that the struggles we put in SG had made us stronger.
Sure SG makes you work hard for the money, but its goverment regconizes various type of talent ensure that there will be some tangible rewards for them.
In this regards, W.O may have erred in a way that indirectly compare SG to a more liberal and democratic western state.